Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Leatherman comparison 2026

The best Leatherman multi-tools, compared.

Top pick: Leatherman ARC Best value: Leatherman Rev – About £60.70 for 14 tools, a 420HC blade, outside-accessible tools, and a nylon sheath. Implement locking is No, and there is no saw. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A folding pliers multi-tool puts pliers in the handles and folds the smaller implements into the same body. In the UK you buy one for parcels, light DIY, a bench, or a pack, when a full toolbox is more than the job. You tell a suitable example apart by how the tools open, whether the blade locks, whether the wire cutters can be replaced, and whether a bit driver is in the handle. Most of these tools use a locking blade. A cutting edge under 3 inches does not, by itself, put that blade inside the folding-pocketknife exception on GOV.UK. Work can be a good reason to carry one in public. Carrying one just in case is not, on CPS guidance. Do not use the pliers on live 230 V mains. Stainless steel is not rust-proof. A sheath changes how you carry the tool and is often outside the long tool warranty. Fixed screwdrivers and a bit driver are different jobs. A saw is either stated or it is absent.

A folding pliers multi-tool puts pliers in the handles and folds the smaller implements into the same body. In the UK you buy one for parcels, light DIY, a bench, or a pack, when a full toolbox is more than the job.

Leatherman ARC

Best overall

Leatherman ARC
7.1/10∼ £287

18 products checked · 47 hrs invested · +12,600 readers

5 of 5: Best Leatherman multi-tools compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 5
Best overall
Leatherman ARC
Leatherman Rebar
Best value
Leatherman Rev
Leatherman Wingman
Leatherman Skeletool CX
7.1/10
7.8/10
7.7/10
7.1/10
4.9/10
∼ £287
∼ £96
∼ £61
∼ £80
∼ £137
3.5(2)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What is the job?

The best Leatherman multi-tools in detail

Leatherman ARC

Rank 1

Leatherman ARC

∼£287

Our view

The ARC bundle is the 20-tool tool with a MagnaCut blade and a DLC coating, a brown Heritage leather holster and a 42-end bit kit, at £286.95. The listing also names a PVD coating, a removable pocket clip and a saw, and it does not state replaceable wire cutters, so that point stays off the score even though Leatherman's UK ARC description lists them. On amazon.co.uk the listing shows 3.5 out of 5 from 2 ratings; the small-sample rule removes that line from the score. The one review text says the holster holds the pliers only and has no room for the two bit plates. Leatherman's UK page lists 8.6 oz, a closed length of 4.25 in, a 2.76 in blade and one-handed opening; this amazon listing does not print a weight. The tool-only ARC was £260.95 on uk.leatherman.com on 21 October 2026, so the bundle is £26 more for the holster and the bit kit. A premium leather sheath is the 2-year warranty exception on that UK warranty page, not the 25-year tool cover. The blade locks, so a length under 3 inches does not make it the folding-pocketknife exception on GOV.UK.

Pros

  • 20 tools, a MagnaCut blade with DLC coating, and a saw
  • Bit kit with 21 double-ended bits (Torx, Phillips, hex and square)
  • Brown Heritage leather holster in the box
  • UK page: one-handed opening, outside-accessible tools, 8.6 oz

Cons

  • £286.95, the highest shelf price in this set
  • 3.5 out of 5 from 2 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • The one review says the holster does not hold the bit plates
  • Listing does not state replaceable wire cutters

Best for: You want MagnaCut, 20 tools and a bit kit, and you will carry the bit plates separately from the leather holster.

Less suitable: You are buying a first Leatherman, you need the holster to hold the bits, or you want a price near the Rev or the Rebar.

Specifications

Model
Leatherman ARC
Brand
Leatherman
Price
∼£287
Customer rating
3.5/5(2)
Tool count
20 tools
Blade
MagnaCut
Blade lock
Yes
Outside access
Yes
Saw
Yes
Bit kit
Yes
Sheath
Leather holster
Pocket clip
Removable
Weight
8.6 oz
Closed length
4.25 in

Common questions

What blade steel does this ARC listing name?

