Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Fireplace guard comparison 2026

The best fireplace guards, compared.

Top pick: Safetots Original fireguard – Top pick on the score rule: 4.7 from 1,945 reviews, wall-fixed, BS 8423:2010 stated, at about £36.90. Best value: Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen – Score 92 at about £23.95, 4.6 from 655 reviews, for sparks and embers only. The cheaper mesh sheets are a different job. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A fireplace guard on amazon.co.uk is one of three things: a folding metal spark screen, a wall-fixed child barrier, or a light mesh cover. Says fit a childproof guard in front of open fires or heaters, and that the best ones fix to the wall. Its scope excludes flying particles and points those to BS 3248. The split is in the [fireplace guard buying guide](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/fireplace-guard/sub/fireplace-guard-buying-guide). A folding metal spark screen stands on the hearth and is sold for sparks and embers. A wall-fixed barrier is the nursery-style guard, with clips or screws into the wall. RoSPA describes a nursery guard with side clips into wall brackets, and still expects supervision. Scottish Fire and advises a spark-guard when an open fire is unattended. Devon and Fire and advises a guard so embers miss furnishings, and says put the fire out before bed or before you leave.

A fireplace guard on amazon.co.uk is one of three things: a folding metal spark screen, a wall-fixed child barrier, or a light mesh cover.

Safetots Original fireguard

Best overall

Safetots Original fireguard
9.4/10∼ £37

42 products checked · 56 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

12 of 12: Best fireplace guards compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Safetots Original fireguard
Fire Vida Buckton spark fire screen
Best value
Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen
Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen
Fire Vida Ingleton brass fire screen
Babylo Premier fireguard
Fire Vida Stanton 4 panel spark fire guard
JINGEGECOME mesh fireplace cover
Kingson extra wide arched fire screen
Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen (333313)
Kingson black fireplace guard
CLKUEH mesh fireplace safety cover
9.4/10
9.4/10
9.2/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
2.0/10
∼ £37
∼ £23
∼ £24
∼ £22
∼ £25
∼ £35
∼ £23
∼ £12
∼ £35
∼ £22
∼ £30
∼ £11
4.7(1,945)
4.7(193)
4.6(655)
4.4(1,785)
4.4(1,785)
4.4(633)
4.3(363)
4.3(46)
4.2(35)
4.1(315)
4.1(98)
1.0(1)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best fireplace guards in detail

Safetots Original fireguard

Rank 1

Safetots Original fireguard

∼£37

Our view

The Safetots Original is a wall-fixed metal barrier that adjusts from 84.5 cm to 155 cm, stands 69 cm high and sits 44 cm out from the wall, at £36.90 on amazon.co.uk. Across 1,945 reviews it sits at 4.7, and UK buyers also use it in front of stoves as well as fireplaces. The brand states BS 8423:2010; the file does not print an A1 or A2 amendment, so that line is not proof of the 2022 text. Screw-fit clips hold it, with a quick release, and the panels rest on the floor. Reviews say the fixing-plate screws are fiddly and the clips are stiff to release. It stores flat at 6.2 kg, with a 26 cm top panel. It is the top pick here when you can screw a child or pet barrier to the wall.

Pros

  • Adjustable 84.5–155 cm, 69 cm high, 44 cm deep
  • Screw-fit clips with quick release
  • Brand states BS 8423:2010
  • 4.7 from 1,945 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Fixing-plate screws are fiddly
  • Clips are stiff to release
  • States 2010 only, not amendment A2:2022
  • Not a tool-free fit

Best for: A fireplace or stove where you can drill a wall fixing and want a wide child or pet barrier.

Less suitable: Renters who will not drill, or a spark screen you fold away without fixings.

Specifications

Model
Safetots Original fireguard
Brand
Safetots
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,945)
Type
Wall-fixed barrier
Job
Child and pet barrier
Width
84.5–155 cm
Height
69 cm
Listed weight
6.2 kg
Wall fixing
Screw-fit clips
Standard stated
BS 8423:2010
Folds
Stores flat
Tool-free
No

Common questions

Does the Safetots Original fix to the wall?

Yes. The listing describes screw-fit wall mounting clips and a quick release from the wall. The panels rest on the floor. It is not tool-free. UK reviews say the fixing-plate screws are fiddly and the clips are stiff to release.

Which standard does this listing state?

