Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Langjiee core drill with stand Best value: Generic 160 mm core drill (KM-kqwO1b) – A stated 160 mm, a mechanical clutch and a copper water feed at about £195.99, with no negative review. The column is not in the bullets, so confirm the stand. Updated October 2026.
A core drilling rig drives a diamond core bit, a hollow barrel that cuts a plug from brick, block or concrete. You use one for a soil pipe, a vent, a flue or a service hole. Some of the amazon.co.uk pages include a column stand. Others are handheld drills that the title still calls a rig. Judge a listing by a stand that is actually described, a stated diameter, a clutch, a speed, a water feed and a bit thread you can match.
Work through those checks in the [core drilling rig buying guide](/hub/workshop/core-drilling-rig/sub/core-drilling-rig-buying-guide).
You use one for soil pipes, vents, flues and service holes. A column rig is a motor on a mast, with handwheel feed and a base you anchor or hold by vacuum. That is what hire shops mean by a diamond drilling rig. A handheld core drill has a shoulder rest or a side handle. It is a reasonable shape for a small hole in ordinary brick, and the wrong tool for a large concrete core.
A core drilling rig drives a diamond core bit, a hollow barrel that cuts a plug from brick, block or concrete. You use one for a soil pipe, a vent, a flue or a service hole.
A core drilling rig drives a diamond core bit, a hollow barrel that cuts a plug from brick, block or concrete. You use one for a soil pipe, a vent, a flue or a service hole. Some of the amazon.co.uk pages include a column stand. Others are handheld drills that the title still calls a rig. Judge a listing by a stand that is actually described, a stated diameter, a clutch, a speed, a water feed and a bit thread you can match.
Work through those checks in the [core drilling rig buying guide](/hub/workshop/core-drilling-rig/sub/core-drilling-rig-buying-guide).
You use one for soil pipes, vents, flues and service holes. A column rig is a motor on a mast, with handwheel feed and a base you anchor or hold by vacuum. That is what hire shops mean by a diamond drilling rig. A handheld core drill has a shoulder rest or a side handle. It is a reasonable shape for a small hole in ordinary brick, and the wrong tool for a large concrete core.
A core drilling rig drives a diamond core bit, a hollow barrel that cuts a plug from brick, block or concrete. You use one for a soil pipe, a vent, a flue or a service hole. Some of the amazon.co.uk pages include a column stand. Others are handheld drills that the title still calls a rig. Judge a listing by a stand that is actually described, a stated diameter, a clutch, a speed, a water feed and a bit thread you can match. Work through those checks in the core drilling rig buying guide.
The Langjiee at £115.26 is the only listing in this set that states a column stand, 750 rpm, a clutch that trips when the bit sticks, and a diamond bit in the box. The claimed capacity is 8 in / 20 cm with a 60 cm depth, while the included bit is 4.25 in, about 108 mm, so the carton is not the maximum hole. The title and the specification say 3200 W and one bullet says 2500 W, and 12.4 A is printed with no 110 V or 230 V. On amazon.co.uk it shows 1.0 from one review, dated 8 June 2025 and titled NOT RECOMMENDED: the reviewer returned it and says the refund did not arrive, and the text does not describe a cut. The arbors are given as 1-1/4 in x 7 UNC and 5/8 in x 11 UNC. The specification is the fullest at this price, and the only owner record is a failed return.
Pros
Column stand, clutch and 750 rpm are stated
A 4.25 in bit, spare brushes and a water-pipe connector are listed
Both 1-1/4 in UNC and 5/8 in UNC arbors are named
£115.26, the lowest price in this set
Cons
The only amazon.co.uk review is 1.0, about a return and no refund
3200 W and 2500 W appear in the same listing
The included bit is 4.25 in against an 8 in claim
Supply voltage is not stated
Best for: You want the lowest price that states a stand, a clutch, a speed and a bit, and you will confirm the voltage with the seller before you pay.
