Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Saw blade sharpener comparison 2026

The best saw blade sharpeners, compared.

Top pick: WYZBEN feather-edge file Best value: WYZBEN feather-edge file – About £4.89 on the same 4.4 star line. Many of the 317 reviews are not from the United Kingdom, and one UK text wore the edge on a 22 inch crosscut. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A saw blade sharpener puts an edge back on one family of saw blade. In the UK you buy one when a blade you already own has gone dull. The tools sold for this job do not share one blade. A bench machine is for a circular blade, a pull-through is for an insulation saw, a drill attachment is for an oscillating multi-tool blade, and a file is for a steel hand saw or a pruning saw. You tell a suitable sharpener from the wrong one by the blade family, the size the listing states, and the abrasive. Carbide tips need a diamond face. A ceramic disc is for a circular blade that is not carbide. A file that is too thick flattens a fine gullet. If a circular plate creeps in the clamp, the tooth set changes. UK mains for a corded machine are nominally 230 V, and you still check whether the plug is BS 1363. Those checks are set out in the [saw blade sharpener buying guide](/hub/saw-accessories/saw-blade-sharpener/sub/saw-blade-sharpener-buying-guide).

A saw blade sharpener puts an edge back on one family of saw blade. In the UK you buy one when a blade you already own has gone dull. The tools sold for this job do not share one blade.

WYZBEN feather-edge file

Best overall

WYZBEN feather-edge file
8.8/10∼ £5

14 products checked · 48 hrs invested · +13,600 readers

4 of 4: Best saw blade sharpeners compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 4
Best overall
WYZBEN feather-edge file
Bahco IRSHARP-INS
Revivablade XL RBR01XL
Draper Storm Force 98486
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.0/10
7.2/10
∼ £5
∼ £14
∼ £45
∼ £90
4.4(317)
4.4(253)
4.0(25)
3.6(15)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

How will you drive the sharpener?

The best saw blade sharpeners in detail

WYZBEN feather-edge file

Rank 1

WYZBEN feather-edge file

Our view

The WYZBEN feather-edge taper file is a push-stroke hand file at £4.89 and 100 g, listed for hand saws, pruning saws, pull saws, and other fine-tooth blades. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 317 reviews, but the first 50 texts are mostly from the United States, Canada, Australia, and the UAE, so the stars are the UK listing line and not a British sample. UK lines that are in the file say it sharpened a tree saw and avoided a stated £30 replacement, and that it worked on a tenon saw and felt well made. The same UK set includes a 22 inch crosscut that wore the edge in one attempt. Buyers elsewhere say the file is too thick for fine pull-saw teeth and leaves a flat gullet, and one US review glued the file back into the handle. The card states no teeth per inch, the box has no vice, and the manufacturer field says Xucus. It is the best value in this set when you have a steel tenon or pruning tooth a file can still cut, not when the gullet is already gone or the blade is carbide.

Pros

  • £4.89 for a feather-edge taper file with a rubberised handle
  • 4.4 from 317 reviews on the amazon.co.uk line
  • UK texts in the file cover a tree saw and a tenon saw
  • 100 g, and no mains lead

Cons

  • Most of the review sample read is not from the United Kingdom
  • One UK attempt wore the edge on a 22 inch crosscut
  • No teeth-per-inch figure and no vice in the box
  • Too thick for some fine pull-saw gullets in overseas reviews

Best for: A steel tenon saw, or a pruning or tree saw whose teeth a file will still cut.

Less suitable: A TCT circular blade, a worn 22 inch crosscut, or a hardened pruning blade the maker says to replace.

Specifications

Model
WYZBEN feather-edge file
Brand
WYZBEN
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.4/5(317)
Blade type
Hand or pruning
Drive
Hand file
Abrasive
Alloy steel
Guide
Freehand
Weight
0.1 kg
Pack
One file

Common questions

Which saws do the bullets name?

Hand saws, pruning saws, pull saws, and other fine-tooth blades. It is a push-stroke file, not a powered sharpener.

Does the listing state a tooth pitch?

