Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Parasol with crank comparison 2026

The best parasols with crank, compared.

Top pick: VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover – Only score at 95: 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt, and a storage cover at about £39.46. The base is extra. Best value: Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt – Lowest shelf price at about £37.99 for a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt. The sample is 85 reviews, and the reference line says cantilever. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A parasol with crank is a garden umbrella you open by winding a handle, not by pushing a runner up the pole. In the UK you buy one for a patio table or a small lawn, because a winch is easier on the hands than a push-up. Most are centre-pole models at 2.7 m or 3 m, often with a one-step tilt, polyester around 180 g/m² and a pole near 38 mm. The base is usually sold separately. A rectangular crank covers an oblong table. A side pole is a different product when you need a clear floor. You tell a sound example by the hardware. Measure the table hole first: some 3 m and rectangular poles are thicker than 38 mm and will not pass. Through a sturdy table you can use less base weight. Free-standing, and any canopy you tilt, needs more mass. A vented canopy that is not paper-thin is the fabric check. Printed UV50+ is a claim: BS EN 13758 tests clothing, not umbrellas. Size, pole and base are in the [parasol with crank buying guide](/hub/sun-shades/parasol-with-crank/sub/parasol-with-crank-buying-guide).

A parasol with crank is a garden umbrella you open by winding a handle, not by pushing a runner up the pole. In the UK you buy one for a patio table or a small lawn, because a winch is easier on the hands than a push-up.

VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover

Best overall

VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover
9.5/10∼ £39

26 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

7 of 7: Best parasols with crank compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover
PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m crank
Garden Pride 2.7 m wind-up
PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m with base
ZealWe 3 m tilt crank
Best value
Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt
Sekey crank with UV50+ claim
9.5/10
6.4/10
7.3/10
6.3/10
7.0/10
7.1/10
4.7/10
∼ £39
∼ £95
∼ £81
∼ £143
∼ £52
∼ £38
∼ £41
4.5(2,111)
4.5(176)
4.5(153)
4.5(104)
4.4(370)
4.4(85)
4.2(115)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best parasols with crank in detail

VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover

Rank 1

VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover

∼£39

Our view

The VOUNOT 2.7 m centre-pole is the crank parasol UK reviewers have used most in this set: 4.5 from 2,111 ratings on amazon.co.uk, listed at about £39.46. You wind it open and tilt it on a push-button, and one review locks that tilt at about 45 degrees. Buyers run the pole through four-seat and six-seat table holes, and one measured the overall height at about 2.4 m. The box includes a storage cover, and one reviewer is clear that the cover itself is not waterproof. A free-standing block of about 10–11 kg is called too light, with 20 kg or more the figure that keeps coming back. Fabric is described as thick, and one review names about 180 g/m², but one canopy left the crown after a week. The stand is not in the box. The score of 95 is that review base plus a stated size, tilt and cover. It is not a wind test.

Pros

  • 2.7 m crank and push-button tilt, with one review at about 45 degrees
  • Storage cover in the box at about £39.46
  • 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Used through four-seat and six-seat table holes

Cons

  • Base not included; a 10–11 kg free-standing block is called too light
  • Storage cover is not waterproof
  • One canopy left the crown after a week
  • Large and heavy for a balcony

Best for: A 4–6 seat patio table when you already have a heavy base and want a cover in the box.

Less suitable: A balcony, or a first setup if you will not buy a heavy stand.

Specifications

Model
VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover
Brand
VOUNOT
Price
∼£39
Customer rating
4.5/5(2,111)
Canopy
Round, 2.7 m
Opening
Crank
Tilt
Yes
Base included
No
Cover included
Yes
Fabric
About 180 g/m²
UV claim
No UPF number
Pole note
Fits 4–6 seat holes

Common questions

Does it include a base?

No. Reviews say you must buy a stand. A 10–11 kg block is described as too light when free-standing. 20 kg or more is the figure that keeps coming back.

Does it tilt?

Yes. The title is a tilting umbrella. Reviews describe a push-button tilt. One review names a 45-degree lock.

Is a cover included?

Yes. The title and many reviews mention a protective storage bag. One review says that cover is not waterproof.

PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m crank

Rank 2

PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m crank

∼£95

Our view

The PHI VILLA PV-UK-E02GM010-PV is a rectangular crank canopy of 3.8 × 2 m at about £94.99, rated 4.5 from 176 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is built for an oblong table or a long patio, not for a round 2.7 m hole. The title prints waterproof and a general sun-protection line, with no UPF number and no tilt stated. Reviews say the crank is easy and that a click-in extension pole sits lower than a typical round parasol. The base is not included, and the canopy can spin in a light wind on a loose stand. Many reviews describe solar LED ribs that the title does not mention, and some of those lights fail. You still need a heavyweight stand if you want it to stay put. The score of 64 is that oblong canopy. The missing tilt, the spin in a light wind and the lights that are absent from the title pull it down.

Pros

  • Rectangular 3.8 × 2 m canopy for an oblong table
  • Crank described as easy in UK reviews
  • Waterproof printed in the title
  • 4.5 from 176 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Base not included
  • Can spin in a light wind
  • Solar lights appear in reviews, not the title, and some fail
  • Tilt not stated

Best for: An oblong dining table when you will buy a heavy stand and do not need a tilt.

Less suitable: A standard round table, or a free-standing plot on a light base in a breeze.

Specifications

Model
PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m crank
Brand
PHI VILLA
Price
∼£95
Customer rating
4.5/5(176)
Canopy
3.8 × 2 m
Opening
Crank
Base included
No
Fabric
Waterproof
UV claim
No UPF number
Pole note
Click-in extension

Common questions

Does it include a base?

No. The listing asks that question. Reviews say you need a heavyweight stand. On a loose stand the canopy can spin in a light wind.

Is it a round 2.7 m parasol?

No. The title is 3.8 × 2 m. Reviews use it on oblong tables and long patios.

Does it have lights?

The title does not mention lights. Many UK reviews describe solar LED ribs, and some of those lights fail.

Garden Pride 2.7 m wind-up

Rank 3

Garden Pride 2.7 m wind-up

∼£81

Our view

The Garden Pride 8100G is a 2.7 m wind-up parasol at about £81.00, with 4.5 from 153 amazon.co.uk reviews and a polyester canopy named in the title. The size line is 270 × 270 × 230 cm and 4.5 kg, and the title offers green, blue, terracotta, grey, or beige. Reviews confirm both the crank and the tilt, and one says the pole is thicker than usual yet still passed a standard table hole. The spec block does not include a base, and reviewers tell you to buy a heavy, wide stand. At more than twice the VOUNOT shelf price you are paying for a named fabric and a colour choice, not for a cover or a stand. One older review says it broke on the second use, so a single early failure is on the record. The score of 73 is that named polyester and the 4.5 kg line. The price and the missing cover keep it off the top pick.

Pros

  • Polyester canopy, tilt, and wind-up crank named in the title
  • Stated 4.5 kg and 270 × 270 × 230 cm
  • Colour choice: green, blue, terracotta, grey, or beige
  • 4.5 from 153 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • About £81.00, higher than the other 2.7 m cranks in this set
  • Base not described as included; reviews want a heavy, wide stand
  • One older review: broke on the second use
  • Cover not confirmed

Best for: A 2.7 m table when you want a named polyester canopy and a colour choice, and you already have a heavy stand.

Less suitable: A tight budget, or a plot where you still need to buy both a base and a cover.

Specifications

Model
Garden Pride 2.7 m wind-up
Brand
Garden Pride
Price
∼£81
Customer rating
4.5/5(153)
Canopy
Round, 2.7 m
Opening
Wind-up crank
Tilt
Yes
Fabric
Polyester
Pole note
Fits standard hole

Common questions

Does it tilt?

Yes. The title states tilt and crank. Reviews confirm both.

Will it fit a standard table hole?

One UK review says the pole is thicker than usual and still fitted a standard hole.

Is a base included?

The spec block does not say a base is included. Reviews tell you to buy a heavy, wide stand.

PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m with base

Rank 4

PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m with base

∼£143

Our view

The PHI VILLA PV-UK-E02GM013-PV is the largest canopy in this set, 2.7 × 4.5 m at about £142.99, with 4.5 from 104 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is also the only listing here that puts a base in the box: a fillable stand and empty sand bags, with the sand itself not included. Reviews use it over an eight-seat table or two sofas, and one says the canopy runs slightly smaller than the stated measurements. A weather cover for the closed parasol is not included, though some buyers mention a cover over the filled base. Two people are needed for assembly in some reviews, and two securing dials are described. It can still rotate in wind once it is up, and the filled base is very heavy to move. Tilt is not stated. The score of 63 stays below the 2.7 m top pick because the bags arrive empty, there is no weather cover, and the footprint is 2.7 × 4.5 m.

Pros

  • Fillable base and empty sand bags in the box
  • Largest coverage in this set at 2.7 × 4.5 m
  • Waterproof printed in the title
  • 4.5 from 104 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Sand is extra, and the filled base is very heavy to move
  • No parasol weather cover
  • Can still rotate in wind
  • One review says it is slightly smaller than the stated size

Best for: A large patio when you will fill the base with sand in place and can live with a 2.7 × 4.5 m footprint.

Less suitable: A small table hole, a balcony, or anyone who needs a ready-filled stand and a tilt.

Specifications

Model
PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m with base
Brand
PHI VILLA
Price
∼£143
Customer rating
4.5/5(104)
Canopy
2.7 × 4.5 m
Opening
Crank
Base included
Yes
Cover included
No
Fabric
Waterproof
UV claim
No UPF number
Pole note
Two securing dials

Common questions

Is the base ready to use?

The title includes a base. Reviews say you fill the supplied bags with sand, which is not in the box. Once filled, the base is very heavy to move.

Is a parasol cover included?

Reviews say no weather cover for the closed canopy. Some mention a cover that sits over the filled base.

How large is it?

The title is 2.7 × 4.5 m. Reviews cover an 8-seat table or two sofas. One review says it is slightly smaller than the stated measurements.

ZealWe 3 m tilt crank

Rank 5

ZealWe 3 m tilt crank

∼£52

Our view

The ZealWe is a 3 m centre-pole with eight ribs and a tilt crank, listed at about £51.84 with 4.4 from 370 amazon.co.uk reviews. That is the step up from 2.7 m if the table or the patio is larger, and reviews want a heavier-than-normal base, with 20 kg plus named more than once. You fit the arms and the fabric yourself, and reviewers put that at about 5 to 15 minutes, which the detail block does not make obvious. A cover was missing for one buyer, and one review says a narrow pole moves in the base and in the table. Tilt works after the canopy is open. One abrupt close cut a hand, so keep fingers off the runner while it drops. The stand is not in the box. The score of 70 stays off the top pick because of that self-assembly and the close that cut a hand.

Pros

  • 3 m canopy and eight ribs named in the title
  • Tilt crank, used after the canopy is open
  • 4.4 from 370 amazon.co.uk reviews at about £51.84
  • Arm-and-fabric assembly reported at about 5–15 minutes

Cons

  • Self-assembly is not obvious in the details
  • No base; reviews want 20 kg plus
  • One abrupt close cut a hand
  • One review found no cover, and a narrow pole can move in the tube

Best for: A larger patio when you will assemble the arms and fabric and buy a heavy base.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a pole-only kit that is already assembled, or who cannot keep hands clear of a dropping runner.

Specifications

Model
ZealWe 3 m tilt crank
Brand
ZealWe
Price
∼£52
Customer rating
4.4/5(370)
Canopy
Round, 3 m
Opening
Tilt crank
Tilt
Yes
Base included
No
Cover included
No
Pole note
Narrow pole

Common questions

Do I have to assemble the canopy?

Yes. Reviews say you fit the arms and the fabric. Times given are about 5 to 15 minutes. The detail block does not make that obvious.

Does it include a base?

No. Reviews want a heavier-than-normal stand. One mentions 20 kg plus.

Does it tilt?

Yes. The title is a tilt crank handle. Reviews use the tilt after the canopy is open.

Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt

Rank 6

Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt

∼£38

Our view

The Harrier is the lowest price in this set at about £37.99, a stated 2.7 m centre-pole with a crank and a tilt that one UK review limits to a single 30-degree stop. It holds 4.4 from 85 amazon.co.uk reviews, a much thinner sample than the VOUNOT. One reviewer describes a two-part steel post that fitted a patio table hole, and the size line reads 270 × 270 × 240 cm. Pictures can look as if a flat foot is included, yet reviews say the pole still needs a separate stand. One complaint calls the canopy thin and see-through. The manufacturer reference line says overhanging cantilever, while the title and the reviews describe a centre post, so read the listing before you assume an offset arm. A cover is only optional in the title and is not confirmed in the box. The score of 71 is that low shelf price, not the second-highest score in the set.

Pros

  • Lowest price in this set at about £37.99 with crank and tilt
  • Two-part steel post that fitted a patio table hole in one review
  • Stated size 270 × 270 × 240 cm
  • 4.4 from 85 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • No base, and photos can look as if a foot is included
  • One thin, see-through canopy complaint
  • Reference line says cantilever while reviews describe a centre post
  • Cover not confirmed in the box

Best for: A 2.7 m table parasol on a budget when you already own a base and will check that the listing is a centre pole.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stand in the box or a canopy the spec table already calls thick.

Specifications

Model
Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt
Brand
Harrier
Price
∼£38
Customer rating
4.4/5(85)
Canopy
Round, 2.7 m
Opening
Crank
Tilt
Yes
Base included
No
Pole note
Two-part steel post

Common questions

Does it include a base?

No. Reviews say the pictures can look like a flat foot. The pole needs a separate stand.

Does it tilt?

Yes. The title states a tilt function. One UK review says there is only one angle, 30 degrees.

Is this a cantilever?

The manufacturer reference line says overhanging cantilever. The title and reviews describe a two-part centre post. Read the listing before you assume an offset arm.

Sekey crank with UV50+ claim

Rank 7

Sekey crank with UV50+ claim

∼£41

Our view

The Sekey crank garden umbrella is listed at about £40.76 with 4.2 from 115 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the title prints UV50+ plus a water-repellent canopy. That is almost the whole usable spec. The title and the spec block do not state a diameter, a pole size, or whether a base is in the box. Tilt is raised as a question in the stored notes and is not written into the title. Those notes hold only one UK review text, so recurring praise and faults are not established here. UV50+ on a parasol title is a printed claim: BS EN 13758 tests clothing fabric, not umbrellas, and no method is named. You would need to check the live size and the stand before treating this as a 2.7 m table parasol. The score of 47 reflects that missing size, not a failed fabric test.

Pros

  • Crank operation printed in the title
  • UV50+ and water-repellent printed, with no test method named
  • 4.2 from 115 amazon.co.uk reviews at about £40.76

Cons

  • No stated diameter or pole size
  • Only one UK review text in the stored notes
  • Base, cover, and tilt not confirmed
  • UV50+ is not a clothing-standard certificate

Best for: A shopper who will open the live listing and confirm canopy size and base before buying.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated 2.7 m size or a deep set of UK reviews.

Specifications

Model
Sekey crank with UV50+ claim
Brand
Sekey
Price
∼£41
Customer rating
4.2/5(115)
Opening
Crank
Fabric
Water-repellent
UV claim
UV50+ printed

Common questions

What size is the canopy?

The title and spec block do not state a diameter. Do not treat it as a 2.7 m table parasol until the live listing confirms the size.

Does it need a separate base?

The listing asks that question and does not answer it in the stored notes. Whether a base is in the box is not stated.

Is the UV50+ a clothing test?

The title prints UV50+. No test method is named. BS EN 13758 tests clothing fabric, not umbrellas.

How we compared

Shelf date 21 October 2026. Scores use the seven amazon.co.uk listings kept for this comparison: stars, review counts, stated contents and review notes already stored. This is not a lab test, a wind-tunnel test or a fabric UPF test. Printed UV50+ is a listing claim. BS EN 13758 tests clothing, not parasols. Weights sum to 100 before deductions for an early failure, a thin canopy, a product-type line that fights the reviews, lights that are not in the title and then fail, a close that injured a hand, sand sold separately, or a canopy reported smaller than the title. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lowest shelf price for a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt, not the second-highest score.

1

Stars

25%

Amazon.co.uk stars on a 0–25 scale. 4.5 scores 25, 4.4 scores 20 and 4.2 scores 10, from (stars − 4.0) / 0.5 × 25. Stars are not a wind test.

