Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Kindling Cracker Original Best value: KEPLIN firelighters, 200 – Highest value score among the rest: about 6p per lighter at about £11.99 for 200, with 4.6 from 2,450 ratings. Updated 22.10.2026.
Kindling on a UK stove is the small dry layer between a firelighter and the logs. On amazon.co.uk the same search also returns wood-wool firelighters and cast-iron splitters, so a high score here is listing quality inside that mix, not a claim that a lighter replaces sticks.
Wood rows turn on moisture wording and whether to is on the pack, not only in a bullet. How the three types differ is in the [kindling buying guide](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/kindling/sub/kindling-buying-guide).
It mixes kiln-dried kindling wood, wood-wool or wax firelighters sold beside kindling, and cast-iron or wall-mounted splitters that make sticks from logs. It does not mean a lighter is a better stick, and a splitter does not replace dry fuel. The [fatwood comparison](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/fatwood) covers that stick, not these bags.
Wood-wool cubes and compressed sawdust blocks are firelighters. Saved reviews on the pages dispute bag weight and, on the multi-bag listing, mention damp wood. “Ready to Burn” on those titles is listing copy, not a certificate.
Kindling on a UK stove is the small dry layer between a firelighter and the logs.
Kindling on a UK stove is the small dry layer between a firelighter and the logs. On amazon.co.uk the same search also returns wood-wool firelighters and cast-iron splitters, so a high score here is listing quality inside that mix, not a claim that a lighter replaces sticks.
Wood rows turn on moisture wording and whether to is on the pack, not only in a bullet. How the three types differ is in the [kindling buying guide](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/kindling/sub/kindling-buying-guide).
It mixes kiln-dried kindling wood, wood-wool or wax firelighters sold beside kindling, and cast-iron or wall-mounted splitters that make sticks from logs. It does not mean a lighter is a better stick, and a splitter does not replace dry fuel. The [fatwood comparison](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/fatwood) covers that stick, not these bags.
Wood-wool cubes and compressed sawdust blocks are firelighters. Saved reviews on the pages dispute bag weight and, on the multi-bag listing, mention damp wood. “Ready to Burn” on those titles is listing copy, not a certificate.
Kindling on a UK stove is the small dry layer between a firelighter and the logs. On amazon.co.uk the same search also returns wood-wool firelighters and cast-iron splitters, so a high score here is listing quality inside that mix, not a claim that a lighter replaces sticks. Wood rows turn on moisture wording and whether to is on the pack, not only in a bullet. How the three types differ is in the kindling buying guide.
The Kindling Cracker Original is £124 in this capture, a cast-iron splitter with a stated 16.5 cm internal safety ring, dimensions 27.9 × 25.4 cm, and a weight field of 4.8 kg. The listing shows 4.8 from 8,562 ratings, the highest star figure in this set, and a 5 year consumer warranty field. A hammer is not in the box. Reviews name hammers from about 1 kg to 5 lb, and you bolt the base to a heavy log or stump. The bullets point wider logs to the King. Country of origin is empty, while the bullets describe recycled Australian cast iron. The included-components field says Funnel and the handle field says Wood, which do not describe the tool in the photos. It suits smaller logs if you will mount it and swing a hammer, and it does not dry wet wood.
Pros
4.8 from 8,562 ratings
16.5 cm ring and a stated 5 year warranty
Cast iron, 4.8 kg, no welded joints in the bullets
Cons
£124 before a hammer and fixings
Ring too small for large rounds
Country of origin field is empty, and the handle field says Wood
Best for: Splitting smaller logs into kindling if you can bolt it down and swing a hammer.
Less suitable: Logs wider than 16.5 cm, or anyone who does not want to buy a hammer as well.
The bullets state a 16.5 cm internal safety ring. Reviews say that circle limits width, and the listing points larger logs to the King.
What else do you need?
