Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Mini smoke alarm comparison 2026

The best mini smoke alarms, compared.

Top pick: X-Sense XS01-M Best value: Wisualarm S05-A – EN 14604, UKCA and 85 dB within 3 metres at about £11.99, with 4.3 from 1,255 ratings. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

You might buy one for a bedroom, a rental, a caravan, or a ceiling where a large disc looks wrong. Look for optical sensing, a stated BS EN 14604 claim, a sealed long-life cell, and screws rather than a magnet as the only fixing. A matching mark, a test button, and about 85 dB where the listing states it separate the stronger pages from a cheap extra. It is the wrong only-alarm where your nation requires mains power or interlinked alarms. The checks behind those two are in the [mini smoke alarm buying guide](/hub/fire-protection/mini-smoke-alarm/sub/mini-smoke-alarm-buying-guide). It is not a heat alarm, and it does not detect carbon monoxide. A lone battery mini can be the smoke alarm an English landlord fits on a storey of living accommodation. A mini smoke alarm is a battery smoke detector with a much smaller body than a standard ceiling disc.

You might buy one for a bedroom, a rental, a caravan, or a ceiling where a large disc looks wrong.

X-Sense XS01-M

Best overall

X-Sense XS01-M
7.3/10∼ £20

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

11 of 11: Best mini smoke alarms compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
X-Sense XS01-M
X-Sense XS01 screw mount
Heiman HS1SA 1-pack
Heiman HS1SA 5-pack
X-Sense XS01 magnetic
Yezala KD-133A
Daytech AJ-771 2-pack
Best value
Wisualarm S05-A
Spreadtron ZR170S 3-pack
Secair ZR170S
Heiman HS1SA (HM-HK-HS1SA)
7.3/10
7.5/10
8.8/10
6.8/10
8.2/10
4.5/10
6.9/10
8.4/10
5.8/10
5.9/10
6.2/10
∼ £20
∼ £17
∼ £20
∼ £66
∼ £17
∼ £6
∼ £17
∼ £12
∼ £30
∼ £14
∼ £16
4.7(683)
4.6(207)
4.5(5,187)
4.5(5,187)
4.5(409)
4.5(80)
4.5(45)
4.3(1,255)
4.2(201)
4.2(16)
3.9(15)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best mini smoke alarms in detail

X-Sense XS01-M

Rank 1

X-Sense XS01-M

∼£20

Our view

The X-Sense XS01-M is a photoelectric Wi-Fi smoke alarm at £19.54 that the title says requires the SBS50 base station, and the included line is the alarm, a bracket, two screws, two plugs and a manual. EN 14604 is on the highlight and a bullet states 85 dB on the alarm, while a separate 100 dB figure belongs to the base, not to this unit, and the app is 2.4 GHz only. The star line is the highest here, 4.7 from 683, with 16 of 50 reviews in the file from the United Kingdom. Reviewers who already own the base praise app alerts and say the sirens can still sound if the internet drops. The battery life is not on the specification table. One UK buyer did not realise a hub was required, and another used the alarm standalone with a cell they supplied themselves. One reviewer mentions a paid phone call of about £10 a year, and that fee is not in the listing bullets. Buy it only when the SBS50 is already on the wall or in the same basket, because the £19.54 price is the sensor, not a finished linked system.

Pros

  • EN 14604 and 85 dB stated on the alarm
  • App alerts once it is paired to an SBS50 on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
  • 4.7 from 683 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Screws, plugs and a bracket are in the box

Cons

  • SBS50 base is not included
  • Battery life is not on the specification table
  • Only 16 of 50 reviews in the file are from the UK
  • A phone-alert fee mentioned by one reviewer is not in the bullets

Best for: You already have an SBS50, or you will buy one, and you want this sensor on a 2.4 GHz home network.

Less suitable: You want one box to be a working alarm with no extra hub, or you only have 5 GHz Wi-Fi.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS01-M
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.7/5(683)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604
Sound
85 dB
Mount
Screws and bracket
Hush
Ja
Linking
Needs SBS50
Pack
1

Common questions

Is the base station in the box?

No. The title says it requires SBS50. Included components are the alarm, bracket, screws, plugs and a manual.

Which Wi-Fi does the app use?

2.4 GHz. The bullets say it is not compatible with 5 GHz.

Can it detect carbon monoxide?

This unit is a smoke alarm. The listing names a separate carbon monoxide detector, XC01-M, as another device that can join the same base.

