Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

SDS Max drill bit comparison 2026

The best SDS max drill bits, compared.

Top pick: Keewaki 20 x 400 mm – Highest score in this set, 4.8 from 53 ratings, with its own image. The written reviews are from the United States, and the length is printed as both 400 mm and 340 mm. Best value: UK Drills 18 x 330 mm – Lowest price here for an 18 mm hole, about £14.89, and the only UK Drills size in this set with a taper point and 118 degrees on the spec. Updated October 2026.

An SDS max drill bit is a carbide-tipped masonry bit with a shank about 18 mm across. You buy one in the UK when you already own a rotary hammer over about 5 kg, or when the hole is larger or deeper than a light hammer should drill. It does not fit an SDS plus chuck. That chuck takes a shank about 10 mm, and the two systems do not interchange. The title has to say SDS max, not a bare SDS. Match the diameter to the fixing, not to the shank. Keep total length and working length apart, because one printed number is not the hole depth. Concrete, brick and block are the job. Wood and metal are not. A four-cutter or cross tip is a maker's claim for harder concrete and rebar contact, not a measured life and not a certificate for a structural anchor. Confirm the shank, the diameter, a length you can read and a flute that clears dust. Use the guide to [shank, diameter and length](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/sds-max-drill-bit/sub/sds-max-drill-bit-buying-guide) for those checks.

An SDS max drill bit is a carbide-tipped masonry bit with a shank about 18 mm across.

Keewaki 20 x 400 mm

Best overall

Keewaki 20 x 400 mm
6.8/10∼ £18

18 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +24,100 readers

5 of 5: Best SDS max drill bits compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 5
Best overall
Keewaki 20 x 400 mm
Best value
UK Drills 18 x 330 mm
UK Drills 10 x 280 mm
UK Drills 18 x 400 mm
UK Drills 25 x 550 mm
6.8/10
5.6/10
5.6/10
5.6/10
5.6/10
∼ £18
∼ £15
∼ £10
∼ £16
∼ £27
4.8(53)
4.1(233)
4.1(233)
4.1(233)
4.1(233)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What diameter does the fixing need?

The best SDS max drill bits in detail

Keewaki 20 x 400 mm

Rank 1

Keewaki 20 x 400 mm

∼£18

Our view

Keewaki B0GVMJM9HP is a single 20 mm SDS max cross-tip bit at about £17.99, part number K-020400, 650 g, made in China. The title says 400 mm. One bullet says 340 mm. The highlight says a 400 mm working depth and a 4-cutter head. The bullets say an 18 mm SDS max shank only, not a 10 mm SDS plus shank. The star line is 4.8 from 53. The written reviews in the file are from the United States, and most name other sizes, so that star line is not a British test of this 20 mm bit. It is the highest score in this set. It does not state a flute count, a finish or a PGM mark.

Pros

  • Only 20 mm bit in this set
  • Listing states a 4-cutter cross tip and SDS max only
  • Own image, and rank 1 in SDS-Max shank bits on the listing

Cons

  • 400 mm and 340 mm are both printed
  • Written reviews are from the United States and mostly other sizes
  • Flute count, finish and cutting angle are not stated

Best for: A 20 mm hole in concrete, brick or masonry on an SDS max hammer

Less suitable: An SDS plus chuck, a job that needs one agreed length, or a specified structural anchor

Specifications

Model
Keewaki 20 x 400 mm
Brand
Keewaki
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.8/5(53)
Diameter
20 mm
Shank
SDS max, 18 mm
Length
400 mm
Working length
400 or 340 mm
Tip
4-cutter cross
Material
Carbide cross tip
Spec surface
Concrete
Weight
650 g

Common questions

Will this fit an SDS plus drill?

The listing says it fits an 18 mm SDS max shank only, and not a 10 mm SDS plus shank.

Is the bit 400 mm or 340 mm?

The title, part number K-020400 and the included-components line say 20 mm by 400 mm. One bullet says the overall length is extended to 340 mm. The highlight says an extended 400 mm working depth. Do not quote one working length.

Do the 53 reviews describe this 20 mm bit?

The star line is 4.8 from 53. Every written review in the saved listing is from the United States, and most name other sizes, especially 1/2 in by 13 in.

