Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Smoke alarm comparison 2026

The best smoke alarms, compared.

Top pick: TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack Best value: STATUS 9 V – Highest listing-and-price score, at about £6.97 with 1,231 reviews, and the listing names no BS EN 14604. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A smoke alarm senses smoke and sounds a local warning. On amazon.co.uk the usual buy is a battery optical unit you screw to a ceiling. Optical sensing is what UK fire-safety bodies prefer there. A kitchen needs a heat alarm, and a phone alert is not a siren on another floor. Early-failure reviews are why its hall score is 25 out of 30, not 30. English landlords may use a battery alarm on each living storey. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland ask for more. How those checks sit in order is in the [smoke alarm buying guide](/hub/fire-protection/smoke-alarm/sub/smoke-alarm-buying-guide). Shoppers here are owner-occupiers covering a hall, and landlords whose duty depends on the nation. Judge a unit by a BS EN 14604 claim, a sealed long-life battery where batteries are allowed, a test button, and a replace-by date.

A smoke alarm senses smoke and sounds a local warning. On amazon.co.uk the usual buy is a battery optical unit you screw to a ceiling. Optical sensing is what UK fire-safety bodies prefer there.

TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack

Best overall

TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack
7.8/10∼ £13

42 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

12 of 12: Best smoke alarms compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack
WISUALARM DHI-HY-SA20A
ELRO FS1801 4-pack
X-Sense SD11
BLACK+DECKER
XUK Wi-Fi smoke alarm
Best value
STATUS 9 V
WISUALARM S01
FireAngel FA6620
FireAngel FA6620 2-pack
ELRO FS4610
Heiman mini
7.8/10
7.6/10
7.4/10
8.7/10
7.7/10
5.4/10
7.1/10
7.7/10
9.3/10
8.6/10
7.5/10
6.1/10
∼ £13
∼ £9
∼ £31
∼ £12
∼ £7
∼ £22
∼ £7
∼ £7
∼ £12
∼ £25
∼ £22
∼ £16
4.6(1,228)
4.6(401)
4.5(7,232)
4.5(7,170)
4.5(78)
4.5(13)
4.4(1,231)
4.4(272)
4.3(8,044)
4.3(4,864)
4.2(987)
3.9(15)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best smoke alarms in detail

TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack

Rank 1

TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack

∼£13

Our view

The TEFLERON TSS913A is a two-pack of photoelectric alarms at £12.74, rated 4.6 from 1,228 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title pairs a ten-year life with a five-year replaceable battery, while a spec line also says the battery average life is ten years, so the page does not give you one life figure. It claims EN 14604, 85 dB, a silence button and a self-check every 33 seconds, and the title names a kitchen, a caravan and an office. UK reviewers often call the screw fit straightforward and treat the pair as good value. One unit from a June 2025 pair later alarmed permanently after a new battery and cleaning, and that buyer could not reach the seller, while other reviews describe a heat-linked nuisance alarm and a night alarm with no smoke in sight. Warranty is not stated, and adhesive pads are not supplied. Use the pair when you want two optical alarms near £6.40 each and you will not follow the kitchen wording in the title.

Pros

  • Two alarms for £12.74
  • 4.6 from 1,228 reviews
  • EN 14604, 85 dB and a silence button
  • Replaceable battery, so a dead cell is not a new alarm

Cons

  • Ten-year and five-year lines disagree on the same listing
  • Title names a kitchen
  • No warranty stated, and one buyer could not reach the seller
  • Screws only; no pads in the box

Best for: You want two optical alarms for halls or bedrooms and you will replace the battery.

Less suitable: A kitchen over a hob, or a buyer who needs one agreed battery-life figure on the page.

Specifications

Model
TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack
Brand
TEFLERON
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,228)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
5 years
Replaceable battery
Ja
Standard
EN 14604
Sound
85 dB
Test or hush
Silence button
Pack size
2-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone

Common questions

Is the 10-year line a sealed battery?

No. The bullets say a 10-year sensor life and a replaceable 5-year battery. The spec line also says a 10-year battery average life.

Does the listing include a silence button?

Yes. It describes a test/silence button for cooking steam, and an 85 dB sounder with a red LED.

How do you fit the pair?

Screws and mounting brackets. A stick pad is not listed. One review used double-sided tape instead.