X-Sense XS01 screw mount

Rank 2

X-Sense XS01 screw mount

∼£17

Our view

This X-Sense XS01 is the £16.99 screw-mount twin of the magnetic listing: photoelectric, EN 14604 on the highlight, a built-in lithium cell with a 10-year claim, and a bracket with screws and anchor plugs in the bullets. It states the same limit as the magnetic page, no SBS50, no interconnect and no app. The star line is 4.6 from 207, which looks stronger than the magnetic ASIN, yet only 5 of the 50 reviews in the saved listing are from the United Kingdom, so most of the written praise is not a UK sample. This file’s bullets do not give a decibel figure, unlike the magnetic XS01 at the same £16.99 shelf price. The included-components line says one smoke alarm, while the bullets describe the bracket and screws. UK comments that are in the file mention steam sensitivity and a sealed cell that failed and could not be replaced. One UK review describes remote monitoring, which this listing says the alarm cannot do. Choose it when you want screws as the only mount and you accept a thin UK review slice and no printed sound level on this page.

Pros

  • EN 14604 on the highlight, photoelectric sensor
  • Bracket, screws and plugs described, with no magnetic pad on this listing
  • Explicitly no app and no SBS50
  • 4.6 from 207 amazon.co.uk ratings

Cons

  • Decibels are not stated on this listing
  • Only 5 of 50 reviews in the file are from the UK
  • A UK review says the sealed cell failed and could not be replaced
  • Included line omits the screws the bullets mention

Best for: You want a standalone XS01 fixed with screws and you do not need a magnetic pad or an app.

Less suitable: You want the 85 dB line printed on the page, a large UK review sample, or a cell you can change yourself.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS01 screw mount
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(207)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Mount
Screws
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
78 mm

Common questions

Is this the magnetic XS01?

No. This listing does not include a magnetic pad. It describes a bracket, screws and anchor plugs, and says there is no SBS50 and no app.

Is 85 dB stated here?

No. This file's bullets do not give a decibel figure.

What do the UK reviews in the file say?

Five of 50 reviews are from the UK. They mention steam sensitivity, a failed sealed cell that could not be replaced, and one review that describes remote monitoring this listing says the alarm cannot do.

Heiman HS1SA 1-pack

Rank 3

Heiman HS1SA 1-pack

∼£20

Our view

The Heiman HS1SA one-pack is the sealed photoelectric mini in this set with the fullest standard line and the largest amazon.co.uk review base: £19.99, 4.5 from 5,187 ratings, and bullets that name EN 14604, UKCA and LPCB. The listing includes a bracket, screws and dowels, and the body is about 6 cm across at 67 g. UK reviewers often call the test beep loud and the unit small enough for a ceiling a full-size disc would dominate, including in a campervan. The page does not state a decibel figure, so that loudness is a review description rather than a printed 85 dB claim. The same UK file repeatedly reports a chirp well inside the 10-year line, within months of a February 2025 order, at about a year, at 13 months and at 3 years, and names an EVE CR17335 cell that was hard to buy. Random night alarms also appear, including in a child’s room about a month after fitting. It is the top pick when you want a standalone optical mini with screws in the box and a named LPCB line, and you will replace the unit if it chirps rather than treat ten years as guaranteed.

Pros

  • EN 14604, UKCA and LPCB named on the listing
  • Bracket, screws and dowels on the included line
  • 4.5 from 5,187 amazon.co.uk ratings, with 50 UK reviews in the file
  • About 6 × 6 × 4.9 cm and 67 g

Cons

  • No decibel figure on the listing
  • UK reviews name chirps at months, about a year, 13 months and 3 years
  • Random alarms, including at night, appear in the same file
  • One UK review says no production date is printed

Best for: You want a small standalone photoelectric alarm for a hall or bedroom you can screw to the ceiling, where a battery smoke alarm is allowed.

Less suitable: You need a printed 85 dB figure, a kitchen heat alarm, an interlinked system, or a cell you can swap when it chirps.

Specifications

Model
Heiman HS1SA 1-pack
Brand
Heiman
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.5/5(5,187)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604, UKCA, LPCB
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Mount
Screws and bracket
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
60 mm

Common questions

Does the listing state decibels?

No. UK reviews call it loud, including from sleep, without a decibel figure on the page.

Is the 10-year cell what UK reviews describe?

The listing says 10 years. UK reviews name beeping within months of a February 2025 order, at about a year, at 13 months, and at 3 years, and name an EVE CR17335 cell that was hard to buy.

Does it link to other alarms?

No. The listing presents it as an independent alarm.

