Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

TV simulator comparison 2026

The best TV simulators, compared.

Top pick: Miangerrn USB TV simulator Best value: XGHDPBM USB fake TV light – Best value if you can supply a USB adapter and sit the unit on a shelf. The adapter is not in the box, and the adapter line says so in one direction. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A TV simulator is a small LED unit that shifts colour and brightness so a curtain or blind looks, from outside, a bit like a TV that is on. You buy one as an occupancy cue for an evening out or a holiday, not as an alarm or a lock. West Police name a fake LED TV simulator next to a timer switch, and they still put locks and alarms first. The useful differences are power, whether a mains adapter or a pass-through socket is included, and whether the title matches the specification. Modes here are off, always on, and dusk plus about 4 or 7 hours, not a seven-day timer. The [TV simulator buying guide](/hub/diy-supplies/tv-simulator/sub/tv-simulator-buying-guide) sets those checks on their own. Ask the Police gives the same advice for lights or radios on a timer.

A TV simulator is a small LED unit that shifts colour and brightness so a curtain or blind looks, from outside, a bit like a TV that is on.

Miangerrn USB TV simulator

Best overall

Miangerrn USB TV simulator
3.4/10∼ £23

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

12 of 12: Best TV simulators compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Miangerrn USB TV simulator
Defender plug-in simulated TV
Best value
XGHDPBM USB fake TV light
GAOUTO 12-LED TV simulator
YZRDCXM wall-mount TV light
Behogan TV simulator listing
QYOEGSQ dusk-sensor TV light
Behogan remote TV simulator
URJWAN 12-LED TV simulator
Generic 3 W dusk TV light
Generic 4-mode TV light
Generic dusk-sensor TV light
3.4/10
8.6/10
7.7/10
3.6/10
5.6/10
3.6/10
3.6/10
4.4/10
3.7/10
3.2/10
3.1/10
2.9/10
∼ £23
∼ £17
∼ £10
∼ £17
∼ £10
∼ £18
∼ £10
∼ £20
∼ £37
∼ £54
∼ £11
∼ £13
5.0(2)
4.5(102)
4.4(17)
4.4(15)
4.0(16)
3.9(4)
3.8(4)
3.0(2)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best TV simulators in detail

Miangerrn USB TV simulator

Rank 1

Miangerrn USB TV simulator

∼£23

Our view

The Miangerrn Y-126 is a 5 V USB unit listed at about £22.60, with 24 lights in the field and a stated 5 W. amazon.co.uk showed 5.0 from 2 reviews, and both texts are marked United Kingdom. One calls the changing glow believable once it is on. The other says the sensor was not working. The product title says with motion, while the bullets describe a flickering TV glow and a timer, not a sensor that detects a person. The hour steps for that timer are not printed. The box line lists the security light unit, not a mains adapter, and a specification field prints an E26 bulb base on a USB light. A 5.0 from two ratings is too small a sample to rank above listings with a larger United Kingdom review set.

Pros

  • 5 V USB and a count of 24 LEDs are printed on the same listing
  • Both review texts are marked United Kingdom
  • One review calls the glow believable once the unit is running
  • Shelf, table, or windowsill placement is named

Cons

  • 5.0 from 2 is a very small sample, and one of the two says the sensor failed
  • The title says motion, and the bullets do not describe a person sensor
  • Timer hour steps are not listed
  • About £22.60, and the components line does not name a mains adapter

Best for: A 5 V USB lead on a shelf, only if you already know you are not buying a person sensor.

Less suitable: A first order that needs printed 4-hour and 7-hour steps, or a movement sensor.

Specifications

Model
Miangerrn USB TV simulator
Brand
Miangerrn
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Power
USB, 5 V
Modes
Timer, hours unstated
LEDs
24
Wattage
5 W
In the box
Light unit
Placement
Shelf or sill
Water resistance
Not resistant

Common questions

Does the Miangerrn title’s motion claim appear in the bullets?

The title says with motion. The bullets describe a flickering TV glow, USB power, and a timer. They do not describe a person sensor. Treat that PIR claim as absent.

What power does Miangerrn print?

Voltage is 5 V and the wattage field is 5 W. Included components list the security light unit, not a mains adapter.

How many United Kingdom reviews are on the listing?

The listing line is 5.0 from 2. Both texts are marked United Kingdom, and one says the sensor was not working. That sample is too small to treat as a rank.