WISUALARM DHI-HY-SA20A

Rank 2

WISUALARM DHI-HY-SA20A

Our view

The WISUALARM DHI-HY-SA20A is a photoelectric alarm at £8.94 with 4.6 from 401 reviews. The bullets describe a sealed ten-year battery, while the included-components line also lists a battery, so you cannot tell from the page whether the cell is truly sealed. It claims EN 14604, a TÜV certificate in the title, 85 dB, and a test/silence button that the bullets say can be muted from a TV or air-conditioner remote, which is not in the box. UK reviewers like the sticker option and the light weight of 110 g, and one high-ceiling sticker had held for about three months. Against that ten-year line, one July 2026 order was already making a low-battery style noise, another beeped after about five weeks, and one return was simply because it felt too small. Warranty and UKCA are not stated. Treat it as a low-priced sealed-style alarm only if an early chirp means you replace the unit, and if you check which battery story is in the box.

Pros

  • £8.94 with 4.6 from 401 reviews
  • EN 14604 and 85 dB stated
  • Sticker or screws
  • Silence button

Cons

  • Sealed claim and a battery in the included line
  • Chirps within weeks in UK reviews
  • Remote mute is claimed; the remote is not included
  • No warranty stated

Best for: You want a light alarm near £9 and you will screw or stick it where a fall is obvious.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs one battery story on the listing, or a ten-year life you can already see in reviews.

Specifications

Model
WISUALARM DHI-HY-SA20A
Brand
WISUALARM
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(401)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable battery
Nein
Standard
EN 14604
Sound
85 dB
Test or hush
Silence button
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Sticker or screws
Linking
Standalone

Common questions

Is the battery sealed?

The bullets say a sealed 10-year battery. The included list also names a battery. Reviews include a low-battery noise within weeks.

Can you stick it up?

Yes. An adhesive sticker is included, and so is a screw pack.

How loud is the claim?

85 dB. The listing also claims a test/silence button.

ELRO FS1801 4-pack

Rank 3

ELRO FS1801 4-pack

∼£31

Our view

The ELRO FS1801 four-pack is listed at £31.15 with 4.5 from 7,232 reviews, which is about £7.79 an alarm if all four work. The bullets say ten-year protection and also say the battery lasts one year and is replaceable; reviews identify a 9 V cell, which the spec table does not name. UK buyers like having four compact alarms, batteries that arrive wrapped rather than connected, and a loud test for the size. The complaint pattern is a pack problem: three of four false-alarmed after about a year even after a battery change, another set beeped within about three months on new batteries, and one of four was dead on arrival in a separate review. The twist onto the base is called fiddly, the base plate feels flimsy to some, and a tiny red flash annoys light-sensitive sleepers. One buyer expected magnets and received screws. The two-year warranty is short beside the five-year and ten-year lines elsewhere in this set. It suits a house that needs four cheap optical alarms and a diary reminder for the 9 V cell, and it is a poor match if you read “ten-year protection” as a sealed battery.

Pros

  • Four alarms for £31.15
  • 4.5 from 7,232 reviews
  • 9 V cells included, often not pre-connected
  • Low-battery warning stated

Cons

  • “Ten-year protection” is a replaceable one-year cell
  • False alarms across a pack that a new battery did not stop
  • Fiddly twist base and a flimsy plate in reviews
  • Two-year warranty

Best for: You need four optical alarms and you will change the 9 V cells.

Less suitable: Anyone who wanted a sealed ten-year battery, or a magnetic mount.

Specifications

Model
ELRO FS1801 4-pack
Brand
ELRO
Price
∼£31
Customer rating
4.5/5(7,232)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
1 year
Replaceable battery
Ja
Standard
EN 14604
Test or hush
Test button
Pack size
4-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone
Warranty
2 years

Common questions

Does the 10-year protection line mean a sealed battery?

No. The bullets say the battery lasts 1 year and is replaceable, and that you keep the alarm by changing the cell.

Are magnetic pads in the box?

The included list is mounting materials, not magnets. One review expected magnets and received screws.

What warranty is stated?

A 2-year manufacturer warranty.

X-Sense SD11

Rank 4

X-Sense SD11

∼£12

Our view

The X-Sense SD11 is a photoelectric alarm with a non-replaceable 10-year lithium cell, listed at £11.99 with 4.5 from 7,170 reviews. The bullets state 85 dB, a silence button, fault and low-battery reporting, and EN 14604, and the box includes a bracket, two screws and two plugs. UK reviewers praise the screw-and-twist fit and a replace-by date printed on the unit, though one buyer found that date two or three months short of ten years on arrival. Separate reviews report the sealed cell dead at about four years, about two years, and about two and a half years, so the ten-year line is a claim rather than a result you can read off the stars. A test press of about four to five seconds made some buyers think a working unit was faulty. One of two units chirped every minute and the seller had not replied, and the listing does not state UKCA. The SD11 manual says this model is not tested for caravans. Choose it when you want the higher star line and a stated 85 dB at the same sort of shelf price as the FireAngel one-pack.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 7,170 reviews at £11.99
  • 85 dB and a silence button stated
  • Screws, plugs and a bracket in the box
  • Replace-by date printed on the unit

Cons

  • Sealed cell failed inside the ten-year claim in several UK reviews
  • Test needs a hold of about four to five seconds
  • UKCA is not stated on the listing
  • Manual excludes caravans

Best for: You want a sealed optical alarm near £12 with a printed sound level.

