Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Marten deterrent comparison 2026

The best Marten deterrents, compared.

Top pick: BMUT geraniol marten spray Best value: Technaxx TX-368 – About £9.98, with 12–24 kHz, a 20 m² claim, and cells or a 12 V or USB-C lead in the bullets. The star line is 4.0 from 9 reviews, and only two texts are on the listing. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A marten deterrent is a device or a scent sold to keep a mammal off a car, a loft or a gutter. On a UK listing that usually means an ultrasonic box, a spray, a pouch or a spiked belt on a downpipe. The name is easy to misread. Britain's marten is the pine marten, protected under the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981. Chewed-wiring notes in the UK are about rats and mice, not a stone-marten census. Match the mechanism to the place. A downpipe belt does not guard a wiring loom. A USB house unit is not a 12 V engine module. A spray does not climb a gutter. Power is cells, a USB lead, or a 12 V pair of wires. UK mains are 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. If the animal might be a pine marten, stop before you block a den. A physical barrier and a chemical scent sit under different biocidal-product rules. How to order the checks is in the [marten deterrent buying guide](/hub/pest-control/marten-deterrent/sub/marten-deterrent-buying-guide).

A marten deterrent is a device or a scent sold to keep a mammal off a car, a loft or a gutter. On a UK listing that usually means an ultrasonic box, a spray, a pouch or a spiked belt on a downpipe.

BMUT geraniol marten spray

Best overall

BMUT geraniol marten spray
8.4/10∼ £16

32 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

9 of 9: Best Marten deterrents compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
BMUT geraniol marten spray
ISOTRONIC 84025 downpipe belt
Best value
Technaxx TX-368
ISOTRONIC 78580 ultrasound and flash
ISOTRONIC pair with a sensor
Veddelholzer USB ultrasound
vsshe car ultrasound, pair
PCXWTLN car ultrasound
Kunagone scent pouch
8.4/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
7.8/10
7.8/10
7.8/10
7.6/10
7.4/10
1.0/10
∼ £16
∼ £18
∼ £10
∼ £32
∼ £45
∼ £24
∼ £9
∼ £8
∼ £6
4.1(385)
4.0(47)
4.0(9)
3.8(320)
3.8(140)
3.8(103)
3.7(7)
3.6(13)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Marten deterrents in detail

BMUT geraniol marten spray

Rank 1

BMUT geraniol marten spray

∼£16

Our view

BMUT MS-500 is a 500 ml water-based geraniol spray at about £16.00, with 4.1 from 385 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets describe a mist and a jet for a car, an engine bay, an attic, a house or a garage. One review reports mice gone within 48 hours in a cluttered 10 m by 10 m space and found the geranium smell tolerable. Another reports no further marten in the bay only alongside a homemade mesh, and preferred the mesh. Other reviews report no effect. A weak spray head is a repeated complaint, and the interval in reviews is every three or four days, shorter than the bullet. The listing prints German number N-111079. The listing does not show an HSE number.

Pros

  • 500 ml geraniol spray with a mist and a jet, at about £16.00
  • 4.1 from 385 reviews, the largest file in this set
  • Water-based, and the seller says there are no propellant gases
  • Some reviewers report a clear bay when they keep spraying

Cons

  • Reviews also report no effect
  • Weak nozzle that lets liquid run down the bottle
  • Review interval is every three or four days, not a few weeks
  • N-111079 is a German number, and the listing has no HSE number

Best for: You want a geraniol spray for a car, attic or garage and you will respray on the shorter interval the reviews describe.

Less suitable: You need an HSE number on the page, or you want a device that does not depend on smell.

Specifications

Model
BMUT geraniol marten spray
Brand
BMUT
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.1/5(385)
Type
Scent spray
Power
None
Frequency or mechanism
Geraniol
Where to use
Car, attic, garage
Cut-out or reapply
Respray 3–4 days
Named targets
Martens, rodents
Amazon rating
4.1 (385)

Common questions

Is the BMUT spray water-based?

