Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Neem oil comparison 2026

The best Neem oils, compared.

Top pick: SVA neem seed oil 118 ml Best value: Ourons neem oil 500 ml – About £2.80 per 100 ml, the lowest unit price in the set, at about £13.99 with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Neem oil on sale in the United Kingdom is almost always cold-pressed seed oil from the neem tree, bottled for soap, candles, skin and hair. Shoppers also look for neem oil when aphids or mites show up on plants. Those are different jobs. A craft or cosmetic oil is not a garden insecticide unless that exact product has a MAPP number on the HSE amateur database. Approval of a substance is not approval of a bottle. You recognise a suitable bottle from the listing. The ingredient line should be neem seed oil alone, with a stated millilitre count. In a cool room the oil goes cloudy or solid, often below about 20°C, and it does not mix with water. Organic, hexane-free and similar lines are seller wording until a certifier is named. A review helps only when it describes this oil's smell, texture or use. If the job is pests on plants, use an authorised product or non-chemical aphid steps. Those checks are in the [neem oil buying guide](/hub/pest-control/neem-oil/sub/neem-oil-buying-guide).

Neem oil on sale in the United Kingdom is almost always cold-pressed seed oil from the neem tree, bottled for soap, candles, skin and hair. Shoppers also look for neem oil when aphids or mites show up on plants.

SVA neem seed oil 118 ml

Best overall

SVA neem seed oil 118 ml
9.0/10∼ £10

32 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +17,600 readers

9 of 9: Best Neem oils compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
SVA neem seed oil 118 ml
Best value
Ourons neem oil 500 ml
HJFRONGF neem oil 60 ml
Ourons neem oil 100 ml
Organic Forest neem oil 30 ml
Daana organic neem oil 120 ml
Fushi organic neem oil 50 ml
MadanWax neem oil 60 ml
Bio Natural neem oil 10 ml
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
∼ £10
∼ £14
∼ £9
∼ £7
∼ £8
∼ £10
∼ £10
∼ £8
∼ £4
4.5(20,301)
4.5(1,136)
4.5(11)
4.4(10,239)
4.4(2,506)
4.3(125)
4.2(146)
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Neem oils in detail

SVA neem seed oil 118 ml

Rank 1

SVA neem seed oil 118 ml

∼£10

Our view

SVA lists 118 ml of cold-pressed neem carrier oil with a dropper at £9.99, about £8.47 per 100 ml, for face, scalp and massage. The star line is 4.5 from 20,301 reviews, the largest count in the set, but sampled UK text names moringa, amla and black seed as well as skin oils. That total is a weak signal for this bottle. Plant use is absent from the header bullets, and there is no MAPP number. Organics sits in the brand name without a certifier in the file, and the origin field says India. The dropper suits small cosmetic amounts if you dilute and patch-test. Buy it for the dropper only when you can ignore a review pool that does not stay on neem.

Pros

  • 118 ml with a dropper for face and scalp amounts
  • About £8.47 per 100 ml, close to the mid-price 100 ml band
  • Header bullets stay on skin, hair and massage
  • Cold-pressed carrier-oil wording rather than a plant spray

Cons

  • Sampled reviews name moringa, amla and black seed, so 20,301 is a contaminated count
  • No certifier behind the Organics brand name
  • No MAPP number
  • Stars cannot show that this oil suits your scalp

Best for: You want a dropper bottle for a diluted face or scalp oil and you will not treat the 20,301 reviews as neem-only evidence.

Less suitable: You want reviews that describe this neem oil, a craft volume, or any plant use.

Specifications

Model
SVA neem seed oil 118 ml
Brand
SVA ORGANICS
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.5/5(20,301)
Volume
118 ml
Price per 100 ml
£8.47
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
Brand name only
Listing uses
Face, scalp, massage
Plant wording
Not in bullets
Dropper
Yes
Origin
India
Amazon rating
4.5 (20,301)

Common questions

Does it include a dropper?

Yes. The title and bullets describe a carrier oil with a dropper for skin and scalp.

Can the 20,301 reviews be read as neem-oil proof?

Not from the sampled UK text. Those reviews mention moringa, amla and black seed as well as skin oils.

Is it a garden product?

Plant use is not in the header bullets, and there is no MAPP number.

