Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Mosquito plug comparison 2026

The best Mosquito plugs, compared.

Top pick: OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets Best value: ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack – About £6.99 for one stated 35 ml bottle and the same 45-night claim, with 3.7 from 95 reviews. The formula and the pin gap match the two-pack. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A mosquito plug is a small heater that vapourises a liquid bottle or heats a tablet against mosquitoes in one closed room. UK buyers use one overnight in a bedroom, a hotel, or a campervan. It is not a UV grid, not an ultrasonic plug, and not a skin patch. A coil stays outdoors. You recognise a suitable unit by the substance, the fill, the night claim, and the socket. Prefer a named ingredient. A chemical-free line is a slogan until the label names the bottle or the tablet. UK sockets are BS 1363 at 230 V. A two-pin body will not seat, and a shaver adaptor has the wrong pin spacing. A USB heater needs 5 V and is not a 13 A plug. One unit is one closed room. If the page prints no active substance and no HSE number, do not call it approved. Liquid or tablet, and mains or USB, are in the [mosquito plug buying guide](/hub/pest-control/mosquito-plug/sub/mosquito-plug-buying-guide).

A mosquito plug is a small heater that vapourises a liquid bottle or heats a tablet against mosquitoes in one closed room. UK buyers use one overnight in a bedroom, a hotel, or a campervan.

OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets

Best overall

OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets
6.4/10∼ £11

18 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

5 of 5: Best Mosquito plugs compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 5
Best overall
OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets
AOOWU USB 30 tablets
Best value
ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack
Xpel plug-in 2-count
ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack
6.4/10
7.0/10
8.0/10
7.5/10
8.4/10
∼ £11
∼ £8
∼ £7
∼ £7
∼ £12
4.1(18)
3.8(166)
3.7(95)
3.6(374)
3.6(310)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What power do you have?

The best Mosquito plugs in detail

OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets

Rank 1

OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets

∼£11

Our view

OUWEWIN lists two USB heaters and 90 tablets at £11.28, with a 20-foot claim, about 6 metres, and seller text that the tablets are plant-based, colourless and suitable for pregnant women and babies. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 18 reviews. The two UK reviews are both complaints: one heater stopped after two days, and one night left mosquitoes still flying in the morning. No oil is named, so the plant-based line is a slogan rather than a formula. Power is USB from a computer, a power bank or a car port, not a British mains plug. The tablet count is the largest in the set. The written evidence that it works overnight is the thinnest.

Pros

  • Two USB heaters and 90 tablets in the pack
  • USB power, so it avoids a two-pin mains body
  • Seller text claims a protective mesh and low power

Cons

  • 4.1 stars come from only 18 reviews
  • Both UK reviews describe a failure
  • No plant oil is named beside the plant-based line
  • A pregnancy and baby claim without a named substance

Best for: A spare USB heater in a bag only if you will stop on the first night the plate stays cold.

Less suitable: A bedroom for a pregnant person or a baby, and anyone reading 4.1 as if it were a large sample.

Specifications

Model
OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets
Brand
OUWEWIN
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.1/5(18)
Device type
USB tablet
Power
USB
UK 3-pin
No
Pack
2 heaters, 90 tablets
Fill
90 tablets
Active substance
Not stated
Coverage
20 ft
Amazon rating
4.1 (18)

Common questions

Is this a mains mosquito plug?

No. The listing says USB, for a computer, power bank or car port.

Does the listing prove it is safe in pregnancy?

It says suitable for pregnant women and babies and plant-based. It does not name a substance or an authorisation number.

How many reviews describe a failure?

The listing shows 4.1 from 18 reviews. The two UK reviews are a heater that failed after two days, and a night that left mosquitoes flying.

AOOWU USB 30 tablets

Rank 2

AOOWU USB 30 tablets

Our view

AOOWU sells one USB tablet heater and 30 tablets at £7.99, with 3.8 from 166 amazon.co.uk reviews and a seller claim of a 20-foot zone. Reviews describe use in a van, with a power bank when a hotel cuts the power, and a unit that gets warm, which is what a tablet heater has to do. One Southeast Asia trip is reported with no mosquitoes after it was started. The listing names no ingredient, and a reviewer says composition, safety and disposal text were missing. Another describes a strong vapour that numbed the face when the only USB port was beside the bed, and overheating they called dangerous. Units stopped after about three weeks in one review and after 12 hours in another. It is a USB option for a closed small space, not a BS 1363 mosquito plug, and the tablets are unlabelled on the listing.