MagnaCut steel with a DLC coating. The listing also mentions a PVD coating and a removable pocket clip.

Does the leather holster hold the bit kit?

The one review on the listing says the holster holds the pliers only and has no room for the two bit plates.

What is the amazon.co.uk rating on this listing?

3.5 out of 5 from 2 ratings. Only one review text is on the listing.

Leatherman Rebar

Rank 2

Leatherman Rebar

∼£96

Our view

The black Rebar bundle is 17 tools and a large black MOLLE sheath at £95.66, and the listing states a 420HC knife, a serrated knife, a saw and premium replaceable wire cutters. Leatherman's UK specification table lists the implements as locking, with the plier head as the stated exception, a closed length of 4 in (10.16 cm), a blade of 2.9 in (7.37 cm) and a weight of 6.7 oz. You reach the saw and the blades by opening the handles, which is the older inside-access pattern, not the outside-accessible opening the Rev and Wingman rows state. The listing has no amazon.co.uk star line, so the score of 58 is kit and shelf price, not a review average. There is no bit kit in the box, and these fixed screwdrivers do not take the 42-end kit packed with the Skeletool CX and ARC bundles. The MOLLE sheath is for a pack or a vest, and the 25-year warranty does not cover sheaths in general. In this set of five it is the top pick when you want a saw and replaceable cutters without the ARC's £286.95. The blade locks, so public carry still needs a good reason.

Pros

  • 17 tools, with a saw, a serrated knife and replaceable wire cutters stated
  • Large black MOLLE sheath at £95.66
  • UK table: locking implements, 6.7 oz, closed length 4 in
  • Highest score in this set, 58, on kit plus shelf price

Cons

  • Tools open from inside the handles, not from the outside
  • No bit kit; the screwdrivers are fixed
  • No star line on the amazon.co.uk listing
  • Nylon sheath is not covered by the 25-year tool warranty

Best for: You want a saw and replaceable wire cutters on a MOLLE sheath for a pack or a belt, and you will open the handles to reach the tools.

Less suitable: You want outside-accessible blades, a bit kit, or a pocket clip this listing does not state.

Specifications

Model
Leatherman Rebar
Brand
Leatherman
Price
∼£96
Tool count
17 tools
Blade
420HC + serrated
Blade lock
Yes
Saw
Yes
Replaceable cutters
Yes
Bit kit
No
Sheath
MOLLE sheath
Weight
6.7 oz
Closed length
4 in

Common questions

Does the Rebar bundle include a sheath?

Yes. A large black MOLLE sheath in ballistic nylon, with a front closure and a snap webbing strap for packs and vests.

Are the wire cutters replaceable on this listing?

Yes. The listing says premium replaceable wire cutters, plus a 420HC knife, a serrated knife, a saw and screwdrivers.

Is a bit kit included?

No bit kit is named. The bundle is the Rebar and the MOLLE sheath.

Leatherman Rev

Rank 3

Leatherman Rev

∼£61

Our view

The Rev bundle on this amazon.co.uk listing is 14 tools plus a medium black nylon sheath at £60.70, with a 420HC blade, outside-accessible tools and a replaceable pocket clip. Leatherman's UK specification table lists a locking plain blade of 2.6 in (6.6 cm), a closed length of 3.8 in, a weight of 5.9 oz, and implement locking set to No, so the other tools can fold while you are using them. The listing has no star line, so this page cannot quote an amazon.co.uk rating for the bundle. One review on the UK site describes sharp handle edges cutting a thumb when the tool is not folded cleanly, and that is a single report rather than a rate. Wire cutters sit in the pliers rather than as the replaceable inserts the Rebar listing states, and this comparison row names neither a saw nor a bit kit. A locking blade still needs a good reason in public: a cutting edge under 3 inches does not restore the folding-pocketknife exception on GOV.UK. At £60.70 with the sheath in the box, it is the best value in this set of five if the job is parcels and light work and the tool stays at home or on a job.

