Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric planer comparison 2026

The best electric planers, compared.

Top pick: blayram 205997-UK14 Best value: Draper Storm Force 57559 – About £37.66 for 600 W, a bag and a parallel guide, at 4.4 from 159 reviews, if the bag only has to last a few doors. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An electric planer is a handheld cutter. A drum between two shoes takes a thin shaving, and the front shoe sets how much wood one pass removes. In the UK you mostly buy one to ease an internal door that catches on a new carpet, and sometimes to flatten a board or to chamfer an edge. Look for an 82 mm-class sole, a chip depth stated in millimetres, a dust bag or a hose port, knives you can replace, and a BS 1363 plug on a corded tool. A bare cordless body only helps if you already own a pack. Width is usually the 82 mm class. Chip depth is often about 2 mm or 3 mm a pass, and a much larger figure is often a rebate stop rather than one cut. A parallel fence helps a door edge stay square. Indoors, chips need a bag or a hose. Unplug the tool, or remove the battery, before you touch the knives. Width, depth, dust and the plug are set out in the [electric planer buying guide](/hub/tools/electric-planer/sub/electric-planer-buying-guide).

An electric planer is a handheld cutter. A drum between two shoes takes a thin shaving, and the front shoe sets how much wood one pass removes.

blayram 205997-UK14

Best overall

blayram 205997-UK14
5.8/10∼ £90

44 products checked · 71 hrs invested · +26,300 readers

12 of 12: Best electric planers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
blayram 205997-UK14
Ryobi R18PL-0
Einhell TC-PL 750
Hilka PTPL710
Best value
Draper Storm Force 57559
KATSU 101719
Draper 57564
Mekturm KT-P01
SWTHM tool only
DEKOPRO DKPEHP0001
YWNYT P25082102
YWBL-WH
5.8/10
8.5/10
8.6/10
6.2/10
8.2/10
7.4/10
7.1/10
6.4/10
5.4/10
6.9/10
4.1/10
1.0/10
∼ £90
∼ £97
∼ £40
∼ £39
∼ £38
∼ £35
∼ £52
∼ £72
∼ £53
∼ £42
∼ £55
∼ £27
5.0(5)
4.7(1,198)
4.5(6,008)
4.4(171)
4.4(159)
4.3(124)
4.2(39)
4.2(10)
4.2(8)
4.1(21)
3.8(4)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best electric planers in detail

blayram 205997-UK14

Rank 1

blayram 205997-UK14

∼£90

Our view

The blayram 205997-UK14 is a third-party cordless kit at about £89.99, not a Makita tool, and the five UK reviews praise a depth adjustment they call accurate and 4.0 Ah packs that lasted a cabinet session. Bullets state a brushless motor at 15,000 rpm, an 82 mm width, and 0–2 mm, with a claimed runtime of 60–90 minutes and a trigger plus a safety switch. The star line is 5.0 from only five reviews. The included packs are custom: the bullets say they are not for original Makita tools and not for a Makita fast charger, while the body is described as compatible with Makita 18 V batteries. Listed weight is 5.3 kg, and dust collection is not stated. No repeated complaint appears in those five short texts. A 5.0 line on five reviews is not the same evidence as the Einhell's 6,008 or the Ryobi's 1,198.

Pros

  • Two 4.0 Ah packs and a charger in the bullets
  • Depth adjustment called accurate in the UK reviews
  • 4.0 Ah packs lasted a cabinet session in one review
  • Trigger and safety switch stated

Cons

  • Only five reviews behind the 5.0 star line
  • Included packs do not run original Makita tools
  • Not a Makita-branded planer
  • Dust bag not stated; listed weight 5.3 kg

Best for: One cabinet session if you accept a five-review sample and this charger.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants those packs to run other Makita tools, or a large UK review count.

Specifications

Model
blayram 205997-UK14
Brand
blayram
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
5.0/5(5)
Chip depth
0–2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
18 V
Supply
Kit
Battery
Two 4.0 Ah
Safety lock
Yes
No-load speed
15,000 rpm
Weight
5.3 kg

Common questions

Is this a Makita planer?

No. The brand field is blayram. Bullets say the body is compatible with Makita 18 V batteries.

Will the included batteries charge on a Makita charger?

The bullets say no. They are custom packs for this tool and its own charger, and they are not for original Makita tools.

What depth and width are stated?

Bullets say 0–2 mm and 82 mm. The attribute depth is 0.08 inches. No-load speed is 15,000 rpm.

