Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Men's S1P safety shoes comparison 2026

The best men's S1P safety shoes, compared.

Top pick: Baofular K8 Best value: Blackrock Gibson – Printed S1-P SRC, a stated steel midsole, 4.2 from 1,455 reviews, and the lowest price at about £25.97. Not water resistant, and the last is wide. Updated October 2026.

Men's S1P safety shoes are low work shoes or trainer-shaped shoes with a protective toecap and a penetration-resistant layer, for dry indoor and light yard work. Water resistance of the upper sits with S2 or S3, and a cleated outsole is part of. It is not water resistant, and calls the last wide. The other listings name a steel toe and do not print S1P on the amazon title. A site that asks for S1P cannot treat them as the same product. Read the tongue label with [how to check an S1P marking](/hub/occupational-safety/men-s-s1p-safety-shoes/sub/men-s-s1p-safety-shoes-how-to-check-the-marking). You separate a real S1P pair from a steel-toe lookalike by the stamp, not by the amazon title alone. Those lines are not the same as a title that only says steel toe. S1P means a 200 joule toecap, a closed heel, antistatic properties, energy absorption in the heel, and penetration resistance. Fuel-oil resistance sits inside the 2011 S1 bundle and is a separate FO mark in 2022 explanations. Metal P and non-metal PS are different stamps. A site that says metal-free will reject a steel midsole even when the letters look similar.

Men's S1P safety shoes are low work shoes or trainer-shaped shoes with a protective toecap and a penetration-resistant layer, for dry indoor and light yard work.

Baofular K8

Best overall

Baofular K8
7.0/10∼ £40

36 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

10 of 10: Best men's S1P safety shoes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Baofular K8
DYKHMILY steel-toe trainers
Black Hammer 9952
Best value
Blackrock Gibson
Blackrock Breeze
Black Hammer Vortex 7788
Skechers Malad II
LARNMERN steel-toe trainers
AFJYG steel-toe trainers
COOU steel-toe trainers
7.0/10
6.6/10
8.8/10
8.5/10
6.8/10
7.8/10
7.4/10
6.4/10
6.2/10
5.8/10
∼ £40
∼ £40
∼ £44
∼ £26
∼ £29
∼ £55
∼ £55
∼ £39
∼ £40
∼ £33
4.2(7,732)
4.2(5,003)
4.2(4,497)
4.2(1,455)
4.2(245)
4.2(54)
4.1(259)
4.0(238)
4.0(158)
3.8(56)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best men's S1P safety shoes in detail

Baofular K8

Rank 1

Baofular K8

∼£40

Our view

The Baofular K8 is a lace-up steel-toe trainer at £39.95 with 4.2 from 7,732 reviews, the largest count in this set. The saved listing does not print S1P, S3, or EN ISO 20345. The title says steel toe cap safety trainers, and the details department field says Women's while this comparison is men's shoes. Fit notes are mixed: some praise the fit, and one review describes chafing on the top of the foot. One review says the sole was splitting after about eight weeks, and another says a sole split at about seven months. Those lines are review texts, not a failure rate. A large star count does not fill in a missing class. Skip it when the site sheet asks for S1P on the product you buy.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 7,732 reviews at £39.95
  • Steel toe named in the title
  • Lace-up closure
  • Some reviews praise the fit for walking

Cons

  • No S1P, S3, or EN ISO 20345 line in the saved listing
  • Department field says Women's
  • Sole splitting reported at about eight weeks and about seven months
  • One review describes chafing on the top of the foot

Best for: The workplace has not named a class, and you want a cheap lace-up steel-toe trainer you can return.

Less suitable: The induction says S1P, or you need a midsole mark you can read on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Baofular K8
Brand
Baofular
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(7,732)
Safety class
Not printed
Toe cap
Steel toe
Closure
Laces
Fit note
Mixed; chafing noted

Common questions

Do these Baofular trainers print an S1P class?

The saved listing does not print S1P, S3, or EN ISO 20345. The title says steel toe cap safety trainers.

How long do reviewers say the sole lasts?

One review says the sole was splitting after about eight weeks. Another says a sole split at about seven months. That is review text, not a failure rate.

