Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Bug finder comparison 2026

The best Bug finders, compared.

Top pick: XiflLife S505 Best value: HawkSpy K18 – About £40.92 for a listed lens check, knob, GS probe, vibration alert, and a cable in the box. Updated October 2026.

You want a handheld bug finder for a hidden camera, a wireless transmitter, or a magnet-mounted tracker, in a hotel room, a holiday let, or a car you are allowed to inspect. A gigahertz span on a bullet is not the quality test. Look for a lens check, a radio-strength mode with a sensitivity control, and a magnetic probe, and for reviews that use those modes without the alarm sounding on every router. A quiet room is not proof the room is clear, because a camera that only writes to a card can sit outside one radio pass. Modes, price bands, and the UK legal line are in the [bug finder buying guide](/hub/electronic-surveillance/bug-finder/sub/bug-finder-buying-guide). These scores read the listings and the review notes. A bug finder is a handheld receiver sold on amazon.co.uk. It is not a spectrum analyser, and it is not a specialist counter-surveillance receiver.

You want a handheld bug finder for a hidden camera, a wireless transmitter, or a magnet-mounted tracker, in a hotel room, a holiday let, or a car you are allowed to inspect.

XiflLife S505

Best overall

XiflLife S505
4.4/10∼ £21

42 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best Bug finders compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
XiflLife S505
AOBOCAM Hcd-001
Souhpyh S502
SFILOFEREE T19
KEULGOUL ZDS616
SIKVIO K18
JMDHKK M8000
FOWARD GAUSS BK19
JMDHKK K-68
Best value
HawkSpy K18
Mystery Code M18
JMDHKK K20
4.4/10
7.6/10
6.7/10
7.8/10
4.1/10
8.6/10
6.8/10
5.9/10
6.9/10
8.3/10
5.5/10
6.9/10
∼ £21
∼ £25
∼ £26
∼ £30
∼ £106
∼ £45
∼ £180
∼ £66
∼ £77
∼ £41
∼ £10
∼ £47
5.0(5)
4.6(50)
4.6(21)
4.5(63)
4.4(12)
4.2(1,229)
4.0(865)
4.0(262)
3.8(958)
3.8(58)
3.8(15)
3.7(420)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What do you need written on the listing?

The best Bug finders in detail

XiflLife S505

Rank 1

XiflLife S505

∼£21

Our view

The XiflLife S505 is listed at £20.99 and 35 g, with a line of 5.0 from 5 reviews. The review notes contain four texts, all dated 11 September 2026, and none of those four describes a fault, a false alarm, or a missed device. On paper the bullets offer an infrared window, sound, vibration, or a flashing light, five sensitivity levels, a magnetic mode, and a 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz claim. The box cell lists an instruction manual only, while a bullet claims USB-C charging and a 300 mAh battery, and the batteries-required cell says No. Those four texts do mention a hotel-room window check and a car magnet pass, but a same-day cluster of five is not a sample you can rank against 1,229 reviews. Treat the 5.0 as the listing line, not as evidence that this is the strongest detector in the set.

Pros

  • 35 g, with sound, vibration, or a flashing light claimed
  • Infrared window and five sensitivity levels on the bullets
  • Four texts mention a hotel window check and a car magnet pass
  • 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz is stated as a bullet only

Cons

  • 5.0 from 5 reviews, with four texts all dated 11 September 2026
  • None of those four describes a fault
  • Box cell lists an instruction manual only
  • USB-C and 300 mAh are bullets, while batteries-required says No

Best for: You are comparing the feature bullets at £20.99 and you will ignore the 5.0 until more reviews exist.

Less suitable: You want a score based on a large amazon.co.uk review file, or a charging cable named in the box cell.

Specifications

Model
XiflLife S505
Brand
XiflLife
Price
∼£21
Customer rating
5.0/5(5)
Lens check
Infrared window
Vibration alert
Yes
Sensitivity
Five levels
Magnetic probe
Claimed
Sound alert
Yes
Charging
USB-C claimed
Stated frequency
1 MHz–6.5 GHz
Weight
35 g
In the box
Manual only

Common questions

How many reviews describe the XiflLife S505?

The listing line says 5.0 from 5 reviews. The notes contain four review texts, all dated 11 September 2026. None of those four describes a fault.

Does the S505 include a charging cable?

The box cell lists an instruction manual only. A bullet claims USB-C charging and a 300 mAh battery. The batteries-required cell says No.

