Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Surge protector comparison 2026

The best surge protectors, compared.

Top pick: Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead Best value: Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor – About £8.25, 4.6 from 5,929 reviews, and switched sockets, with joules unstated and the neighbouring socket often blocked. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A surge protector here is a portable strip or a plug-through adaptor that adds sockets on a BS 1363 outlet and claims to absorb some transient overvoltage. It is not a Type 2 device in the consumer unit. The treats a Type 3 strip as a supplement only,rplug says this class of lead is not a lightning arrester. You tell a clearer listing from a weaker one by a fused UK plug, a printed surge figure or an honest gap, a protection indicator, and a load you can stay inside. The strip still shares one 13 A budget. A kettle, a heater, or a microwave belongs in the wall. The [buying guide](/hub/diy-supplies/surge-protector/sub/surge-protector-buying-guide) covers the plug, the joules, the indicator, and the 13 A limit. UK shoppers buy one for a television, a console, a desk, or a workshop because the wall has too few sockets.

A surge protector here is a portable strip or a plug-through adaptor that adds sockets on a BS 1363 outlet and claims to absorb some transient overvoltage. It is not a Type 2 device in the consumer unit.

Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead

Best overall

Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead
8.8/10∼ £15

36 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

10 of 10: Best surge protectors compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead
HANYCONY 4-gang surge lead with USB
Masterplug 4-gang 2 m surge lead
Masterplug surge adaptor with 2 USB
Best value
Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor
DEWENWILS 6-gang switched surge lead
HANYCONY 8-gang surge lead with USB-C
HANNELORE 7-gang metal surge strip
IECOPOWER 8-gang surge lead, USB-C PD
SE UKASE 8-socket surge tower
8.8/10
6.4/10
9.2/10
7.1/10
7.9/10
7.4/10
8.0/10
5.7/10
6.5/10
5.3/10
∼ £15
∼ £15
∼ £9
∼ £15
∼ £8
∼ £17
∼ £20
∼ £30
∼ £24
∼ £18
4.7(6,912)
4.7(1,621)
4.7(1,267)
4.7(408)
4.6(5,929)
4.6(2,224)
4.6(2,042)
4.6(104)
4.4(90)
4.4(65)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best surge protectors in detail

Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead

Rank 1

Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead

∼£15

Our view

The Belkin BSV400 is a four-socket, 2 m strip listed at 525 joules and £14.99, with 4.7 from 6,912 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest review count in this set. Reviewers describe a sturdier case than cheaper strips, plugs that stay put, and spacing that takes larger adapters. Several say it does not get hot in ordinary use. There are no keyhole slots, so you cannot screw it to the wall the way a mounting bar allows. The listing’s amperage figure of 1,363 A is not a credible load, and a USB-port attribute does not match this BSV400 model. Belkin UK support states a £20,000 connected-equipment warranty for BSV400, but that sum is not printed on this amazon.co.uk listing, which shows a one-year manufacturer warranty. Some review text describes six sockets or USB, so those comments are not treated as evidence for this four-gang.

Pros

  • 525 joules printed on the listing
  • 4.7 from 6,912 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 2 m cable and four sockets that reviewers say hold plugs firmly
  • Case described as sturdier than cheaper strips

Cons

  • No mounting holes, according to reviews
  • Listing load figure of 1,363 A is not usable
  • The £20,000 warranty figure is not on this Amazon listing
  • Described as bulky, and 2 m is short for some rooms

Best for: A television or desk strip that can lie on the floor or a shelf, where a large review count and a printed 525 joule figure matter.

Less suitable: Anyone who must screw the bar to a wall, or who needs USB ports on this model.

Specifications

Model
Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead
Brand
Belkin
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.7/5(6,912)
Surge
525 joules
Sockets
4
Cable
2 m
Switching
One switch
Wall mount
No
Plug
Type G

Common questions

How many sockets and what joule figure?

Four sockets, 2 m cable, 525 joules on the listing.

Can it be screwed to a wall?

Reviewers say there are no mounting holes.

Does this model have USB?

The title and model BSV400 do not describe USB. A listing attribute says 4 USB ports, which is not used as a feature.

