Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m B0G8ZL7C45 Best value: VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm – About £33.36 for a 200 x 125 cm tilt canopy and a cover, with 4.3 from 2,706 reviews. A base is not stated. Updated 22.10.2026.
A rectangular parasol is a garden umbrella with an oblong canopy, used in the UK over a long dining table, a balcony, or a wall-side run. You tell a useful one from a weak one by the canopy's length and width, whether a base or a clamp is in the box, the pole diameter, and the opening method. Listings often print the long side as a canopy diameter. A 200 by 125 cm canopy is not a 2 m circle. A UV 50+ line is a seller claim, not a citation of BS EN 13758. Wind bends ribs and tips a light rectangle when the base is too light. Size, pole and base are set out in the [rectangular parasol buying guide](/hub/sun-shades/rectangular-parasol/sub/rectangular-parasol-buying-guide).
A centre pole can pass through a table, stand in a base, or sit in a clamp. The base is often not included. A 32 mm pole will not lock in a 38 mm or 48 mm sleeve. Close it when you leave, including overnight.
A rectangular parasol is a garden umbrella with an oblong canopy, used in the UK over a long dining table, a balcony, or a wall-side run.
A rectangular parasol is a garden umbrella with an oblong canopy, used in the UK over a long dining table, a balcony, or a wall-side run. You tell a useful one from a weak one by the canopy's length and width, whether a base or a clamp is in the box, the pole diameter, and the opening method. Listings often print the long side as a canopy diameter. A 200 by 125 cm canopy is not a 2 m circle. A UV 50+ line is a seller claim, not a citation of BS EN 13758. Wind bends ribs and tips a light rectangle when the base is too light. Size, pole and base are set out in the [rectangular parasol buying guide](/hub/sun-shades/rectangular-parasol/sub/rectangular-parasol-buying-guide).
A centre pole can pass through a table, stand in a base, or sit in a clamp. The base is often not included. A 32 mm pole will not lock in a 38 mm or 48 mm sleeve. Close it when you leave, including overnight.
A rectangular parasol is a garden umbrella with an oblong canopy, used in the UK over a long dining table, a balcony, or a wall-side run. You tell a useful one from a weak one by the canopy's length and width, whether a base or a clamp is in the box, the pole diameter, and the opening method. Listings often print the long side as a canopy diameter. A 200 by 125 cm canopy is not a 2 m circle. A UV 50+ line is a seller claim, not a citation of BS EN 13758. Wind bends ribs and tips a light rectangle when the base is too light.
This is the other PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m URL at £94.99, model PV-UK-E02GM010-PV, with crank and waterproof in the title. The listing line is 4.5 from 177 reviews, one rating more than B0FF9RVGPR on this capture. The specification block still does not answer canopy material, whether a base is included, or whether the pole is steel, and the product-details ASIN is B0H8NVF3QQ. The 50 UK review blocks are the same text as the other two 3.8 x 2 m files, so the praise for wide shade and a click-in extension pole is not a separate sample. The same text says the canopy spins unless you add weight, that it is heavy and unwieldy, and that lights fail or switch off after a few seconds. This title does not say LED, so those light comments do not belong to this URL. Use it only as the second £94.99 colour route for the same reference, after you have checked which colour the live page is actually selling.
Pros
Title states 3.8 x 2 m, a crank, and waterproof at £94.99
4.5 from 177 amazon.co.uk reviews on this URL
Shared review text describes simple assembly and wide coverage
Same model reference as the other £94.99 3.8 x 2 m row
Cons
The review text is shared, so 177 is not an independent sample of this colour
Base, tilt, fabric, and pole material are unanswered in the file
Reviews describe spinning in very little wind and a heavy canopy
LED comments in the shared text are not on this title
Best for: A large patio table when this URL is the colour you want and you accept the same crank wording as the other £94.99 row.
Less suitable: A buyer who needs a unique review file, a stated base, or lights printed on this title.
Does this PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m file include a base?
The stored page asks about a base and does not answer. The title states 3.8 x 2 m, a crank, and waterproof. It does not state tilt, material, or lights.
Do the reviews in this file describe lights?
