Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best cordless combi drill UK

Updated: 22 October 2026

You want one cordless combi drill for shelves, flat-pack and a few plug holes, and the UK best-of articles are naming Makita, Milwaukee and Bosch Professional bodies that are not in this amazon.co.uk set. Inside the set, a star rating on its own is a weak way to choose, because several listings disagree with themselves. The best cordless combi drill UK, for this page, means a conditional top pick and a conditional best value from these eleven kits, using October 2026 shelf prices from the [combi drill comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/combi-drill). There is no lab, and neither pick is a test winner. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one cordless combi drill for shelves, flat-pack and a few plug holes, and the UK best-of articles are naming Makita, Milwaukee and Bosch Professional bodies that are not in this amazon.co.uk set.

Our top picks

On this page

What best means in this set

Best here means the kit whose hammer mode, torque claim and chuck agree, for screws and small plug holes in ordinary brick or block, with enough reviews to show what owners complained about. It does not mean the UK’s best drill, the safest drill, or the tool for concrete. Prices below are the stored amazon.co.uk figures, not a live chart. A live card checked on 22 October 2026 did not match every stored price and review count, so this page does not overwrite them. The set runs from £29.99 to £189.97. A retailer rule of thumb, not one lab method, treats under about 40 Nm as light DIY, about 40–70 Nm as general home use, and above about 70 Nm as a heavier trade claim. Brushless is stated only on the DeWalt DCD778, the DeWalt DCD799 and the Ginour CD1308. Packs do not cross Bosch 18 V, Ryobi ONE+, Einhell Power X-Change and DeWalt XR. If the wall is concrete, engineering brick, or a hole that stalls, the brand argument stops on the combi drill vs SDS drill page.

Top pick for a home kit whose listing agrees

The top pick, if you want a listing that agrees with itself and a large review file, is the Ryobi R18PD3 ONE+ starter kit, at £97.80. Hammer mode is in the bullet, which covers masonry, wood, plastic, metal and screws. The bullet and the torque field both say 50 Nm. The chuck is 13 mm. There are two gears and 24 clutch settings. The box is two ONE+ 1.5 Ah packs, a double-ended bit and a ONE+ charger. The amazon.co.uk line in this file is 4.7 from 7,197 reviews. The motor is not stated as brushless, and a case is not named. The bullet prints an unspaced 5001800rpm, which is copied as printed and is not a second speed claim. Reviewers praise the 13 mm chuck, the shared ONE+ batteries, and a body that feels light but solid. Skip the Ryobi if you already own Bosch, Einhell or DeWalt packs, if you need the listing to say brushless, or if the work is concrete, engineering brick, a stalled hole, chasing or chiselling. Those last jobs are a reason to leave the combi class. The check order, without a winner, is the combi drill buying guide.

Best value under £50

The best value, if you want the entry band and a 13 mm chuck in the bullets, is the Einhell TE-CD 18/44 Li-I at £44.00. Hammer mode is stated. The title and the bullets say 44 Nm. The maximum-torque field says 14 Nm. Both figures belong in the same breath. The chuck is a 13 mm single-sleeve metal chuck. The bullets say a two-speed transmission and 21 torque levels. The number-of-speeds field says 21. You get one 2.5 Ah pack and a charger, on Einhell Power X-Change. It is not stated as brushless. The line here is 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. Owners describe shelves, pictures and a shed repair, and a home tool rather than a site tool. There is no case in the included-components line. Skip the Einhell if you need two batteries in the box, or if you will not print the 14 Nm field next to the 44 Nm title. The agreed-torque alternative, not a second winner, is the Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 with two 2.0 Ah packs, at £75.23. Both torque fields say 40 Nm, the chuck is 13 mm, and the box names two PBA 18V packs, an AL 18V-20 charger and a carrying case. It is 4.7 from 517 reviews. The drill-type field says impact driver, while the bullets describe impact drilling in masonry. The one-battery EasyImpact 18V-40, at £64.97 with 4.7 from 631 reviews, also says 40 Nm, but its battery-type field says CR2032 against the 1.5 Ah pack. Do not silently correct that cell.

