Door frames on ONE+
You already own an 18V ONE+ battery and you want a light palm for corners. The Ryobi is the top pick at £44.99, with 4.5 from 715 reviews. The battery is not in the box. Reviews note weak dust pickup and heat on long runs.
The best edge sanders, compared.
Top pick: Ryobi ONE+ corner palm – Tied on score 90 with the Milescraft guide. Chosen because 4.5 from 715 reviews is the larger file at that star line, and the tool is a corner palm for door frames and name boards. Battery extra. Weak dust and motor heat stay in the notes. Best value: Milescraft 1621 dual-edge guide – £16.00, score 90, 4.5 from 158 reviews, with a 150 grit disc for 125 mm hook-and-loop. No motor. Not for thick pieces above the stated edge height, and not a production belt sander. Updated October 2026.
On amazon.co.uk, an edge sander search mixes a workshop belt machine, a portable edge orbital, and a cheap handheld for board edges, skirting corners and laminate. This page keeps seven listings for edges and tight corners without a stationary machine. Five other listings were left out, including random-orbit sanders with no edge role and general sheet sanders. A round random-orbit pad is not an edge sander. HSE expects on-tool extraction where you can fit it, and or a P3 half-mask when dust cannot be controlled, especially in an enclosed room. A small bag does not replace that for hardwood dust. How to match a guide, a mouse, a multi-head tool or a cordless palm to the work is on the [edge sander buying guide](/hub/sanders/edge-sander/sub/edge-sander-buying-guide). On amazon.co.uk the words edge sander cover three different tools. A workshop belt edge sander costs hundreds or thousands of pounds.
On amazon.co.uk, an edge sander search mixes a workshop belt machine, a portable edge orbital, and a cheap handheld for board edges, skirting corners and laminate.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 7Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Which edge are you finishing?
Ryobi’s 18V ONE+ corner palm sander is a bare tool at £44.99 for buyers already on the battery platform. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 715 reviews. Reviews highlight light weight on door frames and name boards, weak dust pickup on some jobs, and motor heat on long runs. It shares the score of 90 with the Milescraft guide. The tie-break for the top pick is that review file and the powered corner job. It is the wrong row if you have no ONE+ battery, or if you only need two square board edges sanded at once.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already own an 18V ONE+ battery and you are sanding door frames, name boards or inside corners.
Less suitable: You need a mains tool with a battery in the box, or two square panel edges at once.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the Ryobi listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B09YML131S is listed at £44.99 with 4.5 stars from 715 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
An 18V ONE+ battery. The listing is tool only. You need a battery and charger you already own. There is no mains plug.
Is it aimed at edge or corner work?
Yes. It is a corner palm for door frames, name boards and inside corners. It is not a V-groove for two square board edges at once.
The Milescraft 1621 is a manual V-groove guide that sands two board edges at once with standard 125 mm hook-and-loop discs. It has no motor, so it suits flat-pack and laminate edge cleanup at low noise. The listing includes 150 grit paper and shows 4.5 stars from 158 amazon.co.uk reviews. At £16.00 and a score of 90 it is the best value when the job is two square edges. It does not replace a Festool-style edge orbital or a belt edge sander for production work, and it is the wrong holder once the workpiece is thicker than the stated edge height.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You are cleaning two square edges on flat-pack, laminate or a similar board, and you do not want a motor.
Less suitable: You need skirting corners, a powered pad, or production sanding on long runs of solid timber.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the Milescraft listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B09S5BDQXJ is listed at £16.00 with 4.5 stars from 158 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
None. It is a manual guide. You supply the hand pressure and a 125 mm hook-and-loop disc. A 150 grit disc is included.
Is it aimed at edge or corner work?
It is aimed at two square board edges at once. It is not a mouse for a skirting corner, and it has no motor.
The 200 W HYCHIKA steps up speed for furniture edges and tight corners at £32.99 with 1,149 reviews at 4.4 stars. The listing states 14,000 RPM, 12 papers and a collector. Multiple UK reviews say the collector catches only part of the dust and pads lose hook grip quickly, so plan a vacuum or RPE indoors. Among the four rows that score 88, this is the largest review file. It is a corded detail sander, not a multi-plate Bosch and not a cordless palm.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a corded detail sander for furniture edges and tight corners, and you can add extraction.
Less suitable: You need a dust box that the reviews say catches the dust, or hook pads that keep their grip.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the HYCHIKA 200 W listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B08DNPKPN4 is listed at £32.99 with 4.4 stars from 1,149 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
Corded mains. UK mains tools should be 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. The stated motor is 200 W, and the listing states 14,000 RPM.