A hammer is not in the box. Reviews name about 1 kg to 5 lb. Bolt it to a heavy log or stump. The included-components field says Funnel. The handle-material field says Wood.
Is there a warranty?
The listing field says 5 year consumer warranty. Country of origin is not filled in. The bullets describe recycled Australian cast iron.
Log Barn’s box is £12.99 for 200 wax-dipped wood-wool lighters, model KNIND-10, and the origin field says United Kingdom. The listing shows 4.7 from 22,250 ratings, and that count is not stated as UK-only. The bullets say up to 10 minutes, one lighter on the kindling, and two or three if you are lighting kiln-dried logs without a kindling layer. Reviews often use one on a log burner and two on a pizza oven, and most of the first 50 UK texts agree with the odourless line when they compare them with chemical white lighters. Sizes vary, and pieces can arrive loose or in a sack. Evri misdelivery and a damaged box appear in those texts. The Ready to Burn sentence on the page is about the brand’s firewood and kindling wood, not a certificate for these lighters. In this mixed set it is the top pick when you want a large wool-lighter box rather than sticks.
Pros
4.7 from 22,250 listing ratings
United Kingdom origin field and model KNIND-10
Up to 10 minutes, and pizza-oven use in the bullets
Cons
22,250 is not stated as UK-only
Pieces vary and can arrive loose or in a sack
Evri misdelivery and a damaged box appear in the first 50
Best for: A large box of wool lighters for a stove, BBQ, or pizza oven.
Less suitable: Kindling sticks, or a claim that these lighters carry Ready to Burn.
The bullets say put one on the kindling and do not hold it while it lights. Use 2–3 for kiln-dried logs. Reviews often use one on a log burner and two on a pizza oven.
Are they Ready to Burn?
The Ready to Burn sentence is about the brand’s firewood and kindling wood. It is not a certificate printed for these lighters.
Do they smell?
The bullets say odourless and non-toxic. The first 50 UK reviews mostly agree, and compare them with chemical white lighters. Sizes in the box vary.
The Kindling Cracker King is £169, and the bullets state a 23 cm internal safety ring, wider than the Original’s 16.5 cm. The listing shows 4.7 from 5,176 ratings. The weight field prints 454 g, while one review calls the XL over 10 kg, so that gram figure is not a mass you can plan around. The origin field says New Zealand, and the bullets mention Australian cast iron. One UK review says about 15 minutes on hardwood bent and broke the blade, while other reviews split hardwood with more effort. The warranty field on this page is empty, unlike the Original. You still supply a hammer and a heavy mount. Buy it when your logs are too wide for 16.5 cm and you treat 454 g as a bad field, not as the weight of the tool.
Pros
23 cm ring, larger than the Original’s 16.5 cm
4.7 from 5,176 ratings
Single-piece cast iron in the bullets
Cons
£169, and fixings plus a hammer are extra
Weight field prints 454 g
One hardwood review reports a bent, broken blade
Best for: Larger logs than the Original, if you can mount it and bring a lump hammer.
Less suitable: A light, ready-to-use tool, or a substitute for dry seasoned fuel.
The bullets state a 23 cm internal safety ring. One older review says a full 9 inch log can jam as the split opens. Another review calls the XL over 10 kg.
Does it need assembly?
The page asks, and the bullets say pre-drilled holes for mounting. Reviews say it is wobbly until it is fixed to a heavy timber, and you supply the hammer.
Will the blade take hardwood?
The bullets say oak, ash, birch, and commercial firewood. One UK review says 15 minutes on hardwood bent and broke the blade. Other reviews split hardwood with more effort.
The Certainly Wood box is £8.99, and the seller states 110–120 sticks at 2.5–3.5 kg, dried to below 12%, with a Ready to Burn line. The listing shows 4.6 from 4,362 ratings, the deepest wood sample in this set, and the origin field says United Kingdom. The title says natural firelighters while the item form is kindling sticks, so this row is a box of sticks, not a wool-lighter pack. No certificate number appears in the saved listing. One order was measured at about 27.5% moisture and the replacement at about 19–23%, which is above the seller’s below-12% sentence. Pieces vary in size, and some reviewers compare the price with cheaper shop nets. Open it when you want a named UK brand and a large review file, then check the cardboard for the logo, the supplier name, and the number.
