Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Yelyee 16 inch – Highest stored score in this set, at 4.7 from 11 amazon.co.uk ratings and about £52.99, if you treat eleven ratings as a small sample. Best value: Hyundai HYC2400E – Best value corded saw at about £88.98, with 4.3 from 1,037 ratings and a stated 12 m cable, if you accept retensioning and buy oil separately. Updated October 2026.
Bar length is not the diameter you can fell in one pass, and none of these eight is a petrol saw. Split the table by cable versus battery, whether both packs must be fitted, whether a chain brake is stated, and how many ratings sit behind the stars. Every saw still needs bar-and-chain oil, which is usually not in the box. The checks, in order, are in the [16 inch chainsaw buying guide](/hub/forestry-tools/16-inch-chainsaw/sub/16-inch-chainsaw-buying-guide).
A 16 inch chainsaw, for a UK shopper, is a handheld saw with a guide bar of about 16 inches.
Corded 2400 W suits logs beside a socket. A cable is a poor match for standing timber. Battery suits a stack with no power, which is why one reviewer bought that saw for a field. Cordless watt labels are shelf labels, not mains watts. The lists 15 m/s and a 6 m cable, and its bullets ask for a circuit above 15 A. A normal UK plug is 13 A, so that line is a listing constraint, not a measured trip current. Oregon’s cable length is not in the spec block.
Read the stars with the count beside them.
Bar length is not the diameter you can fell in one pass, and none of these eight is a petrol saw.
Bar length is not the diameter you can fell in one pass, and none of these eight is a petrol saw. Split the table by cable versus battery, whether both packs must be fitted, whether a chain brake is stated, and how many ratings sit behind the stars. Every saw still needs bar-and-chain oil, which is usually not in the box. The checks, in order, are in the [16 inch chainsaw buying guide](/hub/forestry-tools/16-inch-chainsaw/sub/16-inch-chainsaw-buying-guide).
A 16 inch chainsaw, for a UK shopper, is a handheld saw with a guide bar of about 16 inches.
Corded 2400 W suits logs beside a socket. A cable is a poor match for standing timber. Battery suits a stack with no power, which is why one reviewer bought that saw for a field. Cordless watt labels are shelf labels, not mains watts. The lists 15 m/s and a 6 m cable, and its bullets ask for a circuit above 15 A. A normal UK plug is 13 A, so that line is a listing constraint, not a measured trip current. Oregon’s cable length is not in the spec block.
Read the stars with the count beside them.
Bar length is not the diameter you can fell in one pass, and none of these eight is a petrol saw. Split the table by cable versus battery, whether both packs must be fitted, whether a chain brake is stated, and how many ratings sit behind the stars. Every saw still needs bar-and-chain oil, which is usually not in the box. The checks, in order, are in the 16 inch chainsaw buying guide. A 16 inch chainsaw, for a UK shopper, is a handheld saw with a guide bar of about 16 inches. Corded 2400 W suits logs beside a socket.
The Yelyee cordless saw is listed at £52.99 with an 1800 W label, two 4.0 Ah batteries, two chains and tool-free tension, showing 4.7 out of 5 from only 11 amazon.co.uk ratings. That star line looks strong until you set it beside Oregon’s 1,561 ratings or Hyundai’s 1,037; eleven scores are not the same evidence. The item-dimensions field prints 10 x 10 x 10 mm, which is printed on the listing and does not describe a 16 inch bar. A lock-off switch and front hand guard are stated, without a chain-brake time. UK review text includes a bar fitted upside down on arrival, the sort of first-hour failure a first-use check is there to catch. Voltage is not in the spec block. It shares the entry price with papasbox but does not share papasbox’s 62-rating sample. Treat the 4.7 as a small-sample average, not a reason to skip corded saws with a thousand reviews.
Pros
Two 4.0 Ah batteries and two chains at the £52.99 entry price
Lock-off switch with the trigger stated
Tool-free tension knob stated
4.7 average from 11 amazon.co.uk ratings on the listing header
Cons
Only 11 ratings behind the 4.7 star line
Dimensions field prints 10 x 10 x 10 mm on the listing
No chain-brake time stated
Review themes include bar fitted upside down on delivery
Best for: Occasional cordless cuts when price matters more than review depth and you will check bar orientation on arrival.
