Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wooden garden shed comparison 2026

The best wooden garden sheds, compared.

Top pick: Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm – Highest score, 84: 4.5 from 245 reviews, a waist-high fir cupboard with a tilted roof, and known limits on the timber and the doors. Best value: FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm – Highest value part among the rest, at 5: about £119.99, 4.1 from 42 reviews, and a size line that agrees with itself. Updated October 2026.

A wooden garden shed on a UK plot is outdoor storage for tools, bags and pots you want out of the rain. On amazon.co.uk the usual listing in this category is a flat-pack fir cabinet, about 70–90 cm wide and about a metre tall, not a walk-in 6 by 4. You tell a suitable wooden garden shed by the internal depth, the roof claim, the closer, and whether the page states any treatment beyond varnish. None of these cabinets states BS 8417, Use Class 3 or pressure treatment. A magnetic catch is not a lock, and a shutter door is not a dry store for tools you care about. External size often includes a roof overhang, so tape the object rather than the foot label. Prefer the water-resistance field over the word weatherproof. If the page is silent on treatment, budget a preserver on every face and on every cut. Thin fir splits without a pilot hole. Size, cladding and the closer are set out in the [wooden garden shed buying guide](/hub/garden-supplies/garden-shed-wood/sub/garden-shed-wood-buying-guide).

A wooden garden shed on a UK plot is outdoor storage for tools, bags and pots you want out of the rain.

Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm

Best overall

Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm
8.4/10∼ £91

28 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

8 of 8: Best wooden garden sheds compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm
Best value
FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm
Outsunny fir cabinet, 160 cm
HYGRAD-titled fir cabinet, 96 cm
FEFE fir cabinet, 87 cm
HYGRAD fir cabinet, 96 cm
BLUEBRIT fir cabinet, 96 cm
AJJHUUKI pine title, 175 cm
8.4/10
5.7/10
5.5/10
5.1/10
4.6/10
4.0/10
3.7/10
1.0/10
∼ £91
∼ £120
∼ £137
∼ £105
∼ £115
∼ £130
∼ £130
∼ £448
4.5(245)
4.1(42)
3.9(39)
3.8(17)
3.6(4)
3.0(5)
2.9(9)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wooden garden sheds in detail

Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm

Rank 1

Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm

∼£91

Our view

The Outsunny UK845-2480331 is an 87 × 46.5 × 96.5 cm fir cupboard at £91.00, packed at 13.3 kg, and UK reviewers use it as a waist-high store for small tools, bird food, watering cans and bagged logs. It has 4.5 from 245 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set, and one owner was still satisfied after three years. Several people had the flat-pack up in about half an hour or in under 40 minutes, though the side panels have no marked holes, the roof position is fiddly, and the felt can sit loose. The listing calls the finish a varnish coat and the tilted roof water resistant, so rain is meant to run off, but that is not a pressure-treatment claim and one owner still wanted a further coat of exterior paint. The timber is described as flimsy and can split when you open the pack or drive a screw. The shutter doors will not stop a kick: one reviewer ran a chain and padlock through the aluminium handles, and the box does not include a padlock. The chamber-depth field says 10 cm, which conflicts with the 46.5 cm width, so do not plan the inside from that 10 cm figure, and a six-month manufacturer warranty line is the only warranty wording on the page.

Pros

  • 87 × 46.5 × 96.5 cm fir cupboard at about £91.00
  • 4.5 from 245 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Tilted roof; reviewers stored small tools and bagged logs
  • Some builds finished in about 30–40 minutes
  • A six-month manufacturer warranty line is on the page

Cons

  • Side panels have no marked holes, and the fir can split
  • Shutter doors are not a lock, and no padlock is listed
  • Varnish is the stated coat, not a treatment standard
  • Roof felt can sit loose and need reinforcing

Best for: You want a waist-high cupboard for hand tools, bird food or bagged logs, and you can drill pilot holes.

Less suitable: You need a walk-in shed, room for a mower, or a hasp that arrives in the box.

Specifications

Model
Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm
Brand
Outsunny
Price
∼£91
Customer rating
4.5/5(245)
Type
Timber cabinet
Timber
Fir
Size
87 × 46.5 × 96.5 cm
Roof
Tilted
Closure
Handles
Weather
Water resistant
Treatment
Varnish coat
Walk-in
No
Weight
13.3 kg
Shelves
Two

Common questions

How tall is this Outsunny cabinet?