Heiman HS1SA 5-pack

Rank 4

Heiman HS1SA 5-pack

∼£66

Our view

The Heiman HS1SA five-pack is £65.99 for five photoelectric alarms, about £13.20 each if you fit all five, with EN 14604 and LPCB named and a 3V lithium cell on a 10-year claim. UKCA is not in this file’s bullets, unlike the one-pack page, and the included line says batteries while UK reviews describe a sticky pad and also screws. The printed rating is 4.5 from 5,187, the same count and the same DIY rank as the one-pack ASIN in this set, and several review titles match that file. The complaints match too: an EVE CR17335 cell that was hard to replace, random alarms after about a year, and a night alarm about a month after fitting in a child’s room. There is still no decibel figure. Buy the five-pack only when you need five of this body and you have already accepted the one-pack’s battery stories, because it is not five times the evidence.

Pros

  • Five HS1SA alarms at £65.99
  • EN 14604 and LPCB named
  • Photoelectric sensor and a 10-year lithium claim
  • Reviewers describe the body as small and loud on the test button

Cons

  • The 5,187 rating count matches the one-pack ASIN
  • UKCA is not in this file’s bullets
  • Included line does not name screws or a pad
  • UK reviews repeat early battery failure and random alarms

Best for: You are fitting several rooms with the same small Heiman body and you already know the one-pack’s limits.

Less suitable: You want a fresh review count for this ASIN, a printed decibel figure, or screws named on the included line.

Specifications

Model
Heiman HS1SA 5-pack
Brand
Heiman
Price
∼£66
Customer rating
4.5/5(5,187)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604, LPCB
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
5

Common questions

Why is the review count the same as the 1-pack?

This file prints 4.5 from 5,187 and the same DIY rank as ASIN B07JB7KBPY. Those figures are copied as printed, not adjusted.

What fixing is listed?

The included line says batteries. UK reviews describe a sticky pad and also screws.

Does it detect carbon monoxide?

No. Nothing in the listing says it does.

X-Sense XS01 magnetic

Rank 5

X-Sense XS01 magnetic

∼£17

Our view

This X-Sense XS01 is the £16.99 standalone mini with a magnetic pad and screws in the same box, a photoelectric sensor, EN 14604 on the highlight, 85 dB, and a built-in lithium cell with a 10-year claim. The listing says it is not compatible with the SBS50 base and has no interconnect and no app, which is the point if you want a ceiling alarm rather than a Wi-Fi kit. UK reviewers, 50 of them in a 4.5 from 409 line, often call the magnet strong and the test beep loud, and several praise a date printed on the unit so the replacement year is visible. The bullets tell you to use the pad above 15 °C, warm the surface for one to three minutes, then press for 30 seconds. At least one UK review says the adhesive was not sticky enough, and one review says the unit did not work. The page also prints two sizes, 78 × 48 mm and 4.8 × 7.8 × 7.8 cm, so measure the ceiling spot against the unit you receive. Buyers who wanted phone alerts report ordering this model by mistake instead of the linked XS01-M.

Pros

  • EN 14604 and 85 dB stated, photoelectric sensor
  • Magnetic pad and screws both in the box
  • Listing says no SBS50, no interconnect and no app
  • 4.5 from 409 amazon.co.uk ratings, with a date on the unit praised in reviews

Cons

  • Pad instructions require a surface above 15 °C
  • At least one UK review says the adhesive was not sticky enough
  • Listing prints two different size lines
  • Easy to order when you actually wanted the linked XS01-M

Best for: You want a standalone XS01 with a printed 85 dB figure and screws as a backup to the magnet.

Less suitable: You need phone alerts, a cold ceiling where a pad will not hold, or one size figure you can trust before the parcel arrives.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS01 magnetic
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.5/5(409)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Sound
85 dB
Mount
Magnet or screws
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
78 mm

Common questions

Does this XS01 link to the SBS50 base?

No. The listing says it is not compatible with SBS50 and has no interconnect and no app.

How should the magnetic pad be used?

The bullets say environments above 15 °C, warm the surface for 1–3 minutes, then press for 30 seconds. Screws are also in the box.

What do UK reviews say about the pad?

Many call the magnet easy and strong. At least one says the adhesive pads were not sticky enough.

