Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Padlock fingerprint comparison 2026

The best fingerprint padlocks, compared.

Top pick: Anweller YL-P8BF Best value: Anweller P6BF – About £29.99 with 45 reviews, the highest value score, with no key and no IP code left in the assessment. Updated 20.10.2026.

A fingerprint padlock opens from a sensor on the body. Most of these locks also offer a backup key, a code, a USB key or a Bluetooth app for the moment the battery dies or your finger is wet. On amazon.co.uk people buy them for gym lockers, school lockers, suitcases and, sometimes, a shed or a side gate. A 4 mm shackle or a 3 mm cable is a locker or bag lock. A shed or a gate needs a heavier steel or boron-steel shackle. A typical listing does not state a Sold Secure mark or a BS EN 12320 grade, soASTM Grade 3 line is a US claim, not a UK insurance grade. This page scores those amazon.co.uk listings and the review notes already on file. The [fingerprint padlock buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/padlock-fingerprint/sub/padlock-fingerprint-buying-guide) sets the job, the weather code and the backup before you pick a model. Read charge failures, and comments that any finger opens the lock, before you trust the star average.

A fingerprint padlock opens from a sensor on the body. Most of these locks also offer a backup key, a code, a USB key or a Bluetooth app for the moment the battery dies or your finger is wet.

Anweller YL-P8BF

Best overall

Anweller YL-P8BF
4.2/10∼ £23

32 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

9 of 9: Best fingerprint padlocks compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Anweller YL-P8BF
Eseesmart P15
Best value
Anweller P6BF
MYPIN HS0480
Prezlock Pebble
Prezlock Pebble Plus
Eseesmart P8BF
MYPIN HS0458
TenixLox KR-PL5965
4.2/10
5.7/10
6.6/10
3.7/10
8.1/10
7.5/10
4.9/10
4.6/10
4.4/10
∼ £23
∼ £60
∼ £30
∼ £11
∼ £60
∼ £69
∼ £22
∼ £8
∼ £30
5.0(4)
4.7(5)
4.4(45)
4.4(3)
4.2(765)
4.1(136)
3.6(11)
3.4(43)
2.9(8)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best fingerprint padlocks in detail

Anweller YL-P8BF

Rank 1

Anweller YL-P8BF

∼£23

Our view

The Anweller YL-P8BF is a small blue locker lock at £22.99, 25 × 13 × 58 mm, with 20 fingerprints in the eSmartLock app, two of them administrators, and a USB cable in the box. The bullets say about 59 g and the details say 80 g. The battery claim is six months or over 2,500 unlocks, and a 99% recognition figure is a listing claim. Amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 4 reviews, and the review notes contain a single review text that calls setup easy and says the app gives feedback. No mechanical key and no IP code are listed, and only an admin can reset the lock. A 5.0 from four reviews is not a finished verdict, which is why this score sits well below the Pebble.

Pros

  • USB cable included
  • 20 fingerprints, with 2 admin slots named
  • eSmartLock app
  • The one review text calls setup easy

Cons

  • 5.0 from only 4 reviews, and one review text in the file
  • No mechanical key and no IP code
  • Weight listed as 59 g and as 80 g
  • Only an admin can reset it

Best for: A gym or school locker where you want a stated 20-print app lock and a cable in the box, and you can live with four reviews.

Less suitable: A shed, or anyone reading 5.0 as if it were a large UK test.

Specifications

Model
Anweller YL-P8BF
Brand
Anweller
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Unlock
Fingerprint, app
Fingerprints
20
App
eSmartLock
Backup
n/a
Weather
n/a
Charging
USB included
Shackle
Stainless steel
Weight
59–80 g
Material
Zinc alloy
Stated use
Gym, school

Common questions

Which app does the listing name?

The bullets name the eSmartLock app. Only an admin can reset or manage fingerprints.

How many reviews support the 5.0 score?

The listing shows 5.0 out of 5 from 4 reviews. One UK review says setup was easy.

Is a mechanical key included?

No key is listed. The box contents are the padlock, a manual and a USB charging cable.

