Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: PATIOZA UK-HK-280C Best value: PATIOZA UK-HK-280C – Lowest price in the set, about £89.90, for a 1,700 W compact plate at 4.5 from 10 reviews. The sample is small. Updated 22.10.2026.
A commercial grill for a counter is an electric flat-top griddle: a stainless body, an iron or cast-iron plate, a thermostat, and a grease tray. Cafes, stalls and home cooks buy one for a hot plate rather than an open barbecue. You tell a suitable commercial grill apart by the stated watts, whether a UK plug or a double UK plug is written down, how many zones the listing describes, and whether the plate size matches the dimension line.
A BS 1363 socket is 13 A, about 2,990 W at 230 V. A stated 3,000 W unit sits on one plug. A stated 4,400 W unit does not. One knob is one zone. Where a thickness is stated, the usual counter plate is iron or cast iron around 8 mm. A grease tray in the description can still be small, missing or stuck. If you sell the food, register with the local authority and use a probe. Those supply and plate checks are in the [commercial grill buying guide](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/commercial-grill/sub/commercial-grill-buying-guide).
A commercial grill for a counter is an electric flat-top griddle: a stainless body, an iron or cast-iron plate, a thermostat, and a grease tray.
A commercial grill for a counter is an electric flat-top griddle: a stainless body, an iron or cast-iron plate, a thermostat, and a grease tray. Cafes, stalls and home cooks buy one for a hot plate rather than an open barbecue. You tell a suitable commercial grill apart by the stated watts, whether a UK plug or a double UK plug is written down, how many zones the listing describes, and whether the plate size matches the dimension line.
A BS 1363 socket is 13 A, about 2,990 W at 230 V. A stated 3,000 W unit sits on one plug. A stated 4,400 W unit does not. One knob is one zone. Where a thickness is stated, the usual counter plate is iron or cast iron around 8 mm. A grease tray in the description can still be small, missing or stuck. If you sell the food, register with the local authority and use a probe. Those supply and plate checks are in the [commercial grill buying guide](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/commercial-grill/sub/commercial-grill-buying-guide).
A commercial grill for a counter is an electric flat-top griddle: a stainless body, an iron or cast-iron plate, a thermostat, and a grease tray. Cafes, stalls and home cooks buy one for a hot plate rather than an open barbecue. You tell a suitable commercial grill apart by the stated watts, whether a UK plug or a double UK plug is written down, how many zones the listing describes, and whether the plate size matches the dimension line. A BS 1363 socket is 13 A, about 2,990 W at 230 V. A stated 3,000 W unit sits on one plug. A stated 4,400 W unit does not. One knob is one zone.
PATIOZA UK-HK-280C is about £89.90 with 4.5 from 10 reviews and rank 5 in Electric Griddles on the listing. The title and description say 28 cm. Wattage is 1,700 W and voltage is 240 V, in both the description and the wattage field. The thermostat range is 50–300°C. Dimensions are 41 × 28 × 20 cm and the weight is 10.2 kg. An oil drawer, side guards, a brush and a shovel are named. The plug type is not named. Most short UK reviews say it heats quickly. One UK review talks about two sides and thousands of people, which the 28 cm specification does not support. The display score is 72.
Pros
About £89.90, the lowest price in this set
4.5 from 10 reviews and rank 5 on the listing
1,700 W agrees in the description and the wattage field
240 V, a drawer and tools are stated
Cons
28 cm is a small plate
Plug type is not named
One written review does not match this size
10 ratings is a small sample
Best for: A compact 1,700 W plate on one ordinary circuit, when you do not need a breakfast line.
Less suitable: Eggs and bacon for a queue. The surface is 28 cm.
TAIMIKO TM-818 is about £139.90 with 4.2 from 83 amazon.co.uk reviews, rank 14 in Electric Griddles on the listing. The wattage is 3,000 W. The listing says a 54 × 40 cm plate, 8 mm, a thermostat from 50–300°C, a splash guard, a fat drawer and a UK plug. It calls the plate iron and cast iron. Voltage is not in the specification. Dimensions are 56 × 50 × 31 cm and the weight is 18 kg. UK reviews praise everyday cooking and also describe blackening, smoke, a dead unit after eight weeks, and one plate that stayed cold. The display score is 84. That is not a lab test.
