Worn oil finish
You already have an oil-finished shotgun, rifle or airgun stock and you want UK review notes of a thin walnut refresh. The CCL 50 ml bottle is about £18.49, with 4.6 from 54 reviews, and the bullet names a worn or wet stock.
The best stock oils, compared.
Top pick: CCL oil finishing kit Best value: Abbey 25 ml stock finish – Lowest shelf price, about £7.29, with 4.6 from 99 reviews, for a modest sheen on an oil-coated airgun stock. Updated October 2026.
If you shoot a shotgun, rifle or airgun with a wooden stock, this is the set. It is not cooking oil, and it is not the mineral oil you wipe on a barrel. On the evidence that exists, a sound result is a thin hand-rubbed coat on wood that is already an oil finish, or a staged kit when the wood is bare. ShootingUK says stock oil belongs on an oil finish. Synthetic and painted stocks are outside this set. The 250 ml bottle has no review line in the extract. Coat method is in [how to apply stock oil](/hub/paints-and-varnishes/stock-oil/sub/stock-oil-how-to-apply). Stock oil is a finish or a conditioning oil for a wooden gunstock and forend. You use it on shotgun, rifle and airgun wood. The four amazon.co.uk listings are a 25 ml airgun sheen, a 50 ml conditioning oil, a finishing kit and a 250 ml conditioning oil.
If you shoot a shotgun, rifle or airgun with a wooden stock, this is the set. It is not cooking oil, and it is not the mineral oil you wipe on a barrel.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 4Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What is already on the wood?
The CCL finishing kit is the only option here designed as a staged refinishing package rather than a single bottle for routine conditioning. It includes cleaning and polishing paste, red root oil, hardener, fine sandpaper and instructions, so it better matches bare or stripped wood where colour, grain and curing all need attention. The listing states a United Kingdom country of origin and a 210 g pack weight. Its perfect 5.0-star line looks impressive, but it rests on only six ratings and the extract contains just one UK review text. That reviewer reports a good finish while stressing the need to read the instructions and allow time. At £44.99 it is difficult to justify for a quick maintenance coat, and the listing provides no rain result or waterproofing evidence. Choose it for a deliberate refinishing project, not because its raw star average is the highest.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A patient, staged finish on prepared bare or stripped shotgun or rifle stock wood.
Less suitable: A quick refresh of an intact oil finish, or buyers who only need a small conditioning bottle.
Specifications
Common questions
What is in the CCL finishing kit?
The listing names gunstock cleaning and polishing paste, red root oil to seal the grain, a hardener to dry the oil in the grain, fine sandpaper, and instructions.
Where does the listing say it is from?
Country of origin is United Kingdom. Weight is 210 g. The stored price is £44.99.
How many written reviews are in the extract?
The line is 5.0 from 6 ratings. One United Kingdom review says to read the instructions first and that the finish was good with a bit of time.
The Abbey 25 ml dropper is the smallest and cheapest option here, aimed at restoring sheen to an oil-coated airgun stock rather than building a complete finish on bare wood. Its 4.6-star line comes from 99 reviews, the broadest rating base in this comparison, and UK reviewers often report that only a small amount is needed. The dropper should make a light application easier to control, although the listing gives no drying time beyond calling the product quick drying. This is a narrow product: it does not include an abrasive, grain treatment or hardener. One UK reviewer reported a water-like mark on a BSA Meteor stock and needed several wax sessions to lift it, so testing on an inconspicuous area is sensible. At £7.29 it is our best-value option for a modest airgun sheen refresh, but not for a stripped stock or an unknown finish.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A low-cost sheen refresh on a known oil-coated airgun stock.
Less suitable: Bare wood, a full refinishing job, or wood whose existing finish has not been identified.
Specifications
Common questions
What does the Abbey bottle claim to do?
The bullets say a high sheen on oil-coated airgun stocks, quick drying to an even shine, and a natural oil lustre. No drying time in hours is printed.
How much is in the bottle?
The title says 25 ml, in a dropper bottle. The stored amazon.co.uk price is £7.29.
Did a review report a mark on the wood?
One United Kingdom review said it left a water-like stain on a BSA Meteor stock that took several wax sessions to lift. Other UK reviews describe a sheen on dull stocks.