Eseesmart P15

Rank 2

Eseesmart P15

∼£60

Our view

The Eseesmart P15 is a 658 g lock at £59.99 that lists 100 fingerprints, 20 passcodes, a Bluetooth app, an iWatch unlock and four keys, with a USB-C cable in the box. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 5 reviews, and those reviews call it heavy and solid, with setup in about a minute and covers on the ports. No repeated defect is written in that file of five, and one buyer who paid £71 found the price hard to justify. The bullets say the lock should not be left immersed and should be kept dry when you unlock it. No IP code and no shackle diameter are stated, and the warranty claim is six months. The body is listed at 36 × 198 × 170 mm in alloy steel and zinc alloy. Five reviews are not a settled result, so a 4.7 does not make this the top pick beside the Pebble’s 765 reviews.

Pros

  • 100 fingerprints, 20 passcodes and four backup keys
  • USB-C cable listed in the box
  • 658 g body that reviews call solid
  • Setup described as about a minute

Cons

  • 4.7 from only 5 reviews
  • No IP code, and the bullets say not to immerse it
  • Shackle diameter is not stated
  • Six-month warranty claim

Best for: A shed or gate where you want keys, a code and an app on one heavy lock, and you can accept a review file of five.

Less suitable: Anyone treating 4.7 as a finished verdict, or a lock that will sit in standing water.

Specifications

Model
Eseesmart P15
Brand
Eseesmart
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.7/5(5)
Unlock
Print, code, app, key
Fingerprints
100
App
Bluetooth
Backup
4 keys
Weather
Not for immersion
Charging
USB-C included
Shackle
n/a
Weight
658 g
Material
Alloy and zinc
Stated use
Shed, gym, locker

Common questions

Can the P15 be left in water?

The bullets say the lock does not support being immersed for a long time, and that it should be kept dry when you unlock it.

How many ways does the listing say it opens?

Fingerprint (100), passcode (20), Bluetooth app, an iWatch unlock, and four keys.

How many UK reviews are on the listing?

The listing shows 4.7 out of 5 from 5 reviews.

Anweller P6BF

Rank 3

Anweller P6BF

∼£30

Our view

The Anweller P6BF is a 170 g black lock at £29.99, 43 × 18 × 76 mm, with an aluminium-alloy body, a stainless-steel shackle, a Bluetooth app and a 110 mAh cell. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 45 reviews, the largest readable file among the small app locks here. Reviewers report easy setup, a school locker that lasted a term on one charge, several users on a side gate, and shed access for cleaners when the pad is dry. Some enrolled fingers never read, and heavy rain pushes you onto the app. One review says the app will not open the lock until you touch the fingerprint area to wake it. A mechanical key is not in the box. One buyer’s USB-C port would not accept a cable, and another saw the charge fall with no way to recharge while a gym locker was still shut. It is the best value in this set: a mid price with 45 reviews, if you accept there is no key and no printed IP code despite a waterproof title.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 45 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • £29.99 with a USB-C cable in the box
  • School locker lasted a term on one charge in a review
  • App sharing for a side gate when the pad is dry

Cons

  • No mechanical key and no IP code
  • Heavy rain forces the app
  • Some enrolled fingers never read
  • One USB-C port would not accept a cable

Best for: A school or gym locker, or a dry side-gate hasp, where £29.99 and 45 reviews matter more than a key.

Less suitable: A wet outdoor hasp, or a locker you cannot open if the port fails and the battery dies.

Specifications

Model
Anweller P6BF
Brand
Anweller
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.4/5(45)
Unlock
Fingerprint, app
Fingerprints
n/a
App
Bluetooth
Backup
n/a
Weather
No IP code
Charging
USB-C, 110 mAh
Shackle
Stainless steel
Weight
170 g
Material
Aluminium alloy
Stated use
Gym, locker, gate

Common questions

Does the P6BF include a key?

A key is not in the included components. Unlock methods in the listing are fingerprint and the app.

Is it rated IP65 or similar?

The title says waterproof and the features say weather resistant. No IP code is printed.

Do reviews say the app unlocks it remotely?

One UK review says the app will not open the lock until the fingerprint area is touched to wake it.

MYPIN HS0480

Rank 4

MYPIN HS0480

∼£11

Our view

The MYPIN HS0480 is a 40 g ABS lock at £10.99, measuring 8.5 × 4.2 × 4.1 cm, with 20 fingerprint slots, a 130 mAh cell and a Type-C lead for emergency power. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 3 reviews. One buyer used it at the gym without a key and enrolled prints the way you would on a phone. No backup key is listed, and no IP code is stated. One UK review treated the exposed USB port as not weatherproof, and another buyer worried a lock this small is easy to break. Three reviews and an ABS body are why it is a cheap indoor or gym experiment, not a shed lock.

