Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch silver porthole, clear glass Best value: GAESHOW black boat porthole – Lowest shelf price among opening portlights with UK review text: about £29.99, 4.4 from 121, including a bird-hide note. Updated October 2026.
A porthole on amazon.co.uk is not one product. The same round frame can be a window clamped through an interior door, an opening portlight for a boat, shed or camper, a push-out deck hatch, or hinged wall decor. You tell them apart by the job the listing states, the thickness it claims, the glass, and whether screws and a seal are in the box.
A mirror does not show through, and wall art is the wrong buy if you need weather resistance.
The [porthole buying guide](/hub/door-and-window-security/porthole/sub/porthole-buying-guide) puts job, thickness, glass and fixings in that order.
These twelve listings cover four jobs, set out on the [door or boat page](/hub/door-and-window-security/porthole/sub/porthole-door-or-boat). A door-leaf ring is clamped through an interior door and does not open. Hinged nautical wall decor, including a mirror, hangs on a wall.
A porthole on amazon.co.uk is not one product. The same round frame can be a window clamped through an interior door, an opening portlight for a boat, shed or camper, a push-out deck hatch, or hinged wall decor.
A porthole on amazon.co.uk is not one product. The same round frame can be a window clamped through an interior door, an opening portlight for a boat, shed or camper, a push-out deck hatch, or hinged wall decor. You tell them apart by the job the listing states, the thickness it claims, the glass, and whether screws and a seal are in the box.
A mirror does not show through, and wall art is the wrong buy if you need weather resistance.
The [porthole buying guide](/hub/door-and-window-security/porthole/sub/porthole-buying-guide) puts job, thickness, glass and fixings in that order.
These twelve listings cover four jobs, set out on the [door or boat page](/hub/door-and-window-security/porthole/sub/porthole-door-or-boat). A door-leaf ring is clamped through an interior door and does not open. Hinged nautical wall decor, including a mirror, hangs on a wall.
A porthole on amazon.co.uk is not one product. The same round frame can be a window clamped through an interior door, an opening portlight for a boat, shed or camper, a push-out deck hatch, or hinged wall decor. You tell them apart by the job the listing states, the thickness it claims, the glass, and whether screws and a seal are in the box. A mirror does not show through, and wall art is the wrong buy if you need weather resistance. The porthole buying guide puts job, thickness, glass and fixings in that order.
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch silver porthole is a hinged indoor wall piece at about £29.99, aluminium, with about 13.5 cm of clear glass in a frame of about 23 cm and a weight of 500 g. The only review on the file is from the United Kingdom, scored 5.0, and it calls the piece strong, sturdy and simple to install as wall decoration. One review is not a pattern you can lean on. The listing says indoor wall mount and does not claim a seal, a door thickness or outdoor use. The size lines print both 22.5 cm and 23 by 23 by 7 cm, so the depth of the hinge is the figure to check when it arrives. Clear glass of about 13.5 cm is the view, not the full 9 inch frame.
Pros
The only review is a UK note calling it sturdy wall decoration
Clear glass of about 13.5 cm, silver, at about £29.99
Listing says indoor wall mount
Cons
Only one review, at 5.0
No seal and no door thickness are stated
Frame size is printed as both 22.5 cm and about 23 cm
Best for: You want a small silver indoor wall porthole and you accept a single UK review.
Less suitable: You need outdoor use, a waterproof claim with reviews behind it, or a door vision panel.
Specifications
Model
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch silver porthole, clear glass
The Masyrt is an aluminium push-out deck hatch at about £313.29, 18 by 12.9 inch, with an opening of 457 by 327 mm, 6 mm smoke-grey tempered glass, a rotary handle and a 316 stainless support rod. The listing says it opens from 0 to 90 degrees, and the package weight is 4.2 kg. The star line is 5.0 from one review, and that review has no text in the file, so the score is a single click with no description of a deck. The thickness sentence says 15 mm or any thickness, which is the listing's wording and not a measured range you can cut to. Fixings are not listed. Rubber rings are stated. At this price, and with no written review, the hatch is a specification to check on the live page before it is treated as cabin kit.
Pros
Push-out hatch with a stated opening of 457 by 327 mm
6 mm smoke-grey tempered glass
Stay and a lockable rotary handle, opening 0 to 90 degrees as stated
Cons
5.0 from one review, and no review text in the file
About £313.29 with fixings not listed
Thickness line says 15 mm or any thickness
Best for: You are specifying a push-out deck hatch and you will confirm the live page before you rely on one star.