Does the dust box catch the dust?
The listing includes a collector. UK reviews say it catches only part of the dust. Treat the box as a helper, not as hardwood-dust control, and plan a vacuum or RPE indoors.
Bosch’s PSM 200 AES at £81.00 is the multi-plate corded option with a case, aimed at edges, corners and small flat areas via interchangeable plates. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 586 reviews. UK reviews favour it over short-lived budget mice for control and worktop jobs, with plate wear noted as an ongoing cost. The score is 88, below the two rows at 90. Over £70 in this set buys multi-head versatility, not more watts: the motor is 200 W, the same class as the cheaper HYCHIKA detail sander.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want one corded machine for edges, small faces and tight curves, and you will replace plates.
Less suitable: You only need a mouse for skirting, or you want the lowest price.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the Bosch listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B00ISW5KAC is listed at £81.00 with 4.4 stars from 586 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
Corded mains, 200 W. It is not a battery tool. Check for a BS 1363 plug on a UK listing.
Is it aimed at edge or corner work?
Yes. Delta and flat plates cover edges, corners and small flat areas. Plate wear is an ongoing cost, and the case is stated in the title.
HYCHIKA’s 130 W detail sander adds a dust box and 13,000 OPM in the listing, at £25.01. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 536 reviews. UK feedback is strong on ease of use for stairs and skirting, and mixed on noise and dust escaping the bag. It competes with the BLACK+DECKER Mouse on decorator tasks. The score is 88. The bag is a helper for a spare room, not a substitute for extraction on hardwood dust.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You are sanding stairs or skirting on mains power and you can live with some dust past the bag.
Less suitable: You need quiet work in an occupied room, or a bag the reviews say holds the dust.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the HYCHIKA 130 W listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B0CYZC5TKW is listed at £25.01 with 4.4 stars from 536 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
Corded mains. The stated motor is 130 W, and the listing states 13,000 OPM. Expect 230 V and a BS 1363 plug.
Is it aimed at edge or corner work?
Yes. UK notes use it on stairs and skirting. The pointed detail shape is for corners and profiles, not for two board edges at once.
This 55 W BLACK+DECKER Mouse is the lightest powered option here for skirting corners and light between-coat work. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 68 reviews. UK reviews praise the shape and attachments, though one buyer reported immediate failure. At £24.28 it sits between the budget mice and the HYCHIKA pair on price. The score is 88, the same band as the larger HYCHIKA files, on a much smaller review count. Proprietary sheets are the ongoing abrasive.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a light corded mouse for skirting corners and a light rub between coats.
Less suitable: You want a large review file, or a motor with more than 55 W for a long run.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the BLACK+DECKER listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B0FDH1Z325 is listed at £24.28 with 4.4 stars from 68 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
Corded mains. The stated motor is 55 W, the lowest powered wattage in this set. Expect 230 V and a BS 1363 plug.
Is it aimed at edge or corner work?
Yes. The compact mouse shape is for skirting corners and light between-coat work. One review notes an immediate failure, and the file is only 68 reviews.
KATSU’s 130 W mouse is the cheapest corded powered row at £16.99 but carries a 4.1 average from 879 reviews, with recurring UK reliability complaints about dust inside the motor. Choose it only if price dominates and you accept replacement risk. The score is 82, the lowest in this set. It does not take the best-value award: the Milescraft guide is cheaper at £16.00, with 4.5 from 158 reviews, when the job is two square edges rather than a powered mouse.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the cheapest corded mouse and you accept that reviews describe dust in the motor.
Less suitable: You want a higher star line, or a tool the notes do not tie to early motor trouble.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the KATSU listing on amazon.co.uk?
Yes. ASIN B0D8HPTBQC is listed at £16.99 with 4.1 stars from 879 reviews on the stored amazon.co.uk line.
What power supply does this tool need?
Corded mains. The stated motor is 130 W. The listing does not state a dust box, so that cell is left blank.
Why is it not the best value?
It is the cheapest powered mouse, but the average is 4.1 and UK notes describe dust inside the motor. The best value in this set is the Milescraft guide at £16.00 for two square edges, not this mouse.
Seven amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. No tool was timed, and no dust-capture rate is claimed. Milescraft and Ryobi both score 90, so the two awards are a tie-break after that score, using the review file and the job the listing actually does. Review themes come from the stored review notes, not from a workshop test. There was no lab test. Shelf prices run from £16.00 to £81.00.
Edge job match
30%Two square board edges suit the Milescraft V-groove. Skirting, door frames and inside corners need a mouse, a delta plate or a corner palm. Curved or multi-surface work suits the Bosch plates. A random-orbit pad does not count as an edge tool.