Less suitable: A caravan, or a buyer who wants UKCA printed on the amazon.co.uk page.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense SD11
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.5/5(7,170)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable battery
Nein
Standard
EN 14604
Sound
85 dB
Test or hush
Silence button
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone
Warranty
5 years

Common questions

Is the SD11 battery replaceable?

No. The listing describes a built-in non-replaceable lithium battery with a 10-year life claim. Reviews include units that failed at about 2 to 4 years.

How loud is it?

The bullets state an 85-decibel alarm. The spec field says audible.

What is the stated warranty?

60-day money-back guarantee, a 5-year quality warranty, and lifetime technical support.

BLACK+DECKER

Rank 5

BLACK+DECKER

Our view

The BLACK+DECKER BD/BOP is a photoelectric alarm at £6.99 with 4.5 from 78 reviews. The title says “10 Year Life” and the spec says the battery average life is one year on a replaceable 9 V carbon-zinc cell, so the headline and the table describe different jobs. The listing claims BS EN 14604:2005+AC:2008, CE and UKCA, a hush on the test button, a low-battery warning and a three-year warranty. UK reviewers like the screw fit, the included 9 V cell and an expiry-date label. They also report batteries dead on arrival, sticky tape that was not strong enough, a body that is narrower and deeper than older flat discs, and home smoke tests that were slow or that did not react. Seventy-eight reviews is a modest file next to the thousand-review alarms at a similar price. Buy it if you want a named brand, a BS EN line and a cell you can change, and read the one-year battery spec rather than the ten-year title.

Pros

  • £6.99 with BS EN 14604, CE and UKCA
  • Hush on the test button
  • 9 V battery included
  • Three-year warranty

Cons

  • Title says ten years; the spec says one year
  • Flat battery on arrival in one review
  • Weak adhesive in reviews
  • Smoke tests by buyers were slow or failed

Best for: You want a cheap 9 V alarm with BS EN 14604 printed and you will replace the cell yearly.

Less suitable: Anyone who bought it as a sealed ten-year alarm, or a ceiling fixed only with the sticky pad.

Specifications

Model
BLACK+DECKER
Brand
BLACK+DECKER
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.5/5(78)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
1 year
Replaceable battery
Ja
Standard
BS EN 14604
Test or hush
Test and hush
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone
Warranty
3 years

Common questions

Is the 10-year line the battery?

The title says 10 year life. The spec line says battery average life of 1 year, and the cell is a replaceable 9 V carbon-zinc battery.

Does it have a hush control?

Yes. The hush feature is part of the test button, and a low-battery warning is stated.

Which standard is claimed?

BS EN 14604:2005+AC:2008, plus CE and UKCA.

XUK Wi-Fi smoke alarm

Rank 6

XUK Wi-Fi smoke alarm

∼£22

Our view

The XUK PA-437EN is a battery alarm with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, listed at £21.99 with 4.5 from 13 reviews, all of them from the United Kingdom in the saved listing. The highlight claims a ten-year life and a replaceable battery; reviewers describe a 9 V or PP3 cell, including a long-life PP3. Bullets claim photoelectric and ionisation together, 85 dB, and alerts in Tuya or Smart Life, and the listing does not name BS EN 14604 or UKCA. People who already used Smart Life found setup short, and one buyer tested it with smoke and was satisfied. The same small file calls the body bulky, says the app has monitoring but no test control, and includes one buyer who struggled to add the device. Phone alerts are not radio interlink between alarms, and with 13 ratings the 4.5 line can move on a handful of new reviews. It is a garage or workshop extra for someone already in Smart Life or Tuya, not a hall alarm you would pick because a standard is printed on the page.

Pros

  • Wi-Fi alerts in Tuya or Smart Life
  • 85 dB stated
  • Screws, plugs and a battery described in reviews
  • Useful when you are elsewhere in the house

Cons

  • 13 reviews only
  • No BS EN 14604 or UKCA on the listing
  • App has no test button, in one review
  • Bulky body, and the price is £21.99

Best for: You already use Smart Life or Tuya and want a phone alert from a garage or workshop.

