Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Air impact driver comparison 2026

The best air impact drivers, compared.

Top pick: Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit Best value: Blue Spot 07945 – About £26.97, and the only listing here that states air consumption, at 4.5 CFM and 90 psi, if you own sockets and check the inlet. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An air impact driver, as UK shoppers meet it, is usually a pneumatic impact wrench. Compressed air hammers a socket so a nut can break loose. You buy one for a home garage or a small workshop that already has a compressor. A screw gun uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck. Listings often use both names for a square-drive wrench, so check the anvil. A 1/2 inch square anvil takes car-wheel sockets. Read the stated air use at about 90 psi (6.2 bar). Treat the largest torque number in the title as a claim, not a test. A long narrow hose can starve the tool. Check whether sockets and a case are in the box, because many listings are the gun alone. Loosening torque and tightening torque differ, and a test method is rarely named. Finish wheel nuts with a torque wrench. If the page gives no noise or vibration figure, do not treat it as quiet or low-vibration. Those checks, in order, are in the [air impact driver buying guide](/hub/tools/air-impact-driver/sub/air-impact-driver-buying-guide).

An air impact driver, as UK shoppers meet it, is usually a pneumatic impact wrench. Compressed air hammers a socket so a nut can break loose.

Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit

Best overall

Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit
7.5/10∼ £235

32 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

9 of 9: Best air impact drivers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit
BESWELL BW-112BN
BESWELL BW-112K
ORAZIO 212215 set
Proster 7286
Ingersoll Rand 2101XPA-QC
Hilka 85151617 set
Hilka 85111200
Best value
Blue Spot 07945
7.5/10
8.1/10
7.8/10
6.6/10
7.4/10
5.4/10
7.8/10
6.4/10
6.8/10
∼ £235
∼ £40
∼ £66
∼ £44
∼ £75
∼ £148
∼ £42
∼ £29
∼ £27
4.6(8)
4.5(881)
4.5(129)
4.4(10)
4.3(16)
4.3(5)
4.1(128)
3.9(86)
3.7(15)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What are you trying to undo?

The best air impact drivers in detail

Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit

Rank 1

Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit

∼£235

Our view

The Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit is listed at £235.24 with 816 Nm maximum, three forward power settings, a twin hammer, a composite housing and an aluminium hammer case, at 1.9 kg. The bullets list the tool, 17 mm, 19 mm and 21 mm sockets and a blow-moulded case, while the included-components field says one mechanical ratchet part, and the head-style table says Hex rather than 1/2 inch. The star line is 4.6 from eight reviews, and none of the raw texts are from the United Kingdom. A Spanish review calls the power medium and reports more than a year of workshop use when the air supply is adequate. A French review says you still need a coupling and a mini oiler. CFM and pressure are not stated, and the one-year warranty needs a receipt. The price buys a named kit and a small review sample, not a published air-consumption figure.

Pros

  • 816 Nm maximum stated as one figure
  • Bullets list 17 mm, 19 mm and 21 mm sockets and a case
  • 4.6 from eight reviews
  • 1.9 kg on the listing, lighter than several budget guns here

Cons

  • £235.24 with only eight reviews, none from the UK in the raw file
  • CFM and operating pressure not stated
  • Components field and the Hex table row disagree with the 1/2 inch socket bullets
  • Reviews say you still add an oiler and a proper air supply

Best for: You want the 2130XP name and those three socket sizes, and you already know your compressor can feed it.

Less suitable: A first garage gun on a budget, or anyone judging it by UK review volume.

Specifications

Model
Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit
Brand
Ingersoll-Rand
Price
∼£235
Customer rating
4.6/5(8)
Drive
1/2 inch
Mechanism
Twin hammer
Stated Nm
816 Nm
Speeds
3 forward
In the box
3 sockets, case
Listed weight
1.9 kg

Common questions

What torque and settings does the 2130XP listing state?

The bullets state 816 Nm maximum and three power settings in forward. No decibel figure and no vibration figure are printed.

What is in the kit?

The bullets list the tool, 17 mm, 19 mm and 21 mm sockets, and a blow-moulded case. The included-components field instead says 1 x Mechanical Ratchets & Pawls.

What do the reviews say about air and oil?