Less suitable: Firewood seasons sorted by star average alone, or buyers who want voltage and brake data on the listing before they pay.
The Oregon CS1400 is a corded 2400 W saw with a 16 inch bar, an integrated chain brake and automatic oiling, listed at £114.42 with a stated 3 year warranty. It scores 4.4 out of 5 from 1,561 amazon.co.uk ratings, the largest written sample in this category folder. Reviewers repeatedly name firewood, awkward garden logs and replacing a petrol saw with a pull-start. Tool-free tension is stated, and UK text still says the oil tank feels small and the sight window is hard to read, with oil checked every few logs on long sessions. Item weight is 6.61 kg in the spec block while a bullet also says 5.9 kg; both figures stay on the page. Cable length is not in the spec block, so lead reach is an open question until you unbox it. A second chain is not in the included-components line, though Oregon chain is often described as easy to source. Among corded saws it leads on UK review depth, not on price, if your job is cutting beside the house.
Pros
4.4 out of 5 from 1,561 amazon.co.uk ratings
Integrated chain brake and automatic oiling stated in the bullets
3 year manufacturer warranty line
Strong UK review themes for firewood and garden logs
Cons
Highest corded price in the set at £114.42
Cable length is not stated in the spec block
Reviews call the oil tank small and the window unclear
No spare chain listed in the included-components line
Best for: Household firewood and pruning beside a socket when you want the deepest UK review record and a stated chain brake.
Less suitable: Shoppers who need a published cable length before purchase, or the lowest corded price in this table.
The DOVAMAN DCS01A is a corded 2400 W saw at £94.97 with a 16 inch Oregon bar, a 6 m cable, two chains, bumper spikes and a chain brake claimed to stop in 0.12 seconds. It lists 15 m/s chain speed and a visible 150 ml oil tank, which is more box detail than the Oregon file gives. The star line is 4.4 from only 9 amazon.co.uk ratings, so the average is thin compared with Oregon’s 1,561 or Hyundai’s 1,037. The bullets ask for a circuit current above 15 A while a normal UK plug is rated at 13 A; that is a listing constraint, not a measured trip current from this comparison. Tool-free SDS tension is stated, and reviews still mention slack after use. At 4.86 kg it is the lightest corded saw here on the item-weight field. You get a spare chain and a stated brake time, but you trade the Hyundai’s 12 m lead and the Oregon’s review depth for those extras.
Pros
Two 40 cm Oregon chains and a bar cover in the box
Stated chain brake with 0.12 s claim plus bumper spikes
150 ml visible oil tank with automatic lubrication stated
15 m/s chain speed and 4.86 kg listed weight
Cons
Only 9 amazon.co.uk ratings behind the 4.4 star line
6 m cable, shorter than the Hyundai’s 12 m lead
Listing asks for above 15 A on a 13 A domestic plug
No warranty period stated on the listing
Best for: Cross-cutting near a socket when you want a stated brake time, a visible oil tank and a second chain in the carton.
Less suitable: Buyers who sort by review count first, or anyone who cannot place the saw within 6 m of a socket without an extension lead.
The bullets say to ensure the circuit current is above 15 A. The listing does not include a measured current. A normal UK plug is 13 A, so this note is a buying constraint, not a test result.
Does it include two chains?
Yes. The included-components line lists a 40 cm guide bar and two 40 cm chains, plus a protective cover and a 6 m cable.
Is chain oil in the box?
No. Oil is not in the included-components line. The tank is stated as 150 ml with automatic lubrication.
The Hyundai HYC2400E is a corded 2400 W saw with a 16 inch Oregon bar, a 12 m cable and a stated 3 year warranty, listed at £88.98. Across 1,037 amazon.co.uk ratings it scores 4.3 out of 5, the second-largest review sample in this set after the Oregon. UK reviewers use it for garden firewood and branches, often after moving away from petrol, and they praise the long lead for a pile beside the house. The chain-speed field in the spec block prints 15 rpm, which is not a metres-per-second figure and must not be read like the DOVAMAN’s 15 m/s line. Tool-free tension is stated, yet reviews still report slack after a few warm cuts and chains thrown when tension is ignored. Chain oil is not in the included-components line. A chain brake is described in UK reviews but not in the five listing bullets. At this price with a thousand-plus ratings and a 12 m cable, it is the best value corded option here if you accept retensioning and buy oil separately.