Less suitable: You need an owner account of a finished hole, or a bit that matches the claimed 8 in capacity.
Yes. The included components list a 4.25 in diamond drilling bit, plus the machine, two lifting handles, an accessory set, two carbon brushes and a user manual.
What hole size does the listing claim?
It claims an 8 in / 20 cm diameter capacity and a maximum drilling depth of 60 cm. The included bit is 4.25 in, which is smaller than that capacity.
Is the supply voltage stated?
No. The amazon.co.uk listing does not say 110 V or 230 V. It lists 12.4 A, 3200 W in the specification, and 2500 W in one bullet.
The Generic listing KM-ER7gZY at £355.99 is the top pick in this set on stated fit, not because anyone has published a cut. The title and the bullets include a rig stand, they give one power figure of 3200 W, they set the maximum at 205 mm, and they include a diamond bit set. The bit diameters are not listed, so a 127 mm crown for a 110 mm soil pipe is not something you can assume is in the carton. No clutch, no rpm and no voltage are stated, and the amazon.co.uk file has no review line. That silence is why this is not a tested winner. It costs more than every handheld here and £24 less than the 2200 W stand that never states a diameter. It suits you if you will only shortlist a page that names both a stand and a hole size. It is a weak choice if you refuse to buy a core drill that does not describe a jam release.
Pros
A rig stand is included in the title and the bullets
205 mm and a single 3200 W figure are stated
A diamond bit set is included, unlike most of this sample
No negative review line
Cons
Bit diameters in the set are not listed
No clutch and no rpm
Supply voltage is not stated
No amazon.co.uk review line
Best for: You will only consider a listing that names a stand and a maximum diameter, and you can confirm voltage and the bit sizes.
Less suitable: You need a described clutch, a known crown diameter, or any owner report of the cut.
This Generic stand drill is the dearest row in the set at £379.99. The listing states a 2200 W copper motor, a mechanical clutch in the gearbox, a water-seal switch, and a stand that adjusts to 22.83 in, about 580 mm. An auxiliary handle and a detachable shoulder handle are also named. It does not state a maximum diameter, an rpm, a bit, or 110 V or 230 V, and there is no review line. The title says both benchtop rig and wall drilling, which does not tell you the anchor. You are being asked for £379.99 without a hole size, so you cannot match it to a 110 mm soil pipe from the page alone. It is the stand listing to read when a written clutch matters more to you than a written millimetre. It is the wrong spend when the 205 mm kit already states the diameter this page leaves out.
Pros
Height-adjustable stand, stated to 22.83 in
2200 W is a single figure, described as a copper motor
Mechanical clutch in the gearbox is stated
Water-seal switch for wet and dry use is named
Cons
No maximum diameter, rpm or bit
£379.99, the highest price here, with no review line
Supply voltage is not stated
Benchtop and wall are both in the title
Best for: You want a stated stand and a stated clutch, and you will ask the seller for the diameter and the voltage.
Less suitable: You are sizing a soil pipe or a duct and the hole diameter has to be on the listing.
Part number KM-ce2V2j is the handheld listing that does put a power figure in the title: 2180 W, 180 mm and 1600 rpm, at £309.99. It describes the same shoulder rest, rubber handle, copper water inlet, overload protection and case as the £230.99 twins, and it uses their photograph. No column is described, no bit diameters are listed, and voltage is absent. There is no review line. The extra £79 against those twins is the price of a stated 2180 W, not of a stand or of an owner report. An 180 mm hole remains a large cut to hold by hand, including where the bullets name reinforced concrete. It is the handheld to read if you insist on a wattage in the title and you accept that the stand is still missing. It is poor value next to a £230.99 twin if the seller cannot explain what the extra money changes.