A French review says to allow for a coupling and a mini oiler. A Spanish review reports more than a year of workshop use when the air supply is adequate, and calls the power medium. None of the raw reviews are from the United Kingdom. The star line is 4.6 from 8.

BESWELL BW-112BN

Rank 2

BESWELL BW-112BN

∼£40

Our view

Across 881 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.5 stars, UK buyers describe the BESWELL BW-112BN loosening corroded suspension bolts, exhaust studs and a seized crankshaft bolt. At £39.99 it is a twin-hammer 1/2 inch wrench only, listed at 2.1 kg, with a bullet that also says 4.62 lb, and one UK review calls it a little heavy. A UK review describes three speeds for tightening and one for undoing. The title's 1,600 Nm and the bullet's 1,180 ft-lb are the same claim in two units, while the specification table prints 359.7 inch pounds, which is a much smaller figure, and the page does not say which test produced it. Pressure is printed as both 90–120 psi and 120–190 psi, and CFM is not stated. One UK review says it is not as powerful as claimed and that it leaks oil. It is the top pick in this set because of that review sample and the jobs those reviews name, not because the newton-metre line has been tested in a lab.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 881 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here
  • UK reviews name seized suspension bolts and a crankshaft bolt
  • Three forward speeds described in a UK review
  • £39.99

Cons

  • Table torque of 359.7 inch pounds clashes with the title
  • 90–120 psi and 120–190 psi both printed, and no CFM
  • One UK review reports an oil leak
  • Wrench only

Best for: Home-garage loosening of stubborn car fasteners when you already own sockets and a compressor that holds pressure.

Less suitable: You need one published torque figure, a socket kit in the box, or a stated CFM before you buy.

Specifications

Model
BESWELL BW-112BN
Brand
BESWELL
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.5/5(881)
Drive
1/2 inch
Mechanism
Twin hammer
Stated Nm
1600 Nm
Stated ft-lb
1180 ft-lb
Pressure
90–120 and 120–190 psi
Speeds
3 forward
In the box
Wrench only
Listed weight
2.1 kg

Common questions

Which torque figure is on the BESWELL BW-112BN listing?

Three figures appear: 1600 Nm in the title, 1180 ft-lb nut-busting torque in a bullet, and 359.7 inch pounds in the specification table. The listing does not say which test produced each number.

What air pressure does the listing recommend?

One bullet says 90–120 psi. Another says 120–190 psi. Air consumption in CFM is not stated.

What do UK reviews say it has loosened?

UK reviews mention corroded suspension bolts, exhaust studs and a seized crankshaft bolt. One review reports an oil leak and says it is not as powerful as stated.

BESWELL BW-112K

Rank 3

BESWELL BW-112K

∼£66

Our view

The BESWELL BW-112K is a 1/2 inch twin-hammer wrench at £65.88 and 2.2 kg. The title says 2,230 ft-lb, while the bullets pair 1,645 ft-lb with 2,230 Nm as loosening torque, and the bullets state 120–190 psi. Across 129 reviews at 4.5 stars, buyers outside the UK describe it removing aged driveshaft nuts, axle bolts and truck tyre lugs that hand tools had not shifted. A German review says the lowest of the three forward settings snapped a Golf wheel stud, and that the listing does not publish a torque for each setting. Reverse is full power on that listing. CFM and inlet size are not in the specification table, and no UK review text is in the raw extract. One Spanish review says it does not develop the stated power, and a US review calls it heavy after a minute. Those reviews describe a loosening tool, not a way to finish wheel nuts.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 129 reviews
  • Reviews name driveshaft nuts, axle bolts and truck lugs removed
  • Three forward positions, with full power in reverse
  • Twin hammer claimed

Cons

  • Lowest forward setting snapped a Golf wheel stud in one review
  • Title says 2,230 ft-lb; bullets say 1,645 ft-lb and 2,230 Nm
  • 120–190 psi stated, with no CFM
  • £65.88, wrench only, and no UK review text in the raw file

Best for: Heavy loosening when your compressor can feed a hungry gun and you finish nuts with a torque wrench.

Less suitable: Tightening wheel nuts, or a small compressor you cannot check against a CFM figure.

