Nailer and tyres in a garage
You want the longest amazon.co.uk review file for intermittent nailing and tyre inflation, and a stated 95 dB is acceptable. Check the plug on arrival. Ten bar is in the title and a bullet, not in a pressure row.
The best 50 L vertical air compressors, compared.
Top pick: SIP Airmate 50 L Best value: Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF – Highest score per pound among listings with at least 100 ratings and without an unusable specification cell. Updated October 2026.
A 50 L vertical air compressor is a portable electric piston machine with an upright receiver of about 50 litres. The tank stores air for a short job. It does not raise the continuous output of the pump. Tyres and a brad nailer are the jobs reviewers describe as workable. Stated noise is 59 dB and 62 dB on two of them, and 90 dB to 97 dB on the other three. Only the states a fitted 13 A plug. The weight cell says 30 g and its power cell says 1.47 W. The [50 L vertical air compressor buying guide](/hub/compressors/vertical-air-compressor-50l/sub/vertical-air-compressor-50l-buying-guide) sets out airflow, pressure, the noise label, and the plug. An upright tank uses less floor and more height.
A 50 L vertical air compressor is a portable electric piston machine with an upright receiver of about 50 litres. The tank stores air for a short job. It does not raise the continuous output of the pump.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 5Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What matters more on the day you buy?
The SIP Airmate SIP-05483 is the only kept listing that states both 4.7 CFM free air delivery and a fitted 13 A plug on a 1.3 m lead, at about £263.98. Three UK texts, behind a 5.0 from four ratings, call it quieter than a cheap compressor the same buyer returned, well built, and not quite silent. No defect is named in those three texts. Four ratings cannot show whether the motor, the 8 bar switch, or the stated 62 dB label still look the same after a year. The table also states 9.6 CFM piston displacement, about twice the free-air figure, so the larger number is not the air you get at the tool. At 30.5 kg it is the heaviest machine in this set, with solid wheels and two quick-release couplers.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants a stated free-air figure and a fitted 13 A plug, and who will treat four ratings as a first impression
Less suitable: Anyone reading four five-star ratings as a reliability record, or a job that needs the stated 10 bar of the noisier listings
Specifications
Common questions
Does the SIP state a UK 13 A plug?
Yes. The included-components line says a 1.3 m mains cable with a 230 V/13 A plug.
Which airflow figure is free air delivery?
The bullet states 4.7 CFM free air delivery at 116 psi (8 bar). It also states 9.6 CFM piston displacement, which is the table airflow.
What noise level is stated?
The specification table says 62 decibels. The SIP page for 05483 separates 62 dB(A) LpA from 84 dB(A) LwA. This comparison did not measure either figure.
The Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF has the longest review file in this set, 4.3 from 2,487 amazon.co.uk reviews, at about £212.95. UK reviewers use the upright tank for nailers and inflators, and they praise the small footprint and the wheels, including on gravel. Very noisy is the complaint that repeats, and the table states 95 dB. The same file includes a burning plastic smell on day one, a motor that failed within a year, a damaged plug the buyer says Einhell would not pay to replace, and a missing wheel nut. Ten bar is in the title and a bullet, not in a pressure row, and the model-name cell says TH-AC 240/50/10 OF while the title says TC-AC. The included-components cell says only the air receiver tank, while the bullets also name a gauge, a coupling, a drain, and a pressure switch. Airflow is 240 L/min and is not labelled free air delivery.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Intermittent nailing and tyre inflation where a stated 95 dB is acceptable and you will check the plug on arrival
Less suitable: A shared wall, a continuous sander, or a buyer who needs one pressure figure in the specification table
Specifications
Common questions
Is 10 bar in the specification table?
No. 10 bar and 145 psi are in the title, and 10 bar is in a bullet. There is no maximum-pressure row.
What is in the box?
The included-components cell says the air receiver tank. Bullets also name a gauge, a coupling, a drain, a safety valve, and wheels.
Which model name is on the listing?
The title says TC-AC 240/50/10 OF. The model-name cell says TH-AC 240/50/10 OF. Both stay.
