Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go – Top pick in this set: outdoor TRU-Infrared gas grill, 8,000 BTU, 4.3 from 909 reviews, at about £157.97. The low setting still runs very hot. Best value: Klarstein Hannibal – Best value among the other rows that still score at least 50: 2,200 W electric cabinet, 4.3 from 127 reviews, at about £406.19. The written reviews are from Germany. Updated 22.10.2026.
An infrared grill cooks with radiant heat from a hot emitter. In the UK that name covers a gas barbecue with an emitter plate, a portable ceramic gas burner, and an electric element above the food. You buy one for a crust from that heat. A thermometer, a contact grill, or an open-flame gas barbecue is a different purchase.
You tell a suitable infrared grill by the heat geometry, the fuel, and a power figure you can check. Propane stays outdoors: not indoors, not in a tent, not under an awning, not in a caravan, and not on a balcony. Electric is an indoor candidate only when the instructions, the plug, and the wattage say so. A standard UK wall socket is treated as about a 3,000 W ceiling. Two wattages against one spec line are a conflict.
A lid gauge on a gas grill reads chamber air, not the food. Surface and weight tell you if the body is a picnic grate or a cabinet. That split is in the [electric or gas infrared grill guide](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/infrared-grill/sub/infrared-grill-electric-vs-gas).
An infrared grill cooks with radiant heat from a hot emitter. In the UK that name covers a gas barbecue with an emitter plate, a portable ceramic gas burner, and an electric element above the food.
An infrared grill cooks with radiant heat from a hot emitter. In the UK that name covers a gas barbecue with an emitter plate, a portable ceramic gas burner, and an electric element above the food. You buy one for a crust from that heat. A thermometer, a contact grill, or an open-flame gas barbecue is a different purchase.
You tell a suitable infrared grill by the heat geometry, the fuel, and a power figure you can check. Propane stays outdoors: not indoors, not in a tent, not under an awning, not in a caravan, and not on a balcony. Electric is an indoor candidate only when the instructions, the plug, and the wattage say so. A standard UK wall socket is treated as about a 3,000 W ceiling. Two wattages against one spec line are a conflict.
A lid gauge on a gas grill reads chamber air, not the food. Surface and weight tell you if the body is a picnic grate or a cabinet. That split is in the [electric or gas infrared grill guide](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/infrared-grill/sub/infrared-grill-electric-vs-gas).
An infrared grill cooks with radiant heat from a hot emitter. In the UK that name covers a gas barbecue with an emitter plate, a portable ceramic gas burner, and an electric element above the food. You buy one for a crust from that heat. A thermometer, a contact grill, or an open-flame gas barbecue is a different purchase. You tell a suitable infrared grill by the heat geometry, the fuel, and a power figure you can check. Propane stays outdoors: not indoors, not in a tent, not under an awning, not in a caravan, and not on a balcony.
The Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go, model 140691, is a portable outdoor gas barbecue with a TRU-Infrared emitter, an 8,000 BTU burner, four power levels, a 1,232 cm² grate, and a listed weight of 10.8 kg, at £157.97. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 909 reviews, and the notes treat that as a large United Kingdom review set. Those UK reviewers, and a separate Expert Reviews test, say it still runs very hot on the low setting. Char-Broil's own UK guidance says a closed-lid preheat is 15–20 minutes and that the lid gauge reads chamber air, not the grate. The bullets require a 16.4 ounce disposable propane cylinder, sold separately, and the listing says assembly is required. The spec block also prints 220 V and 2,800 W next to a gas fuel line, so this is not a mains grill. It is the top pick here for garden or boat cooking if the cylinder stays outdoors and you can cook on a hot low setting.
