Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Saw horse comparison 2026

The best saw horses, compared.

Top pick: BORA PM-4500T Best value: Stanley STST1-70713 – Polypropylene pair at about £39.95 with 4.6 from 1,768 reviews for boards and doors, once both the 450 kg and 45 kg lines are read. Updated 22.10.2026.

A saw horse is a portable stand that holds timber while you cut or work it. UK shoppers meet two tools under that name. A log horse has serrated teeth or a cradle so a round does not roll during a cross-cut. A folding trestle, often a pair, has a flat top, a groove or a bracket for doors, boards and a bench. The first check is the job. A plastic trestle will not hold a wet trunk. Judge a listing by a lock that stays shut, a top that matches the timber you own, and a load line that agrees with itself. Two kilogram figures on one page are both seller text. None of these listings cites a British Standard load test. A slot marked 4x2 is not proof a UK CLS stick will fit. Finished CLS 2x4 is 38 by 89 mm, and sawn carcassing is often nearer 47 by 100 mm, so measure the piece. The [saw horse buying guide](/hub/forestry-tools/saw-horse/sub/saw-horse-buying-guide) sets type and timber fit before a load figure becomes a working limit.

A saw horse is a portable stand that holds timber while you cut or work it. UK shoppers meet two tools under that name. A log horse has serrated teeth or a cradle so a round does not roll during a cross-cut.

BORA PM-4500T

Best overall

BORA PM-4500T
9.5/10∼ £140

40 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +24,100 readers

12 of 12: Best saw horses compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
BORA PM-4500T
BORA PM-3350T
Roughneck Colt 600E
Best value
Stanley STST1-70713
Evolution twin pack
B2C single stand
Amazon Basics AMZ1719
Oregon 584145
BORA PM-3360T
B2C twin pack
Einhell 4500067
Harbour Housewares
9.5/10
9.5/10
9.5/10
9.3/10
9.3/10
9.3/10
9.1/10
9.1/10
9.1/10
8.9/10
7.9/10
7.9/10
∼ £140
∼ £77
∼ £68
∼ £40
∼ £45
∼ £19
∼ £47
∼ £40
∼ £90
∼ £36
∼ £33
∼ £24
4.7(3,484)
4.7(1,470)
4.7(40)
4.6(1,768)
4.6(970)
4.6(6)
4.5(8,402)
4.5(4,130)
4.5(909)
4.4(44)
3.9(4,072)
3.9(16)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best saw horses in detail

BORA PM-4500T

Rank 1

BORA PM-4500T

∼£140

Our view

The BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T is a twin pack at £139.99 and 17.5 kg, the dearest row in this capture, with dimensions 114 x 8 x 16 cm. Across 3,484 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.7, though the written sample mixes countries. The bullet says 1,360 kg per pair and the field says 1,633 kg, and the top is pre-drilled for a 38 by 89 mm sacrificial board that is not in the box. A UK review had to rout a 4x2 before it entered, and another says to watch your fingers as the legs close, even though the bullet says they fold in any order. The listing does not describe height adjustment, one UK review expected it and did not get it, and one review reports bent legs. UK joinery reviews call the pair sturdy, so it is a van pair if you will add that 38 by 89 mm board, and it is the wrong buy for firewood or sawn timber fatter than 38 mm.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 3,484
  • No assembly. Non-sequential folding is in the bullet
  • 38 by 89 mm top is specified
  • UK joinery reviews call them sturdy

Cons

  • £139.99 and 17.5 kg
  • 1,360 kg and 1,633 kg both appear
  • 4x2 slot needed easing in a UK review
  • Legs bent in one review. Finger pinch in another

Best for: A van pair for joinery when you will add a 38 by 89 mm board and you want the fast fold.

Less suitable: Firewood, a tight budget, or sawn timber fatter than 38 mm.

Specifications

Model
BORA PM-4500T
Brand
BORA
Price
∼£140
Customer rating
4.7/5(3,484)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
1,360 / 1,633 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Height
Min. 30 in
Grip or slot
38 x 89 mm top
Material line
Steel
Assembly
No
Weight
17.5 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.7 from 3,484

Common questions

What timber fits the top?

The bullet says a 38 by 89 mm sacrificial board. A UK review had to rout a 4x2 before it entered. The board is not in the box.

Do the legs fold in a set order?