The Stanley DST 150/8/50V carries the lowest stated noise in this set, 59 dB, at about £268.52 and 4.2 from 1,020 reviews. Reviewers, mostly outside the UK, use it for tyres, stapling, and light blowing, and several put a fill from empty toward 8 bar at about four to five minutes. A phone reading near the cylinders was about 70 dB against that 59 dB label, so the quieter claim is the listing, not a measurement in a UK garage. The tank empties quickly on a blow gun or a sander, and several buyers say it stops near 6 bar rather than 8 bar. The voltage cell says 50 V while a bullet says UK Plug, and that cell is left as written. The specification table does not state a lubrication method, though several reviews describe the pump as oil-free. One buyer reports about five years of weekly workshop use, beside reviews of bent wheel supports and a first unit that smoked.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Tyres and stapling beside a shared wall, if you treat 59 dB as a label and you confirm the plate before you plug it in
Less suitable: Continuous sanding or spraying, or a buyer who needs the voltage cell to say 230 V
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing say 230 V?
No. The voltage cell says 50 volts. A bullet says UK Plug. Neither figure was changed.
Is it oil-free?
The specification table does not state a lubrication method. Several reviews describe the pump as oil-free. The table cell stays empty.
What noise level is stated?
The table says 59 decibels. A bullet says very low noise 59 dB. This comparison did not measure it.
The Stanley D230/10/50V is the cheaper Stanley in this set, at about £196.08, with 4.2 from 214 amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated 10 bar, a stated 90 dB, and 222 L/min that is not labelled free air delivery. UK reviews use it with a nail gun and call the pressure good for that job, and one workshop user bought a second unit over ten years. Those same UK reviews call it very noisy in the room you are standing in. The pressure switch is described as fixed, and some units stick around 6 to 7 bar and never cut out. A UK review says one stopped after eight months, and the switch failed on two successive units. The weight cell says 30 g and the maximum-power cell says 1.47 W, beside a bullet that says 2 hp, so those two cells are not a guide to what you lift or what the motor draws. A fitted 13 A plug is not named. One buyer timed a fill under nine minutes, and another about four minutes.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A nail gun and tyre top-ups, if you can live with a stated 90 dB and you will watch whether it actually reaches 10 bar
Less suitable: A quiet garage, continuous running, or a buyer who needs the weight and power cells to be usable
Specifications
Common questions
Does it need oil?
A bullet calls it an oilless compressor that is maintenance-free. Water still condenses in the tank.
Why are the weight and power cells odd?
The weight cell says 30 g and the maximum-power cell says 1.47 watts. A bullet says 2 hp and the horsepower row says 1.97 hp. All four figures stay on the listing.
Does the listing state a UK plug?
It states 230 V. A fitted 13 A plug is not named.
The ABAC Ease-AIR 50V is a 22.5 kg oil-free upright listed at about £195.99, with a stated 10 bar and 220 L/min labelled as aspirated air rather than free air delivery. Across 205 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.6. One buyer timed about three minutes from empty to 10 bar, and others use it for tyres, blowing, and light cleaning. Loudness is the complaint that keeps returning, and one buyer says the noise matches the stated 97 dB. The pump runs hot: one melted filter was blamed on a motor that did not cut out. The same signals include early motor failure, trips, leaks, and a cut-out that never opens. A pneumatic sander emptied the tank in about a minute, and the first 50 review blocks are almost all from outside the UK. The included line is a Type G adaptor and a manual, not a fitted 13 A plug.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Tyre inflation and short blowing jobs, if you can tolerate a stated 97 dB and you will check that the motor actually stops
Less suitable: Continuous sanding, a shared wall, or a buyer who needs a fitted 13 A plug and a cut-out you can trust
Specifications
Common questions
Does the ABAC come with a fitted UK plug?
The included-components line is a Type G adaptor and a user manual. A fitted 13 A plug is not stated.
Is the Ease-AIR oil-free?
Yes. The title and the special-features line both say oil-free. Water still condenses in the receiver.
What airflow figure is on the listing?
The bullet calls 220 L/min aspirated air flow. It is not labelled free air delivery.
Five amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 15 October 2026. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK lines. There was no lab test. Conflicts stay as written, including a 50 V cell and cells of 30 g and 1.47 W. The four weights below sum to 100.