HANYCONY 4-gang surge lead with USB

Rank 2

HANYCONY 4-gang surge lead with USB

∼£15

Our view

The HANYCONY HN6088 is a four-socket, 1.8 m braided lead at £14.98, with two switched banks and four USB slots claimed, and it holds 4.7 from 1,621 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers like the compact body and the braided cable on a desk. Surge protection is claimed and no joule figure is printed. The plug-type attribute says Type B only, and the description does not state a BS 1363 plug, so check the photos before you rely on it. USB stays live when the socket banks are switched off. Large plugs can block the neighbouring socket, and one reviewer measured a lead shorter than they expected. The product warranty on the listing is six months.

Pros

  • Four AC sockets, two switched banks, and a 1.8 m braided cable
  • USB slots that reviewers use instead of plug-in chargers
  • 4.7 from 1,621 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Compact body compared with a long bar

Cons

  • Joules are not stated
  • USB stays on when the socket banks are switched off
  • Description does not state a BS 1363 plug
  • Six-month warranty on the listing

Best for: A desk that needs four sockets and USB, if the photos show a UK plug and you can accept an unstated joule figure.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a printed joule rating, or who needs the USB ports to switch off with the sockets.

Specifications

Model
HANYCONY 4-gang surge lead with USB
Brand
HANYCONY
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,621)
Surge
Not stated
Sockets
4
Cable
1.8 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Two banks
USB
4 USB
Wall mount
Yes
Plug
Not stated

Common questions

How many AC sockets?

The title and bullets say four. The outlets attribute says 8, which is not used as the AC count.

Can the USB ports be switched off?

Reviewers say the USB stays on when the socket banks are switched off.

Is a joule rating printed?

No.

Masterplug 4-gang 2 m surge lead

Rank 3

Masterplug 4-gang 2 m surge lead

Our view

Across 1,267 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.7, the Masterplug SRG4210N is a four-socket, 2 m lead at £8.70 that prints 370 joules and shows power and surge LEDs. Reviewers call it well made for the price, with plugs that seat easily and a cable long enough for the desks they describe. The title says the sockets are unswitched, so you cannot turn one appliance off without pulling its plug. One buyer says the plug that arrived was not the moulded plug in the photos, and the plug is non-rewirable, which blocks anyone who needs to pass the cable through a small hole. Masterplug states a connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years if you register, and that cover is void if you daisy-chain. It is a portable strip with a surge claim, and Masterplug says this class of lead is not a lightning arrester.

Pros

  • 370 joules printed, with power and surge LEDs
  • Four shuttered sockets and a 2 m cable at £8.70
  • 4.7 from 1,267 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Wall fixing claimed on the listing
  • Connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years, if you register

Cons

  • Title says unswitched, so there is no switch per socket
  • At least one unit did not match the pictured plug
  • Non-rewirable plug, so the cable cannot be threaded through a hole

Best for: A television or a desk that needs four sockets on a short lead, where appliances can stay plugged in.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a switch on each socket, USB charging, or a plug they can remove to feed the cable through a hole.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug 4-gang 2 m surge lead
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,267)
Surge
370 joules
Sockets
4
Cable
2 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Unswitched
USB
No
Wall mount
Yes
Indicator
Power and surge
Plug
Type G

Common questions

How long is the cable?

2 metres.

What surge figure does the listing print?

370 joules, with power and surge LEDs.

Is each socket switched?

The title says unswitched.

Masterplug surge adaptor with 2 USB

Rank 4

Masterplug surge adaptor with 2 USB

∼£15

Our view

This Masterplug adaptor keeps one 13 A pass-through socket and adds two USB outlets, at £14.66, with a surge indicator and no cable. Across 408 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.7, people use it where a single socket must also charge a phone. One reviewer says their computers survived a local substation spike while this adaptor was in use; that is one report, not a laboratory test. Joules are not stated. USB charging is slow for at least one buyer, and the indicator was not bright enough for another. A reviewer also found it corrupted a Powerline network adaptor sharing the same socket area. You still have only one mains outlet, so a television and a soundbar need another socket.

Pros

  • One 13 A pass-through socket plus two USB outlets
  • Surge indicator on a plug-through body with no cable
  • 4.7 from 408 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years stated on the listing

Cons

  • Only one mains socket
  • Joules are not stated
  • USB charging described as slow by one reviewer
  • One report of Powerline network interference in the same socket area

Best for: A bedside or desk socket that must keep one mains plug and charge a phone from USB.

