Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Pigeon scare comparison 2026

The best Pigeon scares, compared.

Top pick: BURAKH hawk and heron decoy Best value: SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods – Eight hanging rods at about £5.99, with 3.6 from 585 reviews, for a hang-up job rather than one roll. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A pigeon scare is a non-lethal visual device you put out after droppings or stripped seedlings. UK shoppers use one in a garden, on a balcony, on a shed roof, by a pond, or on an allotment. The usual forms are a plastic owl, hawk, or heron, reflective tape, hanging spiral rods, and pinwheels. A spike, a net, a gel, and an ultrasonic box are different products. Match the device to the job. Open ground, seed, and a new lawn can take a scarer you will move. A railing or a recess needs a barrier this type does not provide. Check the fixing: a pole, sand, screws, a stake, or a string. Reflective tape and pinwheels need sun and a breeze. Reflectors do nothing before sunrise. A weatherproof line is not an IP rating when no IP code is printed. Scaring this way does not need a licence. Killing a wild bird, or damaging a nest in use, does. Choosing a decoy, tape, rods, or a pinwheel is set out in the [pigeon scare buying guide](/hub/pest-control/pigeon-scare/sub/pigeon-scare-buying-guide).

A pigeon scare is a non-lethal visual device you put out after droppings or stripped seedlings. UK shoppers use one in a garden, on a balcony, on a shed roof, by a pond, or on an allotment.

BURAKH hawk and heron decoy

Best overall

BURAKH hawk and heron decoy
4.6/10∼ £9

40 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +19,400 readers

12 of 12: Best Pigeon scares compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
BURAKH hawk and heron decoy
Adofous 10 spiral rods
KOKMEYA reflective tape
Yitla 5 windmills
Garden Mile spinning-head owl
BURAKH rotating owl
HH Home Hut owl
Best value
SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods
The Big Cheese wind-action owl
Dandelionsky spring-head owl
PCIQUTE 54 cm windmills
Extraible 5 silver pinwheels
4.6/10
3.6/10
7.8/10
6.6/10
5.5/10
5.4/10
7.2/10
7.0/10
7.4/10
5.2/10
4.8/10
4.0/10
∼ £9
∼ £5
∼ £6
∼ £9
∼ £16
∼ £10
∼ £13
∼ £6
∼ £13
∼ £9
∼ £7
∼ £8
4.2(15)
4.0(4)
3.9(1,112)
3.9(293)
3.8(69)
3.8(51)
3.7(975)
3.6(585)
3.5(3,903)
3.4(53)
3.4(24)
3.3(22)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Pigeon scares in detail

BURAKH hawk and heron decoy

Rank 1

BURAKH hawk and heron decoy

Our view

The BURAKH listing at £8.99 mixes a hawk, an owl, and a 76 cm heron in one title, and it never states how many birds are in the box. Across 15 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.2, which is too small a file to treat as a garden result. Reviewers talk about a hawk and a heron as separate pieces, so you should expect an unclear pack rather than one named decoy. The fixing is a rod into the ground and the power line says manual, with no battery listed. One reviewer said the hawk wings fell off in the wind because they only slot in, and screwed them into the body afterwards. Weather resistance is a bullet, not an IP code. For open ground this is a vague box. The larger owl files in this set tell you more about what actually arrives.

Pros

  • Ground rod for open soil
  • Manual power line, no battery listed
  • Wings are meant to slot into the body
  • £8.99 shelf price

Cons

  • Piece count is not stated
  • Title mixes a hawk, an owl, and a 76 cm heron
  • One review: hawk wings came off in the wind
  • Only 15 reviews behind the 4.2

Best for: You want a cheap ground-rod decoy and will check what is actually in the box.

Less suitable: You need a single named owl, a large review file, or something to hang on a rail.

Specifications

Model
BURAKH hawk and heron decoy
Brand
BURAKH
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.2/5(15)
Type
Predator decoy
Fixing
Rod in the ground
Weather
Weather-resistant
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
4.2 (15)

Common questions

How many birds are in the BURAKH box?

The listing does not say. The title and bullets mention a hawk, an owl, and a 76 cm heron. Reviews talk about a hawk and a heron separately.

Do the wings stay on?

One reviewer said the hawk wings fell off in the wind because they only slot in, and screwed them into the body afterwards.