Amazon stars, damped by review count
40%Star points are the rating divided by 5, then multiplied by 40 and by a sample factor: 0.4 under 10 ratings, 0.7 from 10 to 49, 0.9 from 50 to 199, and 1.0 from 200 upwards.
Listing clarity
20%Points cover a pressure row, an airflow figure, a free-air label, an oil-free line, a stated UK plug or Type G adaptor, and wheels or a carry handle.
Review sentiment
25%Points cover a named job, reaching the stated bar and cutting out, a quieter comment with at least 50 ratings, a multi-year or second-purchase report, and UK texts that name the job or the noise.
Price
15%Shelf prices on 15 October 2026 run from about £195.99 to £268.52. The dearest listing scores 3. The cheapest scores 15.
Choose on the airflow label, the pressure row, the stated noise, and the plug. The tank shape comes after those four. Prices below are the five amazon.co.uk shelves on 15 October 2026.
A 50 litre vertical air compressor is a portable electric piston compressor with an upright receiver of about 50 litres. The tank stores a volume of air so a short tool can run after the pump has stopped. It does not increase the air the pump can deliver all the time. Heights on the five listings kept here are about 83 to 101 cm, on footprints of about 32 to 40 cm. An upright tank uses less floor and more height. Twelve raw amazon.co.uk listings were read on 15 October 2026.

The ABAC calls 220 L/min aspirated. The Einhell, the DST, and the D230 give litres per minute that are not labelled free air delivery. The SIP states 4.7 CFM free air delivery and 9.6 CFM displacement. The larger SIP number is intake, not the air at the coupler.
The DST voltage cell says 50 V. The D230 weight cell says 30 g and the power cell says 1.47 W. Leave them. A UK Plug bullet, or a 2 hp bullet, does not overwrite the cell. Confirm the plate on the machine you unpack.
The SIP is 5.0 from four ratings, with three UK texts and no named defect. That sample cannot show a motor, a switch, or a 62 dB label after a year. A 4.3 from 2,487 reviews still includes early failures.
Start with the air figure the listing actually names. Free air delivery is outlet air at inlet conditions. Displacement, or a line marked aspirated, is intake. The SIP is the only kept listing that states both: 4.7 CFM free air delivery and 9.6 CFM displacement, at a stated 8 bar. The ABAC states 220 L/min aspirated and 10 bar. The Einhell states 240 L/min with no free-air label, and 10 bar sits in the title and a bullet rather than a pressure row. The DST states 150 L/min and 8 bar.
The quieter labels in this set are 59 dB on the Stanley DST and 62 dB on the SIP. The other three state 90 dB, 95 dB, and 97 dB. Do not subtract one label from another. The SIP page separates 62 dB(A) LpA from 84 dB(A) LwA, and the table on this page keeps the Amazon 62 dB line. A phone reading in one DST review was about 70 dB near the cylinders. At work, action values are 80 and 85 dB(A), and the exposure limit is 87 dB(A) after hearing protection. The figure on the tank is not that exposure.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want the longest amazon.co.uk review file for intermittent nailing and tyre inflation, and a stated 95 dB is acceptable. Check the plug on arrival. Ten bar is in the title and a bullet, not in a pressure row.
You want the lowest stated noise in this set, 59 dB, for tyres and stapling. Treat that figure as a label. The voltage cell says 50 V while a bullet says UK Plug, so read the plate before you plug it in.
You want a listing that states both 4.7 CFM free air delivery and a fitted 13 A plug. The star line is 5.0 from four ratings. That is a first impression, not a year of use.
The Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF and the Stanley D230/10/50V both score 52. The tie goes to the Einhell, at about £212.95 with 4.3 from 2,487 amazon.co.uk reviews, against 214 reviews on the D230. That is the top pick inside this comparison, not a laboratory result. The same Einhell is the best value: highest score per pound among listings with at least 100 ratings and without an unusable cell. The D230 at about £196.08 would lead that sum if the 30 g and 1.47 W cells were ignored. They are not. The Stanley DST at about £268.52 is the 59 dB label, with a voltage cell that still says 50 V.

Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF
Highest score per pound among listings with at least 100 ratings and without an unusable specification cell.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources and the SIP product page for the split noise figures. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines from 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.