No. Dimensions are 15.2 x 2.5 x 2.5 cm and weight is 100 g. Teeth per inch are not stated.

What did UK reviews say?

One sharpened a tree saw, one liked it on a tenon saw, and one wore the edge on a 22 inch crosscut saw.

Bahco IRSHARP-INS

Rank 2

Bahco IRSHARP-INS

∼£14

Our view

The Bahco IRSHARP-INS is a hand pull-through at £13.75, and the highlight describes tungsten carbide for insulation saw blades with a knuckle guard. On amazon.co.uk the line is 4.4 from 253 reviews, and the first 50 texts in the file are overwhelmingly from the United Kingdom. Buyers who cut PIR, Celotex, rockwool, and sheep's wool say a few strokes put the edge back on a Bahco insulation saw, including a ProfCut around 550 mm, and that the cut throws less dust once the teeth are keen again. The saw itself still blunts after a few batts, so this is a tool you use often rather than once. One buyer had to pack the sharpener before the carbide edges met the blade, and another called it small for the money and returned it. The technical table also prints AC power, one AA battery, 12 teeth, and 60 g, which conflict with a hand tool that UK sellers describe at about 206 mm and 300 g. It is the top pick in this set when you already own a Bahco insulation saw, not a sharpener for circular or hand-saw teeth.

Pros

  • Tungsten carbide pull-through with knuckle protection in the box
  • 4.4 from 253 reviews, overwhelmingly United Kingdom in the sample read
  • A few strokes on PIR, Celotex, rockwool, and wool
  • Cheaper than replacing the insulation saw if you cut boards often

Cons

  • Technical table prints AC power, one AA battery, 12 teeth, and 60 g
  • One review needed packing before the carbide edges met the blade
  • The saw still blunts after a few batts, so sharpening is frequent
  • Price feels high next to a knife pull-through in one older review

Best for: A Bahco insulation saw you already use on PIR, Celotex, rockwool, or wool.

Less suitable: Circular TCT blades, tenon saws, oscillating blades, or a kitchen knife.

Specifications

Model
Bahco IRSHARP-INS
Brand
Bahco
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.4/5(253)
Blade type
Insulation saw
Drive
Hand pull-through
Abrasive
Tungsten carbide
Guide
Knuckle guard
Pack
Sharpener only

Common questions

Is the Bahco SHARPINS electric?

The highlight and UK reviews describe a hand pull-through. The technical table also says AC power and one AA battery. Those lines conflict with the part IRSHARP-INS.

What saw do reviewers use it on?

UK reviews name Bahco insulation saws, including a ProfCut around 550 mm, on PIR, Celotex, rockwool, and wool.

What safety part is listed?

Included components say knuckle protection.

Revivablade XL RBR01XL

Rank 3

Revivablade XL RBR01XL

∼£45

Our view

The Revivablade XL RBR01XL is a drill or impact-driver attachment listed at £44.99 for oscillating multi-tool blades 35–68 mm wide, and the box is the sharpener plus a storage box at 700 g. All 25 amazon.co.uk reviews in the file are from the United Kingdom, and the star line is 4.0. Reviewers say it brings a Festool or Fein blade back when a new one is not to hand, though they describe the new teeth as coarse, more shark-tooth than a fine metal edge. The edge does not last, and one buyer says the tips snap into little bits and the blade then burns. Another expected the separate Pro's chamfered discs and would not buy the XL again, and one rebuilt the spindle with extra spacers before it worked. The card does not state a speed, and it does not answer whether serrated blades are in scope. Use it when a coarse revival of a 35–68 mm blade is enough, and skip it when the cut has to stay fine.

Pros

  • Listed for oscillating blades 35–68 mm wide
  • Runs from a drill or impact driver you already own
  • Storage box is in the parcel
  • UK reviews name Festool and Fein blades

Cons

  • New teeth are described as coarse, not a fine metal edge
  • The edge needs doing again soon; one report of tips snapping and the blade burning
  • This listing is the XL, not the separate Pro with chamfered discs
  • No stated speed, and serrated blades are not answered on the card

Best for: A coarse refresh of a 35–68 mm oscillating blade when a new blade is not to hand.