DYKHMILY steel-toe trainers

Rank 2

DYKHMILY steel-toe trainers

∼£40

Our view

The DYKHMILY trainers are £39.99 with 4.2 from 5,003 reviews, and the title says steel toe cap safety trainers for men. No S1P class and no EN ISO 20345 line is in the saved listing. The details department field says Women's, while the rank shown is men's work and utility footwear. Pain at the front is reported, and another review likes a wide toe box that appears as a question on the listing. Closure and upper are not filled in. One review wishes they were waterproof. The review count is large, and it still does not print a class. Buy them only if the workplace has not asked for S1P and you can return a pair that rubs the toes.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 5,003 reviews at £39.99
  • Steel toe named in the title
  • A wide toe box is mentioned as a listing question some buyers like
  • Long sales history, first listed on 29 April 2020

Cons

  • No S1P or EN ISO 20345 line in the saved listing
  • Department field says Women's while the title says men
  • Pain at the front is reported
  • One review wishes they were waterproof

Best for: The site has not named a class, and you want a widely reviewed steel-toe trainer you can send back if the toe rubs.

Less suitable: You need S1P on the listing, or a department field that matches the men's title.

Specifications

Model
DYKHMILY steel-toe trainers
Brand
DYKHMILY
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(5,003)
Safety class
Not printed
Toe cap
Steel toe
Fit note
Front pain reported

Common questions

Is an S1P class printed?

No. The raw title says steel toe cap safety trainers. No EN ISO 20345 line is in the file.

Who are they listed for?

The title says men. The details department field says Women's. The rank shown is men's work and utility footwear.

Black Hammer 9952

Rank 3

Black Hammer 9952

∼£44

Our view

The Black Hammer 9952 is a men's lace-up trainer at £43.95 whose amazon.co.uk title prints S1P SRC and a steel toe, with 4.2 from 4,497 reviews. A separate amazon.co.uk snippet for this model also said EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC with a steel toe and a steel midsole, so the class is on the title and you still photograph the stamp in the shoe. Reviews describe them as usable across long hours, and they also say the last is not a wide fit. The laces can stick in the metal eyelets, and one buyer switched to elastic laces. The midsole material is not filled in on the saved listing, so the title letters are not a materials list. There is no water claim on the listing, and S1P is not a waterproof class. In this set it is the top pick when the site sheet asks for S1P and you can live with a narrower last and ordinary laces.

Pros

  • Title prints S1P SRC and a steel toe at £43.95
  • 4.2 from 4,497 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Long-hour wear appears in the review notes
  • Lace-up, so you are not relying on a twist dial

Cons

  • Reviews say the last is not wide fitting
  • Laces can stick in the metal eyelets
  • Midsole material is not stated in the saved listing
  • No water claim, and S1P is not waterproof

Best for: You need S1P SRC printed on the title for dry indoor work, and a standard rather than a wide last.

Less suitable: You need a wide fit, a waterproof upper, or a twist fastening.

Specifications

Model
Black Hammer 9952
Brand
Black Hammer
Price
∼£44
Customer rating
4.2/5(4,497)
Safety class
S1P SRC
Puncture protection
Midsole not stated
Slip marking
SRC
Toe cap
Steel toe
Closure
Laces
Fit note
Not a wide fit

Common questions

Does the Black Hammer 9952 state an S1P class?

The raw title prints Men's S1P SRC. A separate amazon.co.uk snippet for this model also said EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC with a steel toe and steel midsole. Check the stamp in the shoe.

Are the laces easy to tighten?

Reviews say the laces can stick in the metal eyelets. One buyer switched to elastic laces.

Blackrock Gibson

Rank 4

Blackrock Gibson

∼£26

Our view

The Blackrock Gibson is a lace-up leather shoe at £25.97 whose title prints S1-P SRC, with 4.2 from 1,455 reviews. The bullets state a steel toe at 200 joules and a steel midsole, and the raw attributes say the water resistance level is not water resistant. Blackrock says the last is a wide fit and that you may wish to move down one UK or EU size. Reviews also describe it as wide and sometimes large, and the title itself names size 9. The bullets describe a dual-density polyurethane sole and fuel-oil resistance. It is the cheapest printed S1-P shoe in this set, and it is the best value when a leather shoe on a dry floor is what the sheet allows. It is a poor match if you wanted a mesh trainer or an upper that keeps water out.