Pros
Outdoor TRU-Infrared gas grill, 8,000 BTU, four levels, 1,232 cm²
4.3 from 909 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a large UK set in the notes
Lid temperature gauge, with the maker's note that it reads air
10.8 kg portable body and a 2-year warranty on the listing
£157.97, the lowest shelf price in this set
Cons
UK reviews and Expert Reviews say the low setting still runs very hot
The 16.4 ounce propane cylinder is extra, and assembly is required
The spec block also prints 220 V and 2,800 W on a gas listing
Best for: A garden or boat cook who wants a portable propane infrared grate, can keep the cylinder outside, and accepts a low setting that still runs hot.
Less suitable: Indoor, balcony, tent, or caravan cooking, or anyone who needs a gentle low heat or a grill that plugs into the mains.
Gas. The bullets say a 16.4 ounce disposable liquid propane cylinder, sold separately. The spec block also prints 220 V and 2,800 W, which the listing does not reconcile. This is not a mains grill.
Does it have a temperature gauge?
Yes. The bullets list a lid-mounted temperature gauge. Char-Broil's UK guidance says that gauge reads chamber air, not the grate, and that a closed-lid preheat is 15–20 minutes.
Is assembly required?
Yes. The listing says assembly is required. It does not say the build is tool-free. The propane cylinder is sold separately.
The Klarstein Hannibal, model POV6- Hannibal-S, is an electric cabinet grill listed at £406.19, with 2,200 W, a knob, a timer, a 30 litre capacity, and a dropdown tempered-glass door. The title states infrared CharForce heating, a 200–850°C range, and an 18.5 × 30 cm surface, and the spec weight is 13 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 127 reviews. The written reviews on file are marked Reviewed in Germany, so that star line is the listing aggregate, not a United Kingdom consensus. The listing does not state the timer's range, and the material line is not filled in beyond the title. At 13 kg it is a cabinet rather than a picnic grill. It is the best value row among the other listings that still clear the score floor, because the cheaper electric boxes have no reviews and the Solaire is £734.07.
Pros
2,200 W electric cabinet with a timer and a knob
Title surface 18.5 × 30 cm, 30 litre capacity, tempered-glass dropdown door
4.3 from 127 on the amazon.co.uk listing line
Infrared CharForce and 200–850°C are in the title
Cons
The written reviews on file are from Germany, not the United Kingdom
£406.19, and the timer range is not stated
13 kg cabinet, with material not stated beyond the title
Best for: A flat cook who wants a 2,200 W electric cabinet with a timer and an 18.5 × 30 cm surface, and who will check the plug and the instructions before an indoor cook.
Less suitable: You want United Kingdom owner reviews, a portable picnic grill, or a propane infrared barbecue.
What power and temperature does this listing state?
The spec block says 2,200 W and electric. The title states 200–850°C, infrared heating, and an 18.5 × 30 cm surface. The 850°C figure is a title claim, not a temperature measured for this page.
Does it have a timer?
Yes. Timer is in the title and in the special-features field. The listing does not state the timer range.
Are the written reviews on file from the UK?
No. They are marked Reviewed in Germany. The 4.3 from 127 figure is the amazon.co.uk listing line, not a United Kingdom consensus.
The Solaire Everywhere, model SOL-EV17A, is a portable outdoor gas infrared grill with one burner, listed at £734.07, with 14,000 BTU, a 155 square inch grate, and a stainless body at 6.8 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 141 reviews. The written reviews on file are marked Reviewed in the United States, so that figure is the listing aggregate, not British owners. Control and a stated peak temperature are absent from the comparison fields, and the listing says assembly is required. The spec block also prints 14,000 watts beside 14,000 BTU, so the power line is not one unit. The cylinder size is not named. It is the lightest gas infrared body in this set, and it stays outdoors with the other propane grills.
Pros
Portable outdoor gas infrared grill, one burner, 14,000 BTU
6.8 kg stainless body, the lightest gas unit here
155 square inch cooking surface on the listing
4.1 from 141 on the amazon.co.uk listing line
Cons
£734.07, the highest price in this set
Written reviews on file are from the United States
Control is not stated, and the spec also prints 14,000 watts
Cylinder size is not named, and assembly is required
Best for: An outdoor cook who wants a 6.8 kg stainless gas infrared grill and will pay £734.07 for this listing.