The listing gives 96.5 cm high, 87 cm long and 46.5 cm wide. A UK review calls that about waist height. The chamber-depth field says 10 cm, which conflicts with the 46.5 cm width, so do not use 10 cm as the usable depth.

Does the listing include a padlock?

No padlock is listed. The doors are shutter panels with aluminium handles. A UK reviewer suggested a chain and padlock through the handles.

What weather wording is on the page?

The water-resistance field says water resistant. The bullets describe a varnish coat and a tilted roof. There is no laboratory rating.

FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm

Rank 2

FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm

∼£120

Our view

The FEFE OC-WS690 is a 69 × 43 × 96 cm fir cupboard at £119.99, the bullet size agrees with the item line, and it has 4.1 from 42 amazon.co.uk reviews, the second-largest sample here. Two people finished one build in about 20 minutes, another owner took about an hour, and numbered parts helped some of them. Reviewers put tools, wellies, bonsai pots or bird food inside, and more than one called the cupboard small. The title promises a hinged roof, but one reviewer found no hinge in the box or the instructions and described a single plywood roof skin whose green coating came off. Door magnets do not hold well, the fir is described as thin, and it split or buckled where screws went into pre-drilled holes, with one buyer gluing a split panel. A seller sent a replacement piece quickly after damage in one case, though other buyers found returns difficult, and a coastal reviewer doubted it would last a year in rain and wind. The page says water resistant and does not list a padlock, so you would add your own latch if the magnets are as weak as those reviews say.

Pros

  • 69 × 43 × 96 cm, and the item line agrees
  • 4.1 from 42 reviews at about £119.99
  • Reviewers stored tools, wellies or bird food
  • Some two-person builds took about 20 minutes

Cons

  • The title says a hinged roof; one box had no hinge
  • Door magnets do not hold well
  • Thin fir split or buckled at the screws
  • Green roof coating came off for one owner

Best for: You want a compact tool cupboard with 42 reviews behind it, and you will add a latch.

Less suitable: You need a roof you can hinge open, or a cupboard a coastal reviewer would trust for a year.

Specifications

Model
FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm
Brand
FEFE
Price
∼£120
Customer rating
4.1/5(42)
Type
Timber cabinet
Timber
Fir
Size
69 × 43 × 96 cm
Roof
Asphalt
Closure
Magnetic catches
Weather
Water resistant
Treatment
Paint claimed
Walk-in
No
Shelves
Shelf claimed

Common questions

Is the roof hinged?

The title says a hinged roof. One UK review says there was no hinge in the box or the instructions, and describes a single plywood skin with a thin coating.

How wide is the cabinet?

The bullets and the item line both say 69 cm by 43 cm by 96 cm. The floor area listed is 2,967 cm². It is a reach-in cupboard, not a walk-in.

Do the doors lock?

The bullets say stainless steel magnetic catches and metal handles. A padlock is not listed. Reviewers say the magnets do not always hold.

Outsunny fir cabinet, 160 cm

Rank 3

Outsunny fir cabinet, 160 cm

∼£137

Our view

The grey Outsunny 845-247GY is the tall fir cabinet in this set, 87 × 46.5 × 160 cm at £137.00, with 3.9 from 39 amazon.co.uk reviews, a listed floor of 79 × 39.5 cm, three compartments, shelves rated at 20 kg each, and a packed weight of 24 kg. The title also prints 87 × 47 × 160 cm. The asphalt roof is stated for light or medium rain, the page tells you to treat the wood and to use a cover in harsh weather, and one owner said the inside stayed dry in torrential rain. Another called the timber extremely low budget and lightly painted, and the lock split on day one. Pieces were held with staples, dowels did not match the holes, and the magnetic catches did not line up because the carcass did not square. One build took three days because the box had no instructions and the buyer had to go online, while clear labels made it straightforward for other people. Shutter doors vent the cupboard, which one reviewer said makes it a poor place for DIY tools, though another added a shoe rack and hooks. A padlock is not listed, the closer on the page is a latch, and the top coat is paint rather than a stated pressure treatment.

Pros

  • 160 cm tall, with a listed floor of 79 × 39.5 cm
  • Asphalt roof, limited on the page to light or medium rain
  • One owner reported a dry interior in torrential rain
  • A latch is listed, and shelves are rated at 20 kg each
  • 3.9 from 39 reviews at about £137.00

Cons

  • The listing says you should treat the wood and cover it in harsh weather
  • The lock split on day one for one buyer
  • Shutter doors, which one reviewer would not use for DIY tools
  • One build took three days, with no instructions in the box

Best for: You need the taller fir cupboard for a small footprint, and you will stain it and check the latch.