The listing says the formula is water-based, free from propellant gases, and free from hazard symbols. It names geraniol and a mist or jet nozzle.

Is N-111079 a UK authorisation?

The listing prints N-111079 and says made in Germany. It does not print an HSE authorisation number.

How often do the reviews say to spray?

The bullet says after a few weeks. Reviews on the listing say every three or four days, or the animal returns. A weak nozzle that dribbles is a repeated complaint.

ISOTRONIC 84025 downpipe belt

Rank 2

ISOTRONIC 84025 downpipe belt

∼£18

Our view

ISOTRONIC 84025 is two V2A stainless spike strips at about £17.92, rated 4.0 from 47 reviews. The bullets say the belt blocks martens, cats and raccoons on a downpipe, gutter or tree, with end caps on the spikes, and that a tree of 50 cm circumference or more needs more strips. The seller estimates that about 90% of animals reach the roof via the downpipe. That figure is not a study on the listing. There is no electrical supply. A UK review praised a custom fit against cats if you shape the band on the pipe first, and called assembly fiddly. Another UK review said it was useless. A French review said the metal is stiff. German notes say each spike is fitted separately and that climbing was blocked.

Pros

  • Physical barrier with no battery
  • V2A stainless steel and end caps are named
  • 4.0 from 47 reviews
  • Two strips at about £17.92

Cons

  • Fiddly, stiff fit in reviews
  • A UK review reported no use
  • Names cats as animals it blocks
  • 90% is a seller estimate

Best for: You want to block a downpipe or a small tree, and you will shape the band before you fix it.

Less suitable: The animal may be a pine marten using a den, or you need to protect wiring inside an engine bay.

Specifications

Model
ISOTRONIC 84025 downpipe belt
Brand
ISOTRONIC
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.0/5(47)
Type
Spike belt
Power
None
Claimed cover
Downpipe or tree
Frequency or mechanism
Stainless spikes
Where to use
Downpipe, gutter, tree
Named targets
Martens, cats
Amazon rating
4.0 (47)

Common questions

Will one pair fit every tree?

No. The bullet says a circumference of 50 cm or more needs several strips. Fixings named are wire, cable ties, glue or screws.

Is the 90% figure a survey?

No. The listing estimates that about 90% of animals reach the roof via the downpipe. That percentage is not sourced on the listing.

What do the reviews say about fitting?

A UK review called it fiddly but useful against cats if you shape the band first. Another UK review called it useless. A French review said the steel is stiff around a downpipe.

Technaxx TX-368

Rank 3

Technaxx TX-368

∼£10

Our view

Technaxx TX-368 is about £9.98, rated 4.0 from 9 reviews. The bullets name 12–24 kHz, 20 m², an LED flash, four AA cells for up to 45 days or a 12 V cable or USB-C, and a temperature claim of −10 °C to +60 °C. Places are cars, garages, lofts, caravans and homes. The box claim includes cables, ties and a manual, plus a built-in fuse. Only two review texts are on the listing. One says Ok. One says an identical unit had seemed to work in an engine for two months, so a second was bought. There is no vibration-sensor sentence and no HSE number. It is the best value because the bullets name that spec at this price, not because of the nine-review average.

Pros

  • About £9.98 with a named brand and model
  • 12–24 kHz, a 20 m² claim, and two power routes in the bullets
  • Temperature range and a fuse are stated
  • One engine-bay review reported two months without saying it failed

Cons

  • Only nine reviews, and only two texts
  • 20 m² is a seller claim
  • No vibration cut-out in the bullets
  • No weatherproof rating in the technical table

Best for: You want a named-brand car or loft unit under £10 and you can accept a very small review file.

Less suitable: You want a large review sample, or a sensor that switches off with the engine.

Specifications

Model
Technaxx TX-368
Brand
Technaxx
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.0/5(9)
Type
Ultrasound
Power
4 AA or 12 V / USB-C
Claimed cover
20 m²
Frequency or mechanism
12–24 kHz, flash
Where to use
Car, loft, garage
Named targets
Martens, mice, rats
Amazon rating
4.0 (9)

Common questions

How is the Technaxx powered?

