Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Contour gauge comparison 2026

The best contour gauges, compared.

Top pick: Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm Best value: MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch – Best value at £9.99: the only listing on the top value band, with 4.2 from 1,015 reviews, once 6 cm of depth is enough. Updated 22 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A contour gauge, also called a profile gauge, copies the outline of a pipe, a door lining or a skirting edge so you can trace it onto a board or a tile before you cut. In the UK you use one when fitting floors and trim. It is a row of plastic pins in a frame. You press the pins against the shape, then transfer that outline. A suitable gauge is wide enough for the obstacle, and a lock holds the pins if you carry the shape to the saw. Pin thickness and stiffness decide how tight a curve you can copy. A 10 inch body, about 250 mm, is the usual width for a door lining. A 5 or 6 inch body is for a tight spot only. Two frames that clip together cover more width and add a joint. Marks along the frame read a straight length. They do not measure the curve. How to press, orient and trace, then cut on the waste side, is on the [how to use a contour gauge](/hub/measuring-and-marking-tools/contour-gauge/sub/contour-gauge-how-to-use) page.

A contour gauge, also called a profile gauge, copies the outline of a pipe, a door lining or a skirting edge so you can trace it onto a board or a tile before you cut. In the UK you use one when fitting floors and trim.

Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm

Best overall

Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm
5.9/10∼ £21

38 products checked · 56 hrs invested · +17,200 readers

11 of 11: Best contour gauges compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm
DODOWIN contour gauge, 10 inch
Saker contour gauge, 25 cm
DODOWIN contour gauge pair
JOREST contour gauge, 10 and 5 inch
AI Gear contour gauge, 10 inch
JOREST contour gauge, 10 inch
Amazon Basics contour gauge set
Best value
MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch
TOPWAY contour gauge, 10 inch
SULIVES contour gauge, 6 inch
5.9/10
8.8/10
7.1/10
7.4/10
8.6/10
8.0/10
8.4/10
8.1/10
8.4/10
7.2/10
4.5/10
∼ £21
∼ £16
∼ £22
∼ £35
∼ £24
∼ £17
∼ £15
∼ £13
∼ £10
∼ £10
∼ £8
4.6(32)
4.5(4,456)
4.5(1,612)
4.5(677)
4.4(6,283)
4.4(5,461)
4.4(2,076)
4.3(2,001)
4.2(1,015)
4.2(191)
3.6(67)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best contour gauges in detail

Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm

Rank 1

Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm

∼£21

Our view

The Tracer ACG2 is a 250 mm plastic gauge sold with a deep-hole pencil, at £20.95 on amazon.co.uk. The pencil claim is a 2B lead that marks up to 100 mm inside a 3 mm hole or 145 mm inside a 6 mm hole. The star line is 4.6 from 32 reviews, the highest rating and the smallest sample in this set, and the rank is 224 in Measuring & Layout Tools. Only six UK review texts are in the file: they praise the pencil and a plywood bathroom floor, one says the bars still move when the lock is on, and another says the pins are too thick for fine contours. Weight is 501 g, with metric and imperial scales. Buy it for the pencil if you accept a thin review file, and do not treat 4.6 as proof the lock holds.

Pros

  • 250 mm body with metric and imperial scales
  • Deep-hole pencil claimed to mark 100 mm in a 3 mm hole
  • 4.6 from 32 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Plastic body listed at 501 g

Cons

  • One of six UK reviews says the bars still move when locked
  • Only 32 ratings, so the star line is a thin sample
  • A review says the pins are too thick for fine contours
  • Pin thickness and scribe depth are not in the amazon technical table

Best for: You want the deep-hole pencil with a 250 mm gauge and you will test the lock on scrap first.

Less suitable: You are choosing on star rating alone, or you need a lock that the saved reviews agree on.

Specifications

Model
Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm
Brand
TRACER
Price
∼£21
Customer rating
4.6/5(32)
Width
250 mm
Lock
Lock disputed
Pins
Plastic
Scale
Inch and cm
Joinable
No
Weight
501 g
Extras
Deep-hole pencil

Common questions

What comes with the Tracer 250 mm gauge?

Included components are the contour gauge and a deep-hole pencil. The bullets say the pencil is 2B and can mark up to 100 mm in a 3 mm hole or 145 mm in a 6 mm hole, with an integrated sharpener. A case is not listed.

Does the Tracer lock hold?

The bullets say the lock holds all pins. Of the six UK reviews in the saved listing, one says the bars still move when locked, and another says the lock worked on a plywood bathroom floor. The star line is 4.6 from 32 ratings.

What is the Tracer gauge made of?

The material field says plastic. Pin thickness is not stated. One UK review says the pins are too thick for fine contours.

