Existing bell wiring
You already have compatible low-voltage bell wiring and you want the doorbell to stay powered without taking it indoors to charge. The wired Retinal 2K is about £29.99, doorbell only, and it is the top pick.
The best Ring doorbells, compared.
Top pick: Ring Wired Doorbell, Retinal 2K – Highest score at 82, for a wired Retinal 2K doorbell at about £29.99 with 50 UK reviews. It is also the lowest shelf price for a Retinal 2K doorbell in this set. Best value: Ring Battery Doorbell, Retinal 2K – Battery Retinal 2K at about £39.99, with colour night vision in the bullets and 50 UK reviews that are not shared with the Plus bundles. Updated 22 October 2026.
A video doorbell is a Wi-Fi camera with a button at a UK front door, so you can see a visitor and talk before you open. Battery units suit a door with no bell wires. Wired units take low-voltage power from the existing bell circuit, and that install often bypasses the old mechanical chime. A plug-in adaptor uses a nearby socket. Tell the boxes apart by power, then by the pack. A built-in battery means the whole unit comes indoors to charge. A quick-release pack lets the doorbell stay on the wall. A 2K picture claim is not the older 1536p line, and zoom here is digital. A chime or a second camera is a different purchase from the doorbell alone. Live alerts, live view and two-way talk can work without a paid plan. Stored clips need one. You want a stable 2.4 GHz link, a view of your own step, and a tight motion zone. If the lens sees a pavement or a neighbour, use a real reason, no more footage than you need, and a sign.
A video doorbell is a Wi-Fi camera with a button at a UK front door, so you can see a visitor and talk before you open. Battery units suit a door with no bell wires.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
How will you power it?
The Ring Wired Doorbell at about £29.99 takes power from the home electricity, so the first 50 UK reviews describe a picture that stays on without a battery swap. Reviewers who already owned a wired Ring often call the Retinal 2K view clearer, including at night, and taller, so a visitor's head and a parcel on the step both stay in frame. The listing claims up to 6x enhanced zoom, Live View, two-way talk, privacy zones, and Alexa, with saved clips for up to 180 days only on a plan sold separately. The new bracket needs at least one fresh hole against an older Ring, and several people say the body is about twice the size of the unit it replaced. Horizontal coverage is described as slightly narrower, colour night mode is not in the feature bullets, and motion alerts can repeat every few seconds while someone works at the door. There is no amazon.co.uk star line on the stored listing, so this read rests on those 50 reviews and the shelf price, not on a published average.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already have compatible low-voltage bell wiring and you want the doorbell to stay powered without taking it indoors to charge.
Less suitable: You have no bell wires, you need the old screw holes to line up, or you want colour night vision written on the listing.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says wired. No battery is stated. It connects to the home electricity, and the title does not include a plug-in adaptor.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K, with zoom up to 6x. Night vision is not stated in the feature bullets.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the doorbell only. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £29.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This battery doorbell at about £39.99 is the Retinal 2K unit you take off the wall and charge by USB-C, because the pack cannot come out on its own. Across the first 50 UK reviews, people praise the daylight and night picture, fast notifications, and sound clear enough that they do not have to shout. One household chose it so a new door frame did not need a cable, and another reported the battery still high after a few days, with longer Wi-Fi reach than a previous Blink that needed a sync module. Colour night vision is in the bullets, along with up to 6x zoom, privacy zones, and Alexa. The whole doorbell comes indoors to charge, motion can keep firing unless you turn detection down, and the title does not include a chime. Wi-Fi dropped in one install, the zoomed view is called weaker than the wide shot, and the new backplate does not match old screw holes. No star average is printed for this listing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A flat or a new frame with no cable, where you can live with taking the unit indoors to charge.
