Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

50 L air compressor comparison 2026

The best 50 L air compressors, compared.

Top pick: SIP Airmate 50L vertical Best value: ABAC Ease-AIR 50V – Lowest shelf price here at £195.99 among listings that state 50 litres, 10 bar, oil-free lubrication and a voltage. Updated 20 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A 50 L air compressor for a UK garage is a 230 V piston machine with a steel receiver of about 50 litres, a pressure switch, a safety valve and a regulator. You tell them apart by free air delivery at a stated pressure, an honest noise figure, a real BS 1363 plug, and whether the maker admits intermittent duty. Amazon can print a large litres-per-minute figure that is suction, not the air the tool receives. Einhell UK lists output of 76 L/min at 7 bar for the same article that still prints as 240 L/min. Fifty litres covers a nailer or a tyre. It will not carry a spray gun or sander whose demand stays above free air delivery. How to put those checks in order is in the [50 L air compressor buying guide](/hub/compressors/50l-air-compressor/sub/50l-air-compressor-buying-guide). The 05483 is the vertical listing that states free air delivery on.

A 50 L air compressor for a UK garage is a 230 V piston machine with a steel receiver of about 50 litres, a pressure switch, a safety valve and a regulator.

SIP Airmate 50L vertical

Best overall

SIP Airmate 50L vertical
6.3/10∼ £264

14 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

4 of 4: Best 50 L air compressors compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 4
Best overall
SIP Airmate 50L vertical
Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF
Best value
ABAC Ease-AIR 50V
SIP Airmate 50L horizontal
6.3/10
7.5/10
5.7/10
4.1/10
∼ £264
∼ £213
∼ £196
∼ £198
5.0(4)
4.3(2,487)
3.6(205)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Which tank shape do you have room for?

The best 50 L air compressors in detail

SIP Airmate 50L vertical

Rank 1

SIP Airmate 50L vertical

∼£264

Our view

The SIP Airmate 50L vertical, part 05483, is the only listing in this set that separates displacement from free air delivery: 9.6 CFM piston displacement and 4.7 CFM at 8 bar, about 133 litres per minute. It costs £263.98, the highest price here, and the listing is 5.0 from 4 reviews. Three UK review texts praise the fittings and wheels against a cheaper compressor the buyer returned, and they say it is quieter than expected without calling it silent. No defect of this unit is described in those three texts, which is too small a sample to treat as a reliability record. The bullets include a 1.3 m cable with a 230 V / 13 A plug, two filters, a handle and a wheel kit. The page prints two conflicting dimension strings, and 62 dB is not labelled as sound pressure or sound power. Maximum pressure is 8 bar, so it stores less energy than the 10 bar Einhell and ABAC.

Pros

  • 4.7 CFM free air delivery stated at 8 bar, separate from 9.6 CFM displacement
  • 13 A plug on a 1.3 m cable, plus wheels, a regulator and a gauge
  • Three UK reviews report no defect and call it quieter than expected
  • Oil-free 50 litre vertical tank at 8 bar and 1,500 W

Cons

  • 5.0 from 4 reviews is too small a sample for a reliability claim
  • £263.98, the highest price in this set
  • Two dimension strings on the same listing conflict
  • 62 dB is not labelled as sound pressure or sound power, and duty is not stated

Best for: You want the only Amazon page in this set that states free air delivery at 8 bar and includes a 13 A plug.

Less suitable: You are choosing on review volume, or you need 10 bar and a lower shelf price.

Specifications

Model
SIP Airmate 50L vertical
Brand
SIP
Price
∼£264
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Tank layout
Vertical
Lubrication
Oil-free
Maximum pressure
8 bar
Listed airflow
4.7 CFM FAD at 8 bar
Airflow figure stated as
Displacement and FAD
Listed noise
62 dB
Mains connection
13 A plug, 1.3 m cable
Wheels
Yes
Regulator and gauge
Yes

Common questions

Does this SIP listing separate displacement and free air delivery?

Yes. The bullets state 9.6 CFM piston displacement and 4.7 CFM free air delivery at 116 psi / 8 bar.

What plug is included?