Less suitable: A television plus soundbar, or anyone who needs a printed joule figure and several mains outlets.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug surge adaptor with 2 USB
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.7/5(408)
Surge
Not stated
Sockets
1
Cable
None
Load
13 A
USB
2 USB
Wall mount
No
Indicator
Surge lamp
Plug
Type G

Common questions

How many mains sockets does it add?

One 13 A pass-through socket, plus two USB outlets.

Is a joule rating printed?

No. The listing claims surge protection and a surge indicator, without a joule figure.

Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor

Rank 5

Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor

Our view

The Masterplug MSWRG3-MP puts three individually switched sockets on a plug-through body at £8.25, with no cable, and it holds 4.6 from 5,929 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers use the switches to leave a printer or a lamp plugged in while it is off, and they like the side sockets that let leads exit downwards. Surge protection is claimed, with an indicator, but no joule figure is printed. On a twin wall plate it blocks the neighbouring socket, which comes up often. The indicator and switch lights are bright enough that bedroom users complain, and the green light stays on when the individual switches are off. One reviewer says the switches get fairly warm after a long time on. The listing states a connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years.

Pros

  • Three sockets, each with its own switch, and no trailing cable
  • 4.6 from 5,929 amazon.co.uk reviews at £8.25
  • Side sockets that reviewers say let leads exit downwards
  • Connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years stated on the listing

Cons

  • Blocks the neighbouring socket on a twin wall plate
  • Joules are not stated
  • Indicator and switch lights described as too bright for a bedroom
  • Switches can feel warm after a long time on

Best for: A single wall socket where you want three switched outlets and no cable on the floor.

Less suitable: A twin socket you still need for a second plug, and anyone who wants a printed joule figure.

Specifications

Model
Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor
Brand
Masterplug
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.6/5(5,929)
Surge
Not stated
Sockets
3
Cable
None
Load
13 A
Switching
Per socket
Wall mount
No
Indicator
Surge lamp
Plug
Type G

Common questions

Does it have a cable?

No. It is a plug-through adaptor that uses the wall socket directly.

Are the sockets switched?

Yes. The listing and reviews describe an individual switch for each of the three sockets.

Will it block the other socket on a double plate?

Reviewers say it does. It is bulky on a twin wall socket.

DEWENWILS 6-gang switched surge lead

Rank 6

DEWENWILS 6-gang switched surge lead

∼£17

Our view

The DEWENWILS six-way lead is £16.99, with a 3 m cable, individual switches, and 270 joules in the description, rated 4.6 from 2,224 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers use the switches beside a sofa or a desk and like the extra metre compared with a 2 m bar. Wall-mount holes and a spare fuse are mentioned as useful. New sockets are tight and the switches are stiff until they wear in. The first bullet says four switches on a title that says six sockets, so count the switches in the photos. One reviewer says that after months one socket died, the indicator lights failed, and the unit then buzzed and was taken out of use. The surge-rating attribute says 13 amps, which is the current, not the joule figure.

Pros

  • Six sockets with individual switches
  • 3 m cable, longer than the 2 m bars in this set
  • 270 joules stated in the description
  • Wall-mount holes, and 4.6 from 2,224 reviews

Cons

  • First bullet says four switches on a six-way title
  • New sockets and switches described as stiff
  • One review: a socket died, lights failed, then the unit buzzed
  • 270 joules is the lowest printed joule figure in this set

Best for: A sofa-side or desk setup that needs a switch on each socket and about 3 m of cable.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants the highest printed joule figure here, or who needs the listing bullets to agree on the switch count.

Specifications

Model
DEWENWILS 6-gang switched surge lead
Brand
DEWENWILS
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,224)
Surge
270 joules
Sockets
6
Cable
3 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Per socket
USB
No
Wall mount
Yes
Indicator
Per socket
Plug
Type G

Common questions

Are the sockets switched separately?

Yes. The title and reviews describe individual switches. One bullet says four switches, which conflicts with the six-way title.

What surge figure is in the description?

270 joules. The surge-rating attribute says 13 amps, which is the current, not the joule figure.

How long is the cable?

3 metres, with wall-mount points.

