Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Combi drill comparison 2026

The best combi drills, compared.

Top pick: DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW Best value: Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I – About £44 for a stated 13 mm chuck and 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. The title says 44 Nm and a maximum-torque field says 14 Nm. Updated October 2026.

A combi drill drills holes, drives screws through a slipping clutch, and adds a hammer mode for ordinary brick and block. In the UK you buy one cordless kit for shelves, flat-pack and a plug hole. You tell a suitable combi drill by the listing, not by the word combi alone. Hammer mode should be in the title or the bullets. A title that says the tool is not a hammer drill is a drill-driver. A 13 mm chuck takes more bits than a 10 mm chuck. Use low gear for screws and high gear for small bits. Read newton metres as the seller’s claim. If a field contradicts the bullets, keep both. Amp-hours are runtime, not torque, and different 18 V packs do not interchange. A 21 V sticker is often peak voltage, a rule of thumb. It is not an impact driver, and it is not an SDS rotary hammer. Concrete and chasing need a different tool. The checks are in the [combi drill buying guide](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/combi-drill/sub/combi-drill-buying-guide).

A combi drill drills holes, drives screws through a slipping clutch, and adds a hammer mode for ordinary brick and block. In the UK you buy one cordless kit for shelves, flat-pack and a plug hole.

DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW

Best overall

DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW
8.8/10∼ £140

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

11 of 11: Best combi drills compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW
DeWalt DCD799P2T-GB
Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit
Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (1 x 1.5 Ah)
Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (2 x 2.0 Ah)
Bosch EasyImpact 18V-38
Best value
Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I
BLACK+DECKER BCD700S1K
Ginour CD1308 brushless
LEEIKOO 21 V combi (1 x 2.0 Ah)
LEEIKOO 21 V hammer set (2 x 2.0 Ah)
8.8/10
6.9/10
8.6/10
7.6/10
7.6/10
7.6/10
7.9/10
7.5/10
7.7/10
7.3/10
7.2/10
∼ £140
∼ £190
∼ £98
∼ £65
∼ £75
∼ £77
∼ £44
∼ £66
∼ £56
∼ £30
∼ £32
4.8(12,389)
4.8(15)
4.7(7,197)
4.7(631)
4.7(517)
4.7(292)
4.6(1,515)
4.6(205)
4.4(2,216)
4.4(222)
4.3(232)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best combi drills in detail

DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW

Rank 1

DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW

∼£140

Our view

The DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW is about £139.98, and the bullets and both torque fields agree on 65 Nm for a brushless XR body with two 2 Ah packs. amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from 12,389 reviews, the largest file in this set, and short reviews praise the brand and long-term use. The title names an LED and a kitbox, while the included-components field says battery charger only. Chuck, wood and metal fields all print 6.35 mm, and the bullets do not state a chuck size, so this card does not borrow a 13 mm figure from a different DCD778 kit. The drill-type field says impact driver. In the review texts, a charger popped and smoked on first use, one kit arrived with a 2-pin charger, and another had batteries that would not seat or would not run the drill. The number-of-speeds field says 15 beside a two-speed bullet.

Pros

  • 65 Nm agreed in the bullets and both torque fields
  • 4.8 from 12,389 reviews, the deepest file in this set
  • Brushless, two 2 Ah XR packs, and an LED named in the title
  • Two-speed all-metal transmission and 15 torque settings in the bullets

Cons

  • Chuck, wood and metal fields say 6.35 mm, and the bullets omit chuck size
  • Charger smoked on first use in one review, and a 2-pin charger in another
  • Batteries that would not seat or would not run the tool
  • Included-components field names only the charger; drill-type field says impact driver

Best for: You want the largest DeWalt review file in this set and you will check the chuck and the charger pins on arrival.

Less suitable: You need a listing that states a 13 mm chuck, or a charger story with no smoke and no 2-pin plug.

Specifications

Model
DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW
Brand
DeWalt
Price
∼£140
Customer rating
4.8/5(12,389)
Hammer mode
Yes; type: driver
Claimed torque
65 Nm
Chuck
6.35 mm field
Gears
2; field says 15
Clutch
15
Batteries
2 x 2 Ah
Platform
DeWalt XR
Motor
Brushless
Case
Kitbox in title
Work light
Yes
No-load speed
1,750 rpm

Common questions

Does the DCD778 listing include a hammer mode?

Yes. The bullets say you can switch between drilling, screwdriving and hammer, and they mention masonry.

What chuck size is printed?

The maximum-chuck field says 6.35 mm, and the wood and metal capacities repeat 6.35 mm. The bullets do not give a chuck size.

Are the batteries and the charger a UK kit?

