Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

X-Sense smoke detector comparison 2026

The best X-Sense smoke detectors, compared.

Top pick: X-Sense XS01-M Best value: X-Sense XS0G-SN – Highest listing-and-price score that is not the top pick: two sealed standalone alarms at about £20.39. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Some link by radio to other X-Sense heads. None of them is a 230 V mains detector. Owner-occupiers here want a hall alarm or a phone alert. Landlords have a duty that depends on the nation. Tell a sound buy from a weak one by whether the cell is sealed, whether the base is actually in the box, and whether the listing claims EN 14604 rather than a Kitemark you can see. The quality warranty is five years, and UK reviews include cells that died inside ten years. The family split is in the [X-Sense smoke detector buying guide](/hub/fire-protection/x-sense-smoke-detector/sub/x-sense-smoke-detector-buying-guide). An X-Sense smoke detector is a battery alarm sold on amazon.co.uk under that brand. The twelve listings fall into a few families. Standalone sealed heads are the SD11, the XS01, the XS0G-SN two-pack, and the SC07 smoke-and-CO unit. The SBS50 system is the FS31 and the SD11-MR31, which include the base, and the XS01-M, the XS0B-MR, and the XP0A-MR, which do not.

Some link by radio to other X-Sense heads. None of them is a 230 V mains detector. Owner-occupiers here want a hall alarm or a phone alert. Landlords have a duty that depends on the nation.

X-Sense XS01-M

Best overall

X-Sense XS01-M
8.3/10∼ £20

42 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +22,800 readers

12 of 12: Best X-Sense smoke detectors compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
X-Sense XS01-M
X-Sense SC07
X-Sense SD11-MR31
X-Sense XP0A-MR
X-Sense XS0B-MR
X-Sense SD11
Best value
X-Sense XS0G-SN
X-Sense XS01
X-Sense FS31
X-Sense SC07-WX
X-Sense XS0B-iR
X-Sense HS21
8.3/10
8.0/10
8.2/10
7.7/10
7.6/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
7.9/10
8.2/10
7.8/10
7.3/10
6.8/10
∼ £20
∼ £28
∼ £65
∼ £36
∼ £60
∼ £12
∼ £20
∼ £17
∼ £64
∼ £46
∼ £72
∼ £48
4.7(683)
4.6(2,885)
4.6(99)
4.6(91)
4.6(26)
4.5(7,170)
4.5(816)
4.5(409)
4.5(198)
4.4(2,304)
4.3(492)
4.1(215)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best X-Sense smoke detectors in detail

X-Sense XS01-M

Rank 1

X-Sense XS01-M

∼£20

Our view

The X-Sense XS01-M is one photoelectric head at £19.54 with 4.7 from 683 reviews, the highest star line in this set, and the listing says it needs an SBS50 base that is not in the box. The carton is the alarm, a bracket, two screws, two plugs and a manual. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz through the base, and the listing says 5 GHz is not supported. The app can test and silence the alarm once that base is present. It does not detect carbon monoxide, and the battery life is not stated, though the listing claims 85 dB and EN 14604. At this price it sits close to a standalone XS01, but it stays an accessory until you buy the hub. Buy it only when an SBS50 is already on the shelf or in the same order. Do not treat £19.54 as a finished phone-alert system.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 683 reviews, the highest star line in this set
  • Listing states the SBS50 requirement and 2.4 GHz only
  • Photoelectric sensor, 85 dB and an EN 14604 claim
  • App test and silence once the base is fitted

Cons

  • SBS50 is not in the box
  • Battery life is not stated
  • No carbon monoxide sensor
  • £19.54 does not buy a finished system

Best for: You already own an SBS50 and want one extra optical head on that base.

Less suitable: A first alarm with no hub in the budget, or a kitchen.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS01-M
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.7/5(683)
Pack
1
Battery
Life not stated
Sensor
Photoelectric
Carbon monoxide
Nein
Linking
SBS50 required
App
Ja
Mounting
Screws
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604

Common questions

Is the SBS50 in the XS01-M box?

No. The product style is an accessory that requires the SBS50. The box is one alarm, a bracket, two screws, two plugs and a manual.

Which Wi-Fi does the XS01-M use?

2.4 GHz through the base station. The listing says 5 GHz is not supported. The app can test and silence the alarm.

Does the XS01-M detect carbon monoxide?

No. The listing sells it as a photoelectric smoke alarm. Carbon monoxide heads are separate kits on the same base.

