Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

3 m no-drill awning comparison 2026

The best 3 m no-drill awnings, compared.

Top pick: VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige – Highest score at 86. Title and table agree on 3 m by 1.2 m, with 4.3 from 964 reviews at about £66.99. No wind class is stated. Best value: EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey – The 1.5 m title at about £74.96, below the beige EVRE. The table width is 2.3 m, and the 29 reviews are shared. It is not cheaper than the VOUNOT. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A 3 m no-drill awning is a manual retractable canopy about 3 metres wide. Telescopic posts clamp it between the floor and the ceiling, and a crank winds the cloth in. People in the UK buy one for a balcony, a patio door, or a small terrace when they will not drill the wall. The posts have to match that gap, on a solid overhead surface. A soffit outside the stated pole range does not fit. Glass, plasterboard, a neighbour's slab, and a glass balustrade are the wrong places to clamp. Three metres is the advertised width, not the depth. Depth is usually a little over a metre. Read the title and the specification table together. If those lines disagree, do not guess which one you will receive. There is no motor and no wind sensor, so wind the cloth in before wind and heavy rain. If you do not own the building outright, written permission is separate from planning. What to measure is in the [3 m no-drill awning buying guide](/hub/sun-shades/3m-no-drill-awning/sub/3m-no-drill-awning-buying-guide).

A 3 m no-drill awning is a manual retractable canopy about 3 metres wide. Telescopic posts clamp it between the floor and the ceiling, and a crank winds the cloth in.

VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige

Best overall

VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige
8.6/10∼ £67

11 products checked · 47 hrs invested · +13,600 readers

3 of 3: Best 3 m no-drill awnings compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 3
Best overall
VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige
Best value
EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey
EVRE 3 x 1.2 m beige
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
∼ £67
∼ £75
∼ £90
4.3(964)
4.2(29)
4.2(29)
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What projection do you need?

The best 3 m no-drill awnings in detail

VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige

Rank 1

VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige

∼£67

Our view

The beige VOUNOT at about £66.99 is a hand-crank clamp awning whose title and specification table both say 3 m wide and 1.2 m deep, with steel poles from 210 to 320 cm. On amazon.co.uk it sits at 4.3 from 964 reviews, read on 19 October 2026, and UK reviewers often describe cooler rooms once the cloth is out over the glass. Assembly is required, and several of those reviews say a second person is needed to lift the frame, though one person managed alone. The bullets call the 180 gsm polyester rain protection, and one UK review reports water coming through, which sits beside the repeated advice to wind the cloth in when the forecast turns. Missing screws, missing feet, a piece without a thread, and a snapped cross bar also appear in those reviews, so the box is worth checking before you tighten the poles. The listing states no wind class. The listing weight is 8.98 kg. In this set it is the top pick if 1.2 m of shade is enough and the ceiling sits inside 210–320 cm. It is also the lowest price.

Pros

  • Title and table agree on 3 m by 1.2 m
  • Poles listed at 210–320 cm, minimum 210 cm
  • 4.3 from 964 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 180 gsm polyester and a steel frame

Cons

  • One UK review reports water coming through the cloth
  • Missing screws, missing feet, or a snapped bar show up in reviews
  • No wind class is stated
  • Several reviewers needed a second person to lift the frame

Best for: You have a solid floor-to-ceiling gap between 210 and 320 cm and you want the most-reviewed 3 x 1.2 m clamp in this set, at about £66.99.

Less suitable: You need 1.5 m of shade, a stated wind class, or a ceiling outside 210–320 cm.

Specifications

Model
VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige
Brand
VOUNOT
Price
∼£67
Customer rating
4.3/5(964)
Fixing
Floor-to-ceiling clamp
Title width
3 m
Title projection
1.2 m
Pole range
210–320 cm
Min. clearance
210 cm
Operation
Manual crank
Canopy
180 gsm polyester
Frame
Steel
Rain claim
Rain protection
Table clash
None
Weight
8.98 kg

Common questions

Does this VOUNOT awning need holes in the wall?

The bullets say no drilling is required and that the poles stand between the ceiling and the floor. Assembly is required. UK reviews often mention a second person to lift it.

How high a gap does the 3 x 1.2 m VOUNOT fit?

The bullets and the table put the poles at 210–320 cm, with a minimum installation height of 210 cm. The listing does not state a wind class.

Is the beige VOUNOT canopy described as waterproof?

The bullets say the 180 gsm polyester canopy protects against sun glare and rain. One UK review says water came through. Several reviews say to wind it in when the weather turns.

EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey

Rank 2

EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey

∼£75

Our view

The grey EVRE at about £74.96 is the only title in this set that says 3 x 1.5 m, so it is the listing to open if you want the cloth to reach a little further over chairs. The specification table on the same amazon.co.uk page lists the width as 2.3 m and the height as 3.5 m, which do not match the 3 m title or the bullet height of about 2–3 m. It is rated 4.2 from 29 reviews, and the eleven UK texts are the same texts as on the beige EVRE 3 x 1.2 m page, so this is not a separate sample. One of those reviews says the frame is the stated width and the cloth is about 10 cm narrower. Others mention a small hole, unclear arm instructions, and one 2022 order with three parts missing. The bullets say the polyester repels light rain and that the aluminium poles clamp without drilling, up to about 3 m, while the table's minimum clearance is 300 cm. No wind class and no cloth weight in grams per square metre are stated. On this page it is the best-value row for the 1.5 m title, under the beige EVRE's price. It is not cheaper than the VOUNOT, and the width clash stays on the card.

Pros

  • Title projection is 1.5 m, and the table projection matches
  • About £74.96, below the beige EVRE in this set
  • Aluminium poles and a no-drill clamp in the bullets
  • Bullets say the cloth repels light rain

Cons

  • Table width 2.3 m and height 3.5 m fight the 3 m title
  • 4.2 from 29 reviews, shared with the beige EVRE
  • One review says the cloth is about 10 cm narrower than the frame
  • No cloth weight and no wind class are stated

Best for: You want the 1.5 m title and you will measure the cloth and the ceiling against both the bullets and the table before you order.

Less suitable: You need a size line that agrees with itself, or a review count you can treat as unique to this width.

Specifications

Model
EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey
Brand
EVRE
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
4.2/5(29)
Fixing
No-drill clamp
Title width
3 m
Title projection
1.5 m
Pole range
About 2–3 m
Min. clearance
300 cm
Operation
Manual crank
Canopy
Polyester
Frame
Aluminium
Rain claim
Light rain
Table clash
Width 2.3 m
Weight
11.1 kg

Common questions

Is the grey EVRE really 3 metres wide?

The title and the bullets say 3 x 1.5 m. The specification table says 1.5 m deep, 2.3 m wide, and 3.5 m high. Those figures are both on the listing and they do not match.

Does this EVRE need drilling?

The bullets describe a no-drill clamp and say the aluminium poles extend up to 3 m. The table lists a minimum clearance of 300 cm, while the bullets say about 2–3 m.

Are the 29 reviews only for the 1.5 m size?

The listing shows 4.2 from 29 reviews, and the same eleven UK review texts appear on the EVRE 3 x 1.2 m page. Treat them as one shared sample.

EVRE 3 x 1.2 m beige

Rank 3

EVRE 3 x 1.2 m beige

∼£90

Our view

The beige EVRE at about £89.99 is titled 3 x 1.2 m, and the bullets also offer a wall mount beside the no-drill clamp. The specification table lists a projection of 150 cm, so the page states both 1.2 m and 1.5 m and does not explain the difference. EVRE's own page for the beige 3 m x 1.2 m model says an assembled size of 300 x 120 cm and poles from 2 m to 3 m, while the amazon.co.uk table lists a minimum clearance of 300 cm. The star line is 4.2 from 29, and the eleven UK review texts match the grey 1.5 m listing, including a cloth about 10 cm inside the frame, a small hole, unclear arm instructions, and one order with three parts missing. The listing gives 10 kg, aluminium poles, and a manual crank, and it states no cloth weight and no wind class. At about £23 more than the VOUNOT for a 1.2 m title, and with a table that fights that title, it is the row to skip unless you specifically want the wall-mount wording on the bullets.

Pros

  • Bullets offer a no-drill clamp or a wall mount
  • Title says 3 m wide and 1.2 m deep
  • Manual crank and aluminium poles, listed at 10 kg
  • Bullets describe a UV-coated polyester canopy

Cons

  • Table projection of 150 cm fights the 1.2 m title
  • About £89.99, the dearest of the three listings
  • Same 29-review sample as the grey EVRE
  • Table minimum clearance of 300 cm fights the bullet range of about 2–3 m

Best for: You have read both size lines and you want the beige listing that mentions a wall mount as well as a clamp.

Less suitable: You want the cheaper 1.2 m awning whose title and table agree, or a review sample that belongs only to this size.

Specifications

Model
EVRE 3 x 1.2 m beige
Brand
EVRE
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
4.2/5(29)
Fixing
Clamp or wall mount
Title width
3 m
Title projection
1.2 m
Pole range
About 2–3 m
Min. clearance
300 cm
Operation
Manual crank
Canopy
UV polyester
Frame
Aluminium
Rain claim
Light rain
Table clash
Projection 150 cm
Weight
10 kg

Common questions

Is the beige EVRE 1.2 m or 1.5 m deep?

The title and the bullet dimensions say 3 x 1.2 m. The specification table lists a projection distance of 150 cm. The listing states both and does not explain the difference.

