Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Tape measure comparison 2026

The best tape measures, compared.

Top pick: Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m – Highest score in this comparison, 9.6 out of 10, from 4,487 amazon.co.uk reviews. Best value: Amazon Basics 5 m MID – A MID claim at £3.50, with 4.6 from 10,372 reviews and a self-lock. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A tape measure here is a retractable steel pocket tape for measuring and marking, sold on amazon.co.uk. Most buyers want a 5 m pocket tape for furniture and rooms, or an 8 m wide blade they can use alone. The words high and standard are not a class. Standout figures such as 2.8 m or 3.3 m are manufacturer claims, not a British Standard. A household shelf does not require a trade-verified measure. Selling goods by length does, and that is a question for Trading Standards. When the next line has to be square to the edge, a [try square](/hub/measuring-and-marking-tools/try-square) is a different comparison. You hook one end, pull the blade, and lock it while you mark. Soft tailor's tapes are a different product and are not in this set. Five metres covers furniture and most rooms if you can move the hook. Eight metres suits a longer wall and site work.

A tape measure here is a retractable steel pocket tape for measuring and marking, sold on amazon.co.uk. Most buyers want a 5 m pocket tape for furniture and rooms, or an 8 m wide blade they can use alone.

Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m

Best overall

Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m
9.6/10∼ £4

38 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

11 of 11: Best tape measures compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m
OX Trade 8 m twin pack
Amazon Basics 10 m MID
Best value
Amazon Basics 5 m MID
Stanley FatMax 8 m 0-33-726
Stanley FatMax 5 m magnetic 0-33-719
Stanley PowerLock 5 m 0-33-553
Stanley FatMax 8 m metric 0-33-728
Stanley FatMax 5 m metric 0-33-720
G4GADGET 5 m
Rolson 50535 5 m
9.6/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
∼ £4
∼ £10
∼ £9
∼ £4
∼ £19
∼ £14
∼ £10
∼ £20
∼ £17
∼ £5
∼ £2
4.8(4,487)
4.6(11,423)
4.6(10,391)
4.6(10,372)
4.6(4,743)
4.6(4,740)
4.6(1,931)
4.6(1,782)
4.6(1,629)
4.5(4,543)
4.4(13,831)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best tape measures in detail

Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m

Rank 1

Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m

Our view

The pink Amazon Basics LTK051 is a short household tape, about 4.8 metres and 19 mm, that reviewers buy so the colour stops it being borrowed. The price is £4.48 and the star line is 4.8 from 4,487 reviews, the highest in this set. It shows SAE and metric scales, an auto lock, a belt clip and a lanyard, at a listed 180 g. The title says 4.8 m and a bullet says 4.87 m. Accuracy is written as ±1/16 inch every 10 feet, which is not Class I, II, or III. One verified review says the spring failed on the second use and left the blade sticking out.

Pros

  • 4.8 from 4,487 reviews
  • Pink case, which reviewers bought so it would not be borrowed
  • Centimetres and inches, belt clip and lanyard

Cons

  • No EC class
  • One review: spring failed and the blade stuck out
  • Shorter than a 5 m or 8 m site tape

Best for: A short household tape you want to recognise by colour

Less suitable: Class II site work or an 8 m pull

Specifications

Model
Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m
Brand
Amazon Basics
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.8/5(4,487)
Length
4.8 m
Accuracy
±1/16 in per 10 ft
Blade
19 mm
Scale
SAE and metric
Lock
Auto
Carry
Clip and lanyard
Weight
180 g

Common questions

Is it 4.8 or 4.87 metres?

The title says 4.8 m. The bullet says 4.87 m.

Does it show centimetres and inches?

The bullets say SAE and metric measurements.

What accuracy class is stated?

The attribute gives ±1/16 inch every 10 feet. It does not say Class I, II, or III.

OX Trade 8 m twin pack

Rank 2

OX Trade 8 m twin pack

∼£10

Our view

OX-T439706-E puts two 8 metre, 25 mm tapes in one pack at £9.99, with Class 2 on the attribute and metric and imperial scales. The star line is 4.6 from 11,423 reviews. Reviewers who are not describing another OX length praise the lock and the readable numbers, and more than one compares the price with a Stanley. The listing weight is 780 g for the pack, and no standout distance is stated. The hook is not described as magnetic. Some titles in the listing material say OX Trade 5M or metric only, so those belong to other variants.

