Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wind turbine comparison 2026

The best wind turbines, compared.

Top pick: AECEVAN kit, 48 V label Best value: FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm – The only demonstration price, about £35.99, with a 100 mm rotor and a weight of 300 g. Best value only when the job is a classroom model. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

The row is a teaching model with a 100 mm rotor and a weight of 300 g. Printed kit weights, where a listing states them, sit between about 7.74 kg and 12 kg. None of these pages gives a swept area, a wind speed beside the watt claim, or an MCS number. That figure is not these parcel weights, and a 10,000 W or 20,000 W title is not household output. The [wind turbine buying guide](/hub/diy-supplies/wind-turbine/sub/wind-turbine-buying-guide) is the order of checks. The kept amazon.co.uk listings are eight generator kits and one demonstration model. The kits, where a weight is printed, run from about 7.74 kg to 12 kg. Horizontal-axis means a propeller that must face the wind. Vertical-axis means an upright shaft with no yaw.

The row is a teaching model with a 100 mm rotor and a weight of 300 g. Printed kit weights, where a listing states them, sit between about 7.74 kg and 12 kg.

AECEVAN kit, 48 V label

Best overall

AECEVAN kit, 48 V label
3.2/10∼ £287

32 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

9 of 9: Best wind turbines compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
AECEVAN kit, 48 V label
AECEVAN kit, 24 V label
1,200 W 3-blade 12 V kit
Best value
FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm
DECAKE vertical kit, 48 V
MLYYYDSS vertical kit, 220 V label
HUIZHITENGDA vertical kit, 220 V
AECEVAN kit, 220 V label
DECAKE vertical kit, 220 V
3.2/10
3.1/10
3.9/10
3.4/10
3.0/10
3.2/10
3.2/10
2.7/10
2.4/10
∼ £287
∼ £287
∼ £203
∼ £36
∼ £173
∼ £203
∼ £305
∼ £287
∼ £181
5.0(1)
5.0(1)
3.2(6)
2.5(3)
1.0(1)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wind turbines in detail

AECEVAN kit, 48 V label

Rank 1

AECEVAN kit, 48 V label

∼£287

Our view

The AECEVAN 48 V row is the same £286.99 shelf price and the same part AE-9576, 12 kg, and 50 × 40 × 25 cm package as the 24 V listing, with the colour field set to 48 V. The title still claims 14,000 W with no wind speed and still prints 24 V, 48 V, and 220 V. The one review is 5.0, written in the Netherlands: the buyer calls it good quality, says plastic parts fit and the fasteners are stainless, and says they replaced the mounting ring. That is a fit comment, not a UK yield and not a noise test. The axis lines still disagree, vertical magnetic levitation in the components and a horizontally rotating coreless generator in a bullet. The shared main image means you should not add this star to the 24 V count.

Pros

  • Colour field states 48 V
  • One written review describes fit, stainless fasteners, and a replaced mounting ring
  • Weight 12 kg and part AE-9576 match the 24 V row's hardware line

Cons

  • The only review is from the Netherlands, not a UK yield
  • 14,000 W with no wind speed, and three voltages in the title
  • Axis lines contradict each other
  • Main image and best-seller line are shared with the other AECEVAN ASINs

Best for: A 48 V colour label where a fit comment is enough and a house output is not the aim.

Less suitable: A UK energy estimate, or anyone adding this star to the 24 V and 220 V rows.

Specifications

Model
AECEVAN kit, 48 V label
Brand
AECEVAN
Price
∼£287
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Listing conflict
Claimed power
14,000 W title
Voltage
48 V
Controller
Title only
Blades
Galvanised alloy
Weight
12 kg

Common questions

Which voltage is this ASIN?

The colour field is 48 V. Part number AE-9576, weight 12 kg and the 50 x 40 x 25 cm package match the 24 V ASIN. The title still prints 24 V, 48 V and 220 V.

What does the one review say?

It is 5.0 from 1 review, written in the Netherlands. The buyer calls it good quality, says plastic parts fit and the fasteners are stainless, and says they replaced the mounting ring.

Does the listing agree on the axis?

Included components say vertical magnetic levitation. A bullet says a horizontally rotating coreless generator.