Pros

  • USB power, including a power bank, so there is no 13 A body
  • 30 tablets included at about £7.99
  • 3.8 from 166 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reported warm in a van and in a small space

Cons

  • No ingredient is printed on the listing
  • Reviews describe overheating and a strong vapour beside a bed
  • Heaters died after about 12 hours or about three weeks
  • A 20-foot claim with no hours stated per tablet

Best for: A campervan or a hotel USB port in a closed space, if you accept an unnamed tablet and you will not park it by a pillow.

Less suitable: A UK bedroom that needs a labelled insecticide, or a socket that sits next to your face.

Specifications

Model
AOOWU USB 30 tablets
Brand
AOOWU
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.8/5(166)
Device type
USB tablet
Power
USB
UK 3-pin
No
Pack
1 heater, 30 tablets
Fill
30 tablets
Active substance
Not stated
Coverage
20 ft
Amazon rating
3.8 (166)

Common questions

Does the AOOWU unit need a wall socket?

The listing says USB, including a computer, power bank, wall charger or car charger. It is not a BS 1363 plug.

What is on the tablets?

The listing does not name an ingredient. A review says composition and disposal text were missing.

What area does the seller claim?

The listing claims a 20-foot zone. It does not state hours per tablet.

ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack

Rank 3

ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack

Our view

This ABL Supplies one-pack is a single heater and one 35 ml oil bottle at £6.99, with the same claim of up to 45 nights and the same chemical-free wording next to a kill claim. Amazon.co.uk shows 3.7 from 95 reviews, a thinner sample than the two-pack and still enough to repeat the plug complaint. A Greece trip is reported with no bites and no pungent smell, and one buyer says they reorder every year and switch the unit off during the day. Reviews say it is a two-pin plug that will not go into a BS 1363 socket. One bottle arrived leaked and short of liquid. Another unit failed on first use because a wire was too short to reach the switch terminal. The listing does not name an ingredient. It is the best value row here as the lowest shelf price for a stated 35 ml liquid, with the same formula and pin gaps as the dearer twin.

Pros

  • About £6.99 for one stated 35 ml oil bottle and one heater
  • The same up-to-45-nights claim as the two-pack
  • 3.7 from 95 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • A holiday review reports no pungent smell

Cons

  • Reviews describe a two-pin plug, not a UK 3-pin
  • A bottle leaked in the packaging and arrived low
  • One unit failed because the switch wire was too short
  • No active substance or HSE number is named

Best for: One closed room on a short trip when you already own a fused travel adaptor and you only need a single bottle.

Less suitable: A UK bedroom that needs a stated BS 1363 body, or a first order where you want a spare bottle in the box.

Specifications

Model
ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack
Brand
ABL Supplies
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
3.7/5(95)
Device type
Liquid bottle
Power
Mains, pins unstated
UK 3-pin
No
Pack
1 plug, 1 bottle
Fill
35 ml oil
Duration
Up to 45 nights
Active substance
Not stated
Amazon rating
3.7 (95)

Common questions

Will this single ABL plug fit a UK socket?

The specification does not say. Reviews say it has a two-pin plug.

How much liquid is in the pack?

The listing says 35 ml, one refill and one plug, with a claim of up to 45 nights. One review says the bottle arrived low and had leaked.

Does the listing name the ingredient?

No. It says unscented oil and also says chemical-free, without an active substance or an HSE number.

Xpel plug-in 2-count

Rank 4

Xpel plug-in 2-count

Our view

The Xpel listing is titled as a mosquito and insect plug-in, 2 pack, at £7.49, and amazon.co.uk shows 3.6 from 374 reviews, the largest count in this set. The item-form field says Patch and a bullet says 1 x plug, while reviews describe liquid bottles and a level you can watch fall. Some buyers did receive two units and called the price fair. Others say only one unit arrived. A Spain holiday review reports no bites in that room while the next room was bitten, and a Cape Verde review reports heavy biting over five nights. Bottles leaked because caps were loose, including in a suitcase, and the body is described as two-pin and loose in the socket. A reviewer warns that a UK shaver adaptor has the wrong pin spacing. No duration, coverage or active substance is printed, and the page does not agree with itself about what is in the box.

