Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Atlas safety shoes comparison 2026

The best Atlas safety shoes, compared.

Top pick: Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40 – Only kept title that prints S1, with the largest rating count, 4.6 from 798. The score of 74 is not a lab test. Best value: Atlas women's safety shoes – Highest value-part score that is not the top pick, 7 of 15, at £92.17, with no class on the title. Updated October 2026.

Atlas safety shoes are protective footwear from Atlas. The brand name does not choose the class a UK workplace asked for. You match the pair to that class, then to the words on the amazon.co.uk title. S1 means a 200 joule toecap, a closed heel, antistatic properties, and heel energy absorption, without puncture resistance or a water-resistant upper. How to order the checks is in the [Atlas safety shoes buying guide](/hub/occupational-safety/atlas-safety-shoes/sub/atlas-safety-shoes-buying-guide). A sound buy states the EN ISO 20345 class you need, fits the last, and has a sole you will replace when the tread wears. Caps may be steel, aluminium, or composite, rated at 200 joules and 15 kN, not by the metal's name. Atlas also sells S1P shoes, S3 boots, and open styles. Those other models are not in this table. Only one listing prints S1: the unisex shoe in a single size, EU 40. Width 10 is the catalogue's standard width, not UK size 10 and not extra-wide. Do not invent a UK conversion the page does not print. Manufacturer pages describe GX 130 as a women's S1 shoe, on a women's last of about EU 35-43.

Atlas safety shoes are protective footwear from Atlas. The brand name does not choose the class a UK workplace asked for. You match the pair to that class, then to the words on the amazon.co.uk title.

Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40

Best overall

Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40
7.4/10∼ £106

11 products checked · 46 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

3 of 3: Best Atlas safety shoes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 3
Best overall
Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40
Best value
Atlas women's safety shoes
Atlas GX 130 safety shoes
7.4/10
6.1/10
4.2/10
∼ £106
∼ £92
∼ £84
4.6(798)
4.6(313)
4.2(5)
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What matches the job?

The best Atlas safety shoes in detail

Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40

Rank 1

Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40

∼£106

Our view

The Atlas S1-W10 listing on amazon.co.uk is a single pair in EU 40 at £106.15, with a title that prints 20345 S1-W10, and the star line is 4.6 from 798 ratings. Those written reviews are marked Germany or Spain, so they are not a United Kingdom sample. Reviewers often say the shoe runs large, and some describe a roomy forefoot and room for orthopaedic insoles. The same texts describe buckles, ventilation openings, and metal chips getting inside, and one earlier pair is called a sandal even though the title says safety shoes. The product data have no S1P or S3 code and no puncture or waterproof line. If your assessment is a dry indoor job with toe risk only, and EU 40 is the length you measured, this is the only row here that states S1. It is a poor match if nails, standing water, or a closed upper are part of the job.

Pros

  • Title states 20345 S1-W10, the only class code in this comparison
  • £106.15 with 4.6 from 798 ratings, the largest count here
  • Non-UK reviews describe a roomy forefoot and space for orthopaedic insoles
  • Size is stated as a single EU 40, not an unmarked range

Cons

  • Review texts are marked Germany and Spain, not the United Kingdom
  • Non-UK reviews describe vents, buckles, and metal chips getting in
  • No puncture or water line in the product data
  • Non-UK reviews often say the shoe runs large

Best for: You have a dry indoor job with toe risk only, you measured a foot that matches EU 40, and the workplace has not asked for S1P or S3.

Less suitable: You need a midsole for nails, a water-resistant upper, a closed shoe around swarf, or any size other than EU 40.

Specifications

Model
Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40
Brand
Atlas
Price
∼£106
Customer rating
4.6/5(798)
Class stated
S1
Size stated
EU 40
Stated user
Unisex, men's department
Fit note
Runs large
Construction
Buckles, vents, swarf
Review locale
Germany and Spain
Amazon rating
4.6 (798)

Common questions

Does this listing state a safety class?

Yes. The title says 20345 S1-W10, in EU size 40, at £106.15. The product data have no S1P or S3 code and no puncture or waterproof line.

What do the review texts say about fit?

The texts are marked Germany or Spain, not the United Kingdom. They often say the shoe runs large. Some also describe a roomy forefoot and orthopaedic insoles.

Do the reviews describe a closed shoe?

They describe buckles, ventilation openings, and metal chips getting in. One text calls an earlier pair a sandal. The title itself says safety shoes, not sandal.