Does it need batteries?

The technical table says the power source is manual. No battery is listed.

Adofous 10 spiral rods

Rank 2

Adofous 10 spiral rods

Our view

Adofous lists ten 30 cm polypropylene spirals, model 10RBDRMC, at £4.99, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 from four reviews. That star looks higher than the eight-rod pack’s 3.6, and it is the wrong comparison, because 585 reviews can show failure and four reviews cannot. Each rod comes with a rubber string and the power line says wind, with a pack weight of 100 g. One comment mentions a better plum crop than a plain set, which is an anecdote, not a trial. Wind-resistant wording appears in the bullets and no IP code is printed. There is no battery. At the bottom of the price range it is the row to skip when a 4.0 is doing the persuading.

Pros

  • Ten rods at £4.99
  • 30 cm with rubber strings
  • Wind-powered, no battery
  • Polypropylene is named

Cons

  • Only four reviews
  • A 4.0 on that sample is not a result
  • No IP code

Best for: You already accept a four-review listing and only need spare hanging pieces.

Less suitable: You are choosing on stars, or you want the 585-review rod pack.

Specifications

Model
Adofous 10 spiral rods
Brand
Adofous
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.0/5(4)
Type
Spiral rod
Movement
Wind spin
Pack
10
Fixing
Rubber string
Reflective
Yes
Weather
Wind-resistant, no IP
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
4.0 (4)

Common questions

How many reviews does this 4.0 have?

Four, on the amazon.co.uk line. One mentions a better plum crop than a plain set. That is not a trial.

How do they hang?

Each rod is 30 cm and comes with a rubber string. The power line says wind.

Do they need batteries?

No battery is listed. The power source is wind.

KOKMEYA reflective tape

Rank 3

KOKMEYA reflective tape

Our view

KOKMEYA’s double-sided tape, model CD-FT, is one roll of 262 feet at £5.69, and the amazon.co.uk line is 3.9 from 1,112 reviews. You cut strips and tie them so they flutter. The listing says the movement is wind, not a motor, and the pack weighs 60 g. Some reviewers reported fewer pigeon visits or a quiet shed. Others saw no change on a new lawn, and one said two pigeons worked the strips out. The page calls the tape waterproof, sun-proof, and weatherproof, but it prints no IP code. Width is 0.95 inches. It is the top pick here because the score joins a four-figure review file to the low shelf price, not because every balcony went quiet.

Pros

  • 3.9 from 1,112 reviews
  • £5.69 for a 262-foot roll
  • Cut and tie, no battery
  • Reviews include both quieter sheds and no change

Cons

  • Effect in the review file is partial
  • No IP code behind the weatherproof wording
  • Flutter needs a breeze, and reflectors do nothing before sunrise

Best for: You want a cheap reflective roll with a large review file for a sunny, breezy line.

Less suitable: You need a barrier on a rail, or any effect in a still, shaded corner.

Specifications

Model
KOKMEYA reflective tape
Brand
KOKMEYA
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
3.9/5(1,112)
Type
Reflective tape
Movement
Flutter in wind
Pack
1 roll
Fixing
Cut and tie
Reflective
Yes
Weather
Weatherproof, no IP
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.9 (1,112)

Common questions

How long is the KOKMEYA tape?

The listing says 262 feet, with a width of 0.95 inches and a roll diameter of 2.4 inches. The pack weighs 60 g.

Did reviewers clear a balcony with it?

Some reported fewer pigeon visits or a quiet shed. One reported no effect on a new lawn. Another said two pigeons worked it out.

Does it need batteries?

No. The listing says it is not electric and the power source is hand-powered.

Yitla 5 windmills

Rank 4

Yitla 5 windmills

Our view

Yitla’s five stripe windmills are about 12 cm wide and 53.3 cm high at £8.99, and the line is 3.9 from 293 reviews. The pack of five weighs 150 g, and the material line says plastic and resin. One reviewer said several mills mostly kept pigeons out. Another said the pigeons liked them, so the same file holds both outcomes. Reviews call assembly simple, which is a contrast with the Extraible five-pack in this set. No weather sentence and no IP code appear on the listing, and the fixing field is blank, so a stake is your inference rather than a printed method. At £8.99 it costs more than the KOKMEYA roll and less than any owl here. It is a mid-file pinwheel if you already want spinning plastic in a breeze.