Less suitable: A hallway alarm chosen on a printed standard, or a home that must interlink sounders.

Specifications

Model
XUK Wi-Fi smoke alarm
Brand
XUK
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.5/5(13)
Sensor
Photoelectric and ionisation
Battery
Replaceable
Replaceable battery
Ja
Sound
85 dB
Test or hush
Test and mute
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Wi-Fi app

Common questions

Which app does the listing name?

Tuya and Smart Life, on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Reviews describe phone alerts. One review says the app has no test button.

Is a British Standard named?

No. The listing does not state EN 14604 or UKCA.

Does Wi-Fi mean the alarms interlink?

The listing claims phone alerts. It does not say other smoke alarms in the home will sound together.

STATUS 9 V

Rank 7

STATUS 9 V

Our view

The STATUS 9VDCPESA5 is a photoelectric alarm at £6.97, the lowest price in this set, with 4.4 from 1,231 reviews. A 9 V battery is included, the bullets state a test button and a low-battery alert, and the listing does not name BS EN 14604 or UKCA. UK reviewers often finish a screw fit in under half an hour and like the price for a rental, and one buyer uses it in a motorhome. The battery complaints are the reason it is not a sealed-cell substitute: cells dead within about seven months on four of five units, cells that do not last a year, a flat 9 V in the box, and an alarm that worked for a year then sounded with no smoke even after a new battery. One review says it did not ring in a smoke try. The screws are described as thin, with a thread too short for the plugs, and a red flash was bright enough that one buyer painted it and still saw light leak. It is the best value pick here on shelf price and review count, not on a printed standard, and only if you will keep spare 9 V cells.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set at £6.97
  • 4.4 from 1,231 reviews
  • 9 V battery included and a low-battery warning
  • Fast screw fit in UK reviews

Cons

  • No BS EN 14604 or UKCA on the listing
  • 9 V cells that die inside a year in several reviews
  • Thin screws
  • Bright standby flash

Best for: You want the cheapest optical alarm in this set and you will change the 9 V cell.

Less suitable: A Scottish home, a new-build mains requirement, or a buyer who needs a standard named on the page.

Specifications

Model
STATUS 9 V
Brand
STATUS
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,231)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
9 V
Replaceable battery
Ja
Test or hush
Test button
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone

Common questions

Does the listing name BS EN 14604?

No. The listing does not state a British Standard or UKCA mark.

Is the battery sealed for 10 years?

No. It is a replaceable 9 V cell supplied in the box. Reviews include cells that failed within a year.

Does it have a low-battery warning?

Yes. The title and bullets include a low-battery warning and a test button. A hush button is not stated.

WISUALARM S01

Rank 8

WISUALARM S01

Our view

The WISUALARM S01 is a photoelectric alarm at £6.99 with 4.4 from 272 reviews, powered by two replaceable AA cells that the title says should last five years, beside a ten-year lifespan line for the alarm. The listing claims EN 14604 and UKCA, 85 dB, and a test/silence button, and reviews say the AA batteries are in the box. UK buyers like ordinary AA cells instead of a 9 V battery, and they like the pad as an option if they do not want to drill. The test button is described as stiff once the alarm is on the ceiling, the battery cover is hard to close unless the cells go in first, and the instructions did not say that. Random alarms and false low-battery warnings on a new cell appear in the file, and a July 2025 loft install was already not matching the ten-year wording for one buyer. Supplied screws felt too short for someone who rejected the pad. It is a cheap optical alarm with a printed UKCA mark if you will seat the batteries before you close the back, and a weak one if you wanted a sealed cell.

Pros

  • £6.99 with EN 14604 and UKCA
  • Two AA cells rather than a 9 V battery
  • 85 dB and a silence button
  • Pads or screws

Cons

  • Stiff test button on the ceiling
  • Battery cover will not close until the cells are seated
  • False warnings on a new cell
  • Ten-year wording and a five-year battery claim share the title

Best for: You want a cheap optical alarm with a printed UKCA mark and you will change AA cells.

Less suitable: A sealed unit, or a ceiling where a short screw and a doubtful pad are your only fixings.

Specifications

Model
WISUALARM S01
Brand
WISUALARM
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.4/5(272)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
5 years, AA
Replaceable battery
Ja
Standard
EN 14604, UKCA
Sound
85 dB
Test or hush
Silence button
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Sticker or screws
Linking
Standalone

Common questions

Which batteries does it use?

Two replaceable AA cells, with a 5-year claim. The title also says a 10-year lifespan for the alarm.

Does it claim UKCA?

Yes. The title says it conforms to EN14604 and carries UKCA.