Atlas women's safety shoes

Rank 2

Atlas women's safety shoes

∼£92

Our view

The women's Atlas listing is £92.17 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.6 from 313 ratings, and the title does not print S1, S1P, or S3. The review texts are marked Germany, Italy, or Spain, not the United Kingdom. Several of those texts say the shoe runs large and that a smaller size fitted. One text says the sole holed within about two months. Another says that after a year the sole separated at the heel and broke at the front. That is wear reported by those reviewers, not a lab life. The lower price next to a large rating count is why this row is best value in the set, and the missing class is why a permit that names S1 should not use it.

Pros

  • £92.17, below the stated S1 listing at £106.15
  • 4.6 from 313 ratings, a large sample beside the star line
  • The title is aimed at women, so the last is not hidden behind a unisex line
  • Non-UK reviews repeat a size-down note before you order

Cons

  • No safety class in the title
  • Review texts are not marked United Kingdom
  • A sole holed in about two months, and a sole that split at the heel after a year, both in non-UK review text
  • No size printed on the listing

Best for: You want the lower of the two well-reviewed prices and you will confirm the class on the shoe itself before you wear it for work.

Less suitable: Your paper names S1, S1P, or S3, or you need a stated EU size before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Atlas women's safety shoes
Brand
Atlas
Price
∼£92
Customer rating
4.6/5(313)
Stated user
Women
Fit note
Often runs large
Construction
Sole hole and split
Review locale
Germany, Italy, Spain
Amazon rating
4.6 (313)

Common questions

Does the listing state a safety class?

No. The title is Atlas women's safety shoes at £92.17. The product data have no S1, S1P, or S3 code.

What fit note repeats in the reviews?

The texts are marked Germany, Italy, or Spain, not the United Kingdom. Several say the shoe runs large and that a smaller size fitted.

What sole problems are in the review texts?

One text says the sole holed within about two months. Another says that after a year the sole separated at the heel and broke at the front. That is review text, not a lab life.

Atlas GX 130 safety shoes

Rank 3

Atlas GX 130 safety shoes

∼£84

Our view

The Atlas GX 130 title is the lowest price in this comparison, at £84.06, with 4.2 from 5 ratings and no review text at all. The department line says Women's, and the title names the model without printing S1, ESD, or SRC. Catalogue and UK trade pages describe a GX 130 as a women's S1 ESD SRC shoe, on a different shelf from this £84.06 line. One trade page listed that catalogue shoe at £119.61 excluding VAT. The date first available on the listing is 19 August 2026. With 5 ratings and no written reviews, fit and sole life are not stated here. A lower price does not supply the class the title left out.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this comparison, at £84.06
  • The title names GX 130, so you can look the model up on a catalogue page
  • The department line says Women's

Cons

  • No class, ESD, or SRC line on the Amazon title
  • 4.2 from 5 ratings and no review text
  • No size printed
  • A UK trade price near £119.61 excluding VAT is a different shelf, not this listing

Best for: You already know the GX 130 from a catalogue and you will read the tongue label, because this title does not state the class.

Less suitable: You need a stated S1, a written fit note, or a rating count large enough to compare with the other two rows.

Specifications

Model
Atlas GX 130 safety shoes
Brand
Atlas
Price
∼£84
Customer rating
4.2/5(5)
Stated user
Women's department
Amazon rating
4.2 (5)

Common questions

Does this GX 130 listing state a safety class?

No. The title says Atlas safety shoes GX 130 at £84.06. The product data have no S1, ESD, or SRC line.

Who is the department line for?

The department line says Women's. The title does not print a size run.

What do reviews say about fit?

The listing has a star line of 4.2 from 5 ratings and no review text, so fit is not stated.

How we compared

Three amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 20 October 2026 from shelf price, star average, rating count, and what the title actually states. There was no lab test, no impact test, and no check of a tongue label. Stars, sample size, the title claim, and value in this set are weighted 35, 20, 30, and 15. Written reviews are marked Germany, Spain, or Italy, so the sample score uses the count only. The highest score is the top pick. The highest value score that is not that top pick is best value.

1

Stars

35%

The amazon.co.uk star average, scored as the rating divided by 5, times 35, rounded to the nearest integer. A star line is not a UK wear trial and not a lab test.

2

Review sample

20%

Up to 20 points from the rating count only. 500 or more ratings score 16, 200-499 score 14, 1-9 score 2, and no ratings score 0. Reviews marked Germany, Spain, or Italy are not treated as United Kingdom opinion.