Pros
4.2 from 83 amazon.co.uk reviews
UK plug and 3,000 W are stated
54 × 40 cm plate and 8 mm are stated
Splash guard and fat drawer are described
Cons
Voltage is not stated
Plate metal is named two ways
UK reviews include a failure at eight weeks and a plate that would not heat
Blackening surprises buyers who expected stainless on the cooking face
Best for: One 3,000 W plate on a stated UK plug, with a larger review sample than the compact models.
Less suitable: Two heat zones, or a listing that states the voltage.
TAIMIKO HK-820V is about £189 with 4.2 from 38 amazon.co.uk reviews, rank 9 in Electric Griddles on the listing. The title says 73 cm. The description says an 8 mm iron plate, dual heating at 4,400 W, and 50–300°C. Special features say dual temperature control and independent heating zones. Voltage and plug count are not in the specification, so a 4,400 W load is not described as one UK plug or two. The box is 26 kg and 73 × 51 × 23 cm. UK reviews praise heat and a large cook, and they also mention a sharp tray, a small waste hole, smoke if it is left on high, and a missing leg hole. The display score is 74. Do not assume one 13 A socket.
Pros
4.2 from 38 reviews and rank 9 in Electric Griddles on the listing
Dual zones and 4,400 W are stated
8 mm iron plate and a grease collection box are described
UK reviews describe a fast heat and a large cook
Cons
Plug count and voltage are not stated
26 kg
UK reviews mention a sharp tray and a small waste hole
Smoke if the dial is left high, in a UK review
Best for: A wide dual-zone plate, if you will confirm the plugs before you buy.
Less suitable: One 13 A socket, or a listing that itself states the plug.
No. Wattage is 4,400 W and the zones are dual. Voltage and plug count are not in the specification. Do not treat 4,400 W as one 13 A plug.
How thick is the plate?
The description says a thickened 8 mm iron cooking plate. The title says 73 cm. That 8 mm figure is not a 15 mm trade plate.
Is a grease tray included?
The description covers a grease groove and a collection box. Included components are not listed as a separate line. UK reviews mention a sharp tray and a small waste hole.
MOOTACO TM-H at 3,000 W is about £125.90 with a listing line of 4.1 from 114. Wattage is 3,000 W, voltage is 240 V, and included components say UK plug. The title says 54 × 40 cm. The description says 55 × 35.5 cm and 8 mm. The dimension line says 54 × 22 × 40 cm. Weight is 16 kg. The description mentions splash guards, a grease tray and a non-stick surface. The material line says stainless steel only. The written reviews match two other MOOTACO listings in this set, so the 114 is the listing line and the text is not unique to this ASIN. The display score is 78.
Pros
UK plug, 240 V and 3,000 W are stated
About £125.90
Splash guards and a grease tray are described
Listing line 4.1 from 114
Cons
Title, description and dimensions disagree on size
Review text is shared with two other listings
Non-stick is a description claim, not the material line
Shared text includes uneven heat and a unit that would not turn on
Best for: A single 3,000 W plate with a UK plug on the included line, if you will measure it on arrival.
Less suitable: A review sample that is clearly about this listing only.
Yes. Included components say UK plug. The voltage field says 240 V and the wattage says 3,000 W.
How big is the plate?
The title says 54 × 40 cm. The description says 55 × 35.5 cm and 8 mm. The dimension line says 54 × 22 × 40 cm. All three stay visible.
Are the 114 reviews unique to this listing?
The listing line says 4.1 from 114. The written names and dates also appear on the 2,500 W TM-H and on the TM-810BH. Do not count that text three times.
MOOTACO TM-H at 2,500 W is about £119.90. The title says 45 cm and 2,500 W. The wattage field says 2,500 W and voltage 220 V. Included components say the griddle and a UK plug. The description says a 45 × 40 cm cast-iron surface, 8 mm, splash guards and a grease tray. The dimension line says 45 × 20 × 40 cm. Weight is 14 kg. Special features include a keep-warm setting and the settings field says 2. The materials line says PTFE free, BPA free and PFOA free, while a description line says non-stick. The 4.1 from 114 text matches two other MOOTACO listings. The display score is 76.