Ourons neem oil 500 ml

Rank 2

Ourons neem oil 500 ml

∼£14

Our view

The Ourons 500 ml bottle is £13.99, which is £2.80 per 100 ml, the lowest unit price among these nine listings, with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews. The bullets name soap, candles and DIY blends and do not print a MAPP number. UK reviews still talk about aphids and other insects, which records how people used it, not an authorisation. The listing says the oil thickens when cool and that you stand the bottle in warm water before measuring. Organic appears in the material features without a named certifier. One reviewer wasted oil by not understanding the application, and this page does not fill that gap with a spray rate. For a soap or candle maker who already expects the smell, this is the volume bottle in the set.

Pros

  • £2.80 per 100 ml, the lowest unit price in the set
  • 500 ml cold-pressed oil with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews
  • Craft listing aimed at soap, candles and DIY blends
  • Warm-water step is printed for a bottle that has thickened

Cons

  • No MAPP number on the file
  • Reviews drift into insect use
  • No dropper, and 500 ml is a lot for a first scalp test
  • Organic wording does not name a certifier

Best for: You make soap or candles and want the plain oil with the lowest price per 100 ml in this set.

Less suitable: You want a 30–50 ml skin bottle, a dropper, or an HSE-authorised garden product.

Specifications

Model
Ourons neem oil 500 ml
Brand
OURONS
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,136)
Volume
500 ml
Price per 100 ml
£2.80
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
No certifier
Listing uses
Soap, candles, DIY
Plant wording
Not in bullets
Dropper
Not stated
Origin
United Kingdom
Amazon rating
4.5 (1,136)

Common questions

Why is this the value bottle?

£13.99 for 500 ml is £2.80 per 100 ml, the lowest unit price among the nine kept listings, with 1,136 reviews at 4.5.

Does the listing tell you to spray plants?

The bullets name soap, candles and DIY blends. UK reviews talk about aphids and other insects. There is no MAPP number.

What if the oil is solid?

The listing says it thickens when cool and that you stand the bottle in warm water before measuring.

HJFRONGF neem oil 60 ml

Rank 3

HJFRONGF neem oil 60 ml

Our view

HJFRONGF lists 60 ml of cold-pressed face and scalp oil at £8.99, about £14.98 per 100 ml, with a hexane-free claim in the title and no certificate in the file. The star line is 4.5 from 11 reviews, and several of those reviews echo the title, which is too small a sample for a settled reputation. The brand is HJFRONGF, the manufacturer line says HJFRF, and the country of origin is China. Plant wording is absent from the bullets, and there is no MAPP number. You pay more per 100 ml than for the Ourons 500 ml, without a review base that names a specific result on skin. It is only a tentative face-oil trial if an 11-review listing is enough for you.

Pros

  • 60 ml face and scalp size
  • Cold-pressed claim and a hexane-free line on the title
  • 4.5 from the 11 reviews that are on the file
  • No plant wording in the bullets

Cons

  • Only 11 reviews, several echoing the title
  • Hexane-free has no certificate in the file
  • Brand HJFRONGF and manufacturer HJFRF do not match cleanly
  • About £14.98 per 100 ml, with origin China

Best for: You want a small face-and-scalp bottle and you accept an 11-review listing from a thinly documented brand.

Less suitable: You want a large UK review sample, a named bottler, or a low price per 100 ml.

Specifications

Model
HJFRONGF neem oil 60 ml
Brand
HJFRONGF
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.5/5(11)
Volume
60 ml
Price per 100 ml
£14.98
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
Not stated
Listing uses
Face and scalp
Plant wording
Not in bullets
Dropper
Not stated
Origin
China
Amazon rating
4.5 (11)

Common questions

How many reviews are there?

The file shows 4.5 from 11. That is too small to treat as a settled reputation.

Is hexane-free proven in the file?

It is in the title. No certificate is attached.

Who bottles it?

Brand HJFRONGF, manufacturer HJFRF, country of origin China.

Ourons neem oil 100 ml

Rank 4

Ourons neem oil 100 ml

Our view

Across 10,239 amazon.co.uk reviews, the Ourons 100 ml bottle sits at £6.99 as a cold-pressed neem seed oil for soap, candles, crafts, hair and skin. The file does not print a MAPP number, so a gardener still has no authorisation to spray it, even though sampled reviews mention aphids, greenfly, a jade plant and hellebores. One reviewer does not recommend it for fungus gnats. A bullet says the seeds were pressed in India, while the Amazon country field says United Kingdom. The oil sets below about 20°C, and the practical step on these listings is to warm the sealed bottle. At £6.99 for 100 ml it is the coherent first bottle in this set when the job is a craft or cosmetic oil. The garlic-sulphur smell is part of the product, and leaf-damage comments in the review summary are a reason to keep it off plants.

