Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

160x20 saw blade comparison 2026

The best 160x20 saw blades, compared.

Top pick: Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack – Largest review sample among the 4.7-star listings: 750 reviews, with 160 mm, 20 mm and 48 teeth agreed on the page. Best value: Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade – About £13.99, with 80 teeth agreed in the title and the model, 4.6 from 1,965 reviews, and a 16 mm ring in the bullets. Updated 22 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A 160x20 saw blade is a circular blade of 160 mm diameter with a 20 mm centre hole. In the UK it fits many plunge and track saws. You buy one when the saw is already yours and the plate is blunt, chipped, or the wrong tooth count for the next cut. Read the diameter and the bore in the title and the specification together. A reducing ring adapts a smaller arbor. Match the kerf to the saw: older track-saw plates are often a wider cut, later machines use a narrower plate, and the riving knife changes with them. Those families are not interchangeable. A mid tooth count suits plywood and MDF, a low count suits a rip in solid wood, and a high count is for a finer crosscut. The [160x20 saw blade buying guide](/hub/saw-accessories/160x20-saw-blade/sub/160x20-saw-blade-buying-guide) sets those checks in order: bore, kerf, teeth, then any line that contradicts another. The saw manual still decides which material the blade may cut.

A 160x20 saw blade is a circular blade of 160 mm diameter with a 20 mm centre hole. In the UK it fits many plunge and track saws.

Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack

Best overall

Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack
9.2/10∼ £34

36 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

10 of 10: Best 160x20 saw blades compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack
Trend CSB/16048 48-tooth blade
Bosch Expert 48-tooth blade
S&R 48-tooth 160 mm blade
Best value
Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade
BATIOPV 24/40/60 three-pack
Saxton 160 mm blade, 60-tooth title
BAUBECK 80-tooth multi-material blade
OX 60-tooth twin pack
Festool PW12 12-tooth rip blade
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
7.4/10
1.0/10
∼ £34
∼ £17
∼ £32
∼ £17
∼ £14
∼ £23
∼ £13
∼ £13
∼ £10
∼ £36
4.7(750)
4.7(435)
4.7(40)
4.6(2,929)
4.6(1,965)
4.6(87)
4.5(623)
4.4(276)
3.8(16)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best 160x20 saw blades in detail

Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack

Rank 1

Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack

∼£34

Our view

The Trend CSB/160/3PK, listed at about £34.00, is three 48-tooth ATB blades, each 160 mm with a 20 mm bore, and the title states a 2.2 mm kerf. On amazon.co.uk it carries 4.7 from 750 reviews, the largest sample among the 4.7-star blades here, which is why it is the top pick. The listing names Festool HK 55 EBQ, TS 55 FEBQ, Mafell MS 55 and Metabo KS 55 FS. Reviewers still report burning on oak and chipping on melamine, so the tooth count does not make this a coated-board blade. The item-thickness field says 1.6 mm, which does not match the 2.2 mm title. No reducing ring is listed. A later track saw in the 1.8 mm family is a different kerf, and this pack does not print that width.

Pros

  • Three 48-tooth blades at about £34.00
  • 4.7 from 750 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Title, bore and tooth count agree at 160 mm, 20 mm and 48
  • Named saws include TS 55 FEBQ, HK 55, MS 55 and KS 55

Cons

  • Thickness field says 1.6 mm against a 2.2 mm title
  • Oak burn and melamine chip in the review notes
  • No 16 mm ring listed
  • Kerf is not stated as the 1.8 mm family

Best for: You want a documented 48-tooth wood pack for plywood and MDF, and your saw takes a 2.2 mm kerf.

Less suitable: You need a 1.8 mm blade for a later track saw, or a chip-free cut on melamine.

Specifications

Model
Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack
Brand
Trend
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.7/5(750)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
48
Grind
ATB
Kerf
2.2 mm
Pack
3 blades
Weight
583 g
Stated job
Plywood and MDF
Listing conflict
Thickness 1.6 mm

Common questions

How many blades are in this Trend pack?

The listing says three blades, model CSB/160/3PK, each 160 mm with a 20 mm bore and 48 teeth.

Which saws does the listing name?