The bullet says no. Levers at either end fold in any order. One UK review says watch your fingers as they close.

Are the legs height adjustable?

The listing does not say so. One UK review expected adjustable legs and did not get them. Minimum height is printed as 30 inches.

BORA PM-3350T

Rank 2

BORA PM-3350T

∼£77

Our view

The BORA Workhorse PM-3350T is a metal folding pair at £76.74 and 11.7 kg, with dimensions 73.7 x 63.5 x 83.8 cm and integrated 2x4 slots. Across 1,470 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.7. The bullet says 612 kg per horse and 1,225 kg for the pair, while the load field prints 2.5E+3 pounds. The type field says stainless steel, the frame field says alloy steel, and the bullet says powder-coated steel legs. One UK review of this cheaper pair says the legs are not height adjustable. UK reviews call it stable and quick to open, and assembly is required. The 1 in Saw Horses line is shared with two other BORA listings, so it is not a separate win. It suits site boards when a fixed height is acceptable, and it is the wrong pair if you need the adjustable XT legs or a log cradle.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 1,470
  • Folds flat and UK reviews call it stable
  • 2x4 slots for a crossbar
  • 11.7 kg for the pair in the weight field

Cons

  • Load field and bullet do not match
  • Three material wordings
  • No height adjustment, according to a UK review
  • Shared rank line with two other BORA ASINs

Best for: A metal folding pair for site boards when a fixed height is acceptable.

Less suitable: Log cutting, or a job that needs the adjustable XT legs.

Specifications

Model
BORA PM-3350T
Brand
BORA
Price
∼£77
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,470)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
612 kg; 2.5E+3 lb
Folds flat
Yes
Height
Not adjustable
Grip or slot
2x4 slots
Material line
Steel, wording varies
Assembly
Yes
Weight
11.7 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.7 from 1,470

Common questions

Are the legs height adjustable?

The bullets do not say so. One UK review of this cheaper pair says the legs are not height adjustable.

What load is printed?

The bullet says 612 kg per horse and 1,225 kg for the pair. The load field prints 2.5E+3 pounds.

What material should you quote?

The type field says stainless steel, the frame field says alloy steel, and the bullet says powder-coated steel legs.

Roughneck Colt 600E

Rank 3

Roughneck Colt 600E

∼£68

Our view

The Roughneck Colt 600E, model ROU35601, is one powder-coated steel saw horse at £67.97. The bullet gives a working height of 630 to 820 mm in 28 mm steps, with pivoting feet, timber supports from 30 to 90 mm, and a pipe prop for 15 mm and 22 mm. The title says 589 kg and the bullet says 598 kg and 1,300 lb. Across 40 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.7, and UK reviews call it strong and heavy. The technical block prints 1 x 1 x 1 cm and 1 kg, which is not a usable size. A 25-year guarantee is on the bullet, not a tested load. Forty ratings is a modest sample. It is one adjustable steel trestle for doors, timber, and copper pipe, and it is not a chainsaw log cradle.

Pros

  • Height adjustment and pivoting feet
  • Pipe prop and wide timber supports
  • 4.7 from 40, with UK reviews calling it strong
  • Sold as one, so a second can be added later

Cons

  • 589 kg and 598 kg both appear
  • 1 cm and 1 kg fields are unusable
  • Reviews say it is heavy
  • Only 40 ratings. Not a log horse

Best for: One adjustable steel trestle for doors, timber, and 15 or 22 mm pipe.

Less suitable: A chainsaw log cradle, or anyone using the 1 cm dimension as a folded size.

Specifications

Model
Roughneck Colt 600E
Brand
Roughneck
Price
∼£68
Customer rating
4.7/5(40)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Single
Stated load
589 and 598 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Height
630–820 mm
Grip or slot
30–90 mm timber
Material line
Powder-coated steel
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.7 from 40

Common questions

What working height is stated?

The bullet says 630 to 820 mm, with locks every 28 mm, and pivoting feet.

Which load figure should you read?

The title says 589 kg. The bullet says 598 kg and 1,300 lb. Both are seller text.

Can you use the printed dimensions?

No. The technical block says 1 x 1 x 1 cm and 1 kg. Reviews call the horse heavy. Those fields are not a size.