Pros

  • 100 ml single-ingredient cold-pressed seed oil at £6.99
  • 4.4 from 10,239 reviews, the largest sample that is actually about this oil
  • Bullets stay on soap, candles, crafts, hair and skin
  • Listing behaviour matches a fixed oil that sets in a cool room

Cons

  • No MAPP number, so it is not an authorised plant-protection product
  • Sampled reviews describe aphid and leaf use the bullets do not authorise
  • Origin field says United Kingdom and a bullet says India
  • Strong smell, which reviewers treat as normal for neem

Best for: You want a first 100 ml of plain neem seed oil for soap, candles or a diluted skin blend and you will check the ingredient line before the stars.

Less suitable: You need a pesticide with a MAPP number, a mild deodorised oil, or a dropper bottle for the scalp.

Specifications

Model
Ourons neem oil 100 ml
Brand
OURONS
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.4/5(10,239)
Volume
100 ml
Price per 100 ml
£6.99
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
Not stated
Listing uses
Soap, candles, crafts
Plant wording
Not in bullets
Dropper
Not stated
Origin
UK and India
Amazon rating
4.4 (10,239)

Common questions

Is a MAPP number printed?

No. The saved listing does not show a MAPP number. The bullets describe soap, candles, crafts, hair and skin.

Where do the seeds come from?

A bullet says the seeds were pressed in India. The Amazon country field says United Kingdom. Both lines are in the file.

What do the UK reviews talk about?

Sampled reviews mention aphids, greenfly, a jade plant and hellebores. One reviewer does not recommend it for fungus gnats. That is use, not an authorisation.

Organic Forest neem oil 30 ml

Rank 5

Organic Forest neem oil 30 ml

Our view

Organic Forest sells 30 ml, also written as 1 fl oz, at £7.85, about £26.17 per 100 ml, with 4.4 from 2,506 reviews. The title prints USDA Organic, a US mark, and the file names neither a UK certifier nor a MAPP number. One bullet says the oil protects plants from unwanted critters, which is plant wording without an authorisation. One field says 100% neem and nothing else, while the active-ingredients field lists essential oil, antioxidants, vitamin E and sage. Sampled reviews mention sea buckthorn, vitamin E oil and a gift set, plus a difficult dropper, so the stars are not all about this bottle. A 30 ml size can be a short cosmetic trial if you accept the unit price and the split ingredient line.

Pros

  • 30 ml size if you only want a short trial
  • 4.4 from 2,506 reviews, a large raw count
  • USDA Organic is printed on the title for shoppers who want that US mark
  • Cold-pressed claim is on the listing

Cons

  • About £26.17 per 100 ml, several times the Ourons 500 ml unit price
  • Ingredient fields disagree: 100% neem versus added oils and vitamin E
  • Plant-critter bullet and no MAPP number
  • Sampled reviews mention other oils, a gift set and a difficult dropper

Best for: You want a small USDA-labelled bottle for cosmetic experiments and you have read both ingredient fields.

Less suitable: You want one consistent ingredient line, a low price per 100 ml, or an authorised plant product.

Specifications

Model
Organic Forest neem oil 30 ml
Brand
The Organic Forest
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.4/5(2,506)
Volume
30 ml
Price per 100 ml
£26.17
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
USDA Organic
Listing uses
Skin, hair, plants
Plant wording
Critters on plants
Dropper
Reviews only
Origin
India
Amazon rating
4.4 (2,506)

Common questions

What does USDA Organic mean here?

The title prints USDA Organic. The file does not name a UK certifier, and it does not print a MAPP number.

Are the ingredients consistent?

One field says 100% neem and nothing else. The active-ingredients field lists essential oil, antioxidants, vitamin E and sage.

Do the reviews stay on this oil?

Not all of them. Sampled text mentions sea buckthorn, vitamin E oil and a gift set, plus a difficult dropper.

Daana organic neem oil 120 ml

Rank 6

Daana organic neem oil 120 ml

∼£10

Our view

Daana's 120 ml extra-virgin cold-pressed oil is £9.99, about £8.33 per 100 ml, with 4.3 from 125 reviews, listed for face, hair and body, with India as the origin. Reviews warn that the smell is strong, and one person who put it on neat said not to use it that way. The listing itself talks about a few drops, which matches a diluted cosmetic use. The Amazon scent field says Coconut, while the reviews describe a neem smell, so that field disagrees with the title. Organic and fair trade are printed without a certifier name, and there is no MAPP number. Plant wording is absent from the bullets. The 125-review sample is small beside Ourons, though the comments that exist are about this oil.