Less suitable: You need UK review text, a stated temperature control, or a mains grill for a kitchen.
Gas, one burner, 14,000 BTU. The spec block does not name the cylinder size, and it also prints 14,000 watts beside the BTU figure. Camping is not answered beyond outdoor and portable.
Does it need assembly?
Yes. The listing says assembly is required. Control and a stated peak temperature are not in the comparison fields.
Are the written reviews on file from the UK?
No. They are marked Reviewed in the United States. The 4.1 from 141 figure is the amazon.co.uk listing line, not British owners.
The YXYLJOZ infrared broiler is an electric tabletop unit listed at £237.50, with 1,700 W, a 200–800°C knob, and a 0–10 minute timer. The title places it indoors. The bullets claim ten rack positions, with steaks on tiers 1–3, chicken or fish on 4–7, and fruit or vegetables on 8–10, and they claim overheating, overload, and leakage protection. There is no Customer Reviews line, and there are no dimensions, no weight, no voltage, and no plug. Cooking surface and the contents of the box are not stated. Origin is given as China, and the part number is 3rbddq3846. The 800°C figure and the protection lines are seller claims, with no certificate on the listing.
Pros
1,700 W stated once, with a 200–800°C knob and a 0–10 minute timer
Ten rack positions described in the bullets, by food type
Indoor wording in the title, and no gas cylinder
Cons
No reviews, no weight, and no dimensions
Voltage and UK plug are not stated
Protection claims have no certificate on the listing
Best for: A buyer who wants the ten rack positions in the bullets and will confirm voltage, plug, and size before any indoor cook.
Less suitable: You need owner reviews, a stated weight, or a certificate behind the protection claims.
The bullets claim overheating, overload, and leakage protection. There is no test certificate on the listing. Treat those lines as seller claims.
How many rack positions are listed?
Ten. The bullet assigns steaks to tiers 1–3, chicken or fish to 4–7, and fruit or vegetables to 8–10. Cooking surface, weight, and dimensions are not stated.
Is a UK plug stated?
No. Voltage and plug type are not on the listing. Do not treat the indoor wording in the title as a check of the plug.
The ShaiVrissian steak grill 01, model chu9-1141848, is an 8 kg electric tabletop broiler listed at £189.99, with a claimed stepless band of about 200–800°C and a 0–10 minute timer. The spec block says 1,700 W, while the title says 1,700/3,400 W. There is no Customer Reviews line on the listing, so there is no owner record of heat, smoke, or behaviour on a UK socket. Cooking surface, dimensions, warranty, and plug type are not stated. The bullets name home kitchens and also restaurants, camping, backyards, and buffets, and they do not say whether it needs extraction. The number of items is printed as 20, which does not describe a single grill. The 800°C line is a seller claim, and the 3,400 W title figure is not a reason to treat this as safe on a 13 A plug.
Pros
Mains top-heat grill at £189.99, with no gas cylinder
Stepless 200–800°C claim and a 0–10 minute timer
Listed weight 8 kg, with a stainless grate, handle, and tray
Cons
No Customer Reviews line on the listing
Title wattage 1,700/3,400 W against a 1,700 W spec, and no plug stated
Cooking area not stated, and the item count is printed as 20
Best for: Only a buyer who will verify the plug and treat 1,700 W as the spec figure, not the 3,400 W title line.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants amazon.co.uk reviews, a stated cooking area, or one wattage that matches the title.
The listing asks the question. The bullets and specs do not answer it. They name home kitchens and also restaurants, camping, backyards, and buffets.
Is it for indoor use?
The bullets name home kitchens and also restaurants, camping, backyards, and buffets. There is no plug type and no certificate on the listing. Confirm both before any indoor cook.