How is it fixed?

Adhesive pads and screws are both described. Reviews say the battery cover is awkward until the cells are fitted.

FireAngel FA6620

Rank 9

FireAngel FA6620

∼£12

Our view

The FireAngel FA6620 one-pack is a photoelectric alarm with a sealed lithium cell, listed at £11.98 on amazon.co.uk with 4.3 from 8,044 reviews, and it is number 1 in Smoke Alarms on that capture. The listing claims BS EN 14604:2005+AC:2008 and UKCA, a quiet self-test, and a baseplate the bullets say matches the ST622. UK reviewers often describe a screw-and-twist fit, and some reused an older FireAngel plate, though one report says it did not fit an ST-620. The same file includes separate accounts of the sealed cell failing at about four years, about three years, and under three years, and you cannot swap that cell. A five-year manufacturer warranty is shorter than the ten-year battery line, and one buyer said warranty emails went unanswered after a two-year failure. The listing tells you to avoid bathrooms and kitchens, and one review describes an alarm in a spare room that had fallen below 10 degrees. It is the top pick in this set for a hall or landing in an existing English home if you want the largest UK review file and a stated UKCA mark, with those early-failure reports kept in view.

Pros

  • BS EN 14604 and UKCA on the one-pack listing
  • Quiet test, and no annual battery change
  • £11.98 with 8,044 reviews and Smoke Alarms rank 1 in this capture
  • Some buyers reused an older FireAngel plate

Cons

  • Sealed cell reported dead at about two to four years
  • Did not fit an ST-620 base in one review
  • Five-year warranty, and one unanswered warranty email
  • Listing says avoid kitchens

Best for: You want one sealed optical alarm for a hall or landing and you will replace the whole unit if it chirps early.

Less suitable: A kitchen, a Scottish home that needs interlinked alarms, or a buyer who must keep an ST-620 plate.

Specifications

Model
FireAngel FA6620
Brand
FireAngel
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.3/5(8,044)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable battery
Nein
Standard
BS EN 14604
Test or hush
Quiet test
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone
Warranty
5 years

Common questions

Can you change the battery in the FA6620 one-pack?

No. The listing fits a 10-year sealed battery and includes the alarm complete with that cell. The warranty stated is 5 years.

Does FireAngel say to use this in a kitchen?

No. The bullets say to avoid bathrooms and kitchens because of nuisance alarms.

Will it fit an older FireAngel base?

The bullets say the base plate matches the ST622. One review says it did not fit an ST-620 plate. Another reused an SO-601 plate.

FireAngel FA6620 2-pack

Rank 10

FireAngel FA6620 2-pack

∼£25

Our view

The FireAngel FA6620 two-pack, model FA6620-R-T2, is the same optical family as the one-pack, listed at £25.00 with 4.3 from 4,864 reviews. Each unit has a sealed lithium cell, the listing claims BS EN 14604:2005+AC:2008 plus CE and UKCA, and the warranty is five years. UK reviewers like the twin pack for replacing older FireAngel alarms, and one former firefighter said this is the type they fitted for the public. The failure reports are sharper than a single early death: both units in a July 2024 pair failed after about two years and two months, other reviews cite dead batteries at about four years, 18 months and 15 months, and one buyer says four of eight units failed within about a year. A review found speaker film still covering the sounder hole on one of four units, and several people call the alarm quieter than the one it replaced. The cell is described as spot-welded, so you replace the alarm rather than the battery. Buy the twin when you need two of this model and £25.00 beats two one-packs on the day you order; the two alarms still do not sound together.

Pros

  • Two sealed FA6620 alarms in one order
  • BS EN 14604, CE and UKCA
  • Quiet self-test
  • Five-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Both units in one pair failed after about two years and two months
  • Speaker film left on a sounder hole in one review
  • Quieter than older alarms for some buyers
  • £25.00 and still not interlinked

Best for: You want two FireAngel FA6620 alarms and the twin price beats two singles.

Less suitable: One room only, or a home that needs the alarms to sound together.

Specifications

Model
FireAngel FA6620 2-pack
Brand
FireAngel
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.3/5(4,864)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable battery
Nein
Standard
BS EN 14604
Test or hush
Quiet test
Pack size
2-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone
Warranty
5 years

Common questions

Is this the same listing as the FA6620 one-pack?

No. This ASIN is FA6620-R-T2, a 2-pack at £25.00. The one-pack is a different ASIN.

Can you swap the sealed cells?

The listing says each alarm has a 10-year sealed battery. One review says the cell is spot-welded.

Do the two alarms interlink?

The listing does not say they interlink. They are two standalone optical alarms.