Less suitable: An interior door, a side portlight budget near £30, or a buyer who wants written UK reviews.
Specifications
Model
Masyrt push-out deck hatch, 18 x 12.9 inch, smoke-grey glass
The MLS B4000, model 0180-0160-A6, is a non-opening door porthole at about £77.42, stated for an interior leaf of 40 mm plus or minus 2 mm, with a 250 mm frame, matte VSG glass, two aluminium rings and mounting material. Across 157 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.6, but the extracted sample has no UK review text, so that score is not a United Kingdom verdict. Non-UK notes describe a robust fit, and also a Netherlands measurement of about 44 mm between the halves that led to a return as unsuitable for a 40 mm door. German notes say the rubber lips slip off during fitting and that no cutting template is included, while a Spanish note reports a poorly stuck internal glass tab and screws that can cross-thread. The title says aluminium and one bullet says stainless steel. The listing does not describe it as an opening window, and it does not state a fire rating.
Pros
Only listing here that states a door leaf of 40 mm plus or minus 2 mm
Matte VSG pane, two rings and mounting material, as stated
4.6 from 157 amazon.co.uk reviews
250 mm frame at about £77.42
Cons
No UK review text in the extracted sample
Title says aluminium and one bullet says stainless steel
Non-UK notes: a measured gap near 44 mm, lips that slip off, no template
Does not open, and no fire rating is stated
Best for: You have a normal interior door about 40 mm thick, you have checked it is not a fire door, and you want a non-opening matte porthole.
Less suitable: A 44 mm leaf, a fire door, a window that must open, or a buyer who needs UK review text before ordering.
Specifications
Model
MLS porthole B4000, aluminium, 250 mm, matte glass, for a 40 mm door
The HouYeen is a black ABS opening portlight at about £30.99, with an outer diameter of about 265 mm, 4 mm tempered glass and rubber seals the listing describes as water-tight. Across 59 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.6, and the UK notes are about panels people actually fitted: a shed with M4 countersunk bolts and nuts bought separately, two shed windows called watertight once silicone went on, a micro-camper, and the back door of a converted van that could open for air. A UK review says the glass looks tinted from the outside. The screws are not in the box, so the fit depends on bolts you choose. One UK buyer could not keep the locks on the inside and still call the join water-tight, and described a remaining gap. The listing does not state a door-leaf thickness, so this is not a 40 mm interior-door ring.
Pros
4.6 from 59 amazon.co.uk reviews, with UK shed and camper notes
Opens, with 4 mm tempered glass stated
UK shed fit described as watertight once silicone was added
Outer diameter about 265 mm at about £30.99
Cons
Screws are not included
One UK note of a gap when the locks stay on the inside
No door-leaf thickness is stated
Best for: You want an opening round window for a shed or camper panel and you will buy the bolts yourself.
Less suitable: You need a stated 40 mm interior door, included screws, or a fire-door vision panel.
Specifications
Model
HouYeen black opening porthole, 265 mm, 4 mm tempered glass
The GAESHOW is a black ABS opening portlight at about £29.99, stated as 10 inch or 26.5 cm, with tempered glass and a rubber ring the listing calls waterproof. Across 121 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.4, and the UK notes in the sample are short: lovely, good quality, sturdy, and one unit fitted as a round window in a bird hide. The screws are not included, and the glass line prints both 4 mm and 0.2 inch, so the pane thickness is not a single figure. Non-UK notes, which are not a UK verdict, call the finish acceptable for the price, mention a motorhome use with no E-mark, and describe an outer frame that was hard to seal when the opening side faced in. No door thickness is stated.
Pros
About £29.99, the lowest price among the opening portlights here
4.4 from 121 amazon.co.uk reviews
UK note of a round window fitted in a bird hide
Opens, with a rubber ring claimed
Cons
Screws are not included
Glass printed as both 4 mm and 0.2 inch
UK review texts in the sample are short
No door-leaf thickness is stated
Best for: You want the cheaper opening portlight in this set and a bird-hide style panel is enough.
Less suitable: You need one agreed glass thickness, included screws, or an interior door of 40 mm.