X-Sense SC07

Rank 2

X-Sense SC07

∼£28

Our view

The X-Sense SC07 is one standalone smoke and carbon monoxide alarm at £27.71 with 4.6 from 2,885 reviews. The listing pairs a photoelectric sensor with an electrochemical CO sensor, an LCD for battery level and CO in ppm updated every 10 seconds, a sealed 10-year lithium cell, and claims of EN 14604 and EN 50291. It measures 14.5 × 14.5 × 5.1 cm and 320 g, and the box is the alarm, a bracket, two screws, two plugs and a manual. The listing says it is not compatible with the SBS50 and has no interlink and no app. A review says the display shows pass on a check. UK reviews also include a cell that expired at about five years and a unit that rang in a clear room at 0 ppm after 13 months. Use it for one room where you want smoke and CO on the same ceiling without a phone. It does not cover the rest of the house, and a kitchen is still the wrong place for the smoke sensor.

Pros

  • Smoke and carbon monoxide in one unit, with ppm on an LCD
  • EN 14604 and EN 50291 claimed
  • Sealed cell, with 4.6 from 2,885 reviews
  • No base station to buy

Cons

  • A cell was reported expired at about five years
  • One unit rang at 0 ppm after 13 months
  • No app and no interlink
  • Loudness is not stated

Best for: You want one room covered for smoke and carbon monoxide and you do not need a phone alert.

Less suitable: A whole-home linked system, or a kitchen.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense SC07
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£28
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,885)
Pack
1
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable cell
Nein
Sensor
Smoke and CO
Carbon monoxide
Ja
Linking
Standalone
App
Nein
Mounting
Screws
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604, EN 50291

Common questions

Does the SC07 work with the SBS50?

No. The listing says it is not compatible with the SBS50 and has no interlink and no app.

What does the SC07 screen show?

Battery level and carbon monoxide in ppm, with a reading updated every 10 seconds, as listed. A review says the display shows pass on a check.

Is the SC07 battery replaceable?

No. The listing says a built-in lithium cell lasts 10 years. UK reviews include a cell that expired at about five years and a unit that rang in a clear room at 0 ppm after 13 months.

X-Sense SD11-MR31

Rank 3

X-Sense SD11-MR31

∼£65

Our view

The X-Sense SD11-MR31 is three SD11-MR smoke alarms, three magnetic pads, three CR123A cells and an SBS50 with adapter and cable, listed at £64.59 with 4.6 from 99 reviews. The listing says the life is 10 years with a replaceable cell, and that you can use the pads on a flat surface or the screws, with six screws and six anchors in the box. Night mode stops the green standby LED for a time you set in the app, and the listing says it does not silence the alarm, though test and silence are also in the app. One review says these smoke heads are a poor choice for a kitchen, no heat alarm is included, and sensor type, a standard number and loudness are not stated. It is the alternative to the FS31 when pads and an app night mode matter and you accept a replaceable cell. In this capture it is £0.60 more than the FS31, with a smaller review file and less printed about the sensor.

Pros

  • SBS50 is in the box with three heads, cells, pads and screws
  • Night mode for the standby LED, plus app test and silence
  • 4.6 from 99 reviews
  • Pads for a flat surface, with screws if you prefer

Cons

  • Sensor type, loudness and a standard number are not stated
  • Smoke heads only, and one review says they are a poor kitchen choice
  • A magnetic pad still depends on a sound, warm, flat surface
  • Only 99 reviews

Best for: You want the hub in the box and the option of pads on a flat ceiling.

Less suitable: A kitchen, or a buyer who needs EN 14604 printed on the listing.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense SD11-MR31
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£65
Customer rating
4.6/5(99)
Pack
3 + base
Battery
10-year, replaceable
Replaceable cell
Ja
Linking
SBS50 included
App
Ja
Mounting
Pad or screws
Voice
None

Common questions

Can you fit the SD11-MR31 without drilling?

Yes. The listing includes magnetic pads for a flat surface, and screws if you prefer. Three pads, six screws and six anchors are in the box, with the SBS50.

Does night mode silence the alarm?

No. The listing says night mode stops the green standby LED for a time you set in the app. Test and silence are also in the app.

Is a heat alarm included?

No. The kit is three smoke alarms and the base. One review says these smoke heads are a poor choice for a kitchen.

X-Sense XP0A-MR

Rank 4

X-Sense XP0A-MR

∼£36

Our view

The X-Sense XP0A-MR is one smoke and carbon monoxide alarm with an English voice, listed at £35.99 with 4.6 from 91 reviews. The highlight says the wireless alarm requires the SBS50, and the box is one alarm, a bracket, two screws, two plugs and a manual, with no base. The listing gives English examples for smoke and for carbon monoxide, including the room name, then evacuate or move to fresh air. The replaceable CR123A is stated at up to 5 years and the sensor at up to 10 years, but the included-components line does not name a cell. No EN number is printed in this capture. App features exist only through the base, on the hub's Wi-Fi. Buy it when the SBS50 is already in the plan and you want a spoken room name. At £35.99 it is not a complete system, and 91 reviews is a thin file beside the SC07.