ELRO FS4610

Rank 11

ELRO FS4610

∼£22

Our view

The ELRO FS4610 is a photoelectric alarm 2.3 cm deep, listed at £21.99 with 4.2 from 987 reviews and a ten-year manufacturer warranty on a built-in battery you do not replace. The title also cites DIN EN 14604, a STIWA “Gut” mark and a Q label, and UKCA is not on the page. Only seven of the first 50 reviews in the saved listing are from the United Kingdom, so the 4.2 figure is the whole listing. Those UK notes praise the low profile, a test that was loud enough to wake the reviewer, and a discreet LED. They also say the alarm is not wireless, and one buyer who expected a magnetic mount received screws. At £21.99 it costs more than the FireAngel and X-Sense one-packs in this set. Choose it when 2.3 cm of depth is the point, and skip it if you wanted the alarms to sound together.

Pros

  • 2.3 cm deep
  • Ten-year warranty stated on a sealed cell
  • EN 14604 claimed
  • Discreet LED in UK reviews

Cons

  • £21.99, above the other sealed one-packs here
  • Not interconnectable
  • Screws, where one buyer expected magnets
  • Only seven UK reviews in the first 50

Best for: You want a slim sealed alarm and you accept the higher price.

Less suitable: A linked system, or a buyer judging it on a large UK review sample.

Specifications

Model
ELRO FS4610
Brand
ELRO
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
4.2/5(987)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable battery
Nein
Standard
EN 14604
Test or hush
Test button
Pack size
1-pack
Mounting
Screws
Linking
Standalone
Warranty
10 years

Common questions

How thick is the FS4610?

The listing says 2.3 cm and calls it an ultra-slim detector. Dimensions are 11.5 × 11.5 × 2.3 cm.

Does it interlink?

No. A UK review says it is not wireless and cannot be interconnected. The listing does not claim interlink.

Does the box include a magnetic mount?

The included list is mounting material. A UK review expected magnets and received screws.

Heiman mini

Rank 12

Heiman mini

∼£16

Our view

The Heiman HM-HK-HS1SA is a mini photoelectric alarm at £15.99 with 3.9 from 15 reviews, and all 12 written reviews in the saved listing are from the United Kingdom. The bullets claim up to ten years on a 3 V lithium cell, plus UKCA, EN 14604 and LPCB, and the title calls it independent. Reviewers like the size, which the listing says is up to 62 percent smaller than a traditional alarm, and they describe a loud test in a small room. The mounting story splits: reviews mention screws and a sticker, while the included-components line lists the alarm and a battery only. One sticker on a smooth ceiling lasted about ten hours before the alarm fell, and one buyer says the unit does not lock firmly onto the base. A review title calls it wireless, which the product title contradicts. Fifteen ratings are too few to treat 3.9 as a stable score, and warranty is not stated. It is a size experiment for a small room if you screw it, not a default hall alarm.

Pros

  • Much smaller than a standard disc
  • UKCA, EN 14604 and LPCB named
  • Test and silence stated
  • Easy screw fit in the reviews

Cons

  • 3.9 from 15 reviews
  • Sticker fell after about ten hours
  • Loose lock onto the base in one review
  • Included line does not list the pad reviewers used

Best for: You want a small alarm in a small room and you will screw it.

Less suitable: A ceiling you will not drill, or anyone choosing on a large review file.

Specifications

Model
Heiman mini
Brand
Heiman
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.9/5(15)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Battery
10 years
Standard
EN 14604, UKCA, LPCB
Test or hush
Test and silence
Pack size
1-pack
Linking
Standalone

Common questions

How small is it?

The spec line is 6 × 5 × 6 cm and 81.6 g. The bullets claim up to 62 percent smaller than a traditional alarm.

Which marks does the listing name?

UKCA, EN14604, CE, LPCB, RoHS and DBI. That is the bullet text, not a certificate checked here.

Does the included list contain screws?

The included line says the smoke alarm and the battery. Reviews mention screws and a sticker. One sticker failed after about 10 hours.

How we compared

This page compares 12 battery smoke alarms from amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. The score runs from 0 to 100: stars out of 30, the size of the review file out of 25, hall fit out of 30, and listing and price out of 15. The job is a battery optical smoke alarm for a hall or landing. A Wi-Fi extra, a kitchen line in the title, or a ten-year sentence that means a one-year cell does not win on stars alone. There is no lab test.

1

Hall fit

30%

Hall fit scores a photoelectric sensor, a BS EN 14604 or EN 14604 claim, UKCA, a sealed cell with no contradiction, and a quiet test or silence control. It drops if UK reviews describe early failure or false alarms, if the title names a kitchen, or if a ten-year line clashes with a one-year cell.

