Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wooden dowels comparison 2026

The best wooden dowels, compared.

Top pick: AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods Best value: ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods – About £3.99 for ten 6 mm x 30 cm craft rods, with 4.4 from 338 reviews. The bamboo bullet and the Wood field do not agree. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A wooden dowel on amazon.co.uk is either a short pin for a glued wood joint or a longer rod for crafts, and the two are not substitutes. You are usually repairing flat-pack, a chair or a drawer, or making a model, macramé, a cake support or a school project. For a pin, the useful checks are a diameter that matches the hole you measured, a flute or rib so glue can escape, and a pack that contains the size you need. For a rod, the useful check is a straight stick of the diameter and length in the title, with the species named only when the listing names it. The [wooden dowels buying guide](/hub/diy-supplies/wooden-dowels/sub/wooden-dowels-buying-guide) sets out form, diameter, count and whether the timber is named. If you are about to order a 300 mm stick for a drawer, the [pins or rods guide](/hub/diy-supplies/wooden-dowels/sub/wooden-dowels-pins-or-rods) is that decision on its own.

A wooden dowel on amazon.co.uk is either a short pin for a glued wood joint or a longer rod for crafts, and the two are not substitutes.

AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods

Best overall

AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods
5.2/10∼ £4

42 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +17,300 readers

12 of 12: Best wooden dowels compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods
Coowayze 12.5 mm x 30 cm birch rods
Coowayze 19 mm x 38 cm birch rods
XFentech 90 mixed dowel pins
PanBeiQi 90 mixed dowel pins
Best value
ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods
Nebulixq 120 mixed dowel pins
Trustleaf 10 mm x 300 mm birch rods
Gunwon 21 mixed dowel pins
ShiFaKa 225 mixed dowel pins
YYTOL 300 pins, 6 x 30 mm
LYJinJuHang 30 craft rods
5.2/10
7.0/10
5.0/10
8.3/10
9.5/10
9.1/10
5.6/10
7.5/10
6.8/10
7.6/10
7.1/10
3.4/10
∼ £4
∼ £7
∼ £11
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £6
∼ £4
∼ £8
∼ £5
∼ £3
5.0(6)
4.6(832)
4.6(832)
4.6(70)
4.4(3,255)
4.4(338)
4.3(6)
4.2(437)
4.2(67)
4.2(36)
4.1(50)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wooden dowels in detail

AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods

Rank 1

AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods

Our view

The AXHOME title and bullets describe 30 smooth rods, 5 mm by 20 cm, at £4.49 and 100 g. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 6 reviews, with two United Kingdom texts, on a listing first available on 16 April 2026. Those two texts describe dowels: one jointed the rear corners of a plywood drawer, and the other confirms 5 mm, 200 mm and 30 pieces. The second reviewer does not know the species and says the sticks are very light. Neither text describes a defect, which on two texts is a thin record rather than a long one. The included-components field says a 3-piece tyre inflator adaptor set, the dimensions cell says 2 x 2 x 1 cm, and the colour cell reads Woood. The bullets say non-toxic, splinter-free and safe for all ages, with no toy standard named, so you can treat the page as a thin craft-rod file only if you can live with a components line that describes a different product.

Pros

  • Bullets say 30 rods, 5 mm x 20 cm, at £4.49
  • Two UK texts describe dowels, one of them a plywood drawer
  • One review confirms 5 mm, 200 mm and 30 pieces
  • Neither stored text describes a defect

Cons

  • 5.0 from 6 reviews, with two texts, first available 16 April 2026
  • Included components say a 3-piece tyre inflator adaptor set
  • Dimensions cell says 2 x 2 x 1 cm, and the colour cell reads Woood
  • Species is not named, and no toy standard is cited for the all-ages line

Best for: Light craft or a small drawer joint when you have checked that the parcel is 30 rods, 5 mm by 20 cm

Less suitable: Any order in which the included-components field has to match the title before you pay

Specifications

Model
AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods
Brand
AXHOME
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
5.0/5(6)
Piece count
30
Stated size
5 mm x 20 cm
Grooves
Smooth
Material
Species not named
Glue
Yes
Size split
One size
Diameter field
5 mm
Listing note
Components cell is a tyre set

Common questions

What does the AXHOME listing say is included?

The title and bullets say 30 wooden dowels, 5 mm by 20 cm. The included-components field says a 3-piece tyre inflator adaptor set.

What wood does AXHOME name?

Natural wood. No species is named. One reviewer says they do not know the species.

Does AXHOME claim the rods are safe for children?

The bullets say non-toxic, odourless, splinter-free and safe for all ages. No toy standard is named.