Yes. The 50 UK review blocks mention LED lights, including lights that fail. The same review text is in the other two 3.8 x 2 m URL files. This title does not say LED.
What rating line is on this URL?
The listing line is 4.5 out of 5 from 177 reviews. The price on this capture is £94.99.
This PHI VILLA title states a 3.8 x 2 m canopy, a crank, and waterproof, at £94.99, with model PV-UK-E02GM010-PV. The listing line is 4.5 from 176 reviews. The specification block does not answer material, tilt, or whether a base is included, and the product-details ASIN printed in the file is B0H8NVF3QQ. The 50 UK review blocks are the same text as the other two 3.8 x 2 m URLs in this set. Those reviews describe wide shade for a patio or a family table, an extension pole that clicks in, and easy opening and closing. They also say the canopy spins in very little wind unless you add extra anchoring, that it is heavy, and that it sat too low under one back door so people ducked. The shared text mentions LED lights that fail or stay on for a few seconds, and this title does not say LED, so you should not buy this URL expecting lights.
Pros
Title states 3.8 x 2 m, a crank, and waterproof at £94.99
4.5 from 176 amazon.co.uk reviews on this URL
Shared UK review text describes wide patio shade and an extension pole that clicks in
One review title says it holds off rain and blocks sun
Cons
Base, tilt, material, and weight are not answered in this file
The 50 UK review blocks are shared with the other two 3.8 x 2 m URLs, and the details ASIN is B0H8NVF3QQ
Reviews say it spins in very little wind unless you add extra anchoring
Lights appear in the shared reviews, and this title does not say LED
Best for: A family patio table when you want the cheaper 3.8 x 2 m crank title and you will confirm the base on the live page before you order.
Less suitable: A flat balcony, a windy corner, or anyone buying this URL because the shared reviews mention lights.
Does this PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m file include a base?
The stored page asks about a base and does not answer. The title states 3.8 x 2 m, a crank, and waterproof. It does not state tilt, material, or lights.
Do the reviews in this file describe lights?
Yes. The 50 UK review blocks mention LED lights, including lights that fail. The same review text is in the other two 3.8 x 2 m URL files. This title does not say LED.
What rating line is on this URL?
The listing line is 4.5 out of 5 from 176 reviews. The price on this capture is £94.99.
This PHI VILLA URL uses the same 3.8 x 2 m crank and waterproof title wording as the £94.99 rows, at £134.99, with the same model reference PV-UK-E02GM010-PV. The listing line is 4.5 from 176 reviews, and the product-details ASIN in the file is again B0H8NVF3QQ. The 50 UK review blocks match the other two 3.8 x 2 m files. A title check of this URL on 21 October 2026 added with LED. The captured specification block still does not list lights, a base, a tilt, or a fabric. The shared reviews praise wide coverage and an extension pole that clicks in, and they say the canopy spins unless you add weight and that lights stay on for only a few seconds or fail. Paying about £40 more than the £94.99 rows does not buy a separate review sample in this file. Use this URL only if the live title's LED line is the feature you have confirmed on amazon.co.uk.
Pros
Title states 3.8 x 2 m, a crank, and waterproof
4.5 from 176 amazon.co.uk reviews on this URL
A 21 October 2026 title check of this URL added with LED
Shared review text describes wide shade and easy opening
Cons
£134.99 against £94.99 siblings that share the same review text and model reference
The captured file does not list a base, a tilt, a fabric, or lights in the specification block
Shared reviews say the canopy spins unless you add extra weight
Lights in those reviews fail or stay on for only a few seconds
Best for: A large table only if you have confirmed the live LED wording on this URL and you still accept a missing base line.
Less suitable: Anyone who can use a £94.99 3.8 x 2 m title, or a balcony that cannot take this span.
Does this PHI VILLA 3.8 x 2 m file include a base?
The stored page asks about a base and does not answer. The title states 3.8 x 2 m, a crank, and waterproof. It does not state tilt, material, or lights.
Do the reviews in this file describe lights?
Yes. The 50 UK review blocks mention LED lights, including lights that fail. The same review text is in the other two 3.8 x 2 m URL files. This title does not say LED.
What rating line is on this URL?