The bullets say four AA cells for up to 45 days, or a 12 V car cable or USB-C. They also claim a built-in fuse and a housing range of −10 °C to +60 °C.

How many reviews describe a result?

The star line is 4.0 from 9. The listing contains two texts: one says Ok, and one says the same device seemed to work in an engine for two months.

Does it state a vibration sensor?

No. The bullets do not describe a sensor that pauses when the engine runs.

ISOTRONIC 78580 ultrasound and flash

Rank 4

ISOTRONIC 78580 ultrasound and flash

∼£32

Our view

ISOTRONIC 78580 is about £32.45, rated 3.8 from 320 reviews, the largest ultrasonic file in this set, which is why it is the top pick. The bullets state 12–24 kHz, a flash about every 60 seconds, up to 40 m², and either four AA cells or the car battery. They do not state a vibration sensor. The feedback block says the unit is not electric and lists the target as mouse. A UK review on 19 June 2025 reported no effect on rats and squirrels after more than a week. A German camera note reported a marten leaving in about two seconds and also used a tea-tree cloth. A Dutch review reported a burnt smell and failure on batteries. A hybrid owner used cells because the 12 V battery was in the boot.

Pros

  • Largest ultrasonic review file in this set, 3.8 from 320
  • States 12–24 kHz and a flash interval
  • AA cells or a car battery, so a boot-mounted battery can be avoided
  • One shed review reported rodents gone and hedgehogs nearby untroubled

Cons

  • UK review: no effect on rats and squirrels after a week
  • Burnout on batteries in a Dutch review
  • No vibration cut-out in the bullets
  • Feedback fields contradict the bullets on electric and target species

Best for: You want the ultrasonic listing with the largest review file and a choice of cells or a car battery, and you will not treat the stars as a trial.

Less suitable: You need a stated vibration cut-out, or you are buying because a week-long UK review already matches your rats and squirrels.

Specifications

Model
ISOTRONIC 78580 ultrasound and flash
Brand
ISOTRONIC
Price
∼£32
Customer rating
3.8/5(320)
Type
Ultrasound
Power
4 AA or car battery
Claimed cover
40 m²
Frequency or mechanism
12–24 kHz, flash
Where to use
Car, house, garage
Cut-out or reapply
No vibration sensor
Named targets
Martens, mice, rats
Amazon rating
3.8 (320)

Common questions

Does the 78580 switch off when the engine runs?

The UK bullets do not mention a vibration sensor. They offer four AA cells or a connection to the car battery. A cut-out is a different ISOTRONIC listing in this set.

Why does the feedback block say it is not electric?

The feedback fields say the unit is not electric, the target species is mouse, and it is battery powered. The bullets describe ultrasound, a flash, and a car-battery option. Both lines are on the listing.

What did the UK review say?

A review dated 19 June 2025 said a week had no effect on rats and squirrels. Other reviews on the listing report a marten leaving a bay, or a unit that burned out on cells.

ISOTRONIC pair with a sensor

Rank 5

ISOTRONIC pair with a sensor

∼£45

Our view

This ISOTRONIC pair is about £45.28, rated 3.8 from 140 reviews. The bullets state ultrasound, a vibration sensor that comes on about 60 seconds after the car stops and goes off when the engine vibrates, up to 40 m², six AAA cells for about eight months, and cable ties and screws. No kilohertz figure and no model number are on the listing. The feedback target species is mouse and rat. The material field is ABS. UK reviews include a dead unit in the pair with a half refund, mice that seemed to stop after the bay was cleaned, and battery screws too small for a household driver. A French loft note claimed stone martens quiet within 24 hours. An Italian camper note said it did not work.

Pros

  • Vibration cut-out is actually stated
  • Two units for two cars or a loft
  • 3.8 from 140 reviews
  • Cell power, so no battery-lead guess

Cons

  • About £45.28, the highest price in this set
  • One UK review: only one of two units worked
  • Battery-cover screws too small
  • No kilohertz figure and no model number

Best for: You want two cell-powered units and a stated engine vibration cut-out, and you can open the battery cover.