Less suitable: Fine metal-cutting teeth, circular saw blades, or a buyer who wanted the Pro.

Specifications

Model
Revivablade XL RBR01XL
Brand
Revivablade
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.0/5(25)
Blade type
Oscillating blade
Drive
Drill or impact
Capacity
35–68 mm
Weight
0.7 kg
Pack
Sharpener and box

Common questions

Which blades does the XL listing cover?

The bullets say oscillating multi-tool blades 35–68 mm wide. Reviews mention Festool and Fein blades.

Does the card include a drill?

No. Included components are the Revivablade XL, a storage box, and outer packaging. You supply the drill or impact driver.

What edge do UK reviews describe?

Reviews call the new teeth coarse, say the edge needs doing again soon, and one says the teeth snap and the blade burns.

Draper Storm Force 98486

Rank 4

Draper Storm Force 98486

∼£90

Our view

The Draper Storm Force 98486 is a 230 V, 110 W bench sharpener listed at £89.99 for TCT circular blades from 90 to 400 mm, with a 0–25° angle and 100 mm diamond and ceramic discs. Across all 15 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 3.6, and UK buyers who finished a job say it can refresh several blades once it is set, including four 250 mm blades in one account. The same file keeps returning to the carriage: large play on the rod guides, and the plate still moves when the clamps are fully tight. One buyer returned the machine before half a blade was finished, and another rounded the Allen-key screw on the guide pin on first use. A single reviewer guesses the diamond disc lasts about eight blades; that is one estimate, not a stated disc life. Card weight is 4.91 kg while the manual says 5.4 kg, and the listing does not state the plug or the no-load speed. It only earns its price if you will grind several circular blades and you can stop the moment the plate creeps.

Pros

  • 90–400 mm TCT range with 0–25° and bench mounting stated
  • 100 mm diamond disc and 100 mm ceramic disc in the box
  • 24-month parts and labour named in the bullets
  • Buyers who finished a set say it can save replacement blades

Cons

  • Carriage play; the blade still moves with the clamps tight
  • 3.6 from only 15 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One return before half a blade was finished
  • Plug type and no-load speed are not on the card

Best for: Several blunt circular blades between 90 and 400 mm, if you will bolt the machine down and stop as soon as the plate creeps.

Less suitable: One cheap TCT blade, a hand saw, a Bahco insulation saw, or an oscillating multi-tool blade.

Specifications

Model
Draper Storm Force 98486
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
3.6/5(15)
Blade type
Circular TCT
Drive
230 V, 110 W
Capacity
90–400 mm
Abrasive
Diamond, ceramic
Guide
Bench, 0–25°
Weight
4.91 kg
Pack
Machine, 2 discs

Common questions

What blade size does the Draper 98486 listing state?

The bullets say 90–400 mm TCT circular saw blades, with a 0–25° angle adjustment and bench mounting.

Which discs are in the box?

Included components are a 100 mm diamond-coated disc and a 100 mm ceramic disc. The bullet says the ceramic disc is for non-TCT blades.

What do the UK reviews say about the clamp?

Several of the 15 reviews say the carriage is loose and the blade still moves when the clamps are tight. One buyer returned it before half a blade was finished.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored on 20 October 2026 for these four listings. This is not a lab test. The score is the star line multiplied by 20, so 4.4 is 88 and 3.6 is 72, and the product shows that score divided by 10. Clamp play, a short-lived edge, a worn file, and conflicts on the listing stay inside those star lines. They are not subtracted again. The pull-through and the file both land on 88. The pull-through is the top pick because the sample read is overwhelmingly from the United Kingdom. The file is best value because about £4.89 is the lowest price on that same star line. Many of the 317 file reviews are not from the United Kingdom.

1

Amazon star line

100%

The score is the amazon.co.uk star line multiplied by 20. A 4.4 becomes 88 and a 3.6 becomes 72. No extra points are added for features the reviews do not support. Clamp play, a short-lived edge, a worn file, and a conflicting line on the card stay inside the star line.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Saw blade sharpener buying guide

Match the blade family, the size the listing states, and the abrasive before you compare star ratings. A circular blade, an insulation saw, an oscillating blade, and a steel hand saw do not share one sharpener. If the plate creeps, or a file is too thick for the gullet, stop.

