Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best parasol with crank UK

Updated: 22.10.2026

A single best parasol is the wrong question once the table is oblong, the base is missing, or you only need the cheapest 2.7 m that still winds open. This page names a best parasol with crank UK from the seven amazon.co.uk listings we kept, and who should skip each one. The top pick has the deepest UK review set, a stated size, a tilt, and a cover in the box. Best value is the lowest shelf price for a stated 2.7 m crank and tilt, not the second-highest score. The full matrix is the [parasol with crank comparison](/hub/sun-shades/parasol-with-crank). Nothing here was wind-tunnel tested.

A single best parasol is the wrong question once the table is oblong, the base is missing, or you only need the cheapest 2.7 m that still winds open.

Our top picks

On this page

How these picks were chosen

The Products Compared editorial team scored the seven kept amazon.co.uk listings on 21 October 2026 from stars, review counts, whether the page states size, crank, tilt, cover, and base, and the shelf price in GBP. Deductions cover a thin canopy, a line that calls a centre pole a cantilever, lights that fail and are not in the title, an early breakage, and a close that cut a hand. There is no lab and no wind class. Printed UV50+ stays a printed claim. That method puts the VOUNOT at 95, the Garden Pride at 73, and the Harrier at 71. The comparison marks the VOUNOT as the top pick and the Harrier as best value. How to order the decisions before the names is the buying guide.

Top pick and best value

Skip the VOUNOT 2.7 m at about £39.46 if you will not buy a heavy base, or if the plot is a balcony. You wind it open and tilt it on a push-button. One review locks that tilt at about 45 degrees. The storage cover is in the box, and one reviewer says that cover is not waterproof. A free-standing block of about 10–11 kg is called too light. One canopy left the crown after a week. Skip the Harrier at about £37.99 if you thought the photo included a foot, or if you need cloth the spec already calls thick. One complaint says the canopy is thin and see-through. One review limits the tilt to a single 30-degree stop. The reference line says overhanging cantilever, while the title and the reviews describe a centre post. If those gaps bother you more than about £1.47, take the VOUNOT.

When to step up size or shape

Stay at 2.7 m if the table is a normal four-seat or six-seat round and the hole takes the pole. The Garden Pride 8100G at about £81.00 is still 2.7 m, with polyester named and a stated 4.5 kg. One older review says it broke on the second use. Choose it when the cheaper fabric lines are too vague. Step to 3 m, or to a rectangle, when the job changes. A 3 m tilt crank in this set still needs you to fit the arms and the fabric, about 5–15 minutes in reviews, and one abrupt close cut a hand. An oblong crank can spin in a light wind, and tilt is not stated. The only base in the box is the 2.7 × 4.5 m PHI VILLA, and the sand bags arrive empty.

Who should wait

Wait if the listing will not tell you the diameter. One crank near the VOUNOT price prints UV50+ and water-repellent and does not state a canopy size, a pole, a tilt, or a base. UV50+ is not a BS EN 13758 clothing certificate. Buy it only after the live page shows a size you have measured. Wait if you have no budget for a base. A low shelf price plus a light 11 kg block is the combination reviewers say walks. A photo that looks like a foot is not a base in the box. If you need a clear floor and no table hole, that job is a cantilever, not a better score inside this seven. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

Common questions

Which listing includes a cover?
The VOUNOT title and reviews include a protective storage cover. One review says that cover is not waterproof, so it is for a dry, closed parasol. The Harrier mentions an optional cover and does not confirm it in the box. The Garden Pride spec does not confirm one either.
Which listing includes a base?
Only the PHI VILLA 2.7 × 4.5 m, at about £142.99. The box has a fillable base and empty sand bags. Sand is not included, and the filled stand is very heavy to move. Silence in a spec block is not a yes.
Who should buy a 3 m crank instead of 2.7 m?
Buy the 3 m tilt crank when a 2.7 m canopy leaves the seating in the sun and you will fit the arms and fabric yourself. You still need a heavier base, with 20 kg plus named in reviews. Skip it if you want a ready-built pole.
Who should skip a listing with no diameter?
Skip it if you need a stated diameter, a known pole, a confirmed tilt, or a confirmed base. A printed UV50+ is not a size, and it is not a clothing test. Open that page only after the live listing answers the measurement you took at the table.
Can you call any of these windproof?
No. None of the seven listings states a wind class, and they were not tested in a tunnel. Reviewers report spin on a rectangular crank and walk on light bases. A heavier base changes the chance of a walk. It does not make the parasol safe to leave open in a gale.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Shelf figures stored 21 October 2026. Updated 22.10.2026.

  1. Shade Specialists parasol buying guide (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Shade Specialists parasol base guide (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Opal Retail parasol base weight table (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Ideal Home best parasols (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. Cancer Research UK sun safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. GOV.UK ultraviolet radiation FAQs (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. BSI BS EN 13758-1:2002 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 19 (retrieved 22.10.2026)