Less suitable: You want a frequency in kilohertz, or you do not want to risk a dead unit in the pair.

Specifications

Model
ISOTRONIC pair with a sensor
Brand
ISOTRONIC
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
3.8/5(140)
Type
Ultrasound
Power
6 AAA cells
Claimed cover
40 m²
Frequency or mechanism
Ultrasound
Where to use
Car, loft, garage
Cut-out or reapply
Off on vibration
Named targets
Martens, mice
Amazon rating
3.8 (140)

Common questions

Does this pair switch off when the engine runs?

Yes, on this listing. The bullet says it switches on about 60 seconds after the vehicle is stationary and switches off when the engine vibrates.

What power does it use?

Six AAA cells, with about eight months claimed in continuous use. Cable ties and screws are included. Batteries are not stated as included. A UK review could not find a screwdriver small enough for the battery cover.

Did both units work?

A UK review on 17 November 2025 said only one of the two worked, and the seller refunded half. Other UK notes say mice seemed to stop after cleaning and fitting.

Veddelholzer USB ultrasound

Rank 6

Veddelholzer USB ultrasound

∼£24

Our view

The Veddelholzer unit is about £24.26, rated 3.8 from 103 reviews. The model field reads Marderschreck Haus. Bullets state 23–44 kHz, a flash, modes every 30, 60 or 90 seconds, and up to 70 m², powered by USB with a 2 m cable. Places named are the house, shed, basement, attic, garage, carport, warehouse and stable, plus raccoons and dormice. It is not a 12 V clamp module. A Spanish garage note reported less marten sign. A buyer in Germany returned it because it was not rechargeable. A review asked for a waterproof body for outdoor USB use. The bullet says the sound is usually inaudible and that hearing changes with age. One terrace note reported no heard tone and animals staying away.

Pros

  • USB power if you will not touch a car battery
  • States 23–44 kHz and a 2 m lead
  • 3.8 from 103 reviews
  • Cable ties and patches are in the bullets

Cons

  • Not a 12 V engine-bay module
  • Not described as rechargeable or waterproof
  • 70 m² is a seller claim
  • One buyer returned it over the power assumption

Best for: You have a USB socket in a loft, garage or shed and you want a stated frequency without wiring a battery.

Less suitable: You need clamps for a 12 V battery, or a unit you can leave in the rain.

Specifications

Model
Veddelholzer USB ultrasound
Brand
Veddelholzer
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
3.8/5(103)
Type
Ultrasound
Power
USB, 2 m cable
Claimed cover
70 m²
Frequency or mechanism
23–44 kHz, flash
Where to use
Loft, garage, shed
Named targets
Martens, raccoons
Amazon rating
3.8 (103)

Common questions

Does this Veddelholzer unit use batteries?

No. The listing is USB, with a 2 m cable, cable ties and patches. One buyer returned it because they had assumed it was rechargeable.

Is it for an engine bay on the car battery?

The bullets name a house, shed, basement, attic, garage and carport. They do not describe red and black battery clamps.

Is it waterproof?

The listing does not state a weather rating. A review asked for a waterproof version for outdoor USB use.

vsshe car ultrasound, pair

Rank 7

vsshe car ultrasound, pair

Our view

The vsshe two-pack is about £8.99, rated 3.7 from 7 reviews. The title says marten deterrent for the engine compartment, with a start-stop function. Bullets say the unit starts about 120 seconds after the vehicle stops, then flashes green and emits multi-frequency ultrasound. They also say mice, squirrels, minks and chipmunks, and they say red to positive and black to negative. There is no kilohertz number and no square-metre claim. The brand field is empty; the manufacturer field is vsshe. The only review text is from the United Kingdom on 16 January 2026: initially effective, then the rodents became comfortable, and rats chewed the wires of the deterrent.