What is a saw blade sharpener?

A saw blade sharpener puts an edge back on one kind of saw blade. The tools sold for this job do not share that blade. Match a 230 V bench machine to a circular blade, a tungsten-carbide pull-through to an insulation saw, a drill attachment to an oscillating blade 35–68 mm wide, or a hand file to a tenon saw or a pruning saw. Quality is a blade that stays still, an abrasive that matches carbide or steel, and a new edge you can actually cut with.

Best for

  • Several circular blades, if you will bolt a bench machine down and stop when the plate creeps
  • An insulation saw, an oscillating blade, or a steel tenon saw, each with its own sharpener

Not ideal for

  • One small carbide blade, a chainsaw, or a kitchen knife
  • A cracked or missing carbide tip, or a saw that needs matched rake every week

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the wrong family of sharpener

    A chainsaw grinder, a knife sharpener, and a bench stone are not this job. A circular blade, an insulation saw, an oscillating blade, and a steel hand saw each need their own tool. Stars do not cross those lines.

  2. 2

    Using the ceramic disc on carbide

    Carbide tips are the diamond job. The ceramic disc is stated for a circular blade that is not carbide. Grinding a carbide tip with the ceramic disc is the wrong abrasive.

  3. 3

    Carrying on while the plate creeps

    If a circular plate still moves with the clamps tight, the tooth set changes. Stop. Do not treat a hand pull-through as electric because the card prints a battery line that conflicts with the part.

What to weigh up

Blade family and size

High

A TCT circular blade, a hand saw, an insulation saw, and an oscillating blade need different tools, and star ratings do not cross those lines. Read the size the listing actually states. A bench machine here is listed at 90–400 mm with 0–25°. An oscillating attachment is listed at 35–68 mm wide. A hand file may state no teeth per inch. A pull-through for an insulation saw is not a circular diameter.

Abrasive, hold and price

High

Diamond on a 100 mm disc is the carbide job, and the ceramic 100 mm disc is stated for a circular blade that is not carbide. A pull-through uses tungsten carbide by hand. A file has to be thin enough for the gullet. If the circular plate creeps, stop, because the tooth set changes. The bench machine only earns its price when several blades are ground and the clamp holds. One small carbide blade does not pay for it.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Insulation saw you already own

You already cut board or wool with a Bahco insulation saw. The IRSHARP-INS is about £13.75, with 4.4 from 253 reviews, and a few strokes put the edge back. The saw still blunts after a few batts. Ignore the card lines that say AC power and one AA battery.

Our recommendation

View offer

Several circular blades

You have several blunt circular blades between 90 and 400 mm and you will bolt the machine down. The Draper 98486 is about £89.99, 230 V and 110 W in the title, with 3.6 from 15 reviews. Stop as soon as the plate creeps. One cheap carbide blade does not pay for it.

Tenon or pruning saw

You have a steel tenon saw, or a pruning or tree saw whose teeth a file will still cut. The WYZBEN feather-edge file is about £4.89 and 100 g, with 4.4 from 317 reviews on the amazon.co.uk line. The box has no vice, and no teeth-per-inch figure is stated. Skip it for a carbide blade.