Pros
4.6 from 4,362 ratings, the deepest wood sample in this set
Seller states below 12% moisture and Ready to Burn
Box of sticks, made in the United Kingdom on the origin field
Cons
Title says firelighters while the form says sticks
One order measured about 27.5% moisture, and the replacement about 19–23%
Pieces vary in size, and the price is compared with cheaper shop nets
Best for: A branded UK box of sticks for a stove, open fire, or pizza oven when you want the seller’s Ready to Burn line.
Less suitable: The cheapest bag by the kilogram, or a pack with a certificate number printed in the saved listing.
The title says natural firelighters. The item type is kiln-dried kindling, the form is kindling sticks, and the bullets describe 110–120 sticks at 2.5–3.5 kg.
What moisture and mark does the seller state?
Dried to below 12%, with Ready to Burn and the UK Clean Air Strategy named in the bullets. No certificate number is in the saved listing.
How many sticks does the seller say to use?
4–6 sticks per fire with the brand’s Flamers firelighters and kiln-dried logs. Those lighters are not in this box. One review used about 8–10 pieces on smokeless fuel.
The KEPLIN pack is £11.99 for 200 lighters, about 6p each, and the listing shows 4.6 from 2,450 ratings. The bullets say wood, wax, and wool, a burn of around 10 minutes, and one lighter with kindling or three with dried logs. One UK review timed them at under 5 minutes and said the wood did not catch. Several reviews describe pieces from very thin to large, so two are used where one was expected, and one buyer counted 202 in the box. The origin field says China. The pack is cardboard only, and a wet doorstep nearly soaked the bottom pieces in one review. In this set it is the best value when you want a 200-pack and £11.99 matters more than a United Kingdom origin field, provided you accept uneven pieces and keep the box dry.
Pros
£11.99 for 200
4.6 from 2,450 ratings
Bullets name wood burners, BBQs, chimineas, and wood-fired ovens
Cons
Origin field is China
Size varies inside the box
Cardboard only; a wet doorstep nearly soaked the bottom pieces
Best for: A 200-pack of wax-wool lighters for stoves and outdoor cooking, if uneven size is acceptable.
Less suitable: A uniform cube, or lighters you need to leave outside in the rain.
The bullets say around 10 minutes, one with kindling or three with dried logs. One UK review says they burned up in under 5 minutes and the wood did not catch.
Do they suit a pizza oven?
The title lists pizza ovens. A review uses them for pizza ovens and outdoor ovens and reports no strong odour. The page does not show a separate yes under the FAQ prompt.
Are the pieces one size?
Several reviews say they vary from very thin to large, so two are used where one was expected. One buyer counted 202 in the box.
The Firewood Hub box is £7.95 for 50 wood-wool and wax lighters, the origin field says United Kingdom, and the listing shows 4.6 from 772 ratings. The bullets say one lighter with kindling and a burn of 8 minutes, and reviews often say one is enough. One buyer could not keep a lighter alight until a replacement arrived, and one review says they are not odourless even though they still burned. The weight field is 500 g. The item form says Stick, which does not match a wool lighter. At about 16p each it is dearer per piece than the 200-packs in this set. It suits a small top-up when you already know you want wool, and it is the wrong row if you came for sticks.
Pros
£7.95 for 50, United Kingdom on the origin field
8-minute burn claim and a one-with-kindling instruction
4.6 from 772 ratings
Cons
Smaller and dearer per piece than the 200-packs in this set
One box would not stay lit until a replacement arrived
One review disputes the odourless claim
Best for: A small top-up box of wool lighters for a stove, BBQ, or pizza oven.
