Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: NICCOO outside micrometer set, 0–4 inch Best value: GEU outside micrometer, 0–25 mm – £9.99 for a 0–25 mm hobby check after the conflicting accuracy field. Not the lowest price, and not the shared Proster score. Updated October 2026.
An outside micrometer measures an external size, such as a shaft diameter or a thickness, by closing a spindle onto a fixed anvil with a fine screw. You use one when the outside size needs a finer check than a caliper jaw, for a turned diameter, a shim or a brake disc. On amazon.co.uk the usual first buy is a metric 0–25 mm tool, because that frame closes on its own faces. Every range above 25 mm needs a matching setting rod, or the zero is a guess. A spanner in the box is not a certificate. The checks, in order, are in the [outside micrometer buying guide](/hub/measuring-and-marking-tools/outside-micrometer/sub/outside-micrometer-buying-guide).
Home machinists, mechanics checking brake discs or valve shims, and workshops that must show a calibration path are the usual UK buyers. A vernier caliper remains the tool for bores and depths. A digital screen does not by itself make the screw more accurate. Mechanical sleeve-and-thimble tools are the amazon.co.uk volume sellers in this set, and they need no battery.
Metric frames cover 25 mm each: 0–25, 25–50, 50–75, and so on. A set is several frames, not one frame with more travel.
An outside micrometer measures an external size, such as a shaft diameter or a thickness, by closing a spindle onto a fixed anvil with a fine screw.
An outside micrometer measures an external size, such as a shaft diameter or a thickness, by closing a spindle onto a fixed anvil with a fine screw. You use one when the outside size needs a finer check than a caliper jaw, for a turned diameter, a shim or a brake disc. On amazon.co.uk the usual first buy is a metric 0–25 mm tool, because that frame closes on its own faces. Every range above 25 mm needs a matching setting rod, or the zero is a guess. A spanner in the box is not a certificate. The checks, in order, are in the [outside micrometer buying guide](/hub/measuring-and-marking-tools/outside-micrometer/sub/outside-micrometer-buying-guide).
Home machinists, mechanics checking brake discs or valve shims, and workshops that must show a calibration path are the usual UK buyers. A vernier caliper remains the tool for bores and depths. A digital screen does not by itself make the screw more accurate. Mechanical sleeve-and-thimble tools are the amazon.co.uk volume sellers in this set, and they need no battery.
Metric frames cover 25 mm each: 0–25, 25–50, 50–75, and so on. A set is several frames, not one frame with more travel.
An outside micrometer measures an external size, such as a shaft diameter or a thickness, by closing a spindle onto a fixed anvil with a fine screw. You use one when the outside size needs a finer check than a caliper jaw, for a turned diameter, a shim or a brake disc. On amazon.co.uk the usual first buy is a metric 0–25 mm tool, because that frame closes on its own faces. Every range above 25 mm needs a matching setting rod, or the zero is a guess. A spanner in the box is not a certificate.
The NICCOO is an inch set of four outside micrometers at £52.99, covering 0–1, 1–2, 2–3 and 3–4 inch, not a metric set. The accuracy field says 0.0001 inch. Amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 2 reviews, and the listing has no review text, so there is nothing to say about zero, faces or the wrench in use. The bullets name cemented carbide and a storage box, plus four accessories that are not named as setting standards. The material field says alloy steel while the bullets also say cemented carbide and cast iron. At 2 kg it is a boxed inch kit for drawings that are already in inches. Two stars with no text are not evidence that the four frames agree with each other, and a metric workshop should leave it in the inch drawer.
Pros
Four inch frames cover 0–4 inch
Storage box claimed
Carbide mentioned in the bullets
Cons
Inch, not metric
Only two ratings and no review text
Accessories are not named
Material field and bullets disagree
Best for: You work in inches and want four frames in one box at £52.99.
Less suitable: You work to metric drawings, or you want review evidence before you buy.
The Estink is a stainless steel outside micrometer listed at £22.58 for 25–50 mm, not 0–25 mm, with 0.01 mm in the title and an accuracy field of 0.01. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 19 reviews. Four UK texts call it good quality or fine for the price, and none describes a defect. The listing does not name a ratchet, carbide faces, a case or a setting rod. A 25–50 mm frame is normally zeroed on a 25 mm standard, so a missing rod is a gap in the listing, not a detail you can ignore. At 321 g it covers the next window up from a first 0–25 mm tool, and it will not measure a part under 25 mm. Buy it when the work sits between 25 mm and 50 mm and you already have a 25 mm standard to prove the zero.