Pros
12 m cable, the longest stated lead in the corded trio
4.3 out of 5 from 1,037 amazon.co.uk ratings
16 inch Oregon bar with tool-free tensioning stated
3 year manufacturer warranty line on the listing
Cons
Chain oil is not listed in the box contents
Reviews report chain slack and thrown chains if tension is skipped
Chain brake is not in the five bullets, only in review text
Spec block chain speed prints 15 rpm, not m/s
Best for: Stove logs and branches beside a socket, when you want a corded 2400 W saw with a long cable and a large UK review sample.
Less suitable: Timber far from power, or buyers who need a stated chain brake in the listing bullets before they order.
The VOERJIA YL-DJ-A01 is a cordless 16 inch saw listed at £162.99 with a 36 V line, a 2300 W label, 18 m/s chain speed and a 170 ml oil tank, plus two batteries used one after the other. The bullets print chain identity as 3/8 inch low-profile, 59 drive links and 0.050 inch gauge, rare detail in this set. It scores 4.3 out of 5 from 250 amazon.co.uk ratings on the header, but many review texts in the saved listing describe 6 inch or 8 inch VOERJIA models, so the whole count must not be treated as sixteen-inch evidence. A mechanical chain brake is stated without a time figure. Weight is 4.63 kg on the item field. It is the top-priced battery saw here and the most spec-complete on chain sizing, yet the mixed review pool and sequential battery use mean you read the stars with caution and plan oil as a separate purchase.
Pros
Chain spec printed: 3/8 inch LP, 59 links, 0.050 inch gauge
170 ml automatic oil tank stated
18 m/s chain speed and two batteries in the kit
Second chain included in the bullet description
Cons
250 ratings mix with 6 inch and 8 inch review texts in the file
Highest battery price in the set at £162.99
Batteries used one after the other, not both fitted together
Chain oil not in the included-components line
Best for: Buyers who want printed chain numbers for reordering and can work with sequential packs at the top of this price band.
Less suitable: Shoppers who treat the full 250 rating count as proof for this bar length, or anyone who needs both packs on the tool at once.
The bullets state a 170 ml automatic oiler for the bar and chain. They do not name a brand of oil. Oil is not in the included-components line.
What chain does it take?
The bullets state a 16 inch chain at 3/8 inch low-profile pitch, 59 drive links and 0.050 inch gauge. A second chain is included in that kit description.
Are the 250 ratings all for this 16 inch saw?
The listing header says 4.3 from 250. Many of the review texts in the saved listing describe a 6 inch or 8 inch VOERJIA. Do not treat the whole count as 16 inch evidence.
The Dong Cheng DCCS40161 is a cordless 16 inch saw at £149.99 that uses two 20 V 4.0 Ah batteries together for a stated 40 V system, not one pack as a spare. It lists 14 m/s chain speed, tool-free tension and an inertia chain brake claimed to stop in under 0.1 seconds, plus a lock-off switch. Item weight is 7.94 kg, the heaviest battery saw here. It scores 3.9 out of 5 from 65 amazon.co.uk ratings, a middling sample between the budget pair and the corded leaders. One reviewer bought it for a field stack with no socket and described cutting many logs in that setting. The included-components line names a charger, the saw and two batteries, not a second chain or a case. Wattage in watts is not in the spec block. It is the serious cordless option in this folder when both packs on the tool are acceptable and you accept the weight and price step above the £52.99 pair.
Pros
40 V from two fitted 20 V 4.0 Ah packs, with 14 m/s stated
Inertia chain brake under 0.1 s claimed, plus lock-off
Tool-free tensioning stated
UK review theme of field use without mains power
Cons
Both batteries required on the tool, not a one-pack spare layout
7.94 kg item weight, heaviest cordless entry here
3.9 out of 5 from 65 ratings, below the corded leaders
No spare chain in the included-components line
Best for: Firewood or logs away from a socket when you accept dual-battery weight and want a stated inertia brake claim.
Less suitable: Buyers who want the lowest cordless price, a lighter saw, or a second chain in the box without ordering extra.
Yes. The bullets say the two 20 V 4.0 Ah packs work together to deliver 40 V. The second pack is not described as a spare.
Does it come with a carry case?
No. The included-components line is one charger, one chainsaw and two 4.0 Ah batteries.
What chain brake is listed?
