Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Parasols comparison 2026

The best parasols, compared.

Top pick: Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol Best value: VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol – About £33.36 for a 200 cm by 125 cm canopy, 4.3 from 2,706 reviews. The base is separate, and reviews report a bent rib in a breeze. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A garden parasol is a complete outdoor shade umbrella: a cloth canopy, ribs, and either a centre pole or a side arm. In the UK you buy one to shade a dining table, a balcony, or loungers. A centre pole belongs in a table hole. A cantilever stands beside seating so the space under the cloth stays clear, and the arm is a lever, so the base has to be heavier. A rectangle around 200 cm by 125 cm suits a narrow balcony. A round canopy near 2.7 m is a circle of that width once it tilts. Many listings omit the pole diameter. A pictured foot is not a foot in the box. Polyester is the usual cloth. A UPF 50+ line is the seller's claim, and BS EN 13758-1 tests clothing, not umbrellas. NHS advice is shade from 11am to 3pm when the UV index is 3 or higher. No stated wind speed means there is no wind rating. Type and box contents are in the [parasol buying guide](/hub/sun-shades/parasols/sub/parasols-buying-guide).

A garden parasol is a complete outdoor shade umbrella: a cloth canopy, ribs, and either a centre pole or a side arm. In the UK you buy one to shade a dining table, a balcony, or loungers.

Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol

Best overall

Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol
7.0/10∼ £35

18 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +24,700 readers

5 of 5: Best parasols compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 5
Best overall
Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol
Harrier 3 m cantilever parasol
VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol
Harrier 2.7 m garden parasol
Best value
VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol
7.0/10
6.7/10
8.3/10
7.0/10
8.0/10
∼ £35
∼ £70
∼ £39
∼ £38
∼ £33
5.0(11)
4.8(25)
4.5(2,111)
4.4(85)
4.3(2,706)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Where will the canopy stand?

The best parasols in detail

Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol

Rank 1

Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol

∼£35

Our view

The Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol lists curved ribs, a carry bag, and a weight of 5.2 kg at about £34.99. The title says UPF 50+, and the listing does not name a test method for that figure. The star line is 5.0 from 11 amazon.co.uk reviews, a thin sample beside the VOUNOT rows that run into the thousands. One UK reviewer had not fitted the canopy because a base had not arrived. The listing does not say a base is included, and it does not state how the canopy opens or whether it tilts. Reviews do mention the carry bag for storage, which helps if you put a small centre-pole parasol away between weekends.

Pros

  • 2.2 m pagoda canopy with curved ribs
  • Carry bag in the title and in reviews
  • Listed weight 5.2 kg
  • UPF 50+ printed on the title

Cons

  • Only 11 reviews
  • Base not stated, and one reviewer was still waiting for one
  • Opening and tilt are not on the listing

Best for: A small table if you want the pagoda shape and will confirm a base before you rely on it.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a large review sample, a stated crank, or a cantilever.

Specifications

Model
Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol
Brand
Mansader
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
5.0/5(11)
Parasol type
Pagoda
Canopy size
2.2 m
Cover included
Yes
UV claim
UPF 50+
Frame
Pole
Ribs
Curved
Item weight
5.2 kg

Common questions

Does the Mansader 2.2 m parasol include a base?

The listing does not say. One UK reviewer had not fitted it because a base had not arrived.

What UV figure is on the listing?

The title says UPF 50+. The listing does not name a test method. BS EN 13758-1 tests clothing and excludes umbrellas, so treat the figure as the seller's claim.

Is there a carry bag?

Yes. The title includes a carry bag, and reviews mention it for storage.

Harrier 3 m cantilever parasol

Rank 2

Harrier 3 m cantilever parasol

∼£70

Our view

The Harrier 3 m is the titled cantilever in this comparison: an overhanging steel frame at a listed weight of 14 kg and a price of about £69.99. The star line is 4.8 from 25 amazon.co.uk reviews, so the average looks high while the sample stays small. One UK review says the canopy adjusts and swivels, and the specification block does not name that control. The title says UV-resistant and does not give a UPF number. Base and cover are not stated, and the listing questions about rain and a cover have no answer on the page. You only get clear space under the 3 m cloth if you add a base the page never specifies.

