Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Hyundai HY7524X 24 litre – Highest score: 24 litres that match the title, 1,072 reviews, and a dealer sheet that splits displacement from free air delivery. Best value: Hyundai HY5508X 8 litre – Cheapest listing that prints a decibel, agrees on tank size, states a UK plug, and has at least 100 reviews. Updated 20 October 2026.
You separate the machines by receiver litres, whether airflow is displacement or free air delivery, the maximum pressure, and whether the decibel line is sound pressure or sound power. Catalogue cells disagree, so this page shows the conflict. Litres, airflow and the plug are set out in the [silent compressor buying guide](/hub/compressors/silent-compressor/sub/silent-compressor-buying-guide).
The jobs on those pages are a garage, a home workshop, nailers, tyres and light spraying. Handheld tyre inflators are a different product and are not in the set. They are not belt-drive workshop compressors and not cordless tyre pumps.
A silent compressor, in the UK listings, is a corded electric air compressor with a receiver, an oil-free pump and a low-noise claim.
You separate the machines by receiver litres, whether airflow is displacement or free air delivery, the maximum pressure, and whether the decibel line is sound pressure or sound power.
You separate the machines by receiver litres, whether airflow is displacement or free air delivery, the maximum pressure, and whether the decibel line is sound pressure or sound power. Catalogue cells disagree, so this page shows the conflict. Litres, airflow and the plug are set out in the [silent compressor buying guide](/hub/compressors/silent-compressor/sub/silent-compressor-buying-guide).
The jobs on those pages are a garage, a home workshop, nailers, tyres and light spraying. Handheld tyre inflators are a different product and are not in the set. They are not belt-drive workshop compressors and not cordless tyre pumps.
A silent compressor, in the UK listings, is a corded electric air compressor with a receiver, an oil-free pump and a low-noise claim.
You separate the machines by receiver litres, whether airflow is displacement or free air delivery, the maximum pressure, and whether the decibel line is sound pressure or sound power. Catalogue cells disagree, so this page shows the conflict. Litres, airflow and the plug are set out in the silent compressor buying guide. The jobs on those pages are a garage, a home workshop, nailers, tyres and light spraying. Handheld tyre inflators are a different product and are not in the set.
Across 1,072 amazon.co.uk reviews rated 4.6, the Hyundai HY7524X is the £149.95 oil-free 24 litre compressor UK reviewers use for hobby woodturning, spraying, nailers, and tyres after moving off a noisier oil-filled machine. The listing states 750 W, 230 V, 22 kg, 8 bar in the table, and 60 decibels, with wheels, a handle, twin gauges, and Euro connectors in the bullets, plus a 2-year warranty. The bullets print 5.2 CFM and 150 litres a minute; the table prints 2.65 CFM. A UK dealer sheet for this model treats 5.2 CFM as displacement and 2.65 CFM as free air delivery, and it places the 60 dB figure at 7 metres, which the amazon table does not say. One reviewer put working pressure near 100 psi and wanted more for a brad nailer. Repeated notes are a thread leak fixed with PTFE tape, a damaged gauge replaced by the seller, and steel shot in a new tank that rattled until it was drained. You get the longest UK review record here, and you still have two airflow numbers on one page.
Pros
4.6 from 1,072 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set
24 litres, oil-free, 230 V, 22 kg, wheels and a handle in the bullets
2-year warranty, twin gauges, and Euro connectors named on the listing
A UK dealer sheet labels 2.65 CFM as free air delivery and 5.2 CFM as displacement
Cons
Amazon prints 5.2 CFM in the bullets and 2.65 CFM in the table
60 decibels on amazon, with the 7 metre distance only on the dealer sheet
A reviewer wanted more than about 100 psi for a brad nailer
Hose not listed; reviews mention a thread leak, a damaged gauge, and steel shot in a new tank
Best for: You want 24 litres and the longest UK review record here for nailers, tyres, and light spraying.
Less suitable: You need a single airflow figure on the amazon page, or a brad nailer that must run above the pressure reviewers observed.