How many rack levels are listed?
The bullet says 4/8/10 rack levels and a removable grill rack. The item count is printed as 20, which does not describe a single grill.
The ShaiVrissian steak grill 03 is listed at £232.77 and still carries model chu9-1141848, the same number as the 01 row. The spec block again says 1,700 W against a title of 1,700/3,400 W, and it adds two settings beside the stepless 200–800°C claim and the 0–10 minute timer. There is still no Customer Reviews line. The bullets say the stainless grate is removable, and the included line names that grate, a handle, and a tray, at 8 kg. Dimensions, cooking area, warranty, and plug are not stated. The item count is again printed as 20. You pay £42.78 more than the 01 listing for those two settings, without a review that shows a different cooker.
Pros
Same top-heat layout as the 01 listing, with two settings added in the spec block
0–10 minute timer and a claimed 200–800°C band
Removable stainless grate, handle, and tray listed
Cons
No reviews, and the model number matches the cheaper 01 listing
£232.77, which is £42.78 more than B0H9LR3F5F on the same model number
Wattage lines disagree, and voltage and plug are not stated
Best for: Only if those two settings are the difference you want from the 01 listing and you can confirm the plug yourself.
Less suitable: You expected a different model from chu9-1141848, or you want reviews before paying more than the 01 row.
The title ends in 03, the price is £232.77, and the spec block adds two settings. The model number is still chu9-1141848, and the spec wattage is still 1,700 W against a 1,700/3,400 W title.
Is the grill grate removable?
Yes. The bullets say the grill rack is removable. The included line names that grate, a handle, and a tray.
Does it say it works without installation?
The bullets say it needs no gas. They do not say the unit is tool-free to assemble, and they do not state a plug or a voltage.
How we compared
Scores on the six amazon.co.uk infrared grills kept in this set come from the listing star line, the review count, whether the listing matches an infrared grill, and whether the written reviews are from the United Kingdom. They are not a laboratory cook, an EN 498 result, or a conformity assessment. The top pick is the highest score. The best value is the other row with the highest score per pound among rows that still score at least 50. A missing star line does not win by being cheaper. The weights below sum to 100.
1
Stars
40%
Up to 40 points from the amazon.co.uk star line, as stars divided by five and multiplied by 40. No star line scores 0 on this part, and a missing star line also takes a later deduction.
2
Review volume
20%
Up to 20 points from the review count on the listing. No reviews score 0. A count of 1,000 or more scores 20. A count between 200 and 999 scores 16. Smaller bands score less.
3
Listing fit
25%
Up to 25 points when the heat style is an infrared emitter, a ceramic infrared burner, or a top-down electric element, and when power, a control, a cooking surface, and fuel or place of use are stated. A gas listing has to be outdoor. An electric listing scores the place point in full only when voltage or a plug is stated.
4
Sentiment
15%
Up to 15 points from review text. No review text scores 0. Review bodies that are not from the United Kingdom, with no UK complaint theme on file, score 4, and those rows also take a country deduction. A large UK set that still records one recurring heat complaint scores 10.
Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked
Infrared grill buying guide
Choose by heat geometry, fuel, a power figure you can check, and a control you will actually use. A star line from another country is the listing aggregate, not British owners. Prices are the amazon.co.uk lines saved with this comparison. There is no laboratory cook.
What to check on an infrared grill
An infrared grill is defined by the emitter, not by the word on the title. Three layouts show up in UK searches, and they do not share parts or cooking times. An emitter plate sits under a grate on a gas barbecue. A ceramic burner glows on a portable gas body. An electric element sits above the food in a tabletop box or a cabinet. A thermometer, a contact grill, a charcoal kettle, and a plain three-burner gas barbecue are different products that the same search can return. Leave them out.