Pros

  • Printed S1-P SRC at £25.97, the lowest price here
  • 4.2 from 1,455 reviews
  • Bullets state a 200 joule steel toe and a steel midsole
  • Wide fit, with a size-down note from the brand

Cons

  • Attributes say not water resistant
  • The title names size 9, so check the size you order
  • Reviews describe it as wide and sometimes large
  • Leather lace-up, not a light mesh trainer

Best for: You want the cheapest printed S1-P shoe for a dry floor and a wide last.

Less suitable: You need a narrow last, a waterproof upper, or a trainer shape.

Specifications

Model
Blackrock Gibson
Brand
Blackrock
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,455)
Safety class
S1-P SRC
Puncture protection
Steel midsole
Water claim
Not water resistant
Slip marking
SRC
Toe cap
Steel, 200 J
Closure
Lace-up
Fit note
Wide; size down

Common questions

Is the Gibson waterproof?

The raw attributes say water resistance level: not water resistant. The class printed is S1-P SRC, not S3.

How does the Gibson fit?

Blackrock says it is a wide fit and that you may wish to move down one UK or EU size. Reviews also describe it as wide and sometimes large.

Blackrock Breeze

Rank 5

Blackrock Breeze

∼£29

Our view

The Blackrock Breeze is a lace-up steel-toe trainer at £28.99 with 4.2 from 245 reviews, first listed on 1 April 2026. No safety class is printed in the saved listing. The title says lightweight steel toe work shoes. Reviews praise them for a size 3 and for wide feet, and one review says they are not extra wide as stated. Slip-resistant is a question on the listing, not a printed SRC mark. One review wishes they were waterproof. Long-shift comfort shows up in the notes, and so does the missing class. At £28.99 they are a low price for a steel-toe trainer, and they are still the wrong buy if the induction names S1P.

Pros

  • £28.99, the second-lowest price in this set
  • 4.2 from 245 reviews
  • Praised for long shifts and for wide feet
  • Lace-up steel toe named in the title

Cons

  • No safety class printed in the saved listing
  • One review says they are not extra wide as stated
  • Slip resistance is a listing question, not an SRC mark
  • One review wishes they were waterproof

Best for: You want a light lace-up trainer for a dry indoor shift and the site has not asked for a printed class.

Less suitable: You need S1P or SRC on the page, or an extra-wide last the listing has already proved.

Specifications

Model
Blackrock Breeze
Brand
Blackrock
Price
∼£29
Customer rating
4.2/5(245)
Safety class
Not printed
Slip marking
Not an SRC mark
Toe cap
Steel toe
Closure
Laces
Fit note
Wide; not extra-wide

Common questions

Is a safety class printed for the Breeze?

Not in the saved listing. The title says lightweight steel toe work shoes.

Are they a wide fit?

Reviews praise them for wide feet, and one review says they are not extra wide as stated.

Black Hammer Vortex 7788

Rank 6

Black Hammer Vortex 7788

∼£55

Our view

The Black Hammer Vortex 7788 is a men's trainer at £54.99 whose title prints S1P SRC and a steel toe, with a quick-release twist fastening and 4.2 from 54 reviews. That count is small beside the 9952's 4,497, so the stars are a thin sample. One review says the shoe itself was marked S1 PS SR FO, which is not the same sentence as the S1P SRC title. Reviews mention a Kevlar midsole and a microfibre and mesh upper, and they say the trainers are not waterproof. One review says size up for wide feet. An air cushion is mentioned in reviews, not as a slip test on your floor. Open this listing only if you want the twist fastening and you will photograph the label before the first shift.

Pros

  • Title prints S1P SRC and a steel toe
  • Twist fastening if you do not want ordinary laces
  • Reviews mention a Kevlar midsole
  • 4.2 stars, on a sample of 54 reviews

Cons

  • Only 54 reviews, first listed on 5 September 2025
  • One review reads the stamp as S1 PS SR FO, not S1P SRC
  • Reviews say they are not waterproof
  • £54.99, the joint highest price in this set

Best for: You want a Black Hammer trainer with a twist fastening and you will check the stamp against the title.

Less suitable: You need the title and the insole to say the same code, or you want the larger review file on the 9952.

Specifications

Model
Black Hammer Vortex 7788
Brand
Black Hammer
Price
∼£55
Customer rating
4.2/5(54)
Safety class
S1P SRC (title)
Puncture protection
Kevlar in reviews
Water claim
Not waterproof
Slip marking
SRC (title)
Toe cap
Steel toe
Closure
Twist fastening
Fit note
Size up if wide

Common questions

What class does the Vortex 7788 title claim?