Coowayze 12.5 mm x 30 cm birch rods

Rank 2

Coowayze 12.5 mm x 30 cm birch rods

Our view

The Coowayze 10-piece listing is birch rods at 1.25 cm by 30 cm, which the model line also prints as 1/2 inch by 12 inch, at £6.99 and 240 g. The star line reads 4.6 from 832, the same figure and the same review text as ASIN B0C9PSCBBB. United Kingdom headings in that shared block praise smooth birch that is easy to cut, paint and glue, and they mention wands, cakes, a wardrobe rail, plant sticks and model spindles. One UK review says 28 of 30 pieces arrived in a torn bag, and this listing's piece count is 10. Another says the rod was not as wide as measured, and the model number says 100Rods while the piece count is 10. The brand field says Coowayze and the manufacturer field says Anronal. Use the size line if you want 12.5 mm birch craft rods, and keep the 832 reviews as a shared file rather than a count that belongs only to this pack.

Pros

  • 10 birch rods, 1.25 cm by 30 cm, at £6.99 and 240 g
  • Bullet and model line both carry 1/2 inch by 12 inch
  • Shared UK texts praise smooth birch for cutting, painting and gluing
  • Named uses include macramé, cake dowels, wands and models

Cons

  • The 4.6 from 832 line and the review text are shared with B0C9PSCBBB
  • A stored UK review says 28 of 30 pieces, and this pack lists 10
  • Model number says 100Rods
  • One UK review says the rod was not as wide as measured

Best for: Macramé, cake supports and models when you want 10 birch rods at 12.5 mm by 30 cm and you have read the size line yourself

Less suitable: A decision that treats the 832 reviews as evidence unique to this 10-piece pack

Specifications

Model
Coowayze 12.5 mm x 30 cm birch rods
Brand
Coowayze
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.6/5(832)
Piece count
10
Stated size
12.5 mm x 30 cm
Grooves
Smooth
Material
Birch
Glue
No
Size split
One size
Diameter field
1.25 cm
Listing note
Reviews shared, other ASIN

Common questions

What size are the Coowayze 10-piece rods?

The title says 1.25 cm by 30 cm. The model field says 1/2 inch by 12 inch. The piece count is 10.

Is the 832-review figure only for this pack?

This listing and B0C9PSCBBB show the same 4.6 from 832 and the same review text. It is not a separate count for each size.

What wood is named?

Birch. The manufacturer field says Anronal and the brand field says Coowayze.

Coowayze 19 mm x 38 cm birch rods

Rank 3

Coowayze 19 mm x 38 cm birch rods

∼£11

Our view

The second Coowayze listing is 6 birch rods at £10.99 and 372 g, and the bullet says 1.9 cm by 38 cm, also written as 3/4 inch by 15 inch. The dimensions cell is 38.1 x 1.9 x 1.9 cm, which matches that bullet, while item width is printed as 1.9 inches and thickness as 0.75 inches. The star line is 4.6 from 832, the same figure, the same best-seller rank and the same review text as the 10-piece ASIN B0B2NVR1JL. That shared text talks about 28 of 30 pieces and other jobs, which sits on a 6-piece listing. The bullets name heavy curtains, tapestries, wall hangings and clothing racks, and they state no load test. The brand field says Coowayze and the manufacturer field says Anronal. Read the centimetre bullet and the 38.1 cm dimensions line if you want a thick birch rod, and keep both the 832 reviews and the 1.9 inch width cell out of the decision.

Pros

  • 6 birch rods, bullet size 1.9 cm by 38 cm, at £10.99
  • Dimensions cell 38.1 x 1.9 x 1.9 cm matches the centimetre bullet
  • Bullet says you can paint, stain or cut the rods shorter
  • Named uses include macramé, wall hangings and larger cake dowels

Cons

  • Item width prints 1.9 inches, about 48 mm, against a 1.9 cm bullet
  • The 4.6 from 832 review text is shared with the 10-piece ASIN
  • Stored texts include a 28-of-30 count, and this pack lists 6
  • Curtain and rack uses are named with no load test

Best for: A thick birch craft rod when you follow the 1.9 cm bullet and the 38.1 cm dimensions line, and you want 6 pieces

Less suitable: A curtain or clothing rack sized from the 1.9 inch width cell, or a choice based on the shared 832 reviews

Specifications

Model
Coowayze 19 mm x 38 cm birch rods
Brand
Coowayze
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.6/5(832)
Piece count
6
Stated size
19 mm x 38 cm
Grooves
Smooth
Material
Birch
Glue
No
Size split
One size
Diameter field
1.9 cm
Listing note
Width cell says 1.9 inches

Common questions

What diameter does the 6-piece Coowayze listing state?

The bullet says 1.9 cm, and the title says 3/4 inch. Item width is printed as 1.9 inches. Thickness is 0.75 inches. The dimensions line is 38.1 x 1.9 x 1.9 cm.

How many rods are listed?

6. The shared review text talks about other counts, including 28 of 30, which is not this pack.

What wood is named?

Birch. The brand field says Coowayze and the manufacturer field says Anronal.