AOBOCAM Hcd-001

Rank 2

AOBOCAM Hcd-001

∼£25

Our view

The AOBOCAM Hcd-001 is a 70 g pocket unit at £24.99, with 4.6 from 50 reviews and dimensions of 20 x 20 x 50 mm. Bullets claim LED, vibration, and beep alerts, a radio mode, a magnetic mode, and USB-C charging. Reviews from hotels and rented flats say Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, routers, and smart TVs trip the radio alert until you lower the sensitivity. The included-components cell says mini camera, which fights the title and the reviews that describe a detector. The lens row does not state a viewfinder, so a camera that is off or writing to a card is outside what this listing shows. One review talks about sturdy straps, which does not match a detector and should not be read as a feature. It is a light travel stick for radio and vibration, with the lens check left off the page.

Pros

  • 70 g, small enough for a wash bag in the reviews
  • LED, vibration, and beep alerts claimed
  • Hotel use described, with sensitivity you can lower
  • USB-C charging claimed; one review still showed charge after several nights

Cons

  • Lens check is not stated
  • Included-components cell says mini camera
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, routers, and smart TVs cause false alarms until sensitivity is lowered
  • One review discusses straps, which does not match this detector

Best for: You want a light radio stick with vibration for a hotel bag and you already accept there is no lens row.

Less suitable: You need a viewfinder for a camera that may be off, or you want a components line that says detector.

Specifications

Model
AOBOCAM Hcd-001
Brand
AOBOCAM
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.6/5(50)
Vibration alert
Yes
Sensitivity
Adjustable
Magnetic probe
Claimed
Sound alert
Yes
Charging
USB-C claimed
Weight
70 g
In the box
Mini camera cell

Common questions

Why does the AOBOCAM box list say mini camera?

The included-components cell says mini camera. The title, the bullets, and the reviews describe a detector, not a camera you record with.

Does the AOBOCAM alarm on hotel Wi-Fi?

Reviews say Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, routers, and smart TVs trip the radio alert until you lower the sensitivity. The lens row does not state a viewfinder.

Souhpyh S502

Rank 3

Souhpyh S502

∼£26

Our view

The Souhpyh S502 is listed at £25.99, with 4.6 from 21 reviews, and the table weight is 90 g while a bullet says 1.06 oz, so those two masses are not the same figure. The listing claims radio, a red-light lens mode, magnetic detection, sound and vibration alerts, an 800 mAh cell, and a 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz span that remains a bullet. The box lists a USB-C charging cable, the detector, and a manual, and a review says the English leaflet print is very small. Most of the twenty review texts are short praise from people planning hotels, a cruise, or a holiday. One reviewer still had not worked out the controls, and the comparison row does not state a sensitivity control. Twenty-one reviews are enough to see the box contents, and too few to treat 4.6 as a settled picture of missed cameras.

Pros

  • Sound and vibration alerts claimed, with a USB-C cable in the box
  • Red-light lens mode and magnetic detection claimed
  • English manual; a home test mentioned Wi-Fi and magnetic modes
  • Bought for hotels and holidays in the short reviews

Cons

  • 4.6 from 21 reviews, with thin fault detail
  • Table weight 90 g against a bullet of 1.06 oz
  • Sensitivity control is not stated
  • Leaflet print called very small, and one buyer could not work out the controls

Best for: You want vibration and a cable under £30 and you will not treat 21 reviews as a large sample.

Less suitable: You need a stated sensitivity knob, or you want one agreed weight on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Souhpyh S502
Brand
Souhpyh
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.6/5(21)
Lens check
Red light claimed
Vibration alert
Yes
Magnetic probe
Yes
Sound alert
Yes
Charging
USB-C cable
Stated frequency
1 MHz–6.5 GHz
In the box
Cable and manual

Common questions

What does the S502 box include?

The box list is a charging cable, the detector, and an instruction manual. A review says the instructions are in English and that the leaflet print is very small.

Which weight should you use for the S502?

The spec table says 90 g. A bullet says 1.06 oz. Both are copied from the listing. They are not the same figure, so this table leaves the weight blank.

SFILOFEREE T19

Rank 4

SFILOFEREE T19

∼£30

Our view

The SFILOFEREE T19 is listed at £29.99 and 68 g, with 4.5 from 63 reviews. The listing gives six sensitivity levels, an infrared LED lens mode, a claimed magnetic sensor, an extendable antenna, and a box of the detector plus a charging cable. Reviewers who bought it for hotels and holiday lets say it detected their own cameras and phones, and that you can charge it from a phone charger. Radio mode false-beeps beside a phone or Wi-Fi unless you lower the sensitivity. One unit would not switch off, alarmed around LEDs, and detected nothing else. Vibration is not stated on the comparison row, so a silent night alert is not something this file promises. At this price you get a named lens mode and a cable, with a shut-off complaint you should treat as real even though it is a single review.