This 11.5 inch mirror porthole is a hinged wall hanging at about £34.90, antique brown, with a 7 inch mirror and a weight of 1.05 kg, and no brand is printed in the saved listing. Across 113 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2. UK buyers used it as a gift for a nautical-themed bar and on a garden-bar wall, and one called the quality good. A UK review says the fixtures were not in the box, and another thought a shop price would have felt high. A technical-details line prints 4.52 by 0.39 by 0.01 cm, which conflicts with the 11.5 inch size bullet, so the frame needs measuring on arrival. An Italian note, which is not UK opinion, describes it as furniture of about 30 cm rather than a ship's porthole. You cannot see through the mirror.
Pros
4.2 from 113 amazon.co.uk reviews
UK notes of a nautical bar and a garden-bar wall
7 inch mirror inside an 11.5 inch frame, as stated
Opens and closes
Cons
No brand is printed in the saved listing
A UK review says fixings were not included
Size bullet conflicts with a technical-details line
Mirror only, with no view through
Best for: You want a larger hinged mirror for a nautical bar and you will supply the wall fixings.
Less suitable: You need a see-through window, a named brand, or fixings in the box.
Specifications
Model
11.5 inch mirror porthole, antique brown, wall hanging
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch mirror porthole is a hinged wall mirror at about £29.99, about 23 cm across and 560 g, in an antique brass colour, made of aluminium, steel and glass. Across 98 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2, with UK notes of a seaside-themed cloakroom and ordinary wall decoration. One UK buyer called it a tidy kit for a boat, which reads as a comment on the look rather than a hull fitting. The repeated UK complaint is size: smaller than expected, and one return was described as way too small to be practical. The included glass is a mirror, so you cannot see through it. The listing says it opens and closes, and it does not state a door thickness.
Pros
4.2 from 98 amazon.co.uk reviews
UK notes of a cloakroom and wall decoration
Opens and closes, as stated
About £29.99 for a stated mirror rather than a fake window
Cons
UK buyers found it smaller than expected
One UK return as too small to be practical
Mirror glass, so there is no view through
Best for: You want a small hinged nautical mirror for a cloakroom and you have checked that about 23 cm is enough.
Less suitable: You need to see through a door, or you want a large mirror.
Specifications
Model
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch mirror porthole, antique brass colour
The Medieval Replicas 12 inch maritime porthole is a hinged indoor wall piece at about £37.00, antique brown, with glass stated at 7.8 inch and a weight of 1.23 kg. Across 160 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.1, but the extracted sample contains only one UK review body, which uses it as maritime bathroom decor with a picture behind the glass. Non-UK reviews dominate the rest of the sample, including a Belgian comment that the copper look is fake while the appearance is still liked. The bullet says aluminium and a later line says brass, so the metal is not settled on the page. The listing says indoor and does not state a door thickness or a seal. The large review count is not the same thing as a large UK sample.
Pros
4.1 from 160 amazon.co.uk reviews
One UK note of bathroom decor with a picture behind the glass
12 inch indoor wall size at about £37.00
Hinged, as stated
Cons
Only one UK review body in the extracted sample
Aluminium and brass both appear on the listing
No door thickness and no seal are stated
Best for: You want a 12 inch indoor wall porthole for a bathroom and you will treat the metal line as unsettled.
Less suitable: You need solid brass, a waterproof window, or several UK reviews of the same use.
Specifications
Model
Medieval Replicas 12 inch maritime porthole, antique brown
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch clear porthole is a hinged wall piece at about £29.99, antique brass in colour, aluminium and glass on the material line, with about 13.5 cm of clear glass in a frame of about 23 cm and a weight of 500 g. Across 82 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.7. UK buyers have used it as maritime-room decoration, on a tiki bar, as a novelty that opens and closes, and in one note on a camper-van bathroom door. The same UK file calls the antique claim misleading and the build poor, with a warped frame and gaps too large to close tight. A UK review says it is not waterproof, which made it useless for a planned summerhouse, and another buyer found it smaller and lighter than expected when using it as a size check. It is wall decor, not a sealed window.
Pros
82 amazon.co.uk reviews, so the complaints are not from a single buyer
UK notes of a tiki bar and maritime-room decoration
Hinged, and light at about 500 g
About £29.99
Cons
3.7 from 82, with UK notes of a poor build
UK reviews: warped, large gaps, not waterproof
Colour is antique brass; the material line says aluminium and glass
Clear glass is about 13.5 cm, which UK buyers found smaller than expected
Best for: You want a light novelty for an indoor nautical room and you will not rely on it to keep weather out.