AECEVAN kit, 24 V label

Rank 2

AECEVAN kit, 24 V label

∼£287

Our view

The AECEVAN 24 V row is £286.99, part AE-9576, 12 kg, in a 50 × 40 × 25 cm package, with a title that claims 14,000 W and also prints 24 V, 48 V, and 220 V. The colour field is 24 V. Included components say vertical magnetic levitation, while a bullet says a horizontally rotating coreless generator, so the axis is not settled. The star line is 5.0 from 1 review and the file has no review text, so you cannot tell what that star was about. The main image URL matches the 48 V and 220 V ASINs, so that single star is not a separate UK sample you can add to the others. A controller is named in the title and not itemised. Blades are described as galvanised aluminium alloy, three arc blades, with no start-up wind speed.

Pros

  • Colour field states 24 V
  • Weight 12 kg and package 50 × 40 × 25 cm are printed
  • Part number AE-9576 is on the row

Cons

  • 14,000 W with no wind speed
  • Axis lines disagree: vertical in the components, horizontal in a bullet
  • 5.0 from 1 review, with no text, on a shared main image
  • Controller is in the title and not itemised

Best for: A 24 V colour label you are comparing with the other AECEVAN rows, not a yield you are trusting.

Less suitable: Anyone reading 5.0 as proof, or who needs one agreed axis before paying £286.99.

Specifications

Model
AECEVAN kit, 24 V label
Brand
AECEVAN
Price
∼£287
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Listing conflict
Claimed power
14,000 W title
Voltage
24 V
Controller
Title only
Blades
Galvanised alloy
Weight
12 kg

Common questions

Which voltage is this ASIN?

The colour field is 24 V. The title also prints 24 V, 48 V and 220 V and claims 14,000 W with no wind speed.

Is the axis vertical or horizontal?

Included components say vertical magnetic levitation. Bullet 5 says a horizontally rotating coreless generator. Both lines are on the listing.

Is there a written review?

The star line is 5.0 out of 5 from 1 review. The file has no review text, so praise and complaints are not recorded.

1,200 W 3-blade 12 V kit

Rank 3

1,200 W 3-blade 12 V kit

∼£203

Our view

The unbranded three-blade kit is £203.31, stated at 1,200 W and 12 V for boat, marine, home, and off-grid use, with a table weight of 7.74 kg and a package of 68 × 30.1 × 24.6 cm. The axis is not stated, and neither a controller nor an inverter appears in the file. Across 6 amazon.co.uk reviews at 3.2, one says it tolerates high wind but the power rating is overstated, another says it does not turn in the wind, and one found it too heavy for camping off-grid. That is the largest review file in this set, which is why it is the top pick when you want a 12 V experiment you can read about, not because 1,200 W has been measured at 11.0 m/s. The brand field is blank. A house connection is outside what this listing shows, and six mixed reviews are not a domestic test.

Pros

  • 12 V is stated, for boat, marine, home, and off-grid use
  • 7.74 kg, with a package of 68 × 30.1 × 24.6 cm
  • 1,200 W is the least inflated watt title among the generator kits
  • 3.2 from 6 reviews, the only multi-review file in this set

Cons

  • Axis is not stated, and no controller or inverter is listed
  • Reviews say the power rating is overstated and that it did not turn
  • One reviewer found it too heavy for camping
  • Brand is not stated, and there is no wind speed on the watt claim

Best for: A 12 V boat or off-grid experiment where you want the only review file you can actually read.

Less suitable: A grid-tied house, a camping kit you must carry, or anyone who needs a named axis.

Specifications

Model
1,200 W 3-blade 12 V kit
Brand
n/a
Price
∼£203
Customer rating
3.2/5(6)
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Not stated
Claimed power
1,200 W title
Voltage
12 V
Blades
Alloy and nylon
Weight
7.74 kg

Common questions

Is this sold for off-grid use?

The title says boat, marine, home and off-grid, at 12 V. A controller and an inverter are not listed.

How heavy is it?

Item weight is 7.74 kg. Package dimensions are 68 x 30.1 x 24.6 cm. One reviewer said it was too heavy for camping off-grid.

What do the UK reviews say?

The star line is 3.2 out of 5 from 6 reviews. One review says it tolerates high wind but the power rating is overstated. Another says it does not turn in the wind.

FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm

Rank 4

FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm

∼£36

Our view

The FIRETIDE spiral is a 100 mm teaching model at £35.99, weighing 300 g, with PAL blades and a claimed LED, sold for science experiments rather than a house supply. Across 3 amazon.co.uk reviews at 2.5, two say it does not spin in the wind, or does not spin easily. The listing says assembly is required and that step-by-step instructions are included, so the job is a classroom build, not a mast. There is no stated wattage, voltage, or swept area, which fits a demonstration and tells you nothing if you wanted a charger. It is the best value in this set only when the spend should stay near £36 for a model you can hold, and that value falls if the rotor stays still after you build it. A domestic turbine is a different purchase: the Energy Saving Trust's pole-mounted example is about £35,000 installed.

Pros

  • £35.99, the only demonstration price in this set
  • 100 mm rotor and 300 g, so the role is a model
  • Step-by-step instructions are listed as included
  • No 10,000 W or 20,000 W title to misread as household output

Cons

  • 2.5 from 3 reviews, and two say it does not spin
  • No voltage, controller, or watt field
  • Not a generator for a boat or a house

Best for: A classroom or demonstration build where a 100 mm spiral is the point.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs charging current, a mast, or a connection to the house.

Specifications

Model
FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm
Brand
FIRETIDE
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
2.5/5(3)
Role
Demonstration model
Axis
Vertical
Blades
PAL
Weight
0.3 kg

Common questions

Is this a house wind turbine?

No. The listing is a DIY spiral model for science experiments and teaching, with a 100 mm rotating diameter and a weight of 300 g.

Does it come with instructions?

The bullets say it comes with a DIY assembly kit and step-by-step instructions. Assembly is required.

What do the reviews say about spinning?

The star line is 2.5 out of 5 from 3 reviews. Two UK reviews say it does not spin in the wind, or does not spin easily.

DECAKE vertical kit, 48 V

Rank 5

DECAKE vertical kit, 48 V

∼£173

Our view

The DECAKE 48 V listing is a vertical kit at £173.00 whose title claims 20,000 W, a controller, and an on-grid inverter, with a start line of 2 m/s and nylon-fibre blades. Item weight is not stated, and the 20,000 W figure has no wind speed beside it, so it is not the 11.0 m/s measurement used in MIS 3003. The colour label is 48 V, a battery-side figure, while the title also talks about an on-grid inverter. Across 1 amazon.co.uk review at 1.0, the text calls it utter rubbish and is titled Shocking, with no praise. At this price it is the cheapest generator kit in the set, and that one review is why it is not a bargain. A 20,000 W house machine is not a parcel you can judge from a single hostile star.

Pros

  • £173.00, the lowest generator-kit price in this set
  • Colour label states 48 V
  • Title names a controller and an on-grid inverter
  • A start-up line of 2 m/s is printed

Cons

  • 20,000 W with no wind speed
  • Item weight is not stated
  • 1.0 from 1 review, called utter rubbish
  • Controller and inverter sit in the title, not in an itemised contents list

Best for: A buyer who is only comparing the cheapest vertical title, and who will treat 20,000 W as unverified.

Less suitable: A house supply, a grid-tied install, or anyone who needs a second review before paying.

Specifications

Model
DECAKE vertical kit, 48 V
Brand
DECAKE
Price
∼£173
Customer rating
1.0/5(1)
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Vertical
Claimed power
20,000 W title
Voltage
48 V
Controller
Title only
Inverter
Title only
Blades
Nylon fibre
Start-up
2 m/s

Common questions

Does the listing include a controller and an inverter?

The title says a controller and an on-grid inverter. A separate included-components list is not in the file.

What voltage is this variant?

The colour label is 48 V. The title claims 20,000 W and does not state a wind speed. Item weight is not stated.

What do reviewers say?

The star line is 1.0 out of 5 from 1 review. That review calls it utter rubbish and is titled Shocking. It contains no praise.

MLYYYDSS vertical kit, 220 V label

Rank 6

MLYYYDSS vertical kit, 220 V label

∼£203

Our view

The MLYYYDSS vertical kit is £203.00 and 11 kg, and the included-components line lists three blades, a generator, bolts, a spindle and arm, one wind controller, and an English installation manual. The title says 10,000 W/12,000 W and the variant line says 10,000 W at 220 V, while the output-wattage field says 3,000 W, and none of those figures names a wind speed. The bullets say the blades start at 2 m/s. The colour field reads 10000w, and the title also lists 12 V, 24 V, 48 V, and 220 V, so the voltage you would wire is not a single confirmed output. There is no customer-review line. An inverter is not in the box list, so a grid-tied reading of the watt title would add hardware the components line does not show. The number-of-items field says 20 against a unit count of 1.