DODOWIN contour gauge, 10 inch

Rank 2

DODOWIN contour gauge, 10 inch

∼£16

Our view

The DODOWIN 10 inch gauge is the locked tool UK reviewers use for laminate at doorways, at £15.98 with 4.5 from 4,456 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets state about 10 cm of depth and a screwdriver so you can loosen the teeth for delicate mouldings or tighten them. A locking handle is meant to hold the shape before you transfer it. The package is 33.4 × 13.7 × 2.7 cm and 530 g, and the manufacturer line is Unibank Tech. Rank on the captured listing is 37 in Marking Tools. Reviewers also call the pins a little coarse and the body a bit flimsy for daily trade use. Some reviews call it connectable, but this listing’s package quantity is one; the 20 inch pair is a different ASIN. It is the top pick in this set for a single 10 inch floor job when the stated depth matters, and a poor daily driver if you need a stiffer trade body.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 4,456 reviews, the strongest large-sample star line here
  • Lock, dual scales, and a screwdriver for pin tension
  • Bullets state about 10 cm of depth
  • £15.98 for a single 10 inch gauge

Cons

  • UK reviews call the pins a little coarse
  • The body is described as a bit flimsy for daily trade use
  • Pin thickness is not stated
  • Some buyers expected a second gauge; this box is one tool

Best for: You are scribing laminate at a doorway and you want a lock plus a stated depth of about 10 cm.

Less suitable: You need a second length in the box, or a stiffer gauge for every day on site.

Specifications

Model
DODOWIN contour gauge, 10 inch
Brand
DODOWIN
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.5/5(4,456)
Width
10 inch
Lock
Locking handle
Pins
ABS
Tension
Screwdriver
Scale
Inch and cm
Weight
530 g
Extras
Screwdriver

Common questions

How deep is the DODOWIN 10 inch gauge?

The bullets state a 10 cm measurement depth, about 4 inches, for pipes, door frames and architraves. UK reviews include a request for longer blades, so check the obstacle against that claim.

Can you adjust the DODOWIN 10 inch teeth?

The bullets say a screwdriver is included so you can loosen the teeth for delicate mouldings or tighten them. They also say to use the locking handle before you transfer the shape.

Is the DODOWIN 10 inch a two-piece set?

The package quantity is 1 and the title is a 10 inch tool. Some UK reviews call it connectable. This listing’s bullets do not say a second gauge is in the box. The 20 inch connectable pair is a different ASIN.

Saker contour gauge, 25 cm

Rank 3

Saker contour gauge, 25 cm

∼£22

Our view

The Saker gauge is an orange 25 cm ABS body with a lock, at £21.99 and 4.5 from 1,612 amazon.co.uk reviews. The size field says 25 cm or 10 inches and the package quantity is one model code, SAK5106-GJ16398-C012. A bullet also mentions 5 inch and 10 inch, which this card does not treat as a second gauge in the box. Weight is 400 g and rank is 12 in Marking Tools. UK reviews say the lock is worth paying for, and they also say the pins are stiff, the locking pin flaps when open, and the frame will not profile tight against a wall. There is no stated pin thickness or depth. It can copy a 25 cm outline if the frame sits square. It is a frustrating buy if you needed the gauge hard against a wall, or if you ordered it expecting two widths.

Pros

  • Locked ABS gauge at 25 cm / 10 inch
  • 4.5 from 1,612 reviews, rank 12 in Marking Tools
  • UK reviewers who wanted a lock say it is worth the extra

Cons

  • Pins are stiff, and the locking pin flaps when open
  • UK reviews say the frame will not profile tight against a wall
  • A bullet mentions 5 inch and 10 inch; included components list one model code
  • Pin thickness and depth are not stated

Best for: You want a single locked 25 cm gauge and the frame can sit square to the face.

Less suitable: You need the pins hard against a wall, or you expected a separate 5 inch gauge in the box.

Specifications

Model
Saker contour gauge, 25 cm
Brand
Saker
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,612)
Width
25 cm / 10 inch
Lock
Locking teeth
Pins
ABS
Joinable
No
Weight
400 g

Common questions

Does the Saker 25 cm gauge lock?

The bullets say you lock the teeth after contouring. The title calls the lock adjustable. UK reviews include buyers who say the lock is worth the extra cost.

Is the Saker gauge a 5 inch and a 10 inch?

The size field is 25 cm / 10 inches and the package quantity is one model code. The bullets also mention 5 inch and 10 inch. A second gauge is not listed under included components.

What is the Saker contour gauge made of?

The bullets say high-quality ABS plastic. The weight is 400 g and the colour field is orange.