The CCL 50 ml conditioning oil is the most convincing all-round choice in this set when an existing oil finish looks worn or has become dull after wet use. The listing explicitly names weathered or wet stocks, while UK reviews describe thin hand-rubbed coats producing a satin result on walnut. Its 4.6-star line from 54 reviews is a more useful evidence base for this maintenance job than the kit's six ratings. The bottle also costs much less than either the full kit or the 250 ml version, without forcing you to buy more oil than an occasional refresh may need. It is not free of concerns: one reviewer found it sticky on bare pine after 48 hours, another could not open the lid, and one received the wrong bottle inside the box. The listing does not state the product's origin, and its printed 47°C and 0W fields should not be treated as practical wood-finishing guidance. This is our top pick for sound, oil-finished shotgun, rifle or airgun wood, but it is not a shortcut for cracked timber, lacquer or an unprepared bare stock.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Refreshing a sound, existing oil finish with several thin hand-applied coats.
Less suitable: Unknown lacquer, cracked wood, or a full bare-wood refinishing sequence.
Specifications
Common questions
What job does the 50 ml CCL bottle state?
The bullet says it improves an oil finish, revitalises a weathered stock, or makes a new oil finish, including when the wood looks worn or has got wet.
What flash point does the listing print?
The extract prints 47 degrees Celsius. It does not say whether that was a closed-cup test, and it also prints an SAE 0W field that is not a wood-finish measurement.
What did UK reviews argue about?
Several describe a satin walnut finish from thin hand coats. One said bare pine was still sticky after 48 hours. One could not open the lid. One received a different bottle from the one on the box.
The CCL 250 ml bottle offers five times the volume of the 50 ml conditioning oil and states the same broad job of improving an oil finish or reviving weathered stock wood. That capacity may suit someone maintaining several stocks or applying repeated coats, but the listing gives no coverage figure from which to calculate how many jobs it will complete. At £55.99 it has the highest shelf price in this comparison, even above the multi-part finishing kit. More importantly, the stored amazon.co.uk extract has no star line or review text, so there is no listing-level user evidence to balance the purchase. Weight, country of origin, flash point and detailed instructions are also absent from the extract. The larger bottle should therefore be treated as a volume choice, not as a better-proven version of the 50 ml product. It makes most sense only when you already know this conditioning oil suits your stock and genuinely need the extra quantity.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Repeat users, or owners of several oil-finished stocks, who already know they need 250 ml.
Less suitable: A first purchase, occasional maintenance, or anyone relying on listing reviews to judge the product.
Specifications
Common questions
How is the 250 ml bottle described?
The title is CCL English traditional gun stock conditioning oil for air rifle and shotgun, 250 ml, code 93373. The stored price is £55.99.
Does this listing share the 50 ml job?
The bullet says it improves an oil finish, revitalises a weathered stock, or makes a new oil finish. Flash point, weight, and origin are not in this extract.
Are there reviews in the stored extract?
No customer-review line and no review texts. The file stops at the first-available date, 18 May 2020.
We ranked four amazon.co.uk stock-oil listings kept for this set. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the UK lines from extracts stored on 15 October 2026. Each score is an editorial 0–100 figure for a stated job. It is not a laboratory test, and it is not the star rating multiplied by 20. The weights below follow the buying order: the finish already on the wood, the job the listing names, the review line on that ASIN, the price for that job, and what the label actually prints. A higher score is a rank inside this set.
Finish already on the wood
25%ShootingUK says stock oil belongs on an oil finish. A listing aimed at a known oil finish ranks above one you would put on lacquer, varnish, or an unidentified coating.
Stated job
20%A dull or rain-marked oil finish is a conditioning bottle. Bare wood that needs grain fill is the kit. A quick sheen on an oil-coated airgun stock is the 25 ml job.
Review line on that ASIN
25%Stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk line for that listing. A missing line scores as no listing-level user evidence. Six ratings are not treated as a failure rate or as proof.
Price for that job
15%Shelf price from the stored extract, judged against the job. A small sheen refresh does not need the dearest bottle. Per-millilitre figures are arithmetic, not coverage.
