Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Einhell GE-PS 18/15 kit – Highest score in this set, 94, for a complete short pruning kit with a 2.5 Ah pack, a 12.5 cm cut and 4.7 from 136 ratings. Best value: Einhell GE-LC 18/25 Li Solo – About £79.99 bare, with 4.4 from 5,486 ratings, for garden trunks if you already own an 18 V pack. Updated October 2026.
An Einhell chainsaw on amazon.co.uk is a garden saw on, or a 230 V mains saw under the same brand. If you already own one 18 V pack, a bare tool is the usual buy. A 36 V model needs two of those packs at once. Judge a listing by the bar in centimetres, the chain speed, the chain brake, the oiling, and whether a battery is in the box.
The mains saws are the socket option, and reviewers say the lead can unplug. A mini saw and a pole-pruner attachment are not. The [Einhell chainsaw buying guide](/hub/forestry-tools/einhell-chainsaw/sub/einhell-chainsaw-buying-guide) sets the order: count the batteries, then match the bar, then read centimetres when the title also prints inches.
Solo in these titles means the pack and the charger are not included. The 18/25 kit puts a 3.0 pack and a charger in the box. The 18/15 kit includes a 2.5 pack, a charger, a spare chain and a bag. The [18 V versus 36 V Einhell chainsaws](/hub/forestry-tools/einhell-chainsaw/sub/einhell-chainsaw-18v-vs-36v) page stays on that pack count and the chain-speed gap.
An Einhell chainsaw on amazon.co.uk is a garden saw on, or a 230 V mains saw under the same brand. If you already own one 18 V pack, a bare tool is the usual buy. A 36 V model needs two of those packs at once.
An Einhell chainsaw on amazon.co.uk is a garden saw on, or a 230 V mains saw under the same brand. If you already own one 18 V pack, a bare tool is the usual buy. A 36 V model needs two of those packs at once. Judge a listing by the bar in centimetres, the chain speed, the chain brake, the oiling, and whether a battery is in the box.
The mains saws are the socket option, and reviewers say the lead can unplug. A mini saw and a pole-pruner attachment are not. The [Einhell chainsaw buying guide](/hub/forestry-tools/einhell-chainsaw/sub/einhell-chainsaw-buying-guide) sets the order: count the batteries, then match the bar, then read centimetres when the title also prints inches.
Solo in these titles means the pack and the charger are not included. The 18/25 kit puts a 3.0 pack and a charger in the box. The 18/15 kit includes a 2.5 pack, a charger, a spare chain and a bag. The [18 V versus 36 V Einhell chainsaws](/hub/forestry-tools/einhell-chainsaw/sub/einhell-chainsaw-18v-vs-36v) page stays on that pack count and the chain-speed gap.
An Einhell chainsaw on amazon.co.uk is a garden saw on, or a 230 V mains saw under the same brand. If you already own one 18 V pack, a bare tool is the usual buy. A 36 V model needs two of those packs at once. Judge a listing by the bar in centimetres, the chain speed, the chain brake, the oiling, and whether a battery is in the box. The mains saws are the socket option, and reviewers say the lead can unplug. A mini saw and a pole-pruner attachment are not.
The GE-PS 18/15 kit lists at £155.38 with 4.7 from 136 ratings, the highest star line in this comparison, but none of the fifty sampled review texts are marked United Kingdom, so treat the average as a listing count rather than British owner testimony. You get a brushless pruning saw with a 12.5 cm cutting length, up to 4.8 m/s, a 2.5 Ah pack, charger, spare chain, bag, oil applicator, and a hex key stored on the housing at 1.59 kg. Automatic tank oiling is not what the listing describes; retensioning uses that hex key after tool-free bar swaps. A two-hand rest, foldable cover, and hand guard are named, which fits ground pruning rather than firewood. Do not treat this sample as a UK owner consensus. Within this comparison it scores 94 as the top pick for a defined pruning kit job, not because stars beat a 35 cm saw on logs. Skip it when you need to buck stove lengths or you wanted a rear-handle bar near 25 cm.