Pros

  • Class 2 and 8 m, two in the pack, £9.99
  • 4.6 from 11,423 reviews
  • Metric and imperial, nylon-coated 25 mm blade

Cons

  • No standout figure
  • 780 g on the listing for the pack
  • Some reviews describe other OX sizes
  • No magnetic hook stated

Best for: Two 8 m Class 2 tapes for less than one FatMax

Less suitable: A single 32 mm tape with a stated standout

Specifications

Model
OX Trade 8 m twin pack
Brand
OX
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.6/5(11,423)
Length
8 m, two tapes
Accuracy
Class 2
Blade
25 mm
Hook
End hook
Scale
Metric and imperial
Lock
Thumb lock
Carry
Belt clip
Weight
780 g pack

Common questions

How many tapes are in the box?

The title says twin pack and the number of items is 2.

What class and width are stated?

The attribute says Class 2. The bullets say a 25 mm nylon-coated blade with metric and imperial markings.

Does the listing state a standout?

No standout distance is given. The bullets describe a thumb lock, a side button and a shock-absorbing return.

Amazon Basics 10 m MID

Rank 3

Amazon Basics 10 m MID

Our view

Amazon Basics DS-TAM12-33ft is the long tape in this set: 10 metres, self-locking, with a MID claim, at £8.80 and about 481 g. It has 4.6 from 10,391 reviews. Metric and imperial scales, a belt clip and a wrist strap are listed, and the case is about 10.7 by 9.7 by 5 cm. Reviews that describe this length call it heavier than expected, and the release hard to press. There is no standout figure, and the blade-width attribute of 3.82 inches is not a usable steel width. Text about the 5 metre model is not treated as a fact about this tape.

Pros

  • 10 m at £8.80 with a MID claim
  • 4.6 from 10,391 reviews
  • Self-lock, belt clip and wrist strap

Cons

  • About 481 g
  • No standout figure
  • Blade-width attribute of 3.82 inches is not a usable width
  • Release called hard to press

Best for: Occasional long runs when an 8 m tape is still short

Less suitable: A light pocket tape

Specifications

Model
Amazon Basics 10 m MID
Brand
Amazon Basics
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(10,391)
Length
10 m
Accuracy
MID claim
Scale
Metric and imperial
Lock
Self-lock
Carry
Clip and strap
Weight
481 g

Common questions

How long is it?

The title and bullet say 10 metres, also given as 33 feet.

How heavy is it?

The attribute says 481 g. The bullet says 480.8 g. Reviews call it heavier than expected.

What accuracy is claimed?

The listing says MID accuracy. There is no Class I, II, or III line and no certificate in the listing.

Amazon Basics 5 m MID

Rank 4

Amazon Basics 5 m MID

Our view

The Amazon Basics DS-TAM12-16ft holds a 5 metre blade out by itself until the release is pressed, which is how reviewers who name this length measure furniture. It costs £3.50 and scores 4.6 from 10,372 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing claims MID accuracy, metric and inch scales, a belt clip and a wrist strap, at about 200 g. Several reviews call the release hard to press. The title says 5 metres while the attribute blade length says 16 feet. No standout distance is given, and there is no declaration of conformity, so MID stays a listing claim. Review text that describes the 10 metre model is not treated as evidence for this tape.

Pros

  • £3.50 with a MID claim
  • 4.6 from 10,372 reviews
  • Self-lock, belt clip and wrist strap

Cons

  • No standout figure
  • Release called hard to press
  • Title length and the 16 feet attribute disagree
  • Some review text is about the 10 m model and is not counted here

Best for: Everyday 5 m measuring when you want a stated MID claim at a low price

Less suitable: A wide-blade site tape with a printed Class II line and a standout figure

Specifications

Model
Amazon Basics 5 m MID
Brand
Amazon Basics
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(10,372)
Length
5 m
Accuracy
MID claim
Scale
Metric and inch
Lock
Self-lock
Carry
Clip and strap
Weight
200 g

Common questions

Is the blade 5 metres or 16 feet?

The title and bullet say 5 metres. The attribute blade length says 16 feet. Both are in the listing.