DODOWIN contour gauge pair

Rank 4

DODOWIN contour gauge pair

∼£35

Our view

The DODOWIN 20 inch listing is two connectable 10 inch gauges at £34.99, with 15 spare blades, a tape measure, a screwdriver and screws. The bullets state ABS pins at 0.05 inch and a lock, and a technical field prints measurement accuracy of 1 mm with no test method. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 677 reviews. Only six of the review texts are headed United Kingdom, and those say the link between the two gauges comes apart and the plastic blades bend. Weight is 1.01 kg and the rank line is 178 in Sewing Tools, which is the node on the file rather than a reason to buy it for sewing. The extras are real on the bullet list, but the joint is the part the UK texts criticise. Buy the pair only if you need more than 10 inch and you will test the clip before you cut a board; a single DODOWIN 10 inch is the simpler buy when the obstacle fits one body.

Pros

  • Two 10 inch gauges sold as a 20 inch set
  • 15 spare blades, a tape, a screwdriver and screws in the bullets
  • 4.5 from 677 reviews
  • Pins stated at 0.05 inch, with inch and centimetre scales

Cons

  • UK review texts say the link comes apart
  • The same texts say the plastic blades bend
  • The 1 mm accuracy line has no test method
  • £34.99, with only six UK review texts in the file

Best for: You need more than 10 inch and you will test the clip on scrap before you trust it.

Less suitable: One 10 inch gauge covers the obstacle, or a joint that opens is unacceptable.

Specifications

Model
DODOWIN contour gauge pair
Brand
DODOWIN
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.5/5(677)
Width
Two 10 inch
Lock
Lock
Pins
ABS, 0.05 inch
Tension
Remove pins
Scale
Inch and cm
Joinable
Yes
Weight
1010 g
Extras
Blades and tape

Common questions

What is in the DODOWIN 20 inch box?

The bullets list two connectable 10 inch gauges, 15 extra blades, a tape measure, a screwdriver and some screws. The weight is 1.01 kg.

Do the two DODOWIN gauges stay joined?

The bullets say you can join DODOWIN gauges. One of the six UK reviews in the saved listing says the connection is not long enough and the halves come apart, and that the plastic bends. The other UK texts in that file are short praise, including tiling.

Does DODOWIN state an accuracy?

The technical table says measurement accuracy 1 mm. That is a listing field, not a laboratory result. Blade thickness in the bullets is 0.05 inch.

JOREST contour gauge, 10 and 5 inch

Rank 5

JOREST contour gauge, 10 and 5 inch

∼£24

Our view

The connectable JOREST set is a 5 inch gauge and a 10 inch gauge that the bullets say you can use apart or splice to 15 inch, at £23.99. Blade thickness is stated at 0.05 inch, the splice gap is stated under 0.06 inch, and a screwdriver adjusts tightness. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 6,283 reviews, and the same rank line as the single JOREST, 3 in Marking Tools. Package weight is 820 g. UK reviews praise laminate around doorways, and one buyer returned the set because the smaller lock arrived with parts missing. A review, not the spec line, mentions a pencil and a mini tape, so those are not treated as included. It is the set to buy when one 10 inch body is short, provided both locks work when you open the box, and about £9 more than the single JOREST is wasted money if you never join them.

Pros

  • 5 inch and 10 inch bodies that the bullets say splice to 15 inch
  • 4.4 from 6,283 reviews
  • 0.05 inch blades and screwdriver tension
  • Inch and centimetre scales

Cons

  • One UK review says the smaller lock arrived with parts missing
  • £23.99, about £9 more than the single JOREST 10 inch
  • A pencil and mini tape appear in a review, not in the spec line
  • Listed material is not in the technical table

Best for: You need 5, 10 and 15 inch from one box and you will check the small lock on day one.

Less suitable: A single 10 inch gauge is enough, or you cannot accept a half that will not lock.

Specifications

Model
JOREST contour gauge, 10 and 5 inch
Brand
JOREST
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.4/5(6,283)
Width
5, 10 or 15 inch
Lock
Lock, small disputed
Pins
0.05 inch
Tension
Screwdriver
Scale
Inch and cm
Joinable
Yes
Weight
820 g
Extras
Two gauges

Common questions

What lengths does the JOREST connectable set give?

The bullets say the 5 inch and 10 inch tools can be used apart or spliced to 15 inch. They state a splice gap under 0.06 inch and a blade thickness of 0.05 inch.

Can you adjust the JOREST connectable pins?

Yes. The bullets say blade looseness is adjusted with a screwdriver. That differs from the single JOREST 10 inch, which says factory tightness and no manual adjust.

Does the smaller JOREST gauge lock?