The listing line is 4.5 out of 5 from 176 reviews. The price on this capture is £134.99.
The PHI VILLA title states a 2.7 x 4.5 m canopy, a crank, waterproof, sun protection, and a base included, at £142.99. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 104 reviews. That star line matches the 3.8 x 2 m rows on a smaller sample, and this file's UK reviews are its own rather than the shared 3.8 x 2 m text. Reviewers describe easy assembly for several people, a sand-filled base they call stable, and shade over a patio, sofas, or a large table. The same texts call it very heavy to move or build, and some mention lights and colours that this title does not state, so the review set may cover more than this URL. The specification block does not add a weight, a pole diameter, a fabric, or a tilt, and wind still appears in the reviews. It is the top pick in this set when you want the one title that states both a patio span and a base, and you can handle the weight. It is the wrong parasol for a flat balcony.
Pros
Title states 2.7 x 4.5 m, a crank, waterproof, and a base included, at £142.99
4.5 from 104 amazon.co.uk reviews in a file that is not the shared 3.8 x 2 m text
UK reviews describe a sand-filled base they call stable and shade over a large table
Several reviewers call the size good value and the build heavy in a positive sense
Cons
Very heavy to move or assemble, in the same reviews that praise the size
Weight, pole diameter, fabric, and tilt are not in the specification block
Some reviews mention lights and colours this title does not state
Wind still comes up, and the base fill material is not named in the title
Best for: A large patio when you want a 2.7 x 4.5 m crank rectangle whose title includes the base, and you can lift a heavy parasol.
Less suitable: A balcony, a buyer who needs a printed pole diameter, or anyone reading shared colour and light comments as this URL's spec.
Does the PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m title include a base?
Yes. The title says the base is included and names a crank. The specification block does not add a weight, a pole diameter, or a fabric.
Does this PHI VILLA file state a tilt or a UV number?
No. The title says sun protection and waterproof. It does not give a tilt, a UV figure, or lights.
What do the reviews say about the base?
Reviewers describe a sand-filled base, a large cover of shade, and a heavy parasol. Some reviews also mention lights and colours that this title does not state.
The Grand patio listing is a rectangular balcony parasol at £59.98, with a canopy-diameter field of 182 cm, a dimensions line of 131 x 190 cm, and an item weight of 4.37 kg. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 1,846 reviews. Bullets describe 360 degree rotation, height by quick-twist knobs, a tilting axis, a fan-shaped polyester canopy, and six powder-coated steel ribs, and the listing says it arrives assembled. It recommends a minimum 25 kg base that is not provided. UK reviews call the size right for a balcony, a recess, or shade by patio doors, and one review says railing fixings were in the box, which the listing does not list. One review says it spins and raises but does not tilt, the tilt sat too high for a 160 cm adult in another, and a rising cord broke for one reviewer. Wind is a repeated complaint. One bullet uses the word cantilever for the ribs. At 4.37 kg with a 25 kg base line, this is a balcony parasol, not an offset cantilever.
Pros
4.4 from 1,846 amazon.co.uk reviews, a large UK sample
182 cm canopy field and 4.37 kg, sized in reviews for a balcony or a recess
Bullets state 360 degree rotation, quick-twist height, and six steel ribs
The listing says the parasol arrives assembled
Cons
A 25 kg base is recommended and is not in the box
One UK review says it spins and raises but does not tilt
Poor in wind, and one rising cord broke
The canopy field says 182 cm beside a 131 x 190 cm dimensions line
Best for: A balcony or a patio-door recess when you will buy at least a 25 kg base and you want rotation on a 4.37 kg rectangle.
Less suitable: Anyone treating the cantilever bullet as an offset parasol, or a dining span that needs a base in the box.
No. The bullet recommends a minimum 25 kg base and says the base is not provided. The item weight is 4.37 kg.
Does the Grand patio listing say it tilts?
Yes. The bullets describe a tilting axis and 360 degree rotation, and the tilt field says manual tilt. One UK review says it spins and changes height but does not tilt.
Is this Grand patio sold as a wall or clamp parasol?