Pros

  • £10.99 with a Type-C lead in the box
  • 20 fingerprints and a 130 mAh cell
  • 40 g, so it is easy to carry
  • A gym user enrolled it without a key

Cons

  • 4.4 from only 3 reviews
  • No backup key and no IP code
  • ABS body at 40 g
  • Exposed USB port treated as indoor-only in a review

Best for: A low-stakes indoor locker or drawer where you want to try a fingerprint and you can power the lock if the cell dies.

Less suitable: A shed, a gate, or anywhere a flat battery with no key would trap something you cannot cut free.

Specifications

Model
MYPIN HS0480
Brand
MYPIN
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.4/5(3)
Unlock
Fingerprint
Fingerprints
20
App
n/a
Backup
n/a
Weather
n/a
Charging
USB-C, 130 mAh
Shackle
n/a
Weight
40 g
Material
ABS
Stated use
Indoor, gym

Common questions

Does this lock include a backup key?

No backup key is listed. Recovery in the bullets is a Type-C power connection if the cell is flat.

Is an IP rating stated?

No IP code is stated. One UK review treated the exposed USB port as not weatherproof.

How many fingerprints does it store?

The listing says up to 20.

Prezlock Pebble

Rank 5

Prezlock Pebble

∼£60

Our view

The Prezlock Pebble is a 349 g graphite lock, 10.2 × 5.1 × 2.3 cm, listed at £59.95 with a boron-steel shackle and an IP65 claim. Across 765 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2, and reviewers who follow the sheet describe a lock that opens reliably, with one buyer going back for a second. You have to charge it fully before the first enrol, and skipping the instructions is a repeated reason the sensor then fails. One unit stopped holding a charge after about three weeks, and another buyer found that after six months only the backup key worked. The included-components line lists a charging cable while the bullets say no charger or cable is supplied, so check the box rather than assuming a USB-C lead is there. Two backup keys are in the title, which is the way in when the cell is flat and the lock stays shut. It is the top pick in this set because that review file is far larger than the 4.7 and 5.0 listings with five and four reviews, though a warranty query went unresolved for one buyer and ASTM Grade 3 is a listing claim, not a UK Sold Secure grade.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 765 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Up to 100 fingerprints and two backup keys
  • IP65 claimed, with a boron-steel shackle
  • Reviewers describe reliable opening when the sheet is followed

Cons

  • Bullets and the included list disagree about the charging cable
  • One unit stopped holding a charge after about three weeks
  • After six months one buyer had only the key left
  • ASTM Grade 3 is not a Sold Secure or BS EN 12320 grade

Best for: A shed or gate hasp where you want a key backup and a large amazon.co.uk review file, and you can charge the lock before first use.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a printed Sold Secure grade, or who will skip the setup sheet and expect the sensor to enrol itself.

Specifications

Model
Prezlock Pebble
Brand
Prezlock
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.2/5(765)
Unlock
Fingerprint, 2 keys
Fingerprints
100
App
n/a
Backup
2 keys
Weather
IP65
Charging
USB-C, cable unclear
Shackle
Boron steel
Weight
349 g
Material
Alloy steel
Stated use
Outdoor, heavy duty

Common questions

Does the Prezlock Pebble include a key?

The title says two backup keys, and the included components list backup keys. The bullets also describe an emergency key.

Is a charging cable in the box?

The included components list a charging cable. The bullets say no charger or cable is supplied. Treat that as a conflict on the listing.

What weather rating does the listing state?

The listing states IP65. It does not state a BS EN 12320 or Sold Secure grade.

Prezlock Pebble Plus

Rank 6

Prezlock Pebble Plus

∼£69

Our view

The Prezlock Pebble Plus is the app version at £69.00 and 295 g, with the same 10.2 × 5.1 × 2.3 cm footprint, an IP65 claim, a boron-steel shackle and a backup key. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 136 reviews. Buyers add several fingerprints in the Prezlock app, including a family set for a shed and a school locker, and one user got gym and pool reads only after drying wet fingers. A setup mistake is hard to undo, one unit stopped working, and a watch unlock needed the phone app open nearby. The listing does not state how many fingerprints it stores, and the connectivity line says Wi-Fi while the bullets do not describe unlocking it from the internet. The battery claim is up to six months, and a flat cell leaves the lock locked until you use USB power or the key. It sits just behind the Pebble because the review file is smaller and the shelf price is higher, which is the trade for shared access in the app.