Pros
UK plug is on the included line
2,500 W agrees in the title and the wattage field
8 mm and 45 × 40 cm are in the description
About £119.90
Cons
Dimensions say 20 cm on one side
Review text is shared
A PTFE-free line and a non-stick description sit together
The rank line matches the other shared listings
Best for: A mid plate under 3,000 W with a UK plug written in the included components.
Less suitable: Size lines that agree, or a unique review sample.
MOOTACO TM-810BH is about £99. The title says 36 cm and 1,500 W. The wattage field says 1,500 W and voltage 220 V. Dimensions are 36 × 38 × 21 cm and the weight is 12 kg. The description covers a grease tray and splash guards. Included components say a lid. The listing line is 4.1 from 114 and the rank is 31 in Electric Griddles, the same lines as the 3,000 W and 2,500 W MOOTACO listings, and the written reviews match those listings. The 1,500 W and 36 cm claims are specific to this title. The review paragraphs are not. The plug type is not named. Thickness is not stated. The display score is 66.
Pros
About £99
1,500 W agrees in the title and the wattage field
A grease tray and splash guards are in the description
12 kg is lighter than the 73 cm plates
Cons
Review text and the 114 count are shared with other listings
Plug type is not named
A lid is the included line, with no further explanation
The best-seller rank line matches other MOOTACO listings
Best for: A small 1,500 W plate, if you will ignore the duplicated review text.
Less suitable: Reviews you can tie to this model, or a stated UK plug.
MOOTACO MOO-610T/820T-DE is about £199 with 4.0 from 19 reviews. The title says 73 cm and 2,200 W x 2. The wattage field says 4,400 W and voltage 220 V. The description gives a 72.5 × 40 cm cast-iron plate, 8 mm thick, and two knobs from 50–300°C. The settings field says 1, which clashes with that description. Included components name a grease tray. UK reviews say two sockets and two plug connections, and that one side can run if the other fails. They also call the grease trap small and mention sharp edges. One review says it stopped after a few months. The specification itself does not say UK plug. The display score is 68.
Pros
4,400 W split as 2,200 W x 2 in the title
8 mm cast-iron plate size is stated
Grease tray is an included component
UK reviews describe two plugs and independent halves
Cons
The specification does not itself say UK plug
Settings field says 1
About £199 with a small-tray complaint
One UK review says it died after a few months
Best for: A wide plate, after you have read that the two plugs are a review claim and checked the live listing.
Less suitable: A plug count in the specification, not only in reviews.
No. UK reviews say two sockets and two plug connections. The specification lists 220 V and 4,400 W only. Treat the plug count as a review claim until the listing states it.
Why does the settings field say 1?
The settings field says 1. The description covers two knobs from 50–300°C. Both lines are on the listing. A field of 1 is not a single temperature.
What plate size is written?
The description says 72.5 × 40 cm and 8 mm cast iron. The dimension line says 47 × 73 × 22 cm. Weight is 22 kg.
MOOTACO MOO-810/818 is about £159 with 4.0 from 12 reviews, rank 12 in Electric Griddles on the listing. Wattage is 3,000 W and voltage is 220 V. The description says a 54 × 30 cm cast-iron plate, 50–300°C, and a 0–60 minute timer. Dimensions are 54.5 × 40 × 13 cm and the weight is 16 kg, so the description depth and the dimension depth disagree. Splash guards, a grease tray, a brush and a spatula are named. The settings field says 2. The description does not claim two heat zones. Written UK reviews say good quality and ok. There is no complaint paragraph on the listing. The plug type is not named. Thickness is not stated. The display score is 67.
Pros
A 0–60 minute timer is stated, unlike the other nine
3,000 W and 50–300°C are in the description
Brush and spatula are included
Rank 12 in Electric Griddles on the listing
Cons
About £159 with only 12 ratings and two short UK lines
Description plate is 54 × 30 cm and dimensions are 54.5 × 40 × 13 cm
Plug type is not named
A settings field of 2 is not explained as two zones
Best for: A timer on a 3,000 W plate, if you can live with a short review file.