The title is a rectangular flat canopy for a deck, apartment, or patio. The base is separate. One bullet uses the word cantilever for the six steel ribs. A clamp is not in the specification block.
The VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm grey parasol weighs 2 kg, with a 2.35 m pole and a polyester canopy the title calls UV50+. At £33.36 on the 19 October 2026 amazon.co.uk capture it is the cheapest centre-pole rectangle here with a large review file, and the listing line is 4.3 from 2,706 reviews. UK reviewers use it on a balcony, a bistro set, or a small table, and they say the manual tilt works and that it is light enough to move. The box lists a portable cover, written as a 2 in 1 cover, the opening field says bendable, and the bullets add a height adjustment. A base is not stated, and the canopy-diameter field prints 200 cm beside the 200 x 125 cm size. One review left it up in a breeze and an arm distorted, and another could not close it fully while the pole stayed in the socket. It is the best value when you want a small grey rectangle, a cover, and a wide UK sample, and it is a poor match for an exposed patio or a six-seat table.
Pros
200 x 125 cm polyester canopy at £33.36, with 4.3 from 2,706 amazon.co.uk reviews
Manual tilt and a height adjustment are in the bullets, and UK reviews say the tilt works
A portable cover is listed, including the 2 in 1 cover line
At 2 kg, reviewers call it light enough to move on a balcony or a bistro set
Cons
A base is not stated in the specification block
One rib distorted after it was left up in a breeze, and the 2 kg weight makes wind a concern
One review could not close it fully while the pole stayed in the socket
The canopy-diameter field says 200 cm beside a 200 x 125 cm size
Best for: A sheltered balcony or a bistro set when you want a 200 x 125 cm tilt parasol, a cover in the box, and the largest review sample in this set.
Less suitable: An exposed patio, a six-seat table, or anyone who needs a stated base weight before they order.
The title calls this a VOUNOT double garden parasol and an extra large rectangular patio table umbrella at £49.43. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 1,374 reviews, and the 50 UK texts in the file praise a large oblong over a six-seater and call the build sturdy. The specification block does not print a canopy size, a weight, a material, an opening, or whether a base is included, and the product-details ASIN in the file is B0CXJBB51Y. Reviewers also say it blows over in a light wind unless it is heavily weighted, that it is heavy to handle, and that the stem was too wide for one table hole. One review says the control is not working, and another calls the stability ropey. A 21 October 2026 title check of the same URL described a 3 m grey double with a crank and a cover, but that size is not in this specification block. It can cover a long table if you accept a missing size line and buy a heavy base separately, and it is the wrong file if you need the metres printed before you measure.
Pros
4.2 from 1,374 amazon.co.uk reviews, with UK texts describing shade over a six-seater
Several reviews call the oblong sturdy or well built for the money
£49.43 on the 19 October 2026 capture, below the large crank rectangles
One review found the length useful on a balcony
Cons
Canopy size, weight, material, opening, and base are not in the specification block
UK reviews say it blows over in a light wind unless it is heavily weighted
The stem was too wide for one table hole, and one control did not work
The product-details ASIN in the file is B0CXJBB51Y, not this URL
Best for: A long dining table when you will check the live amazon.co.uk title for metres and you can weight a heavy oblong yourself.
Less suitable: A measured balcony, a table with a narrow hole, or an exposed patio that needs a stated base in the box.
The title calls it a double garden parasol and an extra large rectangular patio table umbrella. The stored specification block does not give a canopy size.
Does this VOUNOT file say a base is included?
The stored page asks whether a base is included and does not answer it. UK reviews mention extra weight and a pole that did not fit one table.
What opening method does this VOUNOT file state?
No opening, tilt, material, or weight line is in the stored specification block. Those fields are not stated.
The Outsunny cream rectangle is 2 x 1.5 m and 4.5 kg, with a 38 mm pole and a listed height of 235 cm, at £33.46. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 369 reviews, and the file holds 50 UK blocks. It opens with a pull rope, and a button on the pole sets a 45 degree tilt. The bullets say a fir wood frame and bamboo ribs, while the specification shaft field says bamboo, and the canopy is polyester. The parasol is sold alone and the bullet recommends a 15 kg base. Reviewers say it shades a table, looks as pictured, and works with a separate marble base, and one says the fabric dried after rain showers. Another says the wooden support swelled in wet weather, stuck in the table hole, and had to be sawn, and longer reviews mention fabric wear at the strut ends and a crack in the lower pole. There is no waterproof line and no UV figure, so keep the wood dry and buy the 15 kg base separately.