Best for
An outdoor propane cook who can keep the cylinder outside and accept a hot low setting
A flat cook who wants electric heat only after the plug, wattage, and instructions agree
Not ideal for
A balcony, tent, caravan, or kitchen for a propane infrared grill
A 3,400 W title figure on a 13 A socket when the spec says 1,700 W and no plug is shown
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying the wrong product from the same search
A thermometer, a contact grill, a charcoal kettle, and a plain three-burner gas barbecue are not infrared grills. Emitter plate, ceramic gas burner, and electric top heat do not share parts or cooking times.
2
Reading the lid gauge as food temperature
The gauge reads chamber air. A closed-lid preheat of 15–20 minutes is a warm-up. A low setting can still run very hot. An 800°C seller line is not a measurement from this page.
3
Lighting propane in the wrong place
Do not light a gas infrared grill indoors, in a tent, under an awning, in a caravan, or on a balcony. Shut the cylinder before the control. Piped gas or a conversion kit is Gas Safe work. Do not put water on a grease fire.
What to weigh up
Heat, fuel and place
High
An emitter plate, a ceramic gas burner, and an electric element above the food are three different grills. Propane stays outdoors: not indoors, not in a tent, not under an awning, not in a caravan, and not on a balcony. Electric is an indoor candidate only when the instructions, the plug, and one wattage agree. A gas listing that also prints a mains voltage is not a plug-in grill.
Power, control and the review country
High
About 3,000 W is the ceiling Electrical Safety First gives for a standard UK wall socket. A 1,700/3,400 W title against a 1,700 W spec is a conflict, and a missing plug is a reason to stop. A lid gauge reads air, not the grate. The amazon.co.uk star line is the listing aggregate. American or German review bodies are not British owners, and a listing with no reviews has no owner record of heat or smoke.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🌿
Garden or boat, outdoors
You can keep a propane cylinder outside and you will cook on a low setting that still runs hot. The Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go is about £157.97, with 4.3 from 909 reviews, 8,000 BTU, four levels, and a 1,232 cm² grate at 10.8 kg. The cylinder is extra. Skip it indoors, on a balcony, or if you need a gentle low heat.
You want an electric cabinet with a timer and a stated surface, and you will check the plug before an indoor cook. The Klarstein Hannibal is about £406.19, 2,200 W, with a title surface of 18.5 × 30 cm and a listed weight of 13 kg. The listing shows 4.3 from 127 reviews. The written reviews on file are from Germany.
You want a portable outdoor gas infrared grill and you will pay the shelf price on this listing. The Solaire Everywhere is about £734.07, 14,000 BTU, 6.8 kg, with 4.1 from 141 reviews. The written reviews on file are from the United States. Control is not stated, and the spec also prints 14,000 watts.
An infrared grill cooks with radiant heat from a hot emitter. In the UK that name covers a gas barbecue with an emitter plate, a portable ceramic gas burner, and an electric element above the food. Those three do not share parts or cooking times, and they are not all allowed in the same room. Propane stays outdoors. An electric model is an indoor candidate only when the instructions, the plug, and the wattage say so. A contact grill or a thermometer from the same search is a different product.
Which infrared grill is the top pick in this set?
The top pick in this set is the Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go at about £157.97. It is a portable outdoor gas barbecue with a TRU-Infrared emitter, 8,000 BTU, four levels, and a 1,232 cm² grate. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 909 reviews, a large United Kingdom set. UK reviews, and a separate published test, say the low setting still runs very hot. The propane cylinder is extra, and the spec block also prints 220 V and 2,800 W.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value in this set is the Klarstein Hannibal at about £406.19. It is an electric cabinet at 2,200 W, with a knob, a timer, and a title surface of 18.5 by 30 cm, listed at 13 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 127 reviews. The written reviews on file are from Germany, so that star line is the listing aggregate, not a United Kingdom consensus. Cheaper electric boxes here have no reviews and sit under the score floor used for best value.
Can I use a gas infrared grill indoors or on a balcony?