XFentech 90 mixed dowel pins

Rank 4

XFentech 90 mixed dowel pins

Our view

The XFentech pack is 90 pins at £4.49, split on the bullet as 30 of 6 x 30 mm, 30 of 8 x 40 mm and 30 of 10 x 40 mm. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 70 reviews, with 15 United Kingdom texts in the file, and the pack weighs 150 g. The bullet says solid wood, used with wood glue, for furniture and drawers, and it names no species. The diameter field still prints 6 mm only. Reviewers say the mix did the job on drawers and an extendable table, and one mentions grooves that made the glue-up easier, which the bullets leave unnamed. One pack was short by 3 of the smaller size and 4 of the next, with 1 extra of the largest, and the box is flat cardboard. You get a printed 30/30/30 split at the same £4.49 as the larger-reviewed mixed set, and you still count the pins on arrival if the job cannot spare a short pack.

Pros

  • 90 pins with a stated split of 30, 30 and 30
  • 4.6 from 70 reviews, and 15 UK texts name drawers and a table
  • Bullet says to use the pins with wood glue
  • £4.49, the same shelf price as the 90-pin set with 3,255 reviews

Cons

  • Species is not named, and the diameter field prints 6 mm only
  • One pack was short: 3 missing of the smaller size and 4 of the next
  • Grooves appear in one review, not in the bullets
  • The box is flat cardboard

Best for: Furniture and drawer repairs when you want a stated 30 of each of 6 x 30 mm, 8 x 40 mm and 10 x 40 mm

Less suitable: A job that needs a named timber species, or a count you will not check when the parcel arrives

Specifications

Model
XFentech 90 mixed dowel pins
Brand
XFentech
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(70)
Piece count
90
Stated size
6x30, 8x40, 10x40 mm
Grooves
Not stated
Material
Species not named
Glue
Yes
Size split
30 / 30 / 30
Diameter field
6 mm only
Listing note
Diameter field is 6 mm

Common questions

How is the XFentech pack split?

The bullet says 30 pieces of 6 x 30 mm, 30 of 8 x 40 mm and 30 of 10 x 40 mm.

Does XFentech name a species?

No. The material field says Wood and the bullet says solid wood.

Does XFentech mention glue?

Yes. The bullet says the joint is made together with wood glue.

PanBeiQi 90 mixed dowel pins

Rank 5

PanBeiQi 90 mixed dowel pins

Our view

The PanBeiQi listing is 90 short pins in 6 x 30 mm, 8 x 40 mm and 10 x 40 mm, at £4.49, and the page ranks number 1 in Dowels. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 3,255 reviews, and the first 50 stored headings are United Kingdom. Those texts use the pins on bookcases, door hinges, chairs, cupboards, flat-pack joints and tables when the diameter matches the hole. The highlight says tapered and ribbed, the material field only says Wood, and the listing never prints how many of each size are in the 90. The diameter field prints 6 mm, with a compatible groove of 6.5 mm, so the 8 mm and 10 mm pins sit outside that cell. Buyers describe one small cardboard box with the sizes mixed, too many of the smaller pins, and several call them undersize, including by about half a millimetre. A couple snapped while a shelf was being prepared, and some review titles say 300 pieces, which this listing does not state, so you sort the box and trial-fit a pin before you rely on it. It is the top pick for mixed joinery pins in this set.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 3,255 reviews, the largest count in this set, and number 1 in Dowels
  • 90 pins in 6 x 30 mm, 8 x 40 mm and 10 x 40 mm at £4.49
  • UK texts name bookcases, chairs, cupboards, tables and flat-pack joints
  • Highlight says tapered and ribbed

Cons

  • No printed split, and reviews say too many of the smaller pins
  • Diameter field is 6 mm only, and several reviews call the pins undersize
  • A couple snapped while a shelf was prepared
  • Some review titles say 300 pieces, which the listing count does not state

Best for: A spare mixed set for furniture repair when you can sort 6, 8 and 10 mm pins and trial-fit them

Less suitable: A joint that needs a printed count of each size, or a hole that has no spare room if the pin measures short

Specifications

Model
PanBeiQi 90 mixed dowel pins
Brand
PanBeiQi
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.4/5(3,255)
Piece count
90
Stated size
6x30, 8x40, 10x40 mm
Grooves
Tapered and ribbed
Material
Species not named
Glue
No
Size split
Not stated
Diameter field
6 mm only
Listing note
Diameter field is 6 mm

Common questions

How many PanBeiQi dowels are in the pack?

The listing says 90. It does not say how many of each size. Some reviews mention 300 pieces, which is not the count on the listing.

What wood are the PanBeiQi pins?

The material field says Wood. No species is named.

Are the PanBeiQi pins ribbed?

The highlight says tapered and ribbed. The bullets do not mention wood glue.

ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods

Rank 6

ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods

Our view

The ANDSHUAI pack is 10 smooth rods, 6 mm by 30 cm, at £3.99 and 60 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 338 reviews, and this is the best value in the set if you want thin craft rods rather than joinery pins. The bullets say bamboo wood that you can prime, paint or varnish, while the material field only says Wood. United Kingdom headings in the file mention a wine rack, beaded Christmas trees, a wedding cake and hanging a print, and one calls the diameter regular. One buyer found only two rods straight and the rest slightly twisted, another describes holes and sawdust as woodworm damage, and two say the rods were too thin for their job. Take them for craft and decoration when you have measured for 6 mm. Leave them if you need a fluted furniture pin, or if every rod has to arrive dead straight.