Across 989 amazon.co.uk reviews rated 4.5, the Hyundai HY5508X is the £129.99 oil-free 8 litre machine UK reviewers use indoors for an upholstery stapler, brads, and finish work. The table says 550 W, 100 psi, 60 decibels, 15 kg, and 230 V, and the bullets add a 13 A UK plug, Euro quick-release connectors, and a 2-year warranty. The airflow cell says 2 cubic centimetres a minute, which is not a usable compressor figure, while the bullets say 4 CFM and 120 litres a minute. Reviewers say the box has no hose and no tyre attachments, and one buyer budgeted about £25 extra. A regulator layout that did not suit airbrushing without another fitting also comes up. You get the second-largest review count in this set, and you still do not get one airflow number or a distance on the 60 decibel line.
Pros
8 litre tank that matches the title, at £129.99
4.5 from 989 amazon.co.uk reviews, with indoor stapler and brad use in UK reviews
Bullets state a 13 A UK plug, Euro connectors, and a 2-year warranty
15 kg, 47 x 17 x 52 cm, oil-free, 550 W
Cons
Airflow cell says 2 cubic centimetres a minute; bullets say 4 CFM and 120 L/min
60 decibels with no distance and no LpA or LwA
Maximum pressure on the table is 100 psi
UK reviews say there is no hose and no tyre kit in the box
Best for: You want indoor brads or an upholstery stapler, a stated 13 A plug, and a large review count.
Less suitable: You need a hose in the box, one usable airflow figure, or pressure above 100 psi.
8 litres in the title and in the tank-volume cell.
Does the box include a hose for tyres?
The included-components field says air compressor. A UK review says there is no hose and no tyre attachments, and that an extra fitting was needed for pressure control.
What noise figure is printed?
The sound-level cell says 60 decibels. It does not state a distance or LpA versus LwA.
The HYCHIKA 880W-24L is an oil-free 24 litre, 230 V compressor at £124.84, rated 4.5 from 27 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviewers have used it for a small spray gun, car valeting, and quieter running next to an older compressor, and one box included an extra spray nozzle. The same thin sample says the pump gets hot in heavy use, fills more slowly than the buyer expected, and, in one day-one report, smoked with a burning smell. The table says 62 decibels and 60 litres a minute; a bullet says 68 dB and 160 litres a minute intake. Weight is 21.8 kg in the table and 16.7 kg in a bullet, and the model number is 880W while the bullets say 1,100 W max. With 27 ratings, that smoke report is one review, not a failure rate, and it is still too small a pile to prefer this page over a listing whose cells agree.
Pros
24 litres, oil-free, 230 V, at £124.84
UK reviewers used a small spray gun and a valeting job on it
Bullets describe two wheels and two handles
Maximum current of 4.8 A is in the same range as a 1,100 W claim on 230 V
Cons
62 dB in the table and 68 dB in a bullet, with no LpA or LwA
160 L/min intake against 60 L/min in the table
21.8 kg in the table and 16.7 kg in a bullet; model number 880W against 1,100 W max
27 reviews, including one day-one report of smoke and a burning smell
Best for: You already accept a 27-review sample and you will not treat 160 litres a minute intake as free air.
Less suitable: You want specification cells that agree, or a day-one smoke report in a small sample is enough to put you off.
The specification table says 62 decibels. A bullet says 68 dB. Neither states a distance or whether the figure is sound pressure or sound power.
Can the title’s uses be read off the box list?
The title names spraying, an air nailer, and tyre inflation. Included components are only the line “Air compressors”. One review mentions an extra spray nozzle.
How much does it weigh?
The item-weight cell says 21.8 kg. A bullet says 16.7 kg and describes two wheels and two handles.
Across 334 amazon.co.uk reviews rated 4.4, the ORAZIO 241183 is the £95.99 oil-free portable that UK reviewers use for light spraying and as a quieter stand-in for an old hardware-store compressor. The title and the capacity cell say 9 litres, 550 W, and 116 psi, while the tank-volume cell says 45 litres, so you cannot treat the receiver size as settled. Bullets print 65 dB(A) and 73 litres a minute, and the voltage cell says 220 V. Reviewers report leaks at fittings on arrival, a cut-out nearer 7 bar than the 8 bar they expected, metal debris in the tank, and a manual that asks for Teflon piston rings every six months when spares were not available. It is quieter than a common DIY compressor in those reviews, and it is not silent in a house at night. The included line is a filter, not a hose.