Pros

  • Two units at about £8.99
  • States a start about 120 seconds after the car stops
  • DIY battery-lead steps are printed
  • Title is explicitly a car marten deterrent

Cons

  • No kilohertz figure
  • Only one review text, and it reports chewed wires
  • Bullets mix marten, mink and mouse
  • Brand field is empty

Best for: You want two cheap car modules with a stated delay after the engine stops, and you treat the single UK review as a warning.

Less suitable: You want a frequency you can compare, or a review file that is more than one note.

Specifications

Model
vsshe car ultrasound, pair
Brand
vsshe
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
3.7/5(7)
Type
Ultrasound
Power
12 V battery leads
Frequency or mechanism
Ultrasound, flash
Where to use
Engine bay
Cut-out or reapply
Starts after 120 s
Named targets
Martens, mice
Amazon rating
3.7 (7)

Common questions

Does it fit every car?

The bullet says all models. It does not list vehicles. Fitting is described as red to positive and black to negative, with the speaker away from hot parts.

What frequency does it use?

The listing does not give a kilohertz figure. It says multi-frequency ultrasound, a flash, and a start about 120 seconds after the car stops.

What did the UK review report?

The only review text, dated 16 January 2026, said it was initially effective, then the rodents became comfortable, and rats chewed the deterrent’s own wires.

PCXWTLN car ultrasound

Rank 8

PCXWTLN car ultrasound

Our view

This car unit is about £7.99, rated 3.6 from 13 reviews. The manufacturer field is PCXWTLN and the model is HA-RE-50121. Bullets state 9–65 kHz, eight flashes, an alarm on level 2, three AA cells or 12–24 V, and an auto mode when the engine is off. The technical field says solar powered, and the bullets do not describe a panel. Reviews call the fit easy and the flash visible, and they also say adults hear a beep. One review said only the mode without the alarm and constant light felt usable in a car, and that there is no guarantee the animal leaves. The brand field is empty.

Pros

  • About £7.99 with a stated kilohertz span
  • 12–24 V or three AA cells in the bullets
  • Reviews describe a simple cable-tie fit
  • Auto mode is claimed when the engine is off

Cons

  • Solar line conflicts with the bullets
  • Audible beep in reviews
  • Level 2 alarm is aimed at dogs, cats and squirrels
  • Only 13 reviews, and the brand field is empty

Best for: You want a cheap car module and you will check which power story on the page you are actually buying.

Less suitable: You need a resolved power source, or a unit reviews describe as silent.

Specifications

Model
PCXWTLN car ultrasound
Brand
PCXWTLN
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.6/5(13)
Type
Ultrasound
Power
3 AA or 12–24 V
Frequency or mechanism
9–65 kHz
Where to use
Bay, house, garden
Cut-out or reapply
Auto, engine off
Named targets
Martens, mice
Amazon rating
3.6 (13)

Common questions

Is this unit solar powered?

The technical field says solar powered. The bullets say three AA cells, not included, or 12–24 V. The listing does not describe a solar panel, so the power source stays unresolved.

Will people hear it?

Reviews say adults hear a beep. Level 2 is described as adding an alarm for dogs, cats and squirrels, which is a separate sound from the ultrasonic claim.

How is it wired?

The bullet says red to positive and black to negative, with the button off before fitting. Batteries are not included.

Kunagone scent pouch

Rank 9

Kunagone scent pouch

Our view

Kunagone is one pouch at about £5.86. The brand field is AROBA and the part number is ARKGDE001. The package is 8.6 x 8.2 x 7.2 cm and 40 g. The bullets say a fragrance similar to a natural enemy, made in the EU, with no power use, and a life of 3 to 6 months. Prevention is one piece in an engine bay or one to two in a house. If an animal is already there, the bullet says two to three in a bay or four to five in a house. The listing has no customer-review line, no review text, no named ingredient, and no HSE number. The seller says it is harmless to humans and animals. That sentence is not backed by a review on the listing.