Yezala KD-133A

Rank 6

Yezala KD-133A

Our view

The Yezala KD-133A is the £5.99 optical alarm in this set, with 80 dB in the title, a silence button and LED in the bullets, and a fixing kit rather than a sealed 10-year cell. The specification table does not name the batteries. UK reviews say it takes three AAA cells, and 40 UK reviews sit under a 4.5 from 80 line. Several owners call it easy to fit in a camper van or a garage, and some like AAA cells instead of a 9V block. The same file includes a review that says the alarm went off on its own with new batteries, failed a smoke test and sounded very quiet, and another unit did not work at all. The plastic is called flimsy, the battery cover is the piece one reviewer had to screw to the wall, and the listing dimensions of 100 × 10 × 100 mm read like a flat plate rather than the 52 mm pucks elsewhere. EN 14604 is not in the title or the bullets. At this price it is a basic extra with cells you can change, not the alarm to use where you need a stated smoke-alarm standard and a sealed cell.

Pros

  • £5.99 with an optical sensor and 80 dB in the title
  • Silence button and LED in the bullets
  • Fixing kit, described in reviews as screws or a sticky pad
  • 4.5 from 80 amazon.co.uk ratings, and AAA cells you can replace

Cons

  • No EN 14604 line on the listing
  • UK reviews say three replaceable AAA cells, not a sealed 10-year cell
  • One UK review says it missed a smoke test and was quiet
  • One UK review reports alarms with new batteries, and another a dead unit

Best for: You want a cheap extra optical alarm with cells you can buy in a shop, and a stated standard is not your requirement.

Less suitable: You need EN 14604 on the listing, a sealed cell, or an alarm a UK review has not already failed on a smoke test.

Specifications

Model
Yezala KD-133A
Brand
Yezala
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.5/5(80)
Sensor
Optical
Battery
3 AAA cells
Sound
80 dB
Mount
Screws or pad
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
100 mm

Common questions

Does the listing name BS EN 14604?

No. The title and bullets do not name EN 14604.

What batteries does it use?

The spec table does not say. UK reviews say three AAA cells, not a sealed 10-year cell.

How is it fixed?

The title says a fixing kit. UK reviews describe a bracket that can be screwed on or stuck with a pad.

Daytech AJ-771 2-pack

Rank 7

Daytech AJ-771 2-pack

∼£17

Our view

The Daytech AJ-771 is a two-pack at £16.99, so each alarm is about £8.50 if both stay in service, and the listing weight of 310 g is the figure printed for this two-pack line. The title names home, caravan and office, and the bullets claim TÜV certification to EN 14604, 85 dB, a 10-year lithium cell, a silence button and either a magnetic pad or a screw kit. The bullets do not call the sensor photoelectric or optical, which is the gap next to the Heiman and X-Sense pages that do. The listing’s included line is screws and nuts, while the bullets also describe the magnetic pad. UK reviewers, 37 of them under a 4.5 from 45 line, often praise a loud test beep and a no-drill magnet in a loft, hallway or home office. One of two units beeped every minute after about three months, and that buyer could not find the model on the Daytech site once Amazon’s window had passed. Another review says there is no intermittent light to show the alarm is working, which cuts against the LED claim. Use the pair as extra alarms when the sensor wording is acceptable to you, and screw them if the magnet is only a convenience.

Pros

  • Two alarms at £16.99, with 85 dB stated
  • TÜV to EN 14604 claimed on the bullets
  • Magnetic pad or a screw kit
  • 4.5 from 45 amazon.co.uk ratings, 37 of them UK reviews in the file

Cons

  • Sensor type is not named
  • One UK review: a unit beeped every minute after about three months
  • A UK review says there is no standby flash
  • Included line lists screws and nuts, not the magnetic pad the bullets describe

Best for: You want two small alarms for a home or caravan at one shelf price and you will check the sensor wording yourself.

Less suitable: You need the word photoelectric on the page, or a single alarm with a large UK review base.

Specifications

Model
Daytech AJ-771 2-pack
Brand
Daytech
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.5/5(45)
Standard
TÜV to EN 14604
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Sound
85 dB
Mount
Magnet or screws
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
2

Common questions

Is the sensor called photoelectric?

No. The bullets do not name photoelectric or optical.

Does the title include a caravan?

Yes. The title lists home, caravan and office.

What failed in UK reviews?

One of two units beeped every minute after about three months. Another review says there is no intermittent light to show the alarm is working, which cuts against the LED claim.

Wisualarm S05-A

Rank 8

Wisualarm S05-A

∼£12

Our view

The Wisualarm S05-A is the £11.99 photoelectric alarm that states the checks the cheapest optical unit in this set leaves blank: EN 14604, UKCA, 85 dB within 3 metres, and a sealed lithium cell with a 10-year claim. The body is 8.2 × 8.2 × 5.2 cm and 110 g, so it is a compact disc rather than a 52 mm puck. The box lists a 3M sticker and a screw-anchor pack, and UK reviewers often praise the stick-on fit and the fact that no yearly cell change is required. A large test and silence button is on the alarm. The infrared mute uses a television or air-conditioner remote you already own, and that remote is not in the box. Across 4.3 from 1,255 ratings, with 50 UK reviews in the file, one review says the cell lasted about two years and another describes random beeping while the lights stayed green. It is the best value pick when you want a stated 85 dB and a named standard under £12, and you will screw it up rather than leave a decade of fixing to the adhesive pad.