What does MID mean here?

The title and attribute say MID accuracy. There is no declaration of conformity and the listing does not say Class I or Class II.

Does it stay out on its own?

The bullets describe a self-lock that holds until you press the release. Reviews also call the release hard to press.

Stanley FatMax 8 m 0-33-726

Rank 5

Stanley FatMax 8 m 0-33-726

∼£19

Our view

Stanley 0-33-726 is the 8 metre, 32 mm FatMax in this set for a longer wall in one pull, with a 3.3 metre standout in the title, a lever lock and a 3-rivet true-zero hook. The amazon.co.uk price is £18.78, and the star line is 4.6 from 4,743 reviews. Reviewers praise a blade that resists flex and a case that feels solid for a longer room. The accuracy attribute says ±0.5 mm and does not print Class II. The title does not say magnetic, and one review title says it is not. The listing weight is 272 g, lighter than the 5 metre FatMax rows, and that figure is kept as printed. A limited lifetime warranty is on the listing.

Pros

  • 8 m and 32 mm with a 3.3 m standout claim
  • True-zero hook and lever lock
  • 4.6 from 4,743 reviews
  • Limited lifetime warranty on the listing

Cons

  • No Class II line in this listing
  • Magnetic hook not stated
  • 272 g sits oddly against the heavier 5 m FatMax listings
  • One review title says it is not magnetic

Best for: An 8 m wide-blade tape when you want the stated 3.3 m standout

Less suitable: A printed Class II line, a magnetic hook, or a 19 mm pocket tape

Specifications

Model
Stanley FatMax 8 m 0-33-726
Brand
STANLEY
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.6/5(4,743)
Length
8 m
Accuracy
±0.5 mm
Blade
32 mm
Standout
3.3 m
Hook
True-zero
Scale
Metric and imperial
Lock
Lever
Weight
272 g

Common questions

Does this model state a magnetic hook?

The title and bullets do not say magnetic. They describe a 3-rivet true-zero hook. One review title says it is not magnetic.

What accuracy is on the listing?

The attribute says ±0.5 mm. This listing does not say Class II.

What standout does the title claim?

The title says 3.3 m standout, with a lever lock and a 32 mm blade.

Stanley FatMax 5 m magnetic 0-33-719

Rank 6

Stanley FatMax 5 m magnetic 0-33-719

∼£14

Our view

Stanley 0-33-719 is a 5 metre, 32 mm FatMax that the title sells for steel work: Class II, a magnetic hook, and a 3.3 metre standout claim, at £14.42 and 390 g. It has 4.6 from 4,740 reviews. Reviews praise the wide blade and a hook that holds on metal. The same listing records a hook that latches hard and is awkward to release, and a lock that feels like two actions. One review says the blade collapses at about 1.5 metres, against the 3.3 metre title. One review title says the hook is not magnetic, while the product title says it is. Review titles shared with the 8 metre FatMax are not used as evidence for this model.

Pros

  • Class II on the listing
  • 32 mm blade and a 3.3 m standout claim
  • Magnetic hook named in the title
  • 4.6 from 4,740 reviews

Cons

  • One review: collapses near 1.5 m
  • Hook hard to release, in one review
  • One title says not magnetic
  • 390 g

Best for: A 5 m Class II tape with a magnet for steel

Less suitable: A light 19 mm pocket tape, or metric-only marking

Specifications

Model
Stanley FatMax 5 m magnetic 0-33-719
Brand
STANLEY
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.6/5(4,740)
Length
5 m
Accuracy
Class II
Blade
32 mm
Standout
3.3 m claimed
Hook
Magnetic
Scale
Metric and imperial
Lock
Positive
Carry
Cushion grip
Weight
390 g

Common questions

Is the hook magnetic?

The title says magnetic hook end. One review title says it is not magnetic, and another describes a hook that latches hard on edges.

What class is stated?

The bullet and the attribute say Class II.

Will it stand out 3.3 metres?

The title says 3.3 m standout. One UK review says the blade collapses at about 1.5 m.