Pros
£95.99, the lowest shelf price in this set, at 4.4 from 334 amazon.co.uk reviews
UK reviews use it for light spraying and call it quieter than an old DIY compressor
Bullets state 65 dB(A), oil-free, and 73 litres a minute
16.5 kg with rubber feet named in the bullets
Cons
Title and capacity say 9 litres; the tank-volume cell says 45 litres
Voltage cell says 220 V, and no hose is listed
UK reviews cite fitting leaks, a cut-out nearer 7 bar, tank debris, and unavailable piston rings
Quieter than a cheap compressor in reviews, and not silent at night
Best for: You want the lowest price here for light spraying and you will read the tank plate before you trust 9 litres.
Less suitable: You need a settled receiver size, a stated UK plug, or night-time use in a shared house.
The title and the capacity cell say 9 litres. The tank-volume cell says 45 litres. The listing does not resolve that.
Does it need oil?
The bullets say it is oil-free and needs no daily maintenance. A review says the manual asks for Teflon piston rings every six months and that spares were not available.
What voltage does the table show?
The voltage cell says 220 volts. UK mains are not restated on the listing.
The ABAC Ease-AIR 6 is a 6 litre, 8 bar, 0.75 hp, 230 V oil-free compressor at £155.99 and 15.3 kg, rated 4.4 from 291 amazon.co.uk reviews. The table says 49 decibels and the bullets say 49 dBA, with airflow of 110 litres a minute described as aspirated air. Included parts are a Type G UK adaptor and a user manual, not a moulded BS 1363 plug named on the cord. The review texts saved with that file are from outside the United Kingdom, so the star count is not a UK narrative. Those reviews praise a fast fill of the small tank and use on nailers, tyres, and blowing, and they say a 6 litre receiver cycles often. A Belgian reviewer writes that the advert says 49 dB(A) while the machine is marked 67 dB Lwa. You pay the most in this set for the lowest printed decibel and the smallest tank, and you still have to check the adaptor and the sound-power mark on arrival.
Pros
6 litre tank that agrees with the title, 8 bar, 15.3 kg
Listing prints 49 dB and 49 dBA, the lowest decibel line in this set
110 litres a minute, described as aspirated air, at 230 V
Box list includes a Type G UK adaptor and a manual
Cons
£155.99 is the highest price here, for a 6 litre receiver
Saved review texts are not from the United Kingdom
A non-UK reviewer says the machine is marked 67 dB Lwa against a 49 dB(A) advert
An adaptor is listed; a moulded BS 1363 plug is not named
Best for: You want the only 49 dB line in this set for a small indoor tank and you will check the adaptor and any Lwa mark.
Less suitable: You need a UK review narrative, a 24 litre receiver, or a moulded plug named in the box list.
What noise figure does the amazon.co.uk listing print?
49 decibels in the table and 49 dBA in the bullets. Reviews saved with the saved listing, from outside the United Kingdom, say the machine is marked 67 dB Lwa.
What plug parts are listed?
Included components are a Type G (UK) adaptor and a user manual. A moulded BS 1363 plug is not named.
The Bimson Power AC-230V-1450-24L is a 24 litre, 750 W, 230 V oil-free compressor at £114.99 and 22 kg, rated 4.4 from 51 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviewers have used it on finishing nailers and on a first-fix framing nailer with 90 mm nails for garden work, and one said a spray gun seemed to have air while the tank was filling. The same file says it is not the machine for painting a car. The listing calls it quiet and low-noise and prints neither a decibel nor an airflow figure, so you cannot compare it with a 60 dB line on another page. Faults in that small sample include a unit that would not start after months of little use, and a fitting leak that emptied the tank. Included components are a user manual. The item highlight states a 2-year warranty.
Pros
24 litre tank that agrees with the title, at £114.99
230 V, oil-free, 116 psi, 750 W, 22 kg
A UK reviewer used it with a framing nailer and 90 mm nails
Item highlight states a 2-year warranty
Cons
No decibel figure and no airflow figure on the listing
Only 51 amazon.co.uk reviews
A reviewer said it is not for painting a car
One no-start after light use, and a fitting leak that emptied the tank
Best for: You want 24 litres at the lower price for intermittent nailers and you can buy without a printed decibel.
Less suitable: You need a CFM or a decibel you can compare, or you are painting a car.
None. The bullets and the item highlight say low noise or quiet, and the specification table has no sound-level cell.
Are tyre attachments included?
Included components are a user manual. A hose, a chuck, and couplers are not listed. The listing asks whether it can inflate tyres and does not answer that in the table.
What pressure and tank does it list?
24 litres and 116 psi, at 750 W and 230 V, oil-free, 22 kg.