Specifications

Model
BESWELL BW-112K
Brand
BESWELL
Price
∼£66
Customer rating
4.5/5(129)
Drive
1/2 inch
Mechanism
Twin hammer
Stated Nm
2230 Nm
Stated ft-lb
1645 ft-lb
Pressure
120–190 psi
Speeds
3 forward
In the box
Wrench only
Listed weight
2.2 kg

Common questions

What loosening torque does the BW-112K listing claim?

The bullets say 1645 ft-lb and 2230 Nm. The specification table says 1645 foot pounds. No test method is named.

What pressure range is printed?

The bullets say the gun operates from 120 psi to 190 psi. CFM and inlet size are not in the specification table.

What happened when a reviewer fitted wheel nuts?

A review says the lowest forward setting snapped a wheel stud on a Golf, and that the listing does not give a torque for each setting. The same review used it successfully to undo axle bolts.

ORAZIO 212215 set

Rank 4

ORAZIO 212215 set

∼£44

Our view

The ORAZIO 212215 is a 1/2 inch twin-hammer set listed at 720 Nm, with eight sockets from 12 to 24 mm, a 5 inch extension, a 1/4 inch BSP adaptor, an oil pot and a case, priced at £43.99. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 10 reviews. The only detailed review in the raw file, from Italy, says car wheel nuts would not come off, the gun did not run, and the reviewer treated it as faulty. That review also says the manual asked for a 10 mm air feed while the supplied fitting had a 6 mm passage, and that four drops of oil felt inadequate. Neither review in the raw file is from the United Kingdom, and pressure and CFM are not on the listing. The table length of 1 inch is not a plausible overall length, and the package weight is 4.55 kg. The socket list is the clearest in this set, but the running evidence is a sample of ten with a non-running report.

Pros

  • Eight sockets from 12 to 24 mm, plus a 5 inch extension and a case
  • Five-speed forward and reverse regulator stated
  • 720 Nm printed as a single torque figure
  • Oil pot and 1/4 inch BSP adaptor listed

Cons

  • 4.4 from only 10 reviews, none from the UK in the raw file
  • Detailed review says it did not run and did not remove wheel nuts
  • That review found a 6 mm passage against a 10 mm air feed
  • No CFM or psi stated

Best for: You want those named metric sockets and will return the gun if it does not spin on your airline.

Less suitable: You need UK reviews that show it removing wheel nuts, or a stated air consumption.

Specifications

Model
ORAZIO 212215 set
Brand
ORAZIO
Price
∼£44
Customer rating
4.4/5(10)
Drive
1/2 inch
Mechanism
Twin hammer
Stated Nm
720 Nm
Speeds
5 speeds
In the box
8 sockets, case
Listed weight
4.55 kg

Common questions

Which sockets are listed with the ORAZIO 212215?

12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 22 and 24 mm, plus a 5 inch extension, a hex wrench, a 1/4 inch BSP adaptor, an oil pot and a blow-moulded case.

Does the listing state air consumption?

No. Pressure and CFM are not stated. A review says the manual asks for a 10 mm air feed while the supplied 3/8 fitting has a 6 mm passage.

Did the published reviews remove wheel nuts?

The detailed review says car wheel nuts could not be removed and that the gun did not run, so the reviewer treated it as faulty. The listing star line is 4.4 from 10 reviews. Neither review in the raw file is from the United Kingdom.

Proster 7286

Rank 5

Proster 7286

∼£75

Our view

The Proster 7286 kit lists 1,600 ft-lb (2,170 Nm), 8,500 rpm, a dual hammer, three forward settings and one reverse, with sockets from 13 to 24 mm, a 5 inch extension, an empty oil bottle and a case, at £74.99. The star line is 4.3 from 16 reviews. A UK buyer says nuts come off and calls it a favourite. A Japanese review says van wheel nuts came off in a couple of seconds, then reports leaks at the adaptor until PTFE tape was used, and a spinning hex on the inlet that needs two spanners. A Canadian review says it stopped after two days. The table weight is 3.9 kg while a bullet says 4.4 lb (2 kg), and CFM and psi are not stated. Socket play wore the paint inside a 21 mm socket quickly in one account. You get a fuller box than the bare BESWELL guns, on a much smaller review sample.