Stanley STST1-70713

Rank 4

Stanley STST1-70713

∼£40

Our view

The Stanley STST1-70713 is a polypropylene twin pack at £39.95 and 6.05 kg, with dimensions 83 x 70 x 11.1 cm, and it folds flat. Across 1,768 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.6. The title and the load field say 450 kg, while a bullet says the design holds up to 45 kg per pair, so both figures are seller text and neither is a test in this capture. UK reviews use the pair for long boards and a simple benchtop, and they also say the tool hooks snap off. A UK review says the V-groove slots take 38 mm CLS at a push and are easier if the timber is sanded to 36 mm. It is the best value here for light DIY with boards and doors, once you have read both load lines, and it is not a log horse.

Pros

  • Twin pack at £39.95 with 4.6 from 1,768
  • Folds flat and weighs 6.05 kg
  • UK reviews use them for long boards and a simple benchtop

Cons

  • 45 kg and 450 kg are both on the listing
  • Tool hooks snap off in UK reviews
  • 38 mm CLS is a tight fit
  • Not described as a log horse

Best for: Light DIY with boards and doors, if you read both load lines before you buy.

Less suitable: Chainsaw firewood, or anyone who needs the hooks to survive site use.

Specifications

Model
Stanley STST1-70713
Brand
Stanley
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,768)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
450 kg and 45 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Grip or slot
V-grooves
Material line
Polypropylene
Assembly
Yes
Weight
6.05 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.6 from 1,768

Common questions

Which load figure is on the listing?

The title and the load field say 450 kg. A bullet says the design holds up to 45 kg per pair. Both are printed. Neither is a test result in this capture.

What is it made of?

The material field says polypropylene (PP).

Will a 38 mm CLS strip sit in the top?

A UK review says the slots take 38 mm CLS at a push, and are easier if the timber is sanded to 36 mm. The bullet only says integral V-grooves.

Evolution twin pack

Rank 5

Evolution twin pack

∼£45

Our view

The Evolution folding twin pack is £44.98, and the title is the only place in this amazon.co.uk capture that states a load, at up to 500 kg. Across 970 reviews the line is 4.6. Material, weight, model, and dimensions are not on the listing. UK reviews say the pair folds small and feels stable once the feet are on the floor, and that it can wobble while you open it. Hooks can fall off. Brackets for what a reviewer calls 4x2s appear in a review, not in a spec table. A separate Evolution shop page publishes a specification this capture does not contain, so those shop figures stay off this row. It is a compact twin pack when you can accept a missing spec table, and it is not a log horse.

Pros

  • £44.98 twin pack
  • 4.6 from 970
  • Reviews describe compact folding and stability once open

Cons

  • No material, weight, or size on the listing
  • Hooks can fall off
  • Wobbly while unfolding
  • 500 kg is a title claim only

Best for: A compact twin pack for general support when you can accept a missing spec table.

Less suitable: A log horse, or a buyer who needs a printed material and weight.

Specifications

Model
Evolution twin pack
Brand
Evolution Power Tools
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.6/5(970)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
Up to 500 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.6 from 970

Common questions

What load does the listing state?

The title says supports up to 500 kg. There is no technical table and no second figure in this capture.

Do they fold?

The title says compact folding. UK reviews say they fold small and feel stable once the feet are on the floor.

Is the material stated?

No. Material, weight, and dimensions are not printed in this capture.

B2C single stand

Rank 6

B2C single stand

∼£19

Our view

The B2C single plastic stand is £18.69, the lowest price in this capture, and the title says 1x while the bullets still describe a pair at 350 kg and 2.32 kg per stand. The load field says 175 kg and the title also says 350 kg. Across six amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 4.6, with two written reviews, and one of those says the 5.2 cm grooves are out and will not hold that width. The field says no assembly, and a bullet gives a folded size of 58 x 5 x 79.5 cm. One buyer used two for insulation board and called them light, though six ratings is a thin file. It is a spare single when the price matters, and it is the wrong row if you need a confirmed pair or a log horse.

Pros

  • £18.69
  • No assembly in the field
  • One buyer used two for insulation board and called them light

Cons

  • Pack size and load wording disagree
  • Only six ratings and two written reviews
  • Groove fault in one of those two reviews
  • Ranked in Power Tools Stands

Best for: A spare single plastic stand when the price matters and the thin review file is acceptable.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a confirmed pair, a measured groove, or a log horse.