2

Review depth

25%

Review count on a 0–25 scale: 25 × log10(count) / log10(2,111), rounded. 2,111 reviews score 25. A sample of 85 still scores 15. Depth is the size of the amazon.co.uk sample, not a separate survey.

3

Listing fit

30%

Stated contents on a 0–30 scale: canopy size 8, crank confirmed 6, tilt confirmed 6, cover in the box 5, base status clear 3, fabric or water claim named 2. A missing diameter, tilt, cover or base does not score.

4

Value

20%

Shelf price on a 0–20 scale. A lower price inside this set scores higher. A base in the box adds 6, because you are not buying a stand on top of the parasol price. Sand that is still extra is a deduction, not a second bonus.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Parasol with crank buying guide

You are choosing a garden umbrella you open with a winding handle, for a patio table or a small lawn. The seven amazon.co.uk listings stored on 21 October 2026 run from about £37.99 to about £142.99. A 2.7 m round crank is the usual table size. A 3 m round canopy, or a rectangle, covers more ground and asks more of the base. The top pick is the VOUNOT 2.7 m when you already have a heavy stand and want a cover in the box.

What is a parasol with crank?

A parasol with crank is a garden umbrella you open by winding a handle, not by pushing a runner up the pole. On amazon.co.uk the usual buy is a centre-pole model at 2.7 m or 3 m, often with a one-step tilt, a polyester canopy around 180 g/m² and a pole near 38 mm. The base is almost never in the box. UK shoppers buy them for a patio table or a small lawn because the winch is easier on the hands than a push-up, especially on a 2.7 m canopy.

Best for

  • A 4–6 seat patio table when you already have a heavy base
  • An oblong table or a large patio when you will buy or fill a heavy stand

Not ideal for

  • A balcony, or a first setup if you will not buy a heavy stand
  • A clear floor under the canopy, which needs a side-pole cantilever

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the parasol and forgetting the base

    Most crank parasols in this set do not include a stand. A 10–11 kg block is called too light when free-standing. A printed 12 kg line is a seller suggestion. Free-standing models around 2.7–3 m are put at 40–50 kg in a UK trade table.

  2. 2

    Ignoring the pole, or winding the wrong way

    Some 3 m and rectangular poles are thicker than 38 mm and will not pass a standard table hole. Clockwise usually opens the crank. Forcing it the other way, or keeping a hand on a dropping runner, is how a close can catch a finger.

  3. 3

    Reading UV50+ as a sun certificate

    Printed UV30+ or UV50+ is a listing claim. BS EN 13758 tests clothing, not umbrellas. A thin polyester canopy is not full sun cover. Shade still needs sunscreen, and a storage cover in the box is not the same as a waterproof canopy.

What to weigh up

Job, pole and base

High

Start with the table, not the title. A 2.7 m round crank covers a typical 4–6 seat table. A 3 m canopy covers more of a patio and needs more base once you tilt it. A rectangular crank matches an oblong table: in this set that is 3.8 × 2 m without a stand, or 2.7 × 4.5 m with empty sand bags. A side-pole crank is a different product when you need a clear floor. Measure the hole before you assume 38 mm. Most UK centre-pole cranks use that diameter.

Crank, fabric and cover

High

The crank is why you are here. Winding a handle is easier on the hands than shoving a runner up a 2.7 m pole. Clockwise usually opens. Tilt is often one lock, and it shifts load onto the base, so a canopy that was steady when upright can walk once it is angled. Confirm the tilt is actually stated. Two rectangular listings in this set do not state one. Fabric around 180 g/m² polyester, with a vent, is the typical check: the canopy should not feel paper-thin. One review names about 180 g/m².

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Patio diners

You already have a table hole and a heavy base, and you want a wind-up instead of a push-up. The VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover is the top pick at about £39.46, with 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews and a storage cover in the box. The base is still extra.

Lowest 2.7 m price

You already own a base and you want the lowest shelf price for a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt. The Harrier is best value at about £37.99, with 4.4 from 85 reviews. One review limits the tilt to 30 degrees, and the reference line says cantilever while the reviews describe a centre post.