Festool HK 55 EBQ, Festool TS 55 FEBQ, Mafell MS 55 and Metabo KS 55 FS, plus an unspecified further list.

Does the listing include a reducing ring?

No. The bore given is 20 mm and no ring is listed.

Trend CSB/16048 48-tooth blade

Rank 2

Trend CSB/16048 48-tooth blade

∼£17

Our view

The Trend CSB/16048, listed at about £16.76, is one 48-tooth ATB blade at 160 mm with a 20 mm bore. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.7 from 435 reviews, the same star rating as the triple pack on a smaller sample. The title kerf is 2.4 mm and the hook is +5°, while the triple pack states 2.2 mm and +15°, so the two listings are not one specification. The item-thickness field says 2.2 mm, which clashes with the 2.4 mm title. No ring is listed. Named saws match the pack: Festool HK 55, TS 55 FEBQ, Mafell MS 55 and Metabo KS 55. It is the single-blade option once you have checked that 2.4 mm against the saw.

Pros

  • One 48-tooth blade at about £16.76
  • 4.7 from 435 reviews
  • 160 mm and 20 mm with no second bore
  • Same named-saw list as the triple pack

Cons

  • Title kerf 2.4 mm versus thickness field 2.2 mm
  • Hook and kerf differ from the triple pack
  • No reducing ring
  • Smaller review sample than the pack

Best for: You want one mid-price 48-tooth wood blade and you have checked the kerf.

Less suitable: You expected the same 2.2 mm and +15° hook as the triple pack.

Specifications

Model
Trend CSB/16048 48-tooth blade
Brand
Trend
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.7/5(435)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
48
Grind
ATB
Kerf
2.4 mm
Pack
1 blade
Weight
254 g
Stated job
Engineered wood
Listing conflict
Thickness 2.2 mm

Common questions

How does this differ from the Trend triple pack?

This listing is one blade, CSB/16048, with a title kerf of 2.4 mm and a +5° hook. The triple pack states 2.2 mm and +15°.

What is the amazon.co.uk rating on the listing?

4.7 out of 5 from 435 reviews.

Bosch Expert 48-tooth blade

Rank 3

Bosch Expert 48-tooth blade

∼£32

Our view

The Bosch Expert, listed at about £31.50, is a 160 mm by 20 mm wood blade with 48 teeth and 2.6 mm in the title. The amazon.co.uk star line is 4.7 from 40 reviews, which ties the top rating on the smallest sample in that group. The written reviews in the listing notes are marked Germany or Spain, so they are not British shopper opinion. Two part numbers appear, 2608644021 and 2330067. No reducing ring is mentioned. The named-saw wording is partly garbled. At a price close to the Trend triple pack, which has 750 reviews and three blades, this listing does not lead on evidence.

Pros

  • 48 teeth, 160 mm and 20 mm in one size line
  • 2.6 mm printed in the title
  • 4.7 from 40 reviews on amazon.co.uk
  • Carbide, made in Italy on the listing

Cons

  • Only 40 reviews, and the written sample is not UK-marked
  • Two part numbers
  • No ring
  • About £31.50 for one blade beside a three-pack at about £34.00

Best for: You want a Bosch 48-tooth wood blade and you already know 2.6 mm suits the saw.

Less suitable: You are using the star line alone to beat a listing with hundreds of UK reviews.

Specifications

Model
Bosch Expert 48-tooth blade
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£32
Customer rating
4.7/5(40)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
48
Kerf
2.6 mm
Pack
1 blade
Weight
228 g
Stated job
Wood
Listing conflict
Two part numbers

Common questions

Are the written reviews on this listing from the UK?

No. The sample is marked Germany or Spain. The star line is 4.7 from 40 on the amazon.co.uk listing.

Is a reducing ring included?

The listing does not mention one.