Can this beige EVRE be fitted without drilling?

The bullets offer two routes: a wall mount, or a no-drill clamp on adjustable aluminium poles with end pads. Assembly is required. A tool list is not stated.

What do the UK reviews say about the cloth width?

One review says the frame is the stated width and the cloth is about 10 cm narrower. Other reviews mention a small hole, unclear arm instructions, and one order with three parts missing.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and review notes are the amazon.co.uk snapshot of 19 October 2026 already stored for these three listings. This is not a wind test and not a planning decision. The score follows whether the pole range and the size lines agree, the UK review notes, and the price inside this set. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is a different listing: the 1.5 m title under the dearest row, with the table clash left on the card. The two EVRE listings share one review sample, so 29 is not counted twice. None of the three states an EN 13561 class.

1

Pole range and size agreement

40%

The floor-to-ceiling gap has to sit inside the stated pole range, and the title width and projection have to agree with the specification table. A clash is shown, not guessed. A glass roof, plasterboard, or a glass balustrade is the wrong overhead surface.

2

UK review notes

25%

Stars are read with the written UK comments: leaks, missing parts, a second person to lift the frame, and a cloth narrower than the frame. A shared review sample is counted once.

3

Fixing, cloth and rain wording

20%

A no-drill clamp is the job. A wall-mount bullet is noted, not treated as a cassette. Rain wording is the seller's line. No listing states a wind class, a motor, or a wind sensor.

4

Price in this set

15%

Price is the amazon.co.uk shelf price on 19 October 2026. Best value is not the same card as the top pick. The lowest price in the set is the top pick.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

3 m no-drill awning buying guide

You are choosing a clamp awning about 3 metres wide for a balcony, a patio door, or a small terrace, and you will not drill the wall. The three amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026 run from about £66.99 to about £89.99. Judge the pole range, whether the title and the specification table agree, and whether you will wind the cloth in before wind and heavy rain. The top pick is the VOUNOT when 1.2 m of shade is enough and the ceiling sits inside 210–320 cm.

What is a 3 m no-drill awning?

A 3 m no-drill awning is a clamp awning: two telescopic posts, a roller, a manual crank, and a polyester cloth about 3 metres wide. You buy it for a balcony, a patio door, or a small terrace when you will not drill the wall. The posts brace between floor and ceiling. A wall-fixed folding-arm awning is a different product, drilled into masonry. Vertical screens, replacement cloths, and shade sails are not this comparison.

Best for

  • A covered balcony or patio door where you will not drill and the ceiling sits inside the pole range
  • An owner with a solid soffit who will wind the cloth in before wind and heavy rain

Not ideal for

  • A glass roof, plasterboard soffit, or glass balustrade
  • A cassette, a motor, or a stated EN 13561 wind class

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading 3 m as the depth

    Three metres is the advertised width. Depth on these clamp awnings is 1.2 m or 1.5 m. A cloth can also sit about 10 cm inside the frame, which one review on the shared EVRE sample reports.

  2. 2

    Trusting a table that fights the title

    The grey EVRE title says 3 m wide and the table says 2.3 m. The beige EVRE title says 1.2 m deep and the table says 150 cm. Both figures are on the listing. Do not pick one and ignore the other.

  3. 3

    Clamping to glass, or leaving the cloth out

    The overhead surface has to take the load. Glass, plasterboard, and a glass balustrade do not. None of these listings states a wind class. Wind the cloth in before wind and heavy rain. A rain bullet is not a storm rating.

What to weigh up

Pole range and a solid overhead

High

Match the floor-to-ceiling gap to the stated pole range before you look at the price. The VOUNOT lists 210–320 cm and a 210 cm minimum. EVRE's own page for the beige 3 m x 1.2 m says 2–3 m, while both amazon.co.uk tables list a minimum clearance of 300 cm. A soffit outside the range does not fit. The surface above the poles has to be something you are allowed to load: not a glass roof, plasterboard, a neighbour's slab, or a glass balustrade.

Title, table, and winding the cloth in

High

Width and projection are a pair. Three metres is the width. Depth here is 1.2 m or 1.5 m, and one shared EVRE review says the cloth is about 10 cm narrower than the frame. The title and the specification table have to agree. Where they do not, both lines stay on the card. None of the three listings includes a motor or a wind sensor. The BBSA says even a sensor is not a failsafe on a wall-fixed folding-arm awning, and that guide is not a class for these clamps.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Covered balcony, no drilling

You will not drill, and the floor-to-ceiling gap sits between 210 and 320 cm. The VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige is the top pick at about £66.99, with a size line that agrees and 4.3 from 964 reviews. Get written permission if you do not own the building. One review reports a leak, and there is no wind class.