Pros

  • English voice with a room name for smoke and for carbon monoxide
  • Listing states that the SBS50 is required
  • CR123A stated at up to 5 years, sensor at up to 10 years
  • 4.6 from 91 reviews

Cons

  • The base station is not in the box
  • No standard number in this capture
  • The included-components line does not name a cell
  • Only 91 reviews

Best for: You already have an SBS50 and want a spoken smoke-and-CO head on that system.

Less suitable: A buyer who expected the hub at this price, or a home that needs a sealed cell rather than a replaceable CR123A.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XP0A-MR
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
4.6/5(91)
Pack
1
Battery
Up to 5 years
Replaceable cell
Ja
Sensor
Smoke and CO
Carbon monoxide
Ja
Linking
SBS50 required
App
Ja
Mounting
Screws
Voice
English

Common questions

Is the SBS50 in the XP0A-MR box?

No. The highlight says the wireless English-voice alarm requires the SBS50. The box is one alarm, a bracket, two screws, two plugs and a manual.

What does the XP0A-MR say out loud?

The listing gives English examples for smoke and for carbon monoxide, including the room name, then evacuate or move to fresh air.

How long does the XP0A-MR battery last?

The listing says the replaceable CR123A lasts up to 5 years and the sensor up to 10 years. The included-components line does not name a cell.

X-Sense XS0B-MR

Rank 5

X-Sense XS0B-MR

∼£60

Our view

The X-Sense XS0B-MR three-pack is listed at £59.99 with 4.6 from 26 reviews. The listing says English voice, with the example "Warning! Smoke detected in Dining Room! Evacuate!" and up to 17 preset locations. Each head is photoelectric, uses a replaceable CR123A stated at up to 5 years, and needs the SBS50, which is not in the box. The carton is three alarms, three brackets, six screws, six plugs and a manual. With the base, the listing says up to 100 dB, and it also says at least 3 m from cooking equipment. Twenty-six reviews is a small sample, and £59.99 does not buy the hub. Order it when the SBS50 is already paid for and you want three English-speaking smoke heads, and skip it as a first purchase.

Pros

  • English location voice and up to 17 room names
  • Three photoelectric heads with a CR123A life stated at up to 5 years
  • The listing says the base station is required
  • Up to 100 dB stated once the base is connected

Cons

  • The SBS50 is not in the box
  • Only 26 reviews
  • No carbon monoxide sensor
  • £59.99 before you add the hub

Best for: You already run an SBS50 and want three English-voice smoke heads on it.

Less suitable: A first system, or a buyer who needs a larger review file before they spend £59.99.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS0B-MR
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.6/5(26)
Pack
3
Battery
Up to 5 years
Replaceable cell
Ja
Sensor
Photoelectric
Carbon monoxide
Nein
Linking
SBS50 required
App
Ja
Mounting
Screws
Voice
English

Common questions

Is the SBS50 in the XS0B-MR 3-pack?

No. The product style is an accessory that requires the base station. The box is three alarms, three brackets, six screws, six plugs and a manual.

What language does the XS0B-MR speak?

English. The listing gives the example "Warning! Smoke detected in Dining Room! Evacuate!" and up to 17 preset locations.

How far from a cooker should an XS0B-MR go?

The listing says at least 3 m from cooking equipment, and to avoid windows or ventilation.

X-Sense SD11

Rank 6

X-Sense SD11

∼£12

Our view

The X-Sense SD11 is one photoelectric alarm with a sealed lithium cell, listed at £11.99 on amazon.co.uk with 4.5 from 7,170 reviews, and Smoke Alarms rank 3 in this capture. The listing claims 85 dB, a silence button and EN 14604, and the box is the alarm, a bracket, two screws and two plugs. UK reviewers often describe a screw-and-twist fit, and one reused the old screw positions, though another says it does not fit every old ceiling plate, so a new hole may be needed. The same file includes sealed cells that died at about 2, 2.5 and 4 years, and you cannot swap that cell. The listing states a 5-year quality warranty, which is shorter than the 10-year battery line. The SD11 manual cites EN 14604:2005+AC:2008, at least 85 dB at 3 m and silence of about 9 minutes, and the listing does not state an app or interlink. It is the top pick in this set for one hall or landing in an existing English home if you want the largest review file at this price, with those early-failure reports kept in view.

Pros

  • Photoelectric sensor, 85 dB and an EN 14604 claim at £11.99
  • 4.5 from 7,170 reviews, Smoke Alarms rank 3 in this capture
  • Sealed cell, so there is no annual battery change
  • Bracket, two screws and two plugs in the box

Cons

  • Sealed cells reported dead at about 2, 2.5 and 4 years
  • 5-year quality warranty, not a 10-year warranty
  • No app and no interlink on the listing
  • May need a new hole if an old ceiling plate does not match

Best for: You want one sealed optical alarm for a hall or landing and you will replace the whole unit if it chirps early.