Less suitable: You want an unvented store for tools you care about, or an assembly you can finish in an hour.

Specifications

Model
Outsunny fir cabinet, 160 cm
Brand
Outsunny
Price
∼£137
Customer rating
3.9/5(39)
Type
Tall cabinet
Timber
Fir
Size
87 × 46.5 × 160 cm
Roof
Asphalt
Closure
Latch
Weather
Light or medium rain
Treatment
Top paint
Walk-in
No
Weight
24 kg
Shelves
Three, 20 kg

Common questions

How much rain does the listing claim to stop?

The bullets say the asphalt roof stops light or medium rain. They also tell you to add a wood treatment and a cover in harsh conditions. There is no laboratory rating.

What is the shelf limit?

The listing says each shelf is 77 × 35.5 cm and the maximum load is 20 kg. The floor is listed as 79 × 39.5 cm. It is still a reach-in cabinet at 46.5 cm deep.

Does it have a lock?

The bullets say a latch lock and two shutter doors. A padlock is not stated as included. One reviewer said the lock split on day one.

HYGRAD-titled fir cabinet, 96 cm

Rank 4

HYGRAD-titled fir cabinet, 96 cm

∼£105

Our view

The cupboard titled as HYGRAD is 69 × 43 × 96 cm at £104.99, while the brand and manufacturer fields say Generic and the frame field also says steel beside a fir bullet. It has 3.8 from 17 amazon.co.uk reviews. One buyer, working with a second person, had it standing in about 15 minutes and used it on a balcony so the wind would stop scattering tools, and another owner praised the look. The title mentions a lawn mower, but a folded Flymo was about 6 cm too wide, so that job is not what the 43 cm depth delivered. Stainless steel magnetic catches are listed, yet the magnets were called weak and one owner added a hook latch. Two panels arrived damaged and were repaired by the buyer, the instructions were graphically unclear, and one person undid the first attempt. The waterproof field is the page's own wording, the balcony reviewer had not tested it in rain, and a padlock is not listed, so tape the object before you trust the lawn-mower line.

Pros

  • 69 × 43 × 96 cm at about £104.99
  • One two-person build took about 15 minutes
  • Used on a balcony to keep tools from blowing about
  • Stainless steel magnetic catches are listed

Cons

  • A folded mower was about 6 cm too wide
  • Magnets were called weak, and a hook latch was added
  • Brand field says Generic while the title says HYGRAD
  • Two panels arrived damaged

Best for: You have taped a tool or shoe store under 43 cm deep and you can accept 17 reviews.

Less suitable: You are buying it because the title says lawn mower, or you want a padlock in the box.

Specifications

Model
HYGRAD-titled fir cabinet, 96 cm
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£105
Customer rating
3.8/5(17)
Type
Timber cabinet
Timber
Fir claimed
Size
69 × 43 × 96 cm
Closure
Magnetic catches
Weather
Waterproof
Walk-in
No

Common questions

Will a folded mower fit this 43 cm cabinet?

The title mentions a lawn mower. One UK review says a folded Flymo was about 6 cm too wide. Measure the mower before you rely on the title.

What does the brand field say?

The brand and manufacturer fields say Generic. The title uses HYGRAD. The frame field says steel and wood, while the bullets say fir.

Is a padlock included?

The bullets describe stainless steel magnetic catches. A padlock is not listed. One reviewer added a hook latch because the magnets felt weak.

FEFE fir cabinet, 87 cm

Rank 5

FEFE fir cabinet, 87 cm

∼£115

Our view

The FEFE OC-870 is listed at £114.99 with 3.6 from four amazon.co.uk reviews and a packed weight of 15 kg. The bullets describe an 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm fir cupboard with two front doors, two shelves and a hinged roof, while the item-dimensions line says 96 × 46.5 × 96 cm, so one side of the footprint is not agreed on the same page. One buyer found it straightforward for small garden tools after following the instructions, and another left a one-word note on quality. The photo looked brown, the unit arrived yellow or orange, and that buyer then coated it with fence paint. The doors are handed and flat on the inside, which slowed one assembly, and the bullets list magnetic catches and metal handles rather than a padlock. Four reviews cannot settle whether the hinged roof or the water-resistant line holds up through a British winter, and the page says a painted surface, not a preservation standard. Check the live size line before you order, because the two dimension rows do not match.