Pros
2180 W, 180 mm and 1600 rpm are all stated
Shoulder rest, copper water inlet and overload protection are described
A case is mentioned
Cons
£79 more than the photographic twins, with no stand added
No voltage, no bit list and no review line
180 mm is a large diameter for a shoulder drill
Best for: You want a handheld listing that states 2180 W and 180 mm, and the hole is a modest brick cut.
Less suitable: You need a column, or the £230.99 listing already states every other fact you use.
The Generic listing KM-kqwO1b, at £195.99, states a 160 mm maximum, a mechanical clutch that disengages if the bit jams, an overload shut-off, and a tankless copper water feed. Speed is stepless and can be locked, and no rpm, wattage or voltage is given. The title calls it a drill rig, and the bullets never say a column stand is in the box, so the word rig is not a packing list. There is no review line on amazon.co.uk. A second ASIN, B0H8RG3QG7, asks the same £195.99 for almost the same sentences. It is the best value in this set only where 160 mm, a stated clutch and this price are the facts you needed, and you confirm a stand before you rely on one. It is the wrong listing if you need a stand height, a bit diameter, or a wattage in writing.
Pros
160 mm maximum is stated
Mechanical clutch and overload shut-off are described
Copper water feed, with no tank required by the bullets
£195.99 with no negative review line
Cons
A column stand is not listed in the bullets
Wattage, rpm, voltage and bit sizes are absent
No amazon.co.uk review line
The twin ASIN B0H8RG3QG7 copies the same offer
Best for: You want a stated 160 mm and a clutch near £196, and you will check that a column is actually packed.
Less suitable: You need the stand, the bit and the voltage named before you order.
This Generic listing, part number KM-4tR8HS, is £195.99 and states the same 160 mm maximum, mechanical clutch, overload shut-off and copper water feed as B0HJYGDXZ6. Speed is stepless with a lock and no rpm figure. Wattage and voltage are absent, and the bullets do not put a column in the box even though the title says drill rig. There is no review line. The photograph URL matches the other £195.99 listing, and nothing in the text separates the two parcels. Treat it as a duplicate offer, not as a second machine with its own record. Buy it only if this is the ASIN the seller will actually dispatch and you have confirmed the stand and the supply. Skip it if you already have KM-kqwO1b in the basket, because you would be paying twice for the same sentences.
Pros
160 mm, a mechanical clutch and a copper water feed are stated
Overload shut-off is named
Same £195.99 as the other 160 mm listing
Cons
No stated column, wattage, rpm, voltage or bit
No review line
The wording does not differ in a useful way from B0HJYGDXZ6
Best for: This is the ASIN you can actually order, and you still confirm the stand and the voltage.
Less suitable: You wanted a different specification from the other £195.99 listing.
Part number KM-usbIue is the other £230.99 handheld, and the listing states 180 mm, also written as 7 inches, with speed up to 1600 rpm. Shoulder rest, rubber handle, copper water inlet, overload protection and a case are described. A column, a wattage, a voltage and a bit diameter are not. There is no review line. The image URL matches KM-YGM1mx and the £309.99 listing that does state 2180 W. Paying £230.99 here buys the same class of sentence as KM-YGM1mx, not a documented difference in the motor. Choose this ASIN only when it is the one in stock and the seller has named 110 V or 230 V in a message you can keep. Skip it if the other £230.99 page is the same photograph and the same silence.
Pros
180 mm / 7 inches and up to 1600 rpm are stated
Shoulder rest and a copper water inlet are described
Overload protection is stated
Cons
No stand, wattage, voltage or bit list
No review line
Nothing in the text separates it from B0HBVMGYJS
Best for: You have already chosen a handheld 180 mm shape and this is the ASIN the seller will send.
Less suitable: You need a wattage, a stand, or a listing that is not a photographic twin.