Pros

  • Sockets from 13 to 24 mm, a 5 inch extension and a case
  • 8,500 rpm and three forward settings stated
  • A UK review says nuts come off
  • 1,600 ft-lb and 2,170 Nm are the same claim in two units

Cons

  • Stopped after two days in a Canadian review
  • Adaptor leaks until PTFE tape, and the inlet hex can spin
  • 3.9 kg and about 2 kg both printed
  • 4.3 from 16 reviews, and no CFM or psi

Best for: A socket kit when you will tape the fittings and accept a sample of 16 reviews.

Less suitable: You want the 881-review BESWELL sample, or a listing that states air consumption.

Specifications

Model
Proster 7286
Brand
Proster
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
4.3/5(16)
Drive
1/2 inch
Mechanism
Dual hammer
Stated Nm
2170 Nm
Stated ft-lb
1600 ft-lb
Speeds
3 forward
In the box
8 sockets, case
Listed weight
3.9 kg

Common questions

Is the Proster 7286 cordless?

No. The bullets describe a compressed-air impact wrench. The listing question about cordless use is answered by that description.

Which sockets are included?

13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21 and 24 mm, plus a 5 inch extension, an empty oil bottle, an air inlet connector and an oil-filling connector. A storage case is mentioned in a bullet.

What weight does the listing give?

The specification table says 3.9 kg. A bullet says 4.4 pounds (2 kg). Both figures are on the same amazon.co.uk page.

Ingersoll Rand 2101XPA-QC

Rank 6

Ingersoll Rand 2101XPA-QC

∼£148

Our view

The Ingersoll Rand listing at £148.42 is a compact air tool at 726 g, not a settled 1/2 inch wheel gun. The title says 2102XPA-QC, the model field says 2101XPA, and the part number says 2101XPA-QC, while the item type reads Drill+Impact Driver. The table states a 0.25 inch chuck, a Rocking Dog mechanism, and both 700 ft-lb maximum and 55 ft-lb. Across five reviews at 4.3 stars, both texts in the raw file are from the United States: one from 2016 put it to work after fittings were added, and a 2018 aircraft-maintenance review says it seized after several days. Pressure, CFM and a case are not confirmed. The one-year warranty is the listing's wording. If you wanted a 1/2 inch square anvil for car wheel nuts, this page does not show that drive.

Pros

  • Compact listing weight of 726 g
  • Ingersoll Rand name on an air-powered tool
  • One-year warranty stated
  • Quick-change wording in the title

Cons

  • Three model strings on one listing
  • 0.25 inch chuck stated, not a 1/2 inch square anvil
  • 700 ft-lb and 55 ft-lb both in the table
  • Seizure after several days in one of five reviews, none from the UK

Best for: You have already confirmed you need this compact air tool and will match the model number on the box to the part you expect.

Less suitable: Car wheel nuts, or anyone who needs one torque figure and a 1/2 inch square anvil.

Specifications

Model
Ingersoll Rand 2101XPA-QC
Brand
Ingersoll-Rand
Price
∼£148
Customer rating
4.3/5(5)
Drive
0.25 inch chuck
Mechanism
Rocking Dog
Stated ft-lb
55 and 700 ft-lb
In the box
Tool only
Listed weight
0.726 kg

Common questions

Which model number is on the listing?

The title says 2102XPA-QC. The model-number field says 2101XPA. The part number says 2101XPA-QC. The item type is Drill+Impact Driver.

What chuck size is stated?

Maximum chuck size is 0.25 inches. The table also lists maximum torque of 700 foot pounds and torque of 55 foot pounds.

What do the reviews say about reliability?

One 2016 review put it straight to work. A 2018 review from aircraft maintenance says it seized after several days, and that others who bought it from Amazon at the time had the same fault. Both reviews are from the United States. The star line is 4.3 from 5.