The title says two 2 Ah batteries, a charger and a kitbox. Reviews in the stored file include a 2-pin charger, a charger that smoked, and batteries that would not seat. The listing’s own included-components line names only the charger.

DeWalt DCD799P2T-GB

Rank 2

DeWalt DCD799P2T-GB

∼£190

Our view

The DeWalt DCD799P2T-GB is about £189.97 with two 5 Ah XR packs, a TSTAK kitbox and a UK plug named in the title, and the bullets and the torque field say up to 74 Nm on a stated 13 mm chuck. The star line is 4.8 from 15 reviews, so the sample is thin beside the DCD778’s 12,389. The maximum-torque field also says 26 Nm, and both figures stay on the card. One of 13 review texts calls it powerful enough for thick stone and repeats the brushless and 74 Nm claims. Another says the chuck was out of order after a few uses. The listing weight of 4.7 kg is the packaged figure, so bare-tool weight is not stated. Brushless is in the bullets, and the compatible-devices field also mentions 18 V and 20 V MAX multi-voltage chargers.

Pros

  • Two 5 Ah XR packs, a TSTAK kitbox and a UK plug in the title
  • 13 mm chuck stated, brushless, and an LED
  • Bullets and the torque field say up to 74 Nm
  • 15 clutch positions and two speeds

Cons

  • 4.8 from only 15 reviews
  • Maximum-torque field says 26 Nm beside 74 Nm
  • Chuck failed after a few uses, in one of 13 texts
  • About £189.97, with a 4.7 kg figure that is the packaged weight

Best for: You already use DeWalt XR and you want two 5 Ah packs, with both torque figures in view.

Less suitable: You want a deep review file, or a single torque number you can quote.

Specifications

Model
DeWalt DCD799P2T-GB
Brand
DeWalt
Price
∼£190
Customer rating
4.8/5(15)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
74 Nm and 26 Nm
Chuck
13 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
15
Batteries
2 x 5 Ah
Platform
DeWalt XR
Motor
Brushless
Case
TSTAK kitbox
Work light
Yes
No-load speed
1,650 rpm

Common questions

Is the DCD799 brushless, and what torque is claimed?

The title and bullets say brushless. The bullets and the torque field say up to 74 Nm. A maximum-torque field on the same page says 26 Nm.

What batteries are included?

Two 5 Ah XR packs, a multi-voltage charger and a TSTAK kitbox. The title says UK plug.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The listing line is 4.8 from 15 reviews. The stored file has 13 review texts. One says the chuck failed after a few uses.

Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit

Rank 3

Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit

∼£98

Our view

The Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit is about £97.80 with two 1.5 Ah packs and a charger, and the bullet and the torque field both say 50 Nm with bits up to 13 mm. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 7,197 reviews, the second-largest file in this set. Reviewers who already own ONE+ tools treat the packs as shared, and people buying a first drill call the body light but solid. The 13 mm chuck is praised, and the pack lets the drill stand up. The listing does not call the motor brushless, and a case is not in the included-components line. One reviewer dislikes the Hyper green colour, and an accessory pack, where someone bought one, is called poor and in need of replacement. The bullet prints 5001800rpm as one unspaced string, so that figure stays as printed rather than as a second speed claim.

Pros

  • 50 Nm in the bullet and the torque field, with a 13 mm chuck
  • 4.7 from 7,197 reviews, for novices and existing ONE+ owners
  • Two 1.5 Ah ONE+ packs and a charger at about £97.80
  • 24 clutch settings and two gears
  • Bullet says the pack works with other ONE+ tools

Cons

  • Motor is not stated as brushless
  • No case in the included-components line
  • Accessory bits, where bought, called poor
  • The 5001800rpm string is unspaced and is not a clean second speed

Best for: You want a home kit whose torque and chuck agree, on the Ryobi ONE+ platform.

Less suitable: You already own Bosch, Einhell or DeWalt packs, or you need a listing that says brushless.

Specifications

Model
Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit
Brand
Ryobi
Price
∼£98
Customer rating
4.7/5(7,197)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
50 Nm
Chuck
13 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
24
Batteries
2 x 1.5 Ah
Platform
Ryobi ONE+
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Not listed
No-load speed
1,800 rpm

Common questions

Will the batteries fit other Ryobi tools?

The bullets say the 18 V ONE+ batteries and charger are compatible with over 100 other Ryobi ONE+ tools for the home and garden.

Does the kit include a case?

The included-components line names two 1.5 Ah batteries, a double-ended bit and a charger. A case is not listed.

What torque and chuck does the listing claim?

The bullets claim up to 50 Nm, 24 torque settings, and a ratcheting chuck for bits up to 13 mm.

Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (1 x 1.5 Ah)

Rank 4

Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (1 x 1.5 Ah)

∼£65

Our view

This EasyImpact 18V-40 is the one-battery kit at about £64.97: one PBA 18V 1.5 Ah pack, a charger and a carrying case, with 40 Nm in the torque fields and a 13 mm chuck. The star line is 4.7 from 631 reviews. Reviewers use the hammer for small fixings and the drill for wood and plasterboard, and one buyer picked it over a cheaper BLACK+DECKER for Corefix plugs. The no-load figure on this listing is 1,450 rpm, while the two-battery EasyImpact listing states 1,630 rpm for the same model name. The battery-type field says CR2032, which does not match the 1.5 Ah pack in the scope line. The first 50 reviews do not repeat a defect, though one buyer hoped it would last more than six months, and reviewers do not expect it to match a corded drill.

Pros

  • 40 Nm and a 13 mm chuck, with hammer use reported for small fixings
  • 4.7 from 631 reviews, a larger file than the two-battery kit
  • Carrying case, charger and one 1.5 Ah PBA pack at about £64.97
  • Wood and plasterboard called fine around the house

Cons

  • Battery-type field says CR2032 against the 1.5 Ah pack
  • Drill-type field says impact driver
  • One pack, so the drill stops when that cell is flat
  • Not expected to match a corded drill

Best for: You want one Bosch pack and a case for small fixings, and you will ignore the CR2032 cell.

Less suitable: You want two batteries in the box, or a listing whose battery-type field matches the pack.

Specifications

Model
Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (1 x 1.5 Ah)
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£65
Customer rating
4.7/5(631)
Hammer mode
Yes; type: driver
Claimed torque
40 Nm
Chuck
13 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
20
Batteries
1.5 Ah; CR2032 field
Platform
Bosch 18 V
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Yes
No-load speed
1,450 rpm

Common questions

How many batteries are included?

The scope line says one PBA 18V 1.5 Ah battery, plus charger AL 18V-20 and a case.

Does the listing mention a reverse gear?

A listing question asks about reverse. The bullets do not answer it, so reverse is not stated.

What is the battery type field?

The technical field says CR2032. The included-components line says a PBA 18V 1.5 Ah pack. The pack line is the one that matches the title.

Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (2 x 2.0 Ah)

Rank 5

Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (2 x 2.0 Ah)

∼£75

Our view

The Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 with two 2.0 Ah PBA packs is about £75.23, and both torque fields say 40 Nm with a 13 mm chuck, two speeds and 20 clutch positions. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 517 reviews. Buyers describe a light home drill, batteries that last and charge quickly, and a case that comes with the second pack. One renovation review calls it quiet, and one buyer replaced a dearer combi and still found the build sound. The drill-type field says impact driver, while the bullets describe impact drilling in masonry, so both lines stay on the card. One reviewer saw sparks at the rear when the motor stopped hard, and the reviews that name a job treat it as a house tool rather than a site drill.

Pros

  • 40 Nm in both torque fields, with a 13 mm chuck
  • Two PBA 18V 2.0 Ah packs, charger AL 18V-20 and a carrying case
  • 4.7 from 517 reviews for light home use and quick charging
  • 20 clutch positions and a two-speed gearbox
  • Two-year manufacturer warranty on the listing

Cons

  • Drill-type field says impact driver beside a masonry combi bullet
  • Sparks at the rear when the motor stops hard, in one review
  • Reviewers do not describe it as a site tool
  • Motor is not stated as brushless

Best for: You want two Bosch 18 V packs and a case, and you will read the impact-driver cell next to the masonry bullet.

Less suitable: You need a brushless motor, or a drill reviewers describe for all-day trade.

Specifications

Model
Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 (2 x 2.0 Ah)
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
4.7/5(517)
Hammer mode
Yes; type: driver
Claimed torque
40 Nm
Chuck
13 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
20
Batteries
2 x 2.0 Ah
Platform
Bosch 18 V
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Yes
No-load speed
1,630 rpm

Common questions

Can this EasyImpact drill masonry?

The bullets say it is for screwdriving, drilling in wood, metal and plastic, and impact drilling in masonry.

What is in the box?

Two PBA 18V 2.0 Ah batteries, charger AL 18V-20, a double screwdriver bit and a carrying case.

Why does the listing say impact driver?

The drill-type field says impact driver. The title and bullets describe a 13 mm chuck combi with impact drilling in masonry. Both are on the same listing.