The brand says the guard passes BS 8423:2010. The listing states that year only. It does not print an A1 or A2 amendment.

How large is the Safetots Original?

Width adjusts from 84.5 cm to 155 cm. Installed height is 69 cm and depth from the mounting surface is 44 cm. The top panel is 26 cm deep. Weight is 6.2 kg.

Fire Vida Buckton spark fire screen

Rank 2

Fire Vida Buckton spark fire screen

∼£23

Our view

The Fire Vida Buckton is a compact freestanding spark screen of about 66 cm wide and 60 cm high, weighing 2.5 kg at £22.99. Bullets describe sparks and splitting coals on coal and wood-burning fires, and they do not describe a wall fixing. There is no British Standard in the file, and gas appears only as a listing question. It is rated 4.7 from 193 reviews, the same star line as the Safetots Original, but fewer than 200 reviews means it does not take the top pick. Check the 60 cm height as well as the narrow width before you buy. The listing does not say whether it folds.

Pros

  • About 66 × 60 cm for a smaller opening
  • 4.7 from 193 reviews
  • 2.5 kg freestanding metal screen
  • £22.99

Cons

  • Too narrow for a wide hearth
  • No wall fixings and no BS number
  • Under 200 reviews, so it does not take the top pick
  • Folding is not stated

Best for: A small coal or wood opening around 66 cm where you want a freestanding spark screen.

Less suitable: A wide fireplace, a child barrier, or a buyer who needs the listing to say it folds.

Specifications

Model
Fire Vida Buckton spark fire screen
Brand
Fire Vida
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.7/5(193)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
66 cm
Height
60 cm
Listed weight
2.5 kg
Wall fixing
None

Common questions

How big is the Buckton screen?

The bullets give about 66 cm wide and 60 cm high. Check height as well as width before you buy.

Is the Buckton a child barrier?

The bullets describe sparks and splitting coals. There is no British Standard in the saved listing and no wall fixings.

Can it be used with gas fires?

Gas appears only as a listing question. The bullets name coal and wood-burning fires.

Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen

Rank 3

Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen

∼£24

Our view

The Fire Vida Milton is an arched three-fold spark screen of about 96 × 60 cm and 2.25 kg, listed at £23.95. UK reviews say it arrives assembled and the side panels open to the opening. The listing does not state wall fixings. The bullets call it a barrier against sparks and embers, and there is no British Standard in the file. One buyer would not have chosen it if children were the reason, and another says it is fine for pups but not a full child barrier. Reviews do not agree on heat: one says it gets very hot, and another says it does not get too hot, which is experience rather than a measurement. At 4.6 from 655 reviews it is the best value spark screen in this set.

Pros

  • About 96 × 60 cm arched three-fold screen
  • 4.6 from 655 reviews at £23.95
  • Reviews say it arrives assembled
  • Sold as a spark and ember barrier

Cons

  • Not a full child barrier
  • No British Standard and no stated wall fixing
  • Reviews disagree on how hot the metal gets

Best for: Sparks and embers on a coal or wood fire when you do not need a wall-fixed child guard.

Less suitable: A toddler barrier, or anyone who needs a frame that stays cool. Reviews do not agree on heat.

Specifications

Model
Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen
Brand
Fire Vida
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.6/5(655)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
96 cm
Height
60 cm
Listed weight
2.25 kg
Folds
Yes

Common questions

Do I have to assemble the Milton screen?

UK reviews say it arrives assembled and the side panels open to the opening. The listing does not state wall fixings.

Is the Milton a child barrier?

The bullets call it a barrier against sparks and embers. There is no British Standard in the saved listing. One buyer would not have chosen it if children were the reason. Another says it is fine for pups but not a full child barrier.

Do reviews say the Milton stays cool?

They do not agree. One reviewer says it gets very hot. Another says it does not get too hot. That is review experience, not a temperature measurement.

Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen

Rank 4

Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen

∼£22

Our view

The Fire Vida Selby on this listing is a three-panel folding spark screen of about 85 × 64 cm and 2.44 kg, at £21.99. The bullets sell it for a coal or wood-burning fire, and UK reviews mention a wood-burner nook and a log burner. It is cast iron, it is not wall-fixed, and the file has no British Standard number. Reviews split on stability. Some buyers say it fits a recess and arrived assembled. Others call it wobbly, flimsy and easy to knock over, with no fixings to hold it in place. At 4.4 from 1,785 reviews it is a widely reviewed spark screen, not a barrier a toddler cannot push aside.

