12 V panel, sound and light
You have a 12 V trigger that can supply about 320 mA, and you want a horn plus a flashing light without a graded bell box. The case is glued shut, and 120 dB is printed with no distance.
The best sirens, compared.
Top pick: Switian 12 V sound and light siren – Highest score: 4.4 from 164 reviews, a clear 12 V line, and a flashing light at about £8.99. Best value: Switian wired mini siren – Lowest shelf price among the 12 V horns with a published star line and no voltage conflict, at about £7.99. Updated 20.10.2026.
A burglar-alarm siren is the sounder that warns people the system has triggered. On amazon.co.uk this set is four listings: two clear 12 V horns, one strobe page whose voltage is not settled, and the Siren, which needs a base station. The file used here has no aggregate star line, so that siren is not ranked from ratings. A printed 120 dB figure with no distance is not scored as a measurement. Power, light, and whether a grade is stated are set out in the [siren buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/siren/sub/siren-buying-guide). A dummy box is plastic only and has no sounder.
A burglar-alarm siren is the sounder that warns people the system has triggered.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 4Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What will trigger the siren?
The Switian Sw31501 is a 12 V DC horn at £8.99, rated 4.4 from 164 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the listing claims 120 dB with no distance. At a stated 320 mA it is a two-wire sounder, about 60 × 50 × 50 mm and 50 g, with a flashing light when it runs. UK reviews describe a warbling tone that the household and neighbours can hear, including from an outbuilding in one report, and they treat the LEDs as useful at night. The body is glued shut, so you cannot open it to repair a failed driver. One verified review says the unit died after sounding for about an hour and then made only a tiny sound. The listing calls it moisture proof and does not give an IP code, and a reviewer doubts the adhesive pad outdoors even though screw holes are provided. Nothing here states a cover tamper, a backup battery, or BS EN 50131-4, and an amazon photoelectric-sensor attribute does not mean the horn detects anything.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You have a 12 V trigger that can supply the current, and you want sound plus a light without buying a graded bell box.
Less suitable: You need tamper protection, a battery if the cable is cut, or a decibel figure measured at a stated distance.
Specifications
Common questions
Can it be used outdoors?
The listing says it is moisture proof and does not give an IP rating. A review doubts the adhesive pad outdoors and notes that screw holes are provided.
Does it need batteries?
No. It is listed as 12 V DC at 320 mA. Reviews describe a two-wire connection to a 12 V source.
What is the alarm volume?
The listing claims 120 dB with no distance. UK reviews call it loud, with a warbling tone, and say the LEDs flash when it runs.
At £7.99 the Switian mini siren is a 12 V DC horn rated 4.3 from 43 amazon.co.uk reviews, and the listing claims 120 dB without saying at what distance. The page rates it at 320 mA and 60 g, then prints two sizes, 77 × 80 × 100 mm and 7 × 7 × 4 cm, which do not agree. UK reviews call it loudest at 12 V and still audible in hobby tests at 3 V, 6 V, and 9 V, which shows it can make noise below a normal panel voltage and does not show it can replace a bell box. At least one buyer cut a jack off the lead to join alarm terminals, and another used it from a Raspberry Pi. A UK reviewer could not tell which alarm system the listing is meant for. The bullets do not mention a strobe, and the moisture-proof line has no IP code behind it. Forty-three reviews is a real sample, and it is still a short one beside the 164 on the sound-and-light horn.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the lowest shelf price in this set for a 12 V horn, and you do not need a light.
Less suitable: You need a strobe, a graded bell box with tamper and a battery, or a lead that is already bare wires.
Specifications
Common questions
Can it be used outdoors?
The listing says the siren is moisture proof. It does not give an IP rating. Mounting is by sticker or screws.
Does it need batteries?
No. The listing rates it at 12 V DC and 320 mA. It is a wired horn, not a battery siren.
What is the sound level?
The listing claims 120 dB and does not say at what distance. UK reviews call it very loud at 12 V, including in low-voltage tests.