The title says with lock. One UK review returned the set because the smaller gauge mechanism would not lock and parts looked missing. The star line is 4.4 from 6,283 reviews.

AI Gear contour gauge, 10 inch

Rank 6

AI Gear contour gauge, 10 inch

∼£17

Our view

AI Gear’s 10 inch gauge is the listing with the largest review file here, 4.4 from 5,461 amazon.co.uk reviews, at £16.99. The bullets say 25.4 cm and Allen-key screws at the ends that loosen or tighten the pins. UK reviews say it is easy around door frames, that the key is thin and easy to lose, and that one bathroom quadrant was inaccurate enough for cardboard to work better. Weight is 360 g and the package is 28.5 × 14 × 2.5 cm. The technical table does not state a material, a pin thickness, a depth or a scale, and rank is 8 in Marking Tools. Tighten the screws before you lift the gauge and the outline can travel; leave them loose, or lose the key, and the pins shift. It suits a door-frame scribe if you will keep the key, and it is the wrong tool when you need a stated depth or a material on the spec line.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 5,461 reviews, the largest count in this set
  • 10 inch / 25.4 cm with Allen-key pin tension
  • UK reviews find it easy around door frames
  • 360 g, lighter than most 10 inch bodies here

Cons

  • The Allen key is thin and easy to lose
  • One review says a bathroom quadrant was less accurate than cardboard
  • Material, pin thickness, depth and scale are not in the technical table
  • Pins can shift if you do not tighten the screws

Best for: You want the biggest review file on a 10 inch gauge and you will keep the Allen key.

Less suitable: You need a stated depth, a named material, or a clamp you can close without a loose key.

Specifications

Model
AI Gear contour gauge, 10 inch
Brand
AI Gear
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.4/5(5,461)
Width
10 inch / 25.4 cm
Lock
No separate lock
Tension
Allen key
Joinable
No
Weight
360 g
Extras
Allen key

Common questions

How do you tighten the AI Gear contour gauge?

The bullets say Allen key screws at the ends loosen or tighten the pins. UK reviews say the key is thin and easy to lose, and that pins can shift if you do not tighten them.

What is the AI Gear gauge made of?

The technical table does not state a material. The listing question about materials is unanswered in that table, so the material is not stated

What width does AI Gear state?

The bullets say 10 inch / 25.4 cm. Package dimensions are 28.5 x 14 x 2.5 cm and the weight is 360 g. The style name is 10 inch Red.

JOREST contour gauge, 10 inch

Rank 7

JOREST contour gauge, 10 inch

∼£15

Our view

The single JOREST 10 inch gauge is the orange locked body at £14.99, with blades stated at 0.05 inch and scales in inches and centimetres on both sides. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 2,076 reviews and rank 3 in Marking Tools. Tightness is factory-set; this listing says you do not adjust it, unlike the connectable JOREST pair. The package is 31.3 × 13.4 × 2.4 cm and 410 g. UK reviews use it for fireplace wallpaper and for vinyl at door jambs, and they mention a lock button. One review reports missing teeth, and reviewers say 0.05 inch is workable for pipes and coarse for detailed moulding. The title mentions measuring an angle, but the table has no degree scale: it copies an outline. It suits a single 10 inch job with a lock you do not want to tune, and it is the wrong box if you needed the 5 inch half as well.

Pros

  • Locked 10 inch ABS gauge, blades stated at 0.05 inch
  • 4.4 from 2,076 reviews, rank 3 in Marking Tools
  • Inch and centimetre scales on both sides
  • Factory pin tension, so there is no screw to set

Cons

  • You cannot loosen the pins if they are too stiff
  • One review reports missing teeth
  • No stated depth and no degree scale
  • 0.05 inch blades are coarse for fine detail

Best for: You want one locked 10 inch gauge and you accept factory pin tension.

Less suitable: You need a second length, adjustable tension, or a needle gauge for fine beads.

Specifications

Model
JOREST contour gauge, 10 inch
Brand
JOREST
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.4/5(2,076)
Width
10 inch
Lock
Lock
Pins
ABS, 0.05 inch
Tension
Factory set
Scale
Inch and cm
Joinable
No
Weight
410 g
Extras
Gauge only

Common questions

Can you adjust the JOREST 10 inch pin tension?

The bullets say tightness is set in manufacture and that you do not adjust it. This is the single 10 inch model, not the connectable 10+5 inch set, which does mention a screwdriver.

How thick are the JOREST 10 inch blades?

The bullets state 0.05 inch. UK reviews say that is fine for pipes and too coarse for detailed work, and that sticky slides can bend the outer pins if you force them.