Less suitable: A summerhouse, a boat, or any place that has to be waterproof.
Specifications
Model
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch clear porthole, antique brass colour
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 12 inch clear porthole is a hinged wall piece at about £44.99, about 1 kg, with about 19 cm of clear glass in a frame of about 30.5 cm. The colour is antique brass, a frame line also says bronze, and the material line says aluminium and glass. Across 14 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.7: one short UK note says excellent product, while other UK notes describe two pieces as poor, with loose hinges, scratched paint, and a unit that is not watertight in any way. A refund was completed for one of two returned items, as that reviewer reported. A French note, which is not UK opinion, mentions rattle and cross-threaded screws. At about £44.99 it is the dearest clear decor piece in this set, and the review file does not support using it as a window.
Pros
Larger clear glass than the 9 inch decor, about 19 cm
About 1 kg, so it is a more substantial frame than the 500 g pieces
One short UK note calls it an excellent product
Cons
3.7 from 14 reviews
UK notes of loose hinges, scratched paint and a unit that is not watertight
A UK reviewer reported a refund on one of two pieces
Antique brass colour on an aluminium and glass material line
Best for: You want the larger clear frame for indoor display and you have read the UK notes about hinges and paint.
Less suitable: Any opening that has to keep water out, or a buyer expecting solid brass.
Specifications
Model
12 inch clear porthole, antique brass colour, hinged wall decor
The ZONADAH is a 215 mm black ABS opening portlight at about £35.99, with 4 mm tempered glass, rubber seals the listing calls watertight, and a package weight of 770 g. The screws are not included, and opening is described as detachable parts rather than an angle in degrees. The amazon.co.uk file has no star line and no review text, so there is no UK account of a shed, a boat panel or a leak. At about £35.99 it costs more than the larger HouYeen and GAESHOW portlights in this set, both of which have review files. You are buying the printed specification, model window-hole-215mm, and nothing a buyer has described. No door thickness is stated.
Pros
215 mm opening portlight with 4 mm tempered glass stated
Rubber seals and a watertight claim on the listing
Lighter package line at 770 g
Cons
No star line and no review text
Screws are not included
About £35.99, above the reviewed 265 mm portlights in this set
No door thickness is stated
Best for: You specifically want a 215 mm opening portlight and you will accept a listing with no reviews.
Less suitable: You want UK review text, included screws, or a door leaf of a stated thickness.
The KKPLZZ is a 215 mm ABS porthole at about £40.99, listed for a yacht or RV sky window, with tempered glass printed as both 4 mm and 0.2 inch, rubber seals, and a 316 stainless accessory. The build is described as click-in, and no opening angle is stated, so you cannot tell from the page how far it swings. Fixings are not listed. The weight line is 778 g. There is no star line and no review text, so the sky-window claim has not been described by a UK buyer in this file. The colour attribute is printed as #411, which does not tell you the finish you will see. At about £40.99 it is the dearest of the small ABS units here, with the thinnest evidence.
Pros
215 mm size stated, with rubber seals on the listing
4 mm tempered glass is one of the two thickness lines
A 316 stainless accessory is named
Cons
No star line and no review text
Glass printed as both 4 mm and 0.2 inch
Opening angle and fixings are not stated
About £40.99 with a colour line that only says #411
Best for: You want a 215 mm sky-window listing and you will verify the live page before you treat click-in as an opening window.
Less suitable: You need UK reviews, a stated opening angle, or an interior door.
215 mm. The listing is for a yacht or RV sky window, and the weight line is 778 g.
What glass does the listing state?
Tempered glass, printed as 4 mm and as 0.2 inch. The page does not pick one of those figures.
Is there a review count on the listing?
No. There is no star line and no review text, and no opening angle is stated.
How we compared
Twelve portholes are scored from the amazon.co.uk listings and the review notes already on file for these ASINs. Listing fit is 35, Amazon evidence is 30, review outcome is 25, and value is 10. This is not a laboratory test. A seller line such as VSG, tempered, waterproof or antique brass is not scored as a BS EN 12600 class, a fire-door approval, or BS EN ISO 12216.