Pros

  • About 85 × 64 cm, three-fold, 2.44 kg
  • 4.4 from 1,785 reviews
  • Folds; bullets name coal or wood-burning fires
  • £21.99

Cons

  • No wall fixings
  • Reviews call it wobbly and easy to knock over
  • No British Standard in the listing
  • Not a child barrier

Best for: An open fire or log burner where you want a folding spark screen and will put it back after refuelling.

Less suitable: A toddler, a large dog that can push a freestanding frame, or a hearth much wider than 85 cm.

Specifications

Model
Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen
Brand
Fire Vida
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,785)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
85 cm
Height
64 cm
Listed weight
2.44 kg
Wall fixing
None
Folds
Yes

Common questions

Is the Selby a wall-fixed nursery guard?

No. It is a folding three-panel spark screen. The listing does not describe wall fixings, and there is no British Standard number in the saved listing.

Which fires is the Selby sold for?

The bullets say a coal or wood-burning fire. Gas appears only as a listing question. UK reviews mention a wood-burner nook and a log burner.

Does the Selby stay upright on its own?

Reviews split. Some buyers say it fits a wood-burner recess and arrived assembled. Others call it wobbly, flimsy and easy to knock over, with no fixings to hold it in place.

Fire Vida Ingleton brass fire screen

Rank 5

Fire Vida Ingleton brass fire screen

∼£25

Our view

The Fire Vida Ingleton is a three-fold spark screen with a polished brass finish, about 95 cm wide and 60 cm high, weighing 2 kg at £24.99. The included-components line prints 60.0 × 10.0 × 95.0 cm, so measure the hearth before you treat 95 × 60 cm as the clear opening. Bullets name coal and wood-burning fires. There are no wall fixings and no British Standard in the file, and the material notes mention alloy steel plus iron and plastic. The stored star line is 4.4 from 1,785 reviews. At 60 cm high it will not cover a tall stove door, and nothing in the listing holds the frame to the wall.

Pros

  • Polished brass three-fold screen
  • About 95 × 60 cm at 2 kg
  • 4.4 from 1,785 reviews
  • Folds for storage

Cons

  • No wall fixings
  • No British Standard in the file
  • 60 cm high, so check a tall stove door
  • Material notes also mention plastic

Best for: A brass-finish spark screen for a coal or wood fire about 95 cm wide.

Less suitable: A nursery guard, or an opening that needs more than 60 cm of height.

Specifications

Model
Fire Vida Ingleton brass fire screen
Brand
Fire Vida
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,785)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
95 cm
Height
60 cm
Listed weight
2 kg
Wall fixing
None
Folds
Yes

Common questions

Is the Ingleton a wall-fixed guard?

No. It is a folding three-panel spark screen. The listing does not describe wall fixings.

What size is the Ingleton screen?

Included components list 60.0 × 10.0 × 95.0 cm. Treat the opening as about 95 × 60 cm and check your hearth.

Does the listing state BS 8423?

No British Standard number appears in the saved listing.

Babylo Premier fireguard

Rank 6

Babylo Premier fireguard

∼£35

Our view

The Babylo Premier is a wall-fixed barrier listed at up to 133 cm wide and 5.5 kg, at £34.99, with 44 cm of depth on the listing line. Bullets state BS 8423:2010 and name gas, electric or solid fuel. They do not print an A1 or A2 amendment. Reviews say you can screw it to the wall, so this is not a tool-free fit. Several UK reviews say the box picture shows a front door that is not supplied, so you may need to move the guard or take off curved sections to tend the fire. At 4.4 from 633 reviews it is the other nursery-style option in this table, with a shorter stated width than the Safetots Original.

Pros

  • Wall fix described in the bullets
  • Up to 133 cm wide, 5.5 kg
  • Bullets state BS 8423:2010
  • 4.4 from 633 reviews at £34.99

Cons

  • Pictured front door is not in the box, UK reviews say
  • You may have to move the guard to tend the fire
  • Not tool-free
  • No A1 or A2 amendment in the file

Best for: A screw-fixed child barrier up to 133 cm when you can work around a guard with no front door.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a door in the guard to refuel, or a spark screen with no drilling.