Pros

  • About £5.86 and no wiring
  • One pouch, with a stated 3 to 6 month life
  • Dose guidance for a bay and for a house is printed
  • No battery to flatten a parked car

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Ingredient not named
  • No HSE number
  • The box is one piece, while the already-there dose is two to five

Best for: You want a single scent pouch to try in a bay or a loft, and you accept that this listing has no reviews.

Less suitable: You want a named active ingredient, an HSE number, or a review count before you buy.

Specifications

Model
Kunagone scent pouch
Brand
AROBA
Price
∼£6
Type
Scent pouch
Power
None
Frequency or mechanism
Scent pouch
Where to use
Car, loft, barn
Cut-out or reapply
3–6 months claimed
Named targets
Martens

Common questions

How many pouches does the box contain?

One. The bullet says use one in an engine bay as prevention, or two to three if an animal is already there, and one to two or four to five in a house or attic.

Is there an amazon.co.uk star line?

No. The listing has no customer-review line and no review text. The captured price is about £5.86.

Is an ingredient or an HSE number printed?

No. The seller says natural materials, made in the EU, and a scent similar to a natural enemy. No ingredient and no HSE number are on the listing.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings are in this set. The score on each card is the star line divided by five and multiplied by 100. A missing review line scores 0. That number is not a laboratory result, and it is not a UK efficacy trial. The top pick is not the highest score. It is the marten-named ultrasonic listing with the largest review file that also prints a frequency. Best value is the named-brand unit whose bullets state a frequency, a square-metre claim, and both cells and a 12 V or USB-C lead, at the lower shelf price. A changing-frequency line, a square-metre line, and a German N-number are seller text.

1

Species and place

25%

If the animal might be a pine marten, the listing does not score as a fit. A downpipe belt is not a loom guard. A USB house unit is not a 12 V engine module. A spray does not climb a gutter.

2

Power as printed

20%

Cells, USB, or a red-and-black 12 V lead, as that listing prints them. A vibration sensor is counted only when the bullets on that ASIN state one.

3

Listing consistency

20%

Points come off when a technical field contradicts the bullets, such as a solar line against cells, or a feedback field that says the unit is not electric while the bullets describe a car battery.

4

Review sample

20%

amazon.co.uk stars count with the review count on that listing. A large file ranks above a higher star line from a handful of reviews. A file of 9, 7, 13, or none cannot carry a works claim.

5

Named spec and price

15%

Shelf price in GBP against a frequency, a power route, and a place the bullets actually name. A lower price does not win when the power story disagrees with itself or no kilohertz figure is printed.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Marten deterrent buying guide

Start with the animal, then the place, then the power printed on the listing. A pine marten is protected. A belt does not guard a loom, a USB unit is not a 12 V module, and a spray does not climb a gutter. The top pick is ISOTRONIC 78580 at about £32.45, the largest ultrasonic review file that also prints a frequency. The best value is Technaxx TX-368 at about £9.98, with 12–24 kHz and two power routes in the bullets, and only nine reviews. Nothing here is a UK efficacy trial.

What is a marten deterrent?

A marten deterrent, as sold to UK buyers, is an ultrasonic box, a geraniol spray, a scent pouch, or a spiked belt for a downpipe. The job is to keep a mammal off a car, a loft or a gutter. The label is easy to misread. The pine marten is Britain’s marten.

Best for

  • Drivers who can rule out a pine marten and will refresh a bay unit or a spray
  • Householders who have checked the den rules before a loft sounder or a downpipe belt
  • Buyers who want cells, a USB socket or a pouch and will not clamp a 12 V lead

Not ideal for

  • Anyone who might be dealing with a pine marten den
  • A chewed loom when you cannot name a safe 12 V connection
  • Reading a square-metre line or a 90% claim as a measurement

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading a marten title as a British stone marten

    Britain’s marten is the pine marten, and it is protected. RAC Drive’s vehicle-damage note is about rats and mice. A stone-marten study of cars is from Luxembourg, not a UK census. A car bay is not the dwelling-house exception NatureScot describes.