Kits to leave on the table

The DeWalt DCD778D2T-QW, at £139.98, has the deepest file in the set: 4.8 from 12,389 reviews, with 65 Nm agreed, a brushless motor and two 2 Ah XR packs. It stays off the top pick because the chuck, wood and metal fields all say 6.35 mm and the bullets do not state a chuck size. Do not copy a 13 mm chuck from a different DCD778 kit onto this ASIN. Review texts include a charger that smoked and a 2-pin charger. The DCD799P2T-GB, at £189.97, states a 13 mm chuck, brushless, two 5 Ah XR packs and a UK plug in the title. The bullets say 74 Nm and the maximum-torque field says 26 Nm. It is 4.8 from 15 reviews, and one text says the chuck failed after a few uses. The Ginour CD1308, at £55.99, agrees on 50 Nm and says brushless, with 4.4 from 2,216 reviews, but the chuck is 10 mm and the Makita 18 V fit is an untested claim. The LEEIKOO kits at £29.99 and £32.24 state 42 Nm with 10 mm chucks. A 21 V sticker is not the value pick. The BLACK+DECKER BCD700 does not state newton metres in the bullets. The EasyImpact 18V-38, at £76.50, is 38 Nm with a 10 mm chuck, and the bullets do not themselves say masonry. Stay on the platform you already own. Before you pay, confirm the charger is a UK 13 A plug when it arrives. If the kit is faulty, you have 30 days to reject it under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. None of these rows states a decibel level, a joule rating, or a vibration magnitude.

Common questions

What is the best cordless combi drill for ordinary home DIY in this set?
For screws and small plug holes, if you want a listing that agrees on torque and chuck and a large review file, the top pick is the Ryobi R18PD3 at £97.80, with 50 Nm, a 13 mm chuck and two 1.5 Ah ONE+ packs, rated 4.7 from 7,197 reviews. It is not stated as brushless. Skip it if you already own another brand’s packs, or if the wall is concrete or engineering brick. It is a conditional pick from this set, not a national test winner.
What is the best-value kit if I want a battery in the box?
The Einhell TE-CD 18/44 at £44.00 includes one 2.5 Ah pack and a charger, with a 13 mm chuck in the bullet and 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. The title says 44 Nm and the maximum-torque field says 14 Nm, so you are accepting that conflict. If you will not, the Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 with two 2.0 Ah packs at £75.23 is the agreed-torque alternative, not a joint winner. The cheaper LEEIKOO kits have 10 mm chucks.
Is the DeWalt with 12,389 reviews the one to buy?
Not from this page, unless you already want DeWalt XR and you will check the chuck yourself. The DCD778 at £139.98 agrees on 65 Nm and is brushless, with two 2 Ah packs and 4.8 from 12,389 reviews. The chuck fields say 6.35 mm and the bullets do not state a chuck size. Review texts include a charger that smoked and a 2-pin plug. A high star line is not a chuck measurement.
Do I need brushless?
Not for weekend shelves. Buy brushless when the listing says so and the rest of the kit already fits. In this set that word is on the DCD778, the DCD799 and the Ginour CD1308. The Ryobi top pick and the Einhell best value are not stated as brushless. Claims of much longer life or much less noise, where a seller prints them, are not a test of these kits.
Is a 21 V kit more powerful than an 18 V kit?
No. A 21 V sticker is often peak voltage, not a larger platform and not an automatic torque advantage. The LEEIKOO kits use that label, state 42 Nm, and use 10 mm chucks. The Ryobi at 50 Nm and the Einhell at 44 Nm in the title are 18 V systems. Packs still do not cross brands. Match the batteries you own, or buy the charger with the drill.
Will either pick drill concrete or engineering brick?
Do not buy either pick for that. Both are combi drills: percussion in a normal chuck, suitable for screws and a small plug in ordinary brick or block. Concrete, engineering brick, a bit that stalls, chasing and chiselling are SDS Plus work. Forcing a combi bit that has stopped moving overheats the bit and the motor.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest for this comparison, retrieved 22 October 2026. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the stored listings.

  1. HSE, vibration duties (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. HSE INDG175, hand-arm vibration (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE CN3, silica from drilling masonry (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008: Great Britain (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. BSI, BS EN 62841-2-1, hand-held drills and impact drills (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK, accepting returns and giving refunds (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. ToolStore UK, combi drill torque bands (retailer guide) (retrieved 22 October 2026)