Less suitable: Buyers who wanted sticks, or a 200-pack at a lower price per lighter.
The bullets say one natural firelighter with kindling, and a burn of 8 minutes. Reviews often say one is enough. One buyer could not keep a lighter alight.
Are they odourless?
The title and bullets say odourless. Most of the first 50 UK reviews agree. One review says they are not odourless, but they still burned.
Is this kindling?
No. It is a box of 50 wood-wool firelighters. The item form field says Stick, which does not match the wool description.
Pelle & Sol’s bag is £6.89, with the title stating 2.4 kg and the weight field stating 2.25 kg. The bullets say kiln dried to below 10% and Woodsure Ready to Burn, and the listing shows 4.6 from 398 ratings. The saved listing does not print a certificate number, so the mark on this page is a sentence, not a number you can check. The origin field says China, and one of the first 50 UK reviews says the parcel was Surefire kindling from Ireland. Other reviews call some sticks too thick, dusty, or short-burning, and one mentions a torn Evri bag. It is the small bag to open when you want the scheme named in the bullets, and you will still look for the logo, supplier name, and number on the plastic itself.
Pros
Bullets state below 10% moisture and Woodsure Ready to Burn
4.6 from 398 ratings
Title is a single 2.4 kg pack for log burners and fire pits
Cons
Weight field is 2.25 kg, title is 2.4 kg
No certificate number on the page
Some sticks called too thick, dusty, or short-burning, and one torn Evri bag
Best for: A small kiln-dried bag when the bullets’ Ready to Burn line is what you are checking.
Less suitable: Buyers who need a printed certificate number, or a pack that has been the same brand in every review.
The Ecoblaze single bag is £5.99 in this amazon.co.uk capture, and both the title and the weight field say 2.5 kg of kiln-dried sticks. The listing shows 4.5 from 135 ratings. The first 50 UK review texts are the same sequence as the 10 kg ASIN, including comments about four bags and a total near 7 kg, so those ratings are not evidence about this bag alone. There is no moisture percentage and no Ready to Burn line. The title calls the wood smokeless, and one of those shared reviews says it smoked. A bullet also calls the pack a 2.5 L bag, which is not the same measurement as 2.5 kg. It is the lowest stick price here if you want one small bag and you will weigh it rather than trust the shared file.
Pros
£5.99 for one bag, the lowest stick price in this set
Title weight 2.5 kg, item form stick
Bullets name stoves, BBQs, fire pits, and chimineas
Cons
No Ready to Burn line and no moisture percentage
Smokeless is a claim, and one shared review says it smoked
Review file is shared with the 10 kg listing, so bag-weight complaints are not tied to this ASIN alone
Best for: A single small bag of sticks for a stove, fire pit, BBQ, or chiminea, if you accept the listing does not show Ready to Burn.
Less suitable: A certified Ready to Burn pack, or anyone treating the 135 ratings as unique to this 2.5 kg bag.
The title and the weight field both say 2.5 kg. A bullet also calls the pack a 2.5 L recyclable plastic bag. The saved listing does not give a moisture percentage.
Does the listing say Ready to Burn?
No. It says kiln dried and smokeless. Smokeless here is listing copy, not a certificate in the saved listing.
Are the reviews only about this 2.5 kg bag?
The first 50 UK texts are the same sequence as the 10 kg ASIN B0FMNN8K2N, including comments about four bags and a 7 kg total. The listing score is 4.5 from 135 on both pages.
The Ecoblaze multi-bag listing is £11.99 for a title total of 10 kg in four 2.5 kg packs, about £1.20 per kilogram if every bag matches the title. The listing shows 4.5 from 135 ratings, the same score and the same first 50 UK texts as the single 2.5 kg bag. In those texts, bags were measured at about 1.9–2.0 kg and one four-bag order at about 7 kg. Other reviews call the wood good value and dry, while some report sizzling, dampness, and readings over 30%. There is no moisture percentage and no Ready to Burn line, and one review says the wood gave off far too much smoke despite the smokeless wording. The model string is EBKND, the same as the small bag. Buy it only if that stated price is the point and you can weigh the delivery.