Stanley PowerLock 5 m 0-33-553

Rank 7

Stanley PowerLock 5 m 0-33-553

∼£10

Our view

Stanley PowerLock 0-33-553 is the compact 5 metre, 19 mm tape in this set, listed at 209 g and £9.51, and reviewers reach for it when a FatMax feels too bulky in a pocket. The star line is 4.6 from 1,931 reviews. Bullets give metric and imperial markings, and reviews mention bold marks at 10 cm and 12 inches. It does not state an accuracy class or a standout distance. A bullet says a chrome case, the attribute says plastic, and UK reviews describe silver plastic. One review says the newer print is smaller than an older PowerLock, and the lock is called PowerLock in the bullets and Micro in the attribute.

Pros

  • Clear dual scale, in the bullets and in reviews
  • Lighter and smaller than the FatMax tapes in this set
  • 4.6 from 1,931 reviews

Cons

  • No accuracy class
  • Chrome-case bullet versus plastic in the attribute and in reviews
  • One review says the new print is smaller than an older PowerLock

Best for: A compact 5 m Stanley with both scales

Less suitable: A 32 mm blade, a stated class, or a magnetic hook

Specifications

Model
Stanley PowerLock 5 m 0-33-553
Brand
STANLEY
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,931)
Length
5 m
Blade
19 mm
Scale
Metric and imperial
Lock
PowerLock
Carry
Pocket case
Weight
209 g

Common questions

Is the case metal?

A bullet says a durable chrome case. The attribute says plastic, and UK reviews say the case is silver plastic.

Does it show both scales?

The bullets say 5 m / 16 ft with metric and imperial markings. A review also notes bold marks at 10 cm and 12 inches.

What accuracy class is stated?

The accuracy attribute does not give a class or a tolerance. It is recorded as not stated.

Stanley FatMax 8 m metric 0-33-728

Rank 8

Stanley FatMax 8 m metric 0-33-728

∼£20

Our view

Stanley 0-33-728 is an 8 metre metric-only FatMax, 32 mm, with a 3-rivet true-zero hook, Mylar, a toggle lock and a lifetime limited warranty, at £20.04. The star line is 4.6 from 1,782 reviews, and the listing weight is 272 g. The listing does not state a class or a standout distance. There are no written review texts, so failures cannot be checked beyond the star line. The attribute also gives the blade width as 1.25 inches, which matches 32 mm. It is the dearest tape in the set, and it fits a buyer who wants metric markings without needing a class on the same listing.

Pros

  • 8 m metric-only blade at 32 mm
  • 3-rivet true-zero hook and Mylar
  • Lifetime limited warranty on the listing
  • 4.6 from 1,782 reviews

Cons

  • No class and no standout in this listing
  • No written reviews beyond the star line
  • Highest price in the set at £20.04
  • 272 g listing weight

Best for: An 8 m metric-only Stanley when you do not want an imperial scale

Less suitable: A buyer who needs Class II and a standout figure printed in the same listing

Specifications

Model
Stanley FatMax 8 m metric 0-33-728
Brand
STANLEY
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,782)
Length
8 m
Blade
32 mm
Hook
True-zero
Scale
Metric only
Lock
Toggle
Carry
Cushion grip
Weight
272 g

Common questions

Is the scale metric only?

The item type says metric only, 8 m, 32 mm wide.

What class and standout are stated?

This listing does not state a class or a standout distance. It does state a Mylar coating and a 3-rivet true-zero hook.

Are there written reviews?

The listing line is 4.6 from 1,782 reviews. No written review texts were available beyond that star line.

Stanley FatMax 5 m metric 0-33-720

Rank 9

Stanley FatMax 5 m metric 0-33-720

∼£17

Our view

Stanley 0-33-720 is a metric-only 5 metre FatMax with a 32 mm blade, Class 2 on the listing, a toggle lock and a tru-zero hook, at £16.52 and 380 g. It has 4.6 from 1,629 reviews. Reviewers who wanted a stiff blade praise the standout and one-handed use. A bullet says the blade stays rigid up to 3.3 metres, while the item highlight says 4.2 metres when you work alone. One reviewer expected inches and was disappointed, and another says the blade broke within a month. It is bulky beside the PowerLock, and the hook is not described as magnetic.