Does the JOREST 10 inch gauge measure angles in degrees?

The title mentions measuring an angle. The technical table has no degree scale. It copies an outline. Scales on the body are inches and centimetres.

Amazon Basics contour gauge set

Rank 8

Amazon Basics contour gauge set

∼£13

Our view

The Amazon Basics set gives you a 5 inch and a 10 inch gauge for £13.29, and neither one locks. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 2,001 reviews. The listing calls both friction-fit, with centimetre and inch scales, four magnets on the 10 inch back and two on the 5 inch. Item weight is 625 g and the model line is DS-CTG001. UK reviews say odd shapes around pipes and flooring are easy to capture and harder to transfer, because nothing clamps the pins. The magnets store the tool on steel; they do not hold the outline. Rank 1 in Gouges is the node printed on the listing, not a test of copying accuracy. Trace before you lift the gauge and the pair is enough; carry the shape to another room and you want a lock instead.

Pros

  • Two widths, 12.7 cm and 25.4 cm, at £13.29
  • 4.3 from 2,001 reviews
  • Scales on both sides and magnets for storage on steel
  • The title states non-locking, so the spec matches the tool

Cons

  • No lock, so the outline is easy to lose on the way to the saw
  • Pin thickness and depth are not stated
  • The rank line is in Gouges, not a layout-tool test

Best for: You will trace the board while the gauge is still pressed to the obstacle.

Less suitable: The cut happens at a bench in another room.

Specifications

Model
Amazon Basics contour gauge set
Brand
Amazon Basics
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.3/5(2,001)
Width
5 and 10 inch
Lock
Non-locking
Pins
ABS
Scale
Inch and cm
Joinable
No
Weight
625 g
Extras
Two gauges

Common questions

Do the Amazon Basics gauges lock?

The title says non-locking friction-fit. The bullets say the pins are held during marking. UK reviews say odd shapes are easy to capture and harder to transfer without a lock.

What sizes are in the Amazon Basics set?

The listing states one 12.7 cm gauge and one 25.4 cm gauge, which the bullets also call 5 inch and 10 inch. Both have metric and imperial scales.

Do the Amazon Basics gauges have magnets?

Yes. The bullets state four magnets on the back of the 10 inch gauge and two on the 5 inch gauge, for storage on steel.

MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch

Rank 9

MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch

∼£10

Our view

The MECHEER 10 inch gauge is the locked body reviewers use around door frames, at £9.99 with 4.2 from 1,015 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets state a 25 cm length, 0.2 cm pins and a 6 cm maximum depth, and they tell you to measure the obstacle first. A screwdriver is in the included-components line, the listed size is 12 × 2 × 25 cm, and the weight is 530 g. Inch and centimetre scales sit on both sides. The same reviews that praise the lock also say the pins are very stiff when unlocked and too thick for a fine profile. The listing warns you not to pull the lock to the end of its travel, so the clamp is a stop, not a vice you wind home. At this price and review count it is the best value in the set when 6 cm of depth covers the moulding, and a poor match when the architrave is deeper or the beads are finer than 0.2 cm.

Pros

  • 10 inch / 25 cm with a stated 6 cm depth and 0.2 cm pins
  • Adjustable lock plus inch and centimetre scales
  • 4.2 from 1,015 reviews, rank 15 in Marking Tools
  • Screwdriver included at £9.99

Cons

  • UK reviews say the pins are stiff when unlocked and too thick for a fine profile
  • Stated depth stops at 6 cm
  • The listing says not to pull the lock fully home

Best for: You want a locked 10 inch gauge around a door frame and 6 cm of depth is enough.

Less suitable: The moulding is deeper than 6 cm, or finer than a 0.2 cm plastic pin.

Specifications

Model
MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch
Brand
MECHEER
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,015)
Width
10 inch / 25 cm
Lock
Adjustable lock
Pins
ABS, 0.2 cm
Scale
Inch and cm
Joinable
No
Weight
530 g
Extras
Screwdriver

Common questions

How deep a shape can the MECHEER 10 inch copy?

The bullets state a maximum measuring depth of 6 cm and tell you to measure the obstacle first. The stated measurable length is 25 cm.

How do you use the MECHEER lock?

The listing says the lock keeps the shape, and it warns you not to pull the lock to the end of its travel. A screwdriver is listed in the included components. UK reviews say the lock helps around door frames and that the pins are very stiff when unlocked.

How thick are the MECHEER pins?

The bullets state a pin thickness of 0.2 cm. That is the listing figure, not a measured test.