Defender plug-in simulated TV

Rank 2

Defender plug-in simulated TV

∼£17

Our view

The top pick is the Defender EL00240 when a UK socket sits near the window and you still want to use that socket. It plugs into a 240 V socket, aims 9 LEDs at curtains or blinds, and leaves a pass-through socket on the front of the plug. amazon.co.uk showed 4.5 from 102 reviews at about £16.95 on 15 October 2026, and 50 of the review texts are marked United Kingdom. Reviewers often say the dusk sensor and the 4-hour or 7-hour timer come on after dark, and that the glow has made a neighbour think a TV was left on. The same texts say a socket across the room is useless, and a floor-level socket throws the light at the carpet. One review describes the timer modes as two static LEDs rather than a changing pattern, and another says the housing ran warm. The mounting field says ceiling mount, while the bullets and the installation line say plug-in. Defender’s instructions say the front socket stays live with the wall socket.

Pros

  • 240 V plug-in with a pass-through socket on the front
  • Dusk sensor printed at 0.5 lux, with 4-hour and 7-hour modes
  • 4.5 from 102 reviews, and 50 United Kingdom texts
  • Reviewers describe a curtain glow and a timer that comes on after dark

Cons

  • A socket far from the window makes the glow miss the glass
  • A floor-level socket throws light at the carpet
  • One review saw only two static LEDs on the timer modes
  • The mounting field says ceiling mount on a plug-in unit

Best for: A street-facing window with a UK socket close enough to aim at the curtains, when you still want to use that socket.

Less suitable: A high shelf with only a USB lead, a floor socket aimed at the carpet, or a 12 V caravan outlet.

Specifications

Model
Defender plug-in simulated TV
Brand
Defender
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.5/5(102)
Power
240 V plug-in
Modes
On, 4 h, 7 h, off
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
9
Wattage
5 W
Pass-through
Yes
In the box
Instructions
Placement
At the socket
Water resistance
Not resistant

Common questions

Does the Defender unit leave the wall socket free?

The title and bullets say it has a built-in outlet so another appliance can use the same socket. The listing does not print a load rating. Defender’s instructions say the front socket stays live with the wall socket.

What timer settings does Defender list?

Always on, 4-hour, 7-hour, and off. The bullets also print a light sensor at 0.5 lux. The instructions say blue means dusk plus 4 hours and green means dusk plus 7 hours.

Is the Defender unit for outdoor use?

The listing says indoor and not water resistant. The bullets name homes, caravans, or motorhomes, and the voltage field says 240 V, so a caravan still needs a mains socket rather than a 12 V outlet.

XGHDPBM USB fake TV light

Rank 3

XGHDPBM USB fake TV light

∼£10

Our view

The best value is the XGHDPBM if you can supply a USB adapter and sit the unit on a shelf. It is a USB fake-TV light with 12 red, blue, green and white LEDs, a stated 2 W, and a dusk timer for constant running or 4 or 7 hours. amazon.co.uk showed 4.4 from 17 reviews at about £10.49, and the six review texts are all marked United Kingdom. Reviewers describe colour moving on walls and curtains, and they call it a holiday gadget that is bright once the room is dark. One of those reviews says there are not enough colour changes to look fully like a TV. The bullets include a USB cable and say the mains adapter is not in the box. The indoor/outdoor field says outdoor, while the listing also says the unit is not water resistant. You put it on a shelf or table when the lead reaches the window and you already have an adapter.

Pros

  • 12 LEDs and dusk plus 4 or 7 hours, with one LED count
  • About £10.49, with 4.4 from 17 reviews and six United Kingdom texts
  • The USB cable is included, and the adapter line says it is not
  • Reviewers describe a changing glow on curtains once the room is dark

Cons

  • The mains adapter is not included
  • One United Kingdom review says the colours are not varied enough
  • The indoor/outdoor field says outdoor beside a not-water-resistant line
  • There is no pass-through socket

Best for: A shelf by the window when you already own a USB adapter and want the lower price for a stated USB kit.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs a UK 13 A plug in the box, or any outdoor fitting.

Specifications

Model
XGHDPBM USB fake TV light
Brand
XGHDPBM
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(17)
Power
USB, no adapter
Modes
On, 4 h or 7 h
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
12
Wattage
2 W
Pass-through
No
In the box
USB cable
Placement
Shelf or table
Water resistance
Not resistant

Common questions

Does the XGHDPBM box include a mains adapter?

The bullets say the USB cable is included and the power adapter is not included. You need a spare USB supply before it will run.

Does this listing describe a motion sensor?

A listing question asks about a motion sensor. The bullets describe a dusk sensor and do not describe a movement sensor. Treat a person sensor as absent.

How many LEDs does XGHDPBM print?

The number-of-lights field says 12, in red, blue, green and white. Stated wattage is 2 W.