Less suitable: A Scottish home that needs interlinked alarms, a kitchen, or a buyer who wants a phone alert.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense SD11
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.5/5(7,170)
Pack
1
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable cell
Nein
Sensor
Photoelectric
Carbon monoxide
Nein
Linking
Standalone
App
Nein
Mounting
Screws
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604

Common questions

Can you change the battery in the SD11?

No. The listing describes a built-in non-replaceable lithium cell with a 10-year claim. The same listing states a 5-year quality warranty. UK reviews include sealed cells that died at about 2, 2.5 and 4 years.

How is the SD11 fitted?

With a mounting bracket, two screws and two anchor plugs. One review reused the old screw positions. Another says it does not fit every old ceiling plate, so a new hole may be needed.

Does the SD11 link to a phone?

The listing does not state an app, Wi-Fi or interlink. It claims a photoelectric sensor, an 85 dB horn, a silence button and EN 14604.

X-Sense XS0G-SN

Rank 7

X-Sense XS0G-SN

∼£20

Our view

The X-Sense XS0G-SN two-pack is listed at £20.39 with 4.5 from 816 reviews, about £10.20 an alarm if both stay on the ceiling. Each unit is a slim 9 × 9 × 2.5 cm standalone head with a sealed CR123A the listing says lasts the 10-year life, and a switch that turns the unit off for decorating or transport. The listing claims EN 14604 and says the light comes on for an alarm, a low battery, a fault or end of life, not as a standby flash. A magnetic pad or screws are offered, with pads, brackets, screws and anchors in the box. One UK review says a ceiling pad lasted about two days. The sensor type and the decibel figure are not stated on this listing. It is the best value in this set when you want two sealed standalone alarms and you will screw them if the pad fails. It is the wrong pack if those two ceilings must sound together.

Pros

  • Two sealed alarms for £20.39, about £10.20 each
  • No standby flash, and a switch for decorating or transport
  • EN 14604 claimed, with screws and anchors if the pad fails
  • 4.5 from 816 reviews

Cons

  • One review says a ceiling pad lasted about two days
  • Sensor type and loudness are not stated
  • No interlink and no confirmed app
  • A failed pad still means drilling

Best for: You want two standalone ceilings covered and you will use the screws.

Less suitable: A home that needs the alarms to sound together, or a buyer who needs a named photoelectric line on the page.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS0G-SN
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.5/5(816)
Pack
2
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable cell
Nein
Linking
Standalone
Mounting
Pad or screws
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604

Common questions

Do the XS0G-SN alarms flash in standby?

No. The listing says the light comes on for an alarm, a low battery, a fault, or end of life, not as a standby flash.

Can you replace the XS0G-SN battery?

No. The listing says a sealed CR123A lasts the 10-year life of the alarm. A switch turns the unit off for decorating or transport.

Will the magnetic pad hold on a ceiling?

The listing offers a pad or screws. One UK review says a ceiling pad lasted about two days. Screws and anchors are in the box.

X-Sense XS01

Rank 8

X-Sense XS01

∼£17

Our view

The X-Sense XS01 is a mini photoelectric alarm, 7.8 × 7.8 × 4.8 cm and 102 g, listed at £16.99 with 4.5 from 409 reviews. The listing claims a sealed 10-year lithium cell, 85 dB, EN 14604, and both a magnetic pad and screws with anchors. The pad instructions say to use it above 15°C, warm the surface for 1 to 3 minutes, then press for 30 seconds, and one review says the pad was not sticky enough. UK reviews also include a unit dead within 3 months and another dead in under a year, and the cell is not replaceable. The listing says it is not compatible with the SBS50, has no app and no interlink, and does not state a carbon monoxide sensor. Choose it when a smaller disc than the SD11 matters and you can screw it if the pad fails. Skip it if you wanted a linked system, or the larger review file at £11.99.

Pros

  • 7.8 cm body with a sealed cell and an EN 14604 claim
  • Magnetic pad plus screws and anchors in the box
  • Listing states it does not need the SBS50
  • 85 dB claimed, at 102 g

Cons

  • One review says the pad was not sticky enough
  • Pad instructions limit use to above 15°C
  • Cells reported dead within 3 months and under a year
  • £16.99 against the SD11 at £11.99 with far more reviews

Best for: You want a small standalone optical alarm and you will use the screws if the pad will not hold.

Less suitable: A cold or textured ceiling if you refuse to drill, or any home that needs the alarms to sound together.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS01
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.5/5(409)
Pack
1
Battery
10 years sealed
Replaceable cell
Nein
Sensor
Photoelectric
Linking
Standalone
App
Nein
Mounting
Pad or screws
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604

Common questions

Does the XS01 need the SBS50 base?