Specifications

Model
Babylo Premier fireguard
Brand
Babylo
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.4/5(633)
Type
Wall-fixed barrier
Job
Child and pet barrier
Width
Up to 133 cm
Listed weight
5.5 kg
Wall fixing
Screw to wall
Standard stated
BS 8423:2010
Tool-free
No

Common questions

Does the Babylo Premier fix to the wall?

The bullets say it fixes securely to the wall. Reviews say you can screw it to the wall for safety. It is not tool-free.

Which standard does this listing state?

The bullets say it complies with BS 8423:2010. There is no A1 or A2 amendment in the saved listing.

Is there a front door in the box?

Several UK reviews say the box picture shows a door that is not supplied. You may need to move the guard or remove curved sections to tend the fire.

Fire Vida Stanton 4 panel spark fire guard

Rank 7

Fire Vida Stanton 4 panel spark fire guard

∼£23

Our view

The Fire Vida Stanton is a four-panel folding screen of about 100 × 64 cm, and at 1.25 kg it is the lightest metal screen in this table, priced at £22.99. Some UK reviews say it arrived with no assembly and is sturdy enough for sparks. Others say it is flimsy, falls down, or fell apart after a few months, and one buyer found it too small. There is no British Standard and no wall fixing in the file. The star line is 4.3 from 363 reviews. Use it as a wide spark screen you put back after refuelling, and expect a light frame to move if it is knocked.

Pros

  • Four-fold screen, about 100 × 64 cm
  • 1.25 kg and it folds
  • Some reviews say no assembly
  • £22.99, 4.3 from 363 reviews

Cons

  • Reviews say it falls or fell apart after a few months
  • Light enough to knock over
  • One buyer found it too small
  • No British Standard

Best for: A wide open fire when you want a folding spark screen and can check that it stays upright.

Less suitable: A child or a large dog, or anyone who wants a heavier frame.

Specifications

Model
Fire Vida Stanton 4 panel spark fire guard
Brand
Fire Vida
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.3/5(363)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
100 cm
Height
64 cm
Listed weight
1.25 kg
Wall fixing
None
Folds
Yes

Common questions

Is the Stanton screen stable?

UK reviews are mixed. Some say it is smart and sturdy enough for sparks; others say it is flimsy, falls down or fell apart after a few months.

Do I need to assemble it?

Some UK reviews say it arrived with no assembly required. Check height and width before you buy; one buyer found it too small.

Is it a nursery guard?

It is a folding spark screen. There is no British Standard number in the saved listing.

JINGEGECOME mesh fireplace cover

Rank 8

JINGEGECOME mesh fireplace cover

∼£12

Our view

The JINGEGECOME cover is a woven mesh sheet of 100 × 80 cm that weighs 50 g, listed at £11.99. The listing says double-sided tape and Velcro and no tools. One UK review could not use the bottom strips and piled cushions in front instead. The material line says glass fibre and the bullets say Teslin woven mesh at 1.5 mm, so the page does not give one material name. There is no British Standard in the file. One UK review calls it a limited measure with no real strength, and one buyer had not used it on a lit fire. At 4.3 from 46 reviews it is a light cover for a cold opening, not a spark screen or a nursery guard.

Pros

  • 100 × 80 cm at 50 g
  • Tape and Velcro, no tools stated
  • £11.99
  • 4.3 from 46 reviews

Cons

  • 50 g, and one UK review says it has no real strength
  • Bottom strips failed for one buyer
  • Material line and bullets disagree
  • Not a spark guard or a BS 8423 nursery guard

Best for: A cold opening, stair or doorway where you want a light mesh and can stick tape.

Less suitable: A lit fire, a child who can push the sheet, or a wall you cannot mark with adhesive.

Specifications

Model
JINGEGECOME mesh fireplace cover
Brand
JINGEGECOME
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.3/5(46)
Type
Mesh cover
Job
Cold-opening cover
Width
100 cm
Height
80 cm
Listed weight
0.05 kg
Wall fixing
Tape and Velcro
Tool-free
Yes

Common questions

Can I fit this mesh cover without tools?

The listing says double-sided tape and Velcro, and no tools. One UK review could not use the bottom strips and piled cushions in front instead.

Is this mesh a spark guard or a nursery guard?