The bullets include a 1.3 m mains cable with a 230 V / 13 A plug. Maximum current is listed as 13 A.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The listing shows 5.0 out of 5 from 4 reviews. Three UK review texts are on the listing. That is too few to treat as a long-term record.

Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF

Rank 2

Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF

∼£213

Our view

The Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF is a 50 litre oil-free vertical compressor at £212.95, rated 4.3 from 2,487 amazon.co.uk reviews. In the first 50 review blocks, owners use the 10 bar tank for nailers, tyre inflation and some spraying, and they like the upright footprint under a bench plus wheels that stay steady on gravel. The listing prints 240 L/min and does not say whether that is suction or free air delivery; Einhell UK, for article 4010393, lists output of 76 L/min at 7 bar and S3 25% duty. Amazon states 95 dB, while the same article on Einhell UK is 77 dB(A) sound pressure, so the two noise figures are not the same quantity. UK reviews still call it loud, with vibration through the room when the tank refills. A UK review reports a motor that failed within a year, another a burning plastic smell and a same-day return, and another a damaged plug at first use. The listing also claims a 10-year guarantee against the tank rusting through, and the plug type itself is not in the specification table.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 2,487 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set
  • 50 L vertical tank, 10 bar, wheels, a regulator, a gauge and a drain cock
  • Oil-free, with a listing claim of 10 years against the tank rusting through
  • Reviewers used it for nailers, tyres and light spraying in a home workshop

Cons

  • Amazon prints 240 L/min without saying it is free air delivery
  • 95 dB on Amazon; Einhell UK prints 77 dB(A) for the same article
  • UK reviews include a motor failure within a year, a burning smell and a damaged plug
  • Plug type is not in the specification table

Best for: You want the largest review sample in this set for a 50 litre garage compressor, and you will treat 240 L/min as the listing figure, not the air at 7 bar.

Less suitable: You need a labelled free-air figure on the Amazon page, a stated BS 1363 plug, or a machine that UK reviewers call quiet.

Specifications

Model
Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£213
Customer rating
4.3/5(2,487)
Tank layout
Vertical
Lubrication
Oil-free
Maximum pressure
10 bar
Listed airflow
240 L/min
Listed noise
95 dB
Wheels
Yes
Regulator and gauge
Yes
Tank corrosion warranty
10 years against rusting through

Common questions

Does the Einhell listing say the 240 L/min figure is free air delivery?

No. The amazon.co.uk table prints 240 litres per minute and does not say whether that is suction or free air delivery.

What plug does the listing specify?

The specification table does not state the plug. Voltage is 230 V AC.

Is it oil-free and does it have a drain?

The listing says the pump is oil-free and that condensate is drained through a drain cock. It also lists a pressure gauge, a regulator and a safety valve.

ABAC Ease-AIR 50V

Rank 3

ABAC Ease-AIR 50V

∼£196

Our view

The ABAC Ease-AIR 50V is the lowest shelf price in this set at £195.99, a vertical 50 litre oil-free compressor rated 3.6 from 205 reviews. The listing states 220 L/min as aspirated air flow, not free air delivery, plus 10 bar, 97 dB and 2 hp, and the box includes a Type G adaptor rather than a moulded BS 1363 plug. When the machine is healthy, reviewers say it reaches about 9–10 bar and cuts out, and some report months of painting and general jobs. The same sample, mostly not marked United Kingdom, describes leaks that stop it holding pressure, pressure switches that do not cut out, and motors that failed within about one to three months. Reviewers also call it very loud, say it runs hot, and say it is not enough continuous air for a sander. The bullets limit it to occasional or intermittent use. Wheels are not in the specification table, though reviews say the vertical tank rolls and that wheels can work loose.

Pros

  • £195.99, the lowest shelf price in this set
  • 220 L/min is labelled aspirated, so it is not sold as free air delivery
  • 50 L, 10 bar, oil-free, 230 V, with a Type G adaptor in the box
  • Some reviewers report months of painting and light jobs when the unit stays healthy

Cons

  • 3.6 from 205 reviews, with leaks, cut-out failures and early motor faults in the sample
  • Most of the reviews in the sample are not marked United Kingdom
  • 97 dB with no sound-pressure or sound-power label
  • Type G adaptor, not a moulded 13 A plug; wheels are not in the specification table

Best for: You want the cheapest 10 bar, 50 litre listing here and you accept intermittent duty plus a UK adaptor.