Pros
£11.99 for four bags on the title
Same 4.5 from 135 as the single bag
Bullets cover stoves, BBQs, fire pits, and chimineas
Cons
No moisture percentage and no Ready to Burn line
Damp, sizzling, and over-30% readings in some reviews
Short weight in more than one review
Best for: A multi-bag stick order when £11.99 for the stated 10 kg is the point of the listing.
Less suitable: A Ready to Burn pack, or a listing whose reviews do not argue about damp and underweight bags.
The title says 4 x 2.5 kg packs. A bullet calls each handy pack a 2.5 L recyclable plastic bag. The saved listing does not state a moisture percentage.
Do buyers report the stated weight?
In the first 50 UK reviews, bags were measured at about 1.9–2.0 kg, and one four-bag order at about 7 kg. Other reviews call the wood good value and dry.
Is it smokeless?
The title and bullets say smokeless and odourless. One review says it gave off far too much smoke. There is no Ready to Burn line.
The Firewood Hub cube box is £14.99 for a stated 288 cubes, about 5.2p each, made from compressed sawdust and vegetable oil, and the origin field says United Kingdom. The listing shows 4.4 from 386 ratings, the lowest firelighter score in this set. The bullets say 8 to 10 minutes per cube, and one review timed a small piece at about ten minutes. Another needed half a pack where four cubes of another brand had worked. The 288 are not loose: reviews describe trays or chocolate-bar blocks in cellophane, and shallow score lines led some buyers to use a knife, though later reviews say both sides are now serrated. Some find them harder to light with a match. The bullets say odour and taste free, with no palm oil or fossil fuels, which is a claim on the page rather than a lab sheet. Choose them if you can snap the sheets and you want the lowest price per stated cube.
Pros
288 count at £14.99, origin United Kingdom
8–10 minute claim and no-palm-oil line
Sheets that some buyers pack for camping
Cons
4.4 from 386, the lowest firelighter score in this set
Cubes that will not snap cleanly
Harder to light with matches for some buyers
Best for: A large cube box for a log burner or BBQ if you can break the blocks apart.
Less suitable: People who want loose wool lighters that light with a match first time.
No. Reviews describe trays or chocolate-bar blocks in cellophane. Score lines were too shallow for some buyers, who used a knife. Later reviews say both sides are now serrated.
How long does a cube burn?
The bullets say 8 to 10 minutes. One review timed a small piece at about ten minutes. Another needed half a pack where four cubes of another brand had worked.
Do they smell on a BBQ?
The bullets say odour and taste free, with no palm oil or fossil fuels. Reviews often report no fuel smell. Each layer is in plastic, which some buyers flag.
The Fachmach wall splitter is £49.99, a carbon-steel lever at 4.48 kg, with screws included and the origin field set to China. The listing shows 4.2 from 62 ratings, and the saved listing holds 36 review texts. You lift the column, place the log, and pull the blade down, so the method does not use a hammer, though you still need a drill and a level mount. The seller limits it to soft, dry wood. Reviews that used thick pieces report a bent blade, one says it rusted quickly outdoors, and the instructions are called thin. It is the cheapest tool in this set when your offcuts are already small and dry. It is the wrong buy for large or hard rounds, and it is not a substitute for a freestanding cast-iron cracker.
Pros
£49.99, below the cast-iron crackers
Lever action, screws included, 4.48 kg
Works on offcuts and softwood once it is fixed level
Cons
4.2 from 62 ratings, with 36 texts in the saved listing
Bent blade and fast rust in reviews
Origin China, and instructions called thin
Best for: A wall-mounted lever for small, dry softwood offcuts.
Less suitable: Large or hard rounds, or a freestanding cast-iron cracker.