No. The listing says it is not compatible with the SBS50 and has no app and no interlink.

Can you fit the XS01 without drilling?

Yes, with the magnetic pad. The listing says to use the pad above 15°C, warm the surface for 1 to 3 minutes, then press for 30 seconds. Screws and anchors are also in the box. One review says the pad was not sticky enough.

Is the 10-year cell replaceable?

No. The listing says a built-in lithium cell lasts 10 years. UK reviews include a unit dead within 3 months and another dead in under a year.

X-Sense FS31

Rank 9

X-Sense FS31

∼£64

Our view

The X-Sense FS31 is three XS01-M photoelectric alarms plus the SBS50, a power adapter, a cable, three CR123A cells and a manual, listed at £63.99 with 4.5 from 198 reviews. The listing claims EN 14604, 85 dB on each head and 100 dB on the base, and 2.4 GHz only, with 5 GHz not supported. The app can test and silence the system and share it with up to 12 people. Cell life in years is not stated, there is no heat alarm and no carbon monoxide sensor, and mounting screws are not listed in the included line. It is the kit in this set that puts the base in the carton, which is why it is the phone-alert option when you do not already own an SBS50. A replaceable cell is a poor match where guidance rejects user-replaceable batteries, including the Scottish Government buying note.

Pros

  • SBS50, adapter and cable are in the box with three XS01-M heads
  • EN 14604 claimed, 85 dB on the heads and 100 dB on the base
  • App test and silence, and sharing with up to 12 people
  • Three CR123A cells included

Cons

  • Cell life in years is not stated
  • No heat alarm and no carbon monoxide sensor
  • Mounting screws are not in the included line
  • 198 reviews, a much smaller file than the SD11

Best for: You want a linked app system and the hub must arrive in the same box.

Less suitable: A kitchen, or a home where guidance requires a sealed cell rather than a replaceable CR123A.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense FS31
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£64
Customer rating
4.5/5(198)
Pack
3 + base
Battery
Life not stated
Replaceable cell
Ja
Sensor
Photoelectric
Carbon monoxide
Nein
Linking
SBS50 included
App
Ja
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604

Common questions

Does the FS31 include the base station?

Yes. The box is three XS01-M smoke alarms, three CR123A cells, one SBS50, a power adapter, a power cable and a manual.

Which Wi-Fi band does the FS31 use?

2.4 GHz through the base. The listing says 5 GHz is not supported. The app can test and silence the system, and share it with up to 12 people.

How loud is the FS31?

The listing says 85 dB on each smoke alarm and 100 dB on the base station.

X-Sense SC07-WX

Rank 10

X-Sense SC07-WX

∼£46

Our view

The X-Sense SC07-WX is a direct 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi smoke and carbon monoxide alarm at £45.99 with 4.4 from 2,304 reviews. It joins the X-Sense Home Security app without an SBS50. The listing says it is not compatible with the base and does not interlink, and 5 GHz is not supported. The sensors are photoelectric and electrochemical, with carbon monoxide history in the app and a warning when the level exceeds 100 ppm. The replaceable batteries are stated at up to 1 year and the sensors at up to 10 years, one CR123A is in the box, and reviews include frequent battery changes plus a unit that failed after 2 years. No EN number is printed in this capture. It suits one room where a phone history matters and you will change the cell about yearly, and a push notification is not a siren in the rest of the house.

Pros

  • App on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi without a base station
  • Carbon monoxide history, and an app warning above 100 ppm
  • 4.4 from 2,304 reviews
  • One CR123A included

Cons

  • Replaceable cell stated at up to 1 year, with reviews of frequent changes
  • One unit failed after 2 years
  • Does not interlink with other X-Sense heads
  • No standard number in this capture

Best for: You want phone carbon monoxide history for one room and you will replace the CR123A.

Less suitable: Interlinked ceilings, or a household that will not change a cell about once a year.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense SC07-WX
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
4.4/5(2,304)
Pack
1
Battery
Up to 1 year
Replaceable cell
Ja
Sensor
Smoke and CO
Carbon monoxide
Ja
Linking
Direct Wi-Fi
App
Ja
Mounting
Screws
Voice
None

Common questions

Does the SC07-WX need a base station?

No. It joins the X-Sense Home Security app on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The listing says it is not compatible with the SBS50 and does not interlink.

How long does the SC07-WX battery last?

The listing says the replaceable batteries last up to 1 year and the sensors up to 10 years. One CR123A is in the box. Reviews include frequent changes and a unit that failed after 2 years.

When does the app warn about carbon monoxide?

The listing says the app warns when the level exceeds 100 ppm, and that CO history is available in the app.