Pros
2 x 1.5 m canopy at £33.46, with 4.2 from 369 amazon.co.uk reviews
Pull rope and a 45 degree tilt button are stated, on a 38 mm pole
UK reviews say it shades a table and works with a separate marble base
A vented canopy is listed, and one review says the fabric dried after showers
Cons
A 15 kg base is recommended and is not in the box
One wooden pole swelled in wet weather and stuck in the table hole
Fabric wear at the strut ends, and a crack in the lower pole, appear in longer reviews
No waterproof claim and no UV figure in the file
Best for: A small rectangular table when a 38 mm pole and a separate 15 kg base suit the hole you already have.
Less suitable: A wet patio where a wooden pole will sit in the hole, or a balcony that cannot take a 15 kg base.
Does the Outsunny 2 x 1.5 m listing include a base?
No. The bullet says parasol only and recommends a 15 kg base. The pole diameter is 38 mm and the item weight is 4.5 kg.
How does the Outsunny parasol open and tilt?
The opening field says pull rope. The bullets say a button on the pole sets a 45 degree tilt.
What frame does the Outsunny file state?
The bullets say a fir wood frame and bamboo ribs. The shaft and frame fields say bamboo, and the handle field says wood. One review says the wood swelled and stuck in a table hole.
AKTIVE 53877 is titled a rectangular terrace parasol at £49.99. The listing line is 3.9 from 692 reviews, but this file contains only four UK review blocks, and the specification block prints ASIN B0H73WN4QD rather than the URL. There is no canopy size, weight, material, crank, or base line, and the crank question on the page is not answered. Two of the four reviews say it fits a rectangular table or a small garden, and one calls it good value. Two say the pole is too high, the height cannot be lowered, and it does not tilt, so it failed to shade a window or more than one person. One review calls it very small. You cannot measure a table against this file, so it stays a thin scrape until the live page shows one size and one ASIN.
Pros
Listing line of 3.9 from 692 reviews at £49.99
Two of the four UK texts say the rectangle suited a table or a small garden
One of those reviews calls it good value
Cons
No canopy size, weight, material, or base in the file
Only four UK review blocks sit behind the 692-review line
Two reviews say it will not tilt and the pole cannot be lowered
The specification ASIN is B0H73WN4QD, not this URL
Best for: Only a buyer who has opened the live amazon.co.uk page and confirmed a size that this file does not print.
Less suitable: Anyone measuring a table, a window, or a balcony from the stored specification block.
The stored specification block does not give a canopy size, weight, material, or pole diameter. The title calls it a rectangular garden parasol, model 53877.
Does the AKTIVE 53877 file say it tilts or has a crank?
The stored page asks about a crank and does not answer. Two of the four UK reviews say the height cannot be changed and it does not tilt.
How many reviews are in the AKTIVE 53877 file?
The listing line says 3.9 out of 5 from 692 reviews. The file contains four UK review blocks.
The PHI VILLA clamp parasol states a 210 x 140 cm shade, a 32 mm pole, an overall height of 220 cm, and a weight of 3.5 kg, at £49.99. The bullets include a universal clamp for a table edge, railing, or chair, tilt up to 30 degrees, a manual lift, a UPF 50+ claim, and a water-repellent claim. Amazon.co.uk shows 3.3 from 45 reviews, and 41 UK blocks are in the file. Reviewers who got the poles together call it useful on a balcony and good value, including a second purchase. Assembly is the complaint that dominates: extension rods that do not fit without grease, scraping, or a light hammer, with paint scraped off the inserts. The clamp suited only some balcony rails, one order arrived the wrong colour, and one review says there is no height adjustment against a title that says height adjustable. A 32 mm pole will not lock itself in a 38 mm or 48 mm sleeve, so this is for a rail you have already measured.