Less suitable: Two heat zones. This description does not claim them.
LIROPAU PL818 is about £112.99 with 3.8 from 4 reviews, rank 40 in Electric Griddles on the listing. The title and the first description line say 3,000 W. The wattage field says 2,200 W and voltage 220 V. The description gives a 55 × 41 cm iron plate, 8 mm, 50–300°C, an auto shut-off, a splash guard and an oil box. It also says to wipe a factory oil film and that darkening can be normal. Included items are the griddle, a shovel, a clip and a brush. Weight is 9.5 kg. Two written UK reviews are on the listing: one short praise, one damaged delivery. The plug type is not named. The display score is 52. Quote both wattage lines.
Pros
About £112.99 for a stated 55 × 41 cm plate
Tray, splash guard and tools are named
50–300°C is in the description
A factory oil film is mentioned, so the first wipe is explicit
Cons
3,000 W in the description and 2,200 W in the wattage field
3.8 from 4, with two written reviews
Plug type is not named
9.5 kg is light beside the other plates around 55 cm
Best for: A buyer who can check the rating plate on arrival, because the two wattage lines disagree.
Less suitable: A settled wattage and more than four ratings.
The title and description say 3,000 W. The wattage field says 2,200 W. The listing contains both. Check the rating plate on arrival.
Does it include tools?
Yes. Included components are the electric griddle, a shovel, a clip and a brush. Voltage is 220 V. The plug type is not named.
Does the listing mention seasoning?
The description says to wipe off a factory oil film and that it is normal for the surface to change with heat. A black plate is normal. A dead zone is not.
TAIMIKO TM-820/822 is about £199 with 3.6 from 34 reviews. The title says 73 cm, a double UK plug and 4,400 W. The wattage field is 4,400 W and voltage is 220 V. The description says a double heating tube and double temperature control. The settings field says 1, which clashes with that description. Dimensions are 73 × 47 × 21.8 cm and the weight is 28 kg. Included components say a recipe booklet. An oil drawer is in the description. Plate thickness is not stated. UK reviews praise separate sides and also describe a dead half, melted switches, a failed element within three months, and missing feet or an oil catcher. The display score is 70. Two plugs still need two circuits, not one twin socket.
Pros
Double UK plug is in the title, not only in a review
4,400 W and 220 V are in the fields
Double temperature control is in the description
73 cm full flat is in the title
Cons
3.6 from 34, the lowest star line in the set
Settings field says 1
28 kg
UK reviews include melted controls and a dead zone
Best for: A listing that writes a double UK plug on a 73 cm plate, if you accept the failure stories.
Less suitable: The calmer 4.2 from 83 on the single-zone TM-818, or only one socket.
Yes. The title says a double UK plug. Voltage is 220 V and wattage is 4,400 W. Do not put both plugs in one twin socket.
Are there two heat zones?
The description says double temperature control and a double heating tube. The settings field says 1. Both lines are on the listing.
What do the UK reviews repeat?
Separate sides when it works, and a dead half, melted switches or missing parts when it does not. The star line is 3.6 from 34.
How we compared
Ten amazon.co.uk commercial grill listings carry display scores from 0 to 100. Those scores are not a lab test of heat, plate life or electrical safety. The top pick is the TAIMIKO TM-818, display score 84, at 4.2 from 83 reviews, with a UK plug stated. Best value is the PATIOZA UK-HK-280C at about £89.90, display score 72, at 4.5 from 10 reviews. The two badges are those two different listings. The weights below are the buying checks in that order. They sum to 100. They are not a second penalty inside the display score.
1
Supply
30%
Read watts and plug count. A 13 A BS 1363 socket is about 2,990 W at 230 V. A stated 3,000 W unit sits on one plug. A stated 4,400 W unit does not. If the listing omits the plugs, do not guess.
2
Plate and zones
25%
One knob is one zone. Compact plates are about 28–36 cm. Mid plates are about 45–55 cm. Wide dual-zone plates are about 73 cm. Eggs and bacon want two temperatures.