Pros

  • 374 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set
  • Shelf price about £7.49
  • Some buyers see the liquid level fall and call it nearly odourless
  • Some deliveries did include two units

Cons

  • The title says a plug-in 2-pack and the item form says Patch
  • Reviews dispute whether two units arrive
  • Loose caps leak, including in a suitcase
  • Described as a two-pin plug, and a shaver adaptor is the wrong fit

Best for: A buyer who will check the box on arrival and who already has a Euro-to-UK adaptor that is not a shaver adaptor.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs the listing to match the product in the box, or a UK socket with no proper adaptor.

Specifications

Model
Xpel plug-in 2-count
Brand
Xpel
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
3.6/5(374)
Device type
Plug-in; form Patch
UK 3-pin
No
Pack
2 count vs 1 plug
Active substance
Not stated
Amazon rating
3.6 (374)

Common questions

Is the Xpel listing a liquid plug or a patch?

The title says plug-in, 2 pack. The item-form field says Patch, and a bullet says 1 x plug. Reviews describe liquid bottles.

Does it come with a UK plug?

The listing does not say. Reviews describe a two-pin plug and warn that a shaver adaptor has the wrong pin spacing.

How many units are in the box?

The title says 2 pack and the size field says 2 count. A bullet says 1 x plug, and some reviews say only one unit arrived.

ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack

Rank 5

ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack

∼£12

Our view

The ABL Supplies two-pack puts two mains heaters and two 35 ml oil bottles in one order, 70 ml in total, at £12.49 with a claim of up to 45 nights per refill. Amazon.co.uk shows 3.6 from 310 reviews, a large enough sample to sit beside the gaps on the page. Some buyers report fewer flying biters indoors, including on a Mauritius trip, and a slight smell they compare with new paint. Several reviews say each body is a two-pin Euro plug and needs an adaptor before it will enter a BS 1363 socket. A West Africa review describes six weeks with almost no drop in the liquid, only slight warmth, and continued bites. One unit would not switch on and could not be sent back from abroad. The bullets say chemical-free and also say the liquid kills insects, and the listing names no active substance or HSE number. Inside this set it is the top pick because the volume, the night claim and the review count are stated, not because the formula is known.

Pros

  • Two heaters and two 35 ml oil bottles are stated, 70 ml in total
  • Up to 45 nights is claimed per refill, at about £12.49
  • 3.6 from 310 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Some buyers describe only a slight smell
  • A second heater and a spare bottle arrive in the same box

Cons

  • Reviews say a two-pin Euro plug, not a BS 1363 plug
  • No active substance or HSE number is printed
  • A static liquid level is reported with continued bites
  • Chemical-free sits beside a claim that the liquid kills insects

Best for: A second room or a travel bag when you already have a proper UK adaptor and you want a spare 35 ml bottle in the same order.

Less suitable: A British socket with no adaptor, and anyone who needs a named insecticide on the label before they sleep next to the unit.

Specifications

Model
ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack
Brand
ABL Supplies
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
3.6/5(310)
Device type
Liquid bottle
Power
Mains, pins unstated
UK 3-pin
No
Pack
2 plugs, 2 bottles
Fill
70 ml oil
Duration
Up to 45 nights
Active substance
Not stated
Amazon rating
3.6 (310)

Common questions

Does this ABL two-pack include a UK 3-pin plug?

The listing does not state a BS 1363 plug. UK reviews say the units are two-pin Euro plugs and need an adaptor.

What is in the bottles?

The listing says two 35 ml oil bottles, 70 ml in total, unscented, with a 45-night claim. It does not name an active substance. It also says chemical-free and that the liquid kills insects.

Is bedroom use answered on the listing?

The page asks whether it can be used in bedrooms and does not print an answer.

How we compared

Five amazon.co.uk vapour or tablet plugs were scored on 21 October 2026 after zappers, ultrasonic plugs, and skin patches were removed. There is no laboratory test. The top pick is the highest score: a stated liquid volume, a night claim, and a large review count. Best value is the lowest shelf price for one stated 35 ml bottle with the same night claim. A listing that disagrees with itself, or a 4.1 from 18 reviews, is marked down. None of these five pages prints an active substance or an HSE number.

1

Stated fill and duration

35%

Points follow a stated bottle volume or tablet count, and a night claim when the listing prints one. An unnamed tablet, or a duration the page does not state, scores lower.

2

Review sample

30%

amazon.co.uk stars count only with the review count on that listing. A 3.6 from 310 reviews ranks above a 4.1 from 18. This is not a measured knockdown rate.

3

Listing consistency

25%

Points come off when the title, the item form, and the pack count disagree, when reviews describe a two-pin plug the page does not state, or when chemical-free sits beside a kill claim.