Ryobi R18PL-0

Rank 2

Ryobi R18PL-0

∼£97

Our view

The Ryobi R18PL-0 is an 18 V ONE+ bare planer at about £97.37, and UK reviewers use it on internal doors after carpet once a pack is on the tool. The saved listing limits chip depth to 0–0.4 mm at an 82 mm width, so a door that needs several millimetres means many passes. Across 1,198 reviews the star line is 4.7, with praise for the side fence on a door edge and for the depth adjustment. A 5 Ah pack is described as enough for door work, while one oak bench emptied three 2 Ah packs. The box includes a dust bag, a side fence, a wrench, and two reversible TCT blades, and it excludes the battery and charger. One reviewer could not tell which side the bag fits, and others find the body a bit large in a small hand at a listed 2.52 kg. It suits you if you already own ONE+ packs and can live with that shallow listed cut.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 1,198 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Dust bag, side fence, and two reversible TCT blades in the box
  • Lighter than one reviewer's mains planer, listed at 2.52 kg
  • A 5 Ah pack is described as enough for door work

Cons

  • Battery and charger are excluded at about £97.37
  • Listed maximum chip depth is 0.4 mm
  • Small 2 Ah packs empty quickly in reviews
  • Dust-bag side was unclear to one reviewer

Best for: ONE+ owners trimming a few internal doors with a 5 Ah pack.

Less suitable: A first planer with no packs, or one deep pass on a swollen door.

Specifications

Model
Ryobi R18PL-0
Brand
Ryobi
Price
∼£97
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,198)
Chip depth
0–0.4 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
18 V
Supply
Bare
Dust bag
Yes
Fence
Side fence
Battery
No
Weight
2.52 kg

Common questions

Does this Ryobi include a battery?

No. The title says battery and charger are excluded. You need a Ryobi 18 V ONE+ pack.

How deep is one pass on this listing?

The attribute and the bullets both say 0–0.4 mm. Planing width is 82 mm.

Is a dust bag included?

Yes. The included line lists a side fence, dust bag, wrench, and two reversible TCT blades.

Einhell TC-PL 750

Rank 3

Einhell TC-PL 750

∼£40

Our view

Across 6,008 amazon.co.uk reviews, the Einhell TC-PL 750 is the corded planer people use on door bottoms and cabinet doors, listed at about £39.78. The page states 750 W, a chip depth up to 2 mm, an 82 mm width, 16,000 rpm, an aluminium sole, and a weight of 2.67 kg. Reviewers often say a set cut leaves a uniform finish and that the tool is sturdier than they expected for a first planer. The box list includes a parallel stop, a wrench, a step depth scale, and instructions, and it does not include a dust bag, so chips leave the side. One review describes the front plate wobbling on a centre pin, which lets a light cut lean, and another finds it tiring after a second door, with a short lead. Guide hardware is sometimes bent or hard to fit. For occasional door and cabinet work this is the largest UK review sample in the set, as long as you plan a vacuum or accept the mess.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 6,008 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Listed chip depth up to 2 mm and 82 mm width
  • Aluminium sole and automatic park rest in the bullets
  • UK reviews on door bottoms and cabinet doors

Cons

  • No dust bag in the box list
  • Front plate can wobble on a centre pin in one review
  • Short lead, and tiring after a second door for one reviewer
  • Parallel stop or other attachments bent or hard to fit

Best for: Occasional door bottoms and cabinet edges where a mains socket is close by.

Less suitable: Indoor jobs that need a bag in the box, or a long session without a rest.

Specifications

Model
Einhell TC-PL 750
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.5/5(6,008)
Chip depth
2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
750 W
Supply
Mains
Dust bag
No
Fence
Parallel stop
No-load speed
16,000 rpm
Weight
2.67 kg

Common questions

Does the listing include a dust bag?

No. The included-components line lists a parallel stop, wrench, step depth scale, and instructions. UK reviews on this ASIN say a bag is not supplied.

What chip depth does the listing state?

The title and bullets say up to 2 mm. Planing width is 82 mm. A numeric rebate depth is not stated; a rebate depth stop is in the box list.

Is it cordless?

No. The power source is corded electric.

Hilka PTPL710

Rank 4

Hilka PTPL710

∼£39

Our view

The Hilka PTPL710 is a corded 710 W planer at about £39.31 whose attribute block does not state width, chip depth, or rpm, so the wattage and the reviews carry the listing. Across 171 reviews the line is 4.4. A UK reviewer took about 3 mm off a cupboard door that dragged on carpet and liked 0.1 mm steps, and another praises a side bar that kept a cut straight. Those figures sit in reviews, not in the attribute block, and the only bullet is the product name. Reviews describe a dust bag that fills at once, with a hose working better, and call the tool a bit heavy at a listed 3.24 kg. A blade went blunt after about twenty metres of decking, the reviewer could not find a replacement, and Hilka service did not reply. One review reports a drive belt that broke within seconds, a replacement belt that also broke, and a brittle plastic cover.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 171 reviews at about £39.31
  • UK comments on a cupboard door and about 3 mm taken off
  • Aluminium base on the attribute
  • A side bar kept one user's cut straight

Cons

  • Width, chip depth, and rpm are not in the attributes
  • Dust bag fills quickly in reviews
  • Replacement knives hard to find; service did not reply
  • Drive belt failed in one review

Best for: A corded planer near this shelf price when you can accept a missing width and depth line.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated 82 mm width and a known spare-blade supply before paying.