GAOUTO 12-LED TV simulator

Rank 4

GAOUTO 12-LED TV simulator

∼£17

Our view

The GAOUTO listing at about £16.50 names 12 LEDs, 2 W, and three programmes: dark plus 4 hours, dark plus 7 hours, or on. amazon.co.uk showed 4.4 from 15 reviews, and the four review texts are marked Spain, Germany, France, and Italy, so that star line is not a United Kingdom review file. The power field says solar powered, while the bullets describe a light sensor and LEDs and do not mention a solar panel. The switch field says motion, while the bullets describe the blue and green dusk programmes. The image matches Behogan B0DWXTSTKL, so the photograph does not separate the two ASINs. A Spain review says the unit could not be programmed and had to be switched on every day. You would be ordering a dusk-timer description that the specification fields do not support. This page does not treat the unit as solar powered.

Pros

  • The bullets name dark plus 4 hours, dark plus 7 hours, and on
  • 12 LEDs and 2 W are printed in the same direction in the bullets
  • Blue and green indicator meanings are written in the bullets
  • The price on 15 October 2026 was about £16.50

Cons

  • The power field says solar, and the bullets do not describe a panel
  • The four review texts are not marked United Kingdom
  • The switch field says motion
  • The image URL is shared with Behogan B0DWXTSTKL

Best for: Only a shopper who will ignore the solar and motion fields and trust the dusk-programme bullets alone.

Less suitable: Anyone who read solar or motion as the product they are ordering, or who wants United Kingdom review text.

Specifications

Model
GAOUTO 12-LED TV simulator
Brand
GAOUTO
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.4/5(15)
Power
Solar field, 2 W
Modes
Dark 4 h, 7 h, on
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
12
Wattage
2 W
In the box
1 unit
Placement
Window or sheers
Water resistance
Not resistant

Common questions

Is the GAOUTO unit solar powered?

The power field says solar powered. The bullets describe a light sensor, 2 W LEDs, and three programmes, and they do not mention a solar panel. This page does not treat it as solar.

What do the blue and green lights mean on this listing?

The bullets say blue is the after-dark plus 4-hour setting and green is the after-dark plus 7-hour setting.

Are the GAOUTO reviews from the United Kingdom?

No. The four texts are marked Spain, Germany, France, and Italy. The 4.4 from 15 is the amazon.co.uk star line, not United Kingdom review text.

YZRDCXM wall-mount TV light

Rank 5

YZRDCXM wall-mount TV light

∼£10

Our view

The YZRDCXM unit lists 12 LEDs, 3 W, and a dusk choice of constant, 4 hours, or 7 hours, at about £9.99. amazon.co.uk showed 4.0 from 16 reviews. Seven of the nine review texts are marked United Kingdom, and they include praise for a TV-like glow that comes on at night. One United Kingdom review says the 4-hour and 7-hour settings came on at dusk and did not switch off. Another says there is no rechargeable battery, so it has to stay on a USB socket. The bullets say the adapter is not included, and the included-components field says a power adapter is included. Italy and Sweden texts also say no charger arrived. A control field says remote and a connectivity field says ethernet, and neither appears in the bullets. It is not the best value, because the adapter lines contradict each other.

Pros

  • 12 LEDs, 3 W, and dusk plus 4 or 7 hours are in the bullets
  • 4.0 from 16 reviews, with seven United Kingdom texts
  • United Kingdom reviews describe a glow that comes on at night
  • Shelf, table, or wall-base placement is named

Cons

  • The adapter is printed as included and as not included
  • One United Kingdom review says the 4-hour and 7-hour runs did not switch off
  • There is no battery, so it stays on a USB socket
  • Remote and ethernet fields are not backed by the bullets

Best for: A shelf USB setup only after you have checked whether the current box actually contains a charger.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs the run to end after 4 or 7 hours, or who needs the adapter question settled on the page.

Specifications

Model
YZRDCXM wall-mount TV light
Brand
YZRDCXM
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.0/5(16)
Power
USB, adapter clash
Modes
On, 4 h or 7 h
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
12
Wattage
3 W
In the box
Adapter unclear
Placement
Shelf or wall
Water resistance
Not resistant

Common questions

Is a mains adapter in the YZRDCXM box?

The included-components field says a power adapter. The bullets say the USB cable is included and the power adapter is not. Italy and Sweden reviews also say no charger was supplied.

Does it have a battery?

A United Kingdom review says it only works when plugged into a USB socket and has no rechargeable battery.

Did the timer switch off in the reviews?

One United Kingdom review says the 4-hour and 7-hour settings came on at dusk and did not switch off.