Part number KM-YGM1mx is a handheld drill at £230.99, with a stated maximum of 180 mm and speed up to 1600 rpm. The listing describes a shoulder rest, a rubber handle, a forged shaft, a copper water inlet, overload protection and a case, and it does not describe a column. Wattage, voltage and a bit list are absent, and there is no review line. The photograph URL is the same as B0H8R7WVMZ and the dearer B0HJZWR62F. An 180 mm barrel is a large diameter to support from the shoulder, and Eibenstock’s UK guidance keeps handheld drills for smaller holes in brick rather than reinforced concrete. The listing still names reinforced concrete among its materials. Use it for a modest brick hole only if the seller confirms the supply and you already own a dry or wet bit that fits. It is a poor match for a repeated or deep concrete core.
Pros
180 mm and up to 1600 rpm are stated
Shoulder rest, rubber handle and a copper water inlet are described
Overload protection is stated
Cons
No column stand
Wattage, voltage and bit sizes are absent
No review line
The photograph is shared with two other ASINs
Best for: You want a handheld 180 mm listing for a small number of brick holes and you will confirm voltage and the bit.
Less suitable: The hole is in reinforced concrete, or you need a stand and a stated wattage.
This MKHJKIOII listing is titled as a handheld 130 mm drill at 2180 W, with a shoulder rest, a rubber handle and a copper water inlet. The bullets also name 110 mm, 160 mm and 180 mm, and 1880 W, so the page reads as a family of options rather than one fixed machine. Overload protection is stated, and a column stand is not. The amazon.co.uk file has no review line, and the item weight is printed as 10 g, which is not a mass you can plan around. Voltage is absent, speed is stepless with no rpm, and no bit diameters are listed. It is a small handheld listing only if the seller confirms that this parcel is the 130 mm, 2180 W version and names the supply. A 160–180 mm hole in concrete is the wrong job for a shoulder drill with no stand in the text.
Pros
The title fixes this variant at 130 mm and 2180 W
Shoulder rest, rubber handle and a copper water inlet are described
Overload protection is stated
£184.17, below the other handhelds
Cons
Bullets still list other diameters and 1880 W
No column, no rpm, no bit list and no voltage
Printed weight of 10 g is not credible
No amazon.co.uk review line
Best for: You want a handheld listing around 130 mm and you will confirm the variant and the voltage before it is used.
Less suitable: You need a stand, a single wattage, or a hole near 160 mm and above.
The listing describes a handheld machine with a shoulder rest, a rubber handle and a case. It does not describe a column stand.
Which diameter is this variant?
The title selects 130 mm and 2180 W. The bullets also name 110, 160 and 180 mm options at 1880 W or 2180 W.
What does the listing say the machine weighs?
It prints an item weight of 10 g. That figure is not a usable weight for this drill.
How we compared
Nine amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page from statements captured on 19 October 2026, plus the one review on the Langjiee page. Weights before deductions sum to 100. Voltage is missing on every listing, so it does not separate the scores. A star row is the amazon.co.uk figure. There was no laboratory test. Top pick and best value describe the stated fit in this set, not a measured cut.
1
Stand included
22%
A column or rig stand named as included, not only the word rig in the title. A title-only rig scores less. A handheld scores none of this block.
2
Maximum diameter
20%
A maximum diameter stated for this variant. A claimed capacity larger than the bit in the box still counts as a stated diameter, and the gap is described in the assessment.
3
Clutch
14%
A clutch described as releasing a jammed bit. Overload protection without that sentence scores less. No protection sentence scores none of this block.
4
Stated power
12%
One power figure. Two different wattages in the same listing score less. No wattage scores none of this block.
5
Speed
8%
A numeric speed. Stepless or lockable speed with no rpm scores less.
6
Water feed
8%
A water feed or a water-seal switch described. The words wet/dry alone score less.
7
Bit included
8%
A bit in the box with a stated diameter. A bit set with no diameters scores less.
8
Cutting review
8%
An amazon.co.uk review that describes cutting. No such review scores none of this block. The only review here does not describe a hole.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Core drilling rig buying guide
The checks run in this order: the wall and the hole, a stand the listing actually includes, the supply, then clutch, speed and thread. The table is the nine amazon.co.uk listings. Nothing on this page was cored in a lab.