UK Drills 18 x 330 mm

Rank 2

UK Drills 18 x 330 mm

∼£15

Our view

UK Drills B01N8S4VO9 is a single 18 mm by 330 mm SDS max bit at about £14.89. It is the only size in this set with a taper point, a 118 degree cutting angle and a minimum bore of 18 mm on the spec. The bullets say four cutting edges and an 18 mm SDS max shank, not SDS plus. The spec says two spiral flutes, uncoated, and stone, while the bullets also name concrete, brick and block. Working length is not split out. The 4.1 from 233 is shared with the other UK Drills sizes. One review in that shared text names an 18 mm bit that sheared. It is the best value here when the hole you need is 18 mm.

Pros

  • 18 mm, the same figure as the stated shank
  • Only UK Drills size here with a taper point and 118 degrees
  • About £14.89, the lowest price here for an 18 mm hole

Cons

  • 330 mm is one number, not a working length
  • Shared 4.1 from 233, including an 18 mm bit that sheared
  • Spec surface says stone, bullets name more materials

Best for: An 18 mm clearance hole when you want the lowest price in this set for that diameter

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a separate working length, or who reads the shared 4.1 score as a test of this size alone

Specifications

Model
UK Drills 18 x 330 mm
Brand
UK Drills
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.1/5(233)
Diameter
18 mm
Shank
SDS max, 18 mm
Length
330 mm
Tip
4-cutter, 118 degrees
Flutes
2, spiral
Finish
Uncoated
Material
Tungsten carbide
Spec surface
Stone
Weight
420 g

Common questions

Will it fit an SDS plus chuck?

The bullets say SDS max hammer drills only, with an 18 mm shank, and that it does not fit SDS plus.

What size is this listing?

18 mm by 330 mm, one bit. The spec also lists a minimum bore of 18 mm, a taper point and a 118 degree cutting angle. Working length is not split out.

Are the 233 reviews only for this 18 mm bit?

The same review text is on the other UK Drills sizes. One review names an 18 mm bit that sheared in half. Others name a 38 mm hole and a 12 mm by 400 mm advert.

UK Drills 10 x 280 mm

Rank 3

UK Drills 10 x 280 mm

∼£10

Our view

UK Drills B01N410BGL is a single 10 mm by 280 mm SDS max bit at about £9.99. The bullets say an 18 mm SDS max shank, not SDS plus, and a carbide cross head with four cutting edges. The spec says tungsten carbide, uncoated, two spiral flutes and a concrete surface. The size line is 10 mm by 280 mm. Working length is not given separately. The star line is 4.1 from 233, the same text as the other UK Drills sizes, and no review names this size. The same product image is used on those other sizes. It is the lowest shelf price in this set, and it is still a 10 mm hole on an 18 mm shank. A 10 mm plug hole is often an SDS plus job.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this set, about £9.99
  • Listing says SDS max only, 18 mm shank
  • One bit, part number 49.100280W

Cons

  • 10 mm hole on an 18 mm shank
  • 233 reviews are a shared pool and do not name this size
  • Same product image as the other UK Drills sizes

Best for: A 10 mm hole only when the hammer is already SDS max and the fixing is 10 mm

Less suitable: A 10 mm plug hole on an SDS plus drill, or a reader treating the shared reviews as a test of this size

Specifications

Model
UK Drills 10 x 280 mm
Brand
UK Drills
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.1/5(233)
Diameter
10 mm
Shank
SDS max, 18 mm
Length
280 mm
Tip
4-cutter cross
Flutes
2, spiral
Finish
Uncoated
Material
Tungsten carbide
Spec surface
Concrete
Weight
270 g

Common questions

Will this 10 mm bit fit an SDS plus drill?

No. The bullets say an SDS max hammer only, with an 18 mm shank, and that it does not fit SDS plus. The 10 mm figure is the cutting diameter, not the shank.

How long is it?

The size bullet says 10 mm by 280 mm, one bit. Working length is not given separately.

Are the 233 reviews for this size?

The same review text and the same 4.1 from 233 are on the other UK Drills sizes in this set. None of those reviews names 10 mm by 280 mm.

UK Drills 18 x 400 mm

Rank 4

UK Drills 18 x 400 mm

∼£16

Our view

UK Drills B01MXLCTNH is a single 18 mm by 400 mm SDS max bit at about £15.99, part number 49.180400W, 520 g. The bullets say a carbide cross head with four cutting edges and an 18 mm SDS max shank. The spec says tungsten carbide, uncoated, two spiral flutes and concrete. Working length is not split out. The 4.1 from 233 is the shared UK Drills text, and no review names 18 mm by 400 mm. One shared review names a 12 mm by 400 mm advert. It costs about £1.10 more than the 18 mm by 330 mm listing. Choose it when you need that longer stated length and you accept that the length is one number.