Pros

  • Titled 3 m cantilever with a steel frame
  • Listed weight 14 kg
  • One review says it adjusts and swivels
  • 4.8 from 25 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Only 25 reviews
  • Base and cover not stated
  • Opening method not in the specification block

Best for: Loungers or a sofa with no parasol hole, once you have confirmed the base.

Less suitable: A table that already has a hole, or anyone who needs a large review sample.

Specifications

Model
Harrier 3 m cantilever parasol
Brand
Harrier
Price
∼£70
Customer rating
4.8/5(25)
Parasol type
Cantilever
Canopy size
3 m
Tilt
Yes
Through a table
No
UV claim
UV-resistant
Frame
Steel
Item weight
14 kg

Common questions

Is the Harrier 3 m an overhanging parasol?

The title says cantilever and overhanging, with a steel frame. Listed weight is 14 kg. Canopy size in the title is 3 m.

Does it include a base or a cover?

The listing does not say. The page asks about rain and a cover, and those questions have no answer in the stored text.

Does it swivel?

One UK review says it adjusts and swivels. The specification block does not name the control.

VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol

Rank 3

VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol

∼£39

Our view

Across 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews, the VOUNOT 2.7 m centre-pole parasol is the canopy people wind up with a crank over a table that has a hole. The title size is 2.7 m, and one review puts the tilt lock at about 45 degrees, though that angle is not in a specification table. One review also says the pole does not change height. Several UK reviews say a storage bag or zip cover was in the box. The base was not: reviewers who used about 10 kg to 20 kg freestanding, especially with the tilt on, said the canopy toppled. At about £39.46 it is the top pick in this set for a dining table, once you price a separate base, and it is the wrong shape for a narrow balcony.

Pros

  • 2.7 m centre-pole canopy with a crank and tilt
  • 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Several reviews say a cover was in the box
  • Used through a table in reviews

Cons

  • Base not included
  • About 10 kg to 20 kg freestanding was not enough once tilted, in reviews
  • Height not adjustable, according to one review

Best for: A dining table with a parasol hole, if you will buy the base separately.

Less suitable: A narrow balcony, or anyone who expects the foot in the photograph to be in the box.

Specifications

Model
VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol
Brand
VOUNOT
Price
∼£39
Customer rating
4.5/5(2,111)
Parasol type
Centre pole
Canopy size
2.7 m
Base included
No
Opening
Crank
Tilt
Yes
Cover included
Yes
Through a table
Yes
Height adjustable
No

Common questions

Does the VOUNOT 2.7 m parasol include a base?

Several UK reviews say no. Reviewers who used about 10 kg to 20 kg freestanding, especially with the tilt on, said the canopy toppled.

Does this VOUNOT parasol tilt?

The title says tilting, and reviews describe a crank plus a tilt lock. One review puts the lock at about 45 degrees. That angle is not in a specification table.

Is a cover included?

Several UK reviews say a storage bag or zip cover was in the box. There is no specification row for the cover.

Harrier 2.7 m garden parasol

Rank 4

Harrier 2.7 m garden parasol

∼£38

Our view

The Harrier 2.7 m is listed at about £37.99 with a crank and a tilt, and the size line reads 270 cm by 270 cm by 240 cm high. It scores 4.4 from 85 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title marks the cover and the weights as optional, and one review says the pole has no flat foot, so a base is required. Another review describes thin cloth and only one tilt angle, about 30 degrees, which is not in a specification table. The title calls it a garden parasol, while the manufacturer reference says an overhanging cantilever, so the listing does not settle which variation arrives. One review mentions a thick steel post. Confirm the photos of the variation before you order a base to match it.

Pros

  • Crank and tilt at about £37.99
  • Size line 270 cm by 270 cm by 240 cm
  • 4.4 from 85 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One review describes a thick steel post

Cons

  • Cover and weights are marked optional
  • Title and manufacturer reference disagree on centre pole versus cantilever
  • One review says thin cloth and a single tilt of about 30 degrees

Best for: A buyer who has checked which variation the photos show and will buy weights separately.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a confirmed cantilever, or a confirmed centre pole through a table.