What is a core drilling rig?
A core drilling rig drives a diamond core bit, a hollow barrel that cuts a plug from brick, block or concrete. You use one for soil pipes, vents, flues and service holes. A column rig is a motor on a mast, with handwheel feed and a base you anchor or hold by vacuum. That is what hire shops mean by a diamond drilling rig. A handheld core drill has a shoulder rest or a side handle. It is a reasonable shape for a small hole in ordinary brick, and the wrong tool for a large concrete core.
Best for
A householder cutting one hole in ordinary brick, after checking for services
A buyer who will only shortlist a page that names a stand and a diameter
Not ideal for
A site job where the drill must already state 110 V or 230 V
Reinforced concrete, overhead work, or a wall that may be structural
Mistakes to avoid
1
Trusting two wattages as one motor
The Langjiee title and specification say 3200 W and one bullet says 2500 W. The 130 mm title says 2180 W and the bullets also name 1880 W. Do not treat the higher figure as confirmed.
2
Assuming the included bit is the maximum
The Langjiee capacity claim is 8 in and the bit in the box is 4.25 in. The 3200 W page includes a bit set and does not list diameters. Buy the crown for the hole you are cutting.
3
Holding a large concrete core by hand
A 160 to 205 mm hole in reinforced concrete is rig work. A shoulder rest does not replace a column the listing actually includes. Running a wet bit dry, or ignoring an unstated voltage, sits in the same class of mistake.
What to weigh up
Stand, diameter and the wall
High
Ordinary brick and block can be a dry bit with extraction. Concrete, engineering brick and hard stone are the wet case. If you do not know the wall, or it may be structural, stop. The bit has to be larger than the pipe or duct. A UK trade explainer uses at least 127 mm for a 110 mm soil pipe. Do not treat the maximum diameter as a hole you will cut all day, handheld, in reinforced concrete. An included bit can be smaller than that maximum.
Voltage, clutch, speed and thread
High
None of the nine listings state 110 V or 230 V, so voltage does not separate the scores. UK sites expect 110 V centre-tapped-to-earth tools, which puts 55 V to earth. A 230 V drill needs an RCD and will not plug into a yellow site outlet. Confirm the supply with the seller before you pay. A jam has to release. A clutch described as letting go of a stuck bit scores higher than a general overload line, and higher than no protection sentence at all. Large bits want a low rpm.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
One brick vent at home
You are cutting one vent or waste hole through ordinary brick, after you have checked for services. A handheld is the shape kept for smaller holes in brick, not for reinforced concrete. The MKHJKIOII page is titled 130 mm and 2180 W, at about £184.17. The bullets still name other diameters and 1880 W, the printed weight is 10 g, and voltage is not stated. Confirm the variant and the supply before it is used.
You need the arbor written down so a bit you already own can fit. The Langjiee page names 1 1/4 inch UNC and 5/8 inch UNC, plus a stand, 750 rpm and a clutch, at £115.26. The only amazon.co.uk review is 1.0 and does not describe a cut, and the listing also prints 2500 W against 3200 W. Confirm the voltage with the seller.
You will only shortlist a listing that names both a stand and a hole size. The Generic 3200 W page includes a rig stand, states 205 mm and one 3200 W figure, and includes a bit set, at about £355.99. Bit diameters, a clutch, an rpm and the voltage are not stated, and there is no review line. Top pick means that stated fit.
Which core drilling rig is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Generic 3200 W core drill with stand, at about £355.99. It scores highest because the listing states a rig stand, a 205 mm maximum, a single 3200 W figure and a diamond bit set. It does not state a clutch, an rpm, a voltage or the bit diameters, and amazon.co.uk has no review line. Top pick means that stated fit. It is not a measured cut, and it is not a laboratory result.