Pros

  • 18 mm diameter with 400 mm on the size line
  • States SDS max only
  • About £15.99, £1.10 above the 18 mm by 330 mm listing

Cons

  • Working length is not printed
  • Shared reviews do not name this size
  • Same image and the same 4.1 from 233 as the other UK Drills sizes

Best for: An 18 mm hole when the length on the listing you need is 400 mm

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated working length, or a 20 mm or 25 mm fixing

Specifications

Model
UK Drills 18 x 400 mm
Brand
UK Drills
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.1/5(233)
Diameter
18 mm
Shank
SDS max, 18 mm
Length
400 mm
Tip
4-cutter cross
Flutes
2, spiral
Finish
Uncoated
Material
Tungsten carbide
Spec surface
Concrete
Weight
520 g

Common questions

Will it fit SDS plus?

The bullets say SDS max hammer drills only, 18 mm shank, and that it does not fit SDS plus.

Is 400 mm the hole depth?

The size line says 18 mm by 400 mm long. It does not give a separate working length.

Are the 233 reviews for this length?

The same text is on the other three UK Drills sizes. No review names 18 mm by 400 mm. One review is about a 12 mm by 400 mm advert whose shank would not fit a domestic drill.

UK Drills 25 x 550 mm

Rank 5

UK Drills 25 x 550 mm

∼£27

Our view

UK Drills B01MQJ434H is a single 25 mm by 550 mm SDS max bit at about £26.99, 840 g, part number 49.250550W. The spec finish is a polished, dry rust-resistant coating. The other UK Drills sizes here say uncoated. The bullets say four cutting edges and an 18 mm SDS max shank, not SDS plus. The spec says two spiral flutes and a concrete surface. Working length is not split out. The 4.1 from 233 is shared, and no review names this size. Tip breakage and shank-too-wide returns sit in that shared text. It is the largest diameter and the longest stated length in this set. It does not state a PGM mark.

Pros

  • Largest diameter and longest stated length in this set
  • Only UK Drills size here with a polished coating on the spec
  • Single bit, 840 g, part number 49.250550W

Cons

  • About £26.99, the top of this shelf
  • 550 mm is not split into a working length
  • Shared reviews and a shared image do not identify this size

Best for: A 25 mm hole when you need the longest stated length in this set

Less suitable: A short hole, a tight budget, or a specification that names a PGM bit

Specifications

Model
UK Drills 25 x 550 mm
Brand
UK Drills
Price
∼£27
Customer rating
4.1/5(233)
Diameter
25 mm
Shank
SDS max, 18 mm
Length
550 mm
Tip
4-cutter cross
Flutes
2, spiral
Finish
Polished, rust-resistant
Material
Tungsten carbide
Spec surface
Concrete
Weight
840 g

Common questions

Will it fit SDS plus?

The bullets say SDS max only, with an 18 mm shank, and that it does not fit SDS plus.

What finish does the spec give?

A polished, dry rust-resistant coating. The other UK Drills sizes in this set say uncoated. The bullets still say a carbide cross head with four cutting edges, and the spec says two spiral flutes.

Do the 233 reviews cover 25 mm by 550 mm?

The same review block is on the other UK Drills sizes. None names 25 mm by 550 mm. Tip breakage and shank-too-wide returns are in that shared text.

How we compared

Five SDS max drill bit listings on amazon.co.uk are compared here. The score uses the shelf price, the star line on that listing, and whether shank, diameter, length and conflicts are stated in public view. There is no lab test. The weights follow the buying order: shank, diameter, length, cutter, then how clear the listing and the reviews are.

1

Shank

25%

The listing has to say SDS max, about 18 mm, and that the bit does not fit an SDS plus chuck.

2

Diameter

20%

The cutting diameter has to match the fixing. A 10 mm hole is often an SDS plus job even when an SDS max bit of that size exists.

3

Length

20%

Total length and working length have to be readable as separate figures. One number on a title is not the hole depth.

4

Cutter and material

20%

Concrete, brick and block are the job. A cross tip or four-cutter line is a manufacturer claim, not a measured life.