4

Shelf price

10%

Shelf price is the amazon.co.uk figure captured for that listing. Best value is the lowest price for a stated 35 ml liquid with the same up-to-45-nights claim, not the cheapest USB tablet.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Mosquito plug buying guide

Start with the device type, then the socket, then whether the listing names a substance. A mosquito plug heats a liquid bottle or a tablet in one closed room. It is not a UV zapper, an ultrasonic plug, a skin patch, or an outdoor coil. Nothing on this page is a laboratory test, and none of the five listings prints an HSE number.

What is a mosquito plug?

A mosquito plug is a small mains or USB heater that vapourises liquid from a bottle, or heats a tablet, against mosquitoes in one closed room. UK buyers use one overnight in a bedroom, a hotel, or a campervan where the power stays on. A UV grid, an ultrasonic plug, a coil, and a skin patch are different products. Coils stay outdoors. One heater is one closed room. It does not replace a net, screening, air conditioning, or a prescribed antimalarial, and it does not prevent malaria on its own.

Best for

  • One closed room overnight, with a proper adaptor if the body is two-pin
  • A hotel or a trip where you already own a fused Euro-to-UK adaptor
  • A campervan USB port, if you accept an unnamed tablet and keep it off the pillow

Not ideal for

  • A UK socket with no adaptor, or a shaver adaptor as the only fit
  • A pregnant person, an infant, or asthma next to a pack with no named substance
  • Malaria prevention on its own, or one plug for a whole flat

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A shaver adaptor on two pins

    Reviews describe the liquid bodies as two-pin, and warn that a UK shaver adaptor has the wrong pin spacing. Regulation 35 expects a device made for a BS 1363 socket to fit BS 1363. Forcing the pins is not a fix.

  2. 2

    45 nights as 45 full days

    The night claim on the liquid packs is a seller line, and a neighbouring bullet also says up to 45 days. Branded instructions for this type use about one to two hours before bed in about 30 cubic metres. One plug does not cover a flat, and open windows are not a fair test of the bottle.

  3. 3

    A slogan in place of a label

    Chemical-free beside a kill claim, and plant-based or safe for babies with no oil named, are seller lines. None of the five listings prints an active substance or an HSE number. Do not sleep a pregnant person, an infant, or someone with asthma next to that gap.

What to weigh up

Socket, substance, and device type

High

Keep liquid bottles and heated tablets. A UV grid, an ultrasonic plug, a coil, and a skin patch answer a different search. UK sockets are BS 1363 at 230 V. A two-pin body will not seat. A USB heater needs 5 V and does not replace a 13 A plug. Prefer a named substance. The Health and Safety Executive treats insecticides as biocidal product type 18, and GB supply needs an authorisation it recognises. These five listings print no active and no HSE number.

Nights, room size, reviews, and price

High

Read the night claim and the fill: millilitres of oil, or a tablet count. About 30 cubic metres is the room figure on branded liquid instructions, not a 20-foot seller line. Switch on about one to two hours before bed. Do not treat 45 nights as a laboratory result, or as 45 days of continuous heat. Stars need the review count beside them. Three hundred reviews outweigh a 4.1 from 18. Captured shelf prices run from about £6.99 to about £12.49.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A UK bedroom with an adaptor

You want a stated oil volume and a night claim, and you already own a proper Euro-to-UK adaptor. The ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack at about £12.49 states two heaters and two 35 ml bottles, up to 45 nights per refill, with 3.6 from 310 reviews. Reviews say the bodies are two-pin. The listing names no active substance. Skip it if you need a BS 1363 plug in the box, or a named insecticide before you sleep next to the unit.

One room on a short trip

You need a single bottle and you already have a fused travel adaptor. The ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack is about £6.99 for one heater and one 35 ml bottle, with the same up-to-45-nights claim and 3.7 from 95 reviews. A holiday review reports no pungent smell. Another bottle arrived leaked and low. It is a weaker match if you wanted a spare bottle in the same box.

A van or a power bank

You have USB power and no wish to force two pins into a UK socket. AOOWU is one USB heater and 30 tablets at about £7.99, with 3.8 from 166 reviews and a seller claim of 20 feet. The listing names no ingredient. Reviews include overheating beside a bed and heaters that died. The 90-tablet pack has more tablets and only 18 reviews.