X-Sense XS0B-iR

Rank 11

X-Sense XS0B-iR

∼£72

Our view

The X-Sense XS0B-iR three-pack is listed at £72.23 with 4.3 from 492 reviews, the highest price in this set. Each alarm joins the app on 2.4 GHz without a base. The listing says they do not interlink and are not compatible with the SBS50, and 5 GHz is not supported. You can switch among English, German and French, German is the default, and one UK review heard German and could not leave pairing mode. The box includes three CR123A cells, three brackets, six screws and six anchors. The listing does not state a year life, and UK reviews include a cell flat at about four weeks, one inside a month, and one before seven months. There is no carbon monoxide sensor. At the top of this price band it is a phone alert for three separate rooms, not a linked siren, and the default language is the first setting to change if the app lets you.

Pros

  • Three direct Wi-Fi alarms, with no base station to buy
  • Voice can be switched among English, German and French
  • 4.3 from 492 reviews
  • Three CR123A cells, brackets and screws in the box

Cons

  • German is the default voice, and one review could not leave pairing mode
  • Cells reported flat at about four weeks, one month and before seven months
  • No interlink with other heads
  • £72.23, and no battery life in years on the listing

Best for: You want three separate phone alerts and you will set the spoken language to English before you rely on the voice.

Less suitable: A home that needs the alarms to sound together, or a buyer who will not check the language after pairing.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense XS0B-iR
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£72
Customer rating
4.3/5(492)
Pack
3
Battery
Life not stated
Replaceable cell
Ja
Carbon monoxide
Nein
Linking
Direct Wi-Fi
App
Ja
Mounting
Screws
Voice
German default

Common questions

Do the XS0B-iR alarms need a base station?

No. They join the app on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The listing says they do not interlink and are not compatible with the SBS50. 5 GHz is not supported.

Which language do the XS0B-iR alarms speak?

The listing says you can switch among English, German and French, and that German is the default. There are 17 preset locations. One UK review heard German and could not leave pairing mode.

How long do the XS0B-iR batteries last?

The listing includes CR123A cells and does not state a year life. UK reviews include a cell flat at about four weeks, one inside a month, and one before seven months.

X-Sense HS21

Rank 12

X-Sense HS21

∼£48

Our view

The X-Sense HS21 is a three-piece Link+ kit at £47.99 with 4.1 from 215 reviews, the lowest star line in this set. The box is one XH02-W heat alarm and two SD19-W smoke alarms, three brackets, six screws, six plugs, three CR123A cells and a manual. The listing says the multi-pack is already interlinked, and there is no app and no base station. The heat alarm is named for a kitchen and reacts from 54°C to 65°C, and the listing says it is not triggered by smoke, dust or cooking vapour. EN 14604 and BS 5446 are claimed. The bullets also say sealed 10-year lithium cells, which conflicts with the three CR123A cells in the included list, and there is no carbon monoxide sensor. Look at it when you want two smoke ceilings and a kitchen heat alarm to sound together without a phone. Check which cell is in the carton before you treat it as a sealed ten-year unit, and do not treat this battery kit as a Welsh rented mains install.

Pros

  • Two smoke alarms and one heat alarm, listed as already interlinked
  • Heat alarm named for a kitchen, reacting from 54°C to 65°C
  • EN 14604 and BS 5446 claimed
  • No app account to keep

Cons

  • Sealed 10-year bullets conflict with three CR123A cells in the box list
  • 4.1 from 215 reviews, the weakest star line in this set
  • No carbon monoxide sensor
  • Not a 230 V mains kit

Best for: You want Link+ smoke and heat without an app, and you will check which cells are in the box.

Less suitable: A Welsh rented storey that needs mains interlink, or a buyer who wants phone alerts.

Specifications

Model
X-Sense HS21
Brand
X-Sense
Price
∼£48
Customer rating
4.1/5(215)
Pack
3
Battery
Listing conflicts
Sensor
Smoke and heat
Carbon monoxide
Nein
Linking
Link+
App
Nein
Mounting
Screws
Voice
None
Standard
EN 14604, BS 5446

Common questions

What is in the HS21 bundle?

One XH02-W heat alarm and two SD19-W smoke alarms, three brackets, six screws, six plugs, three CR123A cells and a manual. The listing says the multi-pack is already interlinked.

Does the HS21 use a sealed battery?

The bullets say sealed 10-year lithium cells. The included list also names three CR123A batteries. Those two lines conflict, so the cell type is not settled from this listing.

Can the HS21 heat alarm go in a kitchen?

The listing says the heat alarm is not triggered by smoke, dust or cooking vapour and names it for a kitchen. It reacts to a rise from 54°C to 65°C. There is no app and no base station.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 19 October 2026 from stars, review count, fit to the job, and shelf price. This is not a laboratory test. The job is an X-Sense battery alarm whose box matches the ceiling: one sealed head, a linked pack, or a phone alert. A high star line on a head sold without the SBS50 does not win by itself. The four weights below are the point maxima in the scoring note, and they sum to 100.