Pros

  • 10 rods, 6 mm x 30 cm, at £3.99
  • 4.4 from 338 reviews, with UK texts on a wine rack, trees, a cake and a print
  • Bullets say you can prime, paint or varnish the wood
  • One UK review calls the diameter regular

Cons

  • Bullets say bamboo wood and the material field says Wood
  • One review found only two rods straight
  • One pack had holes and sawdust, described as woodworm damage
  • Two reviews call the rods too thin or too flimsy for the job

Best for: Craft, cake and decoration work when you have already measured for a 6 mm x 30 cm rod

Less suitable: Fluted joinery pins, or a build in which every rod has to arrive straight and unmarked

Specifications

Model
ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods
Brand
ANDSHUAI
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.4/5(338)
Piece count
10
Stated size
6 mm x 30 cm
Grooves
Smooth
Material
Bamboo claimed
Glue
No
Size split
One size
Diameter field
6 mm
Listing note
Bamboo bullet, wood field

Common questions

What are the ANDSHUAI rods made of?

The bullets say bamboo wood. The material field says Wood.

Can the ANDSHUAI rods be painted?

The bullet says the wood is absorbent and suited to priming, painting, varnishing or a coloured finish.

Are the ANDSHUAI rods fluted pins?

No. They are 30 cm sticks, described as smooth. No groove is listed.

Nebulixq 120 mixed dowel pins

Rank 7

Nebulixq 120 mixed dowel pins

Our view

The Nebulixq pack lists 120 pins at £4.19 and 140 g, and the bullets say 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm solid birch for furniture repair. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 6 reviews, with three United Kingdom texts in the file. The size field prints only 6 mm x 23 mm, the material field says 1, and no per-size split is stated. The bullet says the pins are ribbed and tapered and that you apply wood glue. One review calls the set good value, one says the sizes are not packed separately, and one says the 6 mm pins are too weak to trust. Three texts cannot show whether that weakness repeats, and the size field never lists the 8 mm or 10 mm the bullets name. Treat £4.19 as a low price on a thin, conflicting page if you can return it, and leave it when the hole is a measured 8 mm or 10 mm.

Pros

  • 120 pins at £4.19, the bullets naming 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm
  • Bullet says solid birch, ribbed and tapered
  • Bullet tells you to apply wood glue

Cons

  • Size field prints only 6 mm x 23 mm, and the material field says 1
  • 4.3 from 6 reviews, with three UK texts
  • One review says the 6 mm pins are too weak to trust
  • Sizes were not packed separately, in one review

Best for: A low-priced mixed-pin try when you can return a pack whose size field and bullets disagree

Less suitable: A repair that depends on 8 mm or 10 mm pins being in the box in a known quantity

Specifications

Model
Nebulixq 120 mixed dowel pins
Brand
Nebulixq
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.3/5(6)
Piece count
120
Stated size
6, 8 and 10 mm
Grooves
Ribbed and tapered
Material
Birch claimed
Glue
Yes
Size split
Not stated
Diameter field
6 mm x 23 mm
Listing note
Size field 6x23 mm

Common questions

Does Nebulixq state every size?

The bullets say 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm. The size field prints only 6 mm x 23 mm.

What wood does Nebulixq name?

The bullets say solid birch. The material field says 1.

Does the Nebulixq listing mention glue?

Yes. The bullet says to insert the pins into fixing holes and apply wood glue.

Trustleaf 10 mm x 300 mm birch rods

Rank 8

Trustleaf 10 mm x 300 mm birch rods

Our view

The Trustleaf pack is 10 birch rods sold as seconds, stated as 10 mm by 300 mm, at £6.37 and 149 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 437 reviews, with 50 United Kingdom headings in the file, and the bullets claim diameter and length within plus or minus 0.1 mm. Buyers use them for crafts, models, macramé, toys, plant supports and door-handle holes, and some say a seconds pack arrived unmarked and easy to cut. Many of those reviews measure about 9.1 mm to 9.6 mm, and several call that 3/8 inch rather than 10 mm. Buyers who drilled 10 mm holes say the rods were loose. One pack arrived as 17 rods in a thin envelope, and the dimensions cell prints 11 x 30 x 1.1 cm against a 10 mm title. They can serve a craft job that does not need a tight 10 mm fit, and they leave you short if you drilled to 10 mm on the strength of the tolerance line.