Pros

  • Six sensitivity levels and an infrared lens mode on the listing
  • Charging cable in the box; a review charges it from a phone charger
  • 68 g, bought for hotels and holiday lets in the reviews
  • Reviewers report it detecting their own cameras and phones

Cons

  • False beeps beside a phone or Wi-Fi until sensitivity is lowered
  • One unit would not switch off and alarmed around LEDs
  • Vibration is not stated on the listing
  • Described in one review as a cheap hotel check, not a lab instrument

Best for: You want a lens mode and a cable under £30, and you will turn the sensitivity down near Wi-Fi.

Less suitable: You need a stated vibration alert, or a unit that failed to switch off is a deal-breaker.

Specifications

Model
SFILOFEREE T19
Brand
SFILOFEREE
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.5/5(63)
Lens check
Infrared lens mode
Sensitivity
Six levels
Magnetic probe
Sensor claimed
Sound alert
Yes
Charging
Cable
Weight
68 g
In the box
Detector, cable

Common questions

What is in the T19 box?

The box list is the camera detector and a charging cable. A review says it can be charged from a phone charger. A BS 1363 plug is not listed as a separate mains charger.

Why does the T19 beep near a router?

Reviews say radio mode false-beeps beside a phone or Wi-Fi unless you lower the sensitivity. One unit would not switch off and alarmed around LEDs.

KEULGOUL ZDS616

Rank 5

KEULGOUL ZDS616

∼£106

Our view

The KEULGOUL ZDS616 is listed at £105.89 with 4.4 from 12 reviews, and only eight review texts are on file. The spec table says 190 g and a bullet says 50 g, so the weight is not one figure you can quote. Radio and magnetic sensing are claimed, and the lens row does not state a viewfinder. The box cell lists the host machine only, while a review mentions USB-C charging that is not in that cell. One reviewer filmed it reacting to a camera in use; another review is only the word Rubbish, with no fault named. Eight texts are too thin to show a repeated defect, and they are also too thin to treat 4.4 as a settled result at this price. A higher shelf price in this set still does not state a lens check.

Pros

  • Radio and magnetic sensing claimed, and the connectivity cell says no app
  • One reviewer filmed a reaction to a camera in use
  • A review mentions USB-C charging on a holiday-let trip
  • Listed dimensions 12.7 x 2.5 x 5.1 cm

Cons

  • 4.4 from 12 reviews, with only eight texts and one that says only Rubbish
  • Lens check is not stated
  • Table weight 190 g against a bullet of 50 g
  • Box cell lists the host machine only, at £105.89

Best for: You are checking a no-app radio and magnetic claim and you will not pay £105.89 on twelve reviews alone.

Less suitable: You need a lens window, one agreed weight, or a box line that names the cable and the probe.

Specifications

Model
KEULGOUL ZDS616
Brand
KEULGOUL
Price
∼£106
Customer rating
4.4/5(12)
Magnetic probe
Claimed
In the box
Host machine

Common questions

How much does the ZDS616 weigh?

The spec table says 190 g. A bullet says 50 g. Both figures are in the listing. They are not reconciled, so this table leaves the weight blank.

Does the ZDS616 need an app?

The connectivity cell says no app or wireless connection is required. The lens row does not state a viewfinder.

SIKVIO K18

Rank 6

SIKVIO K18

∼£45

Our view

The SIKVIO K18 is listed at £44.99 and 150 g, with 4.2 from 1,229 reviews on amazon.co.uk, the largest review count in this set. A bullet states 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz for wireless audio and video, which is a listing claim, not a measured range. Reviewers describe a viewfinder that showed a camera from a useful distance, a sensitivity potentiometer, and home tests on phones, Wi-Fi, a doorbell camera, and a games controller. One reviewer reports a useful pass after Wi-Fi was off and the phone was in flight mode, and a magnetic check on a car. The listing does not state a vibration alert, and a review describes a loud beep judged to be a false reading, after which a refund was arranged. Instructions are called faffy, and ordinary Wi-Fi also sets it off, which is easy to misread as a hidden transmitter. It is the top pick here when you want that review volume and a viewfinder people have written about, and a poor fit if a night check has to stay silent.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 1,229 reviews, the largest file in this set
  • Viewfinder described in reviews, including a camera from a useful distance
  • Sensitivity potentiometer on the listing
  • Reviewers used it for holiday-let checks and a car interior
  • No repeated will-not-charge pattern in the fifty texts sampled

Cons

  • Vibration alert is not stated on the listing
  • Loud false beep, with a refund arranged in one review
  • Alarms on ordinary Wi-Fi, a doorbell camera, and phones
  • The 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz line is a bullet, not a measured result

Best for: You want the travel detector with the largest amazon.co.uk review file and a viewfinder reviewers describe.