3
Plate thickness
15%
Where thickness is stated it is 8 mm iron or cast iron. A dealer guide’s 15 mm figure for trade use is that dealer’s opinion, not a British Standard.
4
Grease path
15%
A tray is in the descriptions. UK reviews still report small, missing or stuck trays, and sharp edges.
5
Review evidence
15%
Prefer a star line whose written UK reviews belong to that listing. Three MOOTACO listings share one 4.1 from 114 block. Do not count that text three times.
Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked
Commercial grill buying guide
Sort the supply before the star line. A commercial grill here is a countertop electric flat top. A stated 3,000 W unit sits near one 13 A plug. A stated 4,400 W unit does not. One knob is one zone. On the captured amazon.co.uk listings the shelf prices run from about £89.90 to about £199. A star line whose written reviews are copied across three listings is one sample, not three. None of these scores is a lab test or a hygiene rating.
What is a commercial grill?
A commercial grill on a counter is an electric flat-top griddle. The usual shape is a stainless body, an iron or cast-iron plate, a thermostat and a grease tray. Cafes, stalls and home cooks buy one when they want a hot plate. It is not a gas barbecue, and it is not a lidded kettle.
You sort them by supply first. Read the watts and the plug count. A BS 1363 socket is 13 A, about 2,990 W at 230 V.
Best for
A home cook or a very small service on one 13 A socket
A cafe that can spare two circuits for a wide dual-zone plate
Not ideal for
A breakfast queue on a 28 cm plate
A 4,400 W plate on one socket or one extension lead
Mistakes to avoid
1
One extension lead for two plugs
A stated 4,400 W plate is not a one-socket load. A trade note says not to put both plugs of a dual 13 A supply in one twin socket. One extension lead for both plugs is the same mistake. If the listing does not state the plugs, do not guess them.
2
Reading a settings field of 1 as one temperature
A settings field of 1 next to two knobs, or a field of 2 next to one thermostat and a timer, is a clash. One knob is one zone. Do not treat the digit as proof of two heat zones, and do not ignore a double-control description either. Quote both lines.
3
Judging burgers by colour, or counting one review block three times
Colour is not the safety check. Minced meat needs a probed core of 70°C for 2 minutes, or the GOV.UK equivalents. Pink beef burgers need the validated route. Separately, three MOOTACO listings share one 4.1 from 114 block. That is one sample. Scrubbing the seasoning off a cast-iron plate is a third way to undo a sound setup.
What to weigh up
Supply
High
Read the watts and the plug count before the star line. A BS 1363 socket is 13 A. At 230 V that is about 2,990 W, so a stated 3,000 W commercial grill sits on one plug and a stated 4,400 W commercial grill does not. A trade griddle manual puts 3.0 kW on one dedicated 13 A socket and 5.0 kW on two dedicated 13 A sockets on separate circuits, to BS 7671. Do not put both plugs of a dual 13 A supply in one twin socket. HSE GS50 treats ordinary indoor sockets as 13 A.
Plate width, zones and thickness
High
One knob is one zone. Eggs and bacon want two temperatures more than they want a logo on the front. Compact single-zone plates are about 28–36 cm at about 1,500–1,700 W. Mid single-zone plates are about 45–55 cm at about 2,200–3,000 W. Wide dual-zone plates are about 73 cm at 4,400 W. Quote the plate size in the description and the dimension line separately when they disagree. A settings field of 1 next to a double-control description is a clash, not proof of two zones.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
One socket, a small plate
You want a compact plate on one ordinary circuit and you are not plating a breakfast queue. The PATIOZA UK-HK-280C is about £89.90, 1,700 W and 240 V, with a 28 cm plate and 4.5 from 10 reviews. The plug type is not named. Ten ratings is a small sample.
You want one 3,000 W plate with a UK plug written down, and a larger review sample than the compact models. The TAIMIKO TM-818 is about £139.90, with a 54 × 40 cm plate at 8 mm and 4.2 from 83 reviews. Voltage is not stated. It is one zone, not two.
You can spare two circuits and you want a 73 cm plate whose title writes a double UK plug. The TAIMIKO TM-820/822 is about £199, 4,400 W and 220 V, at 3.6 from 34 reviews. The settings field says 1 against a double-control description. UK reviews include a dead half.