Pros

  • 10 birch rods, stated 10 mm x 300 mm, at £6.37
  • 4.2 from 437 reviews, with 50 UK headings
  • Smooth and easy to cut for crafts, models, macramé and toys
  • Bullet says the sanded birch can be painted and stained

Cons

  • Sold as seconds, while the bullets still claim +/- 0.1 mm
  • Many UK reviews measure about 9.1 mm to 9.6 mm, not 10 mm
  • Loose in holes drilled to 10 mm
  • One pack arrived as 17 rods in a thin envelope

Best for: Craft, models and plant supports when a rod near 9.5 mm is acceptable and you have read the seconds line

Less suitable: A joint or hole drilled to 10 mm on the strength of the +/- 0.1 mm claim

Specifications

Model
Trustleaf 10 mm x 300 mm birch rods
Brand
Trustleaf
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.2/5(437)
Piece count
10
Stated size
10 mm x 300 mm
Grooves
Sanded, smooth
Material
Birch hardwood
Glue
No
Size split
One size
Diameter field
10 mm
Listing note
Reviews near 9.5 mm

Common questions

Are the Trustleaf rods sold as perfect stock?

No. The bullets say seconds and tell you to read the description. They also claim diameter and length within +/- 0.1 mm.

What did reviewers measure?

Many United Kingdom reviews say the rods were about 9.1 mm to 9.6 mm, and several call that 3/8 inch rather than 10 mm.

Can they be painted?

The bullet says the sanded birch is suitable for painting and staining.

Gunwon 21 mixed dowel pins

Rank 9

Gunwon 21 mixed dowel pins

Our view

The Gunwon pack lists 21 pins, all 40 mm long, in 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm, at £3.59 and 30 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 67 reviews, with 12 United Kingdom texts in the file. The bullet says solid eucalyptus, the material field says Wood, and the highlight says fluted while the bullets do not use that word. The set name says 3 sets of 7, the number-of-items field is 1, and the diameter field prints 6 mm only. Buyers say a small mix filled drill holes in pine and did a DIY job, and one calls the fit good while also calling the wood low quality. Wood quality differed inside one pack, reviewers say there are not enough of each size, and one buyer received 4 pieces. It can cover a small top-up of 40 mm pins, and it is a poor match if you need more than seven of one diameter or a count you do not want to check.

Pros

  • 21 pins, all 40 mm, in 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm at £3.59
  • 4.2 from 67 reviews, with 12 UK texts
  • Buyers used them to fill drill holes in pine
  • Set name says 3 sets of 7

Cons

  • Bullet says eucalyptus and the material field says Wood
  • Highlight says fluted and the bullets do not
  • Number of items is 1, and one buyer received 4 pieces
  • Not enough of each size, and wood quality differed inside one pack

Best for: A small DIY top-up when every pin you need is 40 mm long and seven of one diameter will do

Less suitable: A job that needs more than seven pins of one diameter, or a pack count you do not want to check on the day it arrives

Specifications

Model
Gunwon 21 mixed dowel pins
Brand
Gunwon
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.2/5(67)
Piece count
21
Stated size
6/8/10 mm x 40 mm
Grooves
Fluted claimed
Material
Eucalyptus claimed
Glue
No
Size split
3 sets of 7
Diameter field
6 mm only
Listing note
Item count cell is 1

Common questions

How many Gunwon dowels are listed?

The bullet says 21. The set name says 3 sets of 7. Number of items is 1. One review says 4 pieces arrived.

What wood does Gunwon name?

The bullet says solid eucalyptus. The material field says Wood.

What lengths does Gunwon list?

All three stated sizes are 40 mm long, in 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm.

ShiFaKa 225 mixed dowel pins

Rank 10

ShiFaKa 225 mixed dowel pins

Our view

The ShiFaKa pack is 225 pins at £7.99 and 290 g, in eight sizes from 6 x 30 mm to 10 x 50 mm, with the bullet split running 70, 50, 30, 30, 15, 10, 10 and 10. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 36 reviews, and five texts are in the file. The material line says lotus wood, the bullet says a groove to let trapped air out, and the ends are described as flat and chamfered. The size field prints only 0.25 inch, and the bullets do not list a case. Reviewers say the sizes they needed were there, and more than one mentions a plastic box with the sizes separated. One says the quantity is probably enough only for a small job, and none of these five texts describes a break. You can use it as a small repair kit with eight stated sizes, and you should treat the box as something buyers found, because the 10 mm lines are only 10 of 10 x 40 mm and 10 of 10 x 50 mm.

Pros

  • 225 pins in eight stated sizes, with a printed split
  • Material line says lotus wood, with a groove and chamfered ends
  • Reviewers say the sizes they needed were in the pack
  • More than one review mentions a plastic box with sizes separated

Cons

  • 4.2 from 36 reviews, with only five texts in the file
  • Diameter field prints 0.25 inch, not the eight metric sizes
  • A case is not in the bullets
  • One reviewer says the quantity suits only a small job, and the 10 mm counts are 10 each

Best for: A small furniture repair when you want 6, 8 and 10 mm pins, including 50 mm lengths, in one pack

Less suitable: A large run of 10 mm joints, because the bullet lists only 10 pins at 10 x 40 mm and 10 at 10 x 50 mm

Specifications

Model
ShiFaKa 225 mixed dowel pins
Brand
ShiFaKa
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.2/5(36)
Piece count
225
Stated size
6x30 to 10x50 mm
Grooves
Grooved, chamfered
Material
Lotus wood
Glue
No
Size split
Eight sizes
Diameter field
0.25 inch
Listing note
Field prints 0.25 inch

Common questions

What sizes are in the ShiFaKa pack?

