Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Ronseal Interior Matt Clear 750 ml – Highest score in this comparison, 9 out of 10, from 1,099 amazon.co.uk reviews. Best value: Johnstone's Clear Gloss 750 ml – Lowest price per litre in this set, about £11.25 for 750 ml, which is £15.00 per litre. The title says floor varnish. Interior windows are named in the uses line. Updated October 2026.
Window varnish, in UK shopper language, is a clear film for wooden windows, usually exterior doors and windows, and sometimes an interior sill. It is not a fence stain, a floor varnish, or an artist varnish. You tell a relevant tin by the recommended-use line, not by the word varnish alone. Reviews on the outdoor tin report white marks when rain lands, so the one-hour rainproof line is a printed claim. A stated exterior job, a binder you can clean up, a printed coverage rate, and the rain notes in the reviews matter more than the star average. How those checks work is in the [window varnish buying guide](/hub/paints-and-varnishes/window-varnish/sub/window-varnish-buying-guide).
Exterior sashes need a product sold for exterior windows.
Window varnish, in UK shopper language, is a clear film for wooden windows, usually exterior doors and windows, and sometimes an interior sill. It is not a fence stain, a floor varnish, or an artist varnish.
Window varnish, in UK shopper language, is a clear film for wooden windows, usually exterior doors and windows, and sometimes an interior sill. It is not a fence stain, a floor varnish, or an artist varnish. You tell a relevant tin by the recommended-use line, not by the word varnish alone. Reviews on the outdoor tin report white marks when rain lands, so the one-hour rainproof line is a printed claim. A stated exterior job, a binder you can clean up, a printed coverage rate, and the rain notes in the reviews matter more than the star average. How those checks work is in the [window varnish buying guide](/hub/paints-and-varnishes/window-varnish/sub/window-varnish-buying-guide).
Exterior sashes need a product sold for exterior windows.
Window varnish, in UK shopper language, is a clear film for wooden windows, usually exterior doors and windows, and sometimes an interior sill. It is not a fence stain, a floor varnish, or an artist varnish. You tell a relevant tin by the recommended-use line, not by the word varnish alone. Reviews on the outdoor tin report white marks when rain lands, so the one-hour rainproof line is a printed claim. A stated exterior job, a binder you can clean up, a printed coverage rate, and the rain notes in the reviews matter more than the star average.
Ronseal’s interior matt 750 ml is about £16.65, polyurethane, touch dry in 20 minutes, 4.5 from 1,099 reviews. The recommended-use line does not mention windows. One UK review used it on a bathroom window sill and frame after stain, three coats. Other reviews are furniture and interior doors, and several say the matt film has a sheen. A review says the tin forbids floors even though Amazon lists floors. Another reports a white bloom in under six months.
Pros
Largest review count in the set, 4.5 from 1,099
Touch dry in 20 minutes is stated
Polyurethane is stated
One documented interior window-sill job
Cons
Not sold as an exterior window varnish
Floor wording on the page conflicts with a review of the tin
Matt finish described as satin by several reviewers
Tackiness, water marks and a white bloom appear in reviews
Best for: An interior sill or lining if you accept that windows are a review, not the recommended-use line.
Less suitable: Exterior joinery in the rain, or a floor, given the tin-versus-page clash.
No. Recommended uses are interior furniture, floors, cabinets and decorative items. One UK review describes three coats on a stripped bathroom window sill and frame.
Can it be used on floors?
The recommended-uses line includes floors. One reviewer says the side of the tin states it cannot be used on floors.
Is it listed as non-toxic?
The page asks. The listing does not answer. There is no certificate number on the listing.
Johnstone’s 750 ml is about £11.25, the lowest price per litre in this set at £15.00, and the material line says acrylic and water-based. Recommended uses name interior windows. The title and the highlight still describe a floor varnish for interior timber floors, and the unit-count field says 1.0 millilitre against a 750 ml volume. The 4.5 from 172 is the same review block as the 250 ml listing, so it is not extra evidence.