Bosch EasyImpact 18V-38

Rank 6

Bosch EasyImpact 18V-38

∼£77

Our view

The Bosch EasyImpact 18V-38 is about £76.50 with one 2.5 Ah pack, charger AL 18V-20 and a carrying case, and the listing states 38 Nm and a 10 mm chuck. The star line is 4.7 from 292 reviews. Buyers who wanted a first drill call it approachable and not too heavy, and several say it replaced an older household drill for screws and holes around the house. The bullets do not themselves say masonry, even though the title is EasyImpact and the type fields say combination drill and cordless hammer drill. Sampled reviews give little detail on hammer performance. One reviewer says it is not for extended daily professional use, and the amperage field prints 10 A beside a 2.5 Ah pack. The POWER FOR ALL line is a claim about that 18 V alliance, not a fit with Ryobi, Einhell or DeWalt packs.

Pros

  • Approachable first drill in the reviews, with a case at about £76.50
  • 38 Nm, two speeds and 20 torque levels
  • One 2.5 Ah pack and charger AL 18V-20
  • 4.7 from 292 reviews for household screws and holes
  • POWER FOR ALL 18 V bullet for that Bosch alliance

Cons

  • 10 mm chuck
  • Bullets do not themselves say masonry
  • Little hammer detail in the sampled reviews
  • Amperage field says 10 A beside a 2.5 Ah pack

Best for: You want a light first Bosch kit for screws and household holes, and you will check the 10 mm chuck.

Less suitable: You need a 13 mm chuck, or a bullet that states masonry in so many words.

Specifications

Model
Bosch EasyImpact 18V-38
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£77
Customer rating
4.7/5(292)
Hammer mode
Type says hammer
Claimed torque
38 Nm
Chuck
10 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
20
Batteries
1 x 2.5 Ah
Platform
Bosch 18 V
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Yes
No-load speed
1,630 rpm

Common questions

What chuck size does the 18V-38 listing state?

10 mm, in both the bullet and the maximum-chuck field. Wood capacity is stated as 30 mm and metal as 10 mm.

Does the price include a charger and a case?

The scope line includes one 2.5 Ah battery, charger AL 18V-20 and a carrying case. The stored shelf price is about £76.50.

Do the bullets name masonry?

They do not. The title says EasyImpact and the item-type name says cordless hammer drill. Masonry capacity is not stated in the bullets.

Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I

Rank 7

Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I

∼£44

Our view

The Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I is about £44 with one 2.5 Ah Power X-Change pack, and the title and bullets say 44 Nm with a 13 mm single-sleeve chuck. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. Reviewers use it for shelves, picture hooks and a non-professional shed repair, and one buyer replaced a worn DeWalt brushed drill at a lower price. The maximum-torque field also prints 14 Nm, and the number-of-speeds cell says 21 while the bullets say a two-speed gearbox and 21 torque levels, so both pairs stay visible. The wood-capacity field says 10 centimetres beside a 13 mm metal figure. There is no case in the included-components line. Reviewers describe it as a home drill, and one had barely used the hammer.

Pros

  • About £44 with one 2.5 Ah Power X-Change pack and a stated 13 mm chuck
  • 4.6 from 1,515 reviews for shelves, pictures and a shed repair
  • Title and bullets say 44 Nm and a two-speed gearbox
  • Bullet says one battery for over 300 Einhell tools

Cons

  • Maximum-torque field says 14 Nm beside the 44 Nm claim
  • Speeds cell says 21 while the bullets say two speeds and 21 torque levels
  • No case in the included-components line
  • One pack, and reviewers do not treat it as a professional drill

Best for: You want the entry price and a 13 mm chuck, and you will read 44 Nm and 14 Nm together.

Less suitable: You need two batteries in the box, or a listing whose torque cells agree.

Specifications

Model
Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£44
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,515)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
44 Nm and 14 Nm
Chuck
13 mm
Gears
2; field says 21
Clutch
21
Batteries
1 x 2.5 Ah
Platform
Power X-Change
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Not listed
No-load speed
1,250 rpm

Common questions

Is this Einhell a hammer drill?

The item highlight calls it a 3-in-1 combi, hammer drill and screwdriver, and the drill-type field says hammer drill. The bullets name wood, concrete and metal.

Which battery platform is it?

The listing says 18 V Power X-Change, with one 2.5 Ah pack and a charger included.

Which torque figure is on the listing?

The title, bullets and torque field say 44 Nm. A separate maximum-torque field says 14 Nm.

BLACK+DECKER BCD700S1K

Rank 8

BLACK+DECKER BCD700S1K

∼£66

Our view

The BLACK+DECKER BCD700S1K is listed at about £65.99 with one 1.5 Ah pack, a kit box and a mixed bit set, and the bullets put hammer drilling at 21,000 blows per minute with a top speed of 1,400 rpm. Across 205 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.6. Reviewers use the light body for flat-pack screws and a day of home jobs, and they like the keyless chuck. The bullets do not state newton metres, and the maximum-torque field prints 1 inch pound, so there is no Nm claim to set beside the other kits. The chuck cell says 0.5 inches. One owner could not get through some of the brick in the house, and another reports the chuck loosening until the bit drops out.