The bullet lists eight sizes: 6 x 30, 6 x 40, 6 x 50, 8 x 30, 8 x 40, 8 x 50, 10 x 40 and 10 x 50 mm, 225 pieces in total.

Does ShiFaKa include a box?

The bullets do not mention a case. Reviewers describe a plastic box with the sizes separated.

What wood does ShiFaKa name?

The material field and the bullet say lotus wood.

YYTOL 300 pins, 6 x 30 mm

Rank 11

YYTOL 300 pins, 6 x 30 mm

Our view

The YYTOL pack is 300 pins of one size, 6 x 30 mm, at £4.77 and 140 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 50 reviews, and only three United Kingdom texts are in the file. The bullet says hardwood, ribbed, tapered at both ends, and used with wood glue for furniture and kitchen cabinets, and it names no species. The dimensions cell is 3 x 0.6 x 0.6 cm, which matches one pin rather than the 300-piece pack. Of the three UK texts, one says they work, one mentions a container, and one says they are very brittle and snap easily. Those three texts are too few for you to treat 4.1 from 50 as a settled picture of breakage. They can stock a drawer of identical 6 x 30 mm pins if a thin file is enough, and they give you no 8 mm or 10 mm pins at all.

Pros

  • 300 pins, all 6 x 30 mm, at £4.77
  • Bullet says ribbed, tapered at both ends, and used with wood glue
  • Named for furniture, kitchen cabinets and locating parts
  • One UK text says they work

Cons

  • 4.1 from 50 reviews, with only three UK texts in the file
  • One buyer says they are very brittle and snap easily
  • Species is not named
  • Dimensions cell matches one pin, not the pack

Best for: A stock of identical 6 x 30 mm pins for cabinets and locating parts, if you can spare any that snap

Less suitable: A mixed-size repair, or a joint where a snapped pin would leave you short and the written file is only three UK texts

Specifications

Model
YYTOL 300 pins, 6 x 30 mm
Brand
YYTOL
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.1/5(50)
Piece count
300
Stated size
6 x 30 mm
Grooves
Ribbed, both ends
Material
Hardwood, no species
Glue
Yes
Size split
One size
Diameter field
6 mm
Listing note
Cell matches one pin

Common questions

Is the YYTOL pack mixed sizes?

No. Every pin is listed as 6 x 30 mm. The count is 300.

Are the YYTOL pins grooved?

The title says grooved and fluted. The bullet says ribbed, with tapered ends, and tells you to use wood glue.

What do the few written reviews say?

One says they work. One says they are very brittle and snap easily. The listing average is 4.1 from 50. Only three United Kingdom texts are stored with the listing.

LYJinJuHang 30 craft rods

Rank 12

LYJinJuHang 30 craft rods

Our view

The LYJinJuHang listing is 30 smooth rods at £2.69, the lowest price in this set, with a stated weight of 15 g. The title says 0.2 inch by 7.9 inches, the highlight says 5 mm, and the dimensions cell says 20 x 1 x 1 cm, so the three size lines do not agree. The listing has no customer-reviews line and no review text, so there is no star rating to set beside the other rods. The bullets say natural wood, with no species, and they name model making, cake decorating, bouquet stems, puppet frames, STEM and school work. They also say non-toxic and safe for all ages, with no standard named, and a green-purchasing line prints Yes with no further detail. The page is a low-priced craft title with a size clash, and it is the wrong file if the rod has to be one diameter you can check before you order.

Pros

  • 30 rods at £2.69, the lowest price in this set
  • Bullets name model making, cake decorating, stems, puppets and school work
  • Included components say 30 wooden rods

Cons

  • No customer-reviews line and no review text
  • Title says 0.2 inch, the highlight says 5 mm, and dimensions say 20 x 1 x 1 cm
  • Pack weight is 15 g, and no species is named
  • All-ages and green-purchasing lines cite no standard and no further detail

Best for: A low-priced craft title only if you do not need one agreed diameter before you order

Less suitable: Any job in which the rod has to be 5 mm, or 0.2 inch, and you need a review to judge the wood

Specifications

Model
LYJinJuHang 30 craft rods
Brand
LYJinJuHang
Price
∼£3
Piece count
30
Stated size
5 mm or 0.2 inch
Grooves
Smooth
Material
Species not named
Glue
Yes
Size split
One size
Diameter field
0.2 in and 5 mm
Listing note
Three size lines disagree

Common questions

What diameter does LYJinJuHang state?

The title says 0.2 inch. The highlight says 5 mm. The dimensions line says 20 x 1 x 1 cm.

Is there an amazon.co.uk star rating on the listing?

No. There is no customer-reviews line and no review text.

What uses does the listing name?

Model making, cake decorating, bouquet stems, puppet frames, STEM and school work. It also says non-toxic and safe for all ages, with no standard named.