TOPWAY contour gauge, 10 inch

Rank 10

TOPWAY contour gauge, 10 inch

∼£10

Our view

TOPWAY’s 10 inch gauge copies a flat door jamb at £9.99, then struggles when the same body is held vertically on skirting. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 191 reviews and rank 36 in Marking Tools. The bullets specify 250 mm, ABS and aluminium alloy, a zinc alloy lock, and a bolt that sets tightness. The package is 34.4 × 13.9 × 3.2 cm and 550 g. There is no model number, no stated pin thickness and no stated depth. UK reviews praise the lock and also say the teeth bend before they slide; one buyer left an elastic band on the pins. The tension bolt only helps while the teeth still move. It is a reasonable locked 10 inch tool on a flat jamb, and a weak choice once the pins have already taken a set.

Pros

  • 10 inch / 250 mm with a zinc alloy lock
  • Tightness adjusted by a bolt
  • 4.2 from 191 reviews at £9.99

Cons

  • UK reviews say the teeth bend before they slide
  • Harder to hold vertically on skirting than on a flat jamb
  • Pin thickness and depth are not stated
  • No model number in the technical block

Best for: You are marking a flat door jamb and you will stop if a tooth bends.

Less suitable: You need a stated depth, or you are holding the gauge vertically on skirting all afternoon.

Specifications

Model
TOPWAY contour gauge, 10 inch
Brand
TOPWAY
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(191)
Width
10 inch / 250 mm
Lock
Zinc alloy lock
Pins
ABS
Tension
Bolt
Joinable
No
Weight
550 g

Common questions

Does the TOPWAY 10 inch gauge lock?

The bullets say a zinc alloy lock, and that tightness is adjusted by a bolt. UK reviews praise the lock and also say the teeth bend before they slide.

What is the TOPWAY gauge made of?

The bullets say high-quality ABS plastic and aluminium alloy, with a zinc alloy lock, and they describe it as non-scratch. Blade thickness is not stated.

How long is the TOPWAY contour gauge?

The title says 10 inch and the bullets say 250 mm. Package dimensions are 34.4 x 13.9 x 3.2 cm and the weight is 550 g.

SULIVES contour gauge, 6 inch

Rank 11

SULIVES contour gauge, 6 inch

Our view

A 6 inch ABS gauge at £8.09 is the short body in this amazon.co.uk set, and UK reviewers who wanted a longer tool said so. The listing shows 3.6 from 67 reviews and rank 47 in Marking Tools, with a package of 17.8 × 10.3 × 2.8 cm and a weight of 200 g. The bullets promise a metal lock. Reviews of this 6 inch ASIN say the tool that arrived had no metal lock, and one buyer says a securing screw snapped after two uses. That conflict is why this card does not treat a lock as present. For a small pipe you can trace before the pins move, the width is the other limit. It is the cheapest shelf price here, and a weak match if the outline has to survive a walk to the saw.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this set at £8.09
  • 6 inch ABS body listed at 200 g
  • 67 amazon.co.uk reviews, so the missing-lock complaint is not a single line

Cons

  • Bullets say a metal lock; UK reviews say there is none
  • One review says a securing screw snapped after two uses
  • Reviewers wanted a longer gauge
  • 3.6 from 67 is the lowest star line in this set

Best for: You only need a short outline and you will check the tool for a lock before you rely on one.

Less suitable: You are copying a door lining, or the shape has to stay put on the way to the bench.

Specifications

Model
SULIVES contour gauge, 6 inch
Brand
SULIVES
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.6/5(67)
Width
6 inch
Lock
Lock disputed
Pins
ABS
Joinable
No
Weight
200 g

Common questions

Does the SULIVES 6 inch gauge have a metal lock?

The amazon.co.uk bullets say a robust metal lock. Several United Kingdom reviews of this 6 inch ASIN say there is no lock, and one says a securing screw snapped. Treat the lock as unconfirmed until you see the tool.

How wide is the SULIVES profile gauge?

The title says 6 inch. The package dimensions are 17.8 x 10.3 x 2.8 cm and the weight is 200 g. Reviewers also say it is smaller than they expected.

What is the SULIVES gauge made of?

The bullets say high-quality ABS. The technical table does not add a separate material field or a blade thickness.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings, captured on 19 October 2026, were scored from 0 to 100 in four parts. Stars are the rating divided by 5, times 40. The sample part is a log of the review count, scaled so 6,283 reviews score 20. Fit covers width, a lock the reviews support, adjustable tension, stated pin thickness, scales and depth, with penalties when a lock claim conflicts with the reviews. Value is a price band in this set. There was no laboratory check of copying accuracy. The top pick is the highest total. Best value is the highest value score among the others. The MECHEER listing at £9.99 with 1,015 reviews is the only one on 15 for value. The DODOWIN 10 inch listing at £15.98 with 4,456 reviews scores 13 on value and takes the top pick on the higher total.