The title sells it as a baby and pet cover. There is no British Standard in the file. One UK review calls it a limited measure with no real strength. One buyer had not used it on a lit fire.

How big and how heavy is the mesh?

The listing size is 100 cm by 80 cm and the weight is 50 g. The material line says glass fibre. The bullets say Teslin woven mesh at 1.5 mm.

Kingson extra wide arched fire screen

Rank 9

Kingson extra wide arched fire screen

∼£35

Our view

The Kingson extra wide arched fire screen unfolds to 102 × 54 cm and weighs 2.4 kg, at £34.99. Bullets say there is no assembly: you unfold it, place it, and fold it flat for storage. Height is 54 cm, the shortest metal screen in this set, so a tall stove door can sit above the arch. One UK review says there is no front handle to lift it, which matters when the fire is hot. The title uses child and pet wording, but no British Standard appears in the file and it does not fix to the wall. The star line is 4.2 from 35 reviews, a thin sample next to screens with hundreds of reviews.

Pros

  • 102 cm wide arched three-panel screen
  • Folds flat; bullets say no assembly
  • 2.4 kg iron
  • Extra width for a wide opening

Cons

  • Only 54 cm high
  • No front handle, one UK review says
  • No wall fixing and no BS number
  • 4.2 from 35 reviews

Best for: A wide fireplace or log burner where 102 cm of width matters more than height, and you can move it without a front handle.

Less suitable: A tall stove door, a toddler barrier, or a buyer who wants a large review file.

Specifications

Model
Kingson extra wide arched fire screen
Brand
Kingson
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.2/5(35)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
102 cm
Height
54 cm
Listed weight
2.4 kg
Wall fixing
None
Folds
Yes
Tool-free
Yes

Common questions

Does the Kingson arch screen fix to the wall?

No. The bullets say you unfold and place it. It folds flat for storage.

Is there a handle on the front?

One UK review says there is no front handle to lift it. Plan how you will move it when the fire is hot.

Does the listing state BS 8423?

No British Standard number appears in the saved listing despite child and pet wording in the title.

Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen (333313)

Rank 10

Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen (333313)

∼£22

Our view

This Selby listing, model 333313, is a separate ASIN from the cast-iron Selby screen, at the same £21.99 and about 85 × 64 cm, weighing 2.44 kg. Bullets say cast iron, while the material line says metal and the finish is powder coated. It is sold for a coal or wood-burning fire and it folds. There are no wall fixings and no British Standard in the file. Reviews split on arrival: some say it is ready to use, and one buyer received one panel in pieces and spent about an hour assembling it. The star line is 4.1 from 315 reviews, below the other Selby ASIN in this table. Treat it as a spark screen you check on delivery, not as a fixed child guard.

Pros

  • Three-fold screen, about 85 × 64 cm
  • £21.99 and 2.44 kg
  • Folds for storage
  • 315 amazon.co.uk reviews on this ASIN

Cons

  • 4.1 stars, below the other Selby listing
  • Assembly is not consistent in reviews
  • No wall fixings and no BS number
  • Material line and bullets do not match

Best for: A folding spark screen at £21.99 when you can check the panels on arrival.

Less suitable: Buyers who want the higher-rated Selby ASIN, or a wall-fixed nursery guard.

Specifications

Model
Fire Vida Selby 3 panel fire screen (333313)
Brand
Fire Vida
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.1/5(315)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark and ember screen
Width
85 cm
Height
64 cm
Listed weight
2.44 kg
Wall fixing
None
Folds
Yes

Common questions

Is this the same ASIN as the cast-iron Selby screen?

No. This listing is B01DA8LGRO with model 333313. B014WB795G is a separate Selby ASIN with a different model number.

Does it arrive fully assembled?

Reviews split. Some say it is ready to use; one buyer received one panel in pieces and spent about an hour assembling it.

Is it a nursery guard?

It is sold as a folding spark screen. There is no British Standard number and no wall fixings in the saved listing.

Kingson black fireplace guard

Rank 11

Kingson black fireplace guard

∼£30

Our view

The Kingson black fireplace guard is a freestanding iron screen at £29.99 and 2.22 kg, and the bullets say it arrives fully assembled. The title prints 96.5 × 61 cm and the item-dimensions line prints 95.5 × 61 cm, so keep both widths and measure the opening. The title mentions baby safety, but the saved listing does not print BS 8423 and no wall fixings are described. You place it in front of a wood burner, log burner or open fire. At 4.1 from 98 reviews the sample is smaller than the Fire Vida screens around this price. It is not the same job as the screw-fixed Safetots or Babylo guards.