No. A gas infrared grill is an outdoor appliance. UK fire-safety guidance says not to light a barbecue indoors, in a tent, under an awning, or in a caravan, and not on a balcony. Keep the cylinder outside, shut the cylinder before the control, and use soapy water if you suspect a leak. Do not put water on a grease fire. Piped natural gas, or a conversion kit, is work for a Gas Safe registered engineer. Nothing in this comparison says a propane grill is safe in a flat.
What wattage is sensible on a UK socket?
Electrical Safety First treats about 3,000 W as the ceiling of a standard UK wall socket, with a 13 A fuse from about 700 W up. Do not coil a high-load lead on a reel. A title that says 1,700/3,400 W against a spec line of 1,700 W is a conflict, not a setting you can trust on a 13 A plug. Those listings do not show the plug. Call an electrician if a socket scorches or the lead runs hot.
How should you read a lid temperature gauge?
On a gas infrared barbecue the lid gauge reads chamber air, not the grate and not the food. Maker guidance for this kind of grill puts a closed-lid preheat at 15 to 20 minutes. A low control that still runs very hot is a recorded complaint on the portable gas row here, including in a separate published test. An 800°C line on an electric listing is a seller claim, not a temperature measured for this page. Smokeless in a title is not an extractor test.
Are the star ratings United Kingdom reviews?
The star line is the amazon.co.uk listing aggregate. The portable gas row has a large review set treated as United Kingdom owners. The ceramic portable's written reviews on file are from the United States, and the electric cabinet's written reviews are from Germany. Three electric tabletop listings have no Customer Reviews line. An American or German review body is not a British owner. A missing star line means no reviews, not a hidden high score.
When should you look at a gas-only infrared comparison?
Use the infrared gas grill comparison when you already know the job is an outdoor propane emitter and you do not want electric cabinets in the same table. This page keeps emitter-plate gas grills, a ceramic portable, and electric top-heat boxes together because a UK search for an infrared grill mixes them. Gas still stays outdoors. An electric row still needs a plug, one wattage that matches the spec, and instructions that allow the room you have.
Our verdict
In this set the top pick is the Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go at about £157.97. It is a portable outdoor gas barbecue with a TRU-Infrared emitter, 8,000 BTU, four levels, a 1,232 cm² grate, and a listed weight of 10.8 kg, with 4.3 from 909 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviews and Expert Reviews say the low setting still runs very hot, the propane cylinder is extra, and the spec block also prints 220 V and 2,800 W on a gas listing. The best value is the Klarstein Hannibal at about £406.19. It is a 2,200 W electric cabinet with 4.3 from 127 reviews whose written texts are from Germany. Among the other rows that still score at least 50, its score per pound is ahead of the Solaire Everywhere at about £734.07. The three cheaper electric boxes score under 50 because they have no star line, so a lower price does not take best value. The Solaire is a 6.8 kg outdoor gas infrared grill at 14,000 BTU, with 4.1 from 141 reviews whose texts are from the United States, and its spec also prints 14,000 watts. The YXYLJOZ broiler is about £237.50 with 1,700 W, ten rack positions in the bullets, and no reviews or plug. The two ShaiVrissian listings share model chu9-1141848, a 1,700 W spec against a 1,700/3,400 W title, a printed item count of 20, and no reviews.
Best overall
Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go
Top pick in this set: outdoor TRU-Infrared gas grill, 8,000 BTU, 4.3 from 909 reviews, at about £157.97. The low setting still runs very hot.
Best value among the other rows that still score at least 50: 2,200 W electric cabinet, 4.3 from 127 reviews, at about £406.19. The written reviews are from Germany.
Infrared grillsGas and electric barbecuesamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked
Guides to infrared grills
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources on outdoor fire safety, BS 1363 plugs, and socket load, plus maker notes on preheat and a published test of one portable gas grill. Prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines saved with this comparison, shelf date 21 October 2026. This is not a laboratory cook.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.