Pros

  • Bullets claim a hinged roof, two shelves and fir
  • One buyer assembled it for small garden tools
  • About £114.99, with a packed weight of 15 kg
  • Water-resistant field and a painted surface are stated

Cons

  • Only four amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Bullets say 87 cm on one side and the item line says 96 cm
  • Arrived yellow or orange against a brown photo
  • Handed doors slowed one build

Best for: You want a compact FEFE cupboard near this price and you will confirm the live dimensions before checkout.

Less suitable: You need more than four reviews, or a colour that matches the photograph.

Specifications

Model
FEFE fir cabinet, 87 cm
Brand
FEFE
Price
∼£115
Customer rating
3.6/5(4)
Type
Timber cabinet
Timber
Fir claimed
Size
87 or 96 cm side
Roof
Asphalt, hinged
Closure
Magnetic catches
Weather
Water resistant
Treatment
Painted surface
Walk-in
No
Weight
15 kg
Shelves
Two claimed

Common questions

Which size should you plan around?

The bullets say 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm. The item-dimensions line says 96 × 46.5 × 96 cm. Both figures are on the listing, so measure on delivery.

Does the hinged roof come with a listed hinge?

The title and bullets say a hinged roof. The listing does not itemise a hinge. Only four reviews are on the page.

What weather line is printed?

Water resistant. The bullets mention an asphalt roof and a painted wooden surface. There is no laboratory rating.

HYGRAD fir cabinet, 96 cm

Rank 6

HYGRAD fir cabinet, 96 cm

∼£130

Our view

The HYGRAD two-door unit is 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm at £129.90, with 3.0 from five amazon.co.uk reviews and three UK review texts on the listing. One buyer called it functional once it was built, and one short review says good quality without saying what was good. The title says weatherproof, while the water-resistance field says water resistant and the roof is described as green asphalt over a fir frame, with adjustable shelves claimed. Screw points were not pre-drilled or marked, one unit arrived damaged, and the hinges had to be reset. A buyer added a bolt so the doors would stay shut, because the listing gives stainless steel magnetic closures rather than a hasp, and a padlock is not stated. Five ratings is a thin sample at this price, the manufacturer field says China, and the door width and door height on the page match the external size, so they are not a measured clear opening. If you buy it, budget a drill and a closer of your own.

Pros

  • 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm fir frame with a green asphalt roof claimed
  • Adjustable shelves are claimed on the listing
  • One buyer called it functional once built
  • Magnetic closures are listed

Cons

  • 3.0 from five reviews, with three UK texts on the listing
  • Not the quality expected for the price, in one review
  • Screw points were not pre-drilled, and hinges had to be reset
  • A buyer added a bolt to keep the doors closed

Best for: You already want this footprint and you will drill pilot holes and fit your own closer.

Less suitable: You are paying this price on the weatherproof title, or you want more than five reviews.

Specifications

Model
HYGRAD fir cabinet, 96 cm
Brand
HYGRAD
Price
∼£130
Customer rating
3.0/5(5)
Type
Timber cabinet
Timber
Fir
Size
87 × 46.5 × 96 cm
Roof
Green asphalt
Closure
Magnetic catches
Weather
Water resistant
Walk-in
No
Shelves
Adjustable

Common questions

Does weatherproof on the title match the field?

The title says weatherproof. The water-resistance field says water resistant. There is no laboratory rating, and only five reviews.

What size is the door opening?

The door width and height fields repeat 46.5 cm and 96 cm, which are the external sizes. The clear opening is not stated.

Where is it listed as made?

Country of origin on the listing is China. The brand field is HYGRAD.

BLUEBRIT fir cabinet, 96 cm

Rank 7

BLUEBRIT fir cabinet, 96 cm

∼£130

Our view

The BLUEBRIT WSC-2024 is listed at £129.99 as an 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm wooden cabinet, with 2.9 from nine amazon.co.uk reviews and a packed weight of 12 kg. One buyer taped the body without the roof overhang and got 38 cm deep, 79 cm wide and 94 cm high, so the headline size includes the overhang, and recycling bins did not fit that measured body. The external size had matched the space that buyer had allowed before they found the overhang. The title says weatherproof and also names a lawn mower, but one reviewer said it was not weatherproof and the water-resistance field only says water resistant, with a green asphalt roof claimed. Assembly took about three hours, only some holes were pre-drilled, the wood cracked, and the doors were ill fitting. Another buyer darkened the timber with boiled linseed oil because the colour looked too light. Nine reviews is still a small sample, one reviewer said they would burn the cupboard over the build and the weather performance, and the closer on the page is a magnetic closure, not a padlock.