Specifications

Model
Harrier 2.7 m garden parasol
Brand
Harrier
Price
∼£38
Customer rating
4.4/5(85)
Parasol type
Unclear
Canopy size
2.7 m
Base included
No
Opening
Crank
Tilt
Yes
Cover included
No
Frame
Steel

Common questions

Does the Harrier 2.7 m include a base?

The title says optional weights. One UK review says the pole has no flat foot and a base is required. The listing question about a base has no answer.

How far does the tilt go?

The title says tilt. One review says there is only one angle, about 30 degrees. That angle is not in a specification table.

Is it a cantilever or a centre-pole parasol?

The title says a garden parasol with a crank. The manufacturer reference says an overhanging cantilever. The listing does not say which variation this is.

VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol

Rank 5

VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol

∼£33

Our view

The rectangular VOUNOT shades 200 cm by 125 cm from a 2.35 m pole and weighs 2 kg, listed at about £33.36. It has the largest review count here, 4.3 from 2,706 amazon.co.uk ratings. The listing includes a cover, manual tilt, height adjustment, and four ribs, and it does not include a base. One review says the tilt went the wrong way. Others describe a lock that does not hold and a rib that bent in a breeze, after which one unit would not close fully. UV 50+ is the title claim, not a named test. It is the best value in this set for a narrow balcony or a small table, if the spot is sheltered and you buy the foot separately.

Pros

  • 200 cm by 125 cm canopy, 2 kg, at about £33.36
  • 4.3 from 2,706 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Cover listed, with height adjustment and manual tilt
  • Four ribs stated on the listing

Cons

  • Base not included
  • Reviews of a bent rib in a breeze and a lock that does not hold
  • One review says the tilt went the wrong way

Best for: A narrow balcony or a small table, if the spot is sheltered.

Less suitable: An open, windy patio, or a six-seat table that needs a 2.7 m circle.

Specifications

Model
VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol
Brand
VOUNOT
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.3/5(2,706)
Parasol type
Rectangular
Canopy size
2 × 1.25 m
Base included
No
Opening
Bendable
Tilt
Yes
Cover included
Yes
Through a table
Yes
Height adjustable
Yes
UV claim
UV 50+
Frame
Steel
Ribs
4
Item weight
2 kg

Common questions

Does this rectangular VOUNOT include a base?

The included-components line lists a cover, not a base. One UK review says the base was bought separately.

Can you tilt it and change the height?

The listing says manual tilt, and the bullets say the height can be adjusted. One review says the tilt went the wrong way.

What size is the canopy?

The listing says 200 cm by 125 cm, with a pole length of 2.35 m and a listed weight of 2 kg.

How we compared

Scores use the five amazon.co.uk parasol listings stored on 21 October 2026. This is not a wind test and not a laboratory ranking. The stored score is round(stars ÷ 5 × 70), plus a sample term: 0 under 30 reviews, 8 from 30 to 199, 15 from 200 to 999, and 20 from 1,000 reviews, capped at 100. Price, cloth and review wording add nothing to that number. A 5.0 from 11 reviews therefore sits below a 4.5 from 2,111 reviews, because the sample term is zero under 30 reviews. The weights below scale that 70-plus-20 budget to 100. The top pick is the highest score. Best value is a separate award for the lower-priced rectangle with the largest review count, not a third term in the formula.

1

Amazon stars

78%

The star line on that amazon.co.uk listing, scaled as rating divided by 5, then multiplied by 70 in the stored score. This is not a wind test.

2

Review sample

22%

Points from the review count only: 0 under 30, 8 from 30 to 199, 15 from 200 to 999, and 20 from 1,000 reviews. A small sample does not outrank a large one on stars alone.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Parasol buying guide

You are choosing a garden parasol for a table, a balcony, or loungers. The five amazon.co.uk listings stored on 21 October 2026 run from about £33.36 to about £69.99. Judge type, cloth and what is in the box, not stars alone. A centre pole needs a hole. A cantilever needs a heavier base because the arm is a lever. A rectangle near 200 cm by 125 cm suits a narrow balcony. The top pick is the 2.7 m centre pole when the table has a hole and you will buy the base.