Pros

  • Wind controller and an English installation manual are itemised
  • Item weight is stated at 11 kg
  • A start claim of 2 m/s is printed
  • £203.00, in the middle of this kit band

Cons

  • Title says 10,000 W/12,000 W; the output-wattage field says 3,000 W
  • No wind speed beside any watt figure
  • Voltage menu of 12/24/48/220 V against a 10000w colour field
  • No customer-review line, and no inverter in the box list

Best for: A buyer who wants a contents line they can count, and who will not treat either watt field as measured output.

Less suitable: A house export, or anyone who needs reviews before paying £203.

Specifications

Model
MLYYYDSS vertical kit, 220 V label
Brand
MLYYYDSS
Price
∼£203
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Vertical
Claimed power
10,000 W / 3,000 W
Voltage
220 V label
Controller
Yes
Blades
FRP and nylon
Start-up
2 m/s
Weight
11 kg

Common questions

Which watt figure is on the listing?

The title says 10,000 W/12,000 W and the variant line says 10,000 W-220 V. Wattage, starting wattage and running wattage say 10,000 W. The output-wattage field says 3,000 W. No wind speed is stated.

Is a controller in the box?

The included-components line lists 1 wind controller and an English installation manual. An inverter is not listed.

What is the stated start speed and weight?

The bullets say the blades start at 2 m/s. Item weight is 11 kg. There is no customer-review line.

HUIZHITENGDA vertical kit, 220 V

Rank 7

HUIZHITENGDA vertical kit, 220 V

∼£305

Our view

The HUIZHITENGDA vertical kit is the dearest row at £305.49, with a claimed 4,000 W that also appears in the output-wattage field, a 220 V colour label, and a weight of 12 kg. The frequency field says 60 Hz. Great Britain's public supply is 50 Hz at a declared 230 V, so a 60 Hz figure is a reason to stop, not a setting you correct in the consumer unit. The components line lists three blades, a generator, a wind assist wheel, bolts, a spindle and arm, one wind controller, and an English installation manual, and a second line says the English language is not guaranteed. There is no customer-review line, no wind speed, and no inverter. Recommended use on the listing includes living, decoration, and commercial, which is not a domestic generation certificate.

Pros

  • 4,000 W appears in both the claim and the output-wattage field
  • Wind controller and a manual are itemised
  • Weight is stated at 12 kg

Cons

  • Frequency field says 60 Hz, against a 50 Hz public supply
  • £305.49, the highest price in this set, with no reviews
  • A second line says English is not guaranteed
  • No wind speed, no inverter, and no MCS number

Best for: Comparing a contents list that names a controller, once you have already rejected 60 Hz for a GB mains connection.

Less suitable: Any parallel connection to the house, or a buyer who needs reviews at this price.

Specifications

Model
HUIZHITENGDA vertical kit, 220 V
Brand
HUIZHITENGDA
Price
∼£305
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Vertical
Claimed power
4,000 W
Voltage
220 V
Controller
Yes
Weight
12 kg

Common questions

What frequency does the listing state?

The frequency field is 60 Hz and the voltage is 220 V. Great Britain's public supply is 50 Hz at a declared 230 V, which this listing does not state.

What is in the box?

The components line lists 3 blades, 1 generator, 1 wind assist wheel, bolts, a spindle and arm, 1 wind controller and an English installation manual. Another line says the English language of the instructions is not guaranteed.

Is there a review score?

This file has no customer-review line. Claimed power is 4,000 W with no wind speed, at 12 kg.

AECEVAN kit, 220 V label

Rank 8

AECEVAN kit, 220 V label

∼£287

Our view

The AECEVAN 220 V row stays at £286.99 but changes the hardware line: part AE-6856, 10 kg, and a package of 85 × 38 × 22 cm, against AE-9576 at 12 kg on the other two. The colour field is 220 V while the title still lists 24 V, 48 V, and 220 V and claims 14,000 W with no wind speed. Included components say only Wind Turbine Generator Kit, so the controller in the title is not itemised. There is no review line on this file. The best-seller rank and the main image URL match the other two AECEVAN ASINs, which is a catalogue overlap, not three independent sales proofs. Great Britain's declared voltage is 230 V at 50 Hz, and this file does not state frequency. The axis conflict on the sibling rows is still the listing's own wording.