Behogan TV simulator listing

Rank 6

Behogan TV simulator listing

∼£18

Our view

The Behogan listing at about £18.13 puts 24 LEDs in the title and 12 in the number-of-lights field, with 2 W and three programmes: dark plus 4 hours, dark plus 7 hours, or on. amazon.co.uk showed 3.9 from 4 reviews. The two review texts are marked Germany and France, not the United Kingdom. The France review says the unit had 12 LEDs, not 24, and was not very powerful. The Germany review says the programme start was confusing and that the light came on in daylight. Mains power appears in that Germany text, not in the specification fields. The image matches GAOUTO B0F5H3SXL4. The LED count is the fact you would be guessing if you ordered from the title. The 3.9 from 4 is the amazon.co.uk star line only.

Pros

  • The bullets name the blue 4-hour and green 7-hour dusk programmes
  • Stated wattage is 2 W and stated weight is 130 g
  • A light sensor is described in the bullets
  • The indoor field does not claim outdoor use

Cons

  • The title says 24 LEDs and the field says 12
  • The review texts are marked Germany and France
  • A France review counts 12 LEDs and calls the light weak
  • The image matches GAOUTO B0F5H3SXL4

Best for: Only if you are content to order a 12-LED dusk timer and ignore the 24 in the title.

Less suitable: A buyer who chose it because the title says 24 LEDs, or who wants United Kingdom review text.

Specifications

Model
Behogan TV simulator listing
Brand
Behogan
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
3.9/5(4)
Power
2 W, plug unstated
Modes
Dark 4 h, 7 h, on
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
12, title 24
Wattage
2 W
In the box
LED light
Placement
Window or sheers

Common questions

How many LEDs does this Behogan listing claim?

The title says 24. The number-of-lights field says 12. A France review says the unit had 12, not 24. That review is not marked United Kingdom.

What are the three programmes?

After dark plus 4 hours with a blue light, after dark plus 7 hours with a green light, and on.

Are the reviews from the United Kingdom?

No. One is marked Germany and one France. The 3.9 from 4 is the amazon.co.uk star line.

QYOEGSQ dusk-sensor TV light

Rank 7

QYOEGSQ dusk-sensor TV light

∼£10

Our view

The QYOEGSQ dusk-timer light is listed at about £9.99, with 2 W and modes for constant running or 4 or 7 hours after dusk. amazon.co.uk showed 3.8 from 4 reviews, and all four texts are marked United Kingdom. Three of those reviews are short praise. One says the unit is too small and not fit for purpose, and that a battery source is needed. The dimensions line prints 10 x 10 x 10 millimetres next to a weight of 300 g, which cannot both describe one housing. The lumen field prints 800 beside a 2 W claim. There is no included-components line and no plug type, so the listing does not show whether a lead is in the box. The same image is used on Generic B0HJ4S2MBZ.

Pros

  • About £9.99, with a dusk timer named as 4 or 7 hours
  • All four review texts are marked United Kingdom
  • Three short reviews say it works as described
  • Constant running is named alongside the timed modes

Cons

  • One United Kingdom review calls it too small and says a battery source is needed
  • 10 mm dimensions are printed next to a 300 g weight
  • 800 lumens is printed next to 2 W
  • Plug type and box contents are not stated

Best for: A low-cost trial only if you can return it when the housing does not match that size complaint.

Less suitable: A window that needs a known size, or a buyer who needs the mains lead confirmed before ordering.

Specifications

Model
QYOEGSQ dusk-sensor TV light
Brand
QYOEGSQ
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
3.8/5(4)
Power
2 W, plug unstated
Modes
On, 4 h or 7 h
Dusk sensor
Yes
Wattage
2 W
Placement
Freestanding
Water resistance
Not resistant

Common questions

What size does QYOEGSQ print?

The dimensions line says 10 x 10 x 10 millimetres. The weight line says 300 g. One United Kingdom review calls it too small. Those size lines cannot both describe one housing.

Does the listing include a mains lead?

There is no included-components line. One United Kingdom review says a battery source is needed. Plug type is not stated.

Is it described as waterproof?

The listing says not water resistant. The indoor/outdoor field says indoor and outdoor. Do not fit it outside.

Behogan remote TV simulator

Rank 8

Behogan remote TV simulator

∼£20

Our view

The Behogan remote listing at about £19.99 prints 24 LEDs in both the title and the lights field, a stated 2 W, and a remote in the included-components line. The settings bullet lists off, dark plus 4 hours, dark plus 7 hours, and on, while the title says 3 programmes. amazon.co.uk showed 3.0 from 2 reviews, and there is no review text, so there is no praise or complaint to quote. The power field says corded electric and another field says cordless yes. Voltage is not printed. You can see a remote and a 24-LED count on the page. You cannot see whether the unit plugs into the mains or runs from a battery. At about £19.99 that missing power line is the reason to wait for a clearer listing.