Pros

  • EN 14604 and UKCA named, with a photoelectric sensor
  • 85 dB within 3 metres stated on the listing
  • Screw-anchor pack as well as a 3M sticker
  • 4.3 from 1,255 amazon.co.uk ratings

Cons

  • One UK review says the cell lasted about two years
  • Another UK review describes random beeping with green lights
  • The mute remote is not in the box
  • Adhesive is the lead fixing, with screws as the alternative

Best for: You want a sealed photoelectric mini under £12 with a printed sound level, and you will screw the bracket to the ceiling.

Less suitable: You need an app alert, a 52 mm body, or a pad-only fit on a ceiling you cannot drill.

Specifications

Model
Wisualarm S05-A
Brand
Wisualarm
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.3/5(1,255)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604, UKCA
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Sound
85 dB at 3 m
Mount
Adhesive or screws
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
82 mm

Common questions

Does a remote come in the box?

No. The bullets say a TV or air-conditioner infrared remote can mute it, and that the remote is not included.

How do you mount it?

The listing includes a 3M adhesive sticker and a screw-anchor pack.

What do UK reviews say about the 10-year cell?

One review says the battery lasted about 2 years. Another describes random beeping while the lights stayed green.

Spreadtron ZR170S 3-pack

Rank 9

Spreadtron ZR170S 3-pack

∼£30

Our view

The Spreadtron ZR170S three-pack is £29.99 for three photoelectric alarms, about £10 each, with a non-replaceable 3V lithium cell, a 1,400 mAh line and a 10-year claim. The bullets say the siren is over 85 dB, the body is 52 × 52 mm, and a 3M sticker goes on in 30 to 60 seconds without drilling. The title says CE and the bullets do not name EN 14604, while the specification alarm field says Visual, which fights the audible bullet and holds this score down. The star line is 4.2 from 201, and 49 of 50 reviews in the file are from the United Kingdom, which is a real UK sample. Reviewers often like the size and a magnetic plate. They also report a chirp about four months after a May 2023 purchase, a dead battery after one year, and random midnight alarms. The included line says batteries, while the bullets describe the sticker, and a sealed cell that dies at one year is waste rather than a battery change. Treat the three-pack as a compact extra only if you can accept no EN 14604 line and you will not glue it as the only fixing.

Pros

  • Three photoelectric alarms at £29.99
  • Bullets claim a siren over 85 dB and a 52 mm body
  • 4.2 from 201 ratings, 49 of 50 reviews in the file from the UK
  • Silence button named

Cons

  • EN 14604 is not named
  • Specification alarm field says Visual
  • UK reviews: chirp at about four months and dead at one year
  • Lead fixing is 3M tape, and the included line says batteries

Best for: You want three very small standalone alarms and you will check the standard mark on the unit you receive.

Less suitable: You need EN 14604 written on the listing, or a screw kit named before you order.

Specifications

Model
Spreadtron ZR170S 3-pack
Brand
Spreadtron
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.2/5(201)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
CE
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Sound
Over 85 dB
Mount
3M tape
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
3
Size
52 mm

Common questions

Does the listing name EN 14604?

No. The title says CE. The bullets do not name EN 14604.

Why do sound and the spec field disagree?

The bullets say an alarm over 85 dB and a silence button. The technical-details alarm field says Visual.

What do UK reviews say about the cell?

A chirp about four months after a May 2023 purchase, a dead battery after one year, and random midnight alarms are all in the saved listing.

Secair ZR170S

Rank 10

Secair ZR170S

∼£14

Our view

The Secair ZR170S is the 52 mm photoelectric alarm at £14.49, with EN 14604 and CE in the title and a built-in lithium cell on a 10-year claim. The listing dimensions are 5 × 5 × 1 cm and 80 g, the bullets call it about 60% smaller than a regular model, and a test and silence button is named, but a sound level is not. The included-components line is empty, so screws, a magnet or adhesive are not something this page promises. The star line is 4.2 from 16 ratings. Ten reviews are in the saved listing and only two are from the United Kingdom, so non-UK comments about screws and a loud test beep stay out of the judgement. One UK reviewer fitted it in a motorhome and called it small and neat. The other reports a low-battery bleep about five months after a May 2026 purchase, on a cell that cannot be replaced, which is a thin UK sample for a sealed alarm. Consider it when the 52 mm body is the reason you are shopping, and skip it if you need a stated decibel figure and a fixing written on the listing.