Pros

  • Bullets say it arrives fully assembled
  • About 61 cm high and around 96 cm wide
  • Iron, 2.22 kg
  • Named for wood burners, log burners and open fires

Cons

  • Title width 96.5 cm and listing line 95.5 cm
  • No BS 8423 despite baby-safety wording
  • No wall fixings
  • 4.1 from 98 reviews

Best for: A freestanding screen for a wood or log burner when you accept two width figures a centimetre apart.

Less suitable: A fixed nursery guard, or a buyer who needs one clear width.

Specifications

Model
Kingson black fireplace guard
Brand
Kingson
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.1/5(98)
Type
Folding spark screen
Job
Spark screen
Width
95.5–96.5 cm
Height
61 cm
Listed weight
2.22 kg
Wall fixing
None
Tool-free
Yes

Common questions

Which width should I trust?

The title says 96.5 cm and the item-dimensions line says 95.5 cm. Measure your opening and keep both figures in mind.

Does it fix to the wall?

No wall fixings are described. The bullets say it arrives fully assembled and you place it in front of the fireplace.

Is this the same as a BS 8423 nursery guard?

The title mentions baby safety but the saved listing does not print BS 8423. For a fixed child barrier, compare the wall-fixed listings in the table.

CLKUEH mesh fireplace safety cover

Rank 12

CLKUEH mesh fireplace safety cover

∼£11

Our view

The CLKUEH sheet is a plastic mesh cover of 100 × 80 cm and 97 g at £10.59, fixed with hook and loop tape that has a self-adhesive backing. Bullets say assembly is tool-free, and they also mention flies and bugs, so the page is not only a fireplace cover. There is no British Standard in the file. A 97 g plastic sheet is not a spark screen or a wall-fixed child barrier. The saved listing shows one UK review at 1.0 out of 5, and it does not store the review text. With that single review there is almost no buyer evidence, even at the lowest price in this table.

Pros

  • £10.59
  • 100 × 80 cm, tool-free tape in the bullets
  • 97 g
  • Hook and loop with self-adhesive backing

Cons

  • 1.0 from 1 review, and no review text in the file
  • Bullets also sell it as an insect screen
  • Plastic mesh at 97 g
  • No British Standard

Best for: A cold opening where you only want a cheap stick-on mesh and you accept a single 1-star review.

Less suitable: A lit fire, sparks, or a child barrier.

Specifications

Model
CLKUEH mesh fireplace safety cover
Brand
CLKUEH
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
1.0/5(1)
Type
Mesh cover
Job
Cover, also insects
Width
100 cm
Height
80 cm
Listed weight
0.097 kg
Wall fixing
Adhesive tape
Tool-free
Yes

Common questions

Is this mesh a spark guard?

The title sells a safety cover. There is no British Standard in the saved listing and the bullets also mention flies and bugs.

Can I fit it without tools?

The bullets describe hook and loop tape with self-adhesive backing and tool-free assembly.

How much UK review evidence is there?

The saved listing shows one UK review at 1.0 out of 5. Treat claims cautiously compared with the heavier guards in the table.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk fireplace-guard listings were scored on a 0–100 scale. There was no lab test. The score method names four factors and does not print a separate point table. They are recorded here as 40, 25, 20 and 15. A mesh sheet is scored as a cold-opening cover, not as a spark screen or a nursery guard. A folding screen with no BS 8423 line is not scored as a nursery guard. A high star line on fewer than 200 reviews does not take the top pick when a similar job has a much larger review file. The highest score on that rule is the top pick. The best value is the spark screen with the stronger review file at a mid price, not the cheapest mesh. Prices are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices on 19 October 2026.

1

Review evidence

40%

Star line, review count and repeated defects in the UK texts. A large sample outweighs a high score from fewer than 200 reviews when the top pick is decided. A mesh sheet with one review is cut hard.

2

Job match

25%

The stated job has to match the product type: sparks and embers, a child or pet off a hot stove, or a cover for a cold opening. A folding screen is not scored as a nursery guard.