How we compared
For this comparison we read six silent-compressor listings on amazon.co.uk, shelf date 19 October 2026, plus the review patterns recorded for those ASINs and the Metro Sales sheet for the Hyundai HY7524X where it separates displacement from free air delivery. Scores use the weights below. This is not a laboratory test. A bare decibel is not an LpA, and a quiet title with no number is not a measurement.
1
Amazon evidence
30%
Star points use the listing average above 4.0, capped, plus a step for review volume. Under 30 reviews the volume step adds nothing. The two parts together cannot exceed 30.
2
Listing clarity
40%
Tank litres that agree with the title, a readable noise figure, one airflow figure, a stated pressure, oil-free, and 230 V with a named UK plug score higher. A second tank figure, conflicting decibels, an unusable airflow cell, or a Type G adaptor without a moulded plug score lower.
3
Review outcome
15%
A large UK-dated file that names a job and a limit scores higher. A thin file, a day-one smoke report, or saved review text that is not from the United Kingdom scores lower. One defect report is not a failure rate.
4
Value
15%
Shelf price in GBP is set against a receiver you can identify. The lowest price does not win when the tank cell contradicts the title, and a missing decibel costs points in a category sold as silent.
Independent review
Last updated: 20 October 2026
8 sources checked
Silent compressor buying guide
Choose the air the tool needs, then the receiver, then a decibel line you can interpret. A quiet title is not a measurement, and the shelf price does not include a hose.
What is a silent compressor?
A silent compressor, in the UK listings kept for this comparison, is a corded electric air compressor with a receiver, an oil-free pump and a low-noise claim. The jobs on those pages are a garage, a home workshop, nailers, tyres and light spraying. Handheld tyre inflators are a different product and are not in the set. The machines here are oil-free direct-drive portables. They are not belt-drive workshop compressors and not cordless tyre pumps.
Best for
Home workshops that need brads, staples, tyres or light spraying without a belt-drive machine
Second-fix work where an 8 litre tank and a stated 13 A UK plug matter more than a 24 litre receiver
Not ideal for
Anyone ranking 49 dB, 60 dB, 62 dB, 65 dB and 68 dB as if they were the same measurement
A car paint job, breathable air, or a receiver size you have not checked on the tank plate
Mistakes to avoid
1
Ranking unlike decibels
ABAC’s 49 dB line, the Hyundai 60 dB cells, ORAZIO’s 65 dB(A) and HYCHIKA’s 62 dB and 68 dB are not one measurement. A non-UK review says the ABAC machine is marked 67 dB Lwa. A SIP page prints both LpA and LwA for one 24 litre model. A quiet title with no number, as on the Bimson listing, is not a result.
2
Trusting the bullet flow
The Hyundai 24 litre bullets say 5.2 CFM. The table says 2.65 CFM. A dealer sheet splits those into displacement and free air delivery. The Hyundai 8 litre table cell says 2 cubic centimetres a minute against a 4 CFM bullet. HYCHIKA’s 160 L/min intake is not the 60 L/min table cell. Use the free-air figure you can identify.
3
Expecting a hose, or dry air
Several boxes list the compressor and a manual, not a hose or a tyre kit. A Euro coupler may not match the fittings you own. Oil-free means no oil checks on these pages. It does not mean the air is dry or breathable. Drain the tank, and call a professional if the safety valve, tank or switch is damaged, or if the pump smoked.
What to weigh up
Air the tool needs
High
Match free air delivery, not the horsepower or wattage line. On these pages the two numbers often disagree, and the disagreement is the fact you buy with. The Hyundai HY7524X bullets say 5.2 CFM and 150 litres a minute. The table says 2.65 CFM. A UK dealer sheet for the same model treats 5.2 CFM as displacement and 2.65 CFM as free air delivery. Amazon still prints both, so do not pick the larger bullet as the air a nailer will see. The Hyundai HY5508X bullets say 4 CFM and 120 litres a minute.
Noise quantity and the plug
High
A bare decibel is not a sound-pressure level, and a quiet title with no number is not a measurement. ABAC prints 49 dB and 49 dBA. Both Hyundais print 60 dB, with no distance on the amazon table. A dealer sheet for the Hyundai 24 litre places that 60 dB at 7 metres, which the amazon cell does not say. ORAZIO prints 65 dB(A). HYCHIKA prints 62 dB in the table and 68 dB in a bullet. Bimson prints none.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
Home workshop
You want a garage or indoor machine for brads, staples, tyres and light spraying, with a 24 litre receiver and the longest UK review record in this set. The Hyundai HY7524X is the top pick at about £149.95, 4.6 from 1,072 reviews. Amazon still prints two airflow figures.