Pros

  • 24 LEDs agree between the title and the number-of-lights field
  • A remote is listed in the box
  • Off, dusk plus 4 hours, dusk plus 7 hours, and on are named
  • Weight is printed at 220 g

Cons

  • Corded electric and cordless are both printed
  • 3.0 from 2 reviews, with no review text
  • The title says 3 programmes and the bullet lists four positions
  • Voltage is not printed

Best for: A desktop unit only after you have confirmed corded or cordless on the current listing.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs one power method on the page, or a review file with written comments.

Specifications

Model
Behogan remote TV simulator
Brand
Behogan
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
3.0/5(2)
Power
Corded and cordless
Modes
Off, 4 h, 7 h, on
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
24
Wattage
2 W
In the box
LEDs and remote
Placement
Desktop

Common questions

Is a remote included?

Included components say LEDs and a remote control. The switch type field also says remote.

Is it corded or cordless?

The power field says corded electric. Another field says cordless yes. Both are printed, so the page does not settle the power method.

How many LEDs are printed?

The title and the number-of-lights field both say 24. Wattage is 2 W.

URJWAN 12-LED TV simulator

Rank 9

URJWAN 12-LED TV simulator

∼£37

Our view

The URJWAN listing at about £36.99 puts 12 LEDs and four programmes in the title and says the unit is complete with a power adapter. A bullet then says the USB cable is included and the power adapter is not. The bullets name constant running or 4 or 7 hours after dusk, which is three run modes rather than four programmes. There is no customer-reviews line and no review text. Item weight is printed as 1 kg, with a package of 12 x 10 x 5 cm, and voltage is blank. At this price the adapter question is the whole order, and the page answers it both ways. You would need a written confirmation of the box contents before about £36.99 meant a complete kit. This is a high price on a thin listing, not a measured premium.

Pros

  • The title names 12 LEDs
  • The bullets name a dusk timer and 3 W
  • Package dimensions are printed as 12 x 10 x 5 cm
  • A first-available date is on the listing

Cons

  • The title says the adapter is included, and a bullet says it is not
  • There is no star line and no review text
  • About £36.99 is a high price on a listing with no reviews
  • The title says four programmes and the bullets name three run modes

Best for: A buyer who has written confirmation that the adapter is in the box and still chooses to pay about £36.99.

Less suitable: Anyone who can use a cheaper USB listing that states, in one direction, that the adapter is not included.

Specifications

Model
URJWAN 12-LED TV simulator
Brand
URJWAN
Price
∼£37
Power
USB, adapter clash
Modes
On, 4 h or 7 h
Dusk sensor
Yes
LEDs
12
Wattage
3 W
In the box
Adapter unclear

Common questions

Does URJWAN include the power adapter?

The title says complete with power adapter. A bullet says the TV simulator can be powered by USB, cable included, or a power adapter, not included. The page answers the box both ways.

How many programmes are named?

The title says 4 selectable programmes. The bullets name constant running, 4 hours, and 7 hours after dusk.

What weight is printed?

Item weight is 1 kg. Package dimensions are 12 x 10 x 5 cm. There is no star line on the listing.

Generic 3 W dusk TV light

Rank 10

Generic 3 W dusk TV light

∼£54

Our view

This Generic listing asks about £53.99 for bullets that say a light sensor, 3 W, and continuous, 4-hour, or 7-hour running. There is no customer-reviews line, no LED count, and no voltage. Model A-1 is also printed on B0HKFK1GJM at about £10.99, with a different part number, so the model string does not identify one product. The same bullets describe a night light for hallways, bedrooms, and staircases, which is a different job from a curtain glow. The image on the listing is a small thumbnail rather than a large product photograph. The price sits at the top of this set without a specification that explains the gap. You would be paying a high shelf price for a short dusk-timer paragraph.

Pros

  • The bullets name a dusk sensor and 3 W
  • Continuous, 4-hour, and 7-hour modes are written out
  • Country of origin is printed as China
  • The title calls the product a fake TV simulator

Cons

  • About £53.99 with no star line and no review text
  • Model A-1 is shared with the about £10.99 listing B0HKFK1GJM
  • The bullets also describe a hallway night light
  • LED count, weight, and voltage are missing

Best for: No ordinary order in this set, unless a seller confirms it is a different product from the about £10.99 model A-1.