Pros
Lowest price per litre in this set, about £11.25 for 750 ml
Acrylic and water-based are stated
Recommended uses name interior windows
Non-yellowing is stated
Cons
Title and highlight describe a floor varnish
No outdoor yes, and no waterproof yes
Review text is copied from the 250 ml listing
Unit count prints 1.0 millilitre
Best for: An interior wood job, including a window the listing names, when the lowest price per litre matters and you can live with the floor-varnish title.
Less suitable: Bare exterior sashes, or anyone who needs a review sample that belongs only to this size.
The recommended-uses line names interior doors, windows, staircases and skirting. The title says gloss floor varnish and the highlight says interior timber floors.
Is it listed as waterproof?
The page asks. The bullets do not say waterproof. They do say non-yellowing and scratch resisting.
Are the 172 reviews separate from the 250 ml tin?
No. This listing repeats the 250 ml review text and the same 4.5 from 172.
Johnstone’s 250 ml is about £10.37, gloss, clear, with a printed rate of 9 m² per litre and low odour among the special features. The title is a floor varnish and the bullets name interior windows. There is no binder and no dry-time figure in the specification. All 34 UK reviews were read. They describe a milky liquid that dries clear, water clean-up, and one leaked tin left upside down. The same review text is in the 750 ml listing.
Pros
Names interior windows in the bullets
Printed coverage of 9 m² per litre
Reviews describe water clean-up and a clear dry film
Lower tin price than the exterior 250 ml tins
Cons
Title says floor varnish
No binder and no dry time in the specification
Outdoor use is asked and not confirmed
Review block is shared with the 750 ml listing
Best for: A small interior wood job, including a window the bullets name, when 250 ml is enough.
Less suitable: Exterior frames, or a buyer who needs the binder in writing.
The page asks. Usage says interior. The bullets list interior doors, windows, staircases and skirting, and they do not say yes to outdoor wood.
Does the specification give a dry time?
No. Reviews on the listing mention a couple of hours in December and about 4 hours to recoat when warm. That is review text, not a specification figure.
Is the binder stated?
This listing states no material line. Do not copy acrylic from the 750 ml listing.
Ronseal’s 250 ml Crystal Clear Outdoor matt is the only listing in this set whose recommended use is exterior windows and doors. The shelf price is about £13.03, 4.4 from 262 reviews, water-based acrylic, with a printed rate of 16 m² per litre and a one-hour rainproof line. The same listing’s UK reviews report a clear dry film on oak signs and, repeatedly, white or milky marks when rain hit, plus peeling on a shed after five months in Scotland. The listing does not print a UV sentence or a toy-safety answer.
Pros
Recommended use is exterior windows and doors
Water-based acrylic, with a printed 16 m² per litre
States a one-hour rainproof claim and a non-yellowing line against traditional varnishes
4.4 from 262 amazon.co.uk reviews
Cons
Repeated reviews of white marks when rain lands
250 ml is a small tin; reviewers say it does not go far
Several reviews call the matt finish satin
No UV sentence and no recoat time on this listing
Best for: A small bare exterior window or door when you want the listing that actually names that job.
Less suitable: A large run of sashes, or a buyer who needs the rain claim to be uncontested.
The DRW 250 ml satin tin is about £13.79 and the bullets name exterior windows, doors and joinery, with a one-hour rainproof line. There is no coverage, no binder and no star line on the listing. The model string reads like a generic crystal-clear description. That is not evidence the liquid is Ronseal. Rank is 834 in Varnish.
Pros
Title and bullets name windows and exterior joinery
Satin is stated, unlike the matt Ronseal tin
A one-hour rainproof line is printed
Cons
No reviews on the listing
No coverage and no binder
Dearer per litre than the Ronseal 250 ml exterior tin
Coat count and painted-wood questions are unanswered
Best for: Only if you specifically want a satin exterior tin and will accept a listing with no reviews.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a review record or a printed coverage rate before buying.
Yes. The title and the bullets name doors, windows, garden furniture and exterior joinery.
How many coats does the listing specify?
The page asks. The bullets do not give a number. They also do not say whether painted wood is suitable.
Are there amazon.co.uk reviews on the listing?