Pros

  • 3.9 from 293 reviews
  • About 53.3 cm high and 150 g for five
  • Reviews describe simple assembly
  • Plastic and resin are stated

Cons

  • Some reviewers said pigeons liked the mills
  • No weather rating printed
  • Fixing is not stated

Best for: You want a five-pack pinwheel with a few hundred reviews.

Less suitable: You need a stated stake, an IP code, or the cheaper tape roll.

Specifications

Model
Yitla 5 windmills
Brand
Yitla
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
3.9/5(293)
Type
Pinwheel
Movement
Wind spin
Pack
5
Reflective
Yes
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.9 (293)

Common questions

How big are the Yitla windmills?

The feedback line says about 12 cm wide and 53.3 cm high. The pack of five weighs 150 g.

Do they scare pigeons?

One reviewer said several mills mostly kept pigeons out. Another said the pigeons liked them. The line is 3.9 from 293.

Is a weather rating printed?

No IP code and no weather sentence are printed on the listing.

Garden Mile spinning-head owl

Rank 5

Garden Mile spinning-head owl

∼£16

Our view

Garden Mile’s ABS owl is about 42 x 20 x 16 cm at £15.99, the highest owl price in this set, with 3.8 from 69 reviews. The bullets promise a rotating head and reflective eyes, and the listing itself says it cannot guarantee a full effect. One reviewer said the head did not move even in strong wind. On pigeons the file disagrees with itself: almost no droppings, pigeons gathered around the owl, and about 90 percent fewer pigeons all appear. The 720 g figure is the package weight, not a separated bird weight. Placement is described as roof, tree, or freestanding. Weatherproof and UV-resistant are claimed without an IP code. The extra over the £12.99 Big Cheese buys a larger stated body and a much smaller review file.

Pros

  • About 42 x 20 x 16 cm, the largest stated owl body here
  • Reflective eyes are stated
  • Roof, tree, or freestanding is named
  • ABS plastic

Cons

  • £15.99 with only 69 reviews
  • One head would not spin in strong wind
  • The listing will not guarantee a full effect
  • 720 g is the package, not the owl alone

Best for: You want the largest stated owl body and will check that the head actually turns.

Less suitable: You want the 3,903-review owl file, or a cheaper flash of tape.

Specifications

Model
Garden Mile spinning-head owl
Brand
Garden Mile
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.8/5(69)
Type
Predator decoy
Movement
Rotating head
Pack
1
Fixing
Roof, tree, or stand
Reflective
Yes
Weather
Weatherproof, UV resistant
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.8 (69)

Common questions

Does the Garden Mile head spin in the wind?

The bullets say it has a rotating head. One reviewer said the head did not move even in strong wind.

Did pigeons stay away?

Reviews disagree. One reported almost no droppings. Another said pigeons gathered around the owl. One said it was about 90 percent fewer pigeons. The line is 3.8 from 69.

Is 720 g the owl?

720 g is the package weight on the technical table. The bird’s own weight is not separated.

BURAKH rotating owl

Rank 6

BURAKH rotating owl

∼£10

Our view

BURAKH’s rotating-head owl, model GSD-43651, is about 38 x 11 cm and 400 g at £10.49, with 3.8 from 51 reviews. One reviewer said it works if you move it after a couple of days. Others said pigeons on a roof were not fooled, so that move-it line is one person’s method, not a standard printed on the box. UV and water resistance are claimed, with no IP code. The power field is blank, no battery is listed, and fixing is not stated, unlike the HH Home Hut owl that names sand or screws. There is no full length-width-height table, only the about-38-by-11 centimetre bullet. Fifty-one reviews sit well below the 975 and 3,903 owl files. Use it only if you will relocate a light plastic bird yourself.

Pros

  • Rotating head is claimed
  • About 38 x 11 cm and 400 g are printed
  • Model GSD-43651
  • No battery listed

Cons

  • Roof pigeons were not fooled in reviews
  • Moving it after a couple of days is one review, not a spec
  • Fixing method is not stated
  • 3.8 from only 51 reviews

Best for: You will move a mid-price owl and accept a small review file.

Less suitable: You need a named ballast method or the large owl samples.