Pros

  • A distinct part number, AE-6856, at 10 kg
  • Package dimensions 85 × 38 × 22 cm are printed
  • Colour field states 220 V

Cons

  • 14,000 W with no wind speed, and no review line
  • Controller is in the title and not in the contents line
  • Same main image and best-seller line as the 24 V and 48 V rows
  • Frequency is not stated, and 220 V is not the declared 230 V supply

Best for: Checking whether the 220 V row is a different part from AE-9576 before you treat the three ASINs as one product.

Less suitable: A mains-parallel connection, or a purchase that relies on the shared 5.0 star.

Specifications

Model
AECEVAN kit, 220 V label
Brand
AECEVAN
Price
∼£287
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Listing conflict
Claimed power
14,000 W title
Voltage
220 V
Controller
Title only
Blades
Galvanised alloy
Weight
10 kg

Common questions

How is this 220 V row different from the other AECEVAN ASINs?

Part number AE-6856, weight 10 kg and package 85 x 38 x 22 cm. The 24 V and 48 V rows are part AE-9576 at 12 kg. The best-seller line and main image URL match those rows.

Is a controller itemised?

The title says with a controller. Included components say only Wind Turbine Generator Kit.

Are there reviews?

This file has no customer-review line and no review text.

DECAKE vertical kit, 220 V

Rank 9

DECAKE vertical kit, 220 V

∼£181

Our view

The DECAKE 220 V listing is a vertical kit at £181.00, with a title that claims 20,000 W, a grid-tied controller, and an inverter. The colour label is 220 V, which is not the declared 230 V of the public supply in Great Britain, and the file does not state 50 Hz. Weight is not stated, and there is no wind speed next to the watt line. This file has no customer-review line and no review text, so the 48 V sibling's one-star comment cannot be copied across. You are paying £8 more than the 48 V row for a mains-voltage label that still shows no type-test number and no MCS certificate. Nylon-fibre blades and a 2 m/s start line are printed, and neither figure is a yield. Leave it if you need a machine you can connect in parallel with the house.

Pros

  • Colour label states 220 V as the variant
  • Title names a grid-tied controller and an inverter
  • A start-up line of 2 m/s is printed

Cons

  • 20,000 W with no wind speed and no stated weight
  • 220 V on the label, with frequency not stated
  • No customer-review line in the file
  • No type-test number and no MCS certificate

Best for: A comparison of the 220 V colour label against the 48 V DECAKE row, before you decide the title is enough.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs UK reviews, a stated weight, or a certified grid connection.

Specifications

Model
DECAKE vertical kit, 220 V
Brand
DECAKE
Price
∼£181
Role
Generator kit
Axis
Vertical
Claimed power
20,000 W title
Voltage
220 V
Controller
Title only
Inverter
Title only
Blades
Nylon fibre
Start-up
2 m/s

Common questions

Is an inverter included?

The title says a grid-tied controller and an inverter. The file has no separate included-components list.

What is the stated voltage?

The colour label is 220 V. The title claims 20,000 W with no wind speed, and the weight is not stated.

Are there customer reviews?

This file has no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Scores use the nine amazon.co.uk listings kept in this comparison, priced from about £35.99 to about £305.49 on 16 October 2026. They are not a laboratory test, not a measured yield at 11.0 m/s, and not a rank of MCS-certified domestic turbines. The Energy Saving Trust's figure of about £35,000 for a 6 kW pole-mounted system is outside this set. Prices, stars and review counts are the figures on each listing. A best-seller rank is a sales position, not an output test. Shared main images are not added together.

1

Stars, only when the texts match

35%

Thirty-five points for the amazon.co.uk star line only when the texts are about this listing. A 5.0 with no text, or a Netherlands review on a shared photo, scores low. No review line scores 0.

2

A listing you can buy from

25%

Twenty-five points for whether you can buy from the page as it stands: one axis, a voltage label that does not fight the title, a watt figure that does not fight another watt field, a stated weight, and a controller only when a contents line names it.

3

Price against the job

20%

Twenty points for price against the job the listing actually describes. The lowest kit price does not earn the full twenty if the only review is hostile or the watt line is a title with no wind speed.

4

Review sentiment

20%

Twenty points for review sentiment, with deductions for a rotor that does not turn, an overstated power claim, a 60 Hz field on a GB mains question, and no text at all.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wind turbine buying guide

Start with the job, not the watt title. A classroom model, a low-voltage battery charger, and a grid-tied house turbine are three different purchases. Then check the site, the axis, whether the watt line names a wind speed, and whether the voltage and frequency match a 50 Hz, 230 V supply in Great Britain. Count a controller only when a contents line names it. None of these nine listings shows an MCS number.