Less suitable: You need vibration written on the listing, or a loud false beep is unacceptable.

Specifications

Model
SIKVIO K18
Brand
SIKVIO
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,229)
Lens check
Viewfinder in reviews
Sensitivity
Potentiometer
Magnetic probe
Car check claimed
Sound alert
Yes
Stated frequency
1 MHz–6.5 GHz
Weight
150 g

Common questions

What frequency does the SIKVIO K18 claim?

A bullet states 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz for wireless audio and video. That span is a listing claim. It is not a measured result, and it is not a detection distance.

Is the SIKVIO K18 quiet?

A review describes a loud beep and false readings, and says a refund was arranged. Other reviews do not describe a silent mode. Vibration is not stated on the listing.

JMDHKK M8000

Rank 7

JMDHKK M8000

∼£180

Our view

The JMDHKK M8000 is the dearest unit in this set at £179.98, with 4.0 from 865 reviews and a listed weight of 218 g. The box names an antenna, an optical camera finder, a GS probe, the main unit, and a USB charging cable, not a BS 1363 plug. Reviewers describe radio checks in hotels, offices, and a car, and say the camera finder works once you learn the reflection. A review says the magnet detector only responds when you get close to the magnet, and the listing gives no distance. One box arrived without a battery charger, and another reviewer says advertised items were faulty. The comparison rows do not state a sound alert, a vibration alert, or a sensitivity control. Paying nearly £180 does not add a frequency readout the cheaper K18 files also lack.

Pros

  • 4.0 from 865 reviews
  • Optical camera finder listed in the box
  • Radio checks in hotels, offices, and a car described as sensitive
  • Several reviewers praise short instructions and customer support

Cons

  • £179.98, the highest shelf price in this set
  • Magnet detector only when you get close, with no distance stated
  • One review: battery charger missing from the box
  • Sound, vibration, and sensitivity are not stated

Best for: You specifically want the M8000’s optical finder and you have already accepted the £179.98 line.

Less suitable: You want a night vibration mode, a stated sensitivity control, or a lower price with a larger or similar review file.

Specifications

Model
JMDHKK M8000
Brand
JMDHKK
Price
∼£180
Customer rating
4.0/5(865)
Lens check
Optical finder
Magnetic probe
Close only
Charging
USB cable
Weight
218 g
In the box
Finder and probe

Common questions

Is a charger in the M8000 box?

The box list includes a USB charging cable, not a BS 1363 plug. One review says the battery charger was missing.

How close does the M8000 magnet check need to be?

A review says the magnet detector works, but only when you get close to the magnet. The listing does not give a distance.

FOWARD GAUSS BK19

Rank 8

FOWARD GAUSS BK19

∼£66

Our view

The FOWARD GAUSS BK19 is listed at £65.99 and 160 g, with 4.0 from 262 reviews. The model-name cell says BK19 and the model-number cell says K9Jia. Bullets claim 10 sensitivity levels and up to 5 hours of continuous use, and the box cell says charger. A review reports a lens reflection on a Blink camera and radio activity, and several buyers mention hotels. One review says the unit will not hold a charge and calls the purchase a waste of about £70, and another says the torch does not work. The magnetic-probe row does not state a probe. Hit-and-miss detection shows up in the texts, so the 5-hour line is a claim you should not budget a trip around until the cell has held a charge in your own unit.

Pros

  • 4.0 from 262 reviews
  • 10 sensitivity levels and a charger claimed on the listing
  • A review reports a lens reflection on a Blink camera
  • Compact size praised for a bag, with hotel use in the texts

Cons

  • A review says it will not hold a charge
  • Torch or light failed in a review
  • Model number K9Jia against the name BK19
  • Magnetic probe is not stated, and detection is called hit and miss

Best for: You want a mid-price stick with a stated charger and you will test the battery on day one.

Less suitable: You need a magnetic probe on the listing, or a battery complaint at about £70 is enough to skip it.

Specifications

Model
FOWARD GAUSS BK19
Brand
FOWARD GAUSS
Price
∼£66
Customer rating
4.0/5(262)
Lens check
Blink lens in review
Sensitivity
10 levels
Charging
Charger listed
Weight
160 g
In the box
Charger

Common questions

Will the FOWARD GAUSS BK19 hold a charge?