3

What the title states

30%

Up to 30 points for what the amazon.co.uk title actually prints. S1, one EU size, and review notes on fit and openings, with no puncture or water line, scores 20. A women's title with no class scores 8. A model name only, with no class and no review text, scores 6.

4

Value in this set

15%

Up to 15 points for price against what is stated, inside this set only. £92.17 with 313 ratings and no class overclaim scores 7. £106.15 with a stated S1 scores 6. £84.06 with 5 ratings and no class scores 5.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Atlas safety shoes buying guide

Match the class on the assessment before you match the brand. S1, S1P, and S3 are different shoes, and none of these three amazon.co.uk titles state S1P or S3. A lower price with no class is the wrong buy if the permit asks for a midsole or a water-resistant upper. Width 10 on the S1-W10 shoe is the catalogue's standard width, not UK size 10. The women's title and the GX 130 title leave the class off the Amazon page, even where a catalogue describes GX 130 as S1 ESD SRC.

What are Atlas safety shoes?

Atlas safety shoes are protective footwear from Atlas. The brand name does not choose the class a UK workplace asked for. You match the pair to that class, then to the words on the amazon.co.uk title. A sound buy states the EN ISO 20345 class you need, fits the last, and has a sole you will replace when the tread wears. S1 is a 200 joule toecap, a closed heel, antistatic properties, and heel energy absorption, without puncture resistance or a water-resistant upper. S1P adds a metal midsole.

Best for

  • Dry indoor work with toe risk only, measured as EU 40
  • A lower price where you will confirm the class on the shoe

Not ideal for

  • Permits that name S1P, S3, nails, or standing water
  • Any size other than EU 40 when you need the stated S1 shoe

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading W10 as UK size 10

    W10 is the catalogue's standard width, not UK size 10 and not extra-wide. The S1 listing is one pair in EU 40. This comparison does not convert that size into a UK size, because the listing does not print a chart.

  2. 2

    Treating non-UK reviews as UK opinion

    The written reviews are marked Germany, Spain, or Italy. The star line can sit next to the count. It is not a United Kingdom wear trial, and the GX 130 title has no review text at all.

  3. 3

    Assuming Atlas means S3

    The brand does not choose the class. None of these titles state S1P or S3. A catalogue line that says S1 ESD SRC is not the Amazon title. Do not wear an open S1 shoe into swarf or water, and do not swap an issued S3 boot for an S1 trainer.

What to weigh up

Class on the assessment

High

Start with the class the assessment names, not the brand on the heel. S1 is a 200 joule toecap, a closed heel, antistatic properties, and heel energy absorption. It does not add puncture resistance or a water-resistant upper. S1P adds a metal midsole. S3 adds a water-resistant upper, puncture resistance, and a cleated sole. None of the three amazon.co.uk titles here state S1P or S3. The standard to remember is BS EN ISO 20345:2022+A1:2024.

Words on the listing

High

Then read the amazon.co.uk title, not a catalogue tab you have open beside it. Only the S1-W10 listing prints S1, and it is one size, EU 40. W10 is the catalogue's standard width, not UK size 10 and not extra-wide. The women's title at £92.17 and the GX 130 title at £84.06 do not print a class. Manufacturer pages describe GX 130 as a women's S1 ESD SRC shoe. That sentence is the catalogue. A UK trade page listed that catalogue shoe at £119.61 excluding VAT, a different shelf from £84.06.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Dry indoor work in EU 40

You have a dry indoor job with toe risk only, and the length you measured is EU 40. The workplace has not asked for S1P or S3. The S1-W10 listing is the only row here that prints S1. Non-UK reviews often say it runs large, and the product data have no puncture or water line.

Women's shoe, class to check

You want the lower of the two well-reviewed prices and you will confirm the class on the shoe before you wear it. The women's title is £92.17 with 4.6 from 313 ratings and no class printed. Review texts are not marked United Kingdom, and some describe a sole that holed or split.

GX 130 from a catalogue

You already know the GX 130 from a catalogue and you will read the tongue label, because this amazon.co.uk title does not state S1, ESD, or SRC. It is the lowest shelf price here, at £84.06, with 4.2 from 5 ratings and no review text. A trade price near £119.61 excluding VAT is a different shelf.