An inertia-activated chain brake, claimed to stop the saw in less than 0.1 seconds, plus a lock-off switch. That time is the listing claim, not a measurement from this comparison.
The papasbox EL20013 is a cordless 16 inch saw listed at £52.99 with a 21 V line, two 4000 mAh batteries, two chains and an 1800 W label that is not comparable to a 2400 W mains input. It scores 3.8 out of 5 from 62 amazon.co.uk ratings, the weakest star average among the five battery saws kept here. The bullets name a safety lock and front hand guard, not a chain-brake time, and UK reviews report the plastic hand guard snapping. Runtime reports in the file spread from about ten cuts to about forty minutes, with no single measured figure. Item weight is listed as 2 kg, which is far below the Dong Cheng’s 7.94 kg and may reflect packaging choices rather than how the saw feels in use. Chain oil is not in the included-components line. It is a low-price cordless kit with a spare chain, but the guard complaints and the 3.8 line are reasons to treat it as occasional light work, not a firewood workhorse.
Pros
Two 4000 mAh batteries and two chains in the kit
Lowest shelf price in the set at £52.99
11 m/s chain speed and adjustable automatic oiling stated
Tool-free knob tensioning stated
Cons
3.8 out of 5 from 62 amazon.co.uk ratings
UK reviews report the plastic hand guard snapping
No chain-brake time stated, only lock-off and hand guard
Chain oil not listed in the box contents
Best for: Light pruning and small branches when you already accept a thin review sample and short runtime reports.
Less suitable: Regular stove-log sessions, buyers who want a stated chain brake, or anyone who needs guard durability backed by strong ratings.
The GEARPASS cordless saw is listed at £85.99 with a 2 kW label, two 4.5 Ah batteries, spare chains, gloves and goggles, and a 1 year warranty line. It scores 3.3 out of 5 from 11 amazon.co.uk ratings, the lowest star average in this eight-saw set. Bullets claim anti-kickback performance, yet two UK reviews say the chain brake is fitted the wrong way round so it cannot work as a brake, and a third describes the front control cutting power instead. The oil bottle is listed but reviews say it arrives empty, so bar oil is still a separate purchase. Item weight is 5.81 kg, mid-pack for battery saws here. Chain tension is not stated in the comparison fields. You get a generous accessory list on paper, but a disputed brake and a 3.3 line from eleven ratings are reasons to read the main table and skip this as a safety-led pick until the listing matches the reviews.
Pros
Two 4.5 Ah batteries and two spare chains stated
Gloves and goggles included in the bullet list
42 V highlight and 1980 W label on the listing
Automatic oiling with an oil bottle in the kit description
Cons
3.3 out of 5 from 11 amazon.co.uk ratings
UK reviews dispute whether the chain brake is operational
Reviews say the supplied oil bottle is empty
Only 1 year warranty stated, against 3 years on Oregon and Hyundai
Best for: A buyer who treats gloves and spare chains as kit value and will verify the brake themselves before the first cut.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a stated, trusted chain brake on faith from the listing, or a strong star line from more than eleven ratings.
The bullets say anti-kickback performance and do not give a brake time. Two UK reviews say the brake is fitted the wrong way round, so it is not an operational brake. A third review describes the front control cutting power. The listing leaves that conflict unresolved.
How long does each battery last?
The listing asks this and does not answer it. The spec block has no runtime. The kit is two 4.5 Ah packs, with 42 V stated in the highlight.
Is it supplied with chain oil?
The bullets include a chain oil bottle. Reviews say the bottle is empty, so oil is a separate purchase. Oiling is described as automatic.
How we compared
Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk listings kept for these eight electric saws. There is no laboratory cut and no petrol saw in the folder. The top pick and best value are the two awards already stored on the listings. HSE and legislation.gov.uk pages below set the work and consumer frame. They are not a test of these ASINs. The weights are the buying order from the digest.
1
Power source
25%
Corded 2400 W suits logs beside a socket. Battery suits a stack with no power. A cable is a poor match for standing timber. Cordless watt labels are not mains watts.
2
Review evidence
20%
Oregon is 4.4 from 1,561 ratings and Hyundai is 4.3 from 1,037. Yelyee is 4.7 from 11, GEARPASS is 3.3 from 11, and DOVAMAN is 4.4 from 9. A star without the count is a weak sort.