2

Stars

30%

The amazon.co.uk star rating is mapped to 30 points. A 4.6 becomes 28 and a 4.5 becomes 27. Stars are one part of the score, not the rank on their own.

3

Review sample

25%

Larger amazon.co.uk review files score higher. A file of 5,000 or more scores 25. Under 30 reviews scores 6. The listing count on the 19 October 2026 capture is used.

4

Listing and price

15%

The lowest shelf price with 1,000 or more reviews scores 15. That is why the STATUS 9 V, at about £6.97 with 1,231 reviews, is the best value. The award is the price part, not a standards claim.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Smoke alarm buying guide

Judge a smoke alarm by the room, an optical sensor, a battery that matches the nation, and a BS EN 14604 claim. Stars come after that. The notes below are the same checks used to score the 12 amazon.co.uk listings on this page. There is no lab result behind them.

What is a smoke alarm?

A smoke alarm is a self-contained detector that senses smoke and sounds a local warning. On amazon.co.uk the usual buy is a battery optical unit you screw to a ceiling. Shoppers here are owner-occupiers covering a hall, and landlords whose duty depends on the nation. Judge a unit by a BS EN 14604 claim, a sealed long-life battery where batteries are allowed, a test button, and a replace-by date. Optical sensing is what UK fire-safety bodies prefer in halls.

Best for

  • An existing English home that needs one sealed optical alarm in a hall or landing
  • A buyer who will change a 9 V cell and wants the lowest price in this set
  • Someone who already uses Smart Life or Tuya and wants a phone alert from a garage

Not ideal for

  • A kitchen or a bathroom
  • A Scottish home, or a Welsh rented home, that needs interlinked or mains alarms
  • Anyone who reads a ten-year headline as a sealed cell when the spec says one year

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A smoke alarm in the kitchen

    Steam and cooking cause nuisance alarms. London Fire Brigade keeps smoke alarms out of kitchens and bathrooms. A kitchen needs a heat alarm. A title that says kitchen does not change the sensor.

  2. 2

    Reading ten-year protection as a sealed cell

    The ELRO FS1801 four-pack says ten-year protection and also says the battery lasts one year and is replaceable. The BLACK+DECKER title says ten-year life and the spec says a one-year 9 V cell. Read the battery line, not only the headline.

  3. 3

    Using the English rule in Scotland or Wales

    A battery alarm can meet the English landlord duty and still fail a Welsh mains duty or a Scottish interlinked layout. This set has no mains alarm and no radio interlink. Call an electrician for those jobs.

What to weigh up

Sensor and power

High

Photoelectric, or optical, sensing is what UK fire-safety bodies prefer in halls, landings and living rooms. Do not buy a smoke alarm for the kitchen. A kitchen needs a heat alarm. Only the XUK PA-437EN claims photoelectric and ionisation together, and it does not name BS EN 14604. Every other alarm here is photoelectric. GOV.UK and Fire Kills prefer a ten-year sealed battery over a one-year cell, where a battery alarm is allowed.

Nation, marks and fixing

High

Start with nation and tenure. English landlords may use a battery alarm on each living storey. A new English dwelling is guided to mains alarms: Grade D2, Category LD3, BS EN 14604. Scotland wants interlinked ceiling alarms and a kitchen heat alarm, and sealed long-life lithium batteries are allowed. User-replaceable cells are not that route. Many Welsh rented homes need a mains interlinked alarm on each storey. Northern Ireland private tenancies need interlinked smoke and heat alarms.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A hall or landing

You want one sealed optical alarm for an existing English home, with BS EN 14604 and UKCA on the listing. The FireAngel FA6620 one-pack is the top pick at about £11.98. Early-failure reviews mean you replace the whole unit if it chirps inside the ten-year claim.

Our recommendation

View offer

The lowest shelf price

You want the cheapest optical alarm in this set and you will keep spare 9 V cells. The STATUS 9 V is the best value at about £6.97, with 4.4 from 1,231 reviews. The listing does not name BS EN 14604 or UKCA, so the award is the price.

Our recommendation

View offer

A phone alert in a garage

You already use Smart Life or Tuya and you want a phone alert from a garage or workshop. The XUK PA-437EN claims 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi at about £21.99, from 13 reviews. It does not name BS EN 14604, and a phone alert is not interlinked sounders.