Specifications

Model
Hilka PTPL710
Brand
Hilka
Price
∼£39
Customer rating
4.4/5(171)
Power
710 W
Supply
Mains
Weight
3.24 kg

Common questions

What chip depth does the Hilka listing state?

The attribute block does not state chip depth or width. A UK review mentions 0.1 mm steps and taking about 3 mm off a door. That is a review, not a spec line.

Is a dust bag in the bullets?

No. The only bullet is the product name. UK reviews describe a bag that fills quickly or a hose as the better option.

Is it cordless?

No. The power source is corded electric.

Draper Storm Force 57559

Rank 5

Draper Storm Force 57559

∼£38

Our view

The Draper Storm Force 57559 is a corded 600 W planer at about £37.66 that UK reviewers use on door bottoms that catch, including a novice and one vertical pass on a hung gate. The title states a 2 mm adjustable cut and 17,000 rpm, the attribute stores 0.08 inches, and the components line states 82 mm. Across 159 reviews the line is 4.4, and the praise is for occasional DIY rather than all-day trade. The box lists a hex key, a dust bag, two blades, and a parallel guide, and the bullets include a lock-off. The bag is the limit that keeps returning: reviewers call it poor, and one says it split by the fourth door. Blade changes are described as very difficult, with brush housings damaged in one account, and one buyer reports a sheared earth pin that they replaced with a new plug. One review says it would not plane a single door. At this price, with a bag and a guide in the box, it is the best value here for occasional doors if you accept a fragile bag.

Pros

  • Dust bag, two blades, and a parallel guide in the box
  • 4.4 from 159 reviews at about £37.66
  • Lock-off and a soft grip stated in the bullets
  • UK reviews on door bottoms and a hung gate

Cons

  • Dust bag poor, or split by the fourth door
  • Blade change described as very difficult
  • Sheared earth pin in one review
  • One review says it would not plane a single door

Best for: Occasional door bottoms when you want a bag at a similar price to a basic corded planer.

Less suitable: Daily site work, or anyone who needs a dust bag that lasts past a few doors.

Specifications

Model
Draper Storm Force 57559
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£38
Customer rating
4.4/5(159)
Chip depth
2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
600 W
Supply
Mains
Dust bag
Yes
Fence
Parallel guide
Safety lock
Lock-off
No-load speed
17,000 rpm
Weight
3.12 kg

Common questions

Is the Draper 57559 cordless?

No. The power source is corded electric, 600 W in the title.

What is in the box?

Bullets list a hex key, dust bag, two blades, and a parallel guide, plus the planer.

What cut depth is stated?

The title says 2 mm adjustable. The attribute line says 0.08 inches. Width is 3.22 inches on the attribute and 82 mm on the components line.

KATSU 101719

Rank 6

KATSU 101719

∼£35

Our view

The KATSU 101719 is a corded 600 W planer at about £34.99 that several UK buyers used on door bottoms after new carpet, and they say it is faster than a hand plane once the zero is set with a rule. The listing states 17,000 rpm, an 82 mm width, a 2 mm maximum chip, an aluminium base, a lock-off, and a weight of 3.11 kg. Across 124 reviews the line is 4.3. There is no dust bag in the included line, and reviews say the waste crosses the room unless a vacuum is fitted. One reviewer says the cut only reached about 1 mm despite the 2 mm claim. Instructions are criticised as missing for set-up, and one return happened because the retaining bolts could not be undone to change blunt blades. It is a cheaper corded option for a carpet clearance if you already mean to use a hose.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 124 reviews at about £34.99
  • 82 mm width and a lock-off stated
  • UK reviews on door bottoms after new carpet
  • Aluminium base in the bullets

Cons

  • No dust bag in the included line
  • One review: the cut only reached about 1 mm
  • Set-up instructions poor or absent
  • Blade bolts could not be undone in one return

Best for: A low-price corded planer for a few doors, with a vacuum already to hand.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a bag in the box or a clear way to change the blades.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 101719
Brand
KATSU
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.3/5(124)
Chip depth
2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
600 W
Supply
Mains
Dust bag
No
Safety lock
Lock-off
No-load speed
17,000 rpm
Weight
3.11 kg

Common questions

Does the KATSU listing include a dust bag?