Hilka 85151617 set

Rank 7

Hilka 85151617 set

∼£42

Our view

The Hilka 85151617 set lists 230 ft-lb, a recommended 90 psi and a 1/4 inch BSP nipple, and the bullets include a socket, an extension, an oil pot, a mini oiler, a hex key and a blow-moulded case, at £41.99 and 848 g. Across 128 reviews at 4.1 stars, some UK buyers remove car and HGV-trailer wheel nuts when the compressor holds pressure, and they still use the gun when the case is damaged. Several others call it gutless on bolts tightened to about 120 Nm or on a crankshaft pulley bolt around 170 Nm, and one review ran it at 8 bar and still had no power. The case arriving smashed, including a replacement delivery, is a repeated UK complaint. Oil was missing for some buyers, and the listing does not state the grade for the hammer or the airline oiler. Socket sizes are not given, so you cannot assume a 19 mm wheel socket is in the box. Air consumption is not stated.

Pros

  • Case, mini oiler, oil pot and 1/4 inch BSP nipple listed
  • 90 psi recommended on the listing
  • 4.1 from 128 reviews
  • Some UK reviews removed car and trailer wheel nuts

Cons

  • Smashed case in several UK reviews, including a replacement
  • No-power reports, including one run at 8 bar
  • Oil grade not explained, and oil missing for some buyers
  • Socket sizes not stated, and no CFM

Best for: A first boxed set when you will check the socket sizes on arrival and can live with a damaged case.

Less suitable: You need named socket sizes, a stated CFM figure, or a gun with fewer no-power reviews.

Specifications

Model
Hilka 85151617 set
Brand
Hilka
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.1/5(128)
Drive
1/2 inch
Stated ft-lb
230 ft-lb
Pressure
90 psi
In the box
Socket, case, oiler
Listed weight
0.848 kg

Common questions

What is in the Hilka 85151617 box?

The bullets list an impact socket, an extension bar, an oil pot, a mini oiler, a hex wrench, a 1/4 inch BSP nipple and a blow-moulded case. Socket sizes are not given.

What air pressure does Hilka recommend?

90 psi. Air consumption is not stated. One UK review ran the gun at 8 bar and still reported no power.

What do UK reviews say about the case and oil?

Several reviews say the case arrived smashed, including a replacement. Others say oil was missing and the oil grade for the hammer and the airline oiler was not explained.

Hilka 85111200

Rank 8

Hilka 85111200

∼£29

Our view

The Hilka 85111200 is listed as a 1/2 inch gun at 230 ft-lb and 7,000 rpm, at 499 g, with a 1/4 inch BSP inlet and no CFM or operating pressure on the page. Across 86 amazon.co.uk reviews at 3.9 stars, some UK buyers say it is usable for a home suspension job once the rotor vanes bed in and a four-position knob is set, and one used it on a BMW suspension repair. Several others say it will not undo a wheel nut, including a nut that was already loosened, and that the socket can be stopped by hand on the highest setting. A review title tells you not to tighten wheel nuts with it. The same UK sample includes an air leak, poor power after a short time, and a tool that stopped after two days of tyre work. At £28.99 there is no case in the listing. Treat the 230 ft-lb line as a claim those no-power reviews do not support, especially on a small compressor.

Pros

  • 7,000 rpm free speed stated
  • Listing weight 499 g
  • 3.9 from 86 reviews, a larger sample than the Blue Spot
  • Some UK reviews say it works after the vanes bed in

Cons

  • UK reviews of almost no torque, including a loosened wheel nut
  • Early failure, including a stop after two days of tyre work
  • No CFM or psi on the listing
  • No case

Best for: Light home fastening only after you have seen it turn a stubborn bolt on your own compressor.

Less suitable: Undoing car wheel nuts, or anyone who needs a stated air-consumption figure before they buy.

Specifications

Model
Hilka 85111200
Brand
Hilka
Price
∼£29
Customer rating
3.9/5(86)
Drive
1/2 inch
Stated ft-lb
230 ft-lb
Speeds
Variable trigger
In the box
Tool only
Listed weight
0.499 kg

Common questions

What torque and speed does Hilka state for the 85111200?

The specification table states 230 foot pounds. The bullets state 7000 rpm free speed and a 1/4 inch BSP inlet. Air consumption and operating pressure are not stated.

Is a case included?

The included-components line is the wrench itself. No case is listed.

What comes up in the UK reviews about power?