The top pick is the TAIMIKO TM-818 at about £139.90. The listing states a UK plug, 3,000 W, a 54 × 40 cm plate at 8 mm, and a thermostat from 50–300°C. It shows 4.2 from 83 amazon.co.uk reviews. The display score is 84, the highest in this set. Voltage is not in the specification. UK reviews include blackening, a failure at eight weeks, and a plate that stayed cold. This is not a lab test.
Which commercial grill is the best value?
The best value is the PATIOZA UK-HK-280C at about £89.90, the lowest price in this set. The listing agrees on 1,700 W in the description and the wattage field, states 240 V, and gives a 28 cm plate with 50–300°C. It shows 4.5 from 10 reviews. The display score is 72. The plug type is not named, and 10 ratings is a small sample. It is a compact plate, not a breakfast line.
How much does a commercial grill cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the shelf prices run from about £89.90 for a 28 cm, 1,700 W plate to about £199 for 73 cm, 4,400 W plates. Compact plates sit at about £89.90 to £99. Mid single-zone plates sit at about £112.99 to £159. Wide 4,400 W plates sit at about £189 to £199. Those are the captured amazon.co.uk lines, not a market census. Trade-shop griddles sit in a higher band and are not these listings.
Can a 4,400 W commercial grill run from one 13 A socket?
No. A BS 1363 socket is 13 A, about 2,990 W at 230 V. A stated 3,000 W unit sits on one plug. A stated 4,400 W unit does not. Do not put both plugs of a dual supply in one twin socket, and do not guess if the listing omits the plug count. The circuit detail is in the 13 A supply guide.
What should you check before you buy a commercial grill?
Read the watts and how many plugs are written down. Then read the plate width and whether there is one knob or two. One knob is one zone. Where thickness is stated it is 8 mm iron or cast iron. Check that a grease tray is actually described. Prefer a star line whose written reviews belong to that listing. Three MOOTACO pages share one 4.1 from 114 block, so do not count that text three times.
Do you have to register if you sell food from a commercial grill?
Yes, if you sell food, including from home or a mobile unit. Register with the local authority at least 28 days before you trade. Cook minced meat, poultry, pork and rolled joints to a core of 70°C for 2 minutes, or the GOV.UK equivalents, and check with a clean probe. Hot holding is 63°C or above. Colour is not the test. Whole beef or lamb can be sealed on the outside. Pink beef burgers need the validated route.
How do you season and clean a cast-iron commercial grill plate?
Season bare steel or cast iron with a thin oil film. A countertop griddle manual starts that film at 50°C and gives 200–220°C as a general cooking range. A black plate is normal on cast iron. A dead zone is not. Unplug before cleaning, and do not scrub the seasoning off. UK reviews still report smoke if a dial is left high. Call an electrician for a melted plug, a new circuit, or an RCD that keeps tripping.
Is a commercial grill the same as an electric barbecue?
No. These listings are countertop electric flat tops, not lidded kettles and not gas barbecues. Gas on the same pitch is a Gas Safe job. A household lidded electric barbecue is a different appliance, covered in the electric barbecue comparison. A 4,400 W flat top still needs the supply the listing actually states. Stars are not a hygiene rating or a durability test.
Our verdict
The top pick is the TAIMIKO TM-818 at about £139.90. The listing states a UK plug, 3,000 W, a 54 × 40 cm plate at 8 mm and 50–300°C, with 4.2 from 83 amazon.co.uk reviews. The display score is 84, the highest here. Voltage is not stated, and UK reviews include a unit that failed at eight weeks and a plate that stayed cold. The best value is the PATIOZA UK-HK-280C at about £89.90, the lowest price in this set, 1,700 W and 240 V on a 28 cm plate, at 4.5 from 10 reviews and a display score of 72. The plug type is not named, and 10 ratings is a small sample. A 4,400 W plate is not a one-socket buy. These are listing scores, not a lab test.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked
Guides to Commercial grills
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures for these ASINs. Retrieved 22 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines for these ASINs. We did not run a lab test.