No. Included components are the 600 W planer. UK reviews say to use a vacuum indoors.

What width and depth are stated?

82 mm planing width and 2 mm maximum chip depth. One UK review says their cut only reached about 1 mm.

Is there a lock-off?

Yes. The bullets mention a manual switch and a lock-off button.

Draper 57564

Rank 7

Draper 57564

∼£52

Our view

The Draper 57564 is a corded 900 W, 82 mm planer at about £51.80 whose bullets set chip depth at 0–3 mm and rebate depth at 0–15.5 mm, so the larger figure is a rebate stop rather than one pass. Across 39 reviews the line is 4.2. UK reviewers describe several doors after carpet, including one claim of 13 mm in total off each of seven doors, and easier work on worn wrists than a hand plane. The box lists a rebating guide, two blades, an angle bracket, a hex key, and a dust bag, at 2.8 kg and 16,000 rpm. Arrival condition is the complaint that repeats: a damaged plug, an opened box, and a marked sole. One review says the depth indicator does not match the cut. The material attribute says Wood, which is a catalogue field rather than a confirmed sole. Check the plug and the sole before the first cut if a stated rebate and a bag are why you are paying about £51.80.

Pros

  • Chip depth 0–3 mm and rebate depth 0–15.5 mm stated as separate figures
  • Dust bag, two blades, and a rebating guide in the box
  • 900 W at 16,000 rpm, listed at 2.8 kg
  • UK reviews on several doors after carpet

Cons

  • Only 39 reviews
  • Damaged plug, opened box, or marked sole on arrival
  • Depth indicator did not match the cut in one review
  • Material attribute says Wood

Best for: Door work plus a rebate, if you inspect the plug and the sole on the day it arrives.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants the largest review sample in this price band.

Specifications

Model
Draper 57564
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£52
Customer rating
4.2/5(39)
Chip depth
0–3 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
900 W
Supply
Mains
Dust bag
Yes
Fence
Rebate to 15.5 mm
No-load speed
16,000 rpm
Weight
2.8 kg

Common questions

Is 15.5 mm the depth of one pass?

No. The bullets say chip depth 0–3 mm and rebating depth 0–15.5 mm. The 15.5 mm attribute matches the rebate line.

Does it include a dust bag?

Yes. Bullets list a rebating guide, two blades, an angle bracket, a hex key, and a dust collection bag.

What warranty do the bullets state?

24 months parts and 12 months labour.

Mekturm KT-P01

Rank 8

Mekturm KT-P01

∼£72

Our view

The Mekturm KT-P01 is a cordless kit at about £71.99 with two 21 V 2.6 Ah packs and a charger, and the seven UK texts in the file say it does the job, including for a joiner who was given it. Bullets claim a brushless 800 W motor, 16,500 rpm, an 82 mm width, and 0–2 mm in 0.1 mm steps, plus up to 30 minutes from the two packs and a 3–4 hour charge. Across 10 reviews the line is 4.2. A UK review says battery life was shorter than that user wanted, that there is no dust-bag attachment, and that no instructions were included. The packs are the seller's own 21 V cells, not described as Makita, DeWalt, or Milwaukee packs. Listed weight is 4.5 kg. There is no repeated mechanical failure in those seven texts, and the 30-minute line remains a listing claim rather than a timed test.

Pros

  • Two 2.6 Ah packs and a fast charger in the box
  • 0–2 mm in stated 0.1 mm steps, 82 mm width
  • A case is mentioned in one UK review
  • No repeated mechanical failure in the seven UK texts

Cons

  • Only 10 reviews
  • Battery life shorter than one user wanted
  • No dust-bag attachment in a UK review
  • No instructions in one review; packs fit this kit only

Best for: A short cordless session when you do not already own another brand's packs.

Less suitable: A full day's planing, a dusty room, or a workshop already on ONE+ or M18.

Specifications

Model
Mekturm KT-P01
Brand
Mekturm
Price
∼£72
Customer rating
4.2/5(10)
Chip depth
0–2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
21 V
Supply
Kit
Dust bag
No
Fence
Ruler
Battery
Two 2.6 Ah
No-load speed
16,500 rpm
Weight
4.5 kg

Common questions

Whose batteries are in the box?

The seller's own 21 V 2.6 Ah packs and charger. The listing does not say they fit Makita, DeWalt, or Milwaukee tools.

How long does the listing say a charge lasts?

Bullets say up to 30 minutes from the two 2,600 mAh packs, and a 3–4 hour charge. That is a listing claim.

Is a dust bag listed?