Pros

  • 4.1 from 136 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Prezlock app for users, shares and history
  • Backup key plus an IP65 claim
  • Family shed and school-locker use in reviews

Cons

  • Fingerprint capacity is not stated
  • Wet fingers have to be dried first
  • One unit stopped working
  • Wi-Fi on the spec line is not a remote unlock from work

Best for: A shared shed or gate where several people need access in the app and a key still exists for a flat battery.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants a stated fingerprint count, or who expects the lock to open from the internet without standing next to it.

Specifications

Model
Prezlock Pebble Plus
Brand
Prezlock
Price
∼£69
Customer rating
4.1/5(136)
Unlock
Fingerprint, app, key
Fingerprints
n/a
App
Prezlock app
Backup
Key
Weather
IP65
Charging
USB-C
Shackle
Boron steel
Weight
295 g
Material
Alloy steel
Stated use
Shared outdoor

Common questions

Does the Pebble Plus have an app?

Yes. The listing names the Prezlock app for users, shares, history and location.

How many fingerprints can it store?

The listing does not state a number.

What happens when the battery is flat?

The bullets say the lock stays locked, and that USB power restores normal operation. A backup key is included.

Eseesmart P8BF

Rank 7

Eseesmart P8BF

∼£22

Our view

The Eseesmart P8BF is a small gym lock at £21.59 with a 0.4 cm stainless shackle and an inside length of 2.2 cm, storing 20 fingerprints. The details list 80 g and the bullets list 0.06 kg, so the weight line disagrees with itself. Amazon.co.uk shows 3.6 from 11 reviews. Owners used it on a suitcase and on a gym locker without glasses, and one found enrolment in the app straightforward. The included-components line lists only the smart padlock, and one buyer returned it because charging was Micro-USB. Another could not enrol because the app asked for a user over 13 and location permission blocked fingerprint setup. No IP rating and no mechanical key are stated, and a reviewer thought a thin metal strip could open a lock this size.

Pros

  • 0.4 cm shackle aimed at a small locker hole
  • 20 fingerprints and an app
  • Gym use without glasses in a review
  • £21.59

Cons

  • 3.6 from 11 reviews
  • No cable in the included list; one return was Micro-USB
  • App age and location permission blocked a setup
  • No key and no IP rating

Best for: A gym or school locker with a small hole, if you can charge a Micro-USB lock and the app account is an adult’s.

Less suitable: A child who cannot pass an over-13 app gate, or a shed hasp that needs a thicker shackle.

Specifications

Model
Eseesmart P8BF
Brand
Eseesmart
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
3.6/5(11)
Unlock
Fingerprint, app
Fingerprints
20
App
Bluetooth
Backup
n/a
Weather
n/a
Charging
USB, cable unclear
Shackle
4 mm stainless
Weight
60–80 g
Material
Zinc alloy
Stated use
Gym, luggage

Common questions

How thick is the shackle?

The bullets say a 0.4 cm stainless steel shackle.

Is a charging cable included?

Included components list only the smart padlock. One UK review returned the lock because charging was Micro-USB.

Did reviews mention the app age limit?

One UK review says the school-locker user has to be over 13, and that location permission blocked fingerprint setup.

MYPIN HS0458

Rank 8

MYPIN HS0458

Our view

The MYPIN HS0458 is a 40 g cable lock at £7.99, 40 × 43 × 16 mm, not a shackle padlock. The tether is 3 mm steel with a PVC coat, sold for a suitcase, drawer or bag, and it stores 20 fingerprints. The box includes a USB electronic key and the bullets print a default emergency code of 33, so that code is not a secret. Amazon.co.uk shows 3.4 from 43 reviews. Buyers who wear glasses like it as a travel lock when a dial is hard to see, and one used it after a hotel locker moved away from coin locks. It feels cheap, the cable is too thick for some bag fittings, and it is unreliable after swimming. One UK review says the lock pulled open by hand, and another says the charging port is temperamental and the battery died on an outdoor cabinet.