Pros

  • Hammer drilling stated at 21,000 BPM, with a kit box and a mixed bit set
  • 4.6 from 205 reviews, used for flat-pack and a day of home DIY
  • Two gears, 10 clutch settings and a keyless chuck
  • One 1.5 Ah pack in the title at about £65.99

Cons

  • Bullets state no Nm; the torque field says 1 inch pound
  • Chuck loosens and drops the bit in more than one report
  • Not strong enough for some house brick, in one review
  • No shared-platform claim for the 18 V pack

Best for: You want a light home screwdriver with a bit set in the box and you will test it on your own brick.

Less suitable: You need a stated newton-metre figure, or a chuck that reviewers say stays tight.

Specifications

Model
BLACK+DECKER BCD700S1K
Brand
BLACK+DECKER
Price
∼£66
Customer rating
4.6/5(205)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
No Nm; 1 in-lb
Chuck
0.5 in
Gears
2
Clutch
10
Batteries
1 x 1.5 Ah
Platform
Own 18 V kit
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Kit box
No-load speed
1,400 rpm

Common questions

Is the BLACK+DECKER BCD700 sold as a hammer combi?

Yes. The bullets describe screw driving, drilling and hammer drilling into wood, metal and masonry, and they state 21,000 BPM for hammer drilling.

What battery is in the box?

The title states an 18 V 1.5 Ah lithium-ion pack. A charger is not named in the included-components line.

What torque does the listing state?

The bullets do not state newton metres. The technical-details field says 1 inch pound, which is the figure on the listing and is not restated as an Nm claim.

Ginour CD1308 brushless

Rank 9

Ginour CD1308 brushless

∼£56

Our view

The Ginour CD1308 is about £55.99 with two 2.0 Ah packs, and the title, bullets and torque fields agree on 50 Nm for a brushless motor with a 10 mm keyless chuck. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 2,216 reviews. One reviewer says it goes through brick, another used it as a novice building a shed, and one owner who already had Makita combis says the packs fitted. The bullets also claim a Makita 18 V connector, which this file does not measure. Speed cells disagree: 2,600 rpm and 1,450 rpm against bullet ranges of 0–450 and 0–1,450 rpm. Some included bits broke while drilling a wall, and one buyer expected a belt hook that was not in the box. Claims of five times the life, twice the torque and 50 percent less noise versus a brushed motor are seller comparisons, not a test in this set.

Pros

  • 50 Nm agreed across the title, bullets and torque fields
  • Brushless stated, with two 2.0 Ah packs and a case at about £55.99
  • 4.4 from 2,216 reviews, including brick and a novice shed build
  • Bullet states 0–18,000 BPM for impact drilling

Cons

  • 10 mm chuck
  • Speed cells disagree with the bullet gearbox range
  • Included bits snapped, and a belt hook was missing for one buyer
  • Makita 18 V fit is a bullet claim and was not measured here

Best for: You want a stated brushless kit with two packs under £60, and you only need a 10 mm chuck.

Less suitable: You need 13 mm bits, or you are buying it as a checked Makita spare.

Specifications

Model
Ginour CD1308 brushless
Brand
Ginour
Price
∼£56
Customer rating
4.4/5(2,216)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
50 Nm
Chuck
10 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
23
Batteries
2 x 2.0 Ah
Platform
Makita 18 V claimed
Motor
Brushless
Case
Yes
Work light
Yes
No-load speed
1,450 / 2,600 rpm

Common questions

Does the Ginour listing claim a brushless motor?

Yes. The title and bullets say brushless, and they claim up to 50 Nm.

Will it take Makita packs?

The bullets say the drill has a Makita connector and can use a Makita-series battery. That is the seller’s claim. This comparison did not measure the fit.

Which speed figure should the table show?

The bullets state 0–450 rpm and 0–1,450 rpm. Separate fields say 2,600 rpm and 1,450 rpm. Both pairs stay visible.

LEEIKOO 21 V combi (1 x 2.0 Ah)

Rank 10

LEEIKOO 21 V combi (1 x 2.0 Ah)

∼£30

Our view

The LEEIKOO 21 V combi at about £29.99 is the single-pack kit: one 2.0 Ah battery, a charger and a short bit list, with 42 Nm and a 10 mm keyless chuck in the bullets. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 222 reviews, though the stored file held 13 review texts rather than the full count. First-time users describe it as fine for shelves and flat-pack, and not too heavy. The bullets name hammer drilling for brick and masonry, 25 clutch positions plus drill and hammer, and an LED. One unit arrived with a battery that would not charge, and the buyer started a return. A case is not in the packing list. The included-components field is the unusable value 02, so the bullet list is the only contents line you can read. A 21 V sticker is often a peak-voltage label.