Less suitable: You want the doorbell to stay on the wall while a spare pack charges, or you expect a chime in the same box.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says battery. The pack is built in, charges by USB-C, and does not come out on its own. Hardwire is not in the feature bullets. One review mentions solar or low-voltage hardwire as a recharge option.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K, with zoom up to 6x. Night vision is colour in low light.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the doorbell and a removal tool. No chime is in the title. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £39.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This listing at about £79.99 is the Retinal 2K Battery Doorbell Plus in Nickel Silver, sold with a white Chime (3rd Gen). The chime plugs into a standard outlet and connects by Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, and it notifies on a press or on motion. Colour night vision, then black and white in darkness, a quick-release pack, Live View, two-way talk, and Alexa are in the bullets. One reviewer lists a back plate, a USB lead, and a removal tool in the box. The review text overlaps the doorbell-only Plus and the indoor-camera bundle, so the 50 comments are not a fresh sample of this bundle. Shared complaints cover new hole spacing, a narrower top and bottom view, Wi-Fi drops, and a spare battery that did not fit. The Ring chime tone is disliked by some, night vision was uncertain on an unlit road without a porch light, and features used in the trial disappeared when the household did not subscribe. You are paying about £10 more than the doorbell-only Plus in this set for the chime, not for a different camera.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You have already chosen the 2K Plus and you want the chime in the same delivery.
Less suitable: You are counting these 50 reviews as proof that is separate from the doorbell-only listing.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says battery, with a quick-release pack. Hardwire is not in the feature bullets.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K, with zoom up to 6x. Night vision is colour in low light, then black and white in darkness.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the Doorbell Plus and a Chime (3rd Gen). Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £79.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
The Retinal 2K Battery Doorbell Plus at about £69.99 is the quick-release model sold here as the doorbell on its own. The bullets promise up to 6x zoom, colour in low light and black and white in darkness, Live View, two-way talk, privacy zones, and Alexa. The first 50 UK reviews praise a two-screw fit, night vision, a wider view than an older Ring, a sharper image than a several-year-old unit, and a slimmer body on a uPVC frame. The same battery shape as the previous generation means a spare can still fit, according to those reviews. Those comments are not a clean sample: many reviewer names also appear on the chime bundle and the indoor-camera bundle, and one review in these notes is about a Ring 2 Pro losing charge. The new mount hole spacing does not match the previous generation, the view is slightly narrower at the top and bottom so parcels can be missed, and the battery cover changed from a Torx screw to a recessed latch. Wi-Fi drops can leave an indoor chime silent. No star line is printed.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want Retinal 2K and a pack you can swap, and you are fitting a fresh bracket rather than reusing old holes.
Less suitable: You need an independent review sample, a chime in the box, or the old screw spacing to match.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says battery, with a quick-release pack. Hardwire is not in the feature bullets. One review reused an existing transformer.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K, with zoom up to 6x. Night vision is colour in low light, then black and white in darkness.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the doorbell only. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £69.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
The Battery Doorbell Plus at about £49.99 is the 1536p HD model with a quick-release pack, not the Retinal 2K Plus that costs more in this set. The first 50 UK reviews talk about a clear picture, quick notifications, and two-way talk from the app, even though two-way talk is not a feature bullet. Reviewers swap the pack with the supplied tool, report life over a month, and keep a spare so the doorbell stays on the wall. The head-to-toe view is the upgrade people name against an older Ring, and parcel and drive alerts come up, with person and package alerts tied to a subscription. Mounting holes do not line up with an older Ring, the subscription sits on top of the shelf price, and one household had repeated Wi-Fi drops that needed several resets a day before the unit was replaced. Alert timing changed after a few months for another reviewer, and fitting took a YouTube video rather than the five minutes in the title. There is no star line on the stored listing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a removable pack and you have checked that 1536p is the picture you are paying for.
Less suitable: You are comparing it with a Retinal 2K title and assuming the word Plus means the same camera.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says battery, with a quick-release pack. Hardwire is only a customer question, and it is not answered in the bullets.
What picture does the listing claim?
1536p HD. Zoom is not stated. Night vision is colour night vision.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the doorbell with a quick-release pack. No chime is in the title. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £49.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
At about £89.98 this is the dearest row in the set: the Retinal 2K Battery Doorbell Plus plus a plug-in 1080p indoor camera. The indoor camera uses mains power, the doorbell keeps the quick-release pack, and both have two-way talk, with an indoor privacy cover and privacy zones on the doorbell. Colour night vision is claimed at the door, then black and white when the scene is nearly dark. The second camera is the reason to consider the bundle if you want that view indoors rather than a Stick Up Cam in the yard. The first 50 UK reviews share names with the doorbell-only Plus and the chime bundle, and the text that is present praises picture, night vision, and the removable pack while repeating hole spacing, Wi-Fi drops, and a spare battery that did not fit. That is not an independent comment on the indoor camera. Saved video for up to 180 days remains a plan sold separately, and a free 30-day trial is in the feature list.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the removable-pack 2K Plus and a mains indoor camera in one basket.