Pros
Complete kit with 2.5 Ah pack, charger, spare chain, and bag
12.5 cm cut on a 1.59 kg brushless body
4.7 from 136 ratings on amazon.co.uk
Oil applicator and stored hex key in the box line
Highest comparison score in this category table
Cons
No UK-marked review texts in the fifty-review sample
Hex key needed for tension after bar changes
12.5 cm reach is wrong for firewood rounds
Premium price against bare mini saws if you already own packs
Best for: A buyer who wants a dedicated short pruning kit with everything in one box for stems and shrubs on the ground.
Less suitable: Log bucking, shoppers who sort only by stars without reading review geography, or anyone who needs a 30 cm bar.
The FORTEXXA 18/20 bare brushless saw is £95.76 on amazon.co.uk with 4.6 from 1,158 ratings, though only ten of the fifty sampled reviews are marked United Kingdom. UK buyers praise a compact tool for shrubs, bamboo, willow, and eucalyptus, and say it bridges the gap when loppers are too small. The listing prints 20 cm in a bullet and 10 inches in the title, which is not the same measurement, and reviewers say the bar felt smaller than the inch wording implied. At 2.61 kg without a battery, with an Oregon bar and chain in the box line, it is lighter than a full rear-handle GE-LC. Battery, charger, and oil are extra purchases. Einhell's manufacturer page for the top-handle version warns that such saws are for trained tree-care users, so treat two-handed ground work as the default even if the amazon card does not repeat that sentence. It suits short-bar pruning jobs on an existing 18 V pack, not bucking firewood.
Pros
Brushless 18 V body at 2.61 kg listed weight
4.6 from 1,158 ratings on the UK listing
Oregon bar and chain named in the included line
UK reviews cite compact handling in shrubs and bamboo
Shares Power X-Change batteries with other Einhell tools
Cons
20 cm versus 10 inch title clash on the listing
Battery, charger, and chain oil not included
Thin UK review sample in the review file
Not a full-size log saw despite the star line
Best for: Gardeners with an 18 V pack who trim branches and shrubs at ground level with two hands.
Less suitable: Firewood bucking, buyers who trust inch claims without reading centimetres, or anyone treating it as a casual one-hand tool.
The FORTEXXA 18/30 bare lists at £99.98 with 4.6 from 669 ratings and a brushless motor the bullet quotes at 8 m/s full power and 6 m/s in Eco mode. Twenty-one of fifty sampled reviews are UK-marked; they describe garden timber and firewood on one 18 V pack, with one afternoon on a single battery reported, while another buyer says the bar was about 12 inches when the title also said 14 inches. The bullet gives a 30 cm bar and 27 cm cutting length against that mixed title, and automatic oiling with tool-free tension and a chain brake are named. Chain tensioner awkwardness appears in UK criticism, and dense wood pushes some reviewers toward a second battery. At 4.09 kg without packs, it sits above the smaller FORTEXXA on capability but below the Twin-Pack 36 V saws on chain speed. It is a strong 18 V step-up if you accept verifying bar length in centimetres and budgeting for oil plus possibly a second pack.
Pros
8 m/s and 6 m/s Eco listed on a brushless 18 V saw
4.6 from 669 amazon.co.uk ratings
30 cm bar with 27 cm cutting length in the bullet
Tool-free tension and chain brake named
Oregon bar and chain in the box line
Cons
30 cm versus 14 inch title mismatch
No battery, charger, or oil in the box
UK reviewers report an awkward tensioner
Thicker wood may need a second 18 V pack
Best for: An 18 V owner who cuts thicker garden wood than a 25 cm brushed GE-LC and can verify bar length before buying.
Less suitable: Shoppers who want a true 14 inch bar from the title alone, or anyone with only one small Ah pack and heavy timber.
The GP-LC 36/40 Li BL-Solo is £214.98 bare with 4.6 from 263 ratings and only three UK-marked reviews in the fifty-text sample, so praise and complaints from abroad must not be sold as British experience. The listing claims up to 19 m/s, a 38 cm cutting length in the bullet against a 40 cm title, a 1.3 mm Oregon chain, 230 ml automatic oil with sight glass, claw stop, kickback protection, and chain catch pin at 4.76 kg without batteries. Two of the three UK reviews mention strong cutting against petrol and good battery life, while one simply says the saw is broken without detail. Einhell UK cites 19.3 m/s and tool-free tension on its shop page; the amazon bullet does not repeat every manufacturer line. You still need two 18 V packs and oil. It is the largest cordless Einhell in this table for garden timber when you accept the bare price plus batteries and a thin UK file, not a forestry petrol replacement.