S&R 48-tooth 160 mm blade

Rank 4

S&R 48-tooth 160 mm blade

∼£17

Our view

The S&R blade, listed at about £16.95, is a 48-tooth ATB at 160 mm with a 20 mm bore, and the title includes a 16 mm reducer. It has the largest review count here, 4.6 from 2,929 amazon.co.uk reviews. The item-thickness field is 0.22 cm, which is 2.2 mm if you read the unit as written. The model field says 238.040.160 and the manufacturer part number says 238.048.160, so one digit does not agree. One UK review in the notes mentions 80 teeth, which the title does not. The material field says hardwood, a poor label for a carbide-tipped plate. It is a 48-tooth wood blade with a ring, provided you can accept the part-number mismatch.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 2,929 reviews, the largest sample
  • 48-tooth ATB with a 16 mm ring in the title
  • About £16.95, close to the Trend single
  • Thickness field 0.22 cm is a readable kerf

Cons

  • Model 238.040.160 versus part 238.048.160
  • One UK review mentions 80 teeth
  • Material field says hardwood
  • Named saws stay generic

Best for: You want a 48-tooth blade plus a 16 mm ring and a very large review sample.

Less suitable: You need one part number you can reorder without guessing the last digit.

Specifications

Model
S&R 48-tooth 160 mm blade
Brand
S&R
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,929)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
48
Grind
ATB
Kerf
2.2 mm
Pack
1 blade
Ring
16 mm
Weight
260 g
Stated job
Wood and board
Listing conflict
Part-number digit

Common questions

Why are there two model numbers?

The model field says 238.040.160 and the manufacturer part number says 238.048.160.

Does the listing include a reducer?

The title says a 16 mm reducer ring is included.

Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade

Rank 5

Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade

∼£14

Our view

The Saxton TCT16080T, listed at about £13.99, is an 80-tooth ATB blade, 160 mm with a 20 mm bore, and the bullets include a 16 mm ring. It is the best value here: 4.6 from 1,965 amazon.co.uk reviews, at the low end of the price band. Title, model and tooth field all say 80. Some reviewers say the ring fits after it is tapped in, and one says the 16 mm adaptor was slightly too large. Fitting the blade the wrong way round also appears in the review notes. The item-thickness field says 2.4 mm, while the bullets say a 2.2 mm kerf and a 1.4 mm plate. Eighty teeth suit a finer crosscut in plywood or MDF, and they are a poor match for ripping solid wood.

Pros

  • 80 teeth agreed in the title, model and tooth field
  • 4.6 from 1,965 reviews at about £13.99
  • 16 mm ring included
  • Bullets state a 2.2 mm kerf and a 1.4 mm plate

Cons

  • Thickness field says 2.4 mm
  • Ring can need a tap, or sit slightly large
  • Wrong-way fitting shows up in reviews
  • Too fine for a solid-wood rip

Best for: You want a fine crosscut blade around this price, and you may need the 16 mm ring.

Less suitable: You are ripping solid wood, or you need the ring to drop in without persuasion.

Specifications

Model
Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade
Brand
Saxton Blades
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,965)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
80
Grind
ATB
Kerf
2.2 mm
Pack
1 blade
Ring
16 mm
Weight
181 g
Stated job
Fine wood crosscut
Listing conflict
Thickness 2.4 mm

Common questions

Is a 16 mm ring included?

Yes. The bullets say a 16 mm reduction ring is included with the 20 mm bore.

What tooth count does this Saxton listing agree on?

The title, the model TCT16080T and the tooth field all say 80.

What do UK reviews say about the ring?

Some say it fits after it is tapped in. One says the 16 mm adaptor was slightly too large.

BATIOPV 24/40/60 three-pack

Rank 6

BATIOPV 24/40/60 three-pack

∼£23

Our view

The BATIOPV three-pack, listed at about £22.59, puts 24, 40 and 60 teeth in the title and a 16 mm ring beside a 160 mm by 20 mm size. A bullet then says a 25 mm bore, with rings for 20 mm and 16 mm. Those two bore figures cannot both be the hole you fit. The star line is 4.6 from 87 reviews, and only one UK review is in the listing notes. One bullet states a maximum of 7,200 rpm. The tooth field says 60, which does not describe a mixed pack. The pack weighs 630 g. Leave it if you need a confirmed 20 mm bore.

Pros

  • Three blades at about £22.59
  • 4.6 from 87 reviews
  • A maximum speed of 7,200 rpm is stated
  • Wood and plastic are the stated job

Cons

  • Title bore 20 mm versus a 25 mm bullet
  • Tooth field says 60 on a 24/40/60 title
  • Only one UK review in the listing notes
  • Bore is not confirmed

Best for: You already know the bore from the etch on the plate, and you want three tooth counts.