Pros

  • 120 ml at about £8.33 per 100 ml
  • 4.3 from 125 reviews that mention the real smell
  • Face, hair and body listing with a few-drops direction
  • No plant bullet on the listing

Cons

  • Scent field says Coconut, which conflicts with the neem title and the reviews
  • Neat use irritated one reviewer
  • Organic and fair trade do not name a certifier
  • 125 reviews is a modest sample

Best for: You want about 120 ml for a diluted scalp or body oil and you will patch-test before a larger area.

Less suitable: You need a UK-bottled oil, a reliable scent field, or a review sample in the thousands.

Specifications

Model
Daana organic neem oil 120 ml
Brand
DAANA
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.3/5(125)
Volume
120 ml
Price per 100 ml
£8.33
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
Title only
Listing uses
Face, hair, body
Plant wording
Not in bullets
Dropper
Not stated
Origin
India
Amazon rating
4.3 (125)

Common questions

Why does the scent field say Coconut?

That is what the Amazon field prints. Reviews describe a strong neem smell, so the field disagrees with the title.

Can it be used neat on skin?

One UK reviewer who put it on neat for mites said not to. The listing itself talks about a few drops.

Does organic here name a UK certifier?

No. The title says organic and the bullets say fair trade. No certifier name is in the file.

Fushi organic neem oil 50 ml

Rank 7

Fushi organic neem oil 50 ml

∼£10

Our view

Fushi's 50 ml bottle is £9.98, about £19.96 per 100 ml, with 4.2 from 146 reviews, and the listing says it is bottled in a London workshop and packed in dark glass. The stated job is skin and an itchy scalp. A bullet mentions head lice, which is seller wording: the file shows no medicine licence, and NHS lice care is wet combing rather than neem. UK reviews describe a solid that melts in the palm and a pungent smell that one person still noticed after washing the hair twice. Fresh-pressed and organic appear without a named certifier. There is no MAPP number, and plant use is absent from the bullets. It fits an adult who will dilute, patch-test and live with the smell.

Pros

  • 50 ml in dark glass, a sensible scalp-trial size
  • 4.2 from 146 reviews that discuss smell and texture
  • London workshop bottling is claimed on the listing
  • Bullets stay on skin and scalp rather than plants

Cons

  • About £19.96 per 100 ml, well above the craft bottles
  • Head-lice bullet is not an NHS treatment or a licence in the file
  • Smell lingered for one reviewer after two washes
  • Organic is printed without a named certifier

Best for: You want a UK-bottled 50 ml neem oil for a diluted itchy-scalp blend and you accept a pungent smell.

Less suitable: You want a cheap soap-making volume, a head-lice cure, or a bottle with a named organic certifier.

Specifications

Model
Fushi organic neem oil 50 ml
Brand
Fushi Wellbeing Ltd
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(146)
Volume
50 ml
Price per 100 ml
£19.96
Cold-pressed
Fresh-pressed
Organic claim
Title only
Listing uses
Skin, itchy scalp
Plant wording
Not in bullets
Dropper
Not stated
Origin
United Kingdom
Amazon rating
4.2 (146)

Common questions

Is the head-lice line a treatment?

It is a bullet on the listing. The file does not show a medicine licence.

Why does it arrive solid?

UK reviews describe a solid that melts in the palm. They treat that as the oil, not as spoilage.

What do reviewers say about the smell?

They call it pungent. One says it was still there after washing the hair twice.

MadanWax neem oil 60 ml

Rank 8

MadanWax neem oil 60 ml

Our view

MadanWax is a 60 ml cold-pressed oil at £7.99, about £13.32 per 100 ml, with organic in the title and no certifier named. The title and a bullet include plants, and the file has no MAPP number, so the plant line is a marketing claim. No star line and no review text are stored, which means smell, texture and irritation are unchecked. Origin is China. The Best Sellers Rank, 113,677 in Beauty, only places the listing in an aisle. Sixty millilitres is a small amount for soap making and an unreviewed amount for skin. The shelf price is close to the Ourons 100 ml bottle, which has thousands of reviews and twice the volume. Treat this as an unreviewed listing, including where the title mentions plants.