Pros

  • About £29.99 with a charger, an LED and a short bit list
  • 42 Nm and hammer drilling for brick stated in the bullets
  • Fine for shelves and flat-pack in the first-time reviews
  • 25 clutch positions plus drill and hammer, and two speeds

Cons

  • One battery would not charge on arrival, in one review
  • 10 mm chuck and no case in the packing list
  • Only 13 review texts in the stored file against a count of 222
  • Included-components field reads 02

Best for: You want the lowest price in this set for shelves and flat-pack, and you can return a dead battery.

Less suitable: You need a second pack, a case, or a review file with more than a handful of texts.

Specifications

Model
LEEIKOO 21 V combi (1 x 2.0 Ah)
Brand
LEEIKOO
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.4/5(222)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
42 Nm
Chuck
10 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
25
Batteries
1 x 2.0 Ah
Platform
Own 21 V kit
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Not listed
Work light
Yes
No-load speed
1,850 rpm

Common questions

Can the listing drill masonry?

The bullets say hammer mode is for brick and masonry, and the set includes three masonry bits.

How many batteries are in the box?

The bullets say one 21 V 2.0 Ah pack and a charger.

What chuck is stated?

A 10 mm auto-lock keyless chuck.

LEEIKOO 21 V hammer set (2 x 2.0 Ah)

Rank 11

LEEIKOO 21 V hammer set (2 x 2.0 Ah)

∼£32

Our view

The LEEIKOO 21 V set at about £32.24 states two 2.0 Ah packs, a case and 42 Nm, with a 10 mm chuck and hammer drilling in the bullets. The star line is 4.3 from 232 reviews, the lowest rating in this set. Several reviewers call it strong for the money, and they mention the LED, the two batteries and a light body for home and garden jobs. The included bits are the recurring complaint: one review describes a masonry bit that snapped and wood bits that bent. The title says 14 pieces while a bullet packing list says 30, so the carton is not one figure. A 21 V sticker is often a peak-voltage label, and no other brand is named as a shared pack. One return in the file was a courier dispute rather than a fault in the drill.

Pros

  • Two 2.0 Ah packs, a case and an LED at about £32.24
  • 42 Nm and hammer drilling stated in the bullets
  • Reviewers call it strong for the price on home and garden jobs
  • Two speeds, listed as 0–550 and 0–1,850 rpm

Cons

  • Included masonry and wood bits snapped or bent in reviews
  • 10 mm chuck
  • Title says 14 pieces and a bullet says 30
  • 4.3 from 232 reviews, and the packs are a closed 21 V kit

Best for: You want two batteries and a case at the bottom of this set, and you will replace the included bits.

Less suitable: You need a 13 mm chuck, or bits you can trust in brick on the first hole.

Specifications

Model
LEEIKOO 21 V hammer set (2 x 2.0 Ah)
Brand
LEEIKOO
Price
∼£32
Customer rating
4.3/5(232)
Hammer mode
Yes
Claimed torque
42 Nm
Chuck
10 mm
Gears
2
Clutch
25
Batteries
2 x 2.0 Ah
Platform
Own 21 V kit
Motor
Not stated brushless
Case
Yes
Work light
Yes
No-load speed
1,850 rpm

Common questions

Does this LEEIKOO set include a hammer mode?

Yes. The bullets describe three modes: screwing, drilling and hammer drilling, with a stated 42 Nm maximum.

How many accessories are included?

The title says 14 pieces. A bullet says a 30-piece set. The included-components field says drill attachment. All three are on the listing.

What chuck size is stated?

The bullet says a 3/8 inch (10 mm) auto-lock chuck.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were compared from the stored pages. The stored score on each card uses the star rating and the review count only. It is not a laboratory test of torque, chuck size, blow rate or brick. A highlight newton-metre figure is a seller claim. The top pick and the best value are a separate editorial choice using the checks below. A thin sample and a listing that contradicts itself are described on the card. They are not a second hidden penalty inside the stored score. Shelf prices are the stored figures, not a fresh check on 22 October 2026. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Hammer mode

25%

Hammer mode has to be in the title or the bullets. A combi title that says the tool is not a hammer drill is a drill-driver. An impact-driver type field beside a masonry bullet stays visible.

2

Job match

15%

Screws and small plug holes suit a combi. Concrete, engineering brick, stalled holes, chasing and chiselling need an SDS tool. That limit is stated. It is not folded into the stored score.

3

Torque claim

20%

Newton metres are the seller’s claim. If the title, the bullets and a technical field disagree, both figures stay on the card. A retailer band is a rule of thumb, not a shared lab method.