Less suitable: You need a large UK review sample without a leak-and-no-cut-out pattern, or a moulded BS 1363 plug.

Specifications

Model
ABAC Ease-AIR 50V
Brand
ABAC
Price
∼£196
Customer rating
3.6/5(205)
Tank layout
Vertical
Lubrication
Oil-free
Maximum pressure
10 bar
Listed airflow
220 L/min
Airflow figure stated as
Aspirated
Listed noise
97 dB
Mains connection
Type G adaptor

Common questions

Is the ABAC supplied with a UK plug?

The listing includes a Type G (UK) adaptor and a user manual. It does not say the machine has a moulded BS 1363 plug.

Is 220 litres per minute free air delivery?

The listing calls 220 litres per minute aspirated air flow. It does not publish a free-air-delivery figure.

What noise figure is on the listing?

The specification table says 97 decibels. It does not say whether that is sound pressure or sound power, or at what distance.

SIP Airmate 50L horizontal

Rank 4

SIP Airmate 50L horizontal

∼£198

Our view

The SIP Airmate 50L horizontal, part 05479, is a 50 litre oil-free direct-drive compressor at £197.91, listed at 8 bar, 1.5 kW and 31 kg. The listing prints 9.6 CFM as air flow capacity and does not say whether that is displacement or free air delivery, so it should not be read as the 4.7 CFM the vertical SIP states on Amazon. There is no customer-review line and no review text, so the star rating is not stated. The listing says 62 dB without sound pressure, sound power or distance, and it lists a built-in gauge while a regulator is not stated. Included components are a user manual; wheels and a plug are not in that field, though maximum current is 13 A. It is the horizontal body in an otherwise vertical set, and you are buying the specification table without a UK review record.

Pros

  • £197.91, close to the lowest price, for a 50 litre horizontal tank
  • Oil-free, 8 bar, 1.5 kW, with maximum current listed as 13 A
  • A built-in gauge is listed, and 62 dB is printed on the page

Cons

  • No star rating and no review text on the listing
  • 9.6 CFM is not labelled as free air delivery
  • Plug, wheels and a regulator are not in the fields used here
  • 62 dB has no sound-pressure, sound-power or distance label

Best for: You specifically want a horizontal 50 litre tank near £198, and you can check the plug and wheels on the live listing before you rely on them.

Less suitable: You want UK reviews, a labelled free-air figure, or a stated regulator and wheel kit.

Specifications

Model
SIP Airmate 50L horizontal
Brand
SIP
Price
∼£198
Tank layout
Horizontal
Lubrication
Oil-free
Maximum pressure
8 bar
Listed airflow
9.6 CFM
Listed noise
62 dB
Regulator and gauge
Gauge; regulator –

Common questions

Is 9.6 CFM the free air delivery?

The amazon.co.uk listing prints 9.6 cubic feet per minute as air flow capacity and does not say whether that is displacement or free air delivery.

Does the listing include a star rating?

No customer-review line is on the listing, so there is no star rating to quote.

What is in the box according to the listing?

Included components are a user manual. Wheels, a plug and filters are not listed in that field.

How we compared

For this comparison we scored four 50 L air compressor listings on amazon.co.uk, dated 19 October 2026. Amazon evidence is 35 points, listing clarity is 40, and value is 25. Einhell UK article 4010393 is used only where Amazon and the manufacturer disagree. This is not a lab test, and no machine is described as HSE approved.

1

Amazon evidence

35%

Stars contribute from the amazon.co.uk rating, and review-count points rise only once the sample is large. Fewer than 20 reviews cannot score above 12 on this block. Repeated defects come off the score. A missing rating scores 0.

2

Listing clarity

40%

Points cover a 50 litre tank that matches the title, airflow that is labelled or at least not left as a bare number, noise named as sound pressure or sound power, pressure, lubrication, a UK-usable voltage or plug, and whether the machine can be moved. A second conflicting figure on the same page costs points.

3

Value

25%

Shelf price in GBP against what that listing actually states. The lowest price can score well here without becoming the top pick when the review pattern is poor.