No. A UK review says there is no bag attachment. The box list is the planer, two batteries, charger, ruler, and sharpening stand.

SWTHM tool only

Rank 9

SWTHM tool only

∼£53

Our view

The SWTHM listing is a bare cordless body at about £53.49 that names DeWalt 18 V and 20 V pack codes, and it is not a DeWalt tool. Bullets state a brushless motor at 15,000 rpm, an 82 mm width, 0–2 mm depth, and 0–1 mm on hardwood, plus a guide plate, a hex wrench, and a sharpener, with no battery in the box. Across eight reviews the line is 4.2, and only two UK texts are in the file. One of those says it was accurate on fire doors on site after a DeWalt failed; the other says the motor died on first use. That split is two comments, not a failure rate. The same bullets claim a self-locking run beside a trigger and a lock button. Listed weight is 2.17 kg. A fire-door comment in one review is not permission to trim a certified leaf.

Pros

  • Tool-only price of about £53.49 if you already own a named DeWalt pack
  • 82 mm width, with a stated hardwood limit of 1 mm
  • Guide plate and a sharpener in the box
  • Listed weight 2.17 kg

Cons

  • Only eight reviews, and two UK texts
  • Motor died on first use in one UK review
  • Not a DeWalt tool, and the battery is excluded
  • Dust bag not stated

Best for: A spare body for DeWalt packs you already own, if a first-use failure can go back.

Less suitable: A first planer, a certified fire door, or anyone without those packs.

Specifications

Model
SWTHM tool only
Brand
SWTHM
Price
∼£53
Customer rating
4.2/5(8)
Chip depth
0–2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
18 V
Supply
Bare
Fence
Guide plate
Battery
No
Safety lock
Yes
No-load speed
15,000 rpm
Weight
2.17 kg

Common questions

Is this a DeWalt planer?

No. The brand field is SWTHM. Bullets name DeWalt 18 V and 20 V pack codes.

Is a battery included?

No. The title says tool only.

What hardwood limit do the bullets state?

0–2 mm in general, and 0–1 mm for hardwood. Width is 82 mm. A V-groove is stated.

DEKOPRO DKPEHP0001

Rank 10

DEKOPRO DKPEHP0001

∼£42

Our view

The DEKOPRO DKPEHP0001 is a corded 800 W planer at about £42.49 that UK reviewers used on doors after carpet, and the components line includes a spare blade and a belt. The listing states 16,000 rpm, an 82 mm width, 0–3 mm chip depth, an aluminium base, a V-groove, and a safety lock, at a listed 2 kg. Across 21 reviews the line is 4.1. There is no dust bag, which a UK review confirms. One user found the knives blunt after four doors at about 2 mm each, and another said the tool stopped after a few months with the support site described as down. It is called heavy for a long session and hard to lay down without the blade touching, and one buyer returned it unused because it was too bulky near an edge. The spare blade is a practical extra, and the review sample is still small beside the Einhell and the Draper 57559.

Pros

  • 0–3 mm chip depth and 82 mm width stated
  • Spare blade and belt in the components line
  • Safety lock and a V-groove stated
  • UK reviews on doors after carpet

Cons

  • No dust bag listed or supplied in a UK review
  • Only 21 reviews
  • Knives blunt after four doors in one review
  • Stopped after a few months; support site described as down

Best for: A corded planer when you want a spare blade and a listed 3 mm depth.

Less suitable: Long sessions, tight edges, or anyone who needs a bag and a larger review sample.

Specifications

Model
DEKOPRO DKPEHP0001
Brand
DEKOPRO
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.1/5(21)
Chip depth
0–3 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
800 W
Supply
Mains
Dust bag
No
Fence
Position frame
Safety lock
Yes
No-load speed
16,000 rpm
Weight
2 kg

Common questions

Does this DEKOPRO include a dust bag?

No. The components line lists blades, a belt, spanners, and a depth gauge. A UK review says no dust bag was supplied.

What is the stated chip depth?

3 mm on the attribute. Bullets say 0–3 mm. Width is 82 mm. A V-groove is stated for chamfers.

Is there a safety lock?

Yes. The bullets describe a built-in safety lock against accidental starts.

YWNYT P25082102

Rank 11

YWNYT P25082102

∼£55

Our view

The YWNYT P25082102 is a third-party bare body at about £54.99 that lists Milwaukee M18 pack codes, and it is not a Milwaukee tool. Bullets state 15,000 rpm, an 82 mm width, 0–2 mm depth, and a dual safety switch, with the battery excluded and a listed weight of 2.62 kg. The star line is 3.8 from four reviews, and the saved file has no UK review text. Three German reviews are in the file: one hobby user liked chamfers, one fitted a battery and nothing happened, and one said it is not for heavier stock removal. Those lines are not amazon.co.uk opinion, so they do not tell you how the tool behaves on a UK door. Dust collection is not stated. There is no UK account here to set against the Ryobi's 1,198 reviews or the Einhell's 6,008.