Pros

  • 52 × 52 mm photoelectric body
  • EN 14604 named in the title
  • Built-in lithium cell with a 10-year claim
  • Test and silence button named

Cons

  • Sound level is not stated
  • Fixing is not on the listing
  • Only 2 of 10 reviews in the file are from the UK
  • One UK review: low-battery bleep at about five months

Best for: You need a very small EN 14604 alarm for a motorhome or a tight ceiling and you can see the fixing before you rely on it.

Less suitable: You want a printed sound level, screws named in the box list, or more than two UK reviews.

Specifications

Model
Secair ZR170S
Brand
Secair
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.2/5(16)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604, CE
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
52 mm

Common questions

Is a sound level printed?

No. The listing does not state decibels.

What fixing is in the box?

The spec table does not say. Non-UK reviews mention screws, adhesive, or a magnetic base.

How many UK reviews are in the saved listing?

Two of ten. One says it is small and was fitted in a motorhome. One says it bleeped for a low battery about five months after a May 2026 purchase.

Heiman HS1SA (HM-HK-HS1SA)

Rank 11

Heiman HS1SA (HM-HK-HS1SA)

∼£16

Our view

This newer Heiman listing, model HM-HK-HS1SA, is £15.99 for one photoelectric alarm whose bullets name UKCA, EN 14604, LPCB and a 3V lithium cell with an up-to-10-years claim. On paper that is the same certificate stack as the older one-pack, at £4 less, in a body the listing sizes at 6 × 5 × 6 cm and 81.6 g. The star line is 3.9 from 15 ratings, with 12 UK reviews in the file, which is too small to treat as the same product evidence as 5,187 ratings on the older ASIN. Reviewers who like it call it smaller than a standard disc, loud enough on the test button, and suitable for a campervan, though the listing does not state decibels. One UK review says the sticker lasted about 10 hours and the alarm fell, and another says the unit does not lock onto the base. The included line says the smoke alarm and a battery, while those reviews also describe two screws, wall plugs and a sticker. At this price it is only worth it if you will screw it and you can return it easily, because the older HS1SA one-pack has the review history this page does not.

Pros

  • UKCA, EN 14604 and LPCB named
  • Photoelectric sensor and a 10-year lithium claim
  • £15.99, below the older HS1SA one-pack
  • UK reviews describe screws, plugs and a sticker in the box

Cons

  • 3.9 from 15 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • No decibel figure
  • One UK review: the pad failed in about 10 hours
  • One UK review: the alarm does not lock onto the base

Best for: You want the Heiman certificate line at £15.99 and you will screw it, with a return window if the base will not lock.

Less suitable: You want the 5,187-rating HS1SA history, or a pad fit you can leave overnight without checking.

Specifications

Model
Heiman HS1SA (HM-HK-HS1SA)
Brand
Heiman
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.9/5(15)
Sensor
Photoelectric
Standard
EN 14604, UKCA, LPCB
Battery
Sealed 10-year
Mount
Screws or pad
Hush
Ja
Linking
Standalone
Pack
1
Size
60 mm

Common questions

What is in the box on the listing?

The included line says the smoke alarm and a battery. UK reviews also describe two screws, wall plugs, and a sticker.

Does it state a sound level?

No. Reviews say it is loud enough, without a decibel figure on the listing.

Did the adhesive hold in reviews?

One UK review says the sticker lasted about 10 hours and the alarm fell. Another says the unit does not lock onto the base.

How we compared

For this comparison we read 11 amazon.co.uk listings and kept those models on this page. Scores use five published weights: the Amazon star line, a named standard and sensor, a sealed cell with screw fixing, sound and hush, and repeated UK review themes. This is not a lab test. A named EN 14604 line is a listing claim, not a fire-service test of that offer, and none of these alarms is treated as a carbon monoxide detector.

1

Amazon line

20%

Stars and the review count on amazon.co.uk for that ASIN. A count under 20 is capped. A star line copied from another ASIN in this set does not count as fresh evidence.

2

Standard and sensor

30%

EN 14604 named on the listing, plus photoelectric or optical named. UKCA or LPCB on the same page adds inside this block. No EN 14604 line, or a sensor that is not named, cannot fill it.