Pros
Clamp included for a table edge, railing, or chair, with no slab base
210 x 140 cm shade, 32 mm pole, 3.5 kg, tilt stated up to 30 degrees
UPF 50+ and water-repellent are printed as bullet claims
Some UK reviewers call it useful on a balcony once the poles are in
Cons
3.3 from 45 reviews, and assembly dominates the 41 UK texts
Extension rods needed grease, scraping, or a hammer in the reviews
The clamp did not suit every balcony rail
One review says there is no height adjustment, against a title that says height adjustable
Best for: A balcony rail or a table edge you have measured, when you want a 2.1 x 1.4 m rectangle and no slab to carry upstairs.
Less suitable: A 38 mm or 48 mm table sleeve, a buyer who will force tight rods, or anyone who needs a large review sample.
The bullets include a universal clamp for a table edge, railing, or chair. A slab base is not listed. The pole diameter in the bullet is 32 mm and the weight is 3.5 kg.
How far does this PHI VILLA parasol tilt?
The bullets say it tilts up to 30 degrees. The tilt field says manual tilt and the opening field says manual lift.
What do the reviews say about assembly?
Assembly is the main complaint in the 41 UK reviews. Reviewers say the extension rods are tight or do not fit without grease, scraping, or a light hammer.
The AKTIVE wall parasol, model 62514 from COLORBABY SL, is £25.30 on the 19 October 2026 capture. The title says a grey rectangular wall parasol of 160 x 100 cm in polyester and steel, with four ribs and a UV50 claim, and the item weight is 2.43 kg. A product-dimensions line in the same file says 160 x 160 x 100 cm, so the footprint is not one figure. There is no customer-review line and no review text, and opening, tilt, and whether a bracket is in the box are not stated. The UV50 wording is a seller claim and the file does not cite BS EN 13758. At 2.43 kg it is light enough to carry upstairs, and you are buying on the title until amazon.co.uk shows reviews for this URL. It is the cheapest row in the set, and it is the wrong buy if you need a rated sample or a single agreed size.
Pros
£25.30, the lowest shelf price in this set, at 2.43 kg
Title states a wall parasol, polyester, steel, four ribs, and UV50
Light enough to carry through a flat if the wall fixing matches
Cons
No customer-review line and no review text in the file, so the score stays 0
Title size 160 x 100 cm disagrees with a 160 x 160 x 100 cm dimensions line
Opening, tilt, and the bracket contents are not stated
UV50 is not cited to BS EN 13758 in this file
Best for: A small wall-side balcony when you accept two size lines, no reviews, and a title that says wall rather than a slab base.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs UK reviews, one agreed footprint, or a centre pole for a dining table.
The title calls it a rectangular wall parasol for a garden, terrace, or balcony. It names polyester, steel, UV50, and 4 ribs.
Which size lines are in the AKTIVE wall file?
The title says 160 x 100 cm. The product-dimensions line says 160 x 160 x 100 cm and 2.43 kg.
Is there a review score for the AKTIVE wall parasol in this file?
No customer-review line and no review text are in the file. The score stays 0.
How we compared
Shelf prices, stars and review notes are the amazon.co.uk snapshot of 19 October 2026 already stored for these eleven listings. This is not a wind-tunnel test and not a fabric-certificate check. The score follows the job and the stated size, how the parasol stands, opening and tilt, the frame in British weather, then the review sample and the price. The top pick is the stored award on the 2.7 x 4.5 m title that includes a base. Best value is a different listing: the 200 x 125 cm canopy with the widest review file. Three other rows also score 90 and share review text, so they do not take that award. A listing with no star line stays at 0.
1
Job and size
30%
The rectangle has to match the furniture. A short canopy suits a bistro set or a balcony. A double or a 3.8 x 2 m span is the six-seat class. A 2.7 x 4.5 m span is a patio, not a flat balcony. The long side is not a diameter.
2
How it stands
25%
Centre pole, freestanding base, clamp, or wall. The base is often not in the box. A stated kilogram line on the listing you buy beats a retailer table that disagrees. A 32 mm pole will not lock in a 38 mm or 48 mm sleeve.