Specifications

Model
B2C single stand
Brand
B2C
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.6/5(6)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
1, bullets say pair
Stated load
175 and 350 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Grip or slot
5.2 cm grooves
Material line
Plastic
Assembly
No
Weight
2.32 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.6 from 6

Common questions

Is this one stand or a pair?

The title says 1x and the unit count is 1. The bullets still say 350 kg per pair and 2.32 kg per stand.

Do the grooves match 5.2 cm?

The bullet says 2-inch grooves, given as 5.2 cm. One of the two UK reviews says the grooves are out and will not hold that width.

Is assembly required?

The field says no.

Amazon Basics AMZ1719

Rank 7

Amazon Basics AMZ1719

∼£47

Our view

The Amazon Basics AMZ1719 pair is £47.23, listed at 2.21 kg with dimensions 78.9 x 5 x 60 cm, and the title, the bullet, and the load field all say 408 kg for the set. Across 8,402 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5, the largest file in this comparison. The material field says metal and powder coated, while UK reviews call the same pair plastic. Assembly is not required, and the bullet says the pair arrives fully assembled, with locking braces, non-slip feet, and fold-out stoppers. UK reviews use them for doors and boards, and a weatherproof question on the page has no answer. At 2.21 kg beside a 408 kg claim, the load line is seller text, so the pair suits light indoor or shed DIY when a ready-folded pair matters more than a settled material, and it is the wrong horse for chainsaw logs.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 8,402
  • No assembly and folds flat
  • Locking braces and non-slip feet are in the bullet
  • UK reviews use them for doors and boards

Cons

  • Metal in the table, plastic in the reviews
  • 2.21 kg is very light beside a 408 kg claim
  • Not described as a log horse
  • Weatherproof question has no answer

Best for: Light indoor or shed DIY where a ready-folded pair matters more than a settled material line.

Less suitable: Chainsaw logs, or a buyer who needs the material field and the reviews to match.

Specifications

Model
Amazon Basics AMZ1719
Brand
Amazon Basics
Price
∼£47
Customer rating
4.5/5(8,402)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
408 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Grip or slot
Hooks and braces
Material line
Metal; reviews: plastic
Assembly
No
Weight
2.21 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.5 from 8,402

Common questions

What material does the listing state?

The material field says metal and the finish says powder coated. UK reviews call the same pair plastic and all-plastic. Both are on the listing.

Do they need assembly?

No. The field says assembly is not required, and the bullet says they come fully assembled.

What load is printed?

The title, the bullet, and the load field all say 408 kg for the set.

Oregon 584145

Rank 8

Oregon 584145

∼£40

Our view

The Oregon 584145 is a painted alloy-steel log horse at £39.50, with serrated teeth and a stated maximum of 27 cm so a chainsaw log is less likely to turn. Across 4,130 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5, and the capture ranks it 5 in Saw Horses. Item weight is 6.63 kg while a bullet says 7 kg, and the dimensions are 105.2 x 17 x 87.2 cm. Assembly is required, the instructions are in the box, and the spanner is not. The load field prints 79.83 kg and cites no test. One UK review reports uneven legs. It is the top pick here for cross-cutting logs that stay inside 27 cm, and it is the wrong shape for sheet material or a door.

Pros

  • Dedicated log horse with serrated teeth and a 27 cm limit
  • 4.5 from 4,130 on the header
  • Folds, and UK reviews say it stops logs turning
  • £39.50 in this capture

Cons

  • Spanner is not in the box
  • One UK review reports uneven legs
  • Item weight 6.63 kg and bullet weight 7 kg
  • Load field is 79.83 kg, with no cited test

Best for: Cross-cutting logs up to 27 cm with a chainsaw, if you can assemble it once.

Less suitable: Sheet materials, doors, or a buyer who wants a no-tools twin pack.

Specifications

Model
Oregon 584145
Brand
Oregon
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.5/5(4,130)
Type
Log horse
Pack
Single
Stated load
79.83 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Grip or slot
Teeth, 27 cm
Material line
Painted alloy steel
Assembly
Yes, no spanner
Weight
6.63 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Yes
Review header
4.5 from 4,130

Common questions

What log size does the listing allow?

The title and the bullet both say a 27 cm maximum. There is no separate diameter figure.