What is a wind turbine?

A wind turbine makes electricity from wind. On this page the kept amazon.co.uk listings are eight generator kits and one FIRETIDE demonstration model. The demonstration model has a 100 mm rotor and weighs 300 g. The kits, where a weight is printed, run from about 7.74 kg to 12 kg. No listing gives swept area, a wind speed for the watt claim, or an MCS number. Horizontal-axis means a propeller that must face the wind. Vertical-axis means an upright shaft with no yaw.

Best for

  • A classroom build where a 100 mm spiral is the point
  • A 12 V boat or off-grid experiment where you want the only review file you can read

Not ideal for

  • A grid-tied house, or any parallel connection to the mains
  • A buyer who treats 10,000 W or 20,000 W as household output

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading a watt title as household output

    MIS 3003 measures small-wind output at 11.0 m/s. A 10,000 W or 20,000 W title with no wind speed is not that figure, and it is not a house supply. MLYYYDSS also prints 3,000 W in the output field beside a 10,000 W title.

  2. 2

    Merging reviews that share a photo

    The three AECEVAN ASINs share a main image. The 48 V row has one Netherlands text about fit. The 24 V row has a star and no text. The 220 V row has no review line. Do not add those lines into one sample.

  3. 3

    Using English rules outside England

    Class H and Class I sit in England's GPDO 2015. Wales and Northern Ireland need planning permission. Scotland is a local check. Easy installation on a listing is not a foundation design, and it is not consent.

What to weigh up

Job, axis and the watt line

High

Decide the job before the star line. FIRETIDE B0FXG3GRVZ is the only teaching model: a 100 mm rotor, 300 g, about £35.99, and two of three reviews say it does not spin. The unbranded three-blade kit states 12 V and 7.74 kg at about £203.31, with six mixed reviews, and it does not state the axis. Horizontal-axis machines are the usual, more efficient layout. Vertical-axis machines take any wind direction and tend to be less efficient. Most kits here are sold as vertical.

Voltage, the box and certification

High

Great Britain's public supply is 50 Hz at a declared 230 V. HUIZHITENGDA prints 60 Hz and 220 V, at about £305.49, with a controller itemised and no review line. A 220 V colour label is the variant, not proof of 50 Hz. Count a controller or an inverter only if the title or the included-components line states it. MLYYYDSS itemises a wind controller and an English manual, and does not list an inverter. DECAKE names a controller and an inverter in the title only.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A classroom model

You want a science build, not a charger. The FIRETIDE spiral is about £35.99, with a 100 mm rotor and a weight of 300 g. Across 3 reviews at 2.5, two say it does not spin. There is no watt claim to misread as a house supply. It is the best value only for that classroom job.

A 12 V experiment

You want a 12 V boat, marine or off-grid experiment and a review file you can read. The unbranded three-blade kit is about £203.31, 7.74 kg, with 3.2 from 6 reviews. It is the top pick for that reason. The texts include an overstated power rating and a rotor that did not turn. It is not a grid-tied house turbine.

A box list you can count

You want a contents line you can count, and you will not treat a watt title as measured output. The MLYYYDSS vertical kit is about £203.00 and 11 kg, and the components line names a wind controller and an English manual. The title says 10,000 W and the output field says 3,000 W. There is no review line, and no inverter in that list.