How much does a core drilling rig cost on amazon.co.uk?
On 19 October 2026 the nine amazon.co.uk listings on this page ran from £115.26 to £379.99. In this sample, entry is about £115 to £200 and mid is about £230 to £380. Outside the sample, Sealey lists the DCD230V motor at £383.94 including VAT, before its stand, and Eibenstock lists the BST 90 stand alone at £670.80 including VAT. Those are single UK prices, not a market average, and neither machine is a row in this table.
What should you check before you buy a core drilling rig?
Start with the wall. Ordinary brick and block can be a dry bit with extraction. Concrete, engineering brick and hard stone are the wet case. The bit must be larger than the pipe or duct. A UK trade explainer uses at least 127 mm for a 110 mm soil pipe. Then check that a stand is listed, not only the word rig in the title. None of these nine pages state 110 V or 230 V. If the wall may be structural, stop.
Do these core drilling rigs state 110 V or 230 V?
No. None of the nine amazon.co.uk listings on this page state 110 V or 230 V. UK construction sites expect 110 V centre-tapped-to-earth portable tools, so the voltage to earth is 55 V. A 230 V machine needs an RCD and the inspection habit HSE describes, and it will not plug into a yellow site outlet. IET Wiring Matters places that reduced low voltage practice under BS 7671 section 704. Do not guess the plug from the wattage on the title.
When should you use a stand instead of a handheld core drill?
Eibenstock's UK guide keeps handheld drills for smaller holes in brick and masonry, and a rig for reinforced concrete, larger diameters, deeper holes and repeated work. Treat a stand as included only when the listing says so. A 160 to 205 mm hole in concrete is the wrong job for a shoulder drill. The 2200 W page states a stand to 22.83 in and a clutch, but no diameter. The 3200 W page states the stand and 205 mm, but no clutch.
Should a core be cut wet or dry?
Concrete, engineering brick and hard stone are the wet case. Ordinary brick and block can be a dry bit with extraction. HSE sheet CN8 calls for water on wet coring in concrete, and for M or H class extraction where reasonably practicable on dry coring in brick. Water does not make the dust harmless. A wet/dry switch on the listing does not mean a wet bit can run dry. If you do not know the wall, or it is structural, stop and get a professional.
What does UK guidance say about dust from dry coring?
HSE sheet CN8 points to M or H class extraction for dry coring in brick. EH40 sets respirable crystalline silica at 0.1 mg/m³ over 8 hours. RPE with an assigned protection factor of at least 20 applies to dry coring of more than 15 to 20 minutes in a day, and to long wet coring in enclosed spaces. A vacuum base is not a general method for walls and ceilings. Extractor classes are compared on the dust extractor comparison. These nine listings do not state a noise or vibration figure.
Why is the £115 listing not the best value?
The Langjiee at £115.26 states a column stand, 750 rpm, a clutch and a 4.25 in bit. It is the lowest price in this set. It is not the best value, because price alone is not the criterion and the only amazon.co.uk review is 1.0, titled NOT RECOMMENDED. The reviewer returned it and says the refund did not arrive. The title says 3200 W and one bullet says 2500 W. The included bit is 4.25 in against an 8 in claim.
Our verdict
The top pick is the Generic 3200 W core drill with stand at about £355.99. It has the highest score because a stand, 205 mm, a single 3200 W figure and a bit set are stated. No clutch, no rpm, no voltage and no review line are already in that score. Top pick means that stated fit, not a measured cut. The best value is the Generic 160 mm listing KM-kqwO1b at about £195.99, where 160 mm, a mechanical clutch and a copper water feed are stated, with no negative review. The title says rig and the bullets do not list a column. Best value means that clutch and diameter at this price, if you confirm the stand.
A stated 160 mm, a mechanical clutch and a copper water feed at about £195.99, with no negative review. The column is not in the bullets, so confirm the stand.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to core drilling rigs
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.