Less suitable: You only need the doorbell, or you are treating the 50 reviews as comments on the indoor camera.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The doorbell is battery, with a quick-release pack. The indoor camera is mains. Hardwire for the doorbell is not in the feature bullets.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K at the door and 1080p indoors. Zoom is up to 6x on the doorbell. Night vision is colour at the door, then black and white.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the Doorbell Plus and an indoor camera. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £89.98. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This bundle at about £59.98 puts a Retinal 2K battery doorbell next to a 1080p indoor camera that plugs into a standard socket. Across 29 UK reviews, people say both devices show up in the app, notifications are quick, and written descriptions of what the camera sees are part of why they kept it. Colour night vision is claimed at the door, with black and white in near darkness, two-way talk on both, an indoor privacy cover, and doorbell privacy zones. The doorbell charges by USB-C after you remove it, and a quick-release pack is not stated. One household charged the battery three times in under two months, face recognition was often wrong, and several reviews are returns, including one that says it was not what they wanted. At this price the second camera is the extra you are buying, but that short battery life is a real limit if the door sees constant motion. No star average is on the stored listing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a door camera and a plug-in indoor camera in one order, and you can remove the doorbell to charge it.
Less suitable: You need a quick-release pack, or you are buying mainly for reliable face names.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The doorbell is battery, with a built-in pack, USB-C charging and a removal tool. The indoor camera is mains. Hardwire is not stated.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K at the door and 1080p indoors. Zoom is up to 6x on the doorbell. Night vision is colour at the door, then black and white.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is a battery doorbell and an indoor camera. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £59.98. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This home bundle at about £59.99 pairs a Retinal 2K battery doorbell with a 1080p Stick Up Cam on its own quick-release pack, aimed at a yard or the vehicles outside rather than a room. The listing says no wiring is needed, both devices have Live View and two-way talk, and motion zones are adjustable alongside privacy zones. The doorbell battery is built in and charges by USB-C, while the Stick Up Cam can sit on a wall, a flat surface, or indoors, with night vision stated for that outdoor camera. Two UK reviews both praise the split: doorbell at the front, camera on the yard, easy to connect, with what they call a good battery and a good picture. Both comments are short, so they do not show winter battery life or how the 1080p camera compares with the 2K door. A chime is not in the box. Saved video for up to 180 days still needs a plan, and the title does name a 30-day trial.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the front door and the drive or yard covered without bell wiring.
Less suitable: You need more than two reviews, or you wanted an indoor plug-in camera instead of a Stick Up Cam.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
Both the doorbell and the outdoor camera are battery. The doorbell pack is built in and charges by USB-C. The Stick Up Cam has a quick-release pack. The listing says no wiring is needed.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K at the door and 1080p on the Stick Up Cam. Zoom is up to 6x on the doorbell. Night vision is stated for the outdoor camera.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is a battery doorbell and a Stick Up Cam. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £59.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This box at about £39.99 pairs the wired Retinal 2K doorbell in Speckled Grey with a white Chime (3rd Gen) that plugs into a wall outlet and links by Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. The doorbell itself is described as taking non-stop power from the home electricity, with up to 6x zoom, Live View, and two-way talk, and the chime sounds on a press or on motion. Two short UK reviews sit on the listing: one calls it a great product, the other says it is ok, and that second reviewer still had to buy a transformer, so the cost kept rising. Night vision is only a customer question, not a feature bullet, and privacy zones are not stated. The chime is why this shelf price matches the plug-in-adaptor listing, but the transformer is not treated as included. No star line is printed.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already know the bell circuit can feed a wired Ring and you want the indoor chime in the same order.
Less suitable: You have not checked the transformer, or you wanted the plug-in adaptor instead of a chime.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says wired. No battery is stated. It connects to the home electricity, and no plug-in adaptor is named.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K, with zoom up to 6x. Night vision is only a customer question, not a feature bullet.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the doorbell and a Chime (3rd Gen). Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £39.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This box at about £59.99 is the 1536p Battery Doorbell Plus with a quick-release pack and a Chime (3rd Gen), not a Retinal 2K camera. The title says it is easy to install in five minutes, and the bullets add colour night vision, privacy zones, Quick Replies, and person and package alerts only with a subscription. Sixteen UK reviews include short praise that it was easy, fair value, and better than a previous motion doorbell. The complaints are specific: a spare battery is treated as essential, Wi-Fi failed after about six months and then worked for a few days after a weekly factory reset, and the battery cover was hard to remove and hard to refit. Another reviewer reports poor pictures and an unstable connection despite a strong Wi-Fi signal. A 30-day trial is not named on this listing. The chime is the extra versus the Plus alone at about £49.99, but those reliability notes are enough to treat this as a 1536p bundle with a known fault pattern, not as a quieter version of the 2K Plus.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a removable pack and a chime in one box, and you have already accepted 1536p HD.