Does the box include a spanner?

No. Assembly is required, instructions are included, and the bullet says a spanner or wrench is not included.

Is a chainsaw named on the listing?

Yes. The bullet says the horse is for cutting wood with a chainsaw, and the teeth are there to stop the wood turning.

BORA PM-3360T

Rank 9

BORA PM-3360T

∼£90

Our view

The BORA Workhorse XT PM-3360T is an adjustable metal pair at £90 and 13.7 kg. The load field says 612 kg, and the bullet says 612 kg each and 1,225 kg for the pair. Across 909 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5. The minimum height field is 30 inches, and a working range in millimetres is not printed. The field says no assembly, but UK reviews say the legs fold in a set order that is easy to get wrong. One UK review says the end slots will not take the piece they call a UK 4x2, and the listing does not print a slot width. Another review mentions a bent end while carrying the pair, and one calls the pair load claim optimistic. It suits sheet material when you can carry 13.7 kg and want adjustable legs, and it is a poor firewood horse.

Pros

  • Height adjustment and no assembly in the field
  • 4.5 from 909
  • UK reviews praise stiffness under sheet material
  • Folds for a van

Cons

  • Heavy to carry, including a bent end in one review
  • Folding order is fussy
  • 4x2 slot complaint
  • A reviewer calls the pair load claim optimistic

Best for: Site sheet material when you want adjustable metal legs and can carry 13.7 kg.

Less suitable: Firewood, or a buyer who needs a stated 38 mm slot.

Specifications

Model
BORA PM-3360T
Brand
BORA
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
4.5/5(909)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
612 kg each
Folds flat
Yes
Height
Adjustable
Grip or slot
End slots
Material line
Alloy steel
Assembly
No
Weight
13.7 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.5 from 909

Common questions

Can you change the height?

Yes, according to the title and the bullet. The minimum height field says 30 inches. A working range in millimetres is not printed.

Do the legs fold in any order?

UK reviews say no. They describe a set order that is easy to get wrong. That is the opposite of the Speedhorse bullet.

Will a UK 4x2 fit the end slots?

One UK review says the slots are too narrow for the piece they call a UK 4x2. The listing does not print a slot width.

B2C twin pack

Rank 10

B2C twin pack

∼£36

Our view

The B2C plastic and PVC twin pack is £36.29, and the bullets state 175 kg on each stand and 350 kg together. Each stand is listed at 2.32 kg and folds to 58 x 5 x 79.5 cm, with 5.2 cm grooves, clamp slots, a 32 by 25 cm shelf, and four hangers. Across 44 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.4. Several short UK reviews call the pair sturdy under a worktop. One UK review says the stands collapse while timber is moved. The model line says NTS001B and the part number says NTB001B. The material field says plastic and PVC, with elastomer feet in the bullets. It can serve as a light temporary bench if you keep that collapse report in view, and it is not a support for chainsaw logs.

Pros

  • Twin pack at £36.29
  • Stated fold size and a tool shelf
  • Several short UK reviews call them sturdy for a worktop

Cons

  • One UK review says they collapse while timber is moved
  • Only 44 ratings
  • Model NTS001B and part NTB001B do not match
  • Plastic trestle, not a log horse

Best for: A light temporary bench in a garage, with the collapse review kept in view.

Less suitable: Heavy timber on the move, or chainsaw logs.

Specifications

Model
B2C twin pack
Brand
B2C
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
4.4/5(44)
Type
Folding trestle
Pack
Pair
Stated load
175 kg each
Folds flat
Yes
Grip or slot
5.2 cm grooves
Material line
Plastic, PVC
Weight
2.32 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Not stated
Review header
4.4 from 44

Common questions

How many stands are in the box?

The title says a twin pack and the included components say 2x stand.

What load do the bullets state?

Each stand up to 175 kg, and 350 kg for the pair.

What are they made of?

The material field says plastic and PVC, with elastomer feet in the bullets.

Einhell 4500067

Rank 11

Einhell 4500067

∼£33

Our view

The Einhell 4500067 is a metal chainsaw horse at £32.97, the lowest log-horse price in this set, with bullets for trunks up to 300 mm and a maximum load of 150 kg. Working heights are 600, 640 and 680 mm, and the listing weight is 7 kg. Across 4,072 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 3.9. The attribute says assembly is not required, while UK reviews describe a bolt kit, unclear instructions, and sharp cross struts, including one report of a cut. A bullet calls the support galvanised and the field says a painted finish. It folds once it is built. The rank sits under Garden Carts, not Saw Horses. It can take a wider stem than the Oregon if you allow time to build it, and it is a poor match for a no-tools twin pack.