Specifications

Model
BURAKH rotating owl
Brand
BURAKH
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
3.8/5(51)
Type
Predator decoy
Movement
Rotating head
Pack
1
Weather
UV and water resistant
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.8 (51)

Common questions

Do you have to move this owl?

One reviewer said it works if you move it after a couple of days. Others said pigeons on a roof were not fooled.

What size is it?

The bullets say about 38 x 11 cm. The weight line is 400 g. There is no full length-width-height table.

Does it need power?

The power source field is blank. No battery is listed.

HH Home Hut owl

Rank 7

HH Home Hut owl

∼£13

Our view

HH Home Hut’s plastic owl is 40 cm high and 475 g at £13.15, with 3.7 from 975 reviews, the second-largest owl file here. The listing tells you to fill it with sand or stones, or to screw it down, with the wind vane and screws under a red bung. Several reviews say the rotating head does not move in the wind, including in high wind, so the shape can sit still after you have ballasted it. One later buyer said the unit arrived with no fixings and a bung that was not red, so check the bag before you climb. The page calls it fully weather resistant and does not give an IP code. At a similar price to the Big Cheese it is the owl to open if you want a stated sand-or-screw method. It does not remove a rail the birds already use.

Pros

  • 3.7 from 975 reviews
  • Sand, stones, or screws are named
  • 40 cm high and 475 g are printed
  • No battery

Cons

  • Head often does not turn, including in high wind
  • One review reported missing fixings and a bung that was not red
  • No IP code

Best for: You will fill or screw an owl and want the second-largest review file.

Less suitable: You need a head that reviewers say spins, or a hanging flash for a rail.

Specifications

Model
HH Home Hut owl
Brand
HH Home Hut
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
3.7/5(975)
Type
Predator decoy
Movement
Rotating head
Pack
1
Fixing
Sand or screws
Weather
Weather resistant
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.7 (975)

Common questions

How do you stop the HH Home Hut owl blowing over?

The listing says fill it with sand or stones, or screw it down. The wind vane and screws are described as under a red bung.

Does the head turn?

It is sold as a rotating head. Several reviews say it does not move in the wind, including in high wind.

Are the fixings always in the box?

One reviewer said a later unit arrived with no fixings and a bung that was not red.

SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods

Rank 8

SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods

Our view

SDZHDMO sells eight hanging reflective spirals at £5.99, each described as about 30 cm, with 3.6 from 585 amazon.co.uk reviews. That is the rod pack with a real file in this set, which is why it is the best value when you want pieces to hang rather than one long roll. Some reviewers said pigeons kept away. Others said the birds liked the rods, or that they worked and then stopped. The item line is 25 x 11 x 380 mm while the bullets say 30 cm, and the pack is 80 g. Reviewers mention flimsy elastic and rods that did not last. The weather line says weatherproof and prints no IP code. None of them needs a battery.

Pros

  • Eight rods at £5.99
  • 3.6 from 585 reviews
  • Hang and spin in the wind, no battery
  • A large enough file to show habituation

Cons

  • Flimsy elastic and rods that did not last
  • Some reviewers said the birds got used to them
  • 30 cm bullets versus a 380 mm item line
  • No IP code

Best for: You want several short hanging reflectors and a review count in the hundreds.

Less suitable: You need one long tape roll, or you are treating a four-review star line as proof.

Specifications

Model
SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods
Brand
SDZHDMO
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
3.6/5(585)
Type
Spiral rod
Movement
Wind spin
Pack
8
Fixing
Hang
Reflective
Yes
Weather
Weatherproof, no IP
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.6 (585)

Common questions

How many rods are in the pack?

Eight. The bullets say each spiral is about 30 cm or 12 inches. The item line is 25 x 11 x 380 mm and the pack is 80 g.

Do pigeons stay scared?

Some reviews say pigeons kept away. Others say the birds liked the rods, or that they worked and then stopped.

What fails?

Reviewers mention flimsy elastic and rods that did not last.