Some UK reviews say it will not undo a wheel nut, including one already loosened, or that the socket can be stopped by hand. Others say it is adequate after the vanes bed in and the power knob is set.

Blue Spot 07945

Rank 9

Blue Spot 07945

∼£27

Our view

Across 15 amazon.co.uk reviews, the Blue Spot 07945 is a 1/2 inch single-hammer gun listed at 312 Nm, which the same page also prints as 230 lb-ft, with 90 psi and 4.5 CFM (113 L/min). At £26.97 it is the only listing in this set that states air consumption, so you can set that 4.5 CFM figure against your compressor before you buy. Two UK reviewers say it does the job, and one calls it a great tool. The box is the gun alone, with a stated 16 mm bolt capacity and four speeds, and the listing asks whether it needs oil without giving a procedure. One verified UK review says the inlet was smaller than the buyer's other 1/4 inch fittings, so the gun would not connect to that existing airline. The star line is 3.7 from only 15 reviews, and the lifetime warranty is the listing's wording rather than a record of repairs. It is the best value here when you already own impact sockets and can check the inlet, because the price is the lowest and the air figure is actually printed.

Pros

  • 4.5 CFM (113 L/min) at 90 psi stated
  • £26.97, the lowest price in this set
  • 1/2 inch drive and four speeds stated
  • 312 Nm and 230 lb-ft agree as one claim

Cons

  • One UK review: inlet smaller than other 1/4 inch fittings
  • Gun only, no sockets or case
  • 3.7 from 15 reviews

Best for: You already own impact sockets and want the cheapest gun in this set that states its air consumption.

Less suitable: You need a large UK review sample, a socket kit in the box, or an inlet you have not checked against your fittings.

Specifications

Model
Blue Spot 07945
Brand
Blue Spot Tools
Price
∼£27
Customer rating
3.7/5(15)
Drive
1/2 inch
Mechanism
Single hammer
Stated Nm
312 Nm
Stated ft-lb
230 ft-lb
Pressure
90 psi
Speeds
4 speeds
In the box
Gun only
Listed weight
2.24 kg

Common questions

What air supply does the Blue Spot 07945 listing state?

The amazon.co.uk bullets state 90 psi and 4.5 CFM (113 L/min), with a 1/4 inch BSP inlet. No hose diameter is given.

Does the listing include sockets?

Included components are the 1/2 inch air impact gun only. No sockets or case are listed.

What did UK reviews say about the air inlet?

One verified UK review says the inlet was smaller than the buyer's other 1/4 inch fittings, despite the 1/4 inch inlet claim.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages: the star line, the review count, whether CFM or psi is stated, whether sockets and a case are listed, and repeated review defects. There is no laboratory test. The highest score is the top pick. The gun that states air consumption, at the lowest price in the set, is the best value. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Star line

45%

The amazon.co.uk star rating contributes up to 45 points, from the rating divided by five and then multiplied by 45. Stars are the listing line, not a workshop trial.

2

Review sample

22%

Under 10 reviews scores 5. From 10 to 49 scores 10. From 50 to 199 scores 16. 200 or more scores 22. A larger sample outweighs a higher star line from a handful of reviews.

3

Stated air data

10%

Consumption in CFM scores 10. A pressure figure without CFM scores 6. A listing with neither scores 2. The figure is what the page prints, not a measurement at the tool.

4

Kit contents

12%

Sockets and a case score 12. The tool alone scores 4. Socket sizes count only when the listing prints them.

5

Defects and conflicts

11%

A repeated no-power or seizure theme deducts 8. One serious defect, such as an oil leak, a snapped stud, an early stop or an inlet mismatch, deducts 4. Conflicting torque or model strings deduct 3 where that was applied. This share brings the five weights to 100.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Air impact driver buying guide

Choose the drive, the air you can supply, a torque claim you can read twice, and what is actually in the box. A star line is not a substitute for those four checks. None of these listings was laboratory-tested, and most print neither decibels, vibration nor CFM.

What is an air impact driver?

On a UK listing, an air impact driver is usually a pneumatic impact wrench for undoing nuts with a socket. Home mechanics and small garages buy one when a compressor is already in the workshop. A true impact driver has a 1/4 inch hex chuck for screws. Titles mix the two names. The anvil is the check: a 1/2 inch square drive takes car-wheel sockets. A stated 0.25 inch chuck is a different tool, and a page that uses both descriptions has not settled which one it is.