Pros
Up to 19 m/s and 38 cm cutting length listed
230 ml oil tank with sight glass
4.6 from 263 ratings on the UK listing
Kickback protection, claw stop, and catch pin named
1.3 mm chain with 56 drive links specified
Cons
Only three UK reviews in the sampled file
No battery or charger in the Solo box
Highest shelf price here before second pack cost
One unclear UK report of a broken saw
Best for: A Twin-Pack owner who cuts large garden wood and wants the longest bar and fastest chain speed in this Einhell set.
Less suitable: Casual branch trimming, anyone with one battery, or buyers who need a deep UK review base before spending over £200.
The GE-LC 18/25 Li Solo lists at £79.99 on amazon.co.uk with 4.4 from 5,486 ratings, and fifty UK reviews in the sample praise light handling on garden trunks and firewood, tool-free tension when a hand wheel hurts your fingers, and sharing Power X-Change packs you already own. The listing gives 4.5 m/s, a 25 cm bar, and 2.9 kg without a battery, with a mechanical emergency brake and chain catch bolt named on the page. Chain oil is not in the box, and reviewers say pace falls short of a petrol saw if you rush thick rounds. A dry bar or a chain fitted backwards still stops the first cut, which is why the manual's direction diagram matters. It is the best value pick here if you already own an 18 V pack and want a rear-handle saw for occasional garden wood, not a petrol replacement.
Pros
£79.99 bare tool with 4.4 from 5,486 amazon.co.uk ratings
Tool-free chain tension and change named in the listing
4.5 m/s and 25 cm bar on a 2.9 kg body without a pack
Uses existing Power X-Change 18 V batteries
UK reviews cite easy setup and a generous oil reservoir
Cons
Battery and charger not included
Bar and chain oil bought separately
Slower than petrol in UK review themes
Performance drops if the bar is left dry
Best for: A household that already owns an 18 V Power X-Change pack and cuts garden trunks and stove lengths at a patient pace.
Less suitable: Buyers who need petrol speed on wide hardwood, or anyone who expects a battery in the Solo box.
No. The amazon.co.uk title says it is without a battery, and the item type name says the battery and charger are not included.
How fast is the chain?
The listing chain-speed line is 4.5 metres per second. The item highlight also says up to 1.5 PS / 1.1 kW. The separate horsepower field says 18 watts and is not a usable figure.
Can the chain be tensioned without tools?
Yes. The bullets say chain tension and chain changes need no tools, and they name a mechanical emergency brake plus a chain catch bolt.
The GP-LC 36/35 Li-Solo is £129.95 bare with 4.4 from 4,127 ratings and a brushless Twin-Pack platform that needs two 18 V Power X-Change batteries at once, not one. UK reviewers with fifty sampled texts praise using packs from mowers and other Einhell tools, say it handles garden branches and bushes, and note some keep a petrol saw for heavier timber. The bullet lists a 35 cm Oregon bar, 33 cm cutting length, up to 15 m/s chain speed, 115 ml automatic oil with a sight glass, and tool-free tension at 4.13 kg without batteries. Criticism themes compare it with a Husqvarna petrol saw and mention a right-handed feel for one reviewer, plus a single report of failure within a year. Solo pricing hides the second pack if you only own one battery. It is the sensible 36 V garden saw in this table when you already have two packs and want more bar than an 18 V FORTEXXA, short of the £214.98 GP-LC 36/40.
Pros
Up to 15 m/s and 33 cm cut on 36 V Twin-Pack
4.4 from 4,127 ratings with a full UK sample
115 ml oil tank with sight glass listed
Tool-free tension and Oregon bar named
Uses batteries from other Power X-Change tools
Cons
No batteries or charger in the Solo box
Weaker than petrol Husqvarna in review comparisons
Requires two compatible 18 V packs simultaneously
Single UK failure report within a year in the sample
Best for: A gardener with two 18 V packs who cuts thicker branches and garden wood beyond a 25 cm saw.
Less suitable: Anyone who only owns one battery, or buyers expecting a 40 cm bar without stepping up to the GP-LC 36/40.