The Big Cheese wind-action owl

Rank 9

The Big Cheese wind-action owl

∼£13

Our view

The Big Cheese STV965 is a plastic owl at £12.99 with a head sold as wind-turned, and it carries 3.5 from 3,903 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest owl file in this set. Opening reviews say the head barely turns unless you spin it with a finger, so the movement on the title may be a manual flick. Fixing is a pole or ballast, which matters because buyers treat the body as too light to leave loose. The technical table says the power source is ac, while the description is a plastic bird with no cable, so treat ac as a bad catalogue line. The same table prints 132.38 g and 0.55 kg. Stated size is about 19.4 x 16 x 41.5 cm, with a display height of 39.5 cm, and reflective eyes are marked. It is the owl to read first if you will ballast it and accept a head that may not turn.

Pros

  • 3.5 from 3,903 reviews, the largest owl file here
  • Model STV965 is printed
  • Pole or ballast is named
  • Reflective eyes are stated

Cons

  • Reviews say the head barely turns unless you spin it
  • Power line says ac with no cable in the description
  • Weight prints both 132.38 g and 0.55 kg

Best for: You want the most-reviewed plastic owl and will add a pole or ballast.

Less suitable: You need a head reviewers say spins unaided, or a mains-powered device.

Specifications

Model
The Big Cheese wind-action owl
Brand
The Big Cheese
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
3.5/5(3,903)
Type
Predator decoy
Movement
Wind-action head
Pack
1
Fixing
Pole or ballast
Reflective
Yes
Amazon rating
3.5 (3,903)

Common questions

Does the Big Cheese owl plug into the mains?

The technical table says ac. The description is a plastic owl with a rotating head and no cable. Treat ac as a bad catalogue line.

Does the head turn in the wind?

The title says it does. Opening reviews say the head barely turns unless you spin it with a finger.

How much does it weigh?

The same table prints 132.38 g on the product-dimensions line and 0.55 kg as the display weight. Both figures are in the listing.

Dandelionsky spring-head owl

Rank 10

Dandelionsky spring-head owl

Our view

Dandelionsky’s polyethylene owl, part 200036, is about 13 x 13 x 27 cm and 226 g at £8.99, with 3.4 from 53 reviews. The head is spring-loaded, and the bullets say you fill the base with sand or push a stick into the hollow bottom. Some reviewers said a shed or a roof cleared. Others said the birds were not scared and they kept the owl as an ornament. The paint is described as water-resistant, and the listing also says indoor and outdoor use without explaining an indoor pigeon job. Reflective eyes are marked. Fifty-three reviews is a smaller file than the Big Cheese or HH Home Hut owls. Buy it as a light spring-head shape you will ballast, not as a quieter balcony.

Pros

  • Spring-loaded head
  • Sand or a stick is named as ballast
  • 226 g and about 27 cm high are printed
  • £8.99

Cons

  • 3.4 from 53 reviews, split between a clear and an ornament
  • Indoor claim is not explained
  • Light body if you skip the sand

Best for: You want a small spring-head owl for a shed and will add sand.

Less suitable: You need the large owl files, or an indoor job the listing never describes.

Specifications

Model
Dandelionsky spring-head owl
Brand
Dandelionsky
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
3.4/5(53)
Type
Predator decoy
Movement
Spring-loaded head
Pack
1
Fixing
Sand or a stick
Reflective
Yes
Weather
Water-resistant paint
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.4 (53)

Common questions

Can this owl be used indoors?

The listing says the paint is for outdoor weather and that the owl is suitable for indoor and outdoor use. It does not explain an indoor pigeon job.

How do you weigh it down?

The bullets say fill the base with sand, or put a stick into the hollow bottom.

Do the reviews agree it works?

No. Some say a shed or a roof cleared. Others say the birds were not scared and they kept it as an ornament. The line is 3.4 from 53.

PCIQUTE 54 cm windmills

Rank 11

PCIQUTE 54 cm windmills

Our view

PCIQUTE’s five reflective windmills, model PWL123, are £6.99 with 3.4 from 24 reviews. The brand field says Generic and the manufacturer field says PCIQUTE, so the name on the parcel may not match the title you searched. Bullets give 54 x 24 cm while a feedback line says 54 x 54 cm, and the five-pack weighs 160 g. You stake them or tie them to a cane, with no batteries claimed. One reviewer said there was no pointed stake and one windmill had no red joining piece, which is an assembly fault rather than a pigeon result. UV-resistant plastic is stated and no IP code is printed. Twenty-four reviews is a thin file next to Yitla’s 293 on a similar pinwheel. Treat this as a cheap flat-pack only if you can spare a cane when the stake is missing.