1

Amazon star rating

40%

The listing average is placed on a 0–40 band: the stars divided by 5, times 40, rounded. A 4.5 becomes 36. Stars are not a measured copying tolerance.

2

Review sample

20%

A log of the review count, scaled so the largest file in this set, 6,283 reviews, scores 20. A 4.6 from 32 ratings cannot outrank a 4.5 from several thousand on this part.

3

Fit for the job

25%

Width, a lock the saved UK reviews support, adjustable tension, a stated pin thickness, scales and a stated depth. Points come off when a lock claim conflicts with reviews, when pins bend or will not sit, or when the listing contradicts itself.

4

Value in this set

15%

A price band against the review count on these eleven listings. Under £10 with 1,000 or more reviews scores 15. £30 or more scores 5. A rating under 4.0 scores 4.

Independent review
Last updated: 22 October 2026
8 sources checked

Contour gauge buying guide

Choose the width, then the lock, then the pins. Scales and extras come after that. The table is the eleven listings. None of these gauges was checked in a lab, and a star average is not a copying tolerance.

What is a contour gauge?

A contour gauge, also called a profile gauge, is a row of plastic pins in a frame. You press the pins against a pipe, a door lining or a skirting edge, then trace that outline onto a board or a tile. In the UK this is a floor and trim tool. It is not a measuring lab, and it is not a stamped trade measure. Quality is a shape that forms when you press and stays put while you trace. A printed accuracy of 1 mm is not a test result.

Best for

  • First-time laminate fitting, where you copy door linings and pipes and still leave an expansion gap
  • An occasional job that needs one lockable 10 inch gauge and not a second frame

Not ideal for

  • Large-format porcelain with no spare tile, or joinery these plastic pins cannot hold
  • Anyone treating a printed 1 mm line as a measured accuracy

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting a lock the reviews contradict

    A photo of a metal lock is not the tool in the box. On the 6 inch listing the bullets say a metal lock and several UK reviews say there is none. One saved review of a 250 mm gauge says the bars still move when locked. Judge the lock against those texts, then test it on scrap.

  2. 2

    Using only a 6 inch gauge on a door lining

    A 5 or 6 inch body is for a tight spot. A door lining is usually a 10 inch, about 250 mm, job. Reviewers of the short gauge said they wanted a longer tool. Joining frames for a small obstacle adds a joint you do not need.

  3. 3

    Mirroring the trace

    Keep the same orientation from the obstacle to the board. A mirrored outline wastes the piece. On laminate, leave an expansion gap of about 12 mm even when the shape looks right. Cut on the waste side of the line.

What to weigh up

Width and lock

High

Width is the first decision. A 10 inch body, about 250 mm, covers a typical door lining. A 5 or 6 inch body is for a tight spot, and a short gauge is a poor match for an architrave. Two frames that clip together reach further and add a joint you should test before you cut. One connectable set is described as 5, 10 or 15 inch. A pair of 10 inch frames is sold as a longer set. Do not join gauges for a small obstacle. A review says error can creep in once several gauges are clipped together.

Pins and one frame or two

High

Pin pitch and stiffness decide whether the outline is usable. Pins stated at about 0.05 inch or 0.2 cm cannot copy a tighter curve than their own thickness. Thick pins facet a bead. Pins that will not slide, and pins that bend, both spoil the trace. A tension screw or an Allen key lets you loosen delicate work and tighten it before you lift the gauge. A key that is easy to lose, or a lock you must not pull fully home, is part of the buy. Factory-set tension means you cannot loosen a sticky row.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Laminate at door linings

You are fitting a floor and you need a lockable 10 inch outline of a door lining or a pipe, with an expansion gap still left in the room. The DODOWIN 10 inch gauge is £15.98, with a stated depth of about 10 cm and 4.5 from 4,456 reviews. UK reviews call the pins a little coarse and the body light for daily trade use.

Notching a tile

You are copying a tight curve onto a tile, and you will keep a spare because thick pins facet a bead. The single JOREST 10 inch gauge states 0.05 inch blades, at £14.99, with 4.4 from 2,076 reviews. Reviewers say that pitch is workable for pipes and coarse for fine moulding. It is one frame, with factory-set tension.

One lockable 10 inch gauge

You want a single lockable 10 inch gauge and you do not need a second frame. The MECHEER gauge is £9.99, with 4.2 from 1,015 reviews, a stated 6 cm depth and 0.2 cm pins. UK reviews say the lock helps around door frames and that the pins are stiff and too thick for a fine profile.