Pros

  • £7.99 with 20 fingerprints
  • USB key and a listed emergency code
  • Useful for glasses wearers who cannot read a dial
  • 3.4 from 43 reviews, so the complaints are not from a sample of one

Cons

  • A review says it pulled open by hand
  • 3 mm cable is too thick for some bag fittings
  • Unreliable after swimming
  • Charging port and outdoor battery life drew complaints

Best for: A suitcase or bag zipper where you want a fingerprint instead of a dial and the contents are not high value.

Less suitable: A shed, a gate, or a locker hasp the cable cannot pass, and anyone who needs the lock to hold after a swim.

Specifications

Model
MYPIN HS0458
Brand
MYPIN
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.4/5(43)
Unlock
Print, USB key, code
Fingerprints
20
App
n/a
Backup
USB key
Weather
n/a
Charging
USB-C
Shackle
3 mm cable
Weight
40 g
Material
ABS
Stated use
Bag, suitcase

Common questions

Is this a shackle padlock or a cable lock?

The bullets describe a 3 mm steel cable with a PVC coat, sold for luggage, cabinets and bags.

What is the backup if the fingerprint fails?

The listing includes a USB electronic key and a default emergency code of 33.

What do reviews say about strength?

One UK review says the lock pulled open. Another says the charging port is temperamental and the battery life outdoors was poor.

TenixLox KR-PL5965

Rank 9

TenixLox KR-PL5965

∼£30

Our view

The TenixLox KR-PL5965 is a 450 g lock at £29.99, 10.6 × 6.8 × 3 cm, listing 50 fingerprints (2 administrators and 48 users), two mechanical keys, an app and an IP66 claim. The stated working range is −20 °C to 50 °C, and standby is claimed at up to a year. Amazon.co.uk shows 2.9 from 8 reviews. One buyer liked the build on a shed and was glad to drop keys, and another used the app when the fingerprint did not. Other reviews say the sensor rarely works, setup failed for someone who has set up other locks, and both items went faulty and would not open by fingerprint. One reviewer said any finger could open the lock, which is the failure you test before you leave it on a gate. The paper specification looks complete, and the review file is why it is not a default buy at £29.99.

Pros

  • Two mechanical keys and an IP66 claim
  • 50 fingerprints, with 2 admin and 48 user slots
  • USB emergency cable in the box
  • One shed buyer was happy to drop keys

Cons

  • 2.9 from 8 reviews
  • Fingerprint often failed or would not set up
  • One review says any finger opens the lock
  • Both items went faulty for one buyer

Best for: Only a buyer who will test a stranger’s finger and the keys before the lock goes on a low-stakes hasp.

Less suitable: A shed or gate you are locking for the first time on the strength of the IP66 line.

Specifications

Model
TenixLox KR-PL5965
Brand
TenixLox
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
2.9/5(8)
Unlock
Fingerprint, app, key
Fingerprints
50
App
App
Backup
2 keys
Weather
IP66
Charging
USB cable
Shackle
Stainless steel
Weight
450 g
Material
Zinc alloy
Stated use
Outdoor, shed

Common questions

Does it include keys?

Yes. Included components list two mechanical keys and an emergency charging cable.

What weather rating is printed?

The bullets state IP66 and a working range of minus 20 °C to 50 °C.

What do the eight reviews say about the sensor?

Reviews say the fingerprint often failed, setup failed, or any finger could open the lock. One review was positive about shed use.

How we compared

Nine fingerprint padlocks on amazon.co.uk were scored on 19 October 2026 from the listings and the UK review notes already on file. This is not a lab test. IP codes, fingerprint counts, battery life and pull figures are listing claims. A 5.0 from four reviews is not treated as a perfect lock. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Listing fit

35%

A stated fingerprint count, a mechanical backup, a printed IP code, a described shackle or cable, and a charge method score. A missing IP code, a missing key, a cable-versus-shackle mismatch, and a listing that contradicts itself are deducted. ASTM Grade 3 is not scored as a UK Sold Secure grade.

2

Amazon evidence

30%

Star rating on amazon.co.uk, scaled down when the count is small. 765 reviews can use nearly the full star line. Three to five reviews stay in single digits on this component.

3

Review outcome

20%

UK comments that name a failed sensor, a flat cell, a port that will not charge, or a lock that pulled open are deducted. A file of one review text stays low even when the stars are 5.0.

