Home garage, tyres and a nailer
You want tyres, a blow gun and a nailer without a machine listed at 97 dB. Start with an oil-free unit that has wheels and a regulator, and do not treat 5.2 CFM as the air the tool receives.
The best 24 litre air compressors, compared.
Top pick: Hyundai HY7524X 24L – Highest score: 4.6 from 1,072 ratings and a complete oil-free kit. Two CFM lines stay on the page. Best value: Bimson Power 24L – Lowest shelf price at about £114.99, 4.4 from 51 ratings, with airflow and noise unstated. Updated 20 October 2026.
A 24 litre air compressor is a corded workshop machine with a receiver of about 24 litres, a regulator and a safety valve. You use it for a blow gun, a nailer or a small spray gun on 230 V. The 190/24/8 is oil-lubricated and listed at 97 dB. Judge a listing by a labelled noise figure, an airflow line the same page does not contradict, the real tank volume and a BS 1363 plug. How to read those lines is in the [24 litre compressor buying guide](/hub/compressors/air-compressor-24l/sub/air-compressor-24l-buying-guide). You set the working pressure on a regulator and you rely on a safety valve.
A 24 litre air compressor is a corded workshop machine with a receiver of about 24 litres, a regulator and a safety valve. You use it for a blow gun, a nailer or a small spray gun on 230 V.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 7Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What will you mostly run?
The Hyundai HY7524X fills tyres, blows dust, and runs a small spray gun on car panels, according to the first 50 UK-dated amazon.co.uk reviews behind a 4.6 score from 1,072 ratings. It is an oil-free 24 litre machine at £149.95, listed at 750 W, 8 bar, and 22 kg, with wheels and a carry handle. Those same reviews say continuous high-volume spraying, including fence panels, is more air than this tank keeps up with, and one reviewer puts working pressure near 100 psi, which is tight for some brad nailers. The bullets print 5.2 CFM and 150 L/min while the specification table prints 2.65 CFM, so neither figure is a settled free air delivery. Noise is 60 dB with no LpA or LwA. The included line is the compressor and a manual; reviewers bought the hose separately, and several found steel shot-blast media in a new tank. You get the largest review sample in this set, and you still have two airflow numbers on one page.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the largest UK review sample and an oil-free garage compressor, and you will not treat 5.2 CFM as the air a tool receives.
Less suitable: You need one labelled free-air figure, or you spray continuously without pauses.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Hyundai HY7524X need oil?
The listing says the pump is oil-free and needs no oil checks. You still drain condensate. Reviews mention blast media left in a new tank.
What airflow does the listing claim?
The bullets say 5.2 CFM and 150 L/min. The specification table on the same page says 2.65 CFM. Both figures are on the listing.
Is a hose included?
The included-components line names the compressor and a user manual. Reviews say the hose and nailer were bought separately.
The Hychika 24L is an oil-free 230 V compressor at £124.84, and UK reviewers have used it for tyres, a blow gun, valeting, furniture painting, and a smaller spray gun that one of them said keeps up reasonably well. The same 22 UK-dated reviews say it gets hot under heavy use, and one unit smoked with a burning smell on the first start. The bullets claim 160 L/min air intake and 68 dB; the specification table says 60 L/min and 62 dB, and neither line names free air delivery or LpA. Maximum power is 1,100 W in the bullets and 880 W in the model number, at 4.8 A. Weight is 21.8 kg in the table and 16.7 kg in a bullet. The listing score is 4.5 from 27 ratings, which is too small a pile to separate the praise from that smoke report. You are in the lower price band, and the page still does not give you one airflow.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You will use a small gun with rests, and you have read both airflow lines before you buy.
Less suitable: You need a single airflow figure, or you will keep spraying once the pump is hot.
Specifications
Common questions
Which airflow figure is on the Hychika listing?
The bullets say an air intake of 160 L/min. The specification table says 60 L/min. The page does not say which is free air delivery.
What power does it list?
The bullets say 1,100 W maximum. The model number is 880W. Maximum current is 4.8 A.
The Einhell TE-AC 24 Silent is the £169.93 machine, and it is the only listing here that states noise as 57 dB LpA. UK-dated reviews describe it as quiet enough to run in a garage without ear defenders, with an upright tank, rubber feet, and a small footprint; one UK reviewer runs an impact wrench on it. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 481 ratings, and many scraped reviews are not in English, so that count is not a UK-only sample. Airflow is absent, so you cannot match a gun to a CFM on this page. The title says 240 V and the table says 220 V; one UK reviewer received an EU-spec unit after being told it would be UK spec. Fill is slower than a conventional compressor, in those reviews, and one unit would not start. You pay the most for the clearest noise label, and you still do not get an airflow figure.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a stated LpA for a garage that shares a wall, and you will not size a tool from this page.
Less suitable: You need a CFM before you buy, or you expected a confirmed BS 1363 plug in the box.
Specifications
Common questions
What noise figure does Einhell print?
The bullets say 57 dB LpA. The specification sound line is 57 decibels.
Is airflow listed?