Less suitable: You are about to order from the title alone.

Specifications

Model
BATIOPV 24/40/60 three-pack
Brand
BATIOPV
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.6/5(87)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 or 25 mm
Teeth
24/40/60
Kerf
2.2 mm
Pack
3 blades
Ring
16 mm
Weight
630 g
Stated job
Wood and plastic
Listing conflict
25 mm bore

Common questions

Is the bore 20 mm or 25 mm?

The title says 160 mm by 20 mm with a 16 mm ring. A bullet says a 25 mm bore with rings for 20 mm and 16 mm.

What maximum speed is stated?

One bullet says 7,200 rpm. No other speed is on the listing.

Saxton 160 mm blade, 60-tooth title

Rank 7

Saxton 160 mm blade, 60-tooth title

∼£13

Our view

The Saxton listing at about £12.99, with 4.5 from 623 reviews, does not settle how many teeth will arrive. The title, the set name and the bullets say 60 teeth. The model and the part number are TCT16048T, which encodes 48. The bullets still give a 20 mm bore, a 16 mm ring, a 1.4 mm plate and a 2.2 mm kerf, and they name Festool, DeWalt, Bosch, Makita and Ryobi. That size line is the useful part of the page. The tooth conflict is not. Both counts cannot be treated as correct. Leave it if the cut depends on a known tooth count.

Pros

  • About £12.99 with a 16 mm ring in the bullets
  • 4.5 from 623 reviews
  • Bore, plate and kerf are stated together
  • Named brands include common UK plunge and circular saws

Cons

  • Title says 60 teeth and the model says TCT16048T
  • The listing does not resolve the count
  • You cannot plan a rip or a sheet cut from this page
  • A different Saxton listing is the one that agrees on 80 teeth

Best for: You only need a cheap 160 mm by 20 mm plate and the exact tooth count does not matter.

Less suitable: You are choosing between a fine crosscut and a rip and need one number.

Specifications

Model
Saxton 160 mm blade, 60-tooth title
Brand
Saxton Blades
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.5/5(623)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
60 or 48
Grind
ATB
Kerf
2.2 mm
Pack
1 blade
Ring
16 mm
Weight
230 g
Stated job
Solid wood
Listing conflict
Tooth count

Common questions

Is this a 60-tooth or a 48-tooth blade?

The title, set name and bullets say 60. The model and part number are TCT16048T. The listing does not resolve that.

Is a ring included?

Yes. The bullets say a 16 mm reduction ring is included.

BAUBECK 80-tooth multi-material blade

Rank 8

BAUBECK 80-tooth multi-material blade

∼£13

Our view

The BAUBECK 80-tooth blade, listed at about £12.99, is 160 mm and carries 4.4 from 276 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title names both a 20 mm and a 16 mm bore. The bullets claim wood, aluminium, mild steel and laminate. That metal line is a listing claim, not a test, and a wood-only saw manual is a reason to stop. The item-thickness field says 20 mm, which repeats the bore figure and does not state a kerf. Review notes mention a loose 16 mm adapter and burning on laminate flooring. Grind is not stated. An 80-tooth plate at this price is useful only when the saw is cleared for the material you actually cut.

Pros

  • 80 teeth at about £12.99
  • 4.4 from 276 reviews
  • 16 mm is named in the title
  • Weight stated at 220 g

Cons

  • Thickness field says 20 mm
  • Metal and mild steel are claims, not a test
  • Loose 16 mm adapter in the review notes
  • Laminate burn reported

Best for: You want an 80-tooth plate for wood only, after you ignore the metal bullets.

Less suitable: You plan to cut steel or aluminium because the bullet says so.

Specifications

Model
BAUBECK 80-tooth multi-material blade
Brand
BAUBECK
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.4/5(276)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20/16 mm
Teeth
80
Pack
1 blade
Ring
16 mm
Weight
220 g
Stated job
Wood and metal
Listing conflict
Thickness 20 mm

Common questions

Does the listing claim metal?

Yes. The bullets name aluminium, metal and mild steel as well as wood. That is a claim, not a test result.

What is wrong with the thickness field?