Power and run time
20%Corded mice and detail sanders here are 55–200 W. The Ryobi needs an 18V ONE+ battery you already own. Review notes that describe slow progress or a hot motor on a long run count against the row.
Abrasive system
20%Check 125 mm hook-and-loop discs, proprietary pads, or included sheets. Ongoing cost matters. Review notes on budget detail sanders often mention pads that lose grip.
Dust control
15%A small bag helps in a spare room. It does not replace extraction for hardwood dust. A vacuum hose, a workshop extractor, or RPE belongs in the plan for a longer sanding session.
Build and brand notes
15%The Bosch and Ryobi rows carry the stronger brand notes in this set. The cheapest mice show motor failures and dust inside the tool in UK review notes, sometimes within months.
The checks run in this order: the edge job, power, the abrasive, dust, then build notes. The table is seven amazon.co.uk listings for edges and tight corners, not a stationary belt machine. No tool was timed. A star between 4.1 and 4.5 does not, on its own, tell you whether the pad reaches a skirting corner.
On amazon.co.uk the words edge sander cover three different tools. A workshop belt edge sander costs hundreds or thousands of pounds. A portable edge orbital, such as a Festool-style machine, is a different product and is not an ASIN on this page. The seven listings here are what a UK DIYer can use to finish board edges, skirting corners and laminate without a stationary machine.

A round pad does not support two board faces the way a V-groove does, and it does not sit in a skirting corner. Those listings were left off this page.
Review notes on the detail sanders say dust escapes the bag or the collector. Hardwood dust still needs extraction or RPE at APF 20. FFP2 is not that level.
Ryobi reviews mention motor heat on long runs. Stop when the tool is hot. The battery is not in the box, so runtime is whatever pack you already own.
The Milescraft is for the edge height the listing states. A thicker workpiece, or a production run of solid timber, is a different machine or a joinery shop.
The first split is the edge itself. Two square faces at once are the Milescraft 1621 at £16.00, manual, 125 mm hook-and-loop, 4.5 from 158 reviews. Corners and profiles are the corded mice: BLACK+DECKER 55 W at £24.28, KATSU 130 W at £16.99, HYCHIKA 130 W at £25.01 and HYCHIKA 200 W at £32.99. The Bosch PSM 200 AES at £81.00 adds delta and flat plates for edges, corners and small flats. The Ryobi at £44.99 is the corner palm if you already own 18V ONE+. Watts are not the whole story.
Every powered row except the KATSU states some form of bag, box or collector. The KATSU dust cell is blank because the listing does not state one. Stating a bag is not the same as holding the dust. HYCHIKA notes say the collector or the bag lets dust escape, and Ryobi notes say pickup is weak on some jobs. HSE’s wood-dust limits are 3 mg/m³ for hardwood and mixtures and 5 mg/m³ for softwood, as an eight-hour average. Hand-held powered sanders should use on-tool extraction where you can fit it.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You already own an 18V ONE+ battery and you want a light palm for corners. The Ryobi is the top pick at £44.99, with 4.5 from 715 reviews. The battery is not in the box. Reviews note weak dust pickup and heat on long runs.
You only need two square board edges on flat-pack or laminate. The Milescraft 1621 is the best value at £16.00, with 4.5 from 158 reviews. It has no motor. It is not a belt edge sander.
You want one mains machine for edges, small faces and tight curves. The Bosch PSM 200 AES is £81.00 with a case, 200 W, and 4.4 from 586 reviews. Plate wear is an ongoing cost.
The top pick is the Ryobi ONE+ corner palm, a bare tool at £44.99, with 4.5 from 715 reviews. It shares the top score of 90 with the Milescraft guide. The tie-break is the larger review file and the corner job on door frames, if you already own the battery. The best value is the Milescraft 1621 at £16.00, also scored 90, with 4.5 from 158 reviews. It sands two square board edges and has no motor. KATSU is close on price at £16.99 and stays off the value award because the average is 4.1 from 879 reviews and the notes describe dust inside the motor.

Ryobi ONE+ corner palm
Tied on score 90 with the Milescraft guide. Chosen because 4.5 from 715 reviews is the larger file at that star line, and the tool is a corner palm for door frames and name boards. Battery extra. Weak dust and motor heat stay in the notes.

Milescraft 1621 dual-edge guide
£16.00, score 90, 4.5 from 158 reviews, with a 150 grit disc for 125 mm hook-and-loop. No motor. Not for thick pieces above the stated edge height, and not a production belt sander.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Sources taken from the research digest. Prices, stars and review counts are the stored amazon.co.uk listing figures.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.