The brushless GE-LC 18/25 Li BL Solo is £124.95 with 4.4 from 53 ratings, a thinner file than the brushed Solo but twenty-three UK-marked reviews in the sample. The listing gives 6.5 m/s, a 22.5 cm cutting length, tool-free tension, and a chain brake with catch pin, at 3.66 kg without a battery. UK reviewers call it quiet, praise using the same batteries as other Einhell tools, and say it suits pre-spring cut-back, though one willow prune felt underwhelming when they expected mains-like power. Oil and the pack are still separate, and the bare listing catches buyers who expected a kit. Einhell's UK shop page cites 150 ml oil and a ten-year motor warranty after registration, which is manufacturer copy rather than a guarantee in your box. It is the brushless upgrade on the same bar class as the GE-LC, not a substitute for a 36 V GP-LC when you already know you need two packs and 15 m/s.
Pros
6.5 m/s brushless motor on 18 V Power X-Change
Tool-free tension and chain brake listed
22.5 cm cutting length at 3.66 kg without a pack
UK reviews praise quiet running and battery sharing
Eight-year spare-parts line on the listing
Cons
Only 53 ratings versus thousands on the brushed Solo
Battery, charger, and oil not included
UK sample includes underwhelming cuts on thicker willow
Premium over the £79.99 brushed Solo for similar bar reach
Best for: An existing 18 V owner who wants faster chain speed and brushless efficiency on light garden cut-back.
Less suitable: First-time buyers who need a battery in the box, or anyone bucking wide logs who should look at 36 V instead.
No. The bullet says Power X-Change batteries and a charger are not included.
What is the chain speed?
The item highlight says 6.5 m/s. The cutting length in the bullet is 22.5 cm, with a 1.1 mm chain, 40 drive links, and 3/8 inch pitch.
How is the chain tensioned?
The bullet says the bar and chain can be changed without tools and the tension can be adjusted without tools. A chain brake and chain catch pin are named.
The GE-LC 18/25 kit at £89.99 bundles a 3.0 Ah pack, a charger, and the same brushed 18 V saw family as the Solo, with 4.3 from 4,116 ratings on amazon.co.uk. UK reviewers compare the kit price with hiring a saw, praise quiet running next to a two-stroke, and say a single battery lasted through branch work when they let the chain cut rather than forcing it. The bullet gives a 23 cm cutting length on a 25 cm title, 4.5 m/s, and automatic oiling, with a chain brake and catch pin listed. At 4.09 kg packaged weight it is heavier than the bare Solo, which is the trade for having power in the box. Chain coming off is a repeated UK theme, often linked to tension or technique rather than a single defect line. Choose it when you need your first 18 V pack in the same order as the saw, and skip it if you already own packs and only want the body.
Pros
3.0 Ah battery and charger included at £89.99
4.3 from 4,116 ratings with a large UK review sample
4.5 m/s brushed motor with tool-free tension
Quiet compared with petrol in reviewer comments
Chain brake and catch pin named on the listing
Cons
Not rated as highly as a Husqvarna petrol saw in reviews
Chain can come off if tension or technique is wrong
A second battery is wanted for longer jobs away from home
Title bar length and cutting length do not match exactly
Best for: A first-time Einhell buyer who needs one 18 V pack and charger with a general garden saw.
Less suitable: Owners of several Power X-Change packs who should buy the cheaper Solo instead.
The GH-EC 1835 mains saw is £79.00 with 4.1 from 30 ratings and nine UK-marked reviews in the review file, a small but entirely British sample. The listing gives a 1,800 W motor, 35 cm bar in the title, 160 ml automatic oil with sight glass, kickback protection, chain brake, and tool-free tension screw at 5.01 kg. UK reviewers call it quieter than petrol, say it cuts seasoned wood, and describe straightforward handling for some buyers, while others find the chain awkward to fit and one buyer reported it would not cut. Chain dulling after a few small cuts appears once, and the review set is too thin to treat any theme as universal. There is no battery cost, but you need bar and chain oil, an outdoor-rated lead, and a socket layout that keeps 230 V safe. It competes with the cordless Solo on shelf price without Power X-Change packs, at the cost of cable management rather than runtime.