3
Opening and tilt
15%
Pull rope, manual tilt, crank, or a lift on a clamp. Tilt matters when the sun is low. A listing and a review can disagree. A crank on a large canopy can swing toward the person winding it.
4
Frame and fabric
15%
Polyester is the canopy where the file names one. A wooden shaft can swell in rain and stick in the table hole. Steel does not. No listing here publishes a fabric weight or an EN wind class. A UV 50+ line is a seller claim, not BS EN 13758.
5
Review sample and price
15%
Wider amazon.co.uk samples count for more than a 4.5 on about 100 to 180 ratings. Shared review text is not three samples. A missing star line scores 0. Price is read after the job, not instead of a base.
Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked
Rectangular parasol buying guide
You are choosing an oblong canopy for a long table, a balcony, or a wall-side run. The eleven amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026 run from about £25.30 to about £142.99. Length and width, a base or a clamp you can actually use, the pole diameter, and the opening method change the buy. The top pick is the PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m when the title that includes a base is the span you can lift.
What is a rectangular parasol?
A rectangular parasol is a garden umbrella with an oblong canopy. In the UK it is bought to shade a long dining table, a balcony, or a wall-side run. A shade sail is a different product. The long side is the length of the shade. Listings often print that side as a canopy diameter, and a 200 x 125 cm canopy is not a 2 m circle. Shade Specialists say the canopy should overhang the table by at least 50 cm and the brim should sit at least about 2 m so people do not stoop.
Best for
A long dining table or a patio that needs an oblong canopy rather than a circle
A balcony or a bistro set when the rectangle, the pole and the base weight are stated
Not ideal for
An exposed patio if you will leave a light rectangle open
Anyone who reads the long side as a diameter, or a UV 50+ bullet as a clothing certificate
Mistakes to avoid
1
Assuming the base is in the box
Several listings sell the parasol alone and only recommend a base weight. A clamp is not a slab. If the specification block does not answer, check the live title before you measure a table hole.
2
Reading the long side as a diameter
A 200 x 125 cm canopy is not a 2 m circle. Amazon often prints the long side in a canopy-diameter field. Shade Specialists' overhang of at least 50 cm is a rule of thumb for the table you have, not a second size.
3
Treating UV 50+ or a cantilever bullet as proof
None of these files cite BS EN 13758. A UV 50+ line is a seller claim, and sunscreen still applies. One cantilever word on a 4.37 kg balcony parasol is not an offset frame. Shared reviews do not prove that every 3.8 x 2 m colour has lights.
What to weigh up
Job and size
High
Match the rectangle to the furniture before you compare stars. A 200 x 125 cm or 2 m x 1.5 m canopy suits a bistro set or a small dining table. A double or a 3.8 x 2 m crank rectangle is the six-seat class. A 2.7 x 4.5 m is a patio span, not a flat balcony. White Stores put about 3 m, or 3 m x 2 m, against six to eight seats. Shade Specialists say the canopy should overhang the table by at least 50 cm and the brim should sit at least about 2 m. Both are retailer rules of thumb.
Base, pole and wind
High
A centre pole can pass through a table, stand in a freestanding base, or give way to a clamp or a wall footprint. The base is often not included. Outsunny recommends 15 kg for the 2 x 1.5 m and states a 38 mm pole. Grand patio recommends a 25 kg minimum and does not supply the base. The 2.7 x 4.5 m title says the base is included, and reviewers describe sand fill and a heavy parasol. A 32 mm pole will not lock in a 38 mm or 48 mm sleeve. Polyester is common.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
Flat and balcony
You need a 200 x 125 cm tilt parasol, a wall rectangle, or a clamp, and you must carry it through the flat. The VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm is best value at about £33.36, with a cover listed and 4.3 from 2,706 reviews. A base is not stated. It is a poor match for an exposed patio or a six-seat table.
You need a double or a wide crank canopy, and a base that matches the pole. The top pick is the PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m at about £142.99, the title that includes a base, with 4.5 from 104 reviews. Reviewers call it very heavy. It is the wrong parasol for a flat balcony.
Buy less sail, a stated base weight, and a habit of closing the canopy, rather than the largest rectangle. The Outsunny 2 x 1.5 m at about £33.46 states a 38 mm pole and recommends a 15 kg base that is not in the box. A wooden shaft can swell if it sits in the hole in the rain.