Pros

  • 60 ml at £7.99
  • Cold-pressed and a pure-oil claim on the title
  • Short ingredient story if the title's single-oil line is accurate

Cons

  • No star line and no review text in the file
  • Plant wording in the title and a bullet, with no MAPP number
  • Organic has no named certifier
  • Origin China and a thin manufacturer record

Best for: You already accept an unreviewed 60 ml listing and you will not use the plant line as a licence.

Less suitable: You want UK reviews before the oil touches skin, a craft volume, or a houseplant treatment.

Specifications

Model
MadanWax neem oil 60 ml
Brand
MadanWax
Price
∼£8
Volume
60 ml
Price per 100 ml
£13.32
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
Title only
Listing uses
Skin, hair, plants
Plant wording
Title and bullet
Dropper
Not stated
Origin
China

Common questions

Are there reviews?

No star line and no review text in the saved file.

Does it claim to help plants?

Yes. The title and a bullet mention plants. There is no MAPP number.

What volume is it?

The unit count is 60 ml at £7.99, which is £13.32 per 100 ml.

Bio Natural neem oil 10 ml

Rank 9

Bio Natural neem oil 10 ml

Our view

Bio Natural is 10 ml of undiluted cold-pressed oil at £3.99, which is £39.90 per 100 ml, the highest unit price in the set. The active-ingredients field names salannin and prints no concentration, and there is no MAPP number. A bullet mentions plant care and another mentions a diluted scalp oil. A listing question asks how to dilute it, and no answer is stored in the file. Item form says Drop, which suggests a small dosing bottle, while origin, weight and dimensions are absent. There is no star line. The £3.99 shelf price looks low beside Ourons at £6.99 for 100 ml until you compare volume. It is a tiny unreviewed sample, not a soap-making buy and not a reviewed skin oil.

Pros

  • £3.99 shelf price for a 10 ml trial
  • Undiluted cold-pressed claim
  • Item form says Drop, so dosing may be easier than pouring a 500 ml bottle
  • Salannin is named in the active-ingredients field

Cons

  • £39.90 per 100 ml, the highest unit price in the set
  • No reviews and no dilution answer stored
  • Salannin has no strength, and there is no MAPP number
  • Origin, weight and dimensions are absent

Best for: You want the smallest unreviewed sample in the set and you will compare the unit price before you reorder.

Less suitable: You make soap, you want reviews, or you read the plant-care bullet as permission to spray.

Specifications

Model
Bio Natural neem oil 10 ml
Brand
BIO NATURALS LIMITED
Price
∼£4
Volume
10 ml
Price per 100 ml
£39.90
Cold-pressed
Yes
Organic claim
Not stated
Listing uses
Skin, scalp, plants
Plant wording
One bullet
Dropper
Drop

Common questions

Is 10 ml a cheap way in?

The bottle is £3.99. Per 100 ml that is £39.90, the highest unit price in the set. There are no reviews in the file.

What is salannin on this listing?

It is the active-ingredients field. No concentration and no MAPP number are printed.

Does the file say how to dilute it?

A listing question asks how to dilute it. No answer is stored on the listing. A bullet says diluted scalp oil is one use.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings, saved on 21 October 2026, are on this page. Each display score maps that listing's star line onto 100. It is not a laboratory test. A missing star line scores 0. The top pick is the 100 ml cold-pressed bottle whose reviews are about this oil and whose bullets stay on soap, candles, hair and skin. Best value is the lowest price per 100 ml in the set. A MAPP number is absent from all nine files, so none is scored as an authorised plant-protection product.

1

Single-ingredient oil

30%

The ingredient line should be neem seed oil alone, with a stated millilitre count. Hair-oil blends, pet shampoo and a water-soluble spray mix are a different product. A plant-protection bullet without a MAPP number does not make the bottle a pesticide.

2

Reviews about this oil

30%

Stars count with the review text. A large total is marked down when sampled UK reviews name moringa, amla, sea buckthorn or another oil. A missing star line adds nothing. The top pick is the largest sample that is about this oil, not the highest raw count.

3

Price per 100 ml

25%

Unit price is the captured shelf price divided by millilitres, then scaled to 100 ml. Best value is the lowest figure in this set. A £3.99 shelf price on 10 ml is not a low unit price.