Common questions about contour gauges

Which contour gauge is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the DODOWIN 10 inch contour gauge at £15.98. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 4,456 reviews. The bullets state a lock, a screwdriver for pin tension, dual scales and about 10 cm of depth. The score is 88 out of 100 from stars, review count, fit and value. It is not a laboratory measurement of copying accuracy. UK reviews call the pins a little coarse and the body a bit flimsy for daily trade use. The box is one tool, not the 20 inch pair.
Which contour gauge is the best value?
The best value is the MECHEER 10 inch gauge at £9.99. It is the only listing in this set on the top value band: under £10 with more than 1,000 reviews. amazon.co.uk shows 4.2 from 1,015 reviews. The bullets state a 25 cm length, 0.2 cm pins, a 6 cm maximum depth and an adjustable lock. UK reviews say the lock helps around door frames and that the pins are stiff and too thick for a fine profile. Do not pull the lock fully home.
How wide a contour gauge do I need?
A 10 inch gauge, about 250 mm, is the usual width for a door lining. A 5 or 6 inch gauge is for a tight spot, and reviewers of the short listing wanted a longer tool. Two frames that clip together cover a longer outline and add a joint. One set is sold as 5, 10 or 15 inch. Another is two 10 inch gauges. A rule of thumb: one laminate room is usually a lockable 10 inch gauge. Scales along the frame do not measure the curve.
Does a contour gauge need a lock?
A lock matters when you carry the outline to the saw. Friction-fit pins are a fair buy when the title says they do not lock. You then trace while the gauge is still pressed to the obstacle. A lock the listing advertised and reviewers say was missing is a different problem. On the 6 inch listing, the bullets say a metal lock and several UK reviews say there is none. Do not treat that lock as present. Test a new lock on scrap before you cut the board.
Is a stated 1 mm accuracy a measured tolerance?
No. One listing prints a measurement accuracy of 1 mm. That is a field on the product page, not a laboratory result, and this comparison does not treat it as a verified tolerance. What matters is a shape that forms when you press and stays put while you trace. Pins of about 0.05 inch or 0.2 cm cannot copy a tighter curve than their own thickness. No British Standard for this tool turned up in these sources. It is not a stamped trade measure.
What if the lock described on the listing is missing?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 11, says goods must match the description. A lock the listing advertised and reviewers say was missing is that pattern. Section 9 covers satisfactory quality, including fitness for the usual job and freedom from minor defects. This comparison did not open the boxes. Read the recent UK reviews for the exact listing before you rely on a lock photo. Foreseeable problems are pinched fingers, a snapped screw and a bad cut from a wrong outline.
When should I stop and call a professional?
Call a professional for large-format porcelain if you have no spare tile, for fire-stopped or structural boxing, when the joinery needs a tolerance these plastic pins cannot hold, or when a listed moulding must be recorded rather than roughly copied. A contour gauge copies an outline you can cut on the waste side. A combination square is the tool for a locked 90° or 45° on a straight edge. On laminate, leave an expansion gap of about 12 mm even after the outline looks right.
How much does a contour gauge cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the eleven listings captured on 19 October 2026, prices run from £8.09 to £34.99. Entry rows sit about £8 to £10. Mid rows sit about £13 to £22. The upper end of this set is a joinable pair at £23.99 and a two-gauge set at £34.99. You pay for two frames at that end. Outside this table, Wickes listed a Vitrex XTREME 200 mm at £13.00 with plastic teeth and a lever lock on 20 October 2026. A low price does not fix a lock the reviews dispute.

Our verdict

The top pick is the DODOWIN contour gauge, 10 inch, at £15.98. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 4,456 reviews. The bullets state a lock, a screwdriver for pin tension and about 10 cm of depth. UK reviews call the pins a little coarse and the body a bit flimsy for daily trade use. The best value is the MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch, at £9.99, with 4.2 from 1,015 reviews. It is the only listing on the top value band in this set. UK reviews say the pins are stiff and too thick for a fine profile, and the stated depth stops at 6 cm.

Best overall
Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm

Tracer contour gauge, 250 mm

View offer
Best value
MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch

MECHEER contour gauge, 10 inch

Best value at £9.99: the only listing on the top value band, with 4.2 from 1,015 reviews, once 6 cm of depth is enough.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsMeasuring and marking toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to contour gauges

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were captured on 19 October 2026.

  1. Wikipedia — Profile gauge (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 11 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. General Product Safety Regulations 2005, regulation 5 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. CAP Code, section 3 — misleading advertising (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Wickes — Vitrex XTREME profile gauge, 200 mm (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Homebuilding & Renovating — How to lay laminate flooring (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk search — contour gauge (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not measure these gauges in a lab.