It says 20 mm, which matches the bore figure, not a kerf.

OX 60-tooth twin pack

Rank 9

OX 60-tooth twin pack

∼£10

Our view

The OX twin pack, listed at about £9.99, is the cheapest listing here and the weakest rating: 3.8 from 16 reviews. The title says two 160 mm by 20 mm, 60-tooth ATB wood blades, model OX-TCTW-1602060-TP-E. The included-components line says two porcelain cutting diamond blades, and a rank note places the ASIN among metal cutting circular saw blades. Those lines do not describe one product. One of the two UK reviews reports clean plywood cuts. The other says the edge died and the wood burned. Kerf is not stated. Reducing rings are mentioned without a size. At this price the page is a conflict, and the star line is too small to settle it.

Pros

  • Two blades at about £9.99
  • Title states 60-tooth ATB, 160 mm and 20 mm
  • One UK review reports clean plywood

Cons

  • Components line says porcelain diamond blades
  • 3.8 from 16 reviews
  • A second review reports a dead edge and burning
  • Kerf and ring size are not stated

Best for: You are comparing prices and need to see what the bottom of the price band looks like.

Less suitable: You need a wood blade whose box contents match the title.

Specifications

Model
OX 60-tooth twin pack
Brand
OX
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
3.8/5(16)
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
60
Grind
ATB
Pack
2 blades
Weight
750 g
Stated job
Wood
Listing conflict
Diamond components

Common questions

Is this a wood blade or a diamond blade?

The title says a wood-cutting TCT twin pack. The included-components line says two porcelain cutting diamond blades.

What do the two UK reviews say?

One reports clean plywood cuts. One says the edge died and the wood burned.

Festool PW12 12-tooth rip blade

Rank 10

Festool PW12 12-tooth rip blade

∼£36

Our view

The Festool listing at about £35.99 is a 12-tooth rip blade titled HW 160x1.6x20 PW12, model 578580. The bullets describe long cuts in solid wood, a faster feed and battery circular saws. There is no customer-reviews line on the listing, so there is no UK star rating to quote. The title thickness is 1.6 mm. Festool’s published HW 160×1.8×20 family, and a trade note on the PW12, is 1.8 mm for TS 55 F and TSC 55 K saws from 2021. Those two widths stay separate. Weight is given as both 270 g and 246 g. This is a coarse rip pattern, and it has no review evidence here.

Pros

  • 12 teeth, the only rip pattern here
  • Festool brand and model 578580
  • Bullets name solid-wood rips and battery saws
  • 160 mm and 20 mm in the title

Cons

  • No review line on the amazon.co.uk listing
  • Title says 1.6 mm, not the published 1.8 mm PW12
  • Two weight figures, 270 g and 246 g
  • About £35.99 with no UK rating to read

Best for: You want a coarse rip blade and you have confirmed 1.6 mm against your knife.

Less suitable: You wanted a fine crosscut, or you assumed this is the 1.8 mm Festool PW12.

Specifications

Model
Festool PW12 12-tooth rip blade
Brand
Festool
Price
∼£36
Diameter
160 mm
Bore
20 mm
Teeth
12
Grind
Rip
Kerf
1.6 mm
Pack
1 blade
Weight
270 g
Stated job
Solid-wood rip
Listing conflict
Two weights

Common questions

How many reviews does the listing show?

None. There is no customer-reviews line, so the rating is not available.

What is this blade for, according to the bullets?

Long cuts in solid wood, a faster feed, and battery circular saws. Tooth count is 12.

How we compared

Ten 160 mm by 20 mm blades on amazon.co.uk were scored on 19 October 2026 from the listing and the review line, not from a cut test in a lab. Amazon evidence, listing clarity and value are weighted 40, 35 and 25. A components line that names a different product, a second bore, or a thickness field that cannot be a kerf comes off the score. The lowest price does not win when the page contradicts itself. Star lines stay the amazon.co.uk figures. No score here is a claim that an aftermarket blade lasts as long as a maker’s original.

1

Amazon evidence

40%

Star rating is scaled, then review count. A UK sample of several hundred reviews scores higher than 4.7 from 40 reviews, or a listing with no review line. A components line that names a different product, and review notes about a loose ring or a burnt edge, come off this block.