4

Claims left unproven

15%

Organic, USDA Organic, hexane-free and a fair-trade line are seller wording unless a certifier is named. Conflicting origin or ingredient fields are noted. None of those lines is treated as an HSE authorisation or a medicine licence.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Neem oil buying guide

Start with the job. Soap, candles and a diluted skin oil stay in this aisle. Killing pests on UK plants does not, unless that exact product has a MAPP number. Then check that the ingredient line is neem seed oil alone, compare price per 100 ml, and discount star totals when the review text names another oil. None of the nine bottles here prints a MAPP number. This page is not a laboratory test and it does not give a spray rate.

What is neem oil?

Neem oil in this comparison is pure cold-pressed, unrefined seed oil from Azadirachta indica. All nine kept listings are that type. It is sold for soap, candles, skin and hair. It goes cloudy or solid in a cool UK room, which sellers place below about 20°C, and it does not mix with water. Water-soluble concentrates already contain an emulsifier and are a different product. Clarified or deodorised oil smells less and is not what these titles claim.

Best for

  • Soap and candle makers who want a pungent fixed oil in 100 ml or 500 ml
  • People diluting it for a dry or itchy scalp who will patch-test
  • Shoppers who read the ingredient line before the star total

Not ideal for

  • A garden insecticide that needs a MAPP number
  • Cats, or an NHS head-lice treatment
  • A mild deodorised oil, or a blend that only mentions neem

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading organic as a pesticide licence

    Organic, USDA Organic and hexane-free are seller wording unless a certifier is named. USDA Organic is not a UK pesticide authorisation. Substance approval for azadirachtin A until 31 August 2029 does not make a cosmetic bottle legal to spray. None of these nine files prints a MAPP number.

  2. 2

    Trusting a contaminated review count

    SVA shows 4.5 from 20,301 reviews, and sampled UK text names moringa, amla and black seed. Organic Forest's sample mentions sea buckthorn, vitamin E oil and a gift set. Prefer reviews that name this oil's smell, texture or use. Stars do not show that aphids die without leaf damage.

  3. 3

    Expecting the oil to dissolve, or heating it hard

    Pure neem oil does not mix with water. A water-soluble spray mix is a different product. The oil sets in a cool room, often below about 20°C. Warm the sealed bottle in warm water. Do not microwave it or keep it hot until it smells of paint. This page does not publish a garden spray rate.

What to weigh up

Job and a single ingredient

High

If the job is killing pests on UK plants, leave this aisle and check the HSE amateur garden database, or follow the RHS non-chemical aphid advice. If the job is soap, candles or skin, stay. A cosmetic is not a pesticide. The same oil sold to kill insects is a different legal product, and it needs an authorisation for that exact bottle. The ingredient line should be neem seed oil only. Reject hair-oil blends, dog shampoo and moringa oil.

Unit price and review relevance

High

Compare millilitres, not a family-size label. In this set, about £2.80 per 100 ml on Ourons 500 ml is the low end, and about £39.90 per 100 ml on the 10 ml bottle is the high end. A rule of thumb from the wider snapshot is about £7–£10 for 100 ml and about £14–£15 for 450–500 ml. The 500 ml bottle is the best value here. The 100 ml Ourons bottle is about £6.99, which is £6.99 per 100 ml. Prefer reviews that name this oil's smell, texture or use.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A first plain bottle

You want about 100 ml of cold-pressed seed oil for soap, candles or a diluted skin blend, and you will read the ingredient line before the stars. Ourons neem oil 100 ml is about £6.99, with 4.4 from 10,239 reviews, the largest sample that is about this oil. The bullets stay on soap, candles, crafts, hair and skin. There is no MAPP number. Skip it if you need a pesticide, a mild deodorised oil, or a dropper.

Soap or candles in volume

You already expect the smell and you want the lowest price per 100 ml. Ourons neem oil 500 ml is about £13.99, about £2.80 per 100 ml, with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews. The bullets name soap, candles and DIY blends. The oil thickens when cool. Organic is printed without a certifier. Skip it if you want a 30–50 ml skin bottle or an HSE-authorised garden product.

A dropper for face or scalp

You want small cosmetic amounts and you will dilute and patch-test. SVA neem seed oil 118 ml is about £9.99, with a dropper, listed for face, scalp and massage. The star line is 4.5 from 20,301 reviews, but sampled UK text names other oils, so that count is a weak signal for this bottle. There is no MAPP number. Skip it if you need reviews that stay on neem.