Pros

  • 14 tools, a 420HC blade, outside-accessible tools and a pocket clip
  • Medium black nylon sheath in the box at £60.70
  • Lowest shelf price of the five bundles in this set
  • UK specification table: 5.9 oz, closed length 3.8 in, locking plain blade

Cons

  • No star line and no review count on the amazon.co.uk listing
  • UK table sets implement locking to No
  • No saw and no bit kit on this listing; cutters not stated as replaceable
  • One UK-site review of sharp handle edges if the tool folds onto a thumb

Best for: You want a 14-tool clip tool and a nylon sheath for parcels and light jobs, at the lowest price in this set, and you accept tools that do not lock.

Less suitable: You need a saw, a bit driver, replaceable cutters, or an amazon.co.uk star line on this listing.

Specifications

Model
Leatherman Rev
Brand
Leatherman
Price
∼£61
Tool count
14 tools
Blade
420HC
Blade lock
Yes
Outside access
Yes
Bit kit
No
Sheath
Medium nylon
Pocket clip
Replaceable
Weight
5.9 oz
Closed length
3.8 in

Common questions

Does the Rev bundle include a sheath?

Yes. The listing includes the Rev and a medium black nylon sheath with reinforced stitching and a metal rivet snap.

Is the Rev stainless steel?

Yes. The listing gives the material as stainless steel and the colour as silver.

How many tools does this Rev listing state?

14, including pliers, wire cutters, a package opener, screwdrivers and a 420HC blade. Outside-accessible tools and a replaceable pocket clip are stated.

Leatherman Wingman

Rank 4

Leatherman Wingman

∼£80

Our view

The Wingman bundle is the same 14-tool class with a medium black nylon sheath, priced at £79.70, which is £19 more than the Rev bundle in this set. The listing names needlenose pliers and regular pliers, a 420HC combo knife, wire cutters, outside-accessible tools and a replaceable pocket clip. Leatherman's UK comparison row adds spring-action pliers, scissors and a package opener, a locking blade of 2.6 in, a closed length of 3.8 in and a weight of 7 oz. There is no star line on the listing, so the score does not invent an amazon.co.uk rating. The spring is there for small jobs, and the same UK sources treat these pliers as lighter duty than a Rebar, without a published wire diameter. Cutters are not stated as replaceable, the box has no bit kit, and the 25-year warranty does not cover the nylon sheath. The extra £19 buys scissors, a combo edge and spring pliers, not a saw or a bit driver.

Pros

  • Spring-action pliers, scissors and a 420HC combo blade on the UK row
  • Outside-accessible tools and a replaceable pocket clip
  • Medium black nylon sheath included at £79.70
  • UK product text says the blade locks

Cons

  • £19 more than the Rev bundle for the same stated tool count of 14
  • No star line on the amazon.co.uk listing
  • Cutters not stated as replaceable; no bit kit and no saw
  • Nylon sheath sits outside the 25-year tool warranty

Best for: You want spring pliers, scissors and a combo blade, with a sheath, and you will pay £79.70 rather than the Rev's £60.70.

Less suitable: You need a saw, interchangeable bits, or an amazon.co.uk star line before you buy.

Specifications

Model
Leatherman Wingman
Brand
Leatherman
Price
∼£80
Tool count
14 tools
Blade
420HC combo
Blade lock
Yes
Outside access
Yes
Bit kit
No
Sheath
Medium nylon
Pocket clip
Replaceable
Weight
7 oz
Closed length
3.8 in

Common questions

Does the Wingman bundle include a sheath?

Yes. The listing includes the Wingman and a medium black nylon sheath with reinforced stitching and a metal rivet snap.

Which pliers does the listing name?

Needlenose pliers and regular pliers, plus wire cutters, a 420HC combo knife and screwdrivers.