Common questions about Atlas safety shoes

Which Atlas safety shoe is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick is the Atlas S1-W10 safety shoe in EU 40, at £106.15. It is the only title here that prints S1, with 4.6 from 798 ratings. Those reviews are marked Germany or Spain, not the United Kingdom. The score is not a lab test or a certificate. If you do not take EU 40, this listing has no other size.
How much do these Atlas safety shoes cost?
On 20 October 2026 the amazon.co.uk prices were £84.06 for the GX 130 title, £92.17 for the women's title, and £106.15 for the S1-W10 shoe in EU 40. A UK trade page listed a GX 130 ESD S1 SRC shoe at £119.61 excluding VAT, a different shelf from £84.06. A lower price with no class is the wrong buy if the permit asks for S1P or S3.
What should you check before you buy?
Check the class on the assessment, then the words on the amazon.co.uk title, then last and size. Only one title here prints S1. W10 is standard width, not UK size 10. Do not relabel SRC as SR. Read the year on the shoe. If the class is missing, read the tongue or leave the listing.
Does the Atlas name mean the shoe is S3?
No. Atlas sells S1 indoor shoes, S1P shoes, S3 boots, and open styles. The brand does not select the class your workplace asked for. None of these three titles state S1P or S3. S1 has no puncture midsole and no water-resistant upper. If the permit names S3, or nails and standing water are part of the job, leave this shortlist. Do not swap an issued S3 boot for an S1 trainer.
What does W10 mean on the S1-W10 shoe?
W10 is the catalogue's standard width. It is not UK size 10 and it is not an extra-wide fitting. The S1 listing is one size, EU 40. This page does not convert EU 40 or W10 into a UK size, because the listing does not print that chart. Non-UK reviews often say the shoe runs large. Those texts are marked Germany or Spain, so measure rather than treat them as UK opinion.
Are the star ratings UK buyer opinion?
No. The S1-W10 shoe is 4.6 from 798 ratings and the women's title is 4.6 from 313, but the written reviews are marked Germany, Spain, or Italy. The GX 130 title is 4.2 from 5 ratings and has no review text. The sample part of the score uses the count only. It does not treat those texts as United Kingdom opinion, and it is not a lab test.
What if you need S1P, S3, or another S1 size?
Leave this shortlist if the assessment asks for S1P or S3. S1P adds a midsole. S3 adds a water-resistant upper, puncture resistance, and a cleated sole. None of these titles state those classes. The only stated S1 shoe is a single EU 40. For other listings that print S1, see the men's S1 safety shoes comparison. On a construction site the employer supplies the toecap and, where nails are a risk, the midsole.
Who has to pay for safety shoes at work?
The PPE at Work Regulations 1992, amended from 6 April 2022, require suitable PPE free of charge for employees and limb (b) workers when a risk assessment still needs it. HSE says that duty does not cover the self-employed. PPE comes after other controls. If the employer issued an S3 boot, do not replace it with an S1 trainer from this page. Report defective PPE the employer supplied.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Atlas S1-W10 shoe in EU 40 at £106.15. It is the only title that prints S1, with 4.6 from 798 ratings, and those written reviews are not a UK sample. Best value is the women's title at £92.17. It scores 7 on the value part and is not the top pick, so the missing class stays visible. The GX 130 title is cheaper at £84.06 and still scores lower on value, because 5 ratings and no class cannot carry that award. None of these scores is a UKCA check or an EN ISO 20345 certificate.

Best overall
Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40

Atlas S1-W10 safety shoes, EU 40

Only kept title that prints S1, with the largest rating count, 4.6 from 798. The score of 74 is not a lab test.

View offer
Best value
Atlas women's safety shoes

Atlas women's safety shoes

Highest value-part score that is not the top pick, 7 of 15, at £92.17, with no class on the title.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Atlas safety shoesEN ISO 20345amazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Atlas safety shoes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK and manufacturer sources for this comparison, last retrieved on 20 October 2026.

  1. HSE, Personal protective equipment at work (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. The Personal Protective Equipment at Work (Amendment) Regulations 2022 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE, Selecting footwear for slip resistance (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE, Construction PPE frequently asked questions (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. BSI, BS EN ISO 20345:2022+A1:2024 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Howsafe, Understanding EN ISO 20345:2022 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Atlas, S1 safety shoes (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Guardsman, Atlas GX 130 ESD ladies trainer (retrieved 20 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This article contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through these links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this comparison. This is not a lab test, and it does not replace your employer's risk assessment.