The listing claims up to 5 hours of continuous use and lists a charger. One review says the unit will not hold a charge and calls the purchase a waste of about £70.

What is the model number of the BK19?

The model-name cell says BK19. The model-number cell says K9Jia. Both are in the same listing.

JMDHKK K-68

Rank 9

JMDHKK K-68

∼£77

Our view

The JMDHKK K-68 is listed at £76.99 and 249 g, with 3.8 from 958 reviews, the second-largest count in this set. The frequency row states 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz, which is the listing text and not a measured result, and it is a narrower claim than the 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz bullets on other pages. Reviewers say it can show a radio signal, a magnetic source, and a mini-camera lens in a home test, and some recommend it for travel after a learning period. The same file says sensitivity is hard to set: the alarm is nothing or everything, and on a test tracker it sounded only when the detector touched the device. Instructions are called dire. The item-count cell says 35, which does not match a single detector, so that count is not a pack size you can buy against. A large review file here describes a unit that is awkward to tune, which is why it sits below the K18 listings despite 958 reviews.

Pros

  • 3.8 from 958 reviews, the second-largest file in this set
  • Home tests mention radio, a magnetic source, and a mini-camera lens
  • Some travellers recommend it after a learning period
  • Frequency row states 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz as listing text

Cons

  • Sensitivity described as nothing or everything
  • Alarm only when the detector touched a test tracker, in one review
  • Instructions called dire
  • Item-count cell says 35, which is not a single-detector pack

Best for: You want a heavily reviewed JMDHKK body and you are willing to spend time learning the control.

Less suitable: You want a knob reviewers can set in the middle, or you are paying £76.99 for a cleaner listing.

Specifications

Model
JMDHKK K-68
Brand
JMDHKK
Price
∼£77
Customer rating
3.8/5(958)
Lens check
Lens in a review
Sensitivity
Hard to set
Magnetic probe
Yes
Sound alert
Yes
Stated frequency
2.4 and 5.8 GHz
Weight
249 g

Common questions

Which bands does the K-68 listing state?

The frequency-bands row states 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz. That is the listing text. It is not a measured result, and it is not a detection distance.

Is the K-68 sold as a 35-piece set?

The item-count and unit-count cells both say 35. That does not match a single detector, so the count is not a pack size you can buy against.

HawkSpy K18

Rank 10

HawkSpy K18

∼£41

Our view

The HawkSpy K18 is a 136 g handheld at £40.92 on amazon.co.uk, with 3.8 from 58 reviews, and the listing names a sensitivity knob, sound and vibration alarms, an infrared viewfinder, and a GS magnetic probe. Reviewers who checked a quiet room at night use the vibration alert, and more than one report the magnetic mode on a vehicle. The box lists a charging cable, the probe, the main unit, an RF antenna, and a manual, and it does not list a BS 1363 mains charger. A recurring complaint is that touching or moving the antenna sets the alarm off, and the beep is described as loud. One review says an app is required, while others describe switching it on and turning the knob with no app. The magnetic probe did nothing against a fridge magnet in one home test, and another reviewer did not pick up a tracker’s radio. You get the quiet alert written on the listing, with a review file that is much smaller than the SIKVIO K18’s 1,229.

Pros

  • Sensitivity knob plus sound and vibration on the listing
  • Infrared viewfinder; reviewers report a red reflection on some lenses
  • Magnetic mode used on a vehicle in more than one review
  • Charging cable, GS probe, antenna, and manual listed in the box
  • 136 g, described as small enough for a suitcase

Cons

  • Alarm when the antenna is touched or the unit is moved
  • Loud beep, and Wi-Fi or a laptop can trip the radio alert
  • Magnetic probe failed a fridge-magnet test in one review
  • 58 reviews, and reviewers disagree on whether an app is required

Best for: You want a listed vibration alert for a night check and can live with a 58-review file.

Less suitable: You need the largest review sample in this set, or the antenna must not alarm when you touch it.

Specifications

Model
HawkSpy K18
Brand
HawkSpy
Price
∼£41
Customer rating
3.8/5(58)
Lens check
Infrared viewfinder
Vibration alert
Yes
Sensitivity
Knob
Magnetic probe
GS probe
Sound alert
Yes
Charging
Cable, no plug
Weight
136 g
In the box
Cable and probe

Common questions

Does the HawkSpy K18 include a mains charger?

The listed box is a charging cable, a GS probe, the main unit, an RF antenna, and a manual. A BS 1363 mains charger is not listed.

Can the HawkSpy K18 alert without a beep?

The listing states sound and vibration alarms. Reviewers use vibration for a quiet room. Others say the beep is loud and that touching the antenna sets the alarm off.