3
Chain brake
20%
A lock-off only prevents an accidental start. GEARPASS reviews say the brake is fitted the wrong way round. papasbox reviews say the plastic hand guard snaps. Stated brake times are listing claims.
4
Chain and a spare
15%
VOERJIA prints 3/8 inch low-profile, 59 drive links and 0.050 inch gauge. DOVAMAN, papasbox, Yelyee, VOERJIA and GEARPASS include a second chain. Dong Cheng’s included-components line does not.
5
Oil system
10%
DOVAMAN states a 150 ml visible tank. VOERJIA states 170 ml. Oregon reviewers call the tank small and the window unclear. Automatic means the pump runs. It does not mean the tank arrives full.
6
Warranty and cable
10%
Oregon and Hyundai state 3 years. GEARPASS states 1 year. Hyundai’s cable is 12 m and DOVAMAN’s is 6 m. Oregon’s length is not in the spec block.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
16 inch chainsaw buying guide
This guide is the order of checks for the eight electric 16 inch listings on this page. Start with where the timber sits, then the rating count, then whether a chain brake is actually stated. Corded 2400 W and a battery label are not the same power. A 16 inch bar is not a felling diameter. Chain oil is a separate purchase on almost every row. The scored table stays above. The notes below are the listing facts, not a laboratory cut.
What is a 16 inch chainsaw?
A 16 inch chainsaw, for a UK shopper, is a handheld saw with a guide bar of about 16 inches. On these amazon.co.uk listings that is 40 cm on most models and 41 cm on the Dong Cheng DCCS40161. Bar length is not the diameter you can fell in one pass. The eight listings kept here are all electric. Three are corded and headed 2400 W: the Hyundai HYC2400E at about £88.98, the DOVAMAN DCS01A at about £94.97, and the Oregon CS1400 at about £114.42.
Best for
Garden owners cutting stove logs beside a socket
Occasional cordless pruning at the £52.99 end of this set
Not ideal for
A standing tree that can hit a building, a road, a line or a person
Buyers who read 16 inch as the diameter of a one-pass fell
Mistakes to avoid
1
Reading 16 inch as a felling diameter
The bar is about 40 cm, or 41 cm on the Dong Cheng. That length is not the diameter you can fell in one pass. A standing tree that can hit a building, a road, a line or a person is trained work.
2
Treating cordless watts like mains watts
The corded trio is headed 2400 W. Battery rows print 1800 W, 1980 W or 2300 W as shelf labels. Hyundai’s chain-speed field prints 15 rpm. That is not the DOVAMAN’s 15 m/s.
3
Trusting a star without the count
Yelyee is 4.7 from 11 ratings. Oregon is 4.4 from 1,561. VOERJIA’s 250 ratings mix with 6 inch and 8 inch review texts. Cutting on an empty oil tank is the other repeat mistake. Automatic does not mean the tank arrives full.
What to weigh up
Power source
High
Power source is the first split, and it has to match the pile of timber. The Hyundai HYC2400E, DOVAMAN DCS01A and Oregon CS1400 are corded and headed 2400 W. That suits logs beside a socket. Hyundai states 230 V and a 12 m cable. DOVAMAN states a 6 m cable, 15 m/s, bumper spikes and a brake time of 0.12 seconds, at 4.86 kg on the item-weight field. Its bullets ask for a circuit above 15 A. A normal UK plug is 13 A.
Brake, chain and oil
High
Evidence is the count behind the stars, not the star alone. Oregon is 4.4 from 1,561 amazon.co.uk ratings. Hyundai is 4.3 from 1,037. Yelyee is 4.7 from 11, GEARPASS is 3.3 from 11, and DOVAMAN is 4.4 from 9. VOERJIA’s 4.3 from 250 mixes with review texts for a 6 inch and an 8 inch saw. Eleven ratings are not a thousand. A chain brake is not a lock-off. A lock-off only prevents an accidental start. DOVAMAN states 0.12 seconds. Dong Cheng states an inertia brake under 0.1 seconds.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🪵
Stove logs beside a socket
You cut garden firewood next to the house and you want the deepest UK review record in this set. The Oregon CS1400 at about £114.42 is 4.4 from 1,561 ratings, with a stated chain brake and a 3 year warranty line. Cable length is not in the spec block, and a second chain is not listed.