Less suitable: Anyone comparing it with the about £10.99 listing that prints the same model number.

Specifications

Model
Generic 3 W dusk TV light
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£54
Power
3 W, plug unstated
Modes
On, 4 h or 7 h
Dusk sensor
Yes
Wattage
3 W

Common questions

What does this about £53.99 listing specify?

Bullets say a light sensor, 3 W, and continuous, 4-hour, or 7-hour operation. LED count, weight, and voltage are not on the listing.

Is model A-1 unique to this ASIN?

No. Model A-1 is also printed on Generic B0HKFK1GJM, listed at about £10.99, with a different part number.

Is there a star rating?

No customer-reviews line and no review text.

Generic 4-mode TV light

Rank 11

Generic 4-mode TV light

∼£11

Our view

This Generic listing at about £10.99 puts four modes, a timer, and a dusk sensor in the title, and the bullets say 2 W and a light sensor that stands by in brighter light. The four mode labels are not printed. Voltage, LED count, weight, and dimensions are empty, and there is no customer-reviews line. Model A-1 is the same model string as Generic B0HK6Q23KY, which is listed at about £53.99 with a different part number. The bullets also mention offices and shops, which does not tell you the plug. You are looking at a short dusk-sensor description without the measurements or the review texts that the fuller rows have. About £10.99 is the shelf price on 15 October 2026, and the rest of the order is not specified.

Pros

  • The bullets state 2 W and a light sensor
  • The price on 15 October 2026 was about £10.99
  • Placement on windows or translucent curtains is named
  • The title names a timer

Cons

  • The four modes are not labelled
  • There is no star line and no review text
  • Model A-1 is also printed on an about £53.99 listing
  • Voltage, LED count, and size are missing

Best for: A buyer who only needs the 2 W dusk-sensor sentence and will not treat model A-1 as a unique product.

Less suitable: Anyone matching a model number, or anyone who wants a stated plug and a review text.

Specifications

Model
Generic 4-mode TV light
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£11
Power
2 W, plug unstated
Modes
4 modes, unlabelled
Dusk sensor
Yes
Wattage
2 W
Placement
Window or sheers

Common questions

What wattage does this Generic listing state?

The bullets say 2 W. Voltage, LED count, and weight are not on the listing.

How does the sensor behave in the bullets?

They say it goes to standby in brighter light and comes on in darker light. The four mode labels are not printed.

Are there reviews on the listing?

No customer-reviews line and no review text.

Generic dusk-sensor TV light

Rank 12

Generic dusk-sensor TV light

∼£13

Our view

The Generic listing at about £12.99 uses a title and bullets for a 2 W dusk-timer TV light, with continuous, 4-hour, or 7-hour running. The included-components line instead lists a 39-inch LED strip, adhesive, and a wireless remote. There is no customer-reviews line and no review text. The image matches QYOEGSQ B0DWMVC4Y6, and the model string contains STRI. You cannot tell from this page whether the parcel is a simulator or a strip light. The wattage and the timer live only in the bullets that describe the simulator. Until those lines agree, the about £12.99 price is not a specification you can order from.

Pros

  • The bullets name a dusk sensor and 4-hour or 7-hour modes
  • 2 W is printed in the bullets and in the wattage field
  • A one-year warranty line is present
  • The price on 15 October 2026 was about £12.99

Cons

  • The components line describes a 39-inch LED strip and a remote
  • There is no star line and no review text
  • The image matches QYOEGSQ B0DWMVC4Y6
  • The plug type is not stated

Best for: Only someone who has already confirmed the parcel contents with the seller, not a first order from the title.

Less suitable: Anyone choosing from the title alone, because the components line describes a different product.

Specifications

Model
Generic dusk-sensor TV light
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£13
Power
Corded, 2 W
Modes
On, 4 h or 7 h
Dusk sensor
Yes
Wattage
2 W
In the box
Strip light listed
Placement
Through curtains

Common questions

What does the components line say is in the box?

It says a 39-inch LED strip light, 3M adhesive, and a wireless remote. The title and bullets describe a TV simulator. The page does not show which parcel you would receive.

What timer do the bullets name?

Continuous operation, or 4-hour or 7-hour modes after the light sensor sees dusk. Wattage is 2 W.

Is there a star rating on the listing?

No customer-reviews line and no review text.

How we compared

Scores follow the published method for these twelve amazon.co.uk listings from 15 October 2026. Review evidence is marked out of 35, the specification you can order from out of 40, and value for a stated job out of 15. Listing faults are then deducted. A 5.0 from two reviews is not a rank, and a star line whose texts are all marked outside the United Kingdom is not treated as United Kingdom evidence. There was no laboratory light test and no street check. The four weights below add up to 100.