Pros
25–50 mm range at £22.58
4.7 from 19 reviews
Short reviews call it as described
Cons
No setting rod named for a range that does not start at zero
Ratchet and carbide faces not stated
Only four review texts
Best for: You already measure between 25 mm and 50 mm and will check zero on a 25 mm standard.
Less suitable: You need 0–25 mm, or a listed setting rod in the box.
The Proster PST185 is a metric 0–25 mm outside micrometer at £14.95, with a 0.01 mm graduation, a tungsten carbide measuring surface, and 4.6 from 682 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is rank 1 in Outside Micrometres. Many of the first 50 reviews say it arrived needing a zero with the wrench, and that the instructions were thin. Some buyers then found it repeatable to 0.01 mm; others report about 0.03 mm scatter, one a 0.05 mm error, and one tool about 1 mm out. Reviewers describe it as mechanical, with no battery, and some compare it with a Mitutoyo or a Moore & Wright for hobby work. The packing box is called flimsy in one review, one anvil is described as slightly skew, and one lock failed. A 0–25 mm frame does not need a setting rod; the wrench is in the box. It is the top pick here for a home workshop 0–25 mm check, not a stated maximum permissible error for inspection.
Pros
£14.95 and rank 1 in Outside Micrometres
4.6 from 682 reviews, the largest count here
Compared by some buyers with Mitutoyo or Moore & Wright for hobby work
No battery
Cons
Often needs zeroing, and the wrench method is unclear
Reports of 0.03–0.05 mm error and one failed lock
One anvil described as slightly skew
Case called flimsy in one review
Best for: You want the most-reviewed 0–25 mm micrometer in this set for home workshop checks.
Less suitable: You need a stated maximum permissible error or a calibration certificate for inspection work.
The bullets and the range field say 0–25 mm, with a 0.01 mm graduation. It is a single metric outside micrometer, model PST185, at £14.95.
Do the reviews say it arrives on zero?
Many of the first 50 of 682 reviews say it needed zeroing with the wrench, and that the instructions were thin. Some then found it repeatable to 0.01 mm. Others report about 0.03 mm scatter, one 0.05 mm error, and one tool about 1 mm out.
Does it need a battery?
Reviewers describe it as mechanical, with no battery. The listing has no battery specification line.
The Proster PST342eu is a four-frame metric set at £54.99, listed as 0–25, 25–50, 50–75 and 75–100 mm, with 0.01 mm on the bullets. Those bullets name carbide-tipped anvils, a built-in ratchet stop, a lock, a wrench, a protective case, and setting standards at 25, 50 and 75 mm. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 from 682 reviews, the same line as the £14.95 Proster single, and the review texts describe that single rather than this set. The title says digital; the bullets describe satin-chrome scales and do not mention a battery or an LCD. Rank 1 in Outside Micrometres is the same rank line as the cheaper single. At 2.16 kg the box contents are the reason to look at it, and the star line is not a review of those four frames.
Pros
Four metric ranges to 100 mm at £54.99
25, 50 and 75 mm standards named
Ratchet, lock and carbide faces on the bullets
Cons
Review text is about the cheaper single, not this set
Title says digital; bullets do not describe a display
Same rank line as the 0–25 mm Proster
Best for: You want 0–100 mm coverage and the bullets' three setting standards, and you will not treat the 682 reviews as set reviews.
Less suitable: You want review evidence that names this four-piece set.
The bullets say four micrometers, 0–25 mm through 75–100 mm, three calibration standards at 25, 50 and 75 mm, one wrench and a case. Resolution on the bullets is 0.01 mm.
Do the 682 reviews describe this set?
The star line matches the £14.95 Proster 0–25 mm listing, and the review texts talk about a single tool under £15. They are not descriptions of this £54.99 set.
Is it digital?
The title says digital micrometer. The bullets describe satin-chrome scales, a ratchet and a lock, and they do not mention a battery or an LCD.
The Cocoarm size field is 50–75 mm at £22.58, while the title also lists 0–25 mm, 25–50 mm and 75–100 mm, so the size field is the selected variant until the live page says otherwise. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 16 reviews. Two of four UK reviews mention a calibration reference or a gauge, which the bullets do not list. One reviewer checked the faces at five points with a ground ball and called the frame square. Carbide is not stated; stainless steel is. A ratchet appears in one review and not in the bullets. At 420 g this is a mid-price single for a 50–75 mm window. The gauge in those reviews is not the same thing as a rod named in the box, and you still need to confirm which range the basket will send.