What the label prints
15%Origin, instructions, volume and odd fields such as 47°C or SAE 0W, only as printed. 0W is treated as a scrape error. 47°C is not treated as a closed-cup class.
Stock oil on these four amazon.co.uk listings is a conditioning bottle, a 25 ml airgun sheen, or a staged finishing kit. Read the finish already on the wood before the price. A dull oil finish, bare wood and a quick airgun sheen are different jobs. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK lines from extracts stored on 15 October 2026. This page did not run a laboratory test, and it does not state a dry time in hours for any of the four listings.
Stock oil in this comparison is a finish or a conditioning oil for a wooden gunstock and forend. You use it on shotgun, rifle and airgun wood. It is not cooking oil, and it is not the mineral oil you wipe on a barrel. The four amazon.co.uk listings are a 25 ml airgun sheen, a 50 ml conditioning oil, a finishing kit and a 250 ml conditioning oil. Tru-Oil, Phillips, Napier and Trade Secret appear on UK pages. They are not rows here. Start with the finish already on the wood.

ShootingUK says stock oil belongs on an oil finish. On lacquer or varnish it sits sticky. Vintage Guns describes thin coats, rubbed off while tacky. Flooding the surface, and oiling the chequering on every coat, are the mistakes the method pages warn against.
The 50 ml extract prints 47°C and SAE 0W. Treat 0W as a scrape error. Treat 47°C as a reason to read the real label. It is a closed-cup CLP class only if the test was closed-cup, and the listing does not say that. None of the four listings states a dry time in hours.
East Sussex Fire and Rescue Service says piled drying-oil rags can heat. An open filmed surface does not behave like a cloth pile. Expecting Tru-Oil speed from a traditional bottle is a separate mistake. Tru-Oil is not a row in this set.
The first split is the coating already on the wood. An oil finish can take stock oil. Lacquer, varnish, synthetic and painted stocks are outside this set. If you cannot tell which coating you have, that is a gunsmith question, not a bottle question. The second split is the job. A dull or rain-marked oil finish is the CCL 50 ml conditioning oil at about £18.49.
Judge the review line on that ASIN. CCL 50 ml is 4.6 from 54. Abbey is 4.6 from 99, with one water-stain note on a BSA Meteor. The kit is 5.0 from 6, which is not a failure rate and not proof. The 250 ml extract has no star line. One sticky-pine comment on the 50 ml bottle is one review, not a rate. Volume follows the job. 25 ml is a dropper. 50 ml is an occasional refresh. 250 ml is five times that volume, with no coverage figure on the listing.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You already have an oil-finished shotgun, rifle or airgun stock and you want UK review notes of a thin walnut refresh. The CCL 50 ml bottle is about £18.49, with 4.6 from 54 reviews, and the bullet names a worn or wet stock.
You want a low-cost sheen on an oil-coated airgun stock and you can live with a 25 ml dropper. Abbey is about £7.29, with 4.6 from 99 reviews. One UK review reported a water-like stain on a BSA Meteor.
You are starting from bare or stripped shotgun or rifle wood and you will follow paste, red root oil and hardener. The CCL kit is about £44.99. The 5.0 line rests on six ratings and one UK review text.
The top pick is the CCL 50 ml conditioning oil at about £18.49. The listing names a worn or wet stock, UK reviews describe a satin result on walnut from thin coats, and the extract shows 4.6 from 54 reviews. The best value is the Abbey 25 ml dropper at about £7.29, with 4.6 from 99 reviews, for a sheen refresh on a known oil-coated airgun stock. One UK review reported a water-like stain on a BSA Meteor. The kit at about £44.99 is the staged option for bare or stripped wood, on 5.0 from six ratings. The 250 ml bottle at about £55.99 states the same conditioning job and has no review line in the extract.

Abbey 25 ml stock finish
Lowest shelf price, about £7.29, with 4.6 from 99 reviews, for a modest sheen on an oil-coated airgun stock.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for the finish, cloth and label points on this page. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk extracts for B00T7BUM9M, B0839NFGHY, B0839M71BN and B088RLYJ73, stored on 15 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines from extracts stored on 15 October 2026. We did not run a laboratory test.