Pros

  • Class 2 and a 32 mm metric blade
  • Tru-zero hook and belt clip
  • 4.6 from 1,629 reviews

Cons

  • 3.3 m and 4.2 m both appear as reach
  • 380 g in a pocket, which reviews mention
  • One review: broke within a month
  • No magnetic hook stated

Best for: A metric-only 5 m Class 2 tape with a wide blade

Less suitable: Dual-scale work, or a pocket-weight 19 mm tape

Specifications

Model
Stanley FatMax 5 m metric 0-33-720
Brand
STANLEY FATMAX
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,629)
Length
5 m
Accuracy
Class 2
Blade
32 mm
Standout
3.3 m or 4.2 m
Hook
True-zero
Scale
Metric only
Lock
Toggle
Carry
Belt clip
Weight
380 g

Common questions

Is it metric only?

The item type says metric. One reviewer expected inches and was disappointed.

How far does Stanley say it stands out?

A bullet says rigid up to 3.3 m. The item highlight says 4.2 m reach when working alone.

Is the hook magnetic?

The highlight says a tru-zero hook. It does not say magnetic.

G4GADGET 5 m

Rank 10

G4GADGET 5 m

Our view

G4GADGET’s 5 metre tape is the light listing here, at 150 g, with a claimed 2.8 metre standout and metric and imperial scales for £4.99. It has 4.5 from 4,543 reviews, and reviewers call it compact for ordinary DIY. The model code reads ClearTape-Pk-of12-8 while the item count is 1. Accuracy is the word standard, not a class. One review says the end broke and the blade recoiled into the case with no way to pull it out. Another calls the strip thin and wiggly at full extension, and the case attribute says metal while the bullets say a rubberised shell.

Pros

  • £4.99 with a stated 2.8 m standout
  • Metric and imperial
  • Compact weight listed at 150 g

Cons

  • No accuracy class
  • End broke and the blade was swallowed, in one review
  • Case attribute says metal; bullets say rubber
  • Model code disagrees with a single tape

Best for: A cheap 5 m tape with a standout number on the listing

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a class mark or a case material that matches the bullets

Specifications

Model
G4GADGET 5 m
Brand
G4GADGET
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.5/5(4,543)
Length
5 m
Accuracy
Standard, no class
Blade
19 mm
Standout
2.8 m claimed
Scale
Metric and imperial
Lock
Push-button
Carry
Clip and strap
Weight
150 g

Common questions

Is this a 12-pack?

The model number is ClearTape-Pk-of12-8. The title is one 5 m tape and the number of items is 1.

How far does it claim to stand out?

A bullet says the blade stays rigid up to 2.8 metres.

What accuracy class is stated?

The attribute says standard measuring accuracy. It does not name Class I, II, or III.

Rolson 50535 5 m

Rank 11

Rolson 50535 5 m

Our view

Rolson 50535 pulls out 5 metres of 19 mm blade for a short DIY cut, which is the job most of the 13,831 amazon.co.uk reviews describe. The listing price is £2.38 and the star line is 4.4. Bullets name an auto lock, a wrist strap, and a second button that slows the rewind. The accuracy attribute says High and does not print Class I, II, or III, and there is no standout figure. One verified review says the tape broke after a few uses. A fresh spring also snaps shut if you do not hold that bottom button.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 13,831 reviews, often for the price
  • Lock and a button that slows retraction, in reviews
  • 19 mm blade and a wrist strap on the listing

Cons

  • Accuracy is the word High, not Class II
  • One review: broke after a few uses
  • No standout figure

Best for: A cheap 5 m tape for occasional DIY if you do not need a stated class

Less suitable: Solo measuring over a long span, or any job that needs a printed class

Specifications

Model
Rolson 50535 5 m
Brand
Rolson
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.4/5(13,831)
Length
5 m
Accuracy
High, no class
Blade
19 mm
Lock
Auto lock
Carry
Wrist strap
Weight
181 g

Common questions

How long and how wide is the blade?

The listing says 5 metres long and 19 millimetres wide.

Does it lock?

The bullets say auto lock. The attribute line says a thumb lock.

What accuracy class is stated?

The attribute says High. It does not state Class I, II, or III.

How we compared

For this comparison we read 11 amazon.co.uk tape listings and the public UK sources below. Scores follow the star rating on each listing. We did not run a laboratory test, and a Class II or MID line is not treated as approval for trade.