4

Chuck, gears and clutch

20%

A 13 mm chuck takes more bits than a 10 mm chuck. Two gears and the clutch count are read from the bullets. A speeds field that prints the clutch count instead is kept as a conflict.

5

Battery, platform and sample

20%

The packs in the box, the platform, and whether the listing says brushless are recorded as printed. Amp-hours are runtime, not torque. The star line is read with its review count. A 4.8 from 15 reviews is weaker evidence than a 4.8 from 12,389.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Combi drill buying guide

A combi drill is a cordless drill-driver with a hammer mode in a normal keyless chuck. Confirm the hammer, match the job, then read the torque claim, the chuck and the battery in the box. None of the scores on this page is a laboratory test of brick.

What is a combi drill?

A combi drill drills holes, drives screws through a slipping clutch, and adds a hammer mode for ordinary brick and block. The bit sits in a normal keyless chuck. A drill-driver has a clutch and no hammer. An impact driver is for fasteners, usually on a hex collet. An SDS tool uses splined bits and a piston. You buy a combi in the UK when one cordless kit has to hang shelves, build flat-pack and put a plug in ordinary brick or block. Hammer mode has to be in the title or the bullets.

Best for

  • A first cordless kit for shelves, flat-pack and a plug in ordinary brick
  • Someone who already owns Bosch, Ryobi, Einhell or DeWalt packs and will stay on that platform
  • Small plug holes, where a stated hammer mode and a 10 mm or 13 mm chuck are enough

Not ideal for

  • Concrete, engineering brick, stalled holes, chasing or chiselling
  • An employer whose people drill masonry as the main job, with no dust, noise and vibration assessment
  • A cable or pipe you cannot avoid, or a heavy fixing in a wall you do not understand

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A combi title with no hammer mode

    Hammer mode has to be in the title or the bullets. A title that says the tool is not a hammer drill is a drill-driver. An impact driver, usually on a hex collet, is for fasteners, not for a plug hole in brick.

  2. 2

    One torque number across every brand

    Newton metres are the seller’s claim. A retailer rule of thumb is under about 40 Nm for light DIY, about 40–70 Nm for general home use, and above about 70 Nm for heavier trade. If two cells disagree, show both. Do not silently pick one.

  3. 3

    The wrong mode, or the wrong platform

    Drilling on a clutch number, driving screws in drill mode, a wood bit in hammer mode, forcing a stalled bit, and changing gear while the chuck spins are the usual mistakes. A 21 V sticker is often peak voltage. Bosch, Ryobi, Einhell and DeWalt packs do not interchange.

What to weigh up

Hammer mode and the job

High

Hammer mode must be in the title or the bullets. A combi title that says the tool is not a hammer drill is a drill-driver, and it will not percussion-drill brick. Match the hole. Screws and small plug holes in ordinary brick or block suit a combi with a normal keyless chuck. Concrete, engineering brick, a hole that stalls, chasing and chiselling need an SDS tool with splined bits and a piston. An impact driver is for fasteners, usually on a hex collet, and it is the wrong class for a plug hole.

Torque, chuck, battery and conflicts

High

Read newton metres as the seller’s claim, not as a shared lab method. A retailer rule of thumb is under about 40 Nm for light DIY, about 40–70 Nm for general home use, and above about 70 Nm for heavier trade. A 13 mm chuck takes more bits than a 10 mm chuck. The battery in the box decides whether you can keep working when one pack is flat. Amp-hours are runtime, not torque. Packs do not cross Bosch 18 V, Ryobi ONE+, Einhell Power X-Change and DeWalt XR. A 21 V sticker is often peak voltage.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A first kit for shelves and a brick plug

You want one kit with a battery, a clear mode collar and enough hammer for a shelf in ordinary brick. The Ryobi R18PD3 is about £97.80, with 50 Nm and a 13 mm chuck that agree, two 1.5 Ah ONE+ packs, and 4.7 from 7,197 reviews. The motor is not stated as brushless, and a case is not listed.

An entry kit with a 13 mm chuck

You want the lower price and a stated 13 mm chuck, and you will read two torque cells. The Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I is about £44 with one 2.5 Ah Power X-Change pack and 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. The title says 44 Nm and a maximum-torque field says 14 Nm. The cheaper LEEIKOO kits use a 10 mm chuck.

You already own DeWalt XR packs

Stay on that platform. The DeWalt DCD778 is about £139.98, brushless, with 65 Nm agreed in the bullets and both torque fields, and 4.8 from 12,389 reviews. Chuck, wood and metal fields say 6.35 mm, and review texts include a charger that smoked and a 2-pin charger. Check the pins and the chuck on arrival.