Independent review
Last updated: 20 October 2026
8 sources checked

50 L air compressor buying guide

Choose free air delivery at the tool’s pressure before the tank size. Fifty litres stores air. It does not create it. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk shelf figures for 19 October 2026.

What is a 50 L air compressor?

A 50 L air compressor for a UK garage is a 230 V piston machine with a steel receiver of about 50 litres, a pressure switch, a safety valve and a regulator. The tank stores air. It does not create it. Shoppers in this amazon.co.uk set are choosing oil-free direct-drive machines, not 12 V inflators and not 6–24 L portables. Vertical oil-free machines here are the Einhell and the ABAC. The SIP 05483 is the vertical listing that states free air delivery on Amazon.

Best for

  • Nailers, tyres and blow-off in a home garage, if you can live with the noise
  • A tool whose air demand stays under the free-air figure the listing actually states

Not ideal for

  • A spray gun or sander that needs more air than these free-air figures
  • Continuous trade duty, or a room where an unlabelled decibel number has to mean quiet

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading suction as free air delivery

    Einhell UK lists suction of 240 L/min and output of 76 L/min at 7 bar. Amazon still prints 240 L/min. ABAC prints 220 L/min aspirated. The horizontal SIP prints 9.6 CFM and does not say which figure that is.

  2. 2

    Treating 50 litres as power

    The tank is a buffer. Fifty litres covers a nailer or a tyre. It will not carry a spray gun or sander whose demand stays above free air delivery. Many spray guns sit around 8–14 CFM.

  3. 3

    Comparing bare decibel numbers

    95 dB, 97 dB, 77 dB(A) and 62 dB are not one measurement. HSE’s NOMAD note says sound pressure and sound power are not interchangeable. An unlabelled 62 dB is not conversation-quiet.

What to weigh up

Free air delivery and pressure

High

Match the air the tool receives, not the biggest number on the title. Displacement and suction are the larger theoretical figure. Einhell UK lists 76 L/min at 7 bar for article 4010393, while Amazon prints 240 L/min with no label. ABAC prints 220 L/min aspirated and no free air delivery. The SIP vertical states 9.6 CFM displacement and 4.7 CFM free air delivery at 8 bar. The horizontal SIP prints 9.6 CFM and does not say which.

Noise, plug and duty

High

Keep a noise figure only when you know the quantity. Amazon states 95 dB for the Einhell and 97 dB for the ABAC. Einhell UK states 77 dB(A) sound pressure for the same article. Both SIP listings state 62 dB without sound pressure, sound power or distance. The Noise Regulations 2005 set action values at 80 and 85 dB(A) and a limit of 87 dB(A). They bind employers, not a householder. UK mains are 230 V, BS 1363, 13 A. The SIP vertical includes a 13 A plug on a 1.3 m cable.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home DIY, nailers and tyres

You mostly run a nailer, inflate tyres or blow off the bench, and you notice noise first. The Einhell is the listing with the largest review sample in this set, at 4.3 from 2,487, if you treat 240 L/min as the Amazon figure and not the air at 7 bar.

You need a stated free-air figure

You want the Amazon page that separates displacement from free air delivery and includes a 13 A plug. The SIP Airmate vertical states 4.7 CFM at 8 bar. The rating is 5.0 from 4 reviews, which is too small a sample for a reliability claim.

Lowest 10 bar shelf price

You want the cheapest 10 bar, 50 litre listing here and you accept intermittent duty plus a UK adaptor. The ABAC is £195.99. Its 3.6 from 205 reviews includes leaks and cut-out faults, and the box has a Type G adaptor rather than a moulded plug.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about 50 L air compressors