Pros
£22.58 for a 50–75 mm size
Reviews mention a check gauge
One detailed review found faces parallel
Cons
Title lists four ranges while the size field is one
Carbide and ratchet are not in the bullets
Only four review texts
Best for: You need the 50–75 mm window and will confirm which variant the page is selling.
Less suitable: You need 0–25 mm, or a single listing that does not also name three other ranges.
The GEU listing is a metric 0–25 mm outside micrometer at £9.99, with 0.01 mm graduations, tungsten carbide faces and a ratchet stop in the bullets. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 18 reviews. Three UK texts in the file call it sturdy, spot on out of the box, and supplied with a case and a calibration tool, and none of them describes a defect. That sample is too small to stand in for a long review file. The accuracy field says ±0.5% while the bullets say 0.01 mm, and one bullet also says 0–1 inch on a metric title. The box lines name an adjustment wrench and a fitted case; a setting rod is not named. At 250 g it sits next to the cheaper TOPWAY, with a cleaner short review file and a conflicting accuracy line you should read before you treat 0.01 mm as an error. In this set it is the best value when you want a cheap 0–25 mm tool and can accept 18 reviews.
Pros
£9.99 with carbide faces and a ratchet on the listing
Case and wrench named
One review found it zeroed on arrival
4.5 from 18 reviews
Cons
Only three UK review texts in the file
Accuracy field ±0.5% conflicts with 0.01 mm
One bullet says 0–1 inch on a metric title
Best for: You want a cheap 0–25 mm mechanical micrometer and accept a small review sample.
Less suitable: You need a published maximum permissible error, or a large set of UK reviews.
The title and range field say 0–25 mm metric. One bullet also says 0–1 inch. Both lines are on the listing.
What accuracy figure is printed?
The bullets say 0.01 mm graduations. The accuracy field says ±0.5%. The listing does not reconcile the two.
What do the three UK reviews say?
They call it sturdy, spot on out of the box, and supplied with a case and a calibration tool. No defect is described. The listing count is 18, so the text sample is small.
The Ejoyous listing is a stainless steel 50–75 mm outside micrometer at £22.85, with 0.01 mm in the title and a wrench in the title. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 43 reviews. One of three UK texts says the gauge is slightly off and the buyer reads it with that offset. Another says bad quality, without detail, and a third says good value. No setting rod is listed, and a 50–75 mm tool cannot be zeroed by closing the faces on each other. Carbide and a ratchet are not in the bullets. At 400 g it is close in price to the Cocoarm for the same window, with a larger review count and a less settled zero in that short UK sample. It suits a 50–75 mm part only if you already own a 50 mm standard and you will not pass a known offset to someone else.
Pros
50–75 mm at £22.85
Wrench named in the title
4.3 from 43 reviews
Cons
One review says the gauge is slightly off
One review says bad quality
No setting rod on the listing
Best for: You need a 50–75 mm frame and will zero it on your own 50 mm standard.
Less suitable: You need a listed setting rod, or reviews that agree on the zero.
The size field and the title say 50–75 mm, with 0.01 mm in the title. It does not measure below 50 mm.
What do the UK reviews say about the gauge?
One of three UK texts says the gauge is slightly off and the buyer reads it with that offset. Another says bad quality, without detail. A third says good value. The listing count is 43.
Is a setting rod listed?
No. The title includes a wrench. Bullets do not name a 50 mm setting standard.
The TOPWAY 401310 is a metric 0–25 mm outside micrometer listed at £8.99, with a 0.01 mm graduation and an accuracy field of ±0.02 mm. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 231 reviews, and 21 review texts in that file include several that say the faces do not meet square. One cites about 0.2 mm out of parallel, and another cites a zero about 0.4 mm out. The bullets name hardened carbide anvils, a ratchet stop and a drop-forged enamelled frame, at 260 g. A setting rod is not named, which is expected on a range that closes on itself, though one reviewer says the adjusting spanner bent on first use and another says the lock failed. Other buyers treat it as usable for occasional hobby work after a small adjustment, including a brake-disc check in one review. It is the lowest price in this set, and those face complaints are why it is not the best value.
Pros
£8.99 for a 0–25 mm metric tool
Carbide anvils and a ratchet stop are on the listing
231 reviews, rank 3 in Outside Micrometres
Used on brake discs in one review
Cons
Reviews describe faces that do not meet parallel
Lock failed in one review
Spanner bent in one review
Accuracy field ±0.02 mm, not the 0.01 mm graduation
Best for: You want the lowest price in this set for a metric 0–25 mm tool and can check the zero yourself.