  2. 2

    Treating a German N-number as an HSE authorisation

    N-111079 is a German number on a spray listing. The Health and Safety Executive puts chemical repellents inside biocidal-product rules and physical-only devices outside them. The listings do not show an HSE number for the spray or the pouch.

  3. 3

    Trusting square metres, silence, or a 90% line

    Claims of 20, 40 or 70 m² are seller text, not comparable measurements. Ultrasound is not silent. The belt’s line that about 90% of animals reach the roof via the downpipe is the seller’s estimate. A vibration sensor on one listing is not on every ultrasonic box.

What to weigh up

Species, place and mechanism

High

Species comes first. If the animal might be a pine marten, stop before a belt, a sounder or a spray. NatureScot sets out Schedule 5 offences and a dwelling-house exception that does not cover a car bay. In Northern Ireland the close season for excluding a pine marten from a building is March to August. Place comes next. A spiked belt is for a downpipe, a gutter or a tree. It does not guard a wiring loom.

Power, contradictions and the review file

High

Read the power line on that ASIN. Four AA cells, six AAA cells, a USB cable, or red and black 12 V wires are different products. One car listing’s technical field says solar while the bullets say three AA cells or 12–24 V, and the bullets do not describe a panel. Another listing’s feedback block says the unit is not electric while the bullets describe a car battery. Those clashes stay on the card. UK mains are 230 V and plugs are BS 1363.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Chewed insulation in a bay

You have found nesting or chewed insulation and you can rule out a pine marten. ISOTRONIC 78580 is about £32.45, with 3.8 from 320 reviews, 12–24 kHz, a flash about every 60 seconds, and four AA cells or a car battery. The bullets do not state a vibration cut-out. A UK review reported no effect on rats and squirrels after a week. Skip it if you need a sensor that pauses when the engine runs.

A loft or a downpipe

You have a loft or a downpipe and you have already ruled out a pine marten den. ISOTRONIC 84025 is two stainless spike strips at about £17.92, with 4.0 from 47 reviews, and no battery. The seller’s 90% roof-access line is an estimate. Reviews call the fit fiddly, and one UK review called it useless. Skip it if the job is chewed wiring, or if the roof might be a den.

No 12 V clamps

You will not clamp a 12 V lead. The Veddelholzer USB unit is about £24.26, with 3.8 from 103 reviews, 23–44 kHz, a 2 m USB cable, and a 70 m² claim that is seller text. It is for a loft, garage or shed. A buyer returned it because it was not rechargeable, and the listing does not state a weather rating. Skip it if you need red and black battery leads.