3

Standard and fixing

20%

Where the job is child access, a printed BS 8423 line and a wall fixing raise the score. A 2010 line with no A1 or A2 is not treated as proof of the 2022 text. Conflicting widths and missing fixings lower the score.

4

Price for the job

15%

Shelf price in GBP against the job the listing can actually do. A mesh cover near £11 is not best value for sparks or for a child barrier.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Fireplace guard buying guide

Match the job first, then the standard and the wall fixing, then the opening. A folding screen without BS 8423 is a spark screen. A mesh sheet under 100 g is a cover for a cold opening. Prefer a large UK review count over a high star line from fewer than 200 reviews. A 2010 line is not proof of amendment A2:2022.

What is a fireplace guard?

A fireplace guard in this comparison is one of three listings. A folding metal spark screen stands on the hearth and is sold for sparks and embers. A wall-fixed barrier is the nursery-style guard, with clips or screws into the wall. A mesh cover is a light sheet stuck on with tape. GOV.UK tells parents and child carers to fit a childproof guard in front of open fires or heaters, and says the best ones fix to the wall.

Best for

  • A wall you can drill, when a child or pet can reach a hot stove or open fire
  • An open coal or wood fire, when you will put a metal screen back after refuelling

Not ideal for

  • A toddler if the only option is a folding screen or a 50 g mesh sheet
  • A lit fire if you are looking at the tape-on mesh covers

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A £23 screen as a nursery guard

    Fire Vida and Kingson screens in this set have no BS 8423 line and no wall fixing. They are spark screens. A toddler can push a freestanding frame aside. The wall-fixed listings are Safetots and Babylo.

  2. 2

    Trusting the picture of a front door

    Several UK reviews of the Babylo Premier say the box picture shows a door that is not supplied. You may need to move the guard or take off curved sections to tend the fire.

  3. 3

    A 50 g mesh on a lit fire

    The JINGEGECOME cover weighs 50 g and the CLKUEH sheet weighs 97 g. One JINGEGECOME review calls it a limited measure with no real strength. Neither is a spark screen or a nursery guard.

What to weigh up

Job, standard and fixing

High

Decide the job before the price. Sparks and embers are a metal screen you put back after refuelling. A child or a pet at a hot stove needs a guard that states BS 8423 and fixes to the wall. A cover for a cold opening is the mesh sheet, and it is not the other two jobs. GOV.UK says fit a childproof guard in front of open fires or heaters, and that the best ones fix to the wall. RoSPA adds side clips into wall brackets, and supervision. In this set only Safetots and Babylo print BS 8423:2010.

Size, weight and refuelling

High

Measure width, hearth depth and stove-door height. Safetots states 84.5–155 cm wide, 69 cm high and 44 cm deep, at 6.2 kg. Babylo states up to 133 cm wide and 5.5 kg, and does not state a height. Spark screens here are about 66–102 cm wide and 54–64 cm high. The Buckton is about 66 × 60 cm. The Kingson arch is 102 × 54 cm, the shortest metal screen, so a tall stove door can sit above it. Kingson black prints 96.5 cm in the title and 95.5 cm on the item line. Keep both.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Toddler at the fire

You need a barrier a toddler cannot walk away with, and you can screw it to the wall. The Safetots Original is the top pick at about £36.90: 4.7 from 1,945 reviews, adjustable 84.5–155 cm, with BS 8423:2010 stated. The listing does not print amendment A2:2022, and the clips are stiff.

Sparks on an open fire

You want a metal screen you put back after refuelling, not a nursery guard. The Fire Vida Milton is the best value at about £23.95: 4.6 from 655 reviews, about 96 × 60 cm, sold for sparks and embers only. Reviews do not agree on how hot the metal gets.

No drilling

If you will not drill, you are limited to a folding screen. That is a spark screen, not a child barrier. The Milton is the best-evidenced screen in this set. A large dog can still shove a light frame such as the Stanton at 1.25 kg.