Common questions about combi drills

Which combi drill is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Ryobi R18PD3 at about £97.80. The bullet and the torque field both say 50 Nm, with a 13 mm chuck and two 1.5 Ah ONE+ packs. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 7,197 reviews. The motor is not stated as brushless, and a case is not listed. This is not a lab test. The DeWalt DCD778 has a higher stored score and does not take this pick, because its chuck fields say 6.35 mm.
Which combi drill is best value?
The best value is the Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I at about £44. The title and bullets say 44 Nm and a 13 mm chuck, with one 2.5 Ah Power X-Change pack. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. A maximum-torque field also says 14 Nm, so both figures stay visible. It is the entry-band kit with a stated 13 mm chuck, not the cheapest carton. The cheaper LEEIKOO kits use a 10 mm chuck, and reviews report snapped bits and a dead battery.
How much does a combi drill cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these eleven amazon.co.uk listings, shelf prices run from about £29.99 to about £189.97. As a reading of this set, not a market study, under about £50 is the entry band, about £50 to £110 is the middle, and above about £110 is the pair with two DeWalt XR packs. A 21 V sticker is often peak voltage, a rule of thumb, and it is not scored as more power than 18 V. These are stored shelf figures, not a fresh check on 22 October 2026.
What should you check before you buy a combi drill?
Confirm hammer mode in the title or bullets. A title that says the tool is not a hammer drill is a drill-driver. Screws and small plugs suit a combi. Concrete, stalled holes and chasing need an SDS tool. Read newton metres as the seller’s claim. A rule of thumb is under about 40 Nm for light DIY, about 40–70 Nm for home use, and above about 70 Nm for heavier trade. A 13 mm chuck takes more bits than 10 mm. If a field contradicts the bullets, keep both.
Is a combi drill the same as an SDS rotary hammer?
No. A combi drill uses a normal keyless chuck and a hammer mode for ordinary brick and block. An SDS rotary hammer uses splined bits and a piston, for concrete, engineering brick, stalled holes, chasing and chiselling. BS EN 62841-2-1 covers hand-held drills and impact drills and excludes rotary hammers. Do not treat a listing as compliant unless the maker says so. If the hole is past a small plug, use the rotary hammer comparison.
Do these listings state noise, vibration or dust controls?
These listings state no decibels, no joules and no vibration figure, so none are invented here. Noise action values are 80 and 85 dB(A), with a limit of 87 dB(A). Vibration action and limit values are 2.5 and 5 m/s² A(8). HSE’s INDG175 illustration, not a test of these tools, is about 15 minutes of hammer use to the action value and about an hour to the limit. CN3 expects dust capture plus APF 20 when masonry drilling is more than a one-off.
When should you stop and call a professional?
Call a professional for a cable or pipe you cannot avoid, a heavy fixing in a wall you do not understand, chasing or core drilling, or employees drilling masonry with no dust, noise and vibration assessment. Scan for cables and pipes before the bit touches the wall. Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 you have 30 days to reject faulty goods, then repair or replacement. Online orders also have 14 days to cancel. Check the charger is a UK 13 A plug.
Will a 21 V pack fit an 18 V combi drill?
Amp-hours are runtime, not torque. Bosch 18 V, Ryobi ONE+, Einhell Power X-Change and DeWalt XR do not share packs. A 21 V sticker is often peak voltage, a rule of thumb, and it is not treated here as more power than 18 V. Only the Ginour bullets claim a Makita 18 V fit, and that fit was not measured. One reviewer who already had Makita combis said the packs fitted. That is a review line, not a test. Stay on the platform you already own.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit at about £97.80. Hammer mode, 50 Nm and a 13 mm chuck agree between the bullet and the torque field, with two 1.5 Ah ONE+ packs, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 7,197 reviews. The motor is not stated as brushless, and a case is not named. The best value is the Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I at about £44, with a stated 13 mm chuck and 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. The title says 44 Nm and the maximum-torque field says 14 Nm. Both stay visible. The DeWalt DCD778 holds the highest stored score and does not take the top pick: its chuck fields say 6.35 mm, and review texts include a charger that smoked and a 2-pin charger. These scores use stars and review counts only. They are not a lab test.

Best overall
DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW

DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW

View offer
Best value
Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I

Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I

About £44 for a stated 13 mm chuck and 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. The title says 44 Nm and a maximum-torque field says 14 Nm.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Combi drillsCordless drill kitsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to combi drills

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest for this comparison, retrieved 22 October 2026. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the stored listings.

  1. HSE, vibration duties (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. HSE INDG175, hand-arm vibration (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE CN3, silica from drilling masonry (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008: Great Britain (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. BSI, BS EN 62841-2-1, hand-held drills and impact drills (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK, accepting returns and giving refunds (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. ToolStore UK, combi drill torque bands (retailer guide) (retrieved 22 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. They are not a laboratory test of torque, chuck size or brick.