Common questions about saw blade sharpeners

What should you match before you compare star ratings?
A saw blade sharpener has to match one blade family before star ratings mean anything. A circular carbide blade, an insulation saw, an oscillating blade, and a steel hand saw do not share a tool. Read the size the listing states, then the abrasive: diamond for carbide tips, ceramic for a non-carbide circular blade, a pull-through for an insulation saw, and a file only where a steel tooth will still take a cut.
How much does a saw blade sharpener cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the listings stored on 20 October 2026, the file is about £4.89, the pull-through about £13.75, the oscillating-blade attachment about £44.99, and the bench machine about £89.99. A trade list of £117 is not the amazon.co.uk price. No sharpening-service price was printed on the pages read. As a rule of thumb, one small carbide blade near £15 does not pay for the bench machine unless several blades are ground and the clamp holds.
Can a home bench machine restore a factory tooth on a carbide blade?
No. The bench listing states 0–25° and a diamond disc. It does not state that the machine restores factory rake and clearance. A UK regrind seller treats carbide geometry as a CNC job, which matches the manual's limit to domestic or light trade. Use a service when a tip is missing or cracked, the plate is blued, or you need matched rake on a saw used all week. The blade is a separate choice in the circular saw blade comparison.
What safety checks apply to a 230 V bench sharpener?
UK mains are nominally 230 V. The bench listing does not say the plug is BS 1363. The manual says use an RCD in a damp place, wear eye protection, fit the perspex shield, unplug before a wheel change, and stop if a new wheel vibrates. At work, PUWER 1998 and HSE guidance on abrasive wheels apply, and mounting a wheel is a training issue. Do not grind a cracked or missing carbide tip.
Is an insulation-saw pull-through electric?
The highlight and the UK reviews describe a hand pull-through with knuckle protection. The technical table also prints AC power, one AA battery, 12 teeth, and 60 g. Those lines conflict with the part and with a UK seller's figures of about 206 mm and 300 g. Do not treat the battery line or the 60 g figure as a checked fact. Reviewers pull it along an insulation saw, and the saw still blunts after a few cuts.
What edge do reviews describe on a drill attachment?
The listing covers oscillating blades 35–68 mm wide. The parcel is the sharpener and a storage box. You supply the drill or impact driver. All 25 reviews in the file are from the United Kingdom, and the star line is 4.0. Reviewers describe a coarse new tooth, a short life, and one case of tips that snap so the blade burns. The card states no speed. A separate Pro model is not this listing.
When should you replace the blade instead of sharpening?
Replace the blade, or use a service, when a carbide tip is missing or cracked, the plate is blued, or you need the same rake on a saw used all week. Stop if a circular plate still moves with the clamps tight, and do not keep grinding while it creeps. A file that is too thick flattens a fine gullet. One UK attempt wore a file out on a 22 inch crosscut saw.
Are all of the file reviews from the United Kingdom?
No. The figure 4.4 from 317 is the amazon.co.uk star line. The text sample read for this comparison is largely from outside the United Kingdom, so those stars are not a British sample. UK lines in the file cover a tree saw, a tenon saw, and a 22 inch crosscut that wore the edge. The card states no teeth per inch, and the box has no vice. It is not a sharpener for a carbide blade.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Bahco IRSHARP-INS, a hand pull-through at about £13.75. The score is 88, tied with the feather-edge file, and this one takes the award because the sample read is overwhelmingly from the United Kingdom and reviewers use it on a Bahco insulation saw. It is not a sharpener for circular or hand-saw teeth. The technical table also prints AC power and one AA battery, which conflict with a hand tool. Best value is the WYZBEN feather-edge file at about £4.89, on the same 4.4 star line from 317 reviews. Many of those reviews are not from the United Kingdom, and one UK text wore the edge on a 22 inch crosscut. It suits a steel tenon or pruning tooth a file can still cut, not a carbide blade.

Best overall
WYZBEN feather-edge file

WYZBEN feather-edge file

View offer
Best value
WYZBEN feather-edge file

WYZBEN feather-edge file

About £4.89 on the same 4.4 star line. Many of the 317 reviews are not from the United Kingdom, and one UK text wore the edge on a 22 inch crosscut.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSaw accessoriesSaw blade sharpeners

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to saw blade sharpeners

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings stored for this comparison on 20 October 2026. Page updated 22 October 2026.

  1. Draper 98486 product page (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. Draper 98486 instruction manual (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE HSG17: abrasive wheels and PUWER (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE SR21: grinding dust at work (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. Saw-Tech: TCT versus HSS saw blades (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Revivablade multi-tool blade sharpener instructions (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Paul Sellers: saw files (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings B0B8N55PPB, B006TTX1SE, B0D3CDNRYM and B07KGG1CZW (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set, with tag pcuk26-21. This is not a laboratory test.