4

Value

15%

Shelf price in GBP against a lock whose backup and review file you can still check. The lowest price does not win this component if a review says the lock pulled open.

Independent review
Last updated: 20.10.2026
8 sources checked

Fingerprint padlock buying guide

People on amazon.co.uk buy a fingerprint padlock for a gym locker, a school locker, a suitcase or, sometimes, a shed or a side gate. The nine locks here run from about £7.99 to about £69 on 19 October 2026. None shows a Sold Secure mark or a BS EN 12320 grade. Start with the shackle and the job, then a printed weather code, then a second way in when the battery dies. A 4.7 or a 5.0 on three to five ratings is not a stable score.

What is a fingerprint padlock?

A fingerprint padlock opens from a biometric sensor, usually with a second way in: a mechanical key, a code, a USB key or a Bluetooth app. On amazon.co.uk the nine locks in this comparison are bought for gym lockers, school lockers, suitcases and, less often, a shed or a side gate. Shelf prices on 19 October 2026 run from £7.99 for a 40 g cable lock to £69 for a Prezlock with an app. Start with the job and the shackle. A shed or a gate needs a heavier steel or boron-steel shackle.

Best for

  • Shed and gate owners who can dry the sensor and want others to enter without a shared key
  • Gym and school users who want to drop a combination dial and still need a backup when fingers are wet
  • Travellers who want a light cable lock and do not need shed strength

Not ideal for

  • A policy that names a Sold Secure or BS EN 12320 grade
  • A gate or shed hasp fitted with a 40 g lock
  • Anyone who needs the sensor to read wet fingers

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading waterproof as wet-finger recognition

    IP65 is water jets, not immersion, and it does not mean a wet finger will read. Dry the sensor. Listings that only say waterproof, with no IP code, are a weaker claim.

  2. 2

    Putting a 40 g lock on a gate

    The MYPIN HS0480 is a 40 g ABS body. A reviewer treated the exposed USB port as indoor-only. A shed or gate needs a heavier shackle, not a bag lock.

  3. 3

    Treating ASTM Grade 3 as Sold Secure

    ASTM Grade 3 on a Prezlock page is a US claim. It is not BS EN 12320 grade 3 and it is not a Sold Secure grade. None of these nine listings shows Sold Secure.

  4. 4

    Assuming the app works without waking the lock

    Bluetooth in these reviews wakes when you touch the sensor. That is not control from another town. One P6BF review says the app will not open the lock until the pad is touched.

What to weigh up

Job and shackle

High

A shed or a gate needs a heavier steel or boron-steel shackle. A 4 mm shackle, stated as 0.4 cm on the Eseesmart P8BF, or a 3 mm cable is a locker or bag lock. Insight Security’s rule of thumb is that a shackle under 11 mm is unlikely to meet the lowest insurance grades they discuss. In this set the Prezlock Pebble is 349 g with a boron-steel shackle and an outdoor, heavy-duty claim. The Pebble Plus is 295 g on the same footprint.

Backup, weather and power

High

A flat cell normally leaves the shackle locked, so prefer a mechanical key or a tested code if you will have wet hands or be away from a charger. The Pebble lists two keys. The P15 lists four keys, a code and an app, and says not to immerse it. The TenixLox lists two keys and IP66, but reviews say the sensor failed or that any finger opened it. The Anweller P6BF, the best value at about £29.99, has 45 reviews and no key and no IP code, despite a waterproof title.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Shed and gate

You want other people to enter without handing over a shared key, and you can dry the sensor. You still want a mechanical key when the cell is flat. The Prezlock Pebble is the top pick on that brief: two keys, an IP65 claim and 4.2 from 765 reviews.

Our recommendation

View offer

Shared access

Several people need the shed or the gate, and you want that access in an app as well as a key. The Prezlock Pebble Plus lists the Prezlock app, a backup key and an IP65 claim. The listing does not state how many fingerprints it stores.