Common questions about Marten deterrents

Which marten deterrent is the top pick?
The top pick is ISOTRONIC 78580 at about £32.45. It is the marten-named ultrasonic with the largest review file that also prints a frequency: 3.8 from 320 amazon.co.uk reviews, 12–24 kHz, a flash about every 60 seconds, and four AA cells or a car battery. The bullets do not state a vibration sensor. A UK review on 19 June 2025 reported no effect on rats and squirrels after a week. The score is the star line, not a UK trial.
Which marten deterrent is the best value?
The best value is Technaxx TX-368 at about £9.98. The bullets name 12–24 kHz, a 20 m² claim, an LED flash, and four AA cells or a 12 V or USB-C lead. The star line is 4.0 from 9 reviews, and only two review texts are on the listing. One says the same device seemed to work in an engine for two months. There is no vibration-sensor sentence. The 20 m² line is seller text. A cheaper unit does not take this place when the power field contradicts the bullets.
Can I use a marten deterrent against a pine marten?
If the animal might be a pine marten, do not block a den. NatureScot says you must not intentionally or recklessly kill, injure or take a pine marten, damage or block a den, or disturb an animal in a den, except the dwelling-house case NatureScot states. A car bay is not that exception. In Northern Ireland, DAERA says do not exclude or deter a pine marten from a building between March and August. RAC notes on vehicle damage are about rats and mice, not a stone marten.
Is an ultrasonic marten deterrent silent?
Do not treat ultrasound as silent. Hearing changes with age, and reviews of a cheap car unit say adults hear a beep. A vibration sensor is not on every ultrasonic box. One pair states a cut-out when the engine vibrates. Another states cells or a car battery and does not mention a sensor. Square-metre claims of 20, 40 or 70 are seller text, not measurements you can compare across listings. A star line does not prove the animal left.
Is a geraniol spray or a scent pouch HSE-authorised?
The Health and Safety Executive puts physical-only devices outside biocidal-product rules and chemical repellents inside them. A German number printed on a spray listing, including N-111079, is not an HSE authorisation. This comparison does not claim the geraniol spray or the scent pouch is HSE-authorised. Geraniol’s current GB approval is not stated on the listings. Reviews of the spray describe respraying every three or four days, which is shorter than a bullet that says after a few weeks.
How much does a marten deterrent cost?
Captured shelf prices run from about £5.86 to about £45.28. Entry in this set is about £5.86 to £9.98, a pouch and the thin-review ultrasonics. Mid is a spray at about £16.00, a spike belt at about £17.92, and a USB house unit at about £24.26. The upper end is about £32.45 and £45.28 for two ultrasonic listings with larger files. These nine prices are the shelf prices on these listings, not a market survey. A price under £10 does not buy a proven expulsion rate.
Does a downpipe belt stop most roof visits?
A listing estimates that about 90% of animals reach the roof via the downpipe. That percentage is the seller’s estimate, not a study on the listing. Stainless spike strips can block a pipe or a small tree if you shape the band first. A circumference of 50 cm or more needs more strips. The belt does not protect wiring in an engine bay. A UK review called the fit fiddly, and another called it useless. Do not use it to block a possible pine marten den.
When should I call a garage or a licensing body?
Call a garage when wires are already cut, when the 12 V battery is in the boot, or when you cannot name a safe connection on a hybrid. Red to positive and black to negative is a bullet on some car units, not a wiring diagram for your car. If the roof might be a den, contact NatureScot, Natural Resources Wales, Natural England, or NIEA in Northern Ireland. A spiked belt does not guard a loom. Mesh for a bay is in the marten deterrent mesh comparison.

Our verdict

The top pick is ISOTRONIC 78580 at about £32.45. It is not the highest star score. It has the largest review file among the marten-named ultrasonic listings that also print a frequency: 3.8 from 320 reviews, 12–24 kHz, a flash about every 60 seconds, and four AA cells or a car battery. The bullets do not state a vibration sensor. A UK review reported no effect on rats and squirrels after a week, and the feedback fields contradict the bullets on whether the unit is electric. The best value is Technaxx TX-368 at about £9.98. The bullets name 12–24 kHz, a 20 m² claim, and four AA cells or a 12 V or USB-C lead. The star line is 4.0 from 9 reviews, and only two review texts are on the listing. The spray with 4.1 from 385 reviews is a larger review count and a different mechanism, so it does not take the top pick. None of these scores is a UK efficacy trial.

Best overall
BMUT geraniol marten spray

BMUT geraniol marten spray

View offer
Best value
Technaxx TX-368

Technaxx TX-368

About £9.98, with 12–24 kHz, a 20 m² claim, and cells or a 12 V or USB-C lead in the bullets. The star line is 4.0 from 9 reviews, and only two texts are on the listing.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPest controlMarten deterrents

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Marten deterrents

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for the wildlife and biocides points. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in the amazon.co.uk lines for these nine listings.

  1. NatureScot, protected pine martens (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Mammal Society, pine marten (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. DAERA, pine marten (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. DAERA, pine martens in houses (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. HSE, is it a biocidal product (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. RAC Drive, rodent vehicle damage (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Herr and colleagues, stone martens and cars (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Vincent Wildlife Trust, pine marten leaflet (retrieved 22 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines in the amazon.co.uk lines for these nine products. We did not run a laboratory test, and a star line is not a UK efficacy trial.