Pros

  • Five windmills at £6.99
  • No batteries
  • Stake or cane is named
  • UV-resistant plastic is stated

Cons

  • 3.4 from only 24 reviews
  • One pack arrived short a stake and a joining piece
  • Size prints both 54 x 24 cm and 54 x 54 cm
  • Brand field says Generic

Best for: You want a low-priced five-pack and can tie a mill to a cane.

Less suitable: You need a large review file or a complete stake in every box.

Specifications

Model
PCIQUTE 54 cm windmills
Brand
PCIQUTE
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
3.4/5(24)
Type
Pinwheel
Movement
Wind spin
Pack
5
Fixing
Stake or cane
Reflective
Yes
Weather
UV-resistant plastic
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.4 (24)

Common questions

Who makes these windmills?

The brand field says Generic. The manufacturer field says PCIQUTE. The model is PWL123.

Do they need batteries?

No. The listing says no tools, no batteries, and no electricity. You stake them or tie them to a cane.

Did every pack include a stake?

One reviewer said there was no pointed stake and one windmill had no red joining piece.

Extraible 5 silver pinwheels

Rank 12

Extraible 5 silver pinwheels

Our view

Extraible’s five silver pinwheels, model 5WMill, are £7.99 with 3.3 from 22 reviews, the lowest star line in this set. The listing says assembly is required, and several reviews call the build fiddly, with poor or missing instructions. No blade size is printed. The pack weighs 170 g. They do not need batteries and are described for sun and breeze, which is the right condition for a pinwheel and still not a size you can plan around. Weatherproof is a word on the page, not an IP code. Twenty-two reviews is a small file, and the complaints in it are about building the mill before any bird is involved. Yitla’s five-pack, at a pound more, has 293 reviews and simpler assembly comments.

Pros

  • Five silver pinwheels at £7.99
  • No batteries
  • Sun and breeze is the stated setting
  • Model 5WMill is printed

Cons

  • 3.3 from 22 reviews, the lowest stars here
  • Fiddly assembly and weak instructions
  • No blade size printed
  • No IP code

Best for: You want a silver five-pack and will spend time on assembly.

Less suitable: You want a measured blade, a large review file, or a simple build.

Specifications

Model
Extraible 5 silver pinwheels
Brand
Extraible
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.3/5(22)
Type
Pinwheel
Movement
Wind spin
Pack
5
Fixing
Sun and breeze
Reflective
Yes
Weather
Weatherproof, no IP
Batteries
No
Amazon rating
3.3 (22)

Common questions

Are the Extraible pinwheels easy to build?

The listing says assembly is required. Several reviews call them fiddly, with poor or missing instructions.

Do they use batteries?

No. The listing questions say they do not need batteries. They are meant for sun and breeze.

What size are the blades?

No blade size is printed. The pack weight is 170 g and the model is 5WMill.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test of pigeons, wind, or weather. A seller’s weatherproof line is not an IP rating. None of these listings prints an IP code. Testimonials are not efficacy evidence. The top pick is the highest score. Best value is the eight-rod pack for a hang-up job, not the four-review listing at the bottom of the price range.

1

Review file

40%

amazon.co.uk stars count only with the number of reviews on that listing. A 4.0 from four reviews cannot outrank a 3.9 from 1,112. The count has to be large enough to show both success and habituation.

2

Listing clarity

30%

Points follow a clear type, a movement the page actually describes, a fixing you can use, and no contradictory power line. An ac field on a plastic owl with no cable is marked down. A weatherproof sentence with no IP code is not a rating.

3

Price against that file

30%

Shelf price is read against the review file, not on its own. A lower price does not win on a tiny sample. Best value here is several hanging rods with hundreds of reviews, not the cheapest pack.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Pigeon scare buying guide

Start with the surface, then whether reviews say the device actually moves, then the size of the review file. A pigeon scare is a visual decoy, a tape roll, hanging rods, or a pinwheel. It is not a spike, a net, or a gel. Shelf prices in this capture run from about £4.99 to about £15.99. The top pick is the reflective roll with the largest cheap file. Best value is the eight-rod pack for a hang-up job. Nothing on this page is a laboratory test of pigeons, wind, or weather.

What is a pigeon scare?