Common questions about fireplace guards

Which fireplace guard is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Safetots Original at about £36.90. It is a wall-fixed metal barrier, adjustable from 84.5 cm to 155 cm and 69 cm high, and the brand states BS 8423:2010. Across 1,945 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.7. The listing does not print amendment A2:2022. The fixing-plate screws are fiddly and the clips are stiff. The Fire Vida Buckton scores 94 on 193 reviews and is not the top pick. This is not a lab test.
How much does a fireplace guard cost?
These twelve amazon.co.uk listings run from about £10.59 to about £36.90. Mesh covers sit at about £10.59 and £11.99. Most Fire Vida screens and the smaller Kingson sit at about £21.99 to £29.99. The wide Kingson arch and the two wall-fixed guards sit at about £34.99 to £36.90. The Milton at about £23.95 is the best value for sparks and embers. A mesh sheet near £12 is not the same job, so the lowest price is not the value pick.
Is a folding fire screen a nursery guard?
No. A folding screen without a BS 8423 line is a spark screen. GOV.UK says the better childproof guards fix to the wall, and RoSPA describes side clips into wall brackets plus supervision. In this set only the Safetots Original and the Babylo Premier print BS 8423:2010, and neither prints an A1 or A2 amendment. Fire Vida and Kingson screens are freestanding. A £23 screen is not a toddler barrier.
What does BS 8423 cover?
BS 8423:2010+A2:2022 covers domestic fireguards for gas, solid fuel, oil or electricity, including stoves. The scope is access, burns, and material touching the fire or a hot surface. It excludes flying particles and names BS 3248 for those. BS 3248:1986 is the freestanding sparkguard specification, and none of these listings cites it. HETAS’s trade list still shows the earlier A1:2016 text, so a line that only says 2010 has not shown the 2022 amendment.
Are the cheap mesh covers spark guards?
No. The JINGEGECOME sheet is 100 × 80 cm and 50 g at about £11.99, fixed with tape and Velcro. One UK review calls it a limited measure with no real strength. The CLKUEH sheet is 97 g plastic at about £10.59, with one review at 1.0, and the bullets also mention flies and bugs. Neither file states a British Standard. Use them only on a cold opening, not in front of a lit fire.
When should I call a professional?
Call a competent person if the stove or flue is unsigned, if you smell flue gases, or if the fixing would drill a flue breast. The stove, flue and hearth are not a job for one of these guards. In a chimney fire, get out and call 999. A gap of about 30 cm between guard and stove is a retailer rule of thumb, not a figure from these listings.
What size fireplace guard do I need?
Measure the opening width, the hearth depth and the stove-door height. Safetots states 84.5–155 cm wide, 69 cm high and 44 cm deep. Babylo states up to 133 cm wide and does not state a height. Spark screens here are about 66–102 cm wide and 54–64 cm high. The Kingson black guard prints both 96.5 cm and 95.5 cm, so keep both and measure the opening. A 60 cm screen will not cover a tall stove door.
Does the appliance change which guard I need?
Yes. An open fire that you leave unattended is the spark-screen case: put the screen back after you refuel. A hot stove door, with a child or a pet, is the wall-fixed case, once you have checked the size and the clips. Babylo reviews say a pictured front door is not in the box. How an open fire differs from a stove is in open fire or a wood-burning stove. A folding screen is still not childproof.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Safetots Original at about £36.90. It is a wall-fixed metal barrier, adjustable from 84.5 cm to 155 cm and 69 cm high, with BS 8423:2010 stated, and 4.7 from 1,945 amazon.co.uk reviews. The file does not print amendment A2:2022. Fixing-plate screws are fiddly and the clips are stiff to release. The best value is the Fire Vida Milton at about £23.95: an arched spark screen, 4.6 from 655 reviews, for sparks and embers only. It is not a nursery guard. A mesh sheet near £11 is a different job.

Best overall
Safetots Original fireguard

Safetots Original fireguard

Top pick on the score rule: 4.7 from 1,945 reviews, wall-fixed, BS 8423:2010 stated, at about £36.90.

View offer
Best value
Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen

Fire Vida Milton arched fire screen

Score 92 at about £23.95, 4.6 from 655 reviews, for sparks and embers only. The cheaper mesh sheets are a different job.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Fireplaces and stovesFireplace guardsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to fireplace guards

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts were taken from the listings on 19 October 2026.

  1. GOV.UK, Fire safety for parents and child carers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. BS 8423:2010+A2:2022 scope (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. BSI catalogue, domestic fireguards (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. BS 3248:1986, freestanding sparkguards (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. RoSPA, Keeping kids safe: fires (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Scottish Fire and Rescue, chimney safety (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue, open fires (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. HETAS, standards list (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.