Oblong table or large patio

You need a rectangular crank and you will fill a base with sand in place. The PHI VILLA 2.7 × 4.5 m is the only listing here with a base in the box, at about £142.99. The sand is extra, tilt is not stated, and the footprint is large.

Common questions about parasols with crank

What is the top parasol with crank in this 2026 comparison?
The top pick is the VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover at about £39.46. It is the only listing at a score of 95: 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated 2.7 m crank, a push-button tilt, and a storage cover in the box. That score is not a wind test. The base is not included. A free-standing block of about 10–11 kg is called too light.
How much does a parasol with crank cost?
Shelf prices stored for this set run from about £37.99 to about £142.99. About £38–£41 covers the Harrier 2.7 m, the VOUNOT 2.7 m with a cover, and the Sekey crank. About £52–£81 covers the ZealWe 3 m and the Garden Pride 2.7 m polyester. About £95–£143 covers the PHI VILLA 3.8 × 2 m and the 2.7 × 4.5 m kit with a fillable base. The sand for that base is not in the box.
Does a parasol with crank include a base?
Usually no. In this set only the PHI VILLA 2.7 × 4.5 m puts a base in the box, and the sand bags arrive empty. The VOUNOT, Harrier, ZealWe and the 3.8 × 2 m PHI VILLA state that the stand is separate. Garden Pride and Sekey do not confirm one. Free-standing, and any canopy you tilt, needs more mass. A UK trade table puts 2.7–3 m free-standing at 40–50 kg. A seller line of 12 kg is a suggestion.
What size parasol with crank fits a patio table?
A 2.7 m round crank covers a typical 4–6 seat table. A 3 m canopy needs more base. A rectangular crank covers an oblong table. Measure the hole first. Most UK centre-pole cranks use about 38 mm. Some 3 m and rectangular poles are thicker and will not pass a standard hole. One Garden Pride review says a thicker pole still fitted a standard hole. The Sekey title does not state a diameter, so do not assume 2.7 m.
Is a printed UV50+ a clothing test?
No. UV50+ printed on a parasol title is a listing claim. BS EN 13758 tests clothing fabric, not umbrellas, and no method is named on the Sekey title. Cancer Research UK says shade helps, that UPF 30–49 is very good and 50+ excellent on shade fabric, and that you still use sunscreen. GOV.UK treats that UPF scale as a clothing measure. Do not read a printed UV50+ as a certificate for the canopy.
When should I close a parasol with crank?
Close it in wind, and do not store it wet in a sealed bag. A UK hospitality rule of thumb is to close around 25 km/h and store around 35 km/h. That is not a statutory wind class on these amazon.co.uk listings. Keep a base on even when the canopy is closed, and keep fingers off the runner. One review says an abrupt close cut a hand.
When is a cantilever a better buy than a centre-pole crank?
Choose a centre-pole crank when the pole can pass a table hole and you already have, or will buy, a heavy base. Choose a cantilever when you need a clear floor under the canopy. A side pole needs a heavier base, and many models turn through 360 degrees. That offset arm is outside the core of this comparison. The cantilever parasol comparison is the page for the offset arm, the base mass and the wind notes that go with it.

Our verdict

The top pick is the VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover at about £39.46. It is the only score at 95: 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated 2.7 m crank and push-button tilt, and a storage cover in the box. The score is not a wind test, and the base is still extra. Best value is the Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt at about £37.99, the lowest shelf price for a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt, not the second-highest score. One review limits that tilt to a single 30-degree stop, one canopy is called thin, and the reference line says cantilever while the reviews describe a centre post.

Best overall
VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover

VOUNOT 2.7 m tilt with cover

Only score at 95: 4.5 from 2,111 amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt, and a storage cover at about £39.46. The base is extra.

View offer
Best value
Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt

Harrier 2.7 m crank and tilt

Lowest shelf price at about £37.99 for a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt. The sample is 85 reviews, and the reference line says cantilever.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSun shadesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to parasols with crank

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Shelf figures stored 21 October 2026. Updated 22.10.2026.

  1. Shade Specialists parasol buying guide (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Shade Specialists parasol base guide (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Opal Retail parasol base weight table (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Ideal Home best parasols (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Cancer Research UK sun safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. GOV.UK ultraviolet radiation FAQs (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. BSI BS EN 13758-1:2002 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 19 (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.