How we compared

Scores use the twelve amazon.co.uk listings kept in this comparison. They are not a laboratory test and they do not rank the wider UK aisle. Prices, stars and review counts are the figures on each listing, read on 15 October 2026. A pence-per-piece figure is arithmetic from the printed price and the printed count. It is not a second shelf price.

1

Star line and review file

35%

The amazon.co.uk star line when the stored review texts are about this pack. A large count whose text is shared with another ASIN, or that describes a different piece count, scores low. Fewer than 15 reviews cannot earn a full star block.

2

A page you can buy from

25%

Whether the sizes agree across cells, a piece count or split is printed, the material line does not contradict the next cell, and a groove or smooth description is there.

3

Price against a usable pack

20%

The shelf price against a pack whose count and diameter you can use. A count or diameter that clashes cannot earn a full value sum.

4

Review sentiment

20%

What the stored texts say about the job, with deductions for undersize pins, snapped pins, a short delivery, and no reviews at all.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wooden dowels buying guide

Start with the job, not the star line. A pin is a short fluted piece for a glued joint. A rod is a longer smooth stick for craft. Then match the diameter to a hole you measured, read the piece count and the size split, and treat a cell that fights the title as part of that listing. Twelve amazon.co.uk packs were read on 15 October 2026, from about £2.69 to £10.99. Nothing here was strength-tested in a lab.

What is a wooden dowel?

A wooden dowel on amazon.co.uk is either a short pin for a glued wood joint or a longer smooth rod for crafts, and the two are not substitutes. A pin in this set is usually 30–50 mm long. A rod is about 200–380 mm. Buy the form that matches the job. If you are about to order a 300 mm stick for a drawer, the [pins or rods guide](/hub/diy-supplies/wooden-dowels/sub/wooden-dowels-pins-or-rods) is that decision on its own. Match the diameter to a hole you have measured.

Best for

  • Someone replacing a flat-pack, chair or drawer pin who has measured the hole and has wood glue
  • A crafter who needs a smooth rod of a known length for a model, macramé or a cake support

Not ideal for

  • Stairs, a load-bearing bed rail or antique work, which are jobs for a joiner
  • A buyer who treats a star rating as a measured diameter

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a rod for a cabinet pin

    A rod in this set is about 200–380 mm and smooth. A furniture pin is usually 30–50 mm, with a flute or rib so glue can escape. A 300 mm stick does not replace a drawer pin.

  2. 2

    Drilling the next size up

    Drill a fluted pin at its stated diameter. The next size up loses the fit. Leave a couple of millimetres of extra depth for glue. 6, 8 and 10 mm are not 1/4, 5/16 and 3/8 inch.

  3. 3

    Trusting a 10 mm title on a seconds listing

    Trustleaf states 10 mm with a plus or minus 0.1 mm line and is sold as seconds. Many UK reviews measure about 9.1–9.6 mm. A star rating is not a caliper. Read the seconds line before you drill to 10 mm.

What to weigh up

Form, diameter and a glue path

High

Form comes first. A pin is usually 30–50 mm long and is the piece for a glued wood joint. A rod in this set is about 200–380 mm and is the piece for models, macramé, cake supports and school work. The two are not substitutes. A 300 mm stick will not replace a cabinet pin, and a fluted 30 mm pin will not span a cake tier. Diameter is a hole you measured, not a star rating. 6, 8 and 10 mm are not 1/4, 5/16 and 3/8 inch. 3/8 inch is 9.525 mm.

Count, split and price

High

Piece count and the size split decide whether the pack contains the pin you need. '90 assorted' is not '30 of each'. XFentech prints 30 of each of 6 x 30 mm, 8 x 40 mm and 10 x 40 mm. PanBeiQi names the same three sizes and does not print the split. ShiFaKa prints eight sizes, and the 10 mm lines are only 10 pins each. YYTOL is 300 pins of 6 x 30 mm only. Gunwon lists 21 pins, all 40 mm, as 3 sets of 7. Price is judged against a pack you can use.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Flat-pack, chair or drawer repair

You are replacing a short pin and you can measure the hole. The PanBeiQi pack is 90 pins in 6 x 30 mm, 8 x 40 mm and 10 x 40 mm at about £4.49, with 4.4 from 3,255 reviews. It does not print how many of each size are in the 90, and several reviews call the pins undersize, so you sort the box and trial-fit one pin.

Craft, cake or a model

You need a smooth rod of a known length, not a fluted furniture pin. The ANDSHUAI pack is ten rods, 6 mm by 30 cm, at about £3.99, with 4.4 from 338 reviews. The bullets say bamboo and the material field says Wood. Leave it if every rod has to arrive dead straight.

A known 6 x 30 mm hole

You already know the size and you want a stock of identical pins. The YYTOL pack is 300 pins, all 6 x 30 mm, ribbed, at about £4.77. Only three United Kingdom texts are in the file, and one calls the pins brittle. It gives you no 8 mm or 10 mm pins. A trade hundred-pack of that one size can still cost less.