1

Length and standout

30%

Five metres for rooms you can walk, 8 metres for a longer wall, and 10 metres only for long runs. Standout figures are manufacturer claims.

2

Stated accuracy

25%

Class II, Class 2, or an explicit MID claim can be checked. High, standard, or a lone ±0.5 mm line is not that class.

3

Hook and scale

15%

A true-zero hook should slide. A magnet is only for steel. Metric comes first for UK building work.

4

Lock and carry

15%

A lock that holds while you mark, plus a wrist strap or belt clip if the tape lives on a belt. Case adjectives sometimes disagree with reviews.

5

Shelf price

15%

Price is the amazon.co.uk figure on 16 October 2026, from about £2.38 to £20.04, not a promise of the cheapest tape.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Tape measure buying guide

Choose length for the room, then the accuracy words you can actually read on the listing. A wide blade helps when you measure alone. A magnet is a steel-work feature, not a default.

What is a tape measure?

A tape measure in this comparison is a retractable steel pocket tape. You hook one end, pull the blade, and lock it while you mark. Soft tailor's tapes are a different product and are not in this set. UK buyers on amazon.co.uk are mostly DIY households and site workers choosing a 5 m pocket tape or an 8 m wide blade they can use alone. Length comes first. Five metres covers furniture and most rooms if you can move the hook. Eight metres suits a longer wall and site work.

Best for

  • DIY measuring of furniture and rooms with a 5 m tape
  • One-person marking with a 25–32 mm blade

Not ideal for

  • Selling goods by length without a trade-verified measure
  • A soft tailor's tape, which is a different product

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Tightening the hook

    The hook is supposed to move by about its own thickness so outside and inside readings start at the same point. Tightening that play shifts one of the two readings.

  2. 2

    Forgetting the case

    An inside measurement needs the length of the case added to the blade. That length is often printed on the case. Reading the blade alone stops short of the wall.

  3. 3

    Trusting standout as accuracy

    A 2.8 m or 3.3 m standout is a manufacturer claim about how far the blade stays out. It is not Class II, and it is not a British Standard.

What to weigh up

Length and standout

High

Length is the first cut because a tape that is too short forces a second hook-up, and a tape that is too long is the one you leave in the van. Five metres is the pocket length for furniture and most rooms, provided you can walk the hook to the next point. Eight metres is the length these listings use for a longer wall and for site work. Ten metres, here the Amazon Basics self-lock, is for occasional long runs, and the listing weight is about 481 g.

Stated accuracy

High

Read the accuracy line before the star rating. Class II or Class 2 is the wording UK buyers can compare with the Measuring Instruments Regulations 2016. The Class II formula is (0.3 + 0.2L) mm between non-consecutive marks, L rounded up to the next whole metre. The Tape Store's table puts that near ±1.3 mm at 5 m and ±2.3 mm at 10 m, at 20°C and the stated pull. In this set, Class II or Class 2 is printed for the OX twin pack, the magnetic FatMax 0-33-719 and the metric FatMax 0-33-720.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

DIY at home

You measure furniture and rooms a few times a month and you can walk the hook. A 5 m tape with a lock, often under £10, covers that job. The Amazon Basics 5 m states a MID claim at £3.50.

Site and carpentry

You want an 8 m blade around 25–32 mm, with Class II or Class 2 printed on the listing. The OX twin pack states Class 2 and 25 mm at £9.99 for two tapes, and it does not state a standout.

Occasional long runs

An 8 m tape is still short for the runs you pull. The Amazon Basics 10 m self-lock states a MID claim at £8.80 and about 481 g. It has no standout figure.