3

Sealed cell and screw fixing

25%

A sealed or built-in lithium cell with a 10-year claim, and screws or a bracket on the listing. Replaceable AAA cells score low. A magnetic pad or a 3M sticker as the lead fixing scores below screws. London Fire Brigade’s public advice is to screw an alarm up and not to glue it.

4

Sound and hush

10%

A printed decibel figure, with 85 dB scoring above an 80 dB title line, plus a silence or test button. No decibel figure leaves most of this block empty even if reviewers say the beep is loud.

5

UK review themes

15%

Repeated chirps inside the 10-year claim, a failed smoke check, a pad that lets go, random night alarms, and a unit that will not lock onto its base.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Mini smoke alarm buying guide

Before you pick a model, decide whether a standalone battery alarm is allowed to be the whole system where you live. England does not prescribe the type for a landlord’s storey alarm. Scotland, rented homes in Wales, Northern Ireland private tenancies, and English new builds ask for something a single non-linking mini does not provide. Then read the listing for an optical or photoelectric sensor, BS EN 14604, a sealed cell, a printed sound level and screws.

What is a mini smoke alarm?

A mini smoke alarm is a battery smoke detector with a much smaller body than a standard ceiling disc. In this amazon.co.uk set the bodies are typically about 50–80 mm. The job is smoke detection in a bedroom, a hall, a rental, a caravan, or any ceiling where a large disc looks wrong. It is not a heat alarm, and it does not detect carbon monoxide. Start with the nation and the job. A lone battery mini can be the smoke alarm an English landlord fits on a storey of living accommodation.

Best for

  • A discreet extra smoke alarm in a bedroom, hall or rental where a standalone battery alarm is allowed
  • A caravan or motorhome that still has a separate carbon monoxide alarm

Not ideal for

  • A Scottish, Welsh rented, or Northern Ireland private-tenancy system that must be interlinked
  • A kitchen, or any room where you need carbon monoxide detection from this unit

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Using one mini as a whole linked system

    A non-linking mini is not a Scottish interlinked set, a Welsh rented mains system, or a Northern Ireland private-tenancy interlinked set. It is also not the English new-build Grade D2 LD3 mains system. Use it as the whole system only where that nation allows a standalone battery smoke alarm.

  2. 2

    Gluing the only fixing

    London Fire Brigade says screw a smoke alarm up and do not glue it. Magnetic pads and 3M stickers in this set let go on some ceilings, including above a stair. If screws are in the box, use them.

  3. 3

    Treating 10 years or a phone alert as proven

    “10-year” is a design life. Reviews here report chirps much earlier, and a sealed cell that chirps is a replacement, not a battery swap. The X-Sense XS01-M needs an SBS50 base that is not in the box, and a phone alert does not replace the siren in the home. None of these alarms detects carbon monoxide.

What to weigh up

Standard and sensor

High

The heaviest block in the score is the standard and the sensor. A listing should name BS EN 14604. Scotland cites that standard as BS EN 14604:2005. UKCA, a Kitemark or LPCB on the same page adds weight inside the block. No EN 14604 line cannot fill it, which is why the Yezala KD-133A and the Spreadtron ZR170S 3-pack sit lower even when a bullet talks about sound. A sensor that is not named cannot fill the block either.

Sealed cell and screw fixing

High

The next block is the sealed cell and the screw fixing. Fire Kills prefers a sealed long-life battery, and “10-year” on these listings is a design life, not a result timed for this page. UK reviews in this set often report a chirp within months or within one to three years, including on the Heiman HS1SA and on the Wisualarm S05-A, where one review says the cell lasted about two years. Replace a sealed unit when it chirps.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Extra alarm at home

You want a small standalone alarm for a hall or bedroom, and a battery smoke alarm is allowed there. The Heiman HS1SA 1-pack names EN 14604, UKCA and LPCB, and the included line lists a bracket, screws and dowels. Replace it if it chirps inside the 10-year claim.

Sealed alarm under £12

You want a sealed photoelectric mini under £12 with a printed sound level, and you will screw the bracket to the ceiling. The Wisualarm S05-A states EN 14604, UKCA and 85 dB within 3 metres at about £11.99. The adhesive pad is the lead fixing, so do not leave a decade of fixing to the sticker.