Common questions about wooden dowels

Which wooden dowel pack is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick for mixed joinery pins is the PanBeiQi 90-pin set at about £4.49, with 4.4 from 3,255 amazon.co.uk reviews. It names 6 x 30 mm, 8 x 40 mm and 10 x 40 mm, tapered and ribbed, and it does not print the split. Several reviews call the pins undersize. The best value is the ANDSHUAI ten rods, 6 mm x 30 cm, at about £3.99, for craft rather than a cabinet pin.
How much do wooden dowels cost on amazon.co.uk?
On 15 October 2026 the pin packs here were about £3.59 to £7.99. Thin rod packs were about £2.69 to £6.99, and the 19 mm six-pack was £10.99. On 16 October 2026 Screwfix listed Easyfix 100-packs at £2.48 for 6 x 30 mm, £3.29 for 8 x 40 mm and £4.49 for 10 x 40 mm, including VAT. A known size from a trade counter can undercut a mixed box. Prices move.
What should you check before you buy wooden dowels?
Check the form first. A pin is usually 30–50 mm, and a rod in this set is about 200–380 mm. Match the diameter to a hole you measured. 6, 8 and 10 mm are not 1/4, 5/16 and 3/8 inch. A flute or rib on a pin lets glue escape. Read the piece count and the split. '90 assorted' is not '30 of each'. If the diameter field fights the title, that clash stays on the listing.
Are dowel pins and dowel rods the same thing?
No. A pin is usually 30–50 mm, often fluted, for a glued joint in flat-pack, a chair or a drawer. A rod in this set is about 200–380 mm and smooth, for models, macramé, cake supports and school work. A 300 mm stick will not replace a cabinet pin. Buy the form that matches the job, then match the diameter to a hole or a span you have measured.
Which pin diameter matches the board thickness?
Wolfcraft’s maker table pairs a 6 mm pin with board about 12–14 mm thick, an 8 mm pin with about 15–18 mm, and a 10 mm pin with about 19–30 mm. Leave a couple of millimetres of extra depth for glue. Drill a fluted pin at its stated diameter. 3/8 inch is 9.525 mm, not 10 mm. 'M6' on these pins means about 6 mm, not a screw thread. Measure the hole. A star rating is not a caliper.
Do these wooden dowels meet BS EN 14592?
No. BS EN 14592 covers steel fasteners in structural timber, not these wooden pins. This page does not claim UKCA, FSC timber, or a toy or food-contact test. Ordinary consumer goods must be safe in foreseeable use under the General Product Safety Regulations 2005. HSE’s workplace dust limit is 3 mg/m³ for hardwood and 5 mg/m³ for softwood. At home, do not breathe the dust when you saw or sand.
What if the count or the diameter does not match the listing?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 11, requires the goods to match the description, including a stated count or diameter. The short-term right to reject is 30 days. A 6 mm-only diameter field, a tyre-inflator components line, or a 10 mm title beside reviews of about 9.1–9.6 mm is a conflict on the page. This comparison did not test one order. Call a joiner for stairs, a load-bearing bed rail or antique work.
Are wooden skewers a substitute for these dowels?
No. A wooden skewer is a kitchen stick, not a fluted joinery pin and not a craft rod sold to a stated millimetre. The packs here are short pins for a glued joint, or longer rods for models, macramé and cake supports. If the job is food, use a skewer sold for that use. The wooden skewers comparison is that separate aisle. A 'safe for all ages' line is not a food-contact test.

Our verdict

The top pick for mixed joinery pins is the PanBeiQi 90-pin set at about £4.49. The limit is an unprinted size split, a diameter field that says 6 mm only, and reviews that call some pins undersize. The best value when you want thin craft rods is the ANDSHUAI pack of ten 6 mm x 30 cm rods at about £3.99. The limit is a bamboo bullet against a Wood material field, plus one twisted pack. The YYTOL 300-pack is a lower price per pin and does not take that place: one of three UK texts calls the pins brittle. A pin and a rod are not substitutes.

Best overall
AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods

AXHOME 5 mm x 20 cm rods

View offer
Best value
ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods

ANDSHUAI 6 mm x 30 cm rods

About £3.99 for ten 6 mm x 30 cm craft rods, with 4.4 from 338 reviews. The bamboo bullet and the Wood field do not agree.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsWooden dowels

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wooden dowels

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

The Health and Safety Executive, legislation.gov.uk, GOV.UK, BSI, Screwfix and Wolfcraft, plus the amazon.co.uk listings read on 15 October 2026. Prices move. Nothing was strength-tested in a lab.

  1. HSE, wood dust (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 11 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. General Product Safety Regulations 2005, Great Britain (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, timber regulations and FLEGT licences (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. BS EN 14592:2022, scope (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. Screwfix, wooden dowels (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Wolfcraft, wood joinery dowel dimensions (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison, example PanBeiQi B0B97KR4N2 (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores compare published listings and review texts. They are not a laboratory test.