HANYCONY 8-gang surge lead with USB-C

Rank 7

HANYCONY 8-gang surge lead with USB-C

∼£20

Our view

The HANYCONY HN6090 is an eight-socket, 1.8 m braided lead at £19.99 that prints 1,800 joules, the highest joule figure in this set, with 4.6 from 2,042 amazon.co.uk reviews. Two bank switches let you turn one side off, which reviewers use so they do not daisy-chain a PC and a monitor. USB is listed as two USB-A and two USB-C at 3.1 A total, but one buyer received one USB-C and three USB-A. Charging is slower than a phone’s own charger, because the ports share that 3.1 A budget. You cannot see at a glance which socket is live, because the switches are per bank. One reviewer says the lead cut power when a faulty plug smoked and the PC stayed on; that is a single account of overload behaviour, not a surge test. The listing warranty is six months, and there is no connected-equipment sum on the page.

Pros

  • 1,800 joules, the highest figure printed in this set
  • Eight AC sockets and a 1.8 m braided cable
  • Two bank switches and wall keyhole slots
  • 4.6 from 2,042 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Switches are per bank, not per socket
  • One unit arrived with a different USB-C count from the bullets
  • Shared 3.1 A USB budget, so phones may not fast-charge
  • Six-month warranty and no connected-equipment sum on the listing

Best for: A PC or television pile that needs more than four mains sockets and a printed joule figure.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants one switch per socket, or a USB-C count they can take from the photos without checking the unit.

Specifications

Model
HANYCONY 8-gang surge lead with USB-C
Brand
HANYCONY
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,042)
Surge
1,800 joules
Sockets
8
Cable
1.8 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Two banks
USB
4 USB
Wall mount
Yes
Plug
Type G

Common questions

What joule figure does the listing print?

1,800 joules.

How are the sockets switched?

Two switches, one for each bank of sockets, not one switch per socket.

What USB output is stated?

Four USB ports, 3.1 A total. One review describes a different USB-C count.

HANNELORE 7-gang metal surge strip

Rank 8

HANNELORE 7-gang metal surge strip

∼£30

Our view

The HANNELORE metal strip is £29.95, with seven sockets in one row, a 3 m cable, and one master switch, rated 4.6 from 104 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers mount it under a desk, on a wall, or in a rack, and they use the switch to kill a whole bench or an aquarium cabinet. The maker states a 2,500 W ceiling, which is below the 3,120 W of a 13 A circuit at 240 V, so a heater still belongs in the wall. Surge protection is claimed and joules are not stated. One reviewer found it too tall for a tidy 1U fit, and the side cable exit fouls the rack when the ears are rotated. Another says switching the unit off tripped the house RCD repeatedly. There is no USB.

Pros

  • Seven wide-spaced sockets in a metal body
  • 3 m cable and one master switch for the whole strip
  • Wall and rack fixing, with screws reported in the box
  • Maker states a 2,500 W ceiling, so the load limit is explicit

Cons

  • Joules are not stated
  • Only 104 reviews at £29.95
  • Awkward in a 19-inch rack for at least one reviewer
  • One review: switching it off tripped the house RCD repeatedly

Best for: A workshop bench, a rack, or a cabinet where one switch must kill seven sockets and you will stay inside 2,500 W.

Less suitable: A bedside table, a television that needs a printed joule figure, or a 1U rack space with no room for the cable exit.

Specifications

Model
HANNELORE 7-gang metal surge strip
Brand
HANNELORE
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.6/5(104)
Surge
Not stated
Sockets
7
Cable
3 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Master switch
USB
No
Wall mount
Yes
Plug
Type G

Common questions

What load does the maker state?

13 A and 2,500 W, with a warning not to exceed 2,500 W.

Is there one switch or one per socket?

One master switch for all seven sockets.

Is a joule rating printed?

No. Surge protection is claimed without a joule figure.

IECOPOWER 8-gang surge lead, USB-C PD

Rank 9

IECOPOWER 8-gang surge lead, USB-C PD

∼£24

Our view

The IECOPOWER eight-way is £23.99, with a 2 m cable, 1,050 joules, a master switch for the sockets and the USB, and a claim of two USB-C ports at PD 20 W plus two USB-A ports at 18 W. Across 90 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4, some buyers charged an iPad from USB-A and a MacBook from USB-C. Several others found the USB-C ports loose or dead, and one said the USB stopped after about two weeks. One unit went pop as soon as it was plugged in, with nothing connected. The listing claims two T-slots for wall mounting, but reviewers say ordinary screws do not fit and the supplied screws are too short. The LEDs are bright for a bedroom. Ninety reviews is a small base for a £23.99 strip with those fault reports.