Best for

  • A home garage that already has a compressor and impact sockets
  • Loosening rusty car fasteners when the compressor holds pressure
  • A boxed set when the socket sizes are printed and you will check them

Not ideal for

  • Tightening wheel nuts to a handbook figure with the gun
  • Driving screws, if you need a confirmed 1/4 inch hex chuck
  • A buyer who needs CFM and one torque figure on every listing

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the largest torque in the title

    Loosening and tightening figures differ, and no listing names a test method. One page prints 1,600 Nm, 1,180 ft-lb and 359.7 inch pounds together. Read the table as well as the title.

  2. 2

    Finishing wheel nuts on a high setting

    An impact wrench is not a torque wrench. Undo with the gun, then finish to the vehicle handbook with a torque wrench. One review snapped a wheel stud on the lowest forward setting.

  3. 3

    A long thin hose, or the wrong oil

    A long 1/4 inch hose starves the gun. Tank litres are not flow. Use airline oil as the tool requires. A penetrating spray is not a substitute, and chrome sockets do not belong on an impact anvil.

What to weigh up

Drive, air and the torque line

High

Use a 1/2 inch square anvil for car-wheel sockets. A 0.25 inch chuck is a different tool, and a listing that also calls itself a wrench has not confirmed both. Compare air consumption at about 90 psi (6.2 bar). A UK guide puts a typical 1/2 inch wrench at about 4–6 CFM at 70–90 psi. Only one gun in this set states consumption, at 4.5 CFM. A long 1/4 inch hose starves the tool, and tank litres are not flow. Then read the torque claim twice. Loosening torque and tightening torque are different.

Kit, reviews and safe use

High

A kit should name the sockets. Lists in this set include 12–24 mm, 13–24 mm, and 17, 19 and 21 mm. A socket without a size is not a 19 mm wheel socket. Bare guns leave you with the sockets you already own. A large amazon.co.uk review count is stronger evidence than a higher star line from a few reviews. Repeated no-power comments and early failures stay in the decision. These pages omit noise and vibration figures, so do not call a gun quiet or low-vibration.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Home mechanic with sockets

You already own impact sockets and you want the lowest price in this set that states air consumption. The Blue Spot 07945 is about £26.97, listed at 4.5 CFM at 90 psi, with 3.7 from 15 reviews. One UK review says the inlet was smaller than other 1/4 inch fittings, so check that before you rely on it. The box is the gun only.

Our recommendation

View offer

Rusty car fasteners

You want help loosening stubborn bolts and your compressor can hold pressure. The BESWELL BW-112BN is about £39.99, with 4.5 from 881 reviews. UK reviews name corroded suspension bolts, exhaust studs and a seized crankshaft bolt. CFM is not stated, the torque lines disagree, and the box is the wrench only. Finish nuts with a torque wrench.

Our recommendation

View offer

Named sockets in the box

You want metric sockets listed, not a bare gun. The Proster 7286 is about £74.99 and lists sockets from 13 to 24 mm, a 5 inch extension and a case. The star line is 4.3 from 16 reviews. A UK review says nuts come off. Another review says it stopped after two days, and CFM and psi are not stated.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about air impact drivers