Does the HawkSpy K18 need an app?

One review says an app is required. Other reviews describe switching it on and turning a sensitivity knob, with no app.

Mystery Code M18

Rank 11

Mystery Code M18

∼£10

Our view

The Mystery Code M18 is the cheapest listing in this set at £9.99 and 130 g, with a line of 3.8 from 15 reviews. The review notes contain three texts, all dated 21 October 2025, and none of those three describes a fault, a false alarm, or a missed device. The listing claims an infrared check, radio, a magnetic signal, a silent mode and a beep mode. A bullet says to turn off your own phone, router, and other wireless devices before a check, to reduce interference. The frequency line is written 1-6.5GHZ, without a clear lower unit, and a bullet claims 25 hours after a 1-hour charge. The box contents are not stated. Three same-day texts under a 15-review line are not a sample that shows how this stick behaves next to a UK router, so £9.99 is a low shelf price with almost no failure mode on the page.

Pros

  • £9.99, the lowest shelf price in this set
  • Silent mode and beep mode claimed
  • A bullet says to switch off your own phone and router to cut interference
  • Three short reviews call it compact for hotels

Cons

  • Only three review texts, all dated 21 October 2025, under a 15-review line
  • None of those three describes a fault or a false alarm
  • Frequency written 1-6.5GHZ, and box contents are unstated
  • A 25-hour claim is a bullet, not a measured runtime

Best for: You want the lowest price in this table and you will not treat three same-day texts as a test.

Less suitable: You need a review file that describes false alarms, or a frequency line with a clear unit.

Specifications

Model
Mystery Code M18
Brand
Mystery Code
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
3.8/5(15)
Lens check
Infrared claimed
Sensitivity
Claimed
Magnetic probe
Claimed
Sound alert
Yes
Weight
130 g

Common questions

How many M18 reviews are in the notes?

The listing line says 3.8 from 15 reviews. The notes have three review texts, all dated 21 October 2025. None of those three describes a fault.

Does the M18 listing mention interference from your own phone?

A bullet says turn off your phone, router, and other wireless devices before a check, to reduce interference. It also offers a silent mode and a beep mode. Box contents are not stated.

JMDHKK K20

Rank 12

JMDHKK K20

∼£47

Our view

The JMDHKK K20 is listed at £46.99 and 181 g, with 3.7 from 420 reviews. The listing describes a flashing red light and an optical filter for a lens check, plus radio and a magnetic mode, and a 500 mAh cell, while the box cell lists the main unit only. Reviewers use it for hotel rooms, and one calls the camera finder nearly perfect while disliking the magnet range. A detailed review says magnet detection is limited to a few centimetres, short enough that you will usually already see the magnet. Several reviews say the unit only makes noise, that GPS mode does not work, or that it beeps where there is no electronics. The colour cell reads as a product slogan rather than a colour. Vibration and a sensitivity control are not stated, so a quiet, tunable night pass is not what this page documents.

Pros

  • 3.7 from 420 reviews, with hotel-room use in the texts
  • Red-light lens filter; one reviewer calls the camera finder nearly perfect
  • 500 mAh cell listed
  • Packaging and a solid feel praised

Cons

  • Magnet range described as a few centimetres, often already visible
  • Reviews of units that only make noise, including a refund
  • GPS mode called not working
  • Colour cell is not a colour, and the box cell lists the main unit only

Best for: You want a red-light lens filter with a large review file and you will hold a magnet probe against the surface.

Less suitable: You expect a magnet check from the driver’s seat, or you need vibration and a stated sensitivity control.

Specifications

Model
JMDHKK K20
Brand
JMDHKK
Price
∼£47
Customer rating
3.7/5(420)
Lens check
Red-light filter
Magnetic probe
Few centimetres
Sound alert
Yes
Charging
500 mAh cell
Weight
181 g
In the box
Main unit

Common questions

What colour is the JMDHKK K20?

The colour cell does not name a colour. It repeats a product slogan, so the colour is not stated on that row.

Does the K20 magnet check work from the driver’s seat?

A review says the magnet range is so short you will usually already see the magnet. Another review says a unit only made noise. The listing does not state a range.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars, and review counts are the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in this set, captured on 20 October 2026. There was no lab test. A gigahertz span, a 25-hour bullet, a 5-hour bullet, and a 99.9% line stay listing copy. Scores weigh the star line and the size of the review file, whether the listing names a lens check, radio mode, magnetic probe, sensitivity control, and a quiet alert, what UK review notes actually describe, and the GBP price against those modes.