Pros
£79.00 mains price with no battery platform needed
1,800 W motor and 35 cm bar in the title
160 ml oil tank and chain brake listed
UK reviews cite quiet running versus petrol
Tool-free tension screw named
Cons
Only 30 ratings and nine UK texts in the sample
Heavy at 5.01 kg compared with cordless options
Chain fitting described as awkward
Chain speed not stated on the listing
Best for: A household with a garden socket who wants a 35 cm mains saw and accepts buying oil separately.
Less suitable: Work away from the house, buyers who need a large review file, or anyone who cannot manage a 230 V lead safely.
The GH-EC 2040 mains saw matches the £79.00 shelf price of the smaller GH-EC 1835 but steps to a 2,000 W motor and a 40 cm bar in the title, with 4.0 from 48 ratings and twenty-seven UK-marked reviews. Automatic oiling from a 160 ml tank, kickback protection, mechanical chain brake, and tool-free tension are listed at 5.13 kg. UK reviewers praise value against keeping a petrol saw for occasional woods work, say it bucked felled lengths into logs, and mention eight-inch timber in informal language, while a strong theme is the power cable unplugging with a slight tug, especially when work is raised. Thick branches beyond the saw's patience sent at least one buyer back to a hand saw, and hitting dirt dulled the chain in another report. Chain speed is not on the card. Choose it for ground-level log cuts near a reliable socket, and stop using it if the plug keeps falling out, because that fault is a safety stop rather than a tuning issue.
Pros
2,000 W motor and 40 cm bar at £79.00
27 UK-marked reviews in the fifty-text sample
160 ml oil tank with chain brake listed
UK themes cite log bucking on felled wood
No Power X-Change batteries required
Cons
Power lead unplugging is a repeated UK complaint
4.0 stars with only 48 ratings
Tensioner called flimsy until the side plate is slackened
Chain dulled quickly after dirt contact in one review
Best for: Ground-level bucking and stove-length cuts when you have a steady outdoor socket and accept lead management.
Less suitable: Raised cuts where the cable is tugged, thick hardwood you already know needs petrol pace, or any job without RCD-protected outdoor power.
The bullet says a 2,000 W motor for the GH-EC 2040. The power-source line says AC. Chain speed is not stated.
How big is the oil tank?
160 ml, with a sight glass, and automatic oiling. The title bar length is 40 cm. Listed weight is 5.13 kg.
What safety features are named?
Kickback protection with a mechanical chain brake, including when pressure is applied to the hand guard. The box includes a protective cover.
How we compared
Ten amazon.co.uk Einhell chainsaw listings stay in this comparison. There is no laboratory cut. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines. The top pick is the GE-PS 18/15 kit, the highest score in the set, a complete short pruning kit. Best value is the GE-LC 18/25 Li Solo, the bare 18 V saw at about £79.99 with 4.4 from 5,486 ratings. The weights below follow the buying order for this page. They are not a lab score.
1
Batteries and what is in the box
25%
An 18 V saw needs one Power X-Change pack. A 36 V saw needs two packs together. Solo means the pack and charger are not included. A kit price is only comparable with a bare price once you know whether you already own the batteries.
2
Bar length against the wood
25%
About 20–25 cm is for shrubs and branches. About 30–35 cm is for thicker garden wood. The 40 cm class is the GP-LC 36/40 and the GH-EC 2040. A short pruning cut is a different job from bucking stove lengths.
3
Chain speed
20%
Use the listing highlight or Einhell's table. Keep 4.5 m/s, 6.5 m/s, 8 m/s, 15 m/s and up to 19 m/s where those lines exist. Do not use Amazon's horsepower field. The mains cards do not state a chain speed.
4
Centimetres when the title prints inches
15%
Thirty centimetres is not 14 inches, and 20 cm is not 10 inches. Where the title prints both, the centimetre bullet is the figure to check. A UK review of the FORTEXXA 18/30 says the bar was about 12 inches.