Pros

  • The headline size matched a space one buyer had measured
  • A green asphalt roof is claimed
  • Adjustable shelves are claimed
  • One short review says good product

Cons

  • Taped body was 38 × 79 × 94 cm without the overhang
  • A reviewer said it was not weatherproof
  • Wood cracked where pilot holes were missing
  • 2.9 from nine reviews

Best for: You have taped a slot that matches the body under the roof, and you will treat the timber yourself.

Less suitable: You need recycling bins, a mower, or a weatherproof store on the strength of the title.

Specifications

Model
BLUEBRIT fir cabinet, 96 cm
Brand
BLUEBRIT
Price
∼£130
Customer rating
2.9/5(9)
Type
Timber cabinet
Timber
Fir
Size
87 × 46.5 × 96 cm
Roof
Asphalt
Closure
Magnetic catches
Weather
Water resistant
Walk-in
No
Weight
12 kg
Shelves
Adjustable

Common questions

Does 87 × 46.5 cm include the roof?

One UK reviewer measured the body without the roof overhang at 38 cm deep, 79 cm wide and 94 cm high, and recycling bins did not fit. That is one tape, not a corrected specification.

Is it weatherproof?

The title says weatherproof. The field says water resistant. One reviewer wrote that it is not weatherproof. There is no laboratory rating.

Are the holes pre-drilled?

One UK review says holes were only partly pre-drilled, the build took about three hours, and the wood cracked. The listing says assembly is required.

AJJHUUKI pine title, 175 cm

Rank 8

AJJHUUKI pine title, 175 cm

∼£448

Our view

The AJJHUUKI page is titled as a grey solid-pine tool shed, 89 × 52.5 × 175 cm, at £447.74, and the listing has no star rating and no review text. There is therefore no UK buyer account of assembly, weather, or what actually fits inside. The item weight is printed as 2 kg, which cannot describe a solid pine cabinet of the stated size, and that is the figure on the listing. The bullets say solid pine and plywood, while roof, door, shelves, floor, lock, treatment and water resistance are not stated. Colour variants on the page are grey and white, and there is no Best Sellers Rank on the listing. At £447.74 that specification block is not something you can plan a base from, and it is not evidence of a premium shed. Until the live amazon.co.uk page shows a plausible weight and at least one review, this row does not tell you what would arrive.

Pros

  • The title states 89 × 52.5 × 175 cm
  • The bullet names solid pine and plywood
  • Grey and white are the colour variants on the page

Cons

  • No amazon.co.uk star line and no review text on the listing
  • The listed weight is 2 kg
  • Roof, door, shelves and any treatment are not stated
  • About £447.74 with no review sample

Best for: You would only shortlist it after the live amazon.co.uk page shows reviews and a weight that fits a pine cabinet.

Less suitable: You want a checked shelf price, a stated roof, or any UK review before you spend this much.

Specifications

Model
AJJHUUKI pine title, 175 cm
Brand
AJJHUUKI
Price
∼£448
Type
Pine title
Timber
Pine, plywood
Size
89 × 52.5 × 175 cm
Weight
2 kg

Common questions

Are there amazon.co.uk reviews on the listing?

No customer-review line and no review texts. Stars and the review count are n/a.

What weight is printed?

The item weight is 2 kg. That figure does not match a solid pine cabinet 175 cm tall, and it is still the figure on the listing.

What timber does the bullet name?

Solid pine wood and plywood, colour grey and white, size 89 × 52.5 × 175 cm. Roof, lock and shelves are not stated on the listing.

How we compared

Eight amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the shelf prices, star lines and UK review notes on those pages. There is no laboratory test. The score is 0–100 from four parts. The highest score is the top pick, once. The highest value part among the other products is best value, once. None of these scores is a timber test, a BS 8417 check, or a weatherproof trial.

1

Stars

40%

Amazon star rating divided by 5, multiplied by 40, and rounded to the nearest integer. A listing with no star line scores 0 on this part.