The bullets say no hammer or axe: lift the column, place the log, pull the blade down. You do need a drill and the included screws, and a level mount.
What wood does the seller allow?
Soft and dry wood of various shapes. Hardwood and weatherproof are only questions on the page. Reviews that used thick pieces report a bent blade.
Can it stay outdoors?
The bullets say a sleeve limits rust and the head is for outdoor use. One review says it rusted quickly and is awkward if you mount and unmount it each time.
The Ecoblaze hardwood listing is £25.99 for a title of four 6.5 kg bags, 26 kg, and it is the only Ecoblaze row here that says hardwood. The page shows 4.2 from 4 ratings, and the file holds two review texts. One buyer kept the wood, called it dry and the right size for a stove, and thought it a bit overpriced. The other says each bag is 15 L, weighed 4.8 kg rather than 6.5 kg, and the total was under 20 kg. The item weight field prints 2300 kg and the unit count prints 64000.0 millilitre, which do not describe a 26 kg parcel. There is no moisture percentage and no Ready to Burn line. The bullets name pizza-oven brands, which is a use line, not a burn test. Leave it until there are more than two reviews, and weigh the bags if you order it anyway.
Pros
Hardwood named on the title, unlike the other Ecoblaze bags
£25.99 for a stated 26 kg
Pizza-oven brands named in the bullets
Cons
Only four ratings and two review texts
One of those two reviews disputes the 6.5 kg bags
Weight field 2300 kg does not match the title
Best for: A bulk hardwood listing if you can weigh the bags on arrival.
Less suitable: A well-reviewed single bag, or any page where you need a moisture percentage or Ready to Burn.
One buyer kept the wood and called it dry and the right size for a stove, and a bit overpriced. The other says each bag is 15 L and weighed 4.8 kg, not 6.5 kg, and the total was under 20 kg.
Does the listing name a pizza oven?
Yes. The bullets name Ooni, Gozney, Ninja, and VonHaus, and also logs, briquettes, firelighters, and smokeless coal.
Is the 2300 kg weight field the pack?
The title says 26 kg in four bags. The item weight field prints 2300 kg and the unit count prints 64000.0 millilitre. Treat those two fields as unset.
How we compared
Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored on a 0–100 scale from the pages captured on 20 October 2026. Review evidence is 30 points, from the star line, the review count and repeated defects, with a lower count score when two listings share one review file, when fewer than 20 ratings are on the page, or when a count above 10,000 is not described as UK-only. Listing coherence is 25 points, from title weight, product type, pack count, origin, and fields that are not absurd. Claim restraint is 20 points, from a moisture or burn sentence, a Ready to Burn line where the product is wood, and reviews that do not flatly contradict that sentence. Price within type is 15 points. Sentiment of themes already in the saved UK reviews is 10 points. The highest score is the top pick. The highest value score among the rest is the best value. This is not a lab test. No moisture meter reading was taken on a physical pack.
1
Review evidence
30%
Stars, review count and repeated defects. A shared review file, a count under 20, or a large total that is not described as UK-only does not take a full count score.
2
Listing coherence
25%
Title weight against the weight field, product type against the form, pack count, origin that is stated and not contradicted, and technical fields that are not absurd.
3
Claim restraint
20%
For wood, a moisture percentage and a Ready to Burn line, not treated as a verified certificate. For lighters, a stated burn time and a count. For splitters, a ring or method that matches the complaints.
4
Price within type
15%
Shelf price against the same type: pounds per kilogram for sticks, pence per piece for lighters, and shelf price for splitters. Repeated short-weight reviews cap the wood block.
5
Review themes
10%
Damp, short weight, break-apart and bent-blade themes in the saved UK reviews. Two texts are a thin sample, not silence.
Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
6 sources checked
Kindling buying guide
Separate sticks, firelighters and splitters before you compare a shelf price. Wood is judged on moisture wording and the Ready to Burn mark for small retail volumes in England. Lighters are judged on count, a stated burn time, and whether food sits over the flame. Splitters are judged on the safety ring or the seller’s wood limit. A price without a type is not a comparison.