What is the top rectangular parasol in this 2026 comparison?
The top pick is the PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m at about £142.99. The title states a crank, waterproof and a base included. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 104 reviews, not the shared 3.8 x 2 m text. Reviewers describe a sand-filled base and shade over a large table, and they call it very heavy. Weight, pole diameter and tilt are not in the specification block. It is the wrong parasol for a flat balcony.
How much does a rectangular parasol cost?
Shelf prices from amazon.co.uk on 19 October 2026 run from about £25.30 to about £142.99. About £25 to £35 is a wall rectangle or a small centre-pole canopy. About £49 to £60 covers a double, a clamp and a 182 cm balcony rotator. About £95 to £143 is a 3.8 x 2 m crank rectangle or a 2.7 x 4.5 m with a base in the title. Those are shelf prices, not a lab ranking. A base is often extra.
Is the base included with a rectangular parasol?
Often no. Several listings sell the parasol alone and name a recommended weight, such as 15 kg or a 25 kg minimum. One large title says the base is included. A clamp listing includes a clamp and no slab. If the specification block is silent, do not assume a base is in the box. A 32 mm pole will not lock in a 38 mm or 48 mm sleeve. Check the live amazon.co.uk title before you measure the hole.
Is a UV 50+ line on a parasol a clothing certificate?
No. GOV.UK explains that clothing UPF is tested under BS EN 13758, and that only clothing of UPF 40 or above can be labelled solar UV-protective under BS EN 13758-2. A parasol bullet that says UV 50+ or UPF 50+ is a seller claim unless the listing cites that standard. None of these stored listings do. NHS sun safety still asks for shade and for factor 30 sunscreen with at least four-star UVA protection when the UV index is 3 or higher.
What size rectangle suits a dining table?
Match the rectangle to the furniture. About 200 x 125 cm or 2 m x 1.5 m suits a small table. A double or a 3.8 x 2 m crank rectangle is the six-seat class. A 2.7 x 4.5 m is a patio span. White Stores put about 3 m, or 3 m x 2 m, against six to eight seats. Shade Specialists say the canopy should overhang the table by at least 50 cm. The long side is not a diameter.
How should a rectangular parasol be used in the wind?
These freestanding parasols do not carry an EN 13561 wind class. That standard, including classes from retained Regulation (EU) 2019/1188, applies to external blinds and awnings. Brollies and Parasols say not to leave a parasol open above about 15 mph unless it is bolted down. Follow the listing you bought, point the short side into the wind, and close it when you leave. An offset frame is a different product: cantilever parasol.
When should I call a professional?
Call a professional if you are bolting into a slab or a balcony, if a café needs a wind limit in a risk assessment, if a cracked pole or a seized crank is a warranty repair, or if mains lighting on the parasol is wet or damaged. A business hospitality checklist is for a café terrace, not a householder. Domestic assembly of a crank or a clamp is not that call, unless the parts do not fit and you are about to force them.
Do the 3.8 x 2 m listings share one review file?
Yes. The three 3.8 x 2 m URLs share the same review text and the same model reference, so those stars are not three samples. Lights appear in that shared text. Only the dearer URL had an LED line added on a 21 October 2026 title check, and the specification block still does not list lights. Do not give lights to the cheaper rows. The double listing also has a conflicting product-details ASIN, so check the live title.
Our verdict
The top pick is the PHI VILLA 2.7 x 4.5 m at about £142.99. It scores 90. The title states a crank, waterproof, sun protection and a base included, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 104 reviews in a file that is not the shared 3.8 x 2 m text. Reviewers describe a sand-filled base and shade over a large table, and they call it very heavy. Weight, pole diameter, fabric and tilt are not in the specification block. Best value is the VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm at about £33.36, with manual tilt, a cover listed, and 4.3 from 2,706 reviews. A base is not stated, and one rib distorted after it was left up in a breeze. The three 3.8 x 2 m rows also score 90 and share review text, so they do not take the award. The wall parasol has no review line, so the score is 0.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked
Guides to rectangular parasols
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.