The raw title says Men's S1P SRC steel toe. One review says the shoe itself was marked S1 PS SR FO. Photograph the label before you rely on the title.

Are these trainers waterproof?

Reviews say they are not waterproof. S1P is not a waterproof class.

Skechers Malad II

Rank 7

Skechers Malad II

∼£55

Our view

The Skechers Men's Malad II, model 200127EC, is £54.99 with 4.1 from 259 reviews, and the amazon.co.uk title does not print S1P, a slip mark, or a water claim. A UK dealer page for that model number states EN ISO 20345:2011, S1 P SRA ESD, and a composite toe. That line is not on this amazon title, so the listing itself does not show the class. One review mentions a steel toecap. One review describes a split where the toe cap meets the upper, and another describes a hole at the heel after about four months. One review says the fit is not narrow, a wide-ish last. Closure and upper are blank on the saved listing. It is a candidate only if you already know the pair in the box carries the dealer's code, and a skip if the site will only accept the words on the amazon page.

Pros

  • Model 200127EC at £54.99, with 4.1 from 259 reviews
  • A UK dealer page states S1 P SRA ESD for that model number
  • One review describes a wide-ish fit
  • Trainer shape for indoor walking

Cons

  • The amazon title does not print S1P or a slip mark
  • The dealer class is not a stamp you have photographed
  • One review describes a split where the toe cap meets the upper
  • Another describes a hole at the heel after about four months

Best for: You already trust model 200127EC from a dealer sheet and you will read the stamp in the shoe.

Less suitable: You need S1P written on the amazon title before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Skechers Malad II
Brand
Skechers
Price
∼£55
Customer rating
4.1/5(259)
Safety class
Not printed
Toe cap
Steel in a review
Fit note
Wide-ish

Common questions

Does the amazon title say S1P?

No. The raw title is Skechers Men's Malad II Trainer, model 200127EC. The class is not printed in that title.

What wear do reviewers report?

One review describes a split where the toe cap meets the upper. Another describes a hole at the heel after about four months.

LARNMERN steel-toe trainers

Rank 8

LARNMERN steel-toe trainers

∼£39

Our view

The LARNMERN listing is a steel-toe trainer at £38.61 with 4.0 from 238 reviews, and the title says waterproof. Several reviews say feet were soaked in light rain or on wet grass. No S2, S3, or S1P class is printed in the saved listing, and no SRC mark is printed either. Reviews mention grip without a slip code. One review describes them as a slip-on. Fit notes conflict: one says they are not for wide feet, and another says they are wide and comfortable. A waterproof word on the title is not a water-resistant class. Leave them if the sheet asks for S1P or for an upper that has been marked for water.

Pros

  • £38.61, with a steel toe named in the title
  • 4.0 from 238 reviews
  • Reviews mention grip on the sole
  • One review describes an easy slip-on

Cons

  • Title says waterproof, and several reviews say feet were soaked
  • No S1P, S2, or S3 class in the saved listing
  • No SRC mark printed
  • Fit notes disagree on width

Best for: You are comparing a waterproof title with the review texts before you trust it.

Less suitable: You need a dry upper in rain, or S1P printed on the listing.

Specifications

Model
LARNMERN steel-toe trainers
Brand
LARNMERN
Price
∼£39
Customer rating
4.0/5(238)
Safety class
Not printed
Water claim
Title vs reviews
Slip marking
No SRC mark
Toe cap
Steel toe
Closure
Slip-on (review)
Fit note
Width notes conflict

Common questions

Are the LARNMERN trainers waterproof?

The title says waterproof. Several reviews say feet were soaked in light rain or wet grass. No S2 or S3 class is printed in the saved listing.

Is an S1P class printed?

No. The saved listing does not print S1P or EN ISO 20345.

AFJYG steel-toe trainers

Rank 9

AFJYG steel-toe trainers

∼£40

Our view

The AFJYG trainers are £39.99 with 4.0 from 158 reviews, first listed on 28 April 2026, and the title sells a steel toe and swivel-buckle laces. No safety class is printed in the raw title or the details. One review says there is no certification, and a puncture-resistant midsole appears only in review text. Anti-slip is also a review claim, not an SRC line. Some buyers say the toe is roomy and one says it is tight. Reviews split on the buckle: some like the speed, and one says to stick to ordinary laces. Do not treat those review sentences as a class code you can show a supervisor.