2

Review sample

25%

200 or more reviews scores 20, 50–199 scores 12, 10–49 scores 6, 1–9 scores 2, and no reviews score 0. The part is capped at 25.

3

Fit as a timber cupboard

25%

A waist-high fir cupboard whose size rows mostly agree, used for tools and logs, with a tilted roof and known limits, scores highest. Disagreeing dimensions, a title job that fails in a review, or a listed weight that contradicts the title score lower.

4

Value in this set

10%

Shelf price in GBP against a usable tool cupboard and the review sample. The lowest price does not win this part when the listing has no reviews and the weight contradicts the title.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wooden garden shed buying guide

Choose the object before the foot label. A wooden garden shed in this category is a reach-in fir cabinet, not a walk-in 6 by 4. Internal depth, the roof claim, the closer and any stated treatment decide whether it fits. Stars do not replace a tape measure. None of these scores is a laboratory timber test or a weatherproof trial.

What is a wooden garden shed?

A wooden garden shed, in the listings that sit in this category, is usually a flat-pack fir cabinet about 70–90 cm wide and about a metre tall. It is a reach-in cupboard for hand tools, bird food, wellies or bagged logs. It is not a walk-in 6 by 4, and it is not a shiplap or tongue-and-groove shed. Resin sheds are a different product. A taller timber cabinet in the same family can reach about 160 cm.

Best for

  • Waist-high storage for hand tools, bird food or bagged logs
  • A small footprint where you will treat the timber yourself

Not ideal for

  • A mower, a bike, or a walk-in workshop
  • A listed curtilage or a conservation area, until the council has answered

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the foot label

    External size often includes a roof overhang. One taped body was 38 cm deep, 79 cm wide and 94 cm high under an 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm headline. A lawn-mower line is not a measurement: a folded mower was about 6 cm too wide for a 43 cm cabinet.

  2. 2

    Treating a magnet as a lock

    Magnetic catches, handles or a latch are what these pages list. A padlock is not in the boxes. Reviewers called magnets weak and added a hook latch, a bolt, or a chain through the handles. A magnetic catch will not stop a thief.

  3. 3

    No pilot hole, or a cabinet on soil

    Thin fir splits where the holes are not marked. Drill a pilot hole before you drive a screw. Stand the cabinet on a level base, not on bare soil. If the base is a slope you cannot level, that is a builder's job, not a weekend with the flat-pack.

What to weigh up

Job and internal size

High

Start with the object, not the foot label. A wooden garden shed in this category is a reach-in fir cabinet, often about 70–90 cm wide and about a metre tall. External size often includes a roof overhang. One UK reviewer measured a body, without the overhang, at 38 cm deep, 79 cm wide and 94 cm high, against a headline of 87 × 46.5 × 96 cm, and recycling bins did not fit. Another buyer found a folded mower about 6 cm too wide for a 69 × 43 × 96 cm cupboard the title linked to a lawn mower.

Roof, closer and treatment

High

Read the water-resistance field before the word weatherproof in the title. Water resistant, waterproof, and light or medium rain are different claims, and none of them is a laboratory hose test. One taller listing limits the asphalt roof to light or medium rain and tells you to treat the wood and add a cover in harsh weather. A shutter door ventilates the cupboard and can let rain in. A hinged roof in a title is not a hinge in the box: one review found no hinge and a single plywood skin.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Waist-high tool store

You want a cupboard for hand tools, bird food or bagged logs, and you can drill pilot holes. The Outsunny fir cabinet is 87 × 46.5 × 96.5 cm at about £91.00, with 4.5 from 245 reviews. The shutter doors are not a lock, and no padlock is listed.

Compact cupboard, own latch

You want a smaller fir cupboard with a size line that agrees with itself, and you will add a latch. The FEFE cabinet is 69 × 43 × 96 cm at about £119.99, with 4.1 from 42 reviews. One box had no roof hinge, and the magnets do not hold well.

Taller fir cabinet

You need more height on a small footprint, and you will stain the timber and check the latch. The grey Outsunny is 87 × 46.5 × 160 cm at about £137.00, with 3.9 from 39 reviews. The page limits the asphalt roof to light or medium rain.