Pros

  • Stated M18 pack codes if you already own one of those batteries
  • 82 mm width and 0–2 mm depth in the bullets
  • Dual safety switch stated
  • Battery is not included at about £54.99

Cons

  • Only four reviews, and no UK review text
  • Not a Milwaukee-branded tool
  • A non-UK review: a battery was fitted and nothing happened
  • Dust bag not stated

Best for: Only if you already own a listed M18 pack and can send the body back.

Less suitable: A door you need to finish, or a buyer who wants UK review text before paying.

Specifications

Model
YWNYT P25082102
Brand
YWNYT
Price
∼£55
Customer rating
3.8/5(4)
Chip depth
0–2 mm
Planing width
82 mm
Power
18 V
Supply
Bare
Battery
No
Safety lock
Dual switch
No-load speed
15,000 rpm
Weight
2.62 kg

Common questions

Is this a Milwaukee planer?

No. The brand field is YWNYT. Bullets list Milwaukee M18 pack codes and say the battery is not included.

Are there UK reviews in the saved listing?

No. The file has three reviews from Germany. The star line is 3.8 from 4.

What depth and width are stated?

0–2 mm and 82 mm. No-load speed is 15,000 rpm. A dual safety switch is stated.

YWBL-WH

Rank 12

YWBL-WH

∼£27

Our view

The YWBL-WH listing is an 800 W planer at about £26.95 with 16,000 rpm in the bullets and no customer-review line in the saved amazon.co.uk file. The attribute chip depth is 1 mm and the width is 8.4 cm, while the bullets say the depth is adjustable and do not give a range. The power-source attribute says AC/DC, which the bullets do not explain, and no battery is listed. Weight is 2.87 kg on the attribute and 3,000 g in the bullets. The box bullets list a socket spanner, a guide ruler, a butted-frame, a blade sharpener frame, and a manual. A dust bag is not stated, and there is no rank line. With no reviews there is no UK account of a door, a plug, or a blade change, so the low price does not show how the conflicting depth figures behave in a cut.

Pros

  • Lowest price in this set at about £26.95
  • 16,000 rpm stated in the bullets
  • Guide ruler and a sharpener frame listed
  • A user manual is in the bullets

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Attribute depth 1 mm against bullets with no range
  • AC/DC is unexplained; width is 84 mm
  • Dust bag not stated

Best for: A speculative spare only if you already accept a 1 mm attribute and zero reviews.

Less suitable: Any door you need to finish, or a buyer who wants one clear depth and a review count.

Specifications

Model
YWBL-WH
Brand
YWBL-WH
Price
∼£27
Chip depth
1 mm
Planing width
84 mm
Power
800 W
Supply
Mains
Fence
Guide ruler
No-load speed
16,000 rpm
Weight
2.87 kg

Common questions

How many amazon.co.uk reviews does the saved listing show?

None. There is no customer-review line and no review text in the raw file.

What depth is stated?

The attribute says 1 mm. The bullets say the depth is adjustable and do not give a range. Width is 8.4 cm.

Is a dust bag included?

Not stated. The bullets list a planer, socket spanner, guide ruler, butted-frame, blade sharpener frame, and a manual.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages and the review notes already on file. Shelf date 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. Stars are the listing line. A review text that is not from the United Kingdom does not count as UK opinion. The top pick is the display award on the largest UK review sample. Best value is the display award for a bag and a guide in the box, not the lowest price and not a listing with no reviews. One of each. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Chip depth and width

30%

Width is usually 82 mm. A stated chip depth of about 2 mm or 3 mm scores. A rebate figure is not treated as one pass. A stated maximum of 0.4 mm, a 1 mm attribute, or a missing depth line scores lower.

2

Power source and batteries

20%

A corded 230 V tool with a BS 1363 plug is scored as mains. Bare means no pack. A title that names another brand's battery system does not make the body that brand's tool. Included packs that the listing says will not run that brand's tools are scored as the seller's own cells.

3

Dust and a fence

20%

A dust bag or a clear hose path in the box scores. A missing bag, or UK reviews of a bag that splits, scores lower. A parallel stop, side fence or rebate guide scores. A bag is not a workplace dust certificate.

4

Knives and the box

15%

Reversible knives, a spare blade, a wrench and a depth stop score. A UK review that the edge could not be replaced, or that the bolts would not undo, scores lower. A lock-off scores when the listing states one.