Pros

  • Eight sockets, 1,050 joules, and a 2 m cable
  • USB-C PD 20 W and USB-A 18 W claimed on the listing
  • One master switch for sockets and USB
  • Some reviewers charged a MacBook from the USB-C ports

Cons

  • USB-C ports loose, dead, or failed within weeks for several reviewers
  • One unit popped as soon as it was plugged in
  • Wall slots reject ordinary screw heads, according to reviews
  • 4.4 from only 90 reviews at £23.99

Best for: A desk that needs eight sockets and a stated 20 W USB-C claim, if you can return the unit when a USB-C port is loose.

Less suitable: A bedroom, a wall-mounted install with ordinary screws, or anyone who wants a large review sample before paying £23.99.

Specifications

Model
IECOPOWER 8-gang surge lead, USB-C PD
Brand
IECOPOWER
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.4/5(90)
Surge
1,050 joules
Sockets
8
Cable
2 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Master switch
USB
USB-C 20 W
Wall mount
Claimed
Indicator
Two LEDs
Plug
Type G

Common questions

What USB charging does the listing claim?

Two USB-C ports at PD 20 W and two USB-A ports at 18 W.

Can it be wall mounted?

The listing says yes. Several reviewers say the slots will not take a normal screw.

What joule figure is printed?

1,050 joules.

SE UKASE 8-socket surge tower

Rank 10

SE UKASE 8-socket surge tower

∼£18

Our view

The SE UKASE T8A2C is an eight-socket tower at £17.99 with a 2 m cable and three USB ports sharing 2.4 A, rated 4.4 from 65 amazon.co.uk reviews. It stands on pull-out feet or can be wall mounted, which reviewers use where a long bar would cross the floor. The listing prints Type 3 figures, Uc 255 V, Uoc 3 kV and Up 1.5 kV, and it does not print joules. The description claims a kill switch that one buyer could not find. Until the feet are out it can tip, and some reviewers call the plastic light. One reviewer smelled hot plastic and treated the unit as a fire risk. Sixty-five ratings is a thin sample next to the four-gang leads in this set.

Pros

  • Eight sockets in a tower that can stand or be wall mounted
  • Pull-out feet that reviewers say stop it tipping
  • Type 3 parameters printed on the listing
  • Three USB ports, 2.4 A total, so some chargers leave the AC sockets free

Cons

  • Only 65 reviews, at 4.4
  • Joules are not stated
  • One buyer could not find the kill switch named in the description
  • One report of a hot-plastic smell

Best for: A tight floor space where a vertical eight-socket tower is easier than a long bar, and you have checked the feet and the smell on arrival.

Less suitable: A television setup that needs a printed joule figure, or anyone who wants a large review sample.

Specifications

Model
SE UKASE 8-socket surge tower
Brand
SE UKASE
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.4/5(65)
Surge
Type 3 listed
Sockets
8
Cable
2 m
Load
13 A
Switching
Disputed
USB
3 USB
Wall mount
Yes
Plug
Type G

Common questions

Does it stand on a desk?

Yes. Reviewers say four pull-out feet stop it tipping. It can also be wall mounted.

What surge figures are printed?

Type 3 parameters: Uc 255 V, Uoc 3 kV, Up 1.5 kV. Joules are not stated.

What is the USB output?

2.4 A total across three USB ports.

How we compared

On 15 October 2026 the scores use the ten amazon.co.uk listings kept in this comparison. They are not a laboratory test and they do not rank the wider UK market. A conflicting plug-type or amperage attribute already treated as a data error is not scored as a feature. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Amazon rating and review count

35%

Evidence is higher where the rating is 4.6 or above and the review count is in the thousands. Belkin’s 6,912 reviews score 34 on this slice. The tower’s 65 reviews score 10.

2

Surge claim on the listing

30%

Points are highest where joules, indicator lamps, and a connected-equipment sum all appear on the amazon.co.uk listing. The Masterplug four-gang scores 28 for 370 joules, power and surge LEDs, and a warranty of up to £1,000 for three years. Listings that only say surge, with no joules, score 8 to 15.