Common questions about wind turbines

Which wind turbine is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the unbranded 1,200 W three-blade kit, about £203.31, with 3.2 from 6 amazon.co.uk reviews on 16 October 2026. It states 12 V and weighs 7.74 kg. No controller is listed. Reviews mention high wind, an overstated power rating, a rotor that did not turn, and a unit too heavy for camping. It is a 12 V experiment you can read about, not a house turbine. The FIRETIDE spiral at about £35.99 is the separate best value when the job is a classroom model.
How much does a wind turbine cost on amazon.co.uk?
On 16 October 2026 the nine listings ran from about £35.99 to about £305.49. FIRETIDE is £35.99. The DECAKE 48 V and 220 V labels are £173.00 and £181.00. MLYYYDSS is £203.00 and the 1,200 W kit is £203.31. Each of the three AECEVAN labels is £286.99. HUIZHITENGDA is £305.49. That band is this folder. The Energy Saving Trust's figure for a 6 kW pole-mounted system is about £35,000 installed, which is not one of these parcels. Prices move.
Is a 10,000 W or 20,000 W title household output?
No. MIS 3003 measures small-wind output at 11.0 m/s, and a title with no wind speed is not that measurement. MLYYYDSS prints 10,000 W in the title and 3,000 W in the output-wattage field. The DECAKE titles say 20,000 W with no wind speed and no stated weight. AECEVAN titles say 14,000 W with no wind speed. None of these ASINs shows an MCS number. Do not treat those watt lines as the output that will run a house.
What voltage and frequency does a GB connection need?
Great Britain's public supply is 50 Hz at a declared 230 V, under the Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002, regulation 27. HUIZHITENGDA prints 60 Hz and 220 V. The DECAKE and AECEVAN 220 V colour labels are 220 V, and those files do not state 50 Hz. A colour field is the variant you selected, not three confirmed outputs on one machine. A 60 Hz figure is a reason to stop before any connection in parallel with the house.
Do these wind turbine kits include MCS certification?
None of these nine ASINs shows an MCS number. MCS certification is what the domestic planning route and the Smart Export Guarantee ask for, and these listings do not show it. SEG for wind up to 50 kW needs certification that is not on these pages. Count a controller or an inverter only when the title or the included-components line states it. Shared main images are not added together as extra reviews. This comparison did not test noise, yield, or build quality.
When is planning permission required for a wind turbine?
In England, GPDO 2015 Schedule 2 Part 14 Class H covers one turbine on a detached house, and Class I covers one free-standing turbine. Both need the MCS Planning Standards, and SI 2025/560 names MCS 020 b. Shared limits include swept area no more than 3.8 m². Wales and Northern Ireland need planning permission, the Energy Saving Trust says. Scotland is a local check. Do not use Class H or Class I outside England. Ask the council before a mast goes up. These shop kits are not that route.
Vertical or horizontal axis?
Horizontal-axis means a propeller that must face the wind. It is the usual, more efficient layout. Vertical-axis means an upright shaft that takes any wind direction and tends to be less efficient. Most kits in this set are sold as vertical. The 1,200 W kit says three blades and 12 V and does not state the axis. On the AECEVAN rows, one line says vertical magnetic levitation and a bullet says a horizontally rotating generator. Pole versus building is the mount, not the axis.
Is a sheltered garden a good site for a wind turbine?
Exposed windy ground is the Energy Saving Trust's match for a domestic turbine. Built-up or sheltered ground is not. nidirect, citing the Trust, screens for at least 5 m/s annual average and a clear approach. A model that may not spin on a desk is not that screen. If you only want to see which way the breeze is blowing, that is a windsock comparison, not a generator. Call an MCS installer and an electrician before any grid-parallel connection or new domestic circuit.

Our verdict

The top pick is the unbranded 1,200 W three-blade kit at about £203.31. It is the highest score in this set: 12 V, 7.74 kg, and 3.2 from 6 reviews, the only multi-review file. Those texts split between high-wind tolerance, an overstated rating, a rotor that did not turn, and a unit too heavy for camping. It is a 12 V experiment you can read about, not a house turbine. The best value is the FIRETIDE spiral at about £35.99 when the job is a classroom model near £36. Two of three reviews say it does not spin. A 6 kW pole-mounted system at about £35,000 is outside this set.

Best overall
AECEVAN kit, 48 V label

AECEVAN kit, 48 V label

View offer
Best value
FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm

FIRETIDE spiral model, 100 mm

The only demonstration price, about £35.99, with a 100 mm rotor and a weight of 300 g. Best value only when the job is a classroom model.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsSmall wind

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wind turbines

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Energy Saving Trust, legislation.gov.uk (GPDO 2015, SI 2025/560, ESQCR 2002 and the Consumer Rights Act 2015), the Planning Portal, Ofgem and National Grid. Prices and stars are the amazon.co.uk listings on 16 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. Energy Saving Trust, wind turbines (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. GPDO 2015, Schedule 2, Part 14 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. SI 2025/560, MCS Planning Standards (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Planning Portal, stand-alone wind turbines (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Ofgem, Smart Export Guarantee (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. National Grid, G98 microgeneration (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. ESQCR 2002, regulation 27 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 11 (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores compare published listings and review texts. They are not a laboratory test.