Common questions about Mosquito plugs

What is a mosquito plug?
A mosquito plug is a heated device that vapourises a liquid bottle or heats a tablet against mosquitoes in one closed room. UK buyers use one in a bedroom, a hotel, or a campervan. It is not a UV zapper, not an ultrasonic plug, and not a skin patch. A coil stays outdoors. One unit is one closed room. It does not replace a net, a screen, or a prescribed antimalarial, and it does not prevent malaria on its own.
Which mosquito plug is the top pick, and which is best value?
The top pick is the ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack at about £12.49. It states two heaters and two 35 ml oil bottles, up to 45 nights per refill, and 3.6 from 310 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviews say two-pin plugs, and no active substance is named. The best value is the ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack at about £6.99: one 35 ml bottle, the same night claim, and 3.7 from 95 reviews. Neither score is a laboratory test.
Will these mosquito plugs fit a UK 3-pin socket?
UK homes use a BS 1363 socket at 230 V. None of the five listings states a BS 1363 plug. Reviews of the liquid units describe a two-pin Euro plug. A shaver adaptor has the wrong pin spacing. Regulation 35 of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 says a plug-in device intended for a UK domestic BS 1363 socket must fit that socket. The two USB heaters are not that mains plug. They need 5 V. The wall charger is the mains part.
Do these listings name the ingredient, and are they HSE-approved?
No. None of the five pages prints an active substance or an HSE number, so this comparison does not call them authorised. Great Britain uses the GB Biocidal Products Regulation. A chemical insect killer is a biocide, product type 18. Chemical-free on the liquid listings sits beside a kill claim. Plant-based on the 90-tablet pack names no oil. A plug that states 0.90% prallethrin is on amazon.co.uk and is not a row on this page.
Should I buy a liquid bottle or a USB tablet?
Choose a liquid bottle when you have mains power and a proper Euro-to-UK adaptor. The two ABL packs state 35 ml or 70 ml and up to 45 nights. The Xpel title says a 2-pack plug-in, the item form says Patch, and reviews describe bottles and a two-pin plug. Choose USB when you have a power bank, a computer, or a van. AOOWU is one heater and 30 tablets. OUWEWIN is two heaters and 90 tablets. Neither USB listing names an ingredient.
How should I read a 45-night claim?
Up to 45 nights is a seller claim on the two ABL listings, and an adjacent bullet also says up to 45 days. It is not a measured test on these units. Branded liquid instructions, as a rule of thumb for this type, use about one to two hours before bed and about 30 cubic metres, which is one closed room. Do not cover a flat with one plug, and do not leave the windows open and then judge the bottle. The USB listings do not state hours per tablet.
Does a mosquito plug replace a net?
No. GOV.UK bite-prevention guidance for 2026, and NHS Fit for Travel, treat a pyrethroid liquid or mat as a night-time extra where power is reliable. It does not replace a net, screening, or air conditioning, and it does not prevent malaria on its own. If malaria is a risk, keep the net. A mesh you sleep under is a different product, set out in the mosquito net comparison. Coils stay outdoors.
When should I stop using a mosquito plug?
Stop if the heater smokes or sparks, if the bottle stays full while you are still bitten, or if the plate stays cold. Do not sleep a pregnant person, an infant, or someone with asthma next to a pack that names no substance. Get medical help if someone is ill after bites in a malaria area. A rented home that stays infested needs more than a plug. Do not mix in an unknown refill, and do not force two pins in with a shaver adaptor.

Our verdict

The top pick is the ABL Supplies liquid 2-pack at about £12.49. It is the highest score: two heaters and two 35 ml oil bottles, 70 ml in total, a claim of up to 45 nights per refill, and 3.6 from 310 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviews say each body is a two-pin plug. The listing names no active substance or HSE number, and chemical-free sits beside a claim that the liquid kills insects. The best value is the ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack at about £6.99, the lowest shelf price here for one stated 35 ml bottle and the same 45-night claim, with 3.7 from 95 reviews. It has the same pin gap and the same unnamed formula. A leaked bottle and a short switch wire are reported. None of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best overall
OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets

OUWEWIN USB 90 tablets

View offer
Best value
ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack

ABL Supplies liquid 1-pack

About £6.99 for one stated 35 ml bottle and the same 45-night claim, with 3.7 from 95 reviews. The formula and the pin gap match the two-pack.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsPest controlMosquito plugs

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Mosquito plugs

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for these five listings. Last checked 21 October 2026.

  1. HSE biocides scope (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE biocidal product types (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE product authorisation overview (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. HSE authorised biocidal products (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK bite prevention (2026) (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. NHS Fit for Travel, mosquito bite avoidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Superdrug Jungle Formula plug-in (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines captured for these five products. We did not run a laboratory test.