3

Usable specification

20%

Load, cable or plug-through form, and socket count. Points fall where the load figure is unusable, the switch count conflicts, or the description does not state a BS 1363 plug.

4

Review sentiment

15%

Deductions for repeated faults in the reviews: a failed socket and buzzing, loose or dead USB-C ports, a pop on first plug-in, a hot-plastic smell, or a repeated RCD trip.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Surge protector buying guide

Start with the plug, a surge figure you can read, and the 13 A budget. A strip or a plug-through adaptor still shares one wall socket. Then choose the form: a bar, a tower, a plug-through adaptor, or a metal rack strip. Prices in this set run from about £8.25 to about £29.95 on amazon.co.uk. If you need sockets in the same place every day, more wall sockets beat another lead.

What is a surge protector?

A surge protector here is a portable strip or a plug-through adaptor. It adds sockets on a BS 1363 outlet and claims to absorb some transient overvoltage. UK shoppers buy one for a television, a console, a desk, or a workshop because the wall has too few sockets. You tell a clearer listing from a weaker one by the fused UK plug, a printed surge figure or an honest gap, a protection indicator, and a load limit you can stay inside. It is not a Type 2 SPD in the consumer unit.

Best for

  • A television, console, or desk where you want a printed joule figure and enough sockets to avoid daisy-chaining
  • One free wall socket, where a plug-through adaptor or a tower keeps the cable off the floor
  • A workshop bench or a rack, kept inside a stated wattage such as the HANNELORE 2,500 W ceiling

Not ideal for

  • A kettle, heater, or microwave sharing the television’s 13 A lead
  • A substitute for a Type 2 SPD in the consumer unit
  • Anyone who reads a conflicting Type B attribute, or 1,363 A, as the real plug or the real load

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating any multi-way lead as surge protection

    A plain lead adds sockets. A surge claim you can check is a printed joule figure, or the tower’s Type 3 parameters, plus an indicator where the listing has one. The word surge on its own leaves the figure unstated.

  2. 2

    Reading joules as lightning proof, or adding a heater

    Masterplug says this class of lead is not a lightning arrester. There is no statutory joule minimum in the sources used here. A kettle, a heater, or a microwave still belongs in the wall, because the strip shares one 13 A budget.

  3. 3

    Trusting an attribute that fights the title

    Belkin’s 1,363 A figure is not a credible load, and a USB attribute on the BSV400 is not used as a feature. The DEWENWILS surge field that says 13 amps is the current, not the 270 joules in the description. Assume USB-C runs a laptop only when a Power Delivery wattage is stated.

What to weigh up

Plug and a surge claim you can check

High

The first check is a BS 1363 plug and a BS 1362 fuse for a UK socket. The Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 are the frame for that plug. A listing attribute that says Type B or Type C, while the title or the power-plug line says Type G, is a data error until the photos show a UK plug. It is not scored as the plug.

Load, form, and what the strip does not do

High

The strip shares one 13 A budget. Socket count, a longer cable, USB ports, and switches do not add amps. A kettle, a heater, or a microwave goes in the wall. Electrical Safety First says one lead per socket, no daisy-chaining, and do not exceed the current rating. London Fire Brigade says not to share an extension between a kettle, a toaster, and a microwave. HANNELORE prints its own ceiling at 2,500 W, below the 3,120 W of a 13 A circuit at 240 V, so a heater still belongs in the wall.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Television or desk

You want a bar with an indicator, a printed joule figure, and enough sockets to avoid daisy-chaining. The Masterplug four-gang is about £8.70, with 370 joules, power and surge LEDs, and 4.7 from 1,267 reviews. The title says the sockets are unswitched.

One free wall socket

A renter with one spare socket wants switched outlets and no cable on the floor. The Masterplug three-socket adaptor is about £8.25, with 4.6 from 5,929 reviews. Joules are not stated, and reviewers say it blocks the neighbouring socket on a twin plate.

Workshop or rack

A bench or a 19-inch rack wants one switch for the whole strip, kept inside the maker’s ceiling. The HANNELORE metal seven-way is about £29.95, with a 3 m cable and a stated 2,500 W limit. Joules are not stated, and the review count is 104.