Common questions about tape measures

Which tape measure is the top pick for a longer wall?
The top pick is the Stanley FatMax 8 m, model 0-33-726, for one longer pull. The title states an 8 metre, 32 mm blade and a 3.3 m standout, with a lever lock and a 3-rivet true-zero hook. On amazon.co.uk it was £18.78, with 4.6 from 4,743 reviews. The accuracy attribute says ±0.5 mm and does not print Class II. The title does not say the hook is magnetic. Skip it if you want a 19 mm pocket tape or a Class II line on the same listing.
How much does a tape measure cost on amazon.co.uk?
As a rule of thumb from these listings on 16 October 2026, entry tapes sit at about £2–£5. That band includes the Rolson 5 m at £2.38, the Amazon Basics 5 m at £3.50, the pink Amazon Basics at £4.48, and the G4GADGET at £4.99. Mid listings are about £8–£12, including the 10 m Amazon Basics at £8.80, the PowerLock at £9.51, and the OX 8 m twin pack at £9.99. Wide Stanley FatMax tapes run about £14–£21, up to the metric-only 8 m at £20.04.
What should you check before you buy a tape measure?
Check length first. Five metres covers furniture and most rooms if you can move the hook. Eight metres suits a longer wall. Ten metres is for runs you pull often. Then look for Class II, Class 2, or an explicit MID claim. High or standard is not a class. About 19 mm of blade suits a pocket. A 25–32 mm blade helps when you measure alone. Standout numbers are manufacturer claims. The hook should slide, metric comes first for UK building work, and a magnet is only for steel.
What does Class II mean on a tape measure?
Under the Measuring Instruments Regulations 2016, Class II error is (0.3 + 0.2L) mm between non-consecutive marks, with L rounded up to the next whole metre. The Tape Store reads that as about ±1.3 mm at 5 m and ±2.3 mm at 10 m, at 20°C and the stated pull. Tapes of 5 m or longer are assessed at 50 N, or at a force marked on the tape. A line that only says high, standard, or ±0.5 mm has not printed that class. Not a lab result.
Do you need a magnetic hook?
You need a magnetic hook only if you measure against steel. A true-zero hook should move by about its own thickness, so outside and inside readings start at the same point. Do not tighten that play. In this set, only Stanley FatMax 0-33-719 states a magnetic hook in the title. The 8 m FatMax 0-33-726 does not. One review title on the magnetic model says the hook is not magnetic, so the title and that review disagree.
Should you buy a 5 m or an 8 m tape?
Buy 5 m for furniture or a room you can walk, when you want a lighter pocket tape, often under £10. Buy 8 m for a longer wall, or when you want a 25–32 mm blade that stands out while you mark alone. The extra length adds bulk. The OX listing is two 8 m Class 2 tapes at £9.99, with no standout figure. The Stanley FatMax 8 m states a 3.3 m standout at £18.78, without a Class II line.
Can a DIY tape be used to sell goods by length?
Household DIY is not automatically use for trade. GOV.UK includes material measures of length for use for trade in the regulated list, and equipment used to determine a sale must be passed as fit for use for trade. A Class II or MID line on an amazon.co.uk listing is not the same as that verification. If you measure for a customer by length, ask Trading Standards before you treat a DIY tape as verified. This comparison does not claim any model is approved for trade.
How do you take an inside measurement?
Hook the end and read the blade for an outside measurement. For an inside measurement, add the length of the case, which is often printed on the case. The hook is supposed to move, so do not tighten it. Control the rewind with your thumb rather than letting the blade fly back. UK retailer guidance says manufacturers recommend eye protection. The steps, including when to stop and call someone else, are in the how to use a tape measure guide.

Our verdict

The top pick is Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m, with the highest score in this comparison (9.6 out of 10, from 4,487 amazon.co.uk reviews). If you want a low price and a MID claim on a 5 m tape, the best value is the Amazon Basics DS-TAM12-16ft at £3.50. If the job is steel, only the FatMax 0-33-719 states a magnetic hook in the title.

Best overall
Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m

Amazon Basics pink 4.8 m

Highest score in this comparison, 9.6 out of 10, from 4,487 amazon.co.uk reviews.

View offer
Best value
Amazon Basics 5 m MID

Amazon Basics 5 m MID

A MID claim at £3.50, with 4.6 from 10,372 reviews and a self-lock.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsMeasuring and marking tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to tape measures

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources checked for this comparison; last retrieved on 16 October 2026.

  1. Measuring Instruments Regulations 2016, material measures (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Measuring Instruments Regulations 2016: Great Britain (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, weights and measures business guidance (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, placing UKCA or CE marked products on the Great Britain market (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. The Tape Store, Class 2 tapes (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. The Tape Store, how to read a tape (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Stanley Tools support, why the hook moves (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Homebuilding, diamond marks on a tape measure (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. amazon.co.uk listings for the ASINs in this comparison (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from the amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a laboratory test, and we do not promise the cheapest price.