5

Listing evidence

15%

A shared review pool, a length clash, or a missing flute or finish lowers confidence in that listing.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

SDS max drill bit buying guide

Choose an SDS max drill bit by the chuck you already own, then by the hole. The shank has to be SDS max, about 18 mm, and the listing has to say it does not fit SDS plus. Match the diameter to the fixing. A 10 mm hole is often an SDS plus job even when an SDS max bit of that size exists. Read length as total length unless the listing also prints a working length. Concrete, brick and block are the materials. A four-cutter claim is not a life test and not a rebar warranty.

What is an SDS max drill bit?

An SDS max drill bit is the masonry bit for the larger of the two common SDS chucks. The shank is about 18 mm. It locks into a rotary hammer that is typically over about 5 kg. An SDS plus bit uses a shank about 10 mm. The bits do not interchange, even when a title only says SDS. If you are unsure which chuck you have, read [SDS max and SDS plus](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/sds-max-drill-bit/sub/sds-max-drill-bit-vs-sds-plus) before you order.

Best for

  • Owners of an SDS max rotary hammer who need one diameter and one length
  • Trades drilling a larger clearance hole in concrete who accept a budget cutter claim

Not ideal for

  • An SDS plus chuck, including most 10 mm plug holes
  • A specified structural anchor that calls for a PGM-marked bit

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying SDS max for an SDS plus chuck

    The shanks are about 18 mm and about 10 mm. They do not fit each other. A 10 mm cutting diameter does not make the shank SDS plus. Check the hammer before you match the hole.

  2. 2

    Reading one length as the hole depth

    Total length and working length are different. One figure on a title is not a working length. The 20 mm listing in this set prints both 400 mm and 340 mm, so do not quote a single depth for it.

  3. 3

    Treating reinforced concrete as a rebar warranty

    A four-cutter claim on a bit in this price band is a manufacturer line, not a measured life. Shared reviews on the UK Drills sizes include tip breakage. Stop if a bit has snapped in the hole.

What to weigh up

Shank and diameter

High

The first check is the shank. The listing has to say SDS max, about 18 mm, and that the bit does not fit SDS plus. A published shank guide separates a shank about 10 mm for SDS plus from a shank about 18 mm for SDS max, and it ties SDS max to the heavier hammer. A cutting diameter of 10 mm does not mean the shank is 10 mm. In this set the 10 mm bit still quotes an 18 mm SDS max shank. Published SDS max ranges from Bosch start at 12 mm, and a 10 mm plug hole is often an SDS plus job.

Length, cutter and hole duty

High

Length is the check most of these listings fail to split. Separate total length from working length. Bosch prints both on its SDS max bits. Several amazon.co.uk titles print one number, and that number is not automatically the depth of the hole. In this set the UK Drills sizes give 280 mm, 330 mm, 400 mm or 550 mm as a single figure, with working length not split out.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

SDS max hammer, one hole

You already own an SDS max rotary hammer and you need one diameter and one length, not a set. If that fixing is 20 mm, the Keewaki listing is the only match in this set. Read the 400 mm title and the 340 mm bullet before you treat either figure as depth.

Larger holes in concrete

You drill larger holes in concrete and you have to decide whether a budget four-cutter claim is enough. The 25 mm by 550 mm UK Drills bit is the largest and longest listing here. It is not a named trade bit, and it does not state a PGM mark.

Householder who searched SDS

You searched SDS and you may actually need SDS plus, especially for a 10 mm plug hole. An SDS max bit will not fit that chuck. The 10 mm listing here still quotes an 18 mm SDS max shank. Use it only if the hammer is SDS max and the fixing really is 10 mm.