Common questions about surge protectors

Which surge protector is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick in this set is the Masterplug SRG4210N four-gang, 2 m lead at about £8.70. It scores 82, the highest of the ten amazon.co.uk listings, with 370 joules printed, power and surge LEDs, and a connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years if you register. The star line is 4.7 from 1,267 reviews. The title says the sockets are unswitched. Masterplug says this class of lead is not a lightning arrester, and the score is not a laboratory test.
How much does a surge protector cost on amazon.co.uk?
The ten listings kept here run from about £8.25 to about £29.95. Under £10 you get the Masterplug three-socket adaptor at about £8.25 and the four-gang SRG4210N at about £8.70. About £15 to £20 covers the USB pass-through, both HANYCONY leads, the Belkin BSV400 at about £14.99, the DEWENWILS six-way, and the SE UKASE tower. The IECOPOWER is about £23.99 and the HANNELORE metal strip is about £29.95. These are shelf prices from the comparison file, not a promise that the penny price is still current.
What should you check before you buy a surge protector?
Check four things, in this order. The plug should be a fused BS 1363 type for a UK socket, and a Type B or Type C attribute that fights the title is not a specification. The surge claim should be a printed joule figure or, on the tower, Type 3 parameters, plus an indicator where the listing has one. No joules means the figure is unstated. The load is still one 13 A budget. Socket count, cable, USB, and switches come after that, and they do not add amps.
Is a surge protector the same as an extension lead?
A plain extension lead adds sockets on one plug. A surge protector adds a claim that it will absorb some transient overvoltage. Neither one adds amps, and a Type 3 strip only supplements a Type 2 device in the consumer unit. The surge protector or extension lead page is that distinction. A claim you can check is a printed joule figure or the tower’s Type 3 parameters. The word surge with no number leaves the figure unstated.
Does a plug-in surge protector replace a consumer-unit SPD?
No. BS 7671:2018+A4:2026 is the published IET Wiring Regulations, and the IET says the previous text stays valid until 15 October 2026. Regulation 443.4.1, as the IET quoted it after the May 2023 corrigendum, is about a fixed surge protective device where overvoltage could cause serious harm or significant loss, not one of these strips. The IET says a Type 3 device only supplements a Type 2. NAPIT cites BS EN 61643-11 for an installation SPD. A qualified electrician fits that consumer-unit device.
Do printed joules mean the strip stops a lightning strike?
No. A printed joule figure is the listing’s surge claim, and there is no statutory joule minimum in the sources used here. Masterplug says this class of lead is not a lightning arrester. The highest figure in this set is 1,800 joules on the HANYCONY eight-gang, and that number is not a lightning rating. If the surge lamp is out and the sockets still work, replace the lead. A connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years, on the Masterplug listings, needs registration and is void if you daisy-chain.
When should you call an electrician?
Call a qualified electrician for an SPD in the consumer unit, for an RCD that trips when the strip is switched, for a smell of burning at the wall, and when the home only works because extensions are permanent. Extra sockets in the wall are the Electrical Safety First answer to that last case. A terminal block joins conductors in fixed wiring. It does not add sockets or a surge claim on a BS 1363 plug. Do not open a consumer unit to fit your own SPD.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Masterplug four-gang, 2 m lead at about £8.70. It scores 82, the highest of these ten listings, with 370 joules, power and surge LEDs, a connected-equipment warranty of up to £1,000 for three years on the listing if you register, and 4.7 from 1,267 reviews. The title says the sockets are unswitched. The best value is the Masterplug three-socket adaptor at about £8.25, with 4.6 from 5,929 reviews and a switch on each socket. Joules are not stated, and reviewers say it blocks the neighbouring socket on a twin plate.

Best overall
Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead

Belkin 4-gang 2 m surge lead

View offer
Best value
Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor

Masterplug 3-socket surge adaptor

About £8.25, 4.6 from 5,929 reviews, and switched sockets, with joules unstated and the neighbouring socket often blocked.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsUK plugs and surge leads

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to surge protectors

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources on surge protective devices, BS 1363 plugs, and extension leads. Listing prices and star counts are from the amazon.co.uk extracts kept for this comparison on 15 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. IET Wiring Matters, Surge Protective Devices, November 2023 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. IET consumer guidance on SPDs (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. IET BS 7671 edition checker (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. Electrical Safety First, extension leads (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. BEAMA extension-lead checklist (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Masterplug SRG4 sheet (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. Masterplug surge warranty (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use the ten listings kept on 15 October 2026. They are not a laboratory test.