1
Listing fit
35%
The job the page actually states: a door thickness, laminated glass and fixings on a door ring; an opening, a seal and a glass thickness on a portlight; a stay and an opening size on a hatch; a mirror called a mirror. A missing thickness, screws left out, 4 mm and 0.2 inch on the same page, aluminium against stainless or brass, or 15 mm or any thickness, scores down.
2
Amazon evidence
30%
Star rating on amazon.co.uk, then a deduction when the count is small, when there is no star line, or when the written sample has no United Kingdom review text. A 5.0 from one review is not scored as a large sample.
3
Review outcome
25%
UK reviews that describe a finished shed, camper, bird hide or wall count. A UK note of a gap, a leak, loose hinges or a return scores down. Non-UK texts do not count as UK opinion. No review text scores as nothing.
4
Value
10%
Shelf price in GBP against a listing a UK review can actually use. A £313 hatch with one star and no text does not score here. A price near £30 does not score when the file has no reviews.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Porthole buying guide
Decide the job before you look at the round picture. A door ring, an opening side portlight, a deck hatch and a wall mirror are four different products in this set of twelve. Only one listing states an interior door of 40 mm plus or minus 2 mm. Opening ABS portlights near £30 do not state a door thickness, and the screws are not in the box. Hinged brass-colour pieces are what UK reviewers hang on a wall. None of these files prints a BS EN 12600 class, a fire rating, or BS EN ISO 12216.
What is a porthole?
On amazon.co.uk a porthole is not one product. These twelve listings cover four jobs, set out on the [door or boat page](/hub/door-and-window-security/porthole/sub/porthole-door-or-boat). A door-leaf ring is clamped through an interior door and does not open. An opening portlight is a round side window for a boat, shed or camper. A deck hatch is a push-out roof panel. Hinged nautical wall decor, including a mirror, hangs on a wall. A round thumbnail is not the test.
Best for
A normal interior door about 40 mm thick that is not a fire door
A shed, camper or small-boat panel when you will buy bolts and sealant
A nautical room where a mirror or hinged decor is enough
Not ideal for
A fire door, or a leaf you have not measured
A summerhouse or hull if the piece is only wall art
A buyer who reads a 9 inch frame as a 9 inch view
Mistakes to avoid
1
Expecting a 9 inch view
On the 9 inch clear pieces the glass is about 13.5 cm inside a frame of about 23 cm. UK buyers found that smaller than the name. The 9 inch mirror is a mirror, so there is no view at all.
2
Reading antique brass as solid brass
Antique brass is the colour on several wall pieces. The material line says aluminium and glass, or aluminium. The Medieval Replicas page prints both aluminium and brass. The colour is not a metal certificate.
3
Cutting before the screws and the thickness
Marine listings that mention screws say they are not included. The Masyrt thickness line says 15 mm or any thickness, which is not a range you can cut to. A fire door is a different mistake: do not machine that aperture on site.
What to weigh up
Job and thickness
High
The first fork is the job the listing states. A round picture is not enough. In this set the MLS B4000 is the door-leaf ring: non-opening, matte VSG, about £77.42, stated for 40 mm plus or minus 2 mm. The HouYeen, GAESHOW, ZONADAH and KKPLZZ pages are opening side portlights. They do not state a door thickness. The Masyrt is a push-out deck hatch, 457 by 327 mm, about £313.29. The rest are hinged wall decor or mirrors.
Thickness is the number that decides a door.
Glass, seal and fixings
High
Door glazing is a critical location under Approved Document K. Safe breakage is tied to BS EN 12600 Class 3 when the pane is not wider than 900 mm. None of these listings prints that class. VSG on the MLS page means laminated. Tempered 4 mm on an ABS portlight is the seller’s line, not a door certificate. The GAESHOW and KKPLZZ pages print 4 mm and 0.2 inch together, so the pane is not one figure. A mirror does not show through.
A rubber-seal bullet is not BS EN ISO 12216.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🚪
Interior door about 40 mm
You want a round window in a normal interior door, and you have checked it is not a fire door. The MLS B4000 is the only listing here that states a leaf of 40 mm plus or minus 2 mm, with matte VSG glass and mounting material, at about £77.42. It does not open. The sample has no UK review text, so the 4.6 from 157 is not a UK verdict.
You will cut a panel and buy the bolts yourself. The HouYeen is the top pick: about £30.99, 4.6 from 59, 4 mm tempered glass, and it opens. UK notes cover a shed with M4 bolts, silicone on a shed, a micro-camper and a van back door. Screws are not in the box, and no door thickness is stated.