You want the entry price and two batteries, and you will check the bar before the first cut. The Yelyee at about £52.99 is the stored top pick, at 4.7 from only 11 ratings. The dimensions field prints 10 x 10 x 10 mm, and no chain-brake time is stated.
The stack is away from mains, so a cable is the wrong tool. The Dong Cheng DCCS40161 at about £149.99 uses two 20 V 4.0 Ah packs together for a stated 40 V, at 7.94 kg. One UK reviewer bought it for a field. The second pack is not a spare.
The stored top pick is the Yelyee cordless saw at about £52.99. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 11 ratings, with two 4.0 Ah batteries and two chains. Eleven ratings are a thin sample next to the Oregon CS1400 at 4.4 from 1,561. Best value is the Hyundai HYC2400E at about £88.98, at 4.3 from 1,037 ratings, with a 12 m cable. Check the Yelyee bar on arrival. Use the Hyundai when the logs sit beside a socket.
How much does a 16 inch chainsaw cost?
In this set the shelf runs from about £52.99 to about £162.99 on amazon.co.uk. papasbox and Yelyee share about £52.99. GEARPASS is about £85.99, Hyundai about £88.98, DOVAMAN about £94.97, and Oregon about £114.42. Dong Cheng is about £149.99 and VOERJIA about £162.99. About £163 is only the top of this folder. No petrol price is in these eight listings. Chain oil is usually a separate purchase.
Should a 16 inch chainsaw be corded or cordless?
Corded 2400 W suits logs beside a socket. The Hyundai, DOVAMAN and Oregon on this page are all headed 2400 W. A cable is a poor match for standing timber. Battery suits a stack with no power, and cordless watt labels are not mains watts. Dong Cheng uses both packs together. VOERJIA uses packs one after the other. A wider corded set is the electric chainsaw comparison.
Does 16 inch mean the size of tree you can fell?
No. A 16 inch bar is the guide length, about 40 cm on most of these listings and 41 cm on the Dong Cheng. It is not the diameter of a tree you can fell in one pass. HSE’s chainsaw guidance is written for petrol chainsaws used at work. A standing tree that can hit a building, a road, a line or a person is a job for a trained person.
Do these saws need chain oil?
Yes. Every saw here still needs bar-and-chain oil, and it is usually not in the box. Automatic oiling means the pump runs. It does not mean the tank arrives full. DOVAMAN states a 150 ml visible tank. VOERJIA states 170 ml. Oregon reviewers call the tank small and the window unclear. GEARPASS lists an oil bottle that reviews say arrives empty. Do not cut on an empty tank.
What is the difference between a chain brake and a lock-off?
A lock-off only prevents an accidental start. It is not a chain brake. DOVAMAN states a brake time of 0.12 seconds. Dong Cheng states an inertia brake under 0.1 seconds. Those times are listing claims. Oregon states an integrated brake. Hyundai’s brake is in UK reviews, not in the five bullets. papasbox and Yelyee state a lock-off and a hand guard, not a brake time. GEARPASS reviews say the brake is fitted the wrong way round.
When should you call a professional instead?
Call a professional for a standing tree that can hit a building, a road, a line or a person, for any cut off the ground, and for paid or farm use until training is in place. Private garden logs are not automatically the work-equipment rules in PUWER 1998. HSE’s chainsaw leaflet does not make a battery saw exempt from kickback. These listings give no vibration figure in m/s² and no noise spec.
Our verdict
The stored top pick is the Yelyee cordless saw at about £52.99. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 11 ratings, with two 4.0 Ah batteries and two chains, and the dimensions field prints 10 x 10 x 10 mm. Eleven ratings are not the same evidence as the Oregon CS1400 at 4.4 from 1,561. Best value is the Hyundai HYC2400E at about £88.98, at 4.3 from 1,037 ratings, with a 12 m cable, if you accept retensioning and buy chain oil separately. The Oregon remains the corded saw with the deepest UK review record and a stated chain brake, at about £114.42.
Best overall
Yelyee 16 inch
Highest stored score in this set, at 4.7 from 11 amazon.co.uk ratings and about £52.99, if you treat eleven ratings as a small sample.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to 16 inch chainsaws
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the digest first, then the amazon.co.uk listings for the eight ASINs on this page. Last updated October 2026. No laboratory cut was run.
This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures already stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.