Is a pocket clip included in the description?

Yes. The listing states a replaceable pocket clip and outside-accessible tools.

Leatherman Skeletool CX

Rank 5

Leatherman Skeletool CX

∼£137

Our view

This Onyx Skeletool CX bundle is the 7-tool model, listed at 141.75 g, with a medium black nylon sheath and 21 double-ended bits (42 ends) at £136.65. The listing names a large bit driver and a replaceable pocket clip, and it does not name the blade steel, a saw or replaceable wire cutters. Leatherman's UK page for the CX lists a straight 154CM blade, a blade lock, a blade length of 2.6 in, a closed length of 4 in, and Phillips and flat bits stored in the handle. The amazon.co.uk listing has no star line, so the weight and the bit count are listing figures rather than a review result. Seven tools leave out the Rebar's saw and the Wingman's scissors, and the bundle sits £26.70 above the £109.95 tool-only CX on the UK site on 21 October 2026. The nylon sheath falls outside the 25-year tool warranty. A locking blade is still outside the folding-pocketknife exception on GOV.UK, whatever the closed length.

Pros

  • Listed weight 141.75 g, the only gram weight in this set
  • 21 double-ended bits (42 ends) in the box
  • Large bit driver and a replaceable pocket clip
  • UK page: straight 154CM blade and a blade lock

Cons

  • 7 tools: no saw and no scissors in the lists used here
  • This amazon listing does not name the blade steel
  • No star line on the listing
  • £136.65, which is £26.70 above the £109.95 tool-only CX

Best for: You want the lightest tool in this set, at 141.75 g, and a 42-end bit kit in the same box.

Less suitable: You need a saw, scissors, a blade steel named on the amazon listing, or a star rating.

Specifications

Model
Leatherman Skeletool CX
Brand
Leatherman
Price
∼£137
Tool count
7 tools
Blade
154CM
Blade lock
Yes
Bit kit
Yes
Sheath
Medium nylon
Pocket clip
Replaceable
Weight
5 oz
Closed length
4 in

Common questions

Does this Skeletool CX bundle include a bit kit?

Yes. The listing includes 21 double-ended bits, described as 42 tool options, covering Torx, Phillips, hex and square drive.

How much does the listing say it weighs?

141.75 grams for the Skeletool CX in this bundle description.

What colour is given?

The specification line says black. The title also calls the finish Onyx.

How we compared

Five amazon.co.uk bundles were scored from the stored listing pages and the UK specification notes. Shelf date 21 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. Four listings have no star line. The ARC listing shows 3.5 from 2 ratings, and that sample does not decide the order. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lowest shelf price in this set, not a second copy of the top pick. One of each. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Kit on the comparison row

50%

Points come from the comparison row only. A cell that is not stated scores nothing. Stated tools are capped, then a saw, replaceable wire cutters, a bit kit, and outside-accessible tools each add a fixed amount.

2

Stars and review count

25%

No star line scores nothing. A star line is scaled from five, then reduced when the review count is under 10, and the block cannot fall below zero. The ARC line is 3.5 from 2, so that block is zero. The one holster review is in the write-up. It is not an extra hidden penalty.

3

Shelf price

25%

The value block is the shelf price against the lowest price in this set, the Rev at £60.70. A higher price scores fewer points. The block cannot exceed its maximum.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Leatherman buying guide

Buy the lock, the opening, and the box before you buy a star line. Four of these five listings have no stars. A sheath or a bit kit is not a different multi-tool. A locking blade under 3 inches is not the folding-pocketknife exception.

What is a folding pliers multi-tool?

A folding pliers multi-tool is one pair of handles with pliers at the head and smaller implements that fold into the body. You separate models by whether the blade locks, how the tools open, whether the cutters are replaceable, and whether a bit driver is fitted. Steels published for this range are 420HC, 154CM, or MagnaCut. Leatherman's UK site states a 25-year warranty for the original owner's personal-use tool. It does not generally cover sheaths.