What is a garden parasol?

A garden parasol is a complete outdoor shade umbrella: canopy, ribs, and a centre pole or a side arm. Buyers shade a table, a balcony, or loungers, and often pay for the cloth while the base and the cover in the photograph are another variation. Centre-pole parasols are the crowded shelf and the tool for a parasol hole. Cantilever parasols, also sold as banana or overhanging, stand beside sofas and loungers so the space under the cloth stays clear.

Best for

  • A dining table with a parasol hole, if you will buy the base
  • A narrow balcony that needs a light rectangle
  • Loungers or a sofa, once the cantilever base is confirmed

Not ideal for

  • Anyone who expects the photographed base and cover to be in the box
  • An open patio when the listing states no wind speed
  • Sleeves, spare cloth, and handheld umbrellas

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Assuming the base and cover are included

    A pictured foot is not a foot. In this set the bases are missing, optional, or unstated. Several UK reviews of the 2.7 m centre pole say about 10 kg to 20 kg freestanding was not enough once the canopy was tilted.

  2. 2

    Reading UPF text as a British Standard

    UPF 50+ and UV 50+ on a title are the seller's claim. BS EN 13758-1 tests clothing and excludes umbrellas. Shade does not replace sunscreen, and it does not stop sunburn on its own.

  3. 3

    Using a centre-pole slab under a cantilever

    The side arm is a lever, so the base is heavier than a centre-pole foot. Do not force a stuck crank, and do not leave a tilted canopy up on a light base. Close it when the wind rises.

What to weigh up

Type, size and box contents

High

Type comes first. A centre pole is for a table hole. A cantilever is for sofas and loungers, because the space under the cloth stays clear, and the arm means a heavier base. A rectangle around 200 cm by 125 cm suits a narrow balcony. A pagoda with curved ribs is still a centre-pole umbrella. Then match canopy to table, and pole to hole or collar. Many listings omit the diameter. A 2.7 m round is a circle of that width once it tilts. Base, sleeve and weights are often optional or absent.

Opening, wind and the review sample

High

Crank, a bendable pole, push-button tilt and rope-and-cleat are different mechanisms. Tilt angles on these pages come from single reviews, about 45 degrees on one centre pole and about 30 degrees on one Harrier, and they are not in a specification table. Polyester is usual. Do not copy a fabric weight that appears only in a review. No stated wind speed means no wind rating, so close the canopy in gusts. A UPF line is the seller's claim, not BS EN 13758-1.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Table with a hole

You want a 2 m to 3 m centre pole through a dining table, and you still need a base. The VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol is the top pick at about £39.46, with 4.5 from 2,111 reviews, a crank and a tilt. Several reviews say a cover was in the box. The base was not.

Narrow balcony

Look at a light rectangle before a 2.7 m circle. The VOUNOT 200 cm by 125 cm parasol is best value at about £33.36, with 4.3 from 2,706 reviews, a cover, manual tilt and height adjustment. It weighs 2 kg. The base is separate, and reviews describe a bent rib in a breeze.

Loungers or a sofa

You want clear space under the cloth, so the mast stands to the side. The Harrier 3 m cantilever is about £69.99, with 4.8 from 25 reviews and a listed weight of 14 kg. The base is not stated. Treat that base as the main cost, and confirm it before you open the canopy.