1

Review evidence

35%

The amazon.co.uk star line and whether the review texts are marked United Kingdom. No customer-reviews line scores low. More than 30 reviews, with United Kingdom texts, score higher. A 5.0 from two reviews is not treated as a rank.

2

Specification you can order from

40%

A printed 240 V plug-in scores above a USB listing. Named 4-hour and 7-hour dusk modes, one LED count, and a stated wattage add points. An adapter that is both included and not included, or a motion title with no person sensor, scores less.

3

Value for a stated job

15%

Price counts only when the listing states what you are paying for. A 240 V plug-in with a pass-through socket, named dusk modes, under £20, and more than 30 reviews scores highest. A high price on a listing with no review text scores lowest.

4

Listing consistency

10%

Points come off for a printed clash: adapter both ways, a title LED count against the field, solar against LED bullets, a strip light in the components line, a shared image, or a timer a United Kingdom review says did not switch off.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

TV simulator buying guide

Start with the socket and the box, not the star average. A unit that plugs into the wall has to suit a UK socket. A USB unit often arrives with a lead and no adapter, and some pages say the adapter is both included and not included. The modes you can read in this set are off, always on, and dusk plus about 4 or 7 hours. A title that says motion still usually describes a dusk sensor in the bullets. Shelf prices on 15 October 2026 run from about £9.99 to about £53.99.

What is a TV simulator?

A TV simulator is a small LED unit that shifts colour and brightness so a curtain or blind looks, from outside, a bit like a TV that is on. It is an occupancy cue for an evening out or a few days away. It is not an alarm, not a lock, and not a camera. West Yorkshire Police name a fake LED TV simulator next to a timer switch, and they still put locks and alarms first. Ask the Police gives the same advice for lights or radios on a timer.

Best for

  • One street-facing window you can check from outside once, with a UK socket close enough to aim at the curtains
  • A few days away, once post, bins, and daytime curtains are already dealt with

Not ideal for

  • Anyone who wants a lock, an alarm, or a measured effect on burglary
  • A 12 V caravan outlet, a floor socket aimed at the carpet, or outdoor use

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Leaving the housing visible

    The glow has to read from the street, and the unit itself should stay hidden. ERA’s install notes say hide it and do not treat it as a guarantee. A housing you can see from outside is the unit, not a TV.

  2. 2

    Testing the sensor in daylight

    These listings describe a dusk sensor, not a person sensor. Defender prints 0.5 lux. Trying it in a bright room and calling it faulty misses the mode. Titles that say motion still usually describe that light sensor in the bullets.

  3. 3

    Assuming the USB adapter is in the box

    XGHDPBM says the cable is included and the adapter is not. YZRDCXM and URJWAN print the adapter as included and as not included. Read the title against the bullets before you order, and do not use a floor socket so the light hits the carpet.

What to weigh up

Power and what is in the box

High

Power is the first split, because it decides whether the unit can sit at the window you care about. A plug-in unit has to suit a UK socket. Under the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35, a device that plugs straight into a UK socket has to be compatible with BS 1363. In this set that is the Defender EL00240: 240 V, a pass-through socket, and a dusk sensor printed at 0.5 lux. Its instructions say the front socket stays live.

Modes, the dusk sensor, and listing clashes

High

The pattern in this set is off, always on, dusk plus about 4 hours, and dusk plus about 7 hours. That is not a seven-day timer. Defender’s instructions say blue means dusk plus 4 hours and green means dusk plus 7 hours. A title that says motion still describes a dusk sensor in the bullets, or it does not describe a person sensor at all. Treat a PIR claim as absent unless the text says the unit detects a person.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A UK socket beside the window

You want one street-facing window to look occupied after dark, and the socket is close enough to aim at the curtains. The Defender EL00240 is a 240 V plug-in with a pass-through socket, so you can still use that socket. A floor socket throws the light at the carpet.

A shelf, and a USB adapter you own

The socket is across the room, but a lead can reach a shelf by the glass. The XGHDPBM states 12 LEDs and dusk plus 4 or 7 hours, and the bullets say the adapter is not in the box. You need a spare USB supply before it will run.

A caravan on a 240 V socket

Only the Defender listing mentions caravans or motorhomes, and the voltage field says 240 V. It needs a mains socket, not a 12 V outlet. The listing says indoor and not water resistant, so it is not an outside light.