Less suitable: You need faces that reviewers describe as meeting square, or a tool for paid inspection.
What range and graduation does this TOPWAY listing state?
The bullets say 0–25 mm and 0.01 mm graduations. The accuracy field says ±0.02 mm. Those two figures are both on the listing and are not the same claim.
What do the UK reviews repeat about the faces and the zero?
Across 21 review texts in a file of 231 reviews, several say the faces do not meet square, one cites about 0.2 mm out of parallel, and one cites a zero about 0.4 mm out. Others say it is fine for occasional hobby use after a small adjustment.
Does the listing include a setting rod?
No setting rod is named. A 0–25 mm micrometer closes on its own faces. One reviewer says the adjusting spanner bent on first use.
The Neoteck NTK336us included-components line is one 0–25 mm outside micrometer, an adjustment wrench and a protective case, at £71.99. The bullets name a ratchet stop thimble, carbide-tipped anvils and a forged steel frame, and the accuracy field says 0.01 mm (0.0005 inch). Amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 65 reviews, and only two of the texts are from the United Kingdom. One workshop user zeroed it on arrival and then used it for lathe work, and would not use it for production because there is no calibration certificate. A retired engineer calls it right for hobby tolerances and wrong for an ISO 9001 metrology system. Some non-UK reviews on the listing describe a set the components line does not list. The package weight is 2.12 kg, with dimensions 41.1 x 28.2 x 6 cm, which the listing does not explain against a single small frame. It is a cased hobby 0–25 mm tool at a price that does not buy a certificate.
Pros
Ratchet, carbide faces, lock and case on the bullets
Two UK reviews accept it for home workshop use after zeroing
4.0 from 65 reviews
Cons
£71.99 for a tool both UK reviews treat as non-production
Arrived off zero
Non-UK text on the listing talks about a set the components line does not list
Package weight 2.12 kg is unexplained
Best for: You want a cased 0–25 mm mechanical micrometer and have read the two UK reviews as hobby use.
Less suitable: You want a calibration certificate, or you are paying this price for a named inspection brand.
The included-components line says one 0–25 mm outside micrometer, a wrench and a case. Some non-UK reviews on the listing describe a set. The two UK reviews describe a single 0–25 mm tool.
What do the UK reviews say?
One workshop user zeroed it on arrival and then found it held zero for lathe work, and would not use it for production because there is no calibration certificate. A second UK reviewer, a retired engineer, calls it right for hobby tolerances and wrong for an ISO 9001 metrology system.
Why is the package weight 2.12 kg?
That is the item-weight and package-weight figure on the listing, with package dimensions 41.1 x 28.2 x 6 cm. The listing does not explain the weight against a single small frame.
The Tasofac 0106-01 is a six-frame metric set at £69.99, and the bullets list 0–25 mm through 125–150 mm at 0.01 mm, with a ratchet and a lock on each. The same bullets name five rods at 25, 50, 75, 100 and 125 mm, plus three wrenches, and they do not name a 150 mm rod. The listing has no customer-review line and no review text. The first available date on the listing is 30 July 2026. The included-components field says only an outside metric micrometer, which is vaguer than the bullets. Carbide faces are not stated; satin chrome on the spindle and sleeve is. At 4 kg it is the widest coverage in this set, and you are buying that bullet list with no UK review to check it against.
Pros
Six frames cover 0–150 mm at £69.99
Five setting rods and three wrenches named
Ratchet and lock on each, in the bullets
Cons
No star rating and no reviews
Included-components line is vaguer than the bullets
No 150 mm rod named
Carbide faces not stated
Best for: You want 0–150 mm coverage from the bullet list and can wait for reviews.
Less suitable: You want UK review evidence before you buy a six-piece set.
The bullets list six micrometers: 0–25, 25–50, 50–75, 75–100, 100–125 and 125–150 mm, at 0.01 mm, with a ratchet and a lock on each.
Are setting rods included for every frame?
The bullets list five rods: 25, 50, 75, 100 and 125 mm, plus three wrenches. They do not list a 150 mm rod. The 0–25 mm frame does not need a rod to close.
What is the Amazon rating?
The listing has no customer-review line and no review text. First available date on the listing is 30 July 2026.