Common questions about parasols

What is the top parasol in this 2026 comparison?
The top pick is the VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol at about £39.46. The title size is 2.7 m, with a crank and a tilt, and the star line is 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews. Several UK reviews say a cover was in the box. The base was not. Reviewers who used about 10 kg to 20 kg freestanding, especially with the tilt on, said the canopy toppled. It suits a dining table with a hole.
Which parasol is best value?
Best value is the VOUNOT 200 cm by 125 cm parasol at about £33.36. It has the largest review count here, 4.3 from 2,706, a listed weight of 2 kg, a cover, manual tilt and height adjustment. The base is not included. UV 50+ is the title claim, not a named test. Reviews describe a lock that does not hold and a rib that bent in a breeze. Use it on a sheltered balcony or a small table.
How much does a garden parasol cost?
In this set the shelf prices run from about £33.36 to about £69.99. The rectangle is about £33.36, the 2.7 m centre pole about £39.46, and the 3 m cantilever about £69.99. On 21 October 2026 the Garden Parasols best-seller list ran about £16 to £60 for centre-pole canopies and about £56 to £90 for cantilevers, before a proper base. A pictured foot is often another variation, so add the base before you call a canopy cheap.
Does the parasol include a base?
Often no. The two VOUNOT listings do not include a base, and UK reviews say the foot was bought separately. The Mansader listing does not say. The Harrier 3 m page does not state a base or a cover. The Harrier 2.7 m title marks the weights as optional, and one review says the pole has no flat foot. A foot in the photograph is not a foot in the box.
Is UPF 50+ a British Standard for a parasol?
No. A UPF 50+ or UV 50+ line on a title is the seller's claim. BS EN 13758-1 tests the solar UV protective properties of apparel fabrics and excludes umbrellas. The Harrier 3 m title says UV-resistant and gives no UPF number. The 2.7 m centre pole has no UV figure in the comparison fields. Shade does not replace sunscreen. NHS advice is shade from 11am to 3pm, March to October, when the UV index is 3 or higher, plus SPF 30 and four-star UVA.
How heavy should the base be?
There is no single official UK base weight. Opal, a retailer, suggests about 20 to 25 kg for a 3 m centre pole through a table, 40 to 50 kg freestanding, and 80 to 100 kg for a 3 m cantilever. Other sellers publish different kilograms. Follow the sheet in the box. A fillable base reaches the printed weight only when filled, and sand is heavier than water. Do not use a centre-pole slab under a cantilever.
When should I close a parasol?
Close it in gusts. None of these listings states a wind speed, so there is no wind rating for that canopy. Do not leave a tilted canopy up on a light base. EN 13561 rates awnings and EN 581-1 rates outdoor seats and tables. Neither rates a parasol. For clear space beside a sofa, compare a side arm on the cantilever parasol page, and still confirm the base.
What if the goods are not as described?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 gives a 30-day short-term right to reject goods that are not as described. That covers a base or a cover the page implied was included, and a variation that is not the one in the title. The General Product Safety Regulations 2005 are the Great Britain baseline. Northern Ireland uses EU Regulation 2023/988 from 13 December 2024. Stop using a solar parasol that smells hot or melts. A 2016 recall covered three named models only, not every unlit cloth sold now.

Our verdict

The top pick is the VOUNOT 2.7 m garden parasol at about £39.46. It scores 83, the highest here: a 2.7 m centre pole with a crank and tilt, 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews, and several reviews that found a cover in the box. The base is not included. Reviewers who used about 10 kg to 20 kg freestanding, especially with the tilt on, said the canopy toppled. Best value is the VOUNOT 200 cm by 125 cm parasol at about £33.36. It has the largest review count, 4.3 from 2,706, a listed cover, manual tilt and height adjustment. Reviews describe a bent rib in a breeze and a lock that does not hold. The Harrier 3 m cantilever scores 67 from 25 reviews and has no badge: the base and the cover are not stated.

Best overall
Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol

Mansader 2.2 m pagoda parasol

View offer
Best value
VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol

VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm parasol

About £33.36 for a 200 cm by 125 cm canopy, 4.3 from 2,706 reviews. The base is separate, and reviews report a bent rib in a breeze.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSun shadesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to parasols

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Listings captured 21 October 2026. Updated 22.10.2026.

  1. NHS sun safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Met Office UV codes (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. GOV.UK ultraviolet FAQ (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. BSI BS EN 13758-1:2002 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015 section 22 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Opal: parasol base weight (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk Garden Parasols best sellers (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.