Common questions about TV simulators

Which TV simulator is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Defender EL00240 at about £16.95. It is a 240 V plug-in with a pass-through socket, 9 LEDs, and dusk plus 4 or 7 hours. amazon.co.uk showed 4.5 from 102 reviews on 15 October 2026. It fits when a UK socket sits near the window and you still want to use that socket. A socket across the room, or a floor socket, is the limit reviewers describe. These scores are not a laboratory test.
How much does a TV simulator cost on amazon.co.uk?
The twelve shelf prices on 15 October 2026 run from about £9.99 to about £53.99. The lower shelf in this set is about £9.99 to £12.99. The middle, about £16.50 to £22.60, includes the Defender at about £16.95. About £36.99 and £53.99 are high prices on listings with no review text, not a measured premium. Prices move. The Ofgem unit rate does not change the shelf price of the lamp.
What should you check before you buy a TV simulator?
Check power and the box first. A plug-in unit has to suit a UK socket. A USB unit often includes only a lead, so read the title against the bullets before you trust a line that says the adapter is included. Modes in this set are off, always on, and dusk plus about 4 or 7 hours, not a seven-day timer. Hide the housing, and do not treat a thin star line as United Kingdom evidence.
Does a TV simulator plug into a UK socket?
Only if the listing is a 240 V plug-in. A device that plugs straight into a UK socket has to be compatible with BS 1363, under the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35. In this set that is the Defender EL00240. A 5 V USB head sits outside that voltage band. The wall adapter is the mains part. UKCA or CE can be used in Great Britain. Northern Ireland differs. None of these listings shows the mark.
Is the sensor a motion sensor?
Treat a person sensor as absent unless the text says the unit detects a person. The pattern in this set is a light sensor: off, always on, dusk plus about 4 hours, or dusk plus about 7 hours. Titles that say motion still describe a dusk sensor in the bullets, or they do not describe a person sensor at all. Testing the sensor in daylight and calling it faulty is a common mistake. Defender prints the sensor at 0.5 lux.
Is a TV simulator the same as a timer lamp?
No. A timer lamp switches a lamp on a clock. A TV simulator shifts colour so a curtain looks, from outside, a bit like a TV that is on. West Yorkshire Police name a fake LED TV simulator or a timer switch for the same occupancy cue, and they still put locks and alarms first. The TV simulator or timer lights page is that choice. This comparison ranks the simulator listings. Neither product is a lock.
Does a TV simulator replace a camera or a lock?
No. A TV simulator is a light behind a curtain. A spy cam records a room you control, and it is a different product. This lamp does not film anyone. West Yorkshire Police still put locks and alarms first, and no cited police page gives a success rate for the lamp. You still deal with post, bins, and daytime curtains. Call a locksmith or an alarm installer for the physical security.
How much electricity does a TV simulator use?
Ofgem’s average Direct Debit unit rate for 1 October to 31 December 2026 is 26.32 pence per kWh in England, Scotland and Wales. Arithmetic, not a bill: 2 W for 7 hours is about 0.4 pence, and 5 W for 7 hours is about 0.9 pence. The standing charge does not change. Northern Ireland is outside that average. A saving against leaving a TV on is not calculated, because these listings do not print a TV wattage.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Defender EL00240 at about £16.95. It is a 240 V plug-in with a pass-through socket, 9 LEDs, and dusk plus 4 or 7 hours, with 4.5 from 102 reviews. It fits when a UK socket sits near the window and you still want to use that socket. A socket across the room, or a floor socket, is the limit reviewers describe. The best value is the XGHDPBM at about £10.49 if you can supply a USB adapter and sit the unit on a shelf. The adapter is not in the box. YZRDCXM at about £9.99 does not take that place: the adapter lines contradict each other, and a United Kingdom review says the timer did not switch off.

Best overall
Miangerrn USB TV simulator

Miangerrn USB TV simulator

View offer
Best value
XGHDPBM USB fake TV light

XGHDPBM USB fake TV light

Best value if you can supply a USB adapter and sit the unit on a shelf. The adapter is not in the box, and the adapter line says so in one direction.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsHome lighting

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to TV simulators

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources on occupancy lighting, BS 1363 plugs, product marking, and the Ofgem price cap. Prices are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices for these ASINs on 15 October 2026. They move. Page updated 17 October 2026.

  1. West Yorkshire Police, Easy Street (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Ask the Police, lights or radios on a timer (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. Avon and Somerset Police, lighting (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Thurrock Council, while away from home (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK, UKCA or CE marking in Great Britain (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Ofgem, price cap 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Defender plug-in simulated TV instructions (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. ERA FakeTV installation notes (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores compare published listings and review counts. They are not a laboratory test.