A longer 1.5 m projection

You want the cloth to reach a little further, and you will read the table as well as the title. The grey EVRE is best value at about £74.96 for a 1.5 m title. The same page lists the width as 2.3 m. The 4.2 from 29 reviews is shared with the beige EVRE.

Wall-mount wording on the listing

You want a bullet that mentions a wall mount as well as a clamp. The beige EVRE at about £89.99 is that listing. The title says 1.2 m and the table says 150 cm. If you need a cassette and a stated wind class, talk to a fitter rather than treating this row as that product.

Common questions about 3 m no-drill awnings

What is a 3 m no-drill awning?
It is a manual retractable canopy about 3 metres wide, held by telescopic posts clamped between floor and ceiling, with a crank to wind the cloth. People buy one for a balcony, a patio door, or a small terrace when they will not drill the wall. Three metres is the advertised width, not the depth. Depth on this type is 1.2 m or 1.5 m. It is not a motorised cassette and not a shade sail.
How do I know the poles will fit?
Measure the floor-to-ceiling gap and set it against the stated pole range. The VOUNOT lists 210–320 cm and a 210 cm minimum. EVRE's own page for the beige 3 m x 1.2 m says poles from 2 m to 3 m, while the amazon.co.uk table lists a minimum clearance of 300 cm. A soffit outside the range does not fit. The overhead surface has to be solid. Not a glass roof, plasterboard, a neighbour's slab, or a glass balustrade.
Do I need planning permission or the freeholder's consent?
Planning Portal treats a freestanding awning as often an outbuilding, not in front of the house and not more than 2.5 metres high, and an awning fixed to the house as an alteration. England uses the Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (England) Order 2015. Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland have their own orders. A lawful development certificate is the formal check. Planning does not replace Building Regulations, the Party Wall etc. Act 1996, or the lease. Written freeholder or landlord consent can still be required.
Will a rain claim mean the cloth can stay out in a storm?
No. The VOUNOT bullets call the 180 gsm polyester rain protection, and one UK review says water came through. The EVRE bullets say light rain, or waterproof and light rain. None of the three listings states an EN 13561 wind class, a motor, or a wind sensor. Wind the cloth in when the forecast turns. Waterproof on a bullet is not a storm rating.
Are the two EVRE review counts separate?
No. Both EVRE listings show 4.2 from 29 reviews, and the eleven UK review texts match, including a cloth about 10 cm inside the frame, a small hole, unclear arm instructions, and one order with three parts missing. Treat 29 as one shared sample. The VOUNOT line is separate: 4.3 from 964 reviews on 19 October 2026.
What should I check before I order?
Check the pole range against your ceiling, then read the title and the specification table as a pair. One EVRE table prints a width of 2.3 m against a 3 m title. The other prints a projection of 150 cm against a 1.2 m title. Do not guess. Confirm you may load the overhead surface, and get written permission if you do not own the building. None of these listings includes a wind sensor. Measure the gap, then compare every size line on the page before you pay.
When is a fitted awning the better route?
Call a fitter for a masonry or insulated-wall fix, a listed façade, failed balcony waterproofing, or a motor with a named EN 13561 class. A clamp kit in this set does not state a wind class. A cassette housing and a drilled arm are a different product, compared under cassette awning. A bolted awning that must be fixed to a concrete wall is not a no-drill clamp.

Our verdict

The top pick is the VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige at about £66.99. It scores 86, the highest here: title and table agree on 3 m by 1.2 m, poles at 210–320 cm, 180 gsm polyester, and 4.3 from 964 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is also the lowest price. One UK review reports water through the cloth, and no wind class is stated. Best value is a different listing, the EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey at about £74.96, the only 1.5 m title and about £15 under the beige EVRE. Its table lists the width as 2.3 m, and the 4.2 from 29 reviews is the same sample as the beige EVRE. Skip the beige EVRE at about £89.99 unless you want the wall-mount wording: the table projection is 150 cm against a 1.2 m title.

Best overall
VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige

VOUNOT 3 x 1.2 m beige

Highest score at 86. Title and table agree on 3 m by 1.2 m, with 4.3 from 964 reviews at about £66.99. No wind class is stated.

View offer
Best value
EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey

EVRE 3 x 1.5 m grey

The 1.5 m title at about £74.96, below the beige EVRE. The table width is 2.3 m, and the 29 reviews are shared. It is not cheaper than the VOUNOT.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSun shadesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to 3 m no-drill awnings

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Listings captured 19 October 2026. Updated 22.10.2026.

  1. Planning Portal: awning FAQ (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. GOV.UK: permitted development technical guidance (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Regulation (EU) 2019/1188 wind tables (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. BBSA folding-arm awning guide (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Leasehold Advisory Service: alterations (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Shelter England: improvements to a rented home (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. EVRE retractable awning, 300 x 120 cm beige (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.