5

Reviews and price

15%

The amazon.co.uk star line and the review count are the evidence. Five reviews are not treated as several thousand. A listing with no review line is not scored as popular. Shelf price is weighed against a usable box, not as the only point.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Electric planer buying guide

Read the chip depth in millimetres before you read the star line. A rebate figure is not one pass. A corded tool needs a BS 1363 plug. A bare body needs a pack you already own. A brand name in the title can still be another maker's body.

What is an electric planer?

An electric planer is a handheld cutter with a front shoe that sets how much wood one pass removes. UK buyers mostly use one to ease a door that catches on a new carpet, and sometimes to flatten timber or chamfer an edge. On the listings in this set, the stable checks are an 82 mm-class sole, a chip depth stated in millimetres, a dust bag or a hose port, knives you can replace, and a BS 1363 plug on a corded tool. Chip depth comes before the star line. Width is usually 82 mm.

Best for

  • A few internal doors, with a socket nearby and a hose or a bag
  • An owner of ONE+ packs who accepts a stated 0.4 mm cut
  • A door plus a rebate, if you inspect the plug and the sole on arrival

Not ideal for

  • A first planer bought because a title names another brand's battery
  • A certified fire door without that leaf's own instructions
  • A buyer who treats five reviews, or no reviews, as a large UK sample

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading the rebate as one pass

    The Draper 57564 states chip depth 0–3 mm and rebating depth 0–15.5 mm. The 15.5 mm figure is the rebate stop. It is not the depth of a single cut across a door.

  2. 2

    Trusting a tiny review sample

    A 5.0 line from five reviews is not the same evidence as 4.5 from 6,008. The YWBL-WH listing has no customer-review line. Do not treat that shelf price as proof of a finished door.

  3. 3

    Treating a battery name as the manufacturer

    blayram, SWTHM, and YWNYT are not Makita, DeWalt, or Milwaukee tools. Read the brand field. Included packs on the blayram listing are stated not to run original Makita tools.

What to weigh up

Chip depth, width and the rebate line

High

Start with width, then chip depth. An 82 mm sole is the usual DIY class and covers a typical door edge in one stance. The Einhell states up to 2 mm. The KATSU and the Draper 57559 title also state 2 mm. The Draper 57559 attribute stores 0.08 inches, which is the same order of cut, and the components line states 82 mm. The Draper 57564 and the DEKOPRO state 0–3 mm. The Mekturm, blayram, SWTHM, and YWNYT state 0–2 mm. The SWTHM bullets add 0–1 mm on hardwood.

Cord, batteries, dust and knives

High

UK mains are nominally 230 V. A corded planer needs a BS 1363 plug. Corded wattages here are 600 W, 710 W, 750 W, 800 W, and 900 W. Check the plug on the day it arrives. A bare tool is not a kit. The Ryobi price excludes the ONE+ pack and the charger, and the box does include a dust bag, a side fence, and two reversible TCT blades. The Mekturm price includes two 21 V 2.6 Ah packs. The bullets claim up to 30 minutes and a 3–4 hour charge. That is a listing claim.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A few doors on mains

You have a socket near the door and you want the largest UK review sample. The Einhell TC-PL 750 is the top pick at about £39.78: 750 W, a chip depth up to 2 mm, 82 mm width, and 4.5 from 6,008 reviews. The box has a parallel stop and no dust bag, so plan a hose or accept the chips.

Our recommendation

View offer

You already own a platform pack

You own 18 V ONE+ packs and you can live with a shallow cut. The Ryobi R18PL-0 is about £97.37 with the battery excluded. The listing states 0–0.4 mm at 82 mm, and a dust bag and side fence are in the box. UK reviews are 4.7 from 1,198. A 5 Ah pack is described as enough for doors. Small packs empty quickly.

Our recommendation

View offer

A bag at a similar shelf price

You want a corded planer for occasional door bottoms, with a bag and a guide in the box. The Draper Storm Force 57559 is the best value at about £37.66: 600 W, a 2 mm title cut, 82 mm, a lock-off, and 4.4 from 159 reviews. Reviewers call the bag poor, and one says it split by the fourth door.