Pros

  • States 300 mm and 150 kg for chainsaw logs
  • Three working heights
  • £32.97, the lowest log-horse price in this set
  • Folds for storage after it is built

Cons

  • 3.9 from 4,072
  • Assembly field conflicts with the reviews
  • Sharp struts drew blood in one UK review
  • Ranked under Garden Carts, not Saw Horses

Best for: A single chainsaw horse for trunks up to 300 mm, if you allow time to build it.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a no-assembly twin pack or a board trestle.

Specifications

Model
Einhell 4500067
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
3.9/5(4,072)
Type
Log horse
Pack
Single
Stated load
150 kg
Folds flat
Yes
Height
600–680 mm
Grip or slot
Teeth, 300 mm
Material line
Metal
Assembly
Field: no
Weight
7 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Yes
Review header
3.9 from 4,072

Common questions

What trunk size and load are stated?

The bullets say trunks up to 300 mm diameter and a maximum load of 150 kg.

Does it need assembly?

The attribute says assembly is not required. UK reviews describe a kit of bolts, unclear instructions, and sharp cross struts.

Is it sold as a chainsaw horse?

Yes. The bullets and the item type call it a metal log holder for chainsaw work.

Harbour Housewares

Rank 12

Harbour Housewares

∼£24

Our view

Harbour Housewares lists an iron folding log horse at £23.99 and 4.7 kg, with three pairs of serrated teeth and chainsaw and firewood in the title. Across 16 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 3.9, and only four reviews are written out. No kilogram load is printed, and the width is called adjustable without a centimetre figure. One of those four UK reviews says the middle strut and support stop a complete cut, which the bullets do not mention. Another says assembly took hours. The title also uses the words log splitter, while the bullets describe a horse that holds timber for cutting. At this price it is a low-cost folding support only if you check the cut line first, and it is a weak choice for repeat chainsaw batches.

Pros

  • £23.99 iron log horse with teeth
  • Folds, at 4.7 kg
  • Chainsaw and firewood are in the title

Cons

  • No stated load
  • 3.9 from 16, with four written reviews
  • One review says the strut blocks the cut
  • One review says assembly took hours

Best for: A low-price folding log support only if you check the cut line before you rely on it.

Less suitable: Repeat chainsaw batches, or a buyer who wants a stated kilogram limit.

Specifications

Model
Harbour Housewares
Brand
Harbour Housewares
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
3.9/5(16)
Type
Log horse
Pack
Single
Folds flat
Yes
Grip or slot
3 tooth pairs
Material line
Iron
Weight
4.7 kg
Chainsaw on the listing
Yes
Review header
3.9 from 16

Common questions

Does the listing state a load?

No kilogram figure is printed. Weight is 4.7 kg.

Can the chainsaw finish the cut?

One of four UK reviews says the middle strut and support stop a complete cut. The bullets do not mention that strut.

Is it a log splitter?

The title uses the words log splitter. The bullets describe a folding saw horse that holds timber for cutting, with serrated teeth.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored as the star rating times 20, rounded to a whole number. A 4.7 becomes 94 and a 3.9 becomes 78. Review count does not change that score. A thin file, two load figures, a material conflict and a strut in the cut stay in the text. There is no lab load test and no site visit. The weights below are the order used when the text judges a horse, and they sum to 100. Prices are GBP shelf figures from 19 October 2026 and they move.

1

Job and grip

30%

Teeth or a cradle is for rounds. A flat top, V-groove or bracket is a trestle for doors, boards and a bench. The cut has to finish in the wood, not in a rail or a centre strut.

2

Stated load

25%

A kilogram on the listing is seller text. Where the title and a bullet disagree, both figures stay visible. None was load-tested, and no listing cites a British Standard test.

3

Timber fit

15%

A 4x2 slot is not proof of a UK CLS stick at 38 by 89 mm. Sawn carcassing is often nearer 47 by 100 mm. Measure the piece you own.