Best for

  • Parcels and light DIY with a clip and a nylon sheath
  • A pack or belt when the listing states a saw and replaceable cutters
  • Several screw drives when a bit kit is actually in the box

Not ideal for

  • Everyday public carry of a locking blade without a good reason
  • Live 230 V mains, gas, brakes, or structural fixings
  • A buyer who needs the sheath to hold a bit kit the review says it will not

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating a sheath or a bit kit as the tool

    The five rows here are bundles. A tool-only price on the UK site is a different figure. The 25-year warranty does not generally cover sheaths, and the one ARC review says the leather holster does not hold the bit plates.

  2. 2

    Reading under 3 inches as everyday carry

    GOV.UK's folding-pocketknife exception needs a cutting edge no longer than 3 inches that does not lock. CPS guidance says a lock knife is outside that exception. Work can be a good reason. Carrying one just in case is not.

  3. 3

    Sharpening a serrated edge on the flat back

    The UK maintenance note gives a plain edge at 32 degrees, 16 degrees per side, and a serrated edge at 20 degrees on the edged side only. Whitby & Co do not sharpen and do not post spare parts.

What to weigh up

Lock, opening and the job

High

A locking blade needs a good reason in public under the rules in the UK carry guide linked above. Work can be that reason. Carrying one just in case cannot. Outside-accessible tools open with the pliers closed. The Rebar opens from the inside, and its implements lock, with the plier head as the stated exception. The Rev's UK table sets implement locking to No, so those tools can fold while you use them. Parcels and light DIY point at a clip tool.

Bit driver, sheath and warranty

High

Rev, Wingman, and Rebar do not take a bit kit. Skeletool CX and ARC bundles include 21 double-ended bits. A nylon sheath, a MOLLE sheath, and a leather holster are different boxes, and none of them is the 25-year tool cover. A premium leather sheath is the 2-year exception on the UK warranty page. Stainless is not rust-proof. Do not use the pliers on live 230 V mains. Wave+, Bond, Signal, and Surge are not rows here, so they are not scored.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Parcels and light jobs

You want a clip tool and a nylon sheath at the lowest price in this set. The Leatherman Rev is best value at about £60.70: 14 tools, a 420HC blade, and outside-accessible tools. Implement locking is No, and there is no saw. The listing has no star line.

Our recommendation

View offer

A saw on a pack or belt

You want a saw and replaceable wire cutters, and you will open the handles to reach them. The Leatherman Rebar is the top pick at about £95.66: 17 tools and a large black MOLLE sheath. There is no bit kit, and the listing has no star line.

Our recommendation

View offer

A bit kit in the same box

You want several screw drives, not fixed screwdrivers. The Leatherman Skeletool CX bundle is about £136.65, listed at 141.75 g, with 21 double-ended bits and a nylon sheath. It has 7 tools and no saw. The listing has no star line.