Pros

  • Steel toe named in the title and in reviews, at £39.99
  • Swivel buckle if you want a faster fastening
  • 4.0 from 158 reviews
  • Some buyers find the toe roomy

Cons

  • No safety class in the raw title or details
  • One review says there is no certification
  • Puncture resistance is review text, not a printed mark
  • Buckle opinion is split, including a preference for laces

Best for: You want a swivel buckle on a steel-toe trainer and the workplace has not named a class.

Less suitable: You need a certificate that matches the shoe, or S1P on the listing.

Specifications

Model
AFJYG steel-toe trainers
Brand
AFJYG
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.0/5(158)
Safety class
Not printed
Puncture protection
Review text only
Slip marking
Review claim
Toe cap
Steel toe
Closure
Swivel buckle
Fit note
Roomy or tight

Common questions

Is a safety class printed for these AFJYG trainers?

Not in the raw title or details. One review says there is no certification. Do not treat review mentions of a puncture midsole as a class code.

How does the swivel buckle behave?

The title sells it as a feature. Reviews split: some like the speed, one says to stick to laces.

COOU steel-toe trainers

Rank 10

COOU steel-toe trainers

∼£33

Our view

The COOU trainers are £32.99 with 3.8 from 56 reviews, the lowest star line in this set, and the title names a steel toe, a swivel buckle, and an air cushion. The raw title does not print S1P. A long review text cites 200 joules, and Kevlar and 1,100 newton appear in review text, which is not a stamp you have read. One review says the tag model is not listed on the certificate leaflet in the box. Reviews say they are not waterproof. One review says the swivel buckle loosens within seconds. A size 9 was called a good fit in one review title, which is one buyer's note. Treat the certificate mismatch as a reason to stop before the first shift.

Pros

  • £32.99, with a steel toe named in the title
  • Swivel buckle and an air-cushion line in the title
  • One review calls a size 9 a good fit
  • Review text mentions a protective midsole

Cons

  • 3.8 from only 56 reviews
  • No S1P printed on the title
  • One review says the tag model is missing from the certificate leaflet
  • One review says the buckle loosens within seconds, and reviews say they are not waterproof

Best for: You are checking a cheap swivel-buckle trainer against the leaflet in the box before you wear it.

Less suitable: You need a matching certificate, a buckle that stays tight, or S1P on the title.

Specifications

Model
COOU steel-toe trainers
Brand
COOU
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
3.8/5(56)
Safety class
Not printed
Puncture protection
Kevlar in reviews
Water claim
Not waterproof
Toe cap
200 J in a review
Closure
Swivel buckle
Fit note
Size 9 praised

Common questions

Do the COOU trainers show a matching certificate?

One review says the tag model is not listed on the certificate leaflet supplied in the box. The raw title does not print S1P.

Does the swivel buckle stay tight?

One review says it loosens within seconds. Treat that as a reported fault, not a test.

How we compared

Ten men's S1P safety-shoe listings on amazon.co.uk were compared on 19 October 2026 from the product pages and the review notes, not from a wear test. Each shoe keeps the 0–100 score from that comparison, from 58 to 88. The eight columns below are weighted 25, 15, 12, 12, 12, 10, 8 and 6, in the order the buying notes treat them. Amazon star lines and review counts stay the UK listing figures and are not a second score. Nothing in this set was lab-tested.

1

Safety class

25%

Whether the amazon.co.uk title prints S1P, S1-P, or a 2022 S1PS line. A steel-toe title with no class is not scored as S1P. The stamp in the shoe still has to match the title.

2

Puncture protection

15%

A steel or non-metal midsole stated in the bullets, against a review-only mention or a blank listing. Metal P and non-metal PS are different stamps.

3

Water claim

12%

S1P is not waterproof. A printed not-water-resistant line, or a waterproof title that reviews contradict, is a limit. Water resistance of the upper is S2 or S3.

4

Slip marking

12%

A printed SRC or SR mark, against a slip question or a review claim with no code. SRC on a 2011 label and SR on a 2022 label are not the same mark.

5

Fit note

12%

Width, a size-down note from the brand, and review comments on toe rub, chafing, or a last that is not wide. Fit is judged with the work sock.