What kindling means on amazon.co.uk
Kindling in the UK is the small, dry stick layer that bridges a firelighter or a twist of newspaper to the logs on a stove, an open fire, or a pizza oven. This amazon.co.uk set is not one product. It mixes kiln-dried kindling wood, wood-wool or wax firelighters sold beside kindling, and cast-iron or wall-mounted splitters that make sticks from logs. A score compares listing quality inside that mix. It does not mean a lighter is a better stick, and a splitter does not replace dry fuel.
Best for
A daily stove, if you will check the Ready to Burn logo on the pack
A pizza oven or BBQ that needs an odour-free lighter plus a few dry sticks
Not ideal for
Anyone who wanted only sticks and is about to buy a box of lighters
Wet or oversized logs, or a flue that still smokes on dry fuel
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying lighters instead of sticks
Log Barn and KEPLIN are firelighters. Certainly Wood, Pelle & Sol and Ecoblaze are bags of sticks. A top score on a lighter does not make it the kindling layer.
2
Trusting “smokeless”
Smokeless on an Ecoblaze title is listing copy. It is not a Ready to Burn certificate, and one shared review says the wood smoked. Look for the logo, the supplier name and the certificate number on wood under 2 m³ in England.
3
A damp shed or a wet log
Ecoblaze reviews mention condensation and sizzling when bags are stored damp. A splitter on wet or oversized wood is the wrong tool, and it does not dry the fuel. Do not slumber a stove on kindling alone.
What to weigh up
Product type
High
Three products are sold under the same search. Kiln-dried sticks are the layer between a lighter and the logs. Wood-wool cubes and compressed sawdust blocks are firelighters: Log Barn and KEPLIN are 200-packs near £12, Firewood Hub sells 50 wool lighters at about £7.95 or 288 cubes at about £14.99. The Kindling Cracker Original, the King and the Fachmach lever are tools. They split logs. They do not season them. Occasional stove use suits one 2.5 kg box.
Moisture and Ready to Burn
High
For wood, prefer the Woodsure Ready to Burn mark on the pack, with the supplier name and the certificate number. A seller line of “below 10%” or “kiln dried” is not the logo. Pelle & Sol names Woodsure Ready to Burn in the bullets and prints no certificate number. Certainly Wood names Ready to Burn in the seller text, with the deepest wood review file here, and one order was measured at about 27.5% and then about 19–23% on the replacement.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🔥
Daily log burner
You light a stove most days and you want a named UK box with a large review file. Certainly Wood is about £8.99, with 4.6 from 4,362 ratings, below 12% and Ready to Burn in the seller text. One order was measured well above 12%. Check the logo, the supplier name and the certificate number on the cardboard.
You need an odour-free lighter plus a small kindling layer, not resin smoke on food. Log Barn is the top pick at about £12.99 for 200, with a United Kingdom origin field and a burn claim of up to 10 minutes. The 22,250 ratings are the listing total, not a UK-only count.
You would rather buy one tool than bags every winter, and your logs fit a 16.5 cm ring. The Kindling Cracker Original is about £124, with 4.8 from 8,562 ratings. You still supply a hammer and a heavy mount. Wider logs need the King at about £169. A splitter does not dry wet wood.
The top pick is the Log Barn box of 200 wax-dipped wood-wool firelighters at about £12.99. The listing shows 4.7 from 22,250 ratings, and that count is not stated as UK-only. The origin field says United Kingdom. Bullets say up to 10 minutes and one lighter on the kindling. It is the strongest lighter listing in this mix, not a verdict that wool lighters replace sticks. The Ready to Burn line on the page is about the brand’s wood, not these lighters.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is the KEPLIN pack of 200 at about £11.99, about 6p a lighter, with 4.6 from 2,450 ratings. The bullets say around 10 minutes. One UK review timed a burn under 5 minutes, and pieces vary from very thin to large. The origin field says China, and the box is cardboard. The 288-cube box is cheaper per stated piece and stays off this badge because buyers report blocks that will not snap. Bent-blade reviews keep the badge off the cheaper Fachmach lever.