Common questions about SDS max drill bits

Will an SDS max drill bit fit an SDS plus drill?
No. An SDS max drill bit uses a shank about 18 mm. An SDS plus chuck takes a shank about 10 mm, and the two do not interchange. The cutting diameter is not the shank size: a 10 mm bit in this set still quotes an 18 mm SDS max shank. If your hammer is SDS plus, use an SDS plus bit. The comparison of SDS plus drill bits is the matching shank. Count the chuck you own before you match the hole.
How do you read the length of an SDS max drill bit?
Treat total length and working length as different numbers. A published professional range prints both, and the working length is the shorter one. Several amazon.co.uk titles print a single figure, and that figure is not automatically the depth you can drill. In this set the UK Drills sizes give one length only. The 20 mm Keewaki listing says 400 mm in the title and 340 mm in one bullet, so do not quote a single working length for it.
What should you pay for an SDS max drill bit?
On the amazon.co.uk listings kept here, the shelf runs from about £9.99 for a 10 mm by 280 mm bit to about £26.99 for a 25 mm by 550 mm bit. The 18 mm sizes sit at about £14.89 and about £15.99, and the 20 mm listing is about £17.99. That is this comparison's band, about £10 to £27. A Bosch Professional GB catalogue price for a 35 mm PRO SDS max-7 bit is £154.06. That figure is not an amazon.co.uk shelf price for any listing on this page.
Which SDS max drill bit is the top pick here?
The top pick is the Keewaki 20 mm bit: the highest score in this set, 4.8 from 53 ratings, its own image, and rank 1 in SDS-Max shank bits, at about £17.99. It is not a lab test. The written reviews are from the United States and mostly name other sizes. The title says 400 mm and one bullet says 340 mm. Choose it when you need 20 mm and can live with that length clash.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is the UK Drills 18 mm by 330 mm bit at about £14.89. It is the lowest price here for an 18 mm hole, and the only UK Drills size in this set with a taper point and 118 degrees on the spec. The 10 mm bit is cheaper, at about £9.99, but a 10 mm hole is often an SDS plus job on an 18 mm shank. The 4.1 from 233 is shared across the UK Drills sizes, not a separate test of this bit.
Do these bits carry a PGM mark for anchor holes?
No listing kept here states a PGM mark. PGM checks the geometry of masonry bits used in European Technical Assessment anchor tests. The mark is not a CE mark, and these amazon.co.uk bullet points are not a substitute for the anchor instructions. For a few clearance holes, a budget SDS max bit can be enough if the shank, diameter and length are right. For a specified structural anchor, follow the anchor's diameter, drilling and cleaning steps.
How do you control dust when drilling concrete?
Concrete drilling dust may contain respirable crystalline silica. HSE CN3 and CIS36 say you should limit the holes, capture dust on the tool, and use respiratory protective equipment with an assigned protection factor of at least 20 when extraction is not used or the work is longer. An M-class or H-class extractor is the control when drilling is the main job. CN3 treats about 15 to 30 minutes in a day as short-duration drilling. Vibration limits belong to the hammer's trigger time, not to the bit.
Can you use an SDS max drill bit on wood or rebar?
These listings are for concrete, brick, block and, on some bullets, stone or granite. They are not for wood or metal. A four-cutter or cross tip is a manufacturer claim for harder concrete and for contact with rebar. It is not a measured life and not a promise that the carbide will survive steel. Shared reviews on the UK Drills sizes include tip breakage. If the hole has to pass through known reinforcement, or if a bit has already snapped in the hole, stop and get a professional.

Our verdict

The highest score in this set is the Keewaki 20 mm bit, at about £17.99, with 4.8 from 53 ratings. That is the top pick if you need 20 mm and you can accept a title that says 400 mm and a bullet that says 340 mm. The best value for an 18 mm hole is the UK Drills 18 mm by 330 mm bit at about £14.89, the only size here with a taper point and 118 degrees on the spec. The cheaper 10 mm bit is a small hole on an 18 mm shank, and a 10 mm plug hole is often an SDS plus job. None of these listings is a lab test or a PGM-marked anchor bit.

Best overall
Keewaki 20 x 400 mm

Keewaki 20 x 400 mm

Highest score in this set, 4.8 from 53 ratings, with its own image. The written reviews are from the United States, and the length is printed as both 400 mm and 340 mm.

View offer
Best value
UK Drills 18 x 330 mm

UK Drills 18 x 330 mm

Lowest price here for an 18 mm hole, about £14.89, and the only UK Drills size in this set with a taper point and 118 degrees on the spec.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsPower toolsDrilling and accessories

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to SDS max drill bits

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK and manufacturer pages used for shank, dust, vibration and anchor-bit geometry, plus the amazon.co.uk listings for the five ASINs. Last checked on 22 October 2026.

  1. Heller Tools, Shanks (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. HSE CN3, Construction dust: drilling (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE CIS36, Construction dust (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. HSE, Hand-arm vibration: assess the risks (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. HSE INDG175, Hand-arm vibration (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. HSE, Electrical systems on construction sites (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Bosch Professional GB, PRO SDS max-7 drill bit (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. PGM, Check of standard drill bits (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  9. PGM, Marking of drill bits (retrieved 22 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices and star ratings come from the amazon.co.uk listings. This comparison is not a lab test.