5
Oil, brake and the review file
15%
Bar and chain oil is a separate buy. A chain brake reduces kickback and does not remove it. Stars need a count. A thin UK sample, including the GE-PS and the GP-LC 36/40, is not a British owner consensus.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked
Einhell chainsaw buying guide
Decide the packs you already own, then the bar in centimetres, before you sort by stars. Solo means the battery is not in the box. A 36 V saw needs two 18 V packs at once. A mixed inch title is not a second bar length. The top pick is the highest score, a short pruning kit. Best value is the bare GE-LC if you already own one pack. Neither is a laboratory cut, and neither replaces a petrol forestry saw.
What is in an Einhell chainsaw listing?
An Einhell chainsaw in this amazon.co.uk batch is a garden saw on Power X-Change, or a 230 V mains saw under the same brand. It is not a forestry petrol saw, and this page did not run a lab cut. Shelf prices are the figures captured for these listings, not a live re-check and not the Einhell shop price.
Start by counting the batteries. An 18 V saw needs one Power X-Change pack. A 36 V saw needs two packs together. Solo in these titles means the pack and the charger are not included.
Best for
Garden trunks on one Power X-Change pack you already own
Short ground pruning when you want a battery in the same box
Not ideal for
A petrol-paced cut on wide hardwood, or felling you cannot control
A 36 V saw when you only own one 18 V pack
Mistakes to avoid
1
Trusting the inch half of a mixed title
The FORTEXXA 18/30 title says 30 cm and 14 inches. Thirty centimetres is not 14 inches, and a UK review says the bar was about 12 inches. The FORTEXXA 18/20 title says 20 cm and 10 inches. Read the centimetre bullet before you compare it with a 35 cm or 40 cm saw.
2
One battery in a 36 V saw
The GP-LC 36/35 and the GP-LC 36/40 need two 18 V Power X-Change packs at the same time. Both are Solo, so the box does not include them. A single pack you already own belongs on an 18 V saw, not on a Twin-Pack body.
3
A dry chain, or Amazon's horsepower field
Bar and chain oil is not filled in these listings. A dry bar stops the cut, and waste engine oil is the wrong substitute. The horsepower field on these cards includes 18 watts and 1000 horsepower. Use the chain-speed line instead, and fit the chain in the direction the manual shows.
What to weigh up
Batteries, voltage and what is in the box
High
Count the packs before you compare stars. An 18 V Einhell saw needs one Power X-Change battery. A 36 V saw, the GP-LC 36/35 and the GP-LC 36/40, needs two 18 V packs fitted together. Solo means the pack and the charger are not in the box, so a bare price is not the cost of cutting until those packs are already yours.
Two rows include power. The GE-LC 18/25 kit at about £89.99 includes a 3.0 Ah pack and a charger, with a 23 cm cutting length and 4.5 m/s.
Bar length, chain speed and the inch line
High
Match the centimetre bar to the wood, then check the chain speed. About 20–25 cm is shrubs and branches: the FORTEXXA 18/20, the GE-LC 18/25, and the GE-PS at 12.5 cm. About 30–35 cm is thicker garden wood: the FORTEXXA 18/30, 30 cm bar and 27 cm cut in the bullet, and the GP-LC 36/35 at a 33 cm cut. The 40 cm class is the GP-LC 36/40, 38 cm cut in the bullet, and the GH-EC 2040.
Read centimetres when the title also prints inches. The FORTEXXA 18/30 says 30 cm and 14 inches.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🔋
You already own one 18 V pack
You charge one Power X-Change pack and want a rear-handle saw for garden trunks at a patient pace. The GE-LC 18/25 Li Solo is about £79.99 bare, with 4.5 m/s, a 25 cm bar and 4.4 from 5,486 ratings. Oil and the charger are still separate if you do not own them.
You have 230 V outdoors and you do not own Power X-Change packs. The GH-EC 1835 is about £79.00, with a 1,800 W motor and a 35 cm bar in the title. You still buy oil, and you need a lead you can keep plugged in. The review file is only 30 ratings.
You want a short bar for branches, not firewood rounds. The GE-PS 18/15 kit puts a 2.5 Ah pack, charger, spare chain and bag in one box, with a 12.5 cm cut. If you already own an 18 V pack and want the bare body, the FORTEXXA 18/20 is the lighter alternative, with a 20 cm versus 10 inch title clash to check first.