1

Amazon stars

30%

Maximum 30. The amazon.co.uk star rating divided by 5, then times 30, rounded to the nearest whole number. 4.7 and 4.6 score 28. 4.5 scores 27. 4.4 and 4.3 score 26. 4.1 scores 25.

2

Review sample

25%

Maximum 25. 5,000 or more reviews scores 25, 2,000 or more scores 22, 700 or more scores 20, 400 or more scores 16, 150 or more scores 12, 70 or more scores 10, and under 30 scores 6. The listing count is used.

3

Fit to the job

30%

Maximum 30 for a photoelectric or named smoke, heat or combination sensor, a printed EN 14604 (plus EN 50291 or BS 5446 where the listing prints it), a power line that does not contradict itself, and an architecture the box list supports. A kit with the SBS50 in the carton scores higher than a head that only works after a second purchase. Early cell deaths, a failed pad, a German default voice, or a sealed-versus-CR123A clash pull the score down.

4

Listing and price

15%

Maximum 15. The best unit price among sealed standalone packs with a few hundred reviews scores 15. A single near £12 with a very large sample scores 12. A head that looks cheap only because the base is missing stays under that. A full kit near £64 scores 14.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

X-Sense smoke detector buying guide

Match the family before you match the price. Standalone sealed, Link+ smoke and heat, an SBS50 kit, a head sold without the base, and direct Wi-Fi do different jobs. The twelve prices below are the amazon.co.uk shelves on 19 October 2026, from about £11.99 to about £72.23. A phone push is not a siren in the rest of the house, and Wi-Fi is not interlink. If you suspect carbon monoxide, leave and call the emergency services.

What is an X-Sense smoke detector?

An X-Sense smoke detector in this comparison is a battery alarm sold on amazon.co.uk under that brand. The twelve listings captured on 19 October 2026 fall into a few families. Standalone sealed heads are the SD11, the XS01, the XS0G-SN two-pack, and the SC07 smoke-and-CO unit. Link+ smoke and heat with no app is the HS21. The SBS50 system is the FS31 and the SD11-MR31, which include the base, and the XS01-M, the XS0B-MR, and the XP0A-MR, which do not.

Best for

  • An owner-occupier in England who wants one or two sealed ceilings and will test monthly
  • A household that already owns an SBS50 and wants another head on that base
  • One room that needs smoke and carbon monoxide, where interlink is not required

Not ideal for

  • A Scottish home that must use sealed interlinked alarms plus a kitchen heat alarm
  • A rented home in Wales that needs mains-connected, interlinked alarms
  • A first purchase of a head whose box list has no SBS50

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying a smart listing whose box has no SBS50

    The XS01-M, the XS0B-MR, and the XP0A-MR require the base and do not include it. About £19.54 for the XS01-M is not a finished system. The FS31 and the SD11-MR31 are the listings in this set that put the SBS50 in the carton.

  2. 2

    Treating direct Wi-Fi as interlink

    The XS0B-iR and the SC07-WX join 2.4 GHz on their own. The listings say they do not interlink and are not compatible with the SBS50. A push notification is not a siren in the rest of the house. 5 GHz is not supported. German is the default voice on the XS0B-iR.

  3. 3

    Reading a 10-year line as a 10-year warranty

    The SD11 listing's quality warranty is 5 years, and UK reviews include sealed cells that died at about 2, 2.5 and 4 years. The HS21 says both sealed 10-year cells and three CR123A batteries. Check the carton. A failed sealed unit is replaced whole.

What to weigh up

Nation, tenure and the cell

High

English landlords need a smoke alarm on every living storey. Mains or battery can comply. The GOV.UK landlord booklet prefers a sealed cell and points at BS 5839-6. A confirmed fault has to be repaired, and the penalty after a remedial notice can reach £5,000. Owner-occupiers are outside that duty. Fire Kills still asks for one alarm on every level and a monthly test. A sealed unit that will not sound is replaced whole.

What is actually in the box

High

The families are the decision. Standalone sealed units are the SD11 at about £11.99, the XS01 mini at about £16.99, the XS0G-SN two-pack at about £20.39, and the SC07 smoke and carbon monoxide alarm at about £27.71. Heads that need an SBS50 you buy separately are the XS01-M at about £19.54, the XP0A-MR at about £35.99, and the XS0B-MR three-pack at about £59.99. Kits with the base in the box are the FS31 at about £63.99 and the SD11-MR31 at about £64.59.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One hall or landing

You want one sealed optical alarm for a hall or landing in an existing English home, and you will replace the whole unit if it chirps early. The X-Sense SD11 is listed at about £11.99 with 4.5 from 7,170 reviews and an EN 14604 claim. It has no app and no interlink.