Are these products all kindling sticks?
No. Three types share this comparison. Kiln-dried sticks are the kindling layer on a stove or open fire. Wood-wool cubes and compressed sawdust blocks are firelighters. The Kindling Cracker and the Fachmach lever are tools that split logs. They do not dry wet fuel. If you came for sticks, open Pelle & Sol or Certainly Wood, not a 200-pack of lighters. A high score on a lighter is listing quality for that lighter.
What does Ready to Burn mean for a bag of kindling?
In England, domestic wood sold in volumes under 2 m³ must be Ready to Burn certified at 20% moisture or below. The pack should show the logo, the supplier name and a certificate number. Woodsure administers the mark for firewood, briquettes and kindling. “Kiln dried” or “below 10%” on a listing is not the same as that logo on the pack you receive. Pelle & Sol and Certainly Wood name the mark in seller text and do not print a certificate number. Ecoblaze rows do not state Ready to Burn.
How much does kindling cost?
On 20 October 2026 a single 2.4–2.5 kg bag sat near £6–£9. Ecoblaze 2.5 kg is about £5.99, about £2.40 per kilogram on the title weight. The 10 kg Ecoblaze bundle is about £11.99, about £1.20 per kilogram if the bags match the title. Saved reviews dispute that weight. A 200-pack of natural firelighters sat near £12, about 6p to 6.5p each. Splitters in this set run from about £49.99 to about £169. Shelf prices change.
Can I burn these in a smoke control area?
In a smoke control area you must not emit chimney smoke. You burn an authorised fuel, or you use a Defra-exempt appliance and only the fuels that appliance allows. “Smokeless” on an Ecoblaze title is marketing copy. It is not a certificate in the file, and one shared review says the wood smoked. None of these listings is treated here as Defra-exempt. Check the stove manual and the rule for your street before you buy fuel for that appliance.
Should I buy fatwood instead of kiln-dried sticks?
Fatwood is resin-rich starter wood, not the kiln-dried stick layer in these bags. It is a poor choice when food sits above the flame, because resin smoke is what pizza-oven buyers are trying to avoid. Kiln-dried sticks plus an odour-free lighter are the layer under the logs. How those two fuels differ is set out in fatwood or kiln-dried kindling. A splitter still does not dry wet logs.
When should I call a sweep instead of buying more kindling?
Call a HETAS registrant or a chimney sweep if smoke persists after dry fuel and a correct light, if a carbon monoxide alarm sounds, or if you cannot confirm whether your street is a smoke control area. Use an alarm that meets BS EN 50291 with solid fuel, and follow the stove manual. Fitting or altering a stove is not a job that follows from buying kindling. A splitter needs a stable mount and hands outside the blade. It does not cure a cold or blocked flue.
Our verdict
The top pick is the Log Barn box of 200 wax-dipped wood-wool firelighters at about £12.99. It is the highest score in this mix: 4.7 from 22,250 listing ratings, a United Kingdom origin field, and a burn claim of up to 10 minutes. That count is not stated as UK-only, and the Ready to Burn sentence on the page is about the brand’s wood, not these lighters. It does not replace a bag of sticks. The best value is the KEPLIN 200-pack at about £11.99, about 6p each, with 4.6 from 2,450 ratings, if you accept uneven pieces and a China origin field. The 288-cube box is cheaper per stated piece and loses the badge on break-apart complaints. A splitter does not dry wet fuel.
Fireplaces and stovesKindlingamazon.co.uk listings
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: 22.10.2026
6 sources checked
Guides to kindling packs
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for Ready to Burn, smoke control and lighting. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts were taken from the listings on 20 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.