1

Amazon evidence

25%

Star rating on amazon.co.uk, then the review count. A same-day cluster is deducted. A 4.4 from 12 reviews is not scored as a large sample, and a 5.0 from five reviews is not the top pick.

2

Listing fit

35%

A lens check, a radio mode, a magnetic probe, a sensitivity control, and a quiet alert, plus a box line you can quote. A mini-camera components cell, a 35-piece count on a single detector, a weight row that disagrees with a bullet, or a model number that disagrees with the name is deducted.

3

Review outcome

25%

Review notes that describe a viewfinder, a hotel pass, a car magnet, or a false alarm score above an empty file. A loud false beep, an antenna that alarms when touched, a unit that will not hold a charge, and a sensitivity control reviewers cannot set are deducted.

4

Value

15%

Shelf price in GBP against the modes the listing actually names and the size of the review file. The dearest page does not score here when sound, vibration, and sensitivity are unstated.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Bug finder buying guide

The twelve listings split into pocket sticks around £10 to £30, K-series bodies around £40 to £80, and two dearer units at about £105.89 and about £179.98. Start with the modes the page actually names, then the review file, then the box. A higher price in this set does not add a frequency readout. The scores are not a lab test, and a quiet unit is not proof a room is clear.

What is a bug finder?

A bug finder in this comparison is a handheld receiver sold on amazon.co.uk. Travellers, people checking a holiday let they are staying in, and drivers who may inspect a car they are allowed to check use it to look for a hidden camera, a wireless transmitter, or a magnet-mounted tracker. It is not a spectrum analyser, and it is not a specialist counter-surveillance receiver. No listing in this set shows a UKCA mark. Quality is not the gigahertz number in a bullet.

Best for

  • Travellers checking a hotel room or a holiday let they are staying in
  • Drivers inspecting a car they are allowed to check for a magnet-mounted tracker

Not ideal for

  • A skilled installation at work, or evidence you need for the police
  • Anyone who would treat a quiet beep as proof a room is clear

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading a gigahertz bullet as a measured range

    SIKVIO, Souhpyh, and XiflLife state about 1 MHz to 6.5 GHz. The K-68 row states 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz. Mystery Code writes 1-6.5GHZ without a clear lower unit. Those lines are listing copy. They are not a distance, and they were not measured for this page.

  2. 2

    Treating a quiet unit, or only the radio mode, as a clear room

    Radio mode misses a camera that is off or writing only to a card, and a tracker that transmits in bursts. Hotel Wi-Fi and your own phone also trip the alarm. A beep is not proof of a hidden device, and silence is not proof the room is clear.

  3. 3

    Trusting a tiny same-day review file or a 99.9% bullet

    The XiflLife line is 5.0 from five reviews, with four texts on 11 September 2026 and no fault described. The Mystery Code notes are three texts on one day. A 99.9% or military line is a bullet, not a detection rate. The failure modes in this set show up in the larger mid-price files.

What to weigh up

Modes you can name

High

Name the modes before you compare prices. Prefer a listing whose bullets and a review both describe a lens check, a radio-strength alarm, and a magnetic probe. A lens window is how reviewers on the SIKVIO K18 and the HawkSpy K18 describe seeing a camera. Radio mode is a strength beep or a vibration, and it also hears routers, phones, and hotel Wi-Fi. The magnetic probe is for a magnet-mounted tracker.

Sensitivity, a quiet alert, and the review file

High

Travel reviews ask for vibration at night. A unit that only beeps, or that alarms when the antenna is touched, is the complaint on the HawkSpy K18, the SIKVIO K18, and the K20. The HawkSpy listing states sound and vibration, and a knob, at about £40.92, with 3.8 from 58 reviews. The SIKVIO listing states a potentiometer and does not state vibration. It has 4.2 from 1,229 reviews, and one review describes a loud false beep and a refund.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Travel with a large review file

You want the detector with the largest amazon.co.uk review file and a viewfinder reviewers describe. The SIKVIO K18 is about £44.99, with 4.2 from 1,229 reviews and a sensitivity potentiometer. Vibration is not stated, and one review describes a loud false beep.

Our recommendation

View offer

A quiet night alert

You want vibration written on the listing, plus a knob, a lens check, and a GS probe. The HawkSpy K18 is about £40.92, with 3.8 from 58 reviews and a cable in the box. Reviewers report alarms when the antenna is touched.