4

Fold and assembly

15%

A fold that locks, a weight you can carry, and a printed height are the practical checks. An assembly field can disagree with the reviews, and one box omits the spanner.

5

Review file

15%

The published score is the star line times 20. The size of the review file is written beside that score and does not move it again. The top pick follows the chainsaw job and the large UK file, not the highest stars.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
9 sources checked

Saw horse buying guide

Choose the job before the star rating. A cradle with teeth is for rounds. A trestle, often a pair, is for doors, boards and a bench. Then read the load lines, the fold, and whether a slot matches the UK timber you own. The notes below follow the amazon.co.uk listings in this set and the public UK sources at the end of the page.

What is a saw horse?

A saw horse is a portable stand that holds timber while you cut or work it. On amazon.co.uk the name covers two tools. A log horse is metal and usually folding, with serrated teeth so a round does not turn during a cross-cut. A trestle has a flat top, a V-groove or a bracket, is often sold as a pair, and may be plastic or steel. It is for doors, boards and a temporary bench. A plastic pair is still a saw horse. It is the wrong tool for a wet trunk and a chainsaw. Choose in this order.

Best for

  • Stove rounds on a toothed log horse
  • Doors, boards and sheet on a folding pair
  • Light DIY with a plastic pair for a temporary bench

Not ideal for

  • A trestle used for chainsaw rounds or a wet trunk
  • Buyers who treat the highest kilogram as a tested load

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A trestle for chainsaw rounds

    A flat or slotted top does not stop a round the way teeth do. A plastic pair is still a saw horse, and it is the wrong tool for a wet trunk and a chainsaw. Check that the bar can finish in the wood, not in a centre strut.

  2. 2

    The highest kilogram treated as a test

    Some listings print two load figures. Both lines are part of the description. Neither figure was verified here. Do not treat the higher number as a safe working load.

  3. 3

    A 4x2 slot assumed to fit UK CLS

    Finished CLS 2x4 is 38 by 89 mm. Sawn carcassing is often nearer 47 by 100 mm. Reviews disagree, and no slot width was measured here. Measure the stick you own.

What to weigh up

Job and grip

High

Cross-cutting rounds needs a log horse with serrated teeth, one stem at a time, for a chainsaw or a bow saw. Doors, boards and sheet need a trestle, often a pair, in plastic or steel. A plastic pair is still a saw horse. It is the wrong tool for a wet trunk. Grip is what stops a round rolling. Teeth do that. A flat top and a 4x2 slot do not. The cut must finish in the wood, not in the rail or a centre strut. One review of an iron horse says the middle support stops a full cut-through.

Load, fold and slot

High

A kilogram on a title is seller text. This page did not run a load test, and no listing cites a British Standard test. Read every load line on the same listing and keep the conflict. One plastic pair prints 450 kg in the title and 45 kg per pair in a bullet. One steel single prints 589 kg and 598 kg. One metal pair prints 612 kg beside a field of 2.5E+3 pounds. Another pair prints 1,360 kg per pair and 1,633 kg in the field. Do not shop by the higher number.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Stove rounds

You cross-cut stove wood and want a log horse with teeth, a stated width, and a large UK review file. You can assemble it once, including a spanner that is not in the box. A flat trestle does not hold a round.

Our recommendation

View offer

Doors and boards

You want a light folding pair for doors, boards and a temporary bench. You will read both load lines on the listing and you will not treat the higher kilogram as a tested figure. It is the wrong horse for a wet trunk.

Site boards

You carry a metal folding pair for site boards and you can accept a fixed height. You will measure any 2x4 slot against the UK stick you own. It is not a chainsaw cradle.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about saw horses