How we compared
Scores were already stored on these ten amazon.co.uk listings. This page reads them. It is not a laboratory measurement and not a BS EN ISO 3611 error. A range, a graduation, a ratchet, a carbide face or a setting rod counts only when that listing prints it, or when a UK review on the listing describes it. Stars are not an error band. The top pick and best value are the awards already stored on those listings.
1
Amazon evidence
40%
The star line and the review count on amazon.co.uk. A 5.0 from two reviews does not outrank a large sample. The Proster 0–25 mm is 4.6 from 682. Tasofac has no customer-review line.
2
Listing fit
25%
A stated metric window, a ratchet, carbide faces, and a setting rod for any range that does not start at 0 mm score up. A 0–25 mm tool does not need a rod to close. An inch set is a different unit. A title that says digital while the bullets describe a sleeve does not score as a display.
3
Review outcome
20%
UK texts only. A zero the buyer could set, and faces a reviewer checked, score up. Faces that do not meet, a bent spanner, a failed lock or a known offset come off. A sample of three or four UK texts cannot carry the same weight as the first reviews on the Proster single.
4
Value
15%
Shelf price in GBP against a job the listing and the UK reviews actually support. £8.99 is the lowest price, and the face complaints keep it off the value award. £9.99 with a short, clean UK sample is the value line. £71.99 is not an inspection grade on the two UK reviews.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Outside micrometer buying guide
Choose the range, then the graduation against any stated error, then the ratchet and the faces, then how you will prove zero. This page keeps ten amazon.co.uk listings. The score is not a laboratory accuracy test and not a UKAS certificate. Calipers and depth gauges are other comparisons.
What is an outside micrometer?
An outside micrometer measures an external size, such as a shaft diameter or a thickness, by closing a spindle onto a fixed anvil with a fine screw. Home machinists, mechanics checking brake discs or valve shims, and workshops that must show a calibration path are the usual UK buyers. A vernier caliper remains the tool for bores and depths. A digital screen does not by itself make the screw more accurate.
Best for
A home workshop 0–25 mm check you can zero and read
Mixed bar sizes when the listing names the setting rods
Not ideal for
Inspection or ISO 9001 work that needs a published error and a certificate
Bores, depths, threads or grooves these flat faces cannot sit on
Mistakes to avoid
1
Treating 0.01 mm as the error
Graduation is the sleeve step. A maximum permissible error is a different number, and many of these titles only print the step. The GEU page prints both 0.01 mm and ±0.5%. Keep both. A star rating is not a calibration.
2
Zeroing a larger frame in fresh air
A 0–25 mm tool closes on its faces. A 25–50 mm or 50–75 mm tool does not. Without the matching setting rod, or a standard you already own, the zero is a guess. The Estink and Ejoyous listings do not name that rod.
3
Reading the Proster set as 682 set reviews
The £54.99 four-piece shows the same 4.6 from 682 as the £14.95 single, and the texts describe that single. Use the bullets for the rods and the frames. Do not treat one hobby comparison with a Mitutoyo as a match for that brand.
What to weigh up
Range, unit and zero
High
Metric frames cover 25 mm each. Buy the window the part sits in. A set is several frames, not one frame with more travel. A 0–25 mm tool closes on itself. The Proster single, the GEU, the TOPWAY and the Neoteck included-components line are that window. The Estink is 25–50 mm. The Cocoarm size field and the Ejoyous title are 50–75 mm. The Cocoarm title also names three other ranges, so confirm the variant.
Above 25 mm, the matching setting rod has to be in the case or the zero is a guess.
Graduation, faces and force
High
0.01 mm is the usual sleeve-and-thimble step on the metric listings here. The NICCOO accuracy field says 0.0001 inch, and the listing has no review text. An MPE, when a maker publishes one, is a different number. Mitutoyo’s UK page for the 193-111 quotes 0.001 mm graduation and ±2 µm, and that model is not in this set. BS EN ISO 3611:2023 defines maximum permissible error for external micrometers. None of these scores is that error.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🛠️
Home workshop
Lathe work, shims and the odd thickness check want a 0–25 mm mechanical tool you can zero and read. The Proster PST185 is the top pick at £14.95, with 4.6 from 682 reviews. Many of those reviews say it needed a zero. There is no published maximum permissible error.
A lathe that sees mixed bar wants several frames and the setting rods, then a check of every frame. The Proster four-piece bullets name 0–100 mm and rods at 25, 50 and 75 mm, at £54.99. The 4.6 from 682 reviews is the same line as the cheaper single, and the texts describe that single.