You care whether a small tank restarts every few shots. The Hyundai HY5508X is the 8 litre best value at about £129.99, with a stated 13 A UK plug and 4.5 from 989 reviews. UK reviews say the box has no hose.
You want the only 49 dB line in this set, on a 6 litre tank at about £155.99. The ABAC Ease-AIR 6 lists a Type G adaptor, not a moulded plug. Saved review texts are not from the United Kingdom, and one cites 67 dB Lwa on the machine.
The Hyundai HY7524X is the top pick: a 24 litre tank that matches the title, 4.6 from 1,072 amazon.co.uk reviews, and a 2-year warranty at about £149.95. A UK dealer sheet treats the 5.2 CFM bullet as displacement and the 2.65 CFM table cell as free air delivery, and it places 60 dB at 7 metres. Amazon still prints both airflow figures, and the table does not state that distance.
How much does a silent compressor cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the six listings kept for 19 October 2026, shelf prices run from about £95.99 for the ORAZIO to about £155.99 for the ABAC Ease-AIR 6. The Bimson 24 litre is about £114.99, the HYCHIKA about £124.84, the Hyundai 8 litre about £129.99 and the Hyundai 24 litre about £149.95. That band is these six pages only. Quieter trade machines on other shops are not rows in this table.
What should you check before buying a silent compressor?
Match free air delivery to the tool, not horsepower. Then check that the tank litres agree with the title, that the pressure is what the tool needs, and whether any decibel line is sound pressure or sound power. UK mains are 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. Several boxes do not include a hose. The ORAZIO title says 9 litres while a tank-volume cell says 45 litres, so read the plate.
Can you rank these machines by the decibel number?
No. ABAC prints 49 dB and 49 dBA, both Hyundais print 60 dB, ORAZIO prints 65 dB(A), HYCHIKA prints 62 dB in the table and 68 dB in a bullet, and Bimson prints none. A non-UK review says the ABAC machine is marked 67 dB Lwa. A SIP 24 litre page prints 62 dB(A) LpA and 84 dB(A) LwA for one model, so those bare numbers are not one measurement.
Does an 8 litre tank suit a nail gun?
An 8 or 9 litre receiver suits intermittent brads, a blow gun and tyres, and it cycles often. A 24 litre receiver stores more for a longer nailing spell. A Bimson reviewer used a framing nailer with 90 mm nails and said that unit was not for painting a car. Air demand by nailer is in the silent compressor for nail guns guide. Match free air delivery, not horsepower.
When does a receiver need a written scheme?
Under the Pressure Systems Safety Regulations 2000 in Great Britain, a written scheme is outside the stated exception only when each vessel is under 250 bar litres. Eight bar times 24 litres is 192. The ORAZIO table also says 45 litres, and 8 bar times 45 litres is 360, so the tank plate has to settle that conflict. The exception does not cancel a safety valve, a gauge or a drain. Northern Ireland has its own regulations.
Is oil-free compressor air dry or breathable?
No. Oil-free on these listings means the pump is described as needing no oil checks. It does not mean the air is dry, breathable or clinically clean, even if a title mentions a dental clinic. Drain the tank. Call a professional if the safety valve, the tank or the switch is damaged, if the pump smoked, or if the plug does not suit a UK 13 A socket.
Our verdict
The Hyundai HY7524X is the top pick because it is the highest score: a 24 litre receiver that matches the title, 4.6 from 1,072 amazon.co.uk reviews, and a dealer sheet that explains the two airflow cells. The Hyundai HY5508X is the best value at about £129.99 because it is the cheapest listing that prints a decibel, agrees on tank size, states a 13 A UK plug, and has 989 reviews. The ORAZIO is cheaper, and the 9 litre / 45 litre conflict keeps it off that rule. The Bimson is cheaper per litre, and it prints no decibel.
Best overall
Hyundai HY7524X 24 litre
Highest score: 24 litres that match the title, 1,072 reviews, and a dealer sheet that splits displacement from free air delivery.
Silent compressorsamazon.co.uk listingsUK pressure and noise rules
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: 20 October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to silent compressors
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines checked on 19 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.