Locker on a budget

A school or gym locker, or a dry side gate, where about £29.99 and 45 reviews matter more than a key. The Anweller P6BF is the best value in this set. There is no mechanical key and no printed IP code.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about fingerprint padlocks

Which fingerprint padlock is the top pick in this set?
The top pick in this set is the Prezlock Pebble. It is listed at about £59.95 with 4.2 from 765 amazon.co.uk reviews, two backup keys, up to 100 fingerprints and an IP65 claim. The score is 76 out of 100 from the listing and that review file, not from a lab attack. A 4.7 from five reviews, or a 5.0 from four, does not overtake it. ASTM Grade 3 on the page is not a Sold Secure grade.
How much does a fingerprint padlock cost?
On 19 October 2026 the nine amazon.co.uk prices run from about £7.99 for the MYPIN cable lock to about £69 for the Prezlock Pebble Plus. Entry locks, about £8 to £23, are cable and mini locker models. The middle of the set, about £30 to £60, covers the Anweller P6BF, the TenixLox, the Prezlock Pebble and the Eseesmart P15. The lowest price is not the best value: a review says the £7.99 cable lock pulled open.
What should you check before you buy a fingerprint padlock?
Match the shackle to the job, then look for a printed weather code, then a way in when the battery dies. A 4 mm shackle or a 3 mm cable is for a locker or a bag. A shed wants a heavier shackle, because none of these nine shows Sold Secure or BS EN 12320. Confirm a charging cable is in the box, and treat a star rating on three to five reviews as unsettled.
Does IP65 mean the sensor reads wet fingers?
No. IP65 means dust-tight and protected against water jets, not immersion. It does not mean the sensor reads a wet or wrinkled finger. Dry the finger first. A listing that only says waterproof, with no IP code, is a weaker claim than a printed IP65 or IP66. The Eseesmart P15 bullets also say not to leave that lock immersed.
Will the app open the lock from another room?
Not on these listings. Bluetooth in the reviews wakes when you touch the sensor. One Anweller P6BF review says the app will not open the lock until the fingerprint area is touched. The Pebble Plus connectivity line says Wi-Fi, but the bullets do not describe unlocking it from the internet. Do not assume you can open the lock from work or from another town.
Is ASTM Grade 3 the same as Sold Secure?
No. ASTM Grade 3 on a Prezlock page is a US listing claim. Sold Secure maps Bronze, Silver, Gold and Diamond to CEN grades 3 to 6, which is a different scheme. Do not read ASTM Grade 3 as BS EN 12320 grade 3. None of the nine listings shows a Sold Secure mark. If your policy names a grade, ask a locksmith rather than treating the listing line as cover.
What happens when the battery dies?
A flat cell normally leaves the shackle locked. The Prezlock Pebble and the TenixLox include mechanical keys. The MYPIN cable lock lists a USB key and a default emergency code of 33, so that code is not a secret. The Anweller P6BF has no key in the box, so a failed port can leave a gym locker shut. Enrol the administrator prints before you rely on the lock. Manuals say any finger works until that is done.
When is a padlock the wrong lock?
A padlock needs a hasp. A cupboard, a drawer front or a cabinet door usually needs a lock that fixes to the door. The cabinet lock comparison covers those fittings. If the insurance schedule names a grade, the hasp is only screwed from the outside, or the lock is seized with no key and no working port, call a locksmith rather than forcing it.

Our verdict

The Prezlock Pebble leads this set because 4.2 from 765 reviews sits with two keys and an IP65 claim. The Anweller P6BF is the best value at about £29.99 with 45 reviews, and the assessment leaves it with no key and no IP code. The Eseesmart P15 at 4.7 from 5 reviews, and the blue Anweller at 5.0 from 4 reviews, do not take the top pick. None of the nine listings shows a Sold Secure mark or a BS EN 12320 grade.

Best overall
Anweller YL-P8BF

Anweller YL-P8BF

View offer
Best value
Anweller P6BF

Anweller P6BF

About £29.99 with 45 reviews, the highest value score, with no key and no IP code left in the assessment.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsBurglar protectionPadlocks

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 20.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to fingerprint padlocks

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison. Last checked 19.10.2026.

  1. ProtectUK: locks (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  2. ProtectUK: security at home (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  3. Secured by Design: sheds and outbuildings (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  4. BSI: BS EN 12320:2021 (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  5. Sold Secure: ratings (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  6. Clarion: IP ratings (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  7. amazon.co.uk: Prezlock Pebble listing (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  8. Insight Security: choosing a padlock (retrieved 19.10.2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Scores follow the amazon.co.uk listings and the review notes on file. They are not a paid ranking and they are not a lab test.