Our recommendation

View offer

A lens mode under £30

You want a named lens mode and a charging cable under £30, and you will turn the sensitivity down near Wi-Fi. The SFILOFEREE T19 is about £29.99, with 4.5 from 63 reviews and six sensitivity levels. Vibration is not stated, and one unit would not switch off.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about Bug finders

Which bug finder is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the SIKVIO K18 at about £44.99. It has 4.2 from 1,229 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest file in this set, a viewfinder described in reviews, and a sensitivity potentiometer. Vibration is not stated, and one review describes a loud false beep with a refund. A 5.0 from five reviews is not the top pick. These scores read the listings. They are not a lab test.
How much does a bug finder cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these twelve listings the shelf prices run from about £9.99 to about £179.98. Pocket sticks sit around £10 to £30. The HawkSpy K18 is about £40.92 and the SIKVIO K18 is about £44.99. The JMDHKK K-68 is about £76.99. The KEULGOUL ZDS616 is about £105.89 and the JMDHKK M8000 is about £179.98. A higher price does not add a measured range. Prices can move, so check the live listing.
What should you check before you buy a bug finder?
Check the listing and the reviews for a lens check, a radio mode, and a magnetic probe a review actually describes. You also want a sensitivity control, and vibration if a night check has to stay quiet. Prefer a review file that shows false alarms, not a same-day cluster of five stars. Most boxes include a USB cable, not a BS 1363 charger. A gigahertz bullet is not a measured range.
Does a quiet bug finder mean the room is clear?
No. A quiet pass is not proof the room is clear. Radio mode misses a camera that only writes to a card, and a camera that is not transmitting. A tracker that sends in short bursts can sit outside one pass. Hotel Wi-Fi, a phone, and a router also make these units beep, which is easy to misread as a hidden device. If you find a suspected camera, film it in place and contact the police and the booking platform.
Is a bug finder the same as intercepting a message?
No. Ofcom says receivers are generally exempt from a wireless-telegraphy licence if they cannot transmit. The Wireless Telegraphy Act 2006, section 48, and the Investigatory Powers Act 2016, sections 3 and 4, cover obtaining or disclosing message content you are not meant to receive. A strength beep is not that act. Owning a detector is not described here as an offence, and not every use is lawful. Do not inspect a vehicle or property you are not allowed to enter.
When should you look at a camera detector instead?
Use this page when you are comparing handheld receivers for a lens, a radio signal, or a magnet. The camera detector comparison is the neighbouring buy when the job is the camera check on its own. On this page, a unit with no lens row, such as the AOBOCAM Hcd-001, does not show a viewfinder. Radio still misses a camera that is off or writing only to a card.
Why is the £179.98 M8000 not best value?
The JMDHKK M8000 is about £179.98, with 4.0 from 865 reviews and an optical finder in the box. Sound, vibration, and a sensitivity control are not stated. A review says the magnet check works only up close, and one box arrived without a charger. Best value is the HawkSpy K18 at about £40.92, with vibration, a knob, a lens check, a GS probe, and a cable on the listing. The higher price does not add a frequency readout.
When should you call a specialist instead of buying a handheld?
Call a specialist when you suspect a skilled installation at work, when you need evidence for the police, or when you cannot separate the alarm from the building’s own radios and the stakes are high. FCDO Services draws that line for a professional installation. These handheld units do not replace that work, and no listing in this set shows a UKCA mark. A 99.9% or military bullet is listing copy, not a detection rate measured for this page.

Our verdict

The top pick is the SIKVIO K18 at about £44.99. It has the largest review file in this set, 4.2 from 1,229 amazon.co.uk reviews, a viewfinder described in reviews, and a sensitivity potentiometer. Vibration is not stated, and one review describes a loud false beep. Best value is the HawkSpy K18 at about £40.92, because the listing names a lens check, a knob, a GS probe, vibration, and a cable. That file is 3.8 from 58 reviews, and the antenna can alarm when you touch it. A 5.0 from five reviews is not the top pick. The JMDHKK M8000 at about £179.98 is not best value: sound, vibration, and a sensitivity control are unstated.

Best overall
XiflLife S505

XiflLife S505

View offer
Best value
HawkSpy K18

HawkSpy K18

About £40.92 for a listed lens check, knob, GS probe, vibration alert, and a cable in the box.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsElectronic surveillanceamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Bug finders

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Listings captured 20 October 2026.

  1. Investigatory Powers Act 2016, sections 3 and 4 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. Wireless Telegraphy Act 2006, section 48 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. Ofcom, Radio spectrum and the law (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. Sexual Offences Act 2003, section 67 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Covert surveillance and property interference code of practice (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. FCDO Services, Detecting hidden cameras at work (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk, SIKVIO K18 listing (retrieved 20 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for this set. This is not a laboratory test.