2

Listing clarity

35%

Diameter 160 mm and bore 20 mm need to agree in the title and the specification, with one tooth count, one kerf figure, a stated wood job that does not clash with metal or diamond, and named saws where the page gives them. A second bore, a part number that encodes a different tooth count, or a thickness field of 20 mm costs points.

3

Value

25%

Shelf price in GBP is read against a documented 160 mm by 20 mm wood blade. The lowest price does not win when the page contradicts itself. A large review count at the low end of the band still beats a thin sample at a much higher shelf price.

Independent review
Last updated: 22 October 2026
8 sources checked

160x20 saw blade buying guide

Buy the blade that matches the saw you already own. Diameter, bore, kerf and tooth count come before the brand and before the star line. A page that contradicts itself has not told you what will arrive, whatever the price.

What is a 160x20 saw blade?

A 160x20 saw blade is a circular blade 160 mm across with a 20 mm hole. UK buyers meet it on plunge and track saws that use that arbor, and on other saws that share it. The blade is a replacement, not a new saw. What matters is whether the plate really is that size, whether the kerf matches the saw, whether the tooth count matches the cut, and whether the listing agrees with itself. Start with diameter and bore. Read both the title and the specification. A 16 mm reducing ring is an adapter.

Best for

  • Kitchen and fit-out work on a plunge or track saw
  • Sheet goods on a 20 mm arbor, with or without a 16 mm ring

Not ideal for

  • Steel, aluminium or cement fibre when the blade is only described for wood
  • A saw whose riving knife does not match the kerf

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on a fit claim and skipping the kerf year

    Older track-saw plates are often 2.2 mm. Saws from 2021 in the narrower family are published at 1.8 mm, and the riving knives differ. A title that says the blade fits is not the kerf.

  2. 2

    Ignoring a second bore or a second tooth count

    A 25 mm bullet under a 20 mm title, or a part number that encodes 48 teeth under a 60-tooth title, means the page has not agreed with itself. Both figures cannot be the blade you fit.

  3. 3

    Fitting the blade backwards, or ripping on 80 teeth

    The rotation arrows on the blade and the saw have to match. A loose or oversized 16 mm ring is a fitting fault, not a new size. An 80-tooth plate is for a fine crosscut, not a long rip in solid wood.

What to weigh up

Diameter, bore and kerf

High

Diameter and bore come first because a blade that is not 160 mm by 20 mm is a different saw. Read the title and the specification together. A 16 mm reducing ring is an adapter for a smaller arbor, not a second size. A bullet that also states a 25 mm bore is a conflict. Kerf is the cut width, and it has to match the saw’s generation. Older track-saw blades on UK trade lists are often 2.2 mm.

Tooth count and a consistent listing

High

Tooth count is how you match the cut. About 48 teeth with an alternate-top bevel is the usual track-saw choice for plywood and MDF. A low count, including a 12-tooth rip pattern, is for long cuts in solid wood. Eighty teeth are for a finer crosscut, and they are a poor way to rip. None of these listings clearly names a triple-chip grind for melamine, so a chip-free coated edge is not a promise of the tooth count. The listing then has to agree with itself.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Track-saw sheet goods

You already own a plunge or track saw and you want a documented 48-tooth wood pack for plywood and MDF. The Trend triple pack states 160 mm, 20 mm and 48 teeth, with 4.7 from 750 reviews. Check that your saw is in the wider kerf family before you fit it.

A finer crosscut on a budget

You want a fine crosscut and you may need the 16 mm ring. The Saxton TCT16080T agrees on 80 teeth, includes the ring, and carries 4.6 from 1,965 reviews at about £13.99. It is a poor match for ripping solid wood.

A coarse rip, kerf confirmed

You are ripping solid wood and you have checked the kerf against the knife. The Festool listing is the only 12-tooth rip pattern here, titled at 1.6 mm, with no review line. Do not treat a multi-material bullet as clearance to cut steel.