Common questions about Neem oils

Which neem oil is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is Ourons neem oil 100 ml, at about £6.99. It is cold-pressed seed oil listed for soap, candles, crafts, hair and skin, with 4.4 from 10,239 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample that is about this oil. The file does not print a MAPP number, so it is not an authorised plant spray. The oil sets below about 20°C. Warm the sealed bottle. The score is not a laboratory test.
Which bottle is the best value?
The best value is Ourons neem oil 500 ml, at about £13.99, or about £2.80 per 100 ml. That is the lowest unit price among these nine listings, with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews. The bullets name soap, candles and DIY blends. Organic appears without a named certifier. There is no MAPP number. Five hundred millilitres is a lot for a first scalp test.
Is neem oil legal to spray on UK plants?
Not from these bottles. A product used to protect plants must be authorised, and none of the nine files prints a MAPP number. Azadirachtin A is listed as approved in Great Britain until 31 August 2029 on the PPDB. That is substance approval, not permission to spray a cosmetic oil. RHS advice is to tolerate some aphids, squash colonies and encourage natural enemies. Authorised products sit in the aphid killer comparison.
How much does neem oil cost?
Captured amazon.co.uk shelf prices in this set run from about £3.99 for 10 ml to about £13.99 for 500 ml. Most 30–120 ml bottles sit about £6.99 to £9.99. Compare price per 100 ml: about £2.80 for the 500 ml bottle, about £6.99 for the 100 ml bottle, and about £39.90 for the 10 ml bottle. A low shelf price on a tiny bottle is not a low unit price.
Why does neem oil go solid?
Pure cold-pressed neem oil is a fixed oil. Sellers say it clouds or sets below about 20°C. In a cool UK room that is the oil, not spoilage. It does not mix with water. Stand the sealed bottle in warm water before you measure it. Do not microwave it, and do not hold it hot until it smells of paint. A water-soluble spray mix is a different product and is not in this set.
Can I use neem oil on a cat or for head lice?
Do not put neem oil on cats. A 2009 Veterinary Record letter from the Veterinary Poisons Information Service reports apparent adverse reactions. NHS head-lice care is wet combing on days 1, 5, 9 and 13, with a check on day 17. Neem is not an NHS lice treatment. A head-lice line on a listing is seller wording. These files do not show a medicine licence. Do not swallow the oil.
Why is a huge review count a weak signal?
SVA shows 4.5 from 20,301 reviews, the largest raw count here, but sampled UK text names moringa, amla and black seed as well as skin oils. That total is a weak signal for this neem bottle. Prefer reviews that name this oil's smell, texture or use. Organic Forest's sample also mentions sea buckthorn, vitamin E oil and a gift set. Stars do not show that aphids die, or that the oil suits your scalp.
When should I get help?
Get help if a child or a pet has swallowed the oil, if a cat has been coated in it, or if skin blisters or a rash spreads. If you already hold a product labelled as a pesticide that is not on the HSE database, ask the council about disposal. Do not pour leftovers down a drain. An HSE CLP report supports H412, harmful to aquatic life with long lasting effects, for a defined cold-pressed margosa extract.

Our verdict

The top pick is Ourons neem oil 100 ml, at about £6.99. It is cold-pressed seed oil listed for soap, candles, crafts, hair and skin, with 4.4 from 10,239 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample that is about this oil. The file does not print a MAPP number, so it is not an authorised plant spray. The best value is Ourons neem oil 500 ml, at about £13.99, which is about £2.80 per 100 ml, the lowest unit price in this set, with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews. The bullets name soap, candles and DIY blends. SVA's 20,301 reviews are a larger raw count and a weaker signal, because sampled text names other oils. None of these nine listings is an authorised UK insecticide.

Best overall
SVA neem seed oil 118 ml

SVA neem seed oil 118 ml

View offer
Best value
Ourons neem oil 500 ml

Ourons neem oil 500 ml

About £2.80 per 100 ml, the lowest unit price in the set, at about £13.99 with 4.5 from 1,136 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPest controlNeem oil

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Neem oils

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for these nine listings. Last checked 21 October 2026.

  1. HSE garden pesticide use (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE active-substance register (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE Article 68 report 2024 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. PPDB azadirachtin A (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. RHS aphids (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. NHS head lice (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Veterinary Record 2009, neem oil in cats (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Why neem oil looks cloudy (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines captured for these nine products. We did not run a laboratory test, and none of these bottles is scored as an authorised UK insecticide.