No airflow figure is in the raw specification table or the bullets.
Which voltage is on the page?
The title says 240 V. The specification table says 220 V. The plug type is not stated. One UK review says an EU-spec unit arrived.
The Orazio 241184 is listed at £129.99 with 4.4 from 334 amazon.co.uk ratings, and the first 50 UK-dated reviews that are about this size use it for an airbrush, small spray jobs, and garage blowing. Several say it is much quieter than an old piston compressor, though one reviewer quotes the 65 dB line and says it is not silent and not for unsocial hours indoors. The title says 24 litres; the bullets and the tank-volume line say 20 litres. Maximum pressure is 700 kPa, which is 7 bar, and some reviewers found the switch cutting out below the 8 bar they expected. Airflow is 125 L/min with no free-air label, and the voltage line is 220 V. One unit did not reach 2 bar in 8.5 minutes and was returned; another motor overheated after about six weeks of airbrush use. Reviewers also report a shallow 1/4 inch outlet, leaks, and weld spatter in the tank. You are mid-price, and you are not buying a confirmed 24 litre tank at 8 bar.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Airbrush or light spraying, once you have read the 20 litre line and the 7 bar cut-out.
Less suitable: You need a confirmed 24 litre receiver at 8 bar, or a fitting that matches every UK hose.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the tank 24 litres or 20 litres?
The title and the capacity line say 24 litres. The bullets say the actual tank capacity is 20 L, and the tank-volume line says 20 litres.
What maximum pressure is listed?
700 kPa, which is 7 bar. The listing does not state 8 bar in the specification table.
The Bimson Power 24L is the £114.99 machine in this set, an oil-free 24 litre tank at 750 W, 230 V, and 116 psi, weighing 22 kg. Across 26 UK-dated reviews it shows nail-gun work away from a larger garage compressor, tyre fitting, dust blowing, and a casting pot at 60 psi, and several people call it quiet enough to talk beside while it fills. The listing itself states no airflow and no decibel figure, so that quiet comment is not a number you can compare with a labelled LpA. One reviewer sprayed a fence and then found it would not start after 12 months and only two uses. The included line is a user manual; another review says tools arrived as a separate package, and a fitting leak left the tank empty at the next start. It is 4.4 from 51 ratings. You pay the least, and you buy without a CFM.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the lowest price for tyres, a nail gun, or a blow gun, and you can accept an unstated airflow.
Less suitable: You need a CFM or a decibel figure before you buy a spray gun.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Bimson listing state airflow or noise?
No. The specification table gives 750 W, 230 V, a 24 litre tank and 116 psi. Airflow and decibels are not stated
What is in the box?
The included-components line says a user manual. One reviewer says tools and accessories arrived as a separate package.
The Einhell TC-AC 190/24/8 is the only oil-lubricated compressor in this set, at £129.95, and the first 50 UK-dated reviews use it for tyres, blowing, a small spray gun, and seating a motorcycle bead. It is listed at 97 dB, and those reviewers call it very loud. A dual-action sander and an LVLP gun are where it struggles, and fence spraying drops the pressure quickly. The bullets say 1,100 W continuous and 165 L/min; the table says 1,500 W and 2 hp, and 165 L/min is not labelled as free air delivery. UK reviews describe a continental two-pin plug, a PCL outlet, a missing threaded oil plug, oil in the carton, gasket leaks, and oil from the cylinder head after light use. The table lists a 5 metre hose; reviewers say none was in the box. The score is 4.1 from 251 ratings. You only take this if you will keep oil in the pump and you can tolerate 97 dB.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A detached workshop, you will check the oil before the first start, and you will fit a BS 1363 plug if the lead is two-pin.
Less suitable: A shared house, bare spray work, or a buyer who expected an oil-free pump.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this Einhell need oil?
Yes. The listing says the pump is oil-lubricated. Reviews mention a missing threaded oil plug, oil in the carton, and oil leaks.
Does it come with a UK plug?
The table says 230 V. UK reviews say the lead has a continental two-pin plug and needs a 13 A plug fitted.
Is the hose included?
The specification table lists a hose length of 5 metres. Reviewers say no hose was in the box. The included line says air compressor.
The SIP Airmate V215/25 is a vertical oil-free 24 litre compressor at £159.00, listed at 1.1 kW, 8 bar, 14.2 kg, and 6.4 CFM. That 6.4 CFM is not labelled as free air delivery or as displacement. The specification says 97 dB while the title says low noise, and the single UK review, dated 29 January 2018 and scored 3.0, says ear defenders made the noise usable. That reviewer also found the packaging already open and thought the unit might have been a previous return. The footprint is 32 × 32 × 64 cm, which is the smallest floor plan here, on 230 V with a 13 A line. Wheels, a regulator, and a drain are not stated. Air brushing is a recommended use on the listing, not a result from a review pile. You are near the top of this price band with one owner comment.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You have a corner for a vertical tank and you will not treat one review as a verdict.
Less suitable: A quiet shared house, or anyone who wants a review sample before spending £159.