Common questions about wooden garden sheds

Which wooden garden shed is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Outsunny fir cabinet, 87 × 46.5 × 96.5 cm, at about £91.00. It scores 84, with 4.5 from 245 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviewers use it for small tools, bird food and bagged logs. The fir can split, the shutter doors are not a lock, and no padlock is listed. The tilted roof is called water resistant. That is the fairest small-tool cabinet in this set, not a test of every wooden shed in the UK.
Which wooden garden shed is the best value?
The best value is the FEFE fir cabinet, 69 × 43 × 96 cm, at about £119.99. Among the other products it has the highest value part of the score, at 5, with 4.1 from 42 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullet size agrees with the item line. Reviewers stored tools, wellies or bird food. The title says a hinged roof, but one box had no hinge, the magnets do not hold well, and the fir is described as thin.
How much does a wooden garden shed cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices here run from about £91.00 to about £137.00 for the fir cabinets, plus one pine title at about £447.74 with no reviews and a listed weight of 2 kg. That last row is not a premium band. Entry listings sit about £91 to £115. Mid listings sit about £120 to £137, including the 160 cm cabinet. These are captured amazon.co.uk prices, not a live re-check on 19 October 2026.
What should you check before you buy a wooden garden shed?
Tape the object, then the internal depth. External size often includes a roof overhang. Prefer the water-resistance field over the word weatherproof. None of these listings states BS 8417, Use Class 3 or pressure treatment. A magnetic catch is not a lock, and a padlock is not in these boxes. Thin fir splits without a pilot hole. A sample of five or nine reviews does not settle quality.
Do you need planning permission for a wooden garden shed in England?
In England, Class E of the 2015 Order covers an incidental outbuilding: not in front of the principal elevation, single storey, eaves up to 2.5 m, and a lower overall height within 2 m of a boundary. These cabinets are under 2 m, so that cap bites if you later buy a walk-in. A small outbuilding under 15 m² with no sleeping is normally exempt. Scotland uses different figures, so do not apply the English 2 m rule there.
Is a water-resistant wooden shed the same as weatherproof?
Trust the water-resistance field, not the word weatherproof in a title. One taller listing limits its asphalt roof to light or medium rain and tells you to add a cover in harsh weather. A shutter door vents the cupboard and can let rain in. There is no laboratory weather test on these pages. Section 9 of the Consumer Rights Act 2015 says goods must match the description, including a weatherproof claim. That is a legal standard, not a hose test.
Are these wooden garden sheds pressure treated?
Do not treat these cabinets as pressure treated to BS 8417 or Use Class 3. The listings do not say that. Varnish or a top coat is the wording where a finish is mentioned. If the page is silent, budget a preserver on every face and on every cut end. Use Class 3, from the Wood Protection Association, is outdoor timber above ground, and you brush the cuts. A yearly coat is maintenance, not a result measured on these listings.
Will a mower fit a wooden garden shed from this comparison?
These rows are reach-in fir cabinets, about 43 to 52 cm deep, not a walk-in shed for a mower or a bike. A folded mower was about 6 cm too wide for one 43 cm cabinet. Shiplap and tongue-and-groove sheds are a different product. If you need to walk in, use the garden shed comparison and measure the clear opening, not the foot label. Resin sheds sit outside this wooden set.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Outsunny fir cabinet, 87 × 46.5 × 96.5 cm, at about £91.00. It scores 84, with 4.5 from 245 amazon.co.uk reviews, a tilted roof, and UK reviews that use it for small tools and bagged logs. The fir can split, the shutter doors are not a lock, and no padlock is listed. The best value is the FEFE fir cabinet, 69 × 43 × 96 cm, at about £119.99, because its value part is the highest among the rest, at 5, with 4.1 from 42 reviews. The title says a hinged roof, but one box had no hinge.

Best overall
Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm

Outsunny fir cabinet, 96.5 cm

Highest score, 84: 4.5 from 245 reviews, a waist-high fir cupboard with a tilted roof, and known limits on the timber and the doors.

View offer
Best value
FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm

FEFE fir cabinet, 69 cm

Highest value part among the rest, at 5: about £119.99, 4.1 from 42 reviews, and a size line that agrees with itself.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Wooden garden shedsGarden suppliesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wooden garden sheds

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources for this comparison. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk listings in this set. Page updated 22 October 2026.

  1. Class E, Town and Country Planning Order 2015 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Planning Portal: outbuildings (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Building Regulations 2010, Schedule 2 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. LABC: outbuildings and building regulations (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Edinburgh Council: sheds and ancillary buildings (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. BS 8417:2024, preservation of wood (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Wood Protection Association: Use Class 3 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 22 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings. This is not a laboratory test.