Less suitable: You are replacing a unit that already drops Wi-Fi, or you thought Plus meant Retinal 2K.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says battery, with a quick-release pack. Hardwire is only a customer question.
What picture does the listing claim?
1536p HD. Zoom is not stated. Night vision is colour night vision.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the Doorbell Plus and a Chime (3rd Gen). Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £59.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This wired Retinal 2K doorbell at about £39.99 is powered from a standard socket by the plug-in adaptor in the box, so you are not joining the old bell transformer. The feature list matches the cheaper wired doorbell on zoom, Live View, two-way talk, privacy zones, and Alexa, and saved video is still a subscription sold separately. The stored listing holds one UK review, and that review only says Excellent, with no complaint and no detail on picture, chime, or night view. Night vision is not stated in the bullets. A single short comment cannot show whether the adaptor lead reaches a typical UK hallway socket or how the unit behaves after a month. Treat the gap of about £10 over the doorbell-only wired listing as the price of that adaptor, not as proof of a better camera.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You have a nearby indoor socket and you do not want to open the bell transformer.
Less suitable: You need a review sample before you buy, or you already have compatible bell wiring and do not want to pay for the adaptor.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says wired, with a plug-in adaptor. No battery is stated. Power comes from a standard socket via the included adaptor.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K, with zoom up to 6x. Night vision is not stated in the feature bullets.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is the doorbell and a plug-in adaptor. Cloud history is a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £39.99. No star rating is printed for this listing.
This bundle at about £59.98 is the newest-gen battery doorbell, identified by one reviewer as the slimmer base model, sold with an Indoor Camera (2nd Gen). The doorbell claims Retinal 2K, up to 6x zoom, Live View, two-way talk, motion alerts, privacy zones, and Alexa, and the built-in pack charges by USB-C because it cannot be removed on its own. Indoor resolution is not in the bullets, night vision is only a customer question, and a 30-day trial is not named on this listing. Seven UK reviews is a thin sample: praise covers the slimmer body, the removal tool, and a sense that it is better than previous versions. The same notes record old screw holes left visible, a weak connection through distance or thick stone walls, a subscription that surprised the buyer, a doorbell that would not click into the backplate, and blurry footage that was returned. Saved clips still run to 180 days only with a plan sold separately.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the slimmer battery doorbell and an indoor camera, and you can test the Wi-Fi path through your walls before the return window closes.
Less suitable: You need a stated indoor resolution, a large review sample, or a quick-release pack.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this doorbell powered?
The listing says battery doorbell. The pack is built in, charges by USB-C, and does not come out on its own. Hardwire is not stated.
What picture does the listing claim?
Retinal 2K on the doorbell. Indoor resolution is not stated. Zoom is up to 6x. Night vision is only a customer question.
What else is in the box, and is video history included?
The box is a battery doorbell and an indoor camera. Cloud history is up to 180 days with a subscription, sold separately. The shelf price is about £59.98. No star rating is printed for this listing.
Scoring note dated 21 October 2026. This is not a lab test. Scores use the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in this set and the UK review notes already on those rows. No star average is printed, so none is shown. The note scores review sample, sentiment, stated spec and shelf value out of 23, 23, 24 and 19. Those blocks are shown here as 26, 26, 27 and 21 so the weights sum to 100. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the next row with a large independent UK sample. Both badges are not stacked on one ASIN.
Review sample
26%How many UK reviews are in the notes, and whether the names are shared with another ASIN. One to seven reviews already sit in this block, with a further cut when the only comments are Excellent or a return. Three Retinal 2K Plus rows share reviewer names, so that sample is capped.
Sentiment
26%Praise set against repeated faults: Wi-Fi loss, returns, a battery cover, and blurry footage. A fault reviewers describe as ongoing is a deduction. It is not a reason to invent a failure rate.