A pigeon scare is a non-lethal visual device. The forms sold for this job are a plastic owl, hawk, or heron, sometimes with a rotating head and reflective eyes; one long roll of reflective tape you cut and tie; short hanging spiral rods, often eight or ten pieces around 30 cm; and pinwheels or windmills, often a five-pack. None of these is a spike, a net, a gel, or an ultrasonic box.

Best for

  • Gardeners who will move a cheap scarer on seed or a patio
  • A hang-up job with several short reflectors, if you accept that birds get used to them
  • An allotment where a pinwheel is only a short delay before netting

Not ideal for

  • A railing, parapet, or recess that needs a barrier
  • A nest in use, or any plan to kill a wild bird
  • A 4.0 from four reviews treated as a result

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A static owl left for a month

    Several owl files say the head does not turn in the wind, including in high wind. Pigeons habituate. The BPCA says scaring rarely lasts and that food and proofing come first. Move a decoy. Do not treat a still plastic bird as a finished job.

  2. 2

    A 4.0 from four reviews

    Stars count only with the review count. Four reviews cannot show failure the way 585 or 1,112 reviews can. The cheapest ten-rod pack is 4.0 from four. That line is not a better result than the eight-rod pack at 3.6 from 585.

  3. 3

    An active nest, or an ac line on a plastic owl

    Do not damage a nest in use. That is a section 1 offence, not a tidy-up. Separately, a power field that says ac on a cable-free plastic owl is a bad catalogue line. It is not a mains scarer, and no listing here prints an IP code.

What to weigh up

Surface, movement, and fixing

High

Name the surface before the brand. Seed, fruit, and a new lawn can take a scarer you will move. A railing, a parapet, or a recess needs a barrier these listings do not sell. Predator decoys copy an owl, hawk, or heron. Reflective tape is one roll you cut and tie. Spiral rods are short hanging pieces. Pinwheels are larger spinning plastics. Prefer movement the reviews support. Several owl files say the head does not turn unless you flick it. Tape and pinwheels need sun and a breeze.

Review count, price, and the legal limit

High

Read the star next to the count on that amazon.co.uk listing. A 4.0 from four reviews is thinner than 3.9 from 1,112. The same file should be large enough to show both a quieter shed and no change. Shelf prices captured on 19 October 2026 run from about £4.99 to about £15.99. A lower price does not win on a tiny file. Scaring this way does not need a licence. Killing a wild bird, or damaging a nest in use, does.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Seed, a lawn, or a patio

You will move a scarer on open ground rather than leave one shape in place. KOKMEYA reflective tape is about £5.69, with 3.9 from 1,112 reviews, the largest cheap file in this set. You cut strips and tie them so they flutter. Some reviewers saw fewer pigeon visits. Others saw no change. It needs sun and a breeze, and it is not a barrier on a rail.

Somewhere you can hang pieces

You want several short reflectors rather than one roll. The SDZHDMO pack is eight spirals at about £5.99, with 3.6 from 585 reviews. Some pigeons stayed away. Others got used to the rods, and reviewers mention flimsy elastic. A balcony whose lasting job is a barrier still needs proofing. These rods are not that barrier.

An allotment, for a short delay

A pinwheel is a short delay on an allotment. Netting is what excludes a wood pigeon. Yitla’s five windmills are about £8.99, with 3.9 from 293 reviews, about 53.3 cm high. One reviewer said several mills mostly kept pigeons out. Another said the pigeons liked them. No weather rating and no fixing method are printed.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about Pigeon scares