Which air impact driver is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the BESWELL BW-112BN at about £39.99. It is a twin-hammer 1/2 inch wrench, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 881 reviews, the largest sample in this set. UK reviews describe it loosening corroded suspension bolts, exhaust studs and a seized crankshaft bolt. The page prints 1,600 Nm, 1,180 ft-lb and 359.7 inch pounds, and both 90–120 psi and 120–190 psi. CFM is not stated. One UK review reports an oil leak. The score is not a laboratory test. The box is the wrench only.
Which air impact driver is the best value?
The best value is the Blue Spot 07945 at about £26.97. It is the lowest price here and the only listing that states air consumption: 4.5 CFM (113 L/min) at 90 psi. The page also prints 312 Nm and 230 lb-ft as one claim, four speeds, and no sockets. One verified UK review says the inlet was smaller than other 1/4 inch fittings. The star line is 3.7 from 15 reviews. Choose it if you already own impact sockets and you can check the inlet.
How much air does a 1/2 inch impact wrench need?
Compare consumption at about 90 psi, which is 6.2 bar. A UK air-tool guide puts a typical 1/2 inch wrench at about 4–6 CFM at 70–90 psi. That range is a guide for the type, not a measurement of these guns. Only the Blue Spot 07945 states consumption, at 4.5 CFM. A long 1/4 inch hose can starve the tool. Tank litres are not flow. You cannot check a gun against your compressor when CFM is missing.
Can you tighten wheel nuts with an air impact driver?
No. An impact wrench is not a torque wrench. Use the gun to undo nuts, then finish wheel nuts with a torque wrench to the figure in the vehicle handbook. One review says the lowest forward setting snapped a wheel stud. Do not treat a high setting as the handbook torque. If a stud has already sheared, or you do not have the vehicle figure, stop and use a professional.
Why do torque numbers on one listing disagree?
Loosening torque and tightening torque are different, and no listing here names a test method. The BESWELL BW-112BN title says 1,600 Nm, a bullet says 1,180 ft-lb, and the table says 359.7 inch pounds. Those are not one figure. The BW-112K title says 2,230 ft-lb, while the bullets pair 1,645 ft-lb with 2,230 Nm. A single printed number, such as 720 Nm or 816 Nm, is still a claim. It is not a laboratory result. Do not buy on the largest number in the title.
What should be in the box?
A bare gun is the tool only. Some kits list a case, sockets, an extension, an oil pot or a mini oiler. One set lists eight sockets from 12 to 24 mm. Another lists 13 to 24 mm. One kit's bullets list 17, 19 and 21 mm. One Hilka set lists a socket but does not give sizes, so do not assume a 19 mm wheel socket is inside. Read the included-components line on the day you buy.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for wheel, brake or suspension bolts if you do not have the vehicle torque or a torque wrench, or if a stud has already sheared. Stop if the compressor receiver is outside your competence. If employees use these guns all day, the workplace needs a noise and vibration assessment. These listings do not print decibels or a vibration figure. Hearing protection counts only towards the 87 dB(A) exposure limit, not the 80 and 85 dB(A) action values. This page does not set a wheel-nut torque.
Is an air impact driver the same as a screw gun?
Often it is not. A square-drive air wrench undoes nuts with a socket. A tool for screws uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck. If screws are the job, start with an impact driver rather than a 1/2 inch anvil. One compact listing here states a 0.25 inch chuck and also uses wrench wording, with three model strings and both 700 ft-lb and 55 ft-lb in the table. That page does not settle it as a hex driver or as a 1/2 inch wheel gun. Check the anvil before you buy.

Our verdict

The top pick is the BESWELL BW-112BN at about £39.99. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 881 reviews, and UK reviews name seized suspension bolts, exhaust studs and a crankshaft bolt. The best value is the Blue Spot 07945 at about £26.97, the only gun here with a stated 4.5 CFM at 90 psi, if you already own sockets and you check the inlet. None of these scores is a laboratory test, and an impact wrench is not a torque wrench.

Best overall
Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit

Ingersoll Rand 2130XP kit

View offer
Best value
Blue Spot 07945

Blue Spot 07945

About £26.97, and the only listing here that states air consumption, at 4.5 CFM and 90 psi, if you own sockets and check the inlet.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Air toolsImpact wrenchesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to air impact drivers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars, review counts and specification lines are from the nine amazon.co.uk listings. Noise and vibration duties apply at work. They are not a certificate for a domestic gun, and no listing here was laboratory-tested.

  1. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved October 2026)
  2. HSE INDG362, Noise at work (retrieved October 2026)
  3. HSE, Hand-arm vibration regulations (retrieved October 2026)
  4. HSE HSG39, Compressed air safety (retrieved October 2026)
  5. ISO 11148-6:2012, Hand-held non-electric power tools, impact wrenches (retrieved October 2026)
  6. Homebuilding, Impact driver vs impact wrench (retrieved October 2026)
  7. Algar Air, Air tool consumption guide (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Ingersoll Rand safety information, via Cromwell (retrieved October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.