Common questions about Leatherman multi-tools

Which Leatherman is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Leatherman Rebar at about £95.66. The listing states 17 tools, a 420HC knife, a serrated knife, a saw, and premium replaceable wire cutters, plus a large black MOLLE sheath. The UK table lists locking implements, 6.7 oz, and a closed length of 4 in. You open the handles to reach the saw. There is no bit kit, and the amazon.co.uk listing has no star line. The score is kit and shelf price, not a laboratory test.
Which Leatherman is best value?
Best value is the Leatherman Rev at about £60.70, the lowest shelf price of the five bundles. It lists 14 tools, a 420HC blade, outside-accessible tools, a replaceable pocket clip, and a medium black nylon sheath. The UK table sets implement locking to No and gives 5.9 oz and a closed length of 3.8 in. There is no saw and no bit kit, and the listing has no star line. The Wingman is the same tool count at about £79.70.
Is a locking multi-tool under 3 inches legal to carry?
No, not as everyday carry. GOV.UK's folding-pocketknife exception is a cutting edge no longer than 3 inches that does not lock. CPS guidance says a lock knife is not that exception. A locking blade needs a good reason in public, such as work. Carrying one just in case is not a good reason. The maximum penalty GOV.UK states for an adult is 4 years, an unlimited fine, or both. This is not legal advice. If you are stopped, ask the police or a solicitor.
Does the 25-year warranty cover the sheath?
No. The UK warranty page covers the original owner's personal-use tool for 25 years. It does not generally cover sheaths. A premium leather sheath is the stated 2-year exception on that page, not the 25-year tool cover. Whitby & Co handle UK warranty claims via the UK site. They do not sharpen, and they do not post spare parts. A cracked plier head or a blade that will not lock is a warranty or retailer return, not a home repair.
Which of these bundles include a bit kit?
The Skeletool CX bundle at about £136.65 and the ARC bundle at about £286.95 each include 21 double-ended bits, described as 42 ends, covering Torx, Phillips, hex, and square drive. The Rev, Wingman, and Rebar bundles do not. Their screwdrivers are fixed. A bit kit in the box is not the same thing as the multi-tool. The one ARC review says the leather holster has no room for the two bit plates.
Why can a listing with no star line still rank first?
Four of the five amazon.co.uk listings have no star line, so stars do not decide the order. The ARC listing shows 3.5 from 2 ratings. That sample is under 10 reviews, so it does not add to the score. The order is the kit stated on the comparison row, then the shelf price on 21 October 2026. A missing rating is not a hidden five-star score, and it is not a reason to copy a US or German listing.
Should you use the pliers on mains wiring?
No. Do not use the pliers on live 230 V mains. These are hand tools for parcels, light fixings, and camp or bench jobs, not insulated electrician's tools. Live electrics, gas, brakes, and structural fixings belong with a qualified person. A folding bit driver is also not a substitute for a dedicated impact driver when the screw is the whole job.
Are Wave+ and Bond in this comparison?
Wave+, Bond, Signal, and Surge appear on the UK brand site and are not rows in this set, so they are not scored. Bond is the model whose UK table says the blade does not lock. A published blade length of 2.8 in does not, by itself, make it lawful to carry. The five rows here are sheath or holster bundles: Rev, Wingman, Rebar, Skeletool CX, and ARC. Trade-offs by job sit in the Leatherman buying guide.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Leatherman Rebar at about £95.66: 17 tools, a 420HC knife and a serrated knife, a saw, premium replaceable wire cutters, and a large black MOLLE sheath. You open the handles to reach the tools, there is no bit kit, and the listing has no star line. Best value is the Leatherman Rev at about £60.70, the lowest shelf price here: 14 tools, a 420HC blade, outside-accessible tools, a pocket clip, and a medium nylon sheath. Implement locking is No, and there is no saw. The ARC has more tools, then loses them on price at about £286.95, with 3.5 from 2 ratings. The Wingman matches the Rev's tool count at about £79.70 and does not take either badge. None of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best overall
Leatherman ARC

Leatherman ARC

View offer
Best value
Leatherman Rev

Leatherman Rev

About £60.70 for 14 tools, a 420HC blade, outside-accessible tools, and a nylon sheath. Implement locking is No, and there is no saw.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Leatherman multi-toolsDIY toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
7 sources checked

Guides to Leatherman multi-tools

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this page in October 2026. Prices are the five amazon.co.uk bundle listings captured on 21 October 2026. Four of those listings have no star line. The ARC listing shows 3.5 from 2 ratings. None of these scores is a laboratory test. A locking blade is not the folding-pocketknife exception on GOV.UK.

  1. GOV.UK, selling, buying and carrying knives (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. Criminal Justice Act 1988 s.139 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. CPS, knife and other weapons offences (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. Offensive Weapons Act 2019 statutory guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Leatherman UK warranty (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Leatherman UK maintenance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Leatherman UK multi-tools (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.