What is a pigeon scare?
A pigeon scare is a non-lethal visual device: a plastic owl, hawk, or heron, reflective tape, spiral rods, or pinwheels. UK shoppers buy one after droppings or stripped seedlings, for a garden, balcony, shed roof, pond, or allotment. It is not a spike, a net, a gel, or an ultrasonic box. Scaring with these products does not need a licence. Killing a wild bird, or damaging a nest in use, does. Section 1 of the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 protects the bird, the nest, and the eggs.
Which pigeon scare is the top pick, and which is best value?
The top pick is KOKMEYA reflective tape at about £5.69, with 3.9 from 1,112 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers report both quieter sheds and no change, so it is not a proven clear. The best value is the SDZHDMO pack of eight spiral rods at about £5.99, with 3.6 from 585 reviews, when you want pieces to hang rather than one roll. Elastic and habituation are in that file. The Big Cheese owl has a larger review file and takes neither badge. Neither score is a laboratory test.
Do I need a licence to use a pigeon scare?
No. Scaring with a visual device does not need a licence. GOV.UK says you need a licence to kill or capture wild birds or to damage eggs or a nest in use, and Natural England’s WML-GU01 lists visual deterrents among the steps that do not need one. A general licence is not a householder permission to kill a pigeon because an owl failed. Nation, species, purpose, method, and authorised-person status all have to match. This page does not quote a 2026 DAERA licence for Northern Ireland.
Should I buy an owl or reflective tape?
Use a predator decoy when you will ballast or screw a plastic owl on open ground, and accept that several review files say the head does not turn in the wind. Use reflective tape, rods, or pinwheels when the spot gets sun and a breeze. Defra’s 2021 annex says reflectors do nothing before sunrise. Use hanging rods when you want several short pieces rather than one roll. Use neither when the job is a railing, a parapet, or a recess. That needs a barrier, which these listings are not.
Do pigeon scares keep working?
Often not for long. The BPCA says scaring rarely lasts because pigeons adapt, and that food and proofing come first. Natural Resources Wales says visual deterrents habituate. Rod reviews include birds that stayed away and birds that got used to the spirals. Owl reviews include heads that do not turn and pigeons that were not fooled. A static owl left in one place for a month is a common failure. Move a decoy before the birds treat it as furniture. The ASA does not treat testimonials as efficacy evidence.
What should I check before I buy?
Name the surface first. Seed and a lawn can take a scarer you will move. A railing needs a barrier. Then read stars with the review count. A 4.0 from four reviews is not a better result than 3.9 from 1,112. Check the fixing: a pole, sand, screws, a stake, or a string. Ignore a mains ac line on a plastic owl with no cable. No listing here prints an IP code, so weatherproof wording is not a rating. Stop if there is a nest in use.
When should I call a professional?
Call a professional for work at height, a listed building, birds in a food business, or a net that already holds a trapped bird. Do not block a nest in use. Slack netting that traps a bird is a welfare problem, and these products are not nets. Killing is a licence conversation, not a product page. If droppings on a balcony or a shed roof need proofing rather than another owl, that is a different comparison: the pigeon deterrent comparison.
How much do pigeon scares cost?
Captured amazon.co.uk shelf prices on 19 October 2026, for these twelve listings only, run from about £4.99 to about £15.99. Reflective packs sit from about £4.99 to about £8.99. Plastic predator decoys sit from about £8.99 to about £15.99. A lower price does not win on a tiny review file. The ten-rod pack at about £4.99 has four reviews. The tape at about £5.69 has 1,112. These are shelf figures from that date, not a promise they will hold.

Our verdict

The top pick is KOKMEYA reflective tape, one roll of 262 feet, at about £5.69. It has the highest score: 3.9 from 1,112 amazon.co.uk reviews. Some reviewers reported fewer pigeon visits or a quiet shed. Others saw no change, so the effect is partial and this is not a proven clear. The best value is the SDZHDMO pack of eight spiral rods at about £5.99, with 3.6 from 585 reviews, for a hang-up job rather than one roll. Reviewers mention flimsy elastic and birds that got used to the rods. The Big Cheese owl has the largest owl file, 3.5 from 3,903 at about £12.99, and it takes neither badge: reviews say the head barely turns, and the power line says ac with no cable. Open ground and a perch do not share one winner.

Best overall
BURAKH hawk and heron decoy

BURAKH hawk and heron decoy

View offer
Best value
SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods

SDZHDMO 8 spiral rods

Eight hanging rods at about £5.99, with 3.6 from 585 reviews, for a hang-up job rather than one roll.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPest controlPigeon scares

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Pigeon scares

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for these twelve listings. Last checked 19 October 2026.

  1. Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981, section 1 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, prevent wild birds damaging land, farm or business (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Natural England WML-GU01, legal methods (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Defra 2021 annex, non-lethal alternatives (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. RSPCA, pigeons in the garden (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. BPCA, bird and gull control (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Natural Resources Wales, alternatives to lethal bird control (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. ASA, pest repellents (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines captured for these twelve products on 19 October 2026. We did not run a laboratory test of pigeons, wind, or weather.