6

Toe cap

10%

A steel or composite toe named on the listing, including a 200 joule figure when the bullets print it. A steel toe alone is not the class.

7

Closure

8%

Laces, a twist fastening, or a swivel buckle, including a review that says a dial loosens. A lace-up does not depend on a twist dial staying tight.

8

Upper

6%

Leather, mesh, or a blank materials line. Most listings in this set leave the upper empty, so it carries the smallest share.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Men's S1P safety shoe buying guide

Start with the stamp, then water, then the slip mark, then fit, and only then the price. The notes below follow that order for these ten listings. None of the scores is a laboratory test.

What are men's S1P safety shoes?

Men's S1P safety shoes are low work shoes or trainer-shaped shoes with a protective toecap and a penetration-resistant layer. In the UK they are sold for dry indoor work and light yard work. They are not waterproof site boots. You separate a real S1P pair from a steel-toe lookalike by the stamp, not by the amazon title alone. The stamp should show the standard year, the class, and a slip mark such as SRC or SR. A 2011 label prints S1P. A 2022 label prints S1PS or S1 PS.

Best for

  • Dry indoor work when the title prints S1P SRC and the last is not wide
  • A wide leather shoe on a dry floor at the lowest printed S1-P price
  • A twist fastening only if you will photograph the stamp before the shift

Not ideal for

  • Wet or muddy work, or an induction that asks for S3 or boots
  • A wide foot in the 9952, or a narrow foot in the Gibson
  • A steel-toe title with no class when the site asks for S1P

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating any steel toe as S1P

    A steel toe is the toecap. S1P also needs penetration resistance and the rest of the class. Several titles here name a steel toe and print no class.

  2. 2

    Trusting a waterproof title

    S1P is not waterproof. The LARNMERN title says waterproof and several reviews say feet were soaked. No S2 or S3 class is printed on that listing.

  3. 3

    Paying privately for shoes the employer must issue

    When the assessment still needs safety footwear, HSE says the employer provides it free of charge, including for limb (b) workers from 6 April 2022. That is not a promise to reimburse any pair you choose.

What to weigh up

Class, puncture and water

High

Read the class on the shoe, not only the amazon title. S1P on a 2011 label, or S1PS / S1 PS on a 2022 label, is the line a site can ask for. Metal P and non-metal PS are different stamps. The 9952 and Vortex titles print S1P SRC. The Gibson prints S1-P SRC and states a steel midsole. The other seven do not print S1P on the amazon title. The Malad II dealer page for model 200127EC is not the amazon listing. If the job is wet, leave S1P and look at S3. A waterproof word is not a class.

Slip mark, fit and price

High

HSE says there is no such thing as non-slip footwear. SRC and SR are not the same mark across the 2011 and 2022 editions, and you still try the shoe on the floor. The Gibson is a wide last and Blackrock says you may drop one UK size. The 9952 reviews say the last is not wide. A Vortex review says size up for wide feet, and one COOU review says the buckle loosens within seconds. Prices in this set run from about £25.97 to £54.99. The printed S1-P shoe is the cheapest.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Warehouse hard floors

You want a light shoe for a full shift on a hard floor, and the sheet asks for S1P. The Black Hammer 9952 prints S1P SRC at about £43.95, with 4.2 from 4,497 reviews. Reviews say the last is not wide. If the yard has offcuts, still check the penetration mark on the stamp.

Our recommendation

View offer

Wide last on a dry floor

The Gibson is the cheapest printed S1-P shoe, at about £25.97. It is leather and not water resistant. Blackrock says the last is wide and that you may wish to move down one UK size. It is a poor match if you wanted a mesh trainer.

Our recommendation

View offer

Twist fastening, stamp checked

You want a Black Hammer trainer with a quick-release twist fastening. The Vortex title prints S1P SRC at about £54.99, with 4.2 from 54 reviews. One review reads the stamp as S1 PS SR FO. Photograph the label before the first shift.