If you want a cheap 0–25 mm mechanical tool and can accept 18 reviews, the GEU is best value at £9.99. Three UK texts describe no defect. The accuracy field says ±0.5% while the bullets say 0.01 mm. The £8.99 TOPWAY is cheaper, and UK texts there describe faces that do not meet.
The top pick is the Proster PST185, ASIN B0821CD5S3, at £14.95. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 682 reviews, the largest count in this set, and it is rank 1 in Outside Micrometres. It is a metric 0–25 mm tool with a 0.01 mm graduation and a carbide face. Many of the first reviews say it needed a zero with the wrench. There is no published maximum permissible error. The four-piece Proster shares the star line, and those texts describe this single.
Which outside micrometer is best value?
Best value is the GEU, ASIN B0FV8W8M4P, at £9.99. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 18 reviews. Three UK texts call it sturdy and zeroed on arrival, and none describes a defect. That sample is small. The accuracy field says ±0.5% while the bullets say 0.01 mm, and one bullet also says 0–1 inch on a metric title. The TOPWAY at £8.99 is cheaper, and UK texts there describe faces that do not meet.
How much does an outside micrometer cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the shelf runs from £8.99 to £71.99. Entry is the TOPWAY at £8.99, the GEU at £9.99 and the Proster 0–25 mm at £14.95. Singles for 25–50 mm and 50–75 mm sit near £23. The NICCOO inch set is £52.99, the Proster four-piece metric set is £54.99, and the Tasofac six-piece set is £69.99. The Neoteck 0–25 mm listing is £71.99. A higher price here is not an inspection grade.
Is a 0.01 mm graduation the same as the error?
No. 0.01 mm is the usual sleeve-and-thimble step. A maximum permissible error, when a maker publishes one, is a different number. BS EN ISO 3611:2023 defines that error for an external micrometer. Many amazon.co.uk titles print only the graduation and call it accuracy. Mitutoyo’s UK page for the 193-111 quotes 0.001 mm graduation and ±2 µm, and that tool is not in this set. A star rating is not a calibration.
When do you need a setting rod?
A 0–25 mm micrometer closes on its own faces, so it does not need a setting rod. Every range above 25 mm is zeroed on a standard of the lower size, such as 25 mm for a 25–50 mm frame. If the listing does not name that rod, the zero is a guess. The Proster four-piece bullets name rods at 25, 50 and 75 mm. The Estink 25–50 mm listing does not. A spanner is not a UKAS certificate.
When is a caliper the better tool?
An outside micrometer measures an external size between a spindle and a fixed anvil. It does not measure a bore, a depth or a thread. A caliper covers outside, inside, depth and step over a longer jaw, with a coarser reading. Use the micrometer when the outside size needs the screw. Use a caliper when the feature is a bore, a depth or a longer span these faces cannot sit on.
Do the 682 reviews describe the Proster set?
No. The £54.99 Proster set shows 4.6 from 682 reviews, the same line as the £14.95 Proster 0–25 mm single, and the review texts describe that single. The set bullets name four frames, standards at 25, 50 and 75 mm, a wrench and a case. Those bullets are the listing. The star line is not a review of the four frames. The title says digital. The bullets describe satin-chrome scales and do not mention a battery or an LCD.
When should you use a calibration lab?
Use a calibration lab when the reading accepts safety-critical or customer work, when the tool will not zero or has been dropped, or when you must state an uncertainty. UKAS LAB 24 expects an annual path for micrometers in accredited mechanical testing. ISO 1 sets the reference temperature at 20 °C. A home zero is not that calibration, and none of these ten listings is a UKAS certificate. A bore, a thread or a groove needs a different instrument.
Our verdict
The top pick is the Proster 0–25 mm at £14.95. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 682 reviews, the largest count here, and it is rank 1 in Outside Micrometres. The four-piece Proster shows the same 84 and the same star line, so the award stays on the single the texts describe. It often needs a zero, and it has no published maximum permissible error. Best value is the GEU at £9.99 for a 0–25 mm hobby check after you read the conflicting accuracy field. It is not the lowest price. The TOPWAY at £8.99 has face complaints in a file of 231 reviews. The Neoteck at £71.99 is not an inspection grade on its two UK reviews. A star rating is not a calibration.
DIY & toolsMeasuring and marking toolsamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to outside micrometers
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources first, then the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Shelf prices and scores were taken from the stored listings on 20 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test.
This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.