Which saw horse is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick is the Oregon 584145 log horse, at about £39.50. It is the dedicated chainsaw horse in this set, with serrated teeth, a stated 27 cm maximum, and 4.5 from 4,130 amazon.co.uk reviews. Three trestles score higher, at 94 against 90, because the score is the star line times 20. The badge follows the chainsaw job and the large UK file, not the highest stars. The best value for boards and doors is the Stanley STST1-70713 pair.
How much does a saw horse cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this capture, dated 19 October 2026, the shelf prices run from about £18.69 to £139.99. Under £25 sit an iron log horse at about £23.99 and a single plastic stand at about £18.69, both on thin review files. About £33 to £48 covers the other log horses and the light trestle pairs. About £68 to £90 covers one adjustable steel trestle and two metal pairs. The dearest row is a folding pair at about £139.99. These figures are this basket, not a national average, and they move.
What should you check before you buy a saw horse?
Start with the job. A round for the stove needs teeth or a cradle. Doors, boards and a temporary bench need a trestle, often a pair. Then read every load line, because some listings print two figures that do not match. A slot marked 4x2 is not proof a UK CLS stick at 38 by 89 mm will fit. Check that a chainsaw can finish in the wood, not in a centre strut. Read the pack count and the assembly line with the reviews, because those fields can disagree.
When do you want a log horse rather than a trestle?
Choose a log horse for one round at a time, with serrated teeth, for a chainsaw or a bow saw. Choose a trestle, usually a pair, for doors, boards and sheet. A plastic pair is still a saw horse, and it is the wrong tool for a wet trunk. One iron horse in this set has a review saying the middle strut stops a full cut. That is a bar-clearance fault, not a reason to put rounds on a flat trestle.
Was the kilogram load tested?
No. A kilogram on a title or in a bullet is seller text. This comparison did not run a load test, and no listing cites a British Standard test. Keep conflicts visible. One plastic pair prints 450 kg and 45 kg per pair. One steel trestle prints 589 kg and 598 kg. One metal pair prints 612 kg beside a field of 2.5E+3 pounds. Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, sections 9 and 11, goods must match the description. Do not treat the higher number as a safe working load.
Will a 4x2 slot take UK CLS?
Not on the evidence here. Finished UK CLS sold as 2x4 is 38 by 89 mm. Sawn carcassing is often nearer 47 by 100 mm. One pair is pre-drilled for a 38 by 89 mm sacrificial board, and a UK review had to ease a 4x2 before it entered. Another review says V-groove slots take 38 mm CLS at a push. Listings do not print a measured slot width, and this page did not measure one. Try the stick you own before you rely on the groove.
What protective equipment applies if you cross-cut on a horse?
The horse does not make a chainsaw safe for a beginner, and it is not a substitute for training. HSE INDG317 says chainsaw use at work needs training and competence. For PPE, FISA 301 points to a helmet, eye and hearing protection, chainsaw gloves and trousers, and chainsaw boots. HSE's chainsaw PPE page covers use on or off the ground. At work, PUWER 1998 requires equipment that is suitable for the job. Choosing the saw is a separate decision, covered in the chainsaw comparison.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for felling, chainsaw work at height, any stem you cannot control, and a horse that arrives with steel across the cut. Do not twist a log up onto the horse. FISA 304 asks you to keep at least 5 m between workers, stay uphill of a log that can roll, and switch the saw off if it jams. In Great Britain, consumer saw horses fall under the General Product Safety Regulations 2005. Northern Ireland follows the EU regime from 13 December 2024.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Oregon 584145, a painted alloy-steel log horse at about £39.50, with serrated teeth and a stated maximum of 27 cm. It scores 90, from 4.5 across 4,130 amazon.co.uk reviews. Three trestles score 94, and the badge still sits here because this is the dedicated chainsaw horse with the large UK file in the set. The best value is the Stanley STST1-70713 polypropylene pair at about £39.95, with 4.6 from 1,768 reviews, for boards and doors. Read both load lines, 450 kg and 45 kg. Neither figure was tested here.

Best overall
BORA PM-4500T

BORA PM-4500T

View offer
Best value
Stanley STST1-70713

Stanley STST1-70713

Polypropylene pair at about £39.95 with 4.6 from 1,768 reviews for boards and doors, once both the 450 kg and 45 kg lines are read.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsPublic UK sources

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
9 sources checked

Guides to saw horses

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources listed below, last checked on 22 October 2026. Prices in the rows are amazon.co.uk shelf prices captured on 19 October 2026.

  1. FISA 304: chainsaw cross-cutting (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. FISA 301: chainsaw practice and PPE (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE INDG317: chainsaw training (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. HSE: Chainsaw PPE (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. HSE: PUWER overview (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015, sections 9 and 11 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Product safety advice for businesses, including Northern Ireland (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  9. Elliotts: kiln-dried C16 CLS timber (retrieved 22 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. The scores follow the amazon.co.uk star line. The commission does not set them. The amazon.co.uk tag is pcuk26-21.