Common questions about 160x20 saw blades

What size is a 160x20 saw blade?
A 160x20 saw blade is a circular blade 160 mm across with a 20 mm bore, the arbor on many UK plunge and track saws. Read both figures in the title and the specification. A 16 mm ring adapts a smaller arbor. It does not prove the hole is 16 mm. If a second bore appears in the bullets, that is a conflict. The saw manual decides the material, not a marketplace rank.
How do I know the kerf matches the saw?
Older track-saw blades are often a 2.2 mm kerf. Machines from 2021 in the narrower family are published at 1.8 mm, and the riving knives differ, so the blades are not interchangeable. A title that prints 1.6 mm is a separate figure, not the 1.8 mm blade. On a saw bench, HSE guidance puts the riving knife within 8 mm of the blade, thicker than the plate and thinner than the kerf.
How many teeth do I need?
About 48 teeth with an alternate-top bevel is the usual choice for plywood and MDF. A low count, including a 12-tooth pattern, is for long rips in solid wood. Eighty teeth suit a finer crosscut and are a poor match for ripping. If the title and the part number disagree on the count, the page has not told you which blade will arrive.
Can I cut metal with one of these blades?
No. A wood blade, including an alternate-top-bevel plate, is not safe for steel or aluminium because a bullet or one review says so. One listing here claims mild steel, and another’s components line names a porcelain diamond blade. Those are claims, not a test. If the saw manual only allows a wood blade, stop. Metal and cement fibre need a blade the manual names, or a professional.
What if the listing contradicts itself?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 says goods must match the description. A 20 mm thickness field that repeats the bore, a 25 mm bore beside a 20 mm title, or a diamond-blade components line under a wood title means you cannot tell what will arrive. Do not buy on a fit claim without the kerf year, and do not ignore a loose ring in the reviews. Pick a listing where diameter, bore, teeth and kerf agree.
How do I fit the blade?
Match the rotation arrow on the blade to the arrow on the saw. The TS 55 manual warns of serious injury if they do not match. A 16 mm ring may need a tap, and a ring that sits slightly large is a known complaint. Do not rip solid wood with an 80-tooth blade. If the riving knife does not match the kerf, stop and get a competent person rather than guessing from the listing.
My saw is not 160 mm by 20 mm. Where do I look?
This page is only the 160 mm diameter and 20 mm bore. A 30 mm arbor is a different blade, even when the tooth story looks similar. If your saw is 190 mm by 30 mm, use the 190x30 saw blade comparison and read that bore in the title and the specification. Do not force a 160 mm plate onto a different saw.
What do these blades cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices here run from about £9.99, where a components line conflicts with the title, to about £35.99 for a 12-tooth rip listing with no review line. Clearer 48-tooth and 80-tooth wood blades sit roughly between about £13 and about £34. The lowest price does not win when the page contradicts itself. Check the live amazon.co.uk price before you order.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Trend CSB/160/3PK, three 48-tooth blades at about £34.00, with 4.7 from 750 amazon.co.uk reviews. That is the largest sample among the listings that share a 4.7 star line, and the title states a 2.2 mm kerf. The best value is the Saxton TCT16080T at about £13.99, an 80-tooth blade with 4.6 from 1,965 reviews and a 16 mm ring in the bullets. A low price does not win when the listing contradicts itself, and a wood blade is not cleared for steel by a bullet. None of these scores is a laboratory life test.

Best overall
Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack

Trend CSB/160/3PK 48-tooth triple pack

Largest review sample among the 4.7-star listings: 750 reviews, with 160 mm, 20 mm and 48 teeth agreed on the page.

View offer
Best value
Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade

Saxton TCT16080T 80-tooth blade

About £13.99, with 80 teeth agreed in the title and the model, 4.6 from 1,965 reviews, and a 16 mm ring in the bullets.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Saw bladesDIY toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to 160x20 saw blades

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources for this comparison, last checked on 19 October 2026.

  1. HSE: Circular saw benches and riving knives (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: Woodworking standards, including BS EN 847-1 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. BSI: BS EN 847-1:2017 circular saw blade safety requirements (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 11 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Festool UK: HW 160×1.8×20 W18 circular saw blade (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Protrade: Festool PW12 160 x 1.8 x 20, saws from 2021 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Festool TS 55 FEQ manual: rotation arrows must match (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. UK Workshop: TS 55 F kerf and riving knife (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The comparison uses amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. It is not a laboratory test.