Our recommendation

View offer

Two ceilings, not linked

You want two standalone ceilings covered and you will use the screws if a pad fails. The X-Sense XS0G-SN two-pack is about £20.39, about £10.20 an alarm, with 4.5 from 816 reviews. The alarms do not sound together, and the sensor type is not stated on the listing.

Our recommendation

View offer

A phone alert with the base in the box

You want a linked app system and the hub must arrive in the same carton. The X-Sense FS31 includes three XS01-M heads and the SBS50 at about £63.99. The cells are replaceable CR123A batteries, so it is a poor match where guidance rejects a user-replaceable cell.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about X-Sense smoke detectors

Which X-Sense smoke detector is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick in this set is the X-Sense SD11, score 86, at about £11.99 on 19 October 2026. It is one photoelectric alarm with a sealed lithium cell, an EN 14604 claim, and 4.5 from 7,170 reviews. The listing's quality warranty is five years, not ten, and UK reviews include sealed cells that died at about 2, 2.5 and 4 years. It has no app and no interlink.
How much does an X-Sense smoke detector cost?
On 19 October 2026 these twelve amazon.co.uk shelves ran from about £11.99 to about £72.23. Entry, about £11.99 to £20.39, is a sealed standalone alarm. Mid, about £27.71 to £47.99, is a smoke-and-CO unit, a head without its base, or the HS21 kit. Upper, about £59.99 to £72.23, is a three-pack that still needs the SBS50, a kit with the base, or direct Wi-Fi.
What should you check before you buy an X-Sense smoke detector?
Check three things on the listing. Is the cell sealed, or a replaceable CR123A? Is the SBS50 actually in the box, or only required? Does the page claim EN 14604, rather than a Kitemark number you can see? None of these listings prints a Kitemark. Wi-Fi on these products is 2.4 GHz only, and a phone push is not a siren in the rest of the house. Nothing in this set is a 230 V mains detector.
Is the SBS50 base in the box?
Only on some listings. The FS31 at about £63.99 and the SD11-MR31 at about £64.59 include the SBS50. The XS01-M at about £19.54, the XP0A-MR at about £35.99, and the XS0B-MR three-pack at about £59.99 require the base and do not include it. When the SD11 is enough is set out in standalone or SBS50.
Does an X-Sense alarm meet Scottish or Welsh rules?
Not from the brand name alone. English landlords can use a battery smoke alarm on every living storey, and GOV.UK prefers a sealed cell. Scotland expects interlinked ceiling smoke alarms plus a kitchen heat alarm, with a sealed cell or mains. Wales rented homes need mains interlinked alarms on each storey. Nothing here is a 230 V mains detector. An EN 14604 bullet is not proof that the home complies.
Can you put an X-Sense smoke alarm in the kitchen?
No. Photoelectric smoke heads are for halls and living rooms. Cooking vapour sets them off. London Fire Brigade says use a heat alarm in the kitchen, and screw the alarm rather than glue it. In this set only the HS21 includes a heat alarm, named to react from 54°C to 65°C. Its listing also conflicts on the cell: sealed 10-year bullets beside three CR123A cells.
Which X-Sense listing covers smoke and carbon monoxide?
Three listings in this set do. The SC07 at about £27.71 is standalone, with an LCD in ppm, and it claims EN 14604 and EN 50291. The SC07-WX at about £45.99 joins 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi without a base and does not interlink. The XP0A-MR at about £35.99 speaks English and needs an SBS50 that is not in the box. A wider shelf is in the smoke and CO detector comparison.

Our verdict

The SD11 scores 86, so it is the top pick for one sealed optical ceiling with EN 14604 claimed and 7,170 reviews at about £11.99. Fit stays at 22 because the listing's quality warranty is five years and UK reviews include sealed cells that died well inside ten years. The XS0G-SN two-pack's listing-and-price part is 15, the highest of that part, so it is the best value at about £20.39 for two sealed standalone alarms. That award is not an interlink claim and not a Kitemark. The XS01-M at about £19.54 does not take best value, because the SBS50 is not in the box.

Best overall
X-Sense XS01-M

X-Sense XS01-M

View offer
Best value
X-Sense XS0G-SN

X-Sense XS0G-SN

Highest listing-and-price score that is not the top pick: two sealed standalone alarms at about £20.39.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsPublic UK sources

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to X-Sense smoke detectors

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines captured that day.

  1. GOV.UK — Smoke and carbon monoxide alarms, landlord booklet (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Scottish Government — fire and smoke alarms, where and what to buy (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service — smoke and heat alarms (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. legislation.gov.uk — Wales, WSI 2022/6 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Northern Ireland Department for Communities — smoke, heat and carbon monoxide alarms (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. London Fire Brigade — smoke alarms and heat alarms (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Fire Kills — detect (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. X-Sense SD11 user manual (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines from 19 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.