Which Einhell chainsaw is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick is the Einhell GE-PS 18/15 kit at about £155.38. It is a brushless pruning saw with a 12.5 cm cut, up to 4.8 m/s, a 2.5 Ah pack and a charger, listed at 1.59 kg. It scores 94 here, with 4.7 from 136 amazon.co.uk ratings. None of the sampled review texts are marked United Kingdom, so those stars are not British owner testimony. Skip it for stove-length logs. This is not a lab test.
How much does an Einhell chainsaw cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these amazon.co.uk listings the range is about £79.00 to £214.98. The GH-EC saws are £79.00, the GE-LC Solo is £79.99, and the 3.0 Ah kit is £89.99. The brushless GE-LC is £124.95, the GP-LC 36/35 is £129.95, and the GE-PS kit is £155.38. The GP-LC 36/40 is £214.98 without batteries. Einhell shop prices are higher and are not these cells. Figures are the October 2026 shelf prices, not a live re-check.
What should you check before you buy an Einhell chainsaw?
Count the batteries first. An 18 V saw needs one Power X-Change pack, and a 36 V saw needs two packs at once. Solo means the pack and charger are not in the box. Then match the bar in centimetres: about 20–25 cm for shrubs, about 30–35 cm for thicker garden wood. Read centimetres when the title also prints inches, because 30 cm is not 14 inches. Budget for bar and chain oil.
Does a 36 V Einhell chainsaw need two batteries?
Yes. The GP-LC 36/35 and the GP-LC 36/40 need two 18 V Power X-Change packs fitted together, not one. Both are Solo, so the batteries and the charger are not in the box. The 36/35 lists up to 15 m/s and a 33 cm cut at about £129.95. The 36/40 lists up to 19 m/s and a 38 cm cut at about £214.98. If you only own one pack, buy an 18 V saw.
Why do 30 cm and 14 inches appear in the same Einhell title?
The FORTEXXA 18/30 title prints 30 cm and 14 inches. Thirty centimetres is not 14 inches. The bullet says a 30 cm bar and a 27 cm cut, and a UK review says the bar was about 12 inches. The FORTEXXA 18/20 title prints 20 cm and 10 inches, the same clash. Use the centimetre line. Goods must match the description under the Consumer Rights Act 2015.
Do these Einhell chainsaws replace a petrol forestry saw?
No. These are garden saws on Power X-Change, or 230 V mains saws. UK reviews of the GE-LC and the GP-LC 36/35 still compare them with petrol and often keep a petrol saw for heavier timber. A listed PS figure is not a lab result. They do not remove the need for chainsaw PPE, and they are not the tool for felling you cannot control.
What oil do these Einhell chainsaws need?
Bar and chain oil is not a filled tank in these listings, including the kits. You buy it separately. The GP-LC 36/35 lists 115 ml, the GP-LC 36/40 lists 230 ml, and both GH-EC saws list 160 ml, with automatic oiling. The GE-PS lists an oil applicator. Einhell's page for the GE-LC Solo states 200 ml. Do not use waste engine oil. A dry bar stops the cut.
When should you stop and call a professional, or look beyond Einhell?
Call a professional for felling you cannot control, ladder or rope work, a failed chain-brake check, a plug that keeps falling out, and any Tree Preservation Order or a tree outside England's garden exemption. Do not copy the England 5 cubic metre figure onto Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland from this page. For a cordless saw from another brand, use the cordless chainsaw comparison.
Our verdict
The top pick is the Einhell GE-PS 18/15 kit at about £155.38. It scores 94 as a complete short pruning kit, with a 12.5 cm cut, a 2.5 Ah pack and 4.7 from 136 ratings. None of the sampled review texts are marked United Kingdom, so the stars are not British owner testimony, and the saw is the wrong tool for stove lengths. Best value is the GE-LC 18/25 Li Solo at about £79.99, with 4.4 from 5,486 ratings, if you already own an 18 V pack and will cut garden wood at a patient pace. Neither result is a laboratory test, and neither saw replaces a petrol forestry saw.
Best overall
Einhell GE-PS 18/15 kit
Highest score in this set, 94, for a complete short pruning kit with a 2.5 Ah pack, a 12.5 cm cut and 4.7 from 136 ratings.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked
Guides to Einhell chainsaws
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public sources listed for this comparison, October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in that set. We did not run a lab test.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines in this comparison. We did not run a lab test.