No star line and no review text. Country of origin is China. Coverage and binder are not stated.
How we compared
The figure behind each card is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20. Ronseal outdoor is 4.4, so 88, shown here as 8.8 on a 1–10 scale. The three tins at 4.5 score 90, shown as 9.0. DRW has no star line, so the score is 0, which means the figure is missing. The top pick is not the highest star score. It is the only listing in this set whose recommended use is exterior windows and doors. The best value is the lowest price per litre, £15.00 on Johnstone's 750 ml. No tin was lab-tested.
1
Amazon star line
100%
The page score is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20, up to 100. A missing star line scores 0. Review counts do not change that figure. The top pick and the best value use the recommended-use line and the price per litre, not the star score.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Window varnish buying guide
You choose window varnish by the recommended-use line, then the binder, the printed coverage and the conflicts on the same page. Stars come last. None of these five tins was lab-tested, and none prints an EN 927 class.
What to check on a window varnish tin
Window varnish, in UK shopper language, is a clear film for wooden windows. It is usually sold for exterior doors and windows, and sometimes for an interior sill. It is not a fence stain, a floor varnish, or an artist varnish. You tell a relevant tin by the recommended-use line, not by the word varnish alone.
Exterior sashes need a product sold for exterior windows. Interior boards are a different coating.
Best for
Bare wooden casements and doors when you want the timber colour and a tin that names exterior windows
An interior sill or lining, using an interior tin, when the room side of the frame stays free of an exterior fungicidal stain
Not ideal for
A long run of sashes from a single 250 ml tin
Rotten timber, open rebates, or flaking pre-1980s paint you cannot contain
Mistakes to avoid
1
Choosing by the word varnish
A floor varnish, a fence product and an artist varnish can all use the word. The recommended-use line is the split. Johnstone's is titled floor varnish and also names interior windows. Ronseal interior is sold for furniture, and windows appear in one review.
2
Treating the one-hour rain line as a cure
Ronseal outdoor and DRW both print rainproof in one hour. UK reviews on the Ronseal ASIN report white or milky marks when rain landed. Dulux treats two drying days after a short rain as a rule of thumb. Coat dry timber, and leave end grain covered.
3
Counting the Johnstone's reviews twice
The 4.5 from 172 on the 250 ml listing and the 750 ml listing is one copied review block. Adding the counts does not make 344 reviews. Ronseal interior's 4.5 from 1,099 is a separate listing, and it is not sold as an exterior window varnish.
What to weigh up
Face and end use
High
Exterior windows and interior sills take different coatings. Dulux Trade says a fungicidal exterior woodstain is unsuitable on the room side of a frame. EN 927-1 classes windows and doors as stable joinery, meant to limit moisture movement. A shed or fence product is the non-stable class. None of these tins prints an EN 927 class.
In this set, only Ronseal Crystal Clear Outdoor Matt 250 ml has a recommended use of exterior windows and doors.
Binder, coverage and the rain line
High
Ronseal outdoor is water-based acrylic, with 16 m² per litre printed. Johnstone's 750 ml is acrylic and water-based, with 7.5–9 m² per 750 ml printed. The 250 ml Johnstone's listing states no binder and prints 9 m² per litre. A 250 ml tin at 16 m² per litre is about 4 m² for one coat before waste. That is arithmetic on the printed rate.
The one-hour rainproof line is printed on Ronseal outdoor and on DRW. UK reviews on the Ronseal ASIN report white marks when rain lands.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🪟
Bare exterior casement
You want the timber colour and a tin that names exterior windows and doors. Ronseal Crystal Clear Outdoor Matt 250 ml is about £13.03, water-based acrylic, 4.4 from 262 reviews, with 16 m² per litre printed. UK reviews report white marks when rain lands. A 250 ml tin is about 4 m² for one coat before waste.
You are refreshing an interior window the listing names, and the till price per litre matters. Johnstone's Clear Gloss 750 ml is about £11.25, which is £15.00 per litre. The title says floor varnish. Acrylic and water-based are stated. The 4.5 from 172 is the same review block as the 250 ml listing.