You are dressing a cloakroom or a bar, and you do not need weather resistance. The 9 inch mirror at about £29.99 is sold as a mirror, 4.2 from 98, with UK cloakroom notes. It does not show through. If you expected a 9 inch view, the glass is the mirror, and UK buyers also found the frame smaller than expected.
The HouYeen opening portlight is the top pick in this set. It scores highest: about £30.99, 4.6 from 59 reviews, 4 mm tempered glass, and it opens. UK notes describe a shed with M4 bolts, silicone on a shed, a micro-camper, and a van back door. Screws are not in the box. One UK note describes a gap when the locks stay inside. It does not state a 40 mm door leaf, so it is not an interior-door ring.
How much does a porthole cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the shelf prices run from about £29.99 to about £313.29. Decorative mirrors, hinged wall pieces and the GAESHOW opening portlight sit at about £29.99 to £44.99. The HouYeen is about £30.99. The MLS door ring, the only listing that states a 40 mm leaf, is about £77.42. The Masyrt push-out hatch is about £313.29, with 5.0 from one review and no review text. These are the figures in the amazon.co.uk files, not a live check on the day you order.
What should you check before you buy a porthole?
Start with the job: interior door, side portlight, deck hatch, or wall. Then the thickness. Only the MLS listing states 40 mm plus or minus 2 mm. Then the glass. A mirror does not show through, and VSG or tempered on a bullet is not a BS EN 12600 class. Then whether it opens, whether a seal is claimed, and whether screws are in the box. Marine listings that mention screws say they are not included. Stars come last, and a 5.0 from one review is not a large sample.
Can you cut a porthole into a fire door?
Do not cut a vision panel into a fire door on site. Approved Document B is the fire-safety guidance for England, and a fire-door vision panel has to sit inside that door’s test evidence. The British Woodworking Federation says not to machine those apertures on site. BS 8214:2026 says a cut outside the evidence can invalidate approval. No listing in this comparison claims a fire rating. If the door is a fire door, leave the leaf alone and ask the door maker or a competent joiner.
Does VSG or tempered glass meet Approved Document K?
Not on the evidence in these files. Approved Document K, requirement K4, says glazing in doors must break safely, resist impact, or be protected. Safe breakage is tied to BS EN 12600 Class 3 when the pane is not wider than 900 mm. None of these listings prints that class. VSG on the MLS page means laminated. Tempered 4 mm on an ABS portlight is the seller’s glass line. Neither phrase is scored here as Approved Document K compliance.
Is a mirror porthole a window?
No. The 9 inch mirror, about £29.99, and the 11.5 inch mirror, about £34.90, are hinged wall mirrors. UK notes use them in a cloakroom and on a bar wall. You cannot see through the glass. Buyers also found the 9 inch mirror smaller than expected, and one return was described as too small to be practical. If you need a view through an interior door, look at the MLS ring, and only after you have checked the leaf is about 40 mm and is not a fire door.
When should a professional make the cut?
Call a joiner or a marine fitter for a fire door, a uPVC or unknown hollow leaf, a boat hull, or an external door that needs a sealed unit. Cutting the hole before you notice missing screws, or sealing wall art into a summerhouse, is the usual mistake on the listings that are only decor. If you only need to see who is outside a front door, a peephole is a different product. The door viewer comparison covers thickness and barrel size for that job, without a round window.
Our verdict
The HouYeen opening portlight is the top pick. It has the highest score in this set, at about £30.99, with 4.6 from 59 amazon.co.uk reviews, 4 mm tempered glass, and UK notes from a shed and a camper. Screws are not included, and one UK note describes a gap when the locks stay inside. The GAESHOW is the best value, at about £29.99: the lowest shelf price among opening portlights that have UK review text. Its glass line prints both 4 mm and 0.2 inch. If you need a stated 40 mm interior door, the MLS B4000 is the only listing here that says so. It is not the top pick, because the extracted sample has no UK review text.
Best overall
THE ANTIQUE HOUSE 9 inch silver porthole, clear glass
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to portholes
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for glazing and craft rules, plus the MLS catalogue for the cut-out. Shelf figures are the amazon.co.uk files used on 19 October 2026. Euro prices in the catalogue are not the UK price.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in these listings. This is not a laboratory test, and a listing line is not a fire rating or a waterproof certificate.