Common questions about electric planers

Which electric planer is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Einhell TC-PL 750 at about £39.78. It is a corded 750 W planer with a chip depth up to 2 mm, an 82 mm width, 16,000 rpm, and an aluminium sole, listed at 2.67 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 6,008 reviews, the largest sample in this set. The box includes a parallel stop and does not include a dust bag. Choose it for occasional doors near a socket if you will use a hose or accept the chips.
Which electric planer is the best value?
The best value is the Draper Storm Force 57559 at about £37.66. It is a corded 600 W planer. The title states a 2 mm cut, the components line states 82 mm, and the box lists a dust bag, two blades, and a parallel guide, plus a lock-off. The star line is 4.4 from 159 reviews. Reviewers call the bag poor, and one says it split by the fourth door. It is for occasional doors, not daily site work. The cheaper listing with no reviews is not the best value.
What chip depth should an electric planer state?
Read the chip depth in millimetres, then the width. In this set the width is usually 82 mm, and a DIY chip depth is often up to 2 mm or 0–3 mm a pass. The Draper 57564 states 0–3 mm of chip and, separately, a rebate of 0–15.5 mm. That 15.5 mm is not one pass. The Ryobi R18PL-0 states 0–0.4 mm, so a swollen door needs many passes. The YWBL-WH attribute says 1 mm. The Hilka attribute block states neither width nor depth.
Should you buy a corded or a cordless electric planer?
Buy corded if a socket is near the door. Corded titles here are 600 W to 900 W and need a BS 1363 plug on 230 V mains. Buy a bare cordless body only if you already own that pack. The Ryobi R18PL-0 excludes the battery and states 0–0.4 mm. A kit such as the Mekturm includes the seller's own packs, and those packs are not described as Makita, DeWalt, or Milwaukee cells. Small packs empty quickly in the Ryobi reviews. Check the plug on arrival: two Draper reviews describe a damaged plug.
Does an electric planer need a dust bag?
Indoors, yes, or use a hose. UK reviews on the Einhell, the DEKOPRO, the Draper 57559, and the Hilka complain about a missing bag, a poor bag, or chips across the room. The Einhell, KATSU, and DEKOPRO box lists do not include a bag. The Draper 57559 and the Draper 57564 do, and the 57559 bag is the part reviewers say fails. A bag is not a workplace dust certificate. At work, HSE wood-dust limits are 3 mg/m³ for hardwood and 5 mg/m³ for softwood over eight hours. Employers use extraction and, where exposure remains, respiratory protection.
Is a planer that names another brand's battery that brand's tool?
No. Read the brand field and the battery paragraph. The blayram 205997-UK14 is not a Makita planer. Its bullets say the included 4.0 Ah packs are not for original Makita tools. The SWTHM listing is not a DeWalt tool. It is a bare body that names DeWalt 18 V and 20 V pack codes, with no battery in the box. The YWNYT P25082102 is not a Milwaukee tool. It names M18 pack codes and excludes the battery. The saved YWNYT file has no UK review text. A brand name in the title is not that manufacturer's planer.
Can you trim a fire door with an electric planer?
Only by following that leaf's own instructions. The BWF Fire Door Alliance says to follow the certificate: about 2–4 mm at the head and sides, and the threshold from the manufacturer, often around 8–10 mm on their page. Sheets differ, so one bottom gap does not fit every FD30. A review that mentions fire doors is not permission to trim a certified leaf. If the frame is out of square, or the cut would break the lipping or a hollow rail, stop. Call a competent person rather than taking a deep pass and hoping the door still matches its sheet.
When is an electric planer the wrong tool?
It is the wrong tool for a certified fire door you are not allowed to alter, a hollow core you would break, or a frame that is out of square. It is also the wrong tool if you need to drive fixings rather than take a shaving: an electric impact driver is a different machine. At work, planing sits under COSHH and PUWER, and no listing here states vibration in m/s². Unplug the tool, or remove the battery, before you touch the knives. Do not run the cutter off the end of the door.

Our verdict

The top pick for occasional doors on mains is the Einhell TC-PL 750 at about £39.78, with a chip depth up to 2 mm, an 82 mm width, and 4.5 from 6,008 reviews. There is no dust bag in the box. The best value is the Draper Storm Force 57559 at about £37.66, with a bag and a parallel guide, at 4.4 from 159 reviews, if you accept a bag that reviews call fragile. The Ryobi R18PL-0 is the bare 18 V option at about £97.37, listed at 0–0.4 mm, and only if you already own a pack. None of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best overall
blayram 205997-UK14

blayram 205997-UK14

View offer
Best value
Draper Storm Force 57559

Draper Storm Force 57559

About £37.66 for 600 W, a bag and a parallel guide, at 4.4 from 159 reviews, if the bag only has to last a few doors.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Electric planersDIY toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to electric planers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the twelve amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. HSE wood-dust limits apply at work. They are not a certificate for a domestic planer.

  1. HSE, Wood dust (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE, WD0 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. BSI, BS EN 62841-2-14:2015 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. IEC 62841-2-14:2015 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Designated standards: machinery (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. HSE, Vibration tool selection (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. BWF Fire Door Alliance, installation (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Bosch Professional UK planers (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.