Stated spec
27%Power method, video line, night vision, zoom, and what the box contains. A wired listing with no colour night vision in the bullets loses a small spec point. That is a missing claim, not a claim that night vision is absent.
Shelf value
21%Shelf price against the box: doorbell only, a chime, an adaptor, or a second camera. A low price does not win this block when the box is a different purchase from the doorbell alone.
You are choosing a Ring doorbell for a UK front door: battery or wired, a built-in pack or a quick-release pack, and Retinal 2K or the older 1536p line. These twelve amazon.co.uk listings are the rows on this page. Shelf prices run from about £29.99 to about £89.98. The score uses the review sample, sentiment, the stated spec and the shelf price. It is not a lab test, and these files have no star average. Live View works without a plan. Stored clips do not.
A Ring doorbell in this UK set is a Wi-Fi door camera with a button, two-way talk and motion alerts. It runs on a battery or on wiring, and some boxes add a chime or a second camera. Split the boxes by power, then by a built-in battery or a quick-release pack, then by a Retinal 2K claim versus the older 1536p line. Ring's own list prices are higher than these amazon.co.uk files, which run from about £29.99 to about £89.98. Live alerts, Live View and two-way talk work without a plan.

The 1536p Plus line is a different picture from Retinal 2K. A title that says Plus or newest generation does not settle it. Quote the listing. The 6x zoom is digital, and IPX on the base page is not IP65.
Wired 2K bypasses the old chime. The base battery comes off the wall for USB-C. Only the Plus has a quick-release pack. A wide motion zone is a poor way to judge battery life.
The Retinal 2K Plus doorbell, the chime bundle and the indoor-camera bundle share reviewer names. They are not three independent samples. A low shelf price is still hardware only. The plan sits on top.
Power comes first. A battery suits a door with no bell wires. Wired Doorbell 2K is stated for 8–24 V AC at 8–40 VA, and Ring says the old chime is then bypassed. The plug-in adaptor uses a UK socket. Do not use a third-party DC supply. Optional trickle charge on a battery model is about 8–24 V AC at about 5–40 VA. Isolate the circuit before you touch the transformer, and call an electrician if you cannot read VA. The pack is the next split.
A Chime (3rd Gen), an indoor camera or a Stick Up Cam is a different purchase from the doorbell alone. Echo announcements are separate again. Entry prices in this set, about £30 to £40, are the wired 2K, the base battery, and wired boxes with an adaptor or a chime. Mid prices, about £50 to £70, cover the 1536p Plus, the camera bundles and the 2K Plus alone. The upper end of this set, about £80 to £90, is the 2K Plus with a chime or with an indoor camera.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You already have compatible low-voltage bell wiring and you want the doorbell to stay powered without taking it indoors to charge. The wired Retinal 2K is about £29.99, doorbell only, and it is the top pick.
Renters and anyone protecting a new door frame want a screw-on battery unit. The battery Retinal 2K is about £39.99, with colour night vision in the bullets and no chime in the box.
A household adding a second camera should price Multi, not a second Solo, and aim that camera as carefully as the doorbell. This bundle is the Retinal 2K battery doorbell plus a plug-in 1080p indoor camera, about £59.98.
The top pick is the Ring Wired Doorbell, Retinal 2K, at about £29.99. It scores 82, the highest in this set, from 50 UK reviews, a wired Retinal 2K listing, and the lowest shelf price for a Retinal 2K doorbell here. Best value is the Ring Battery Doorbell, Retinal 2K, at about £39.99. It has colour night vision in the bullets and 50 reviews that are not copied across the Plus bundles. The gap of about £10 is the price of having no bell wires. It is a weaker buy if you need a chime in the box or a pack that comes off on its own. Three Retinal 2K Plus listings share reviewer names, so they are not three independent samples. These files have no star average, and this is not a lab test.

Ring Wired Doorbell, Retinal 2K
Highest score at 82, for a wired Retinal 2K doorbell at about £29.99 with 50 UK reviews. It is also the lowest shelf price for a Retinal 2K doorbell in this set.

Ring Battery Doorbell, Retinal 2K
Battery Retinal 2K at about £39.99, with colour night vision in the bullets and 50 UK reviews that are not shared with the Plus bundles.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the digest first, then the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. The scoring note is dated 21 October 2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices are the GBP shelf lines stored for this set. No amazon.co.uk star average is printed for these listings. This is not a laboratory test.