Specifications
Common questions
How many UK reviews does this SIP listing have?
The saved listing has one UK review, scored 3.0. That reviewer mentions noise and packaging that looked already opened.
Does the listing say the 6.4 CFM figure is free air delivery?
No. It prints 6.4 CFM and does not say whether that is displacement or free air delivery.
Scores use the seven amazon.co.uk listings kept for this page, with prices, stars and review counts saved on 19 October 2026. UK-dated review notes cover tyres, nail guns, small spray jobs, oil leaks, a continental plug, smoke on first start and tanks that arrived with blast media. Public UK sources cover pressure-system duties and workplace noise thresholds. There is no lab test. A second, conflicting figure on the same listing costs points. Weights sum to 100.
Amazon evidence
35%Star rating scaled, then review count. A single review, or a count that includes many non-English texts, scores lower than a large UK-dated sample. A repeated defect, such as smoke, an oil leak or a no-start, comes off this block.
Listing clarity
40%Tank litres that agree with the title, an airflow figure that is at least not contradicted on the same page, noise labelled LpA or LwA, pressure stated, lubrication stated, a voltage or plug usable in the UK, and movement stated. A second, conflicting figure on the same page costs points.
Value
25%Shelf price in GBP against what that listing actually states. The lowest price can score well here without becoming the top pick when airflow and noise are missing.
Shelf prices in this set run from about £114.99 to £169.93. The decision is not the litre badge on the title. It is whether the airflow lines agree, whether noise is labelled, whether the tank is really 24 litres, and whether the plug is usable on a UK socket. Six of the seven machines are oil-free. Only the Einhell TC-AC 190/24/8 needs oil in the pump.
A 24 litre air compressor in this comparison is a corded machine with a steel receiver of about 24 litres. You set the working pressure on a regulator and you rely on a safety valve. UK reviews in this set use the machines for tyres, a blow gun, a nailer or a small spray gun. Cordless inflators were left out.

A 1 hp or 1,100 W line is motor power, not how long the pump can run. None of these listings states a duty cycle. A trade article’s “about 50 percent” for this pump class is a rule of thumb, and this page does not assign it.
Intake or displacement is larger than free air delivery at a working pressure. Hyundai prints 5.2 CFM and 2.65 CFM on one page. Hychika prints 160 L/min and 60 L/min. Use both lines, not the bigger one.
Orazio’s title says 24 litres. The bullets and the tank-volume line say 20 litres, and maximum pressure is 700 kPa (7 bar). Read the specification table before you compare it with a confirmed 24 litre receiver at 8 bar.
A tool needs free air delivery at a stated pressure. Displacement, or intake, is a larger number, and it is not the air the gun receives. One CFM is about 28.3 L/min. That is a conversion for the table, not a lab result. On the Hyundai HY7524X the bullets say 5.2 CFM and 150 L/min, and the specification table says 2.65 CFM. On the Hychika the bullets say 160 L/min intake and the table says 60 L/min. Neither page says which line is free air delivery.
The Einhell TE-AC 24 Silent is the only listing here that states noise as 57 dB LpA. Hyundai prints 60 dB, Orazio 65 dB, and Hychika 62 dB in the table and 68 dB in the bullets. The SIP Airmate and the oil-lubricated Einhell print 97 dB. A bare decibel figure is not labelled sound pressure or sound power, and it is not your personal exposure. The Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005 set 80, 85 and 87 dB(A) for work. HSE says those duties do not apply to the public’s non-work exposure.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want tyres, a blow gun and a nailer without a machine listed at 97 dB. Start with an oil-free unit that has wheels and a regulator, and do not treat 5.2 CFM as the air the tool receives.
You want the lowest shelf price for tyres, a nail gun or a blow gun, and you can accept a listing that states no airflow and no decibels. One review reports a no-start after two uses.
You want a stated LpA figure for a garage that shares a wall. This is the only listing at 57 dB LpA. It states no airflow, and one UK order arrived as an EU-spec unit.
The top pick is the Hyundai HY7524X at about £149.95. It has the largest UK review sample, 4.6 from 1,072 ratings, and an oil-free 24 litre kit with wheels. The bullets say 5.2 CFM and the table says 2.65 CFM, so you still have two airflow numbers. The best value is the Bimson Power 24L at about £114.99, 4.4 from 51 ratings, on a usable oil-free tank. It stays off the top pick because airflow and noise are not on the listing. The Hychika scores next on stars from a thin sample, with doubled airflow and noise lines. The Einhell TE-AC 24 Silent is the only labelled 57 dB LpA, at the highest price and with no airflow. The oil-lubricated Einhell and the SIP are both listed at 97 dB.

Hyundai HY7524X 24L
Highest score: 4.6 from 1,072 ratings and a complete oil-free kit. Two CFM lines stay on the page.

Bimson Power 24L
Lowest shelf price at about £114.99, 4.4 from 51 ratings, with airflow and noise unstated.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings below. Listings checked on 19 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use the amazon.co.uk listings and the public UK sources below. We did not run a lab test.