Common questions about men's S1P safety shoes

Which men's S1P safety shoe is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Black Hammer 9952 at about £43.95 on amazon.co.uk. The title prints S1P SRC and a steel toe, with 4.2 from 4,497 reviews. A separate amazon.co.uk snippet for this model also said EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC with a steel midsole. The listing does not state the midsole material. Reviews say the last is not wide, and the laces can stick in the eyelets. S1P is not waterproof. This score is from the listing, not a lab test.
Which shoe is the best value if the class is printed?
The best value is the Blackrock Gibson at about £25.97, the lowest price in this set. The title prints S1-P SRC. The bullets state a 200 joule steel toe and a steel midsole, with 4.2 from 1,455 reviews. The attributes say it is not water resistant. Blackrock says the last is wide and that you may wish to move down one UK or EU size. The title names size 9, so check the size you order. It is a leather lace-up, not a mesh trainer.
How much do men's S1P safety shoes cost on amazon.co.uk in this comparison?
In these ten amazon.co.uk listings the prices run from about £25.97 to £54.99 on 19 October 2026. That is this set, not a market average. Under £30 sit the Gibson and the Blackrock Breeze. About £33 to £44 covers the COOU, LARNMERN, Baofular, AFJYG, DYKHMILY and the Black Hammer 9952. The Skechers Malad II and the Vortex are both about £54.99. Only some titles print S1P or S1-P. Match the code before you compare the price.
What does S1P mean on a safety shoe?
On a 2011 label, S1P means a 200 joule toecap, a closed heel, antistatic properties, energy absorption in the heel, and penetration resistance. Fuel-oil resistance sits inside that 2011 bundle. A 2022 label can print S1PS or S1 PS, and FO is then a separate mark. Metal P and non-metal PS are different stamps. Antistatic is not insulation against electric shock. The penetration test uses a specified nail, so a smaller point can still pass. Read the stamp in the shoe.
Are S1P safety shoes waterproof?
No. S1P is not a waterproof class. Water resistance of the upper is S2 or S3, and a cleated outsole is part of S3. The Gibson attributes say not water resistant. Vortex reviews say the trainers are not waterproof. The LARNMERN title says waterproof, and several reviews say feet were soaked, with no S2 or S3 class printed. A waterproof word on a trainer is not a class.
Is a steel-toe trainer the same as S1P?
No. A steel toe is only the toecap. S1P also needs penetration resistance and the rest of the class. The Black Hammer 9952 and Vortex titles print S1P SRC, and the Gibson prints S1-P SRC. Baofular, Breeze, LARNMERN, AFJYG, COOU and DYKHMILY name a steel toe and do not print S1P. The Skechers Malad II title does not print it either. A dealer page for model 200127EC is not this amazon listing.
Who pays for safety shoes at work?
HSE says employers provide suitable PPE, including safety footwear, free of charge when the assessment still needs it. From 6 April 2022 that duty also covers limb (b) workers. Section 9 of the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 is the no-charge rule. Someone self-employed on their own account is outside that extension. It is not a promise to reimburse any pair you choose. The same point for glasses is covered in who pays for eye protection at work.
When should you leave this category?
Leave this category when the work is wet or muddy and the induction asks for S3, or when the site has named boots. Call a competent person if no class is named, or if the hazard is electrical, fire, molten metal, or a chainsaw. Antistatic footwear is not insulation against electric shock. HSE says there is no such thing as non-slip footwear, so an SRC or SR mark still needs a trial on your floor.

Our verdict

In this set of ten amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the Black Hammer 9952 at about £43.95. The title prints S1P SRC, and the star line is 4.2 from 4,497 reviews. Reviews say the last is not wide and that the laces can stick. The best value is the Blackrock Gibson at about £25.97, with S1-P SRC printed, a stated steel midsole and 4.2 from 1,455 reviews. It is not water resistant, and the last is wide. The other listings do not print S1P on the amazon title. None of these scores is a lab test, and a steel toe alone is not the class.

Best overall
Baofular K8

Baofular K8

View offer
Best value
Blackrock Gibson

Blackrock Gibson

Printed S1-P SRC, a stated steel midsole, 4.2 from 1,455 reviews, and the lowest price at about £25.97. Not water resistant, and the last is wide.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
S1P safety shoesPPE listingsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to men's S1P safety shoes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures for this set. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. HSE: PPE overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: PPE regulations 2022 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974, section 9 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSE: L25, PPE at work (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. HSE: slip-resistant footwear procurement (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK: designated standards for PPE (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. ITS Hub: safety boot rating codes (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Safety Boots UK: Skechers Malad II (retrieved 19 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 19 October 2026. We did not lab-test these safety shoes.