Which 50 L air compressor is the top pick?
The Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF is the top pick in this set. It scores 70, with 4.3 from 2,487 amazon.co.uk reviews, a 50 litre vertical tank, 10 bar and oil-free lubrication, at £212.95 on 19 October 2026. Reviewers use it for nailers, tyres and some spraying. Amazon prints 240 L/min without calling it free air delivery. Einhell UK lists 76 L/min at 7 bar and S3 25% duty for the same article. UK reviews still call it loud.
Which listing is the best value?
The ABAC Ease-AIR 50V is the best value, at £195.99. That is the lowest shelf price among listings that state a 50 litre tank, 10 bar, oil-free lubrication and a voltage. It labels 220 L/min as aspirated, not free air delivery, and the box includes a Type G adaptor rather than a moulded BS 1363 plug. The rating is 3.6 from 205 reviews, with leaks, cut-out failures and early motor faults in the sample. Most of those reviews are not marked United Kingdom.
How much does a 50 L air compressor cost?
On 19 October 2026 the four kept amazon.co.uk listings ran from £195.99 for the ABAC to £263.98 for the SIP vertical. The horizontal SIP was £197.91 and the Einhell was £212.95. Quieter 50 litre machines on UK brand shops the same week were about £299 to £360, above this set. Below £180, confirm the tank is actually 50 litres. These are shelf prices, and they move.
Is the litres-per-minute figure free air delivery?
Not unless the listing says so. Displacement and suction are the larger theoretical number. Einhell UK lists suction of 240 L/min but output of 76 L/min at 7 bar, while Amazon still prints 240 L/min. ABAC prints 220 L/min aspirated and no free air delivery. The SIP vertical states 9.6 CFM displacement and 4.7 CFM free air delivery at 8 bar, about 133 L/min. The horizontal SIP prints 9.6 CFM and does not say which figure that is.
Can you compare the decibel numbers on these listings?
No. Amazon states 95 dB for the Einhell and 97 dB for the ABAC, without saying sound pressure or sound power. Einhell UK states 77 dB(A) sound pressure for the same article. Both SIP listings state 62 dB with no sound pressure, sound power or distance. HSE’s NOMAD note says those quantities are not interchangeable. How to read 62 dB, 77 dB(A), 95 dB and 97 dB is on the quiet 50 L air compressor page. Do not treat 62 dB as conversation-quiet.
Does a home 50 L compressor need a written scheme?
Private DIY is outside regulation 3 of PSSR 2000. Self-employed use is in. Written-scheme duties fall away under 250 bar litres. These receivers are over that line: 50 times 8 bar is 400, and 50 times 10 bar is 500. At work that means a written scheme and a competent-person examination. Northern Ireland should be checked with HSENI. PUWER 1998 applies when the machine is work equipment. Call a competent person if the safety valve or pressure switch fails.
Are these oil-free compressors dry air?
No. All four machines here are oil-free direct drive, which Sealey’s guide treats as the choice for occasional use or clean air. Oil-free still makes water. It is not breathing air, so drain the receiver after use. A belt-drive oil machine is the long-duty alternative, and none of these ASINs is that type. Neighbouring oil-free listings are in the oil-free air compressor comparison. Do not adjust the safety valve.

Our verdict

The Einhell TC-AC 240/50/10 OF is the top pick: it scores 70, with 4.3 from 2,487 reviews, a 50 litre vertical tank and 10 bar at £212.95. Treat Amazon’s 240 L/min as unlabelled, because Einhell UK lists 76 L/min at 7 bar for the same article. The ABAC Ease-AIR 50V is the best value at £195.99, the lowest shelf price among listings that state a 50 litre tank, 10 bar, oil-free lubrication and a voltage. Its 3.6 from 205 reviews includes leaks and motors that failed early, so it is not the top pick. The SIP vertical is the only page here that states 4.7 CFM free air delivery at 8 bar, on 4 reviews.

Best overall
SIP Airmate 50L vertical

SIP Airmate 50L vertical

View offer
Best value
ABAC Ease-AIR 50V

ABAC Ease-AIR 50V

Lowest shelf price here at £195.99 among listings that state 50 litres, 10 bar, oil-free lubrication and a voltage.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsWorkshop compressorsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 20 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to 50 L air compressors

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the manufacturer page below. amazon.co.uk listings checked on 19 October 2026. Listing prices, stars and review counts are those shelf figures.

  1. legislation.gov.uk: Pressure Systems Safety Regulations 2000 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: Written schemes of examination (INDG178) (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE: Pressure Systems Safety Regulations overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. legislation.gov.uk: Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. HSE: NOMAD report on noise quantities (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Einhell UK: TC-AC 240/50/10 OF, article 4010393 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. BCAS: condensate and oily waste (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. SGS Engineering: air compressor buyer’s guide (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines from 19 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.