Our recommendation

View offer

Caravan or motorhome

You are fitting a very small alarm in a caravan or motorhome, and you will add a separate carbon monoxide alarm. The Secair ZR170S is the 52 mm photoelectric listing at about £14.49 with EN 14604 in the title. The sound level and the fixing are not stated, and only two UK reviews are in the file, so check the unit you receive.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about mini smoke alarms

Which mini smoke alarm is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick is the Heiman HS1SA 1-pack at about £19.99. The amazon.co.uk listing names a photoelectric sensor, EN 14604, UKCA and LPCB, and it includes a bracket, screws and dowels. The star line is 4.5 from 5,187 ratings. This is listing evidence, not a lab test, and the page prints no decibel figure. UK reviews report chirps within months, at about a year, at 13 months and at three years. Replace the unit if it chirps.
How much should you pay for a mini smoke alarm?
In this set a basic optical alarm with replaceable cells is about £5.99. A single claimed 10-year mini with a named standard sits at about £12–£20. The Wisualarm S05-A is about £11.99, several X-Sense XS01 listings are about £16.99, and the Heiman HS1SA 1-pack is about £19.99. Multi-packs go to about £29.99 for three Spreadtron alarms and about £65.99 for five Heiman alarms. A higher price is not the same as EN 14604 and screws in the box.
What should you check on the listing before you buy?
Read four things on the amazon.co.uk page before you compare stars. The sensor should be named photoelectric or optical. The standard line should say BS EN 14604. UKCA or LPCB is stronger than a headline alone. Prefer a sealed cell if you follow Fire Kills, and treat “10-year” as a design life. The fixing should be screws. A printed sound level, often 85 dB, and a hush button are the smaller checks.
Can one mini smoke alarm meet UK landlord rules?
It depends on the nation. In England, landlords must fit a smoke alarm on each living storey, and the type is not prescribed. GOV.UK recommends BS 5839-6 and sealed batteries. A remedial notice can mean a fine of up to £5,000. One standalone mini is not an English new-build Grade D2 LD3 system, and it is not the Scottish, Welsh rented, or Northern Ireland interlinked requirement. Use it alone only where that nation allows a battery smoke alarm.
Should you stick a mini smoke alarm to the ceiling?
Do not rely on glue or a sticker as the only fixing. London Fire Brigade’s advice is to screw a smoke alarm up and not to glue it. Magnetic pads and 3M stickers in this set let go on some ceilings. One Heiman review says a pad failed in about 10 hours. The X-Sense magnetic listing also wants a surface above 15 °C. If the box includes screws, use them.
Will a mini smoke alarm detect carbon monoxide?
No. Every alarm on this page is a smoke alarm. The listings do not claim carbon monoxide detection, and a smaller body does not add that function. England still expects a carbon monoxide alarm where there is a fixed combustion appliance other than a gas cooker. Caravan guidance used with the NCC scheme pairs a BS EN 14604 smoke alarm with a separate carbon monoxide alarm to BS EN 50291-2:2019. Buy that detector as its own product.
When should you buy a standard smoke alarm instead?
Buy a standard smoke alarm when a mini’s limits are the problem you have. These minis are small battery units, usually with no interlink. English new builds look for a Grade D2 LD3 mains system. Scotland, rented homes in Wales, and Northern Ireland private tenancies look for interlinked alarms. A kitchen needs a heat alarm. For a full-size ceiling alarm, start with the smoke alarm comparison.

Our verdict

The Heiman HS1SA 1-pack is the top pick at about £19.99: photoelectric, with EN 14604, UKCA and LPCB named, screws and a bracket on the included line, and 4.5 from 5,187 amazon.co.uk ratings. Early chirps in UK reviews keep the score out of the 90s, and the listing does not print a decibel figure. The Wisualarm S05-A is the best value at about £11.99, with EN 14604, UKCA, 85 dB within 3 metres, and screws as well as a 3M sticker, at 4.3 from 1,255. Screw it up. One UK review says the cell lasted about two years.

Best overall
X-Sense XS01-M

X-Sense XS01-M

View offer
Best value
Wisualarm S05-A

Wisualarm S05-A

EN 14604, UKCA and 85 dB within 3 metres at about £11.99, with 4.3 from 1,255 ratings.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsFire protectionSmoke alarms

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to mini smoke alarms

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for the rules and fitting advice on this page, last checked on 20 October 2026.

  1. Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm (England) Regulations 2015, regulation 4 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK: The Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm (England) Regulations 2015, Q&A for landlords (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: Fire safety, Approved Document B (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. Scottish Government: Fire and smoke alarms in Scottish homes (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. The Renting Homes (Fitness for Human Habitation) (Wales) Regulations 2022, regulation 5 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Northern Ireland: smoke, heat and carbon monoxide alarms in private tenancies (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. London Fire Brigade: smoke alarms and heat alarms (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Fire Kills: detecting a fire (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. Scores follow the published method and the amazon.co.uk listings. They are not a lab test.