Common questions about smoke alarms

Which smoke alarm is the top pick in 2026?
The FireAngel FA6620 one-pack is the top pick in this set. It is a sealed optical alarm that claims BS EN 14604 and UKCA, listed at about £11.98 with 4.3 from 8,044 reviews on 19 October 2026. Early-failure reviews are why hall fit is 25 out of 30, not 30. The ten-year line is a claim, not a measured life. This page is not a lab test.
How much does a smoke alarm cost?
On the 19 October 2026 amazon.co.uk capture, these 12 alarms run from about £6.97 to about £31.15. The STATUS 9 V is about £6.97. The FireAngel FA6620 one-pack is about £11.98 and the X-Sense SD11 is about £11.99. The ELRO FS4610 and the XUK Wi-Fi alarm are about £21.99. The FireAngel twin is about £25, and the ELRO four-pack is about £31.15. These figures are that capture, not today's shelf price.
What should you check before you buy a smoke alarm?
Check the room, the sensor, the battery and the mark before the star rating. Use an optical alarm in a hall, landing or living room, and do not use a smoke alarm in the kitchen. Prefer a BS EN 14604 claim, and a sealed cell where a battery alarm is allowed. A ten-year sentence on a listing that also says the cell lasts one year is not a sealed battery. An amazon.co.uk bullet is a claim, not a certificate.
Can you fit a smoke alarm in the kitchen?
No. UK fire-safety guidance keeps smoke alarms out of kitchens and bathrooms, because steam and cooking cause nuisance alarms. A kitchen needs a heat alarm. Several titles in this set still say kitchen, including the TEFLERON two-pack. That wording does not make the unit a heat alarm. Heat alarms are a separate comparison: the heat detector comparison.
Is a sealed battery better than a 9 V cell?
GOV.UK and Fire Kills prefer a ten-year sealed battery over a one-year cell, where a battery alarm is allowed. You still test a sealed unit, and you replace the whole alarm if it fails or reaches its date. FireAngel and X-Sense reviews include sealed cells that failed at about two to four years. That is a complaint pattern, not a rate. A cheap 9 V alarm can cost less on the day, and you will keep spare cells.
Do English landlord rules apply in Scotland and Wales?
No. English landlords may use a battery alarm on each living storey. Scotland wants interlinked ceiling alarms and a kitchen heat alarm, and user-replaceable cells are not the route in that guidance. Many Welsh rented homes need a mains interlinked alarm on each storey. Northern Ireland private tenancies need interlinked smoke and heat alarms. A battery alarm can meet the English duty and still fail the others. Owner-occupiers in England are outside the landlord duty.
How should you fix and test a smoke alarm?
Screw the alarm to the ceiling. London Fire Brigade warns against glue, and adhesive pads fail. Test with the button: monthly is the Fire Kills line, and weekly is what Scottish Fire and Rescue Service says. A quiet self-test, as on the FireAngel FA6620, is not the full alarm. The test button does not prove the sensor will see smoke. Call an electrician for mains wiring or a Welsh rented interlink.
Does a Wi-Fi smoke alarm replace interlinked alarms?
No. The XUK PA-437EN claims phone alerts in Tuya or Smart Life on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. It does not say the other smoke alarms in the home will sound together. A phone alert is not a siren on another floor. The listing does not name BS EN 14604 or UKCA, and the 19 October 2026 file has 13 reviews. It is a garage or workshop extra if you already use those apps.

Our verdict

The FireAngel FA6620 one-pack leads this set for a sealed optical hall alarm with BS EN 14604, UKCA and the largest review file, at about £11.98 with 4.3 from 8,044 reviews. Early-failure reviews are why hall fit is 25 out of 30, not 30. The STATUS 9 V is the best value because its listing-and-price part is the highest, on the about £6.97 shelf price and 1,231 reviews. That award is not a standards claim. The STATUS listing does not name BS EN 14604.

Best overall
TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack

TEFLERON TSS913A 2-pack

View offer
Best value
STATUS 9 V

STATUS 9 V

Highest listing-and-price score, at about £6.97 with 1,231 reviews, and the listing names no BS EN 14604.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsPublic UK sources

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to smoke alarms

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources, last checked on 19 October 2026.

  1. GOV.UK smoke and carbon monoxide alarm Q&A for landlords (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. The Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm (England) Regulations 2015, regulation 4 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Approved Document B fire safety frequently asked questions (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Scottish Government fire and smoke alarms in Scottish homes (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Renting Homes (Fitness for Human Habitation) (Wales) Regulations 2022, regulation 5 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. The Smoke, Heat and Carbon Monoxide Alarms for Private Tenancies Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2024 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. London Fire Brigade smoke alarms and heat alarms (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. GOV.UK fire safety in the home (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the 19 October 2026 listings. We did not run a lab test.