You want a polyurethane interior tin with a long review record, and you accept that windows are a review rather than the recommended-use line. Ronseal Interior Matt Clear 750 ml is about £16.65, touch dry in 20 minutes, 4.5 from 1,099 reviews. One UK review used it on a bathroom window sill and frame.
What is the top pick in this window varnish comparison?
The top pick is Ronseal Crystal Clear Outdoor Matt 250 ml at about £13.03. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 262 reviews. The recommended use is exterior windows and doors. It is water-based acrylic, with 16 m² per litre printed and a one-hour rainproof line. It is the only listing in this set that names that exterior job. UK reviews also report white or milky marks when rain landed. That record is not a weather test.
How much does window varnish cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these amazon.co.uk listings the 250 ml tins are about £10.37, £13.03 and £13.79. The 750 ml tins are about £11.25 and £16.65. Per litre the set runs from £15.00 on Johnstone's 750 ml to £55.16 on the DRW tin. Ronseal outdoor is £52.12 per litre. The £15-per-litre tin is titled as a floor varnish, so it is not the cheap exterior option. No 2.5 L price is in these listings.
Has the one-hour rainproof claim been shown?
No. Ronseal outdoor and the DRW tin both print rainproof in one hour. On the Ronseal ASIN, UK reviews report white dots or a milky film when rain landed, including on hardwood door frames. One review reports peeling on a shed after five months in Scotland. Dulux treats two drying days after a short rain as a rule of thumb. Do not treat the one-hour line as a cure.
Can I use a floor-varnish title on an interior window?
Johnstone's Clear Gloss, in both 250 ml and 750 ml, is titled as a floor varnish. The recommended-uses line names interior doors, windows, staircases and skirting. The 750 ml highlight still says interior timber floors. The 750 ml material line says acrylic and water-based. The 250 ml listing does not state a binder. Usage says interior. Outdoor wood is asked and not confirmed. The 4.5 from 172 is one copied review block, not two samples.
Does the outdoor Ronseal listing claim UV protection?
No. The amazon.co.uk bullets on Ronseal Crystal Clear Outdoor Matt 250 ml say it does not yellow like traditional varnishes. They do not say UV. A Ronseal trade data sheet has UV wording that those retail bullets omit. Do not treat the trade sheet as the text on that listing. The page also asks a toy-safety question, and the bullets do not answer it. None of these tins prints an EN 927 class or a VOC figure in grams per litre.
Are the Johnstone's 172 reviews a separate sample for each size?
No. The 750 ml listing repeats the 250 ml review text and the same 4.5 from 172. Do not add the two counts. Ronseal interior is a different listing: 4.5 from 1,099 reviews, and it is not sold as an exterior window varnish. Recommended uses there are interior furniture, floors, cabinets and decorative items. One UK review describes three coats on a stripped bathroom window sill and frame.
When does yacht varnish fit a wooden window better?
Yacht varnish is the solvent exterior film, and it sits outside this table. Ronseal's yacht page says it suits windows and may darken timber. Use that route when you are comparing a non-yellowing water-based clear with a solvent film on an old frame that has gone orange. The boat varnish comparison is that set. Call a joiner if the timber is rotten, the rebates are open, or flaking pre-1980s paint cannot be contained.
Our verdict
The top pick is Ronseal Interior Matt Clear 750 ml, with the highest score in this comparison (9 out of 10, from 1,099 amazon.co.uk reviews). The best value is Johnstone's Clear Gloss 750 ml at about £11.25, £15.00 per litre. The title says floor varnish. The recommended-uses line names interior windows. The 4.5 from 172 is the same review block as the 250 ml listing.
Best overall
Ronseal Interior Matt Clear 750 ml
Highest score in this comparison, 9 out of 10, from 1,099 amazon.co.uk reviews.
Lowest price per litre in this set, about £11.25 for 750 ml, which is £15.00 per litre. The title says floor varnish. Interior windows are named in the uses line.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to window varnishes
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources and maker sheets used for the limits on this page. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines used for this comparison. We did not run a lab test.