This Switian strobe siren is £9.49 and rated 4.0 from 153 amazon.co.uk reviews, with a red LED and a claimed 120 dB. The voltage field says 220 V, the bullets say 220–240 V at 320 mA, and the model field says Sirene 24V, so the page does not settle whether it is a mains unit or a 24 V unit. UK reviews describe joining it to a Sonoff or Zigbee smart switch rather than to a graded panel, and several say it is not 120 dB, including a comparison with an alarm clock. The body is about 50 g, with roughly 20 cm of pre-wired cable, and buyers say it is smaller than they expected and that the LEDs are easy to miss in daylight. The bullets claim IP54 and indoor and outdoor use, which is listing text rather than a test in this comparison. If the 220–240 V line is the true one, fixed mains wiring is an electrician’s job, and this file does not resolve the conflict.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already know which supply this unit needs, and you can wire that supply safely for a small strobe horn.
Less suitable: You are choosing between 12 V and 230 V from the listing alone, or you need a graded external sounder.
Specifications
Common questions
Can it be used outdoors?
The bullets say indoor and outdoor and claim IP54. The listing does not add an independent test of that rating.
Does it need batteries?
The power field says AC powered. No battery is listed in the box. The model name Sirene 24V conflicts with the 220–240 V bullets.
What is the decibel level?
The listing claims 120 dB and does not state the distance. Several UK reviews say it is loud for the size and that it is not 120 dB in use.
The Ring Alarm Outdoor Siren is £69.99 and works only with a Ring Alarm base station, on 1st and 2nd generation devices. The amazon.co.uk saved listing has no aggregate star line, so this comparison does not quote a rating, and the score stays at 0 for that missing evidence. Volume and duration are set in the app. Ring’s own UK support, which is not the amazon saved listing, says the loudest setting is over 100 dB at 1 metre and that duration runs from 1 to 10 minutes, with a default of 3. D cells come in the box, though reviews disagree whether that is three or four, and reviewers say the red strobe and the dusk-to-dawn logo light do not run on those cells alone. Extra power is a plug-in adapter, a battery pack, or a solar panel, each sold separately, and the D cells stay fitted even then. UK reviews praise rain resistance and a box the street can see, and they also mention a ladder, foil-backed insulation blocking the link, and hard-wire colours that should be tested before the box is fixed high on the wall.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already have Ring Alarm and you can mount the box safely, or you will pay someone who can.
Less suitable: You wanted a siren for a different panel, or a strobe that runs on the included D cells alone.
Specifications
Common questions
Can it be used with other Ring devices?
The listing says it requires a Ring Alarm base station and works with 1st and 2nd generation Ring Alarm devices and accessories. It is not described as a standalone siren.
Does it have a flashing light?
Yes. The listing says it flashes LEDs when the alarm triggers. Reviews say that red strobe does not run on the D cells alone.
Is it weatherproof?
The listing says weather resistant. This saved listing does not state an IP rating. Reviews report it coping with rain.
Scores use the four amazon.co.uk listings kept for this page, with prices, stars, and review counts saved on 19 October 2026. Review notes cover loudness, a lead that had to be cut, a glued case, a strobe that needs extra power, and a failure after a long blast. Ring’s UK support pages fill volume and duration where the amazon file leaves them blank. There is no lab test. A printed 120 dB figure with no distance is not scored as a measurement. None of the four listings states BS EN 50131-4. Weights sum to 100.
Amazon evidence
35%Star rating and review count on amazon.co.uk. A missing star line scores as no evidence. It is not treated as zero stars in the label, and the numeric score for that product stays 0 so it cannot take the top pick.
Listing fit
30%A stated supply you can match to a panel, a light when the bullets actually name one, and an outdoor claim you can read. A voltage conflict and a product that only works with one base station both cost points.
Review outcome
20%UK notes on loudness in the room, a lead you have to cut, a glued case, a strobe that needs extra power, and a failure after a long blast. Thin files stay lower.
Value
15%Shelf price in GBP on 19 October 2026 against a sounder the listing actually describes. A low price does not rescue an unsettled voltage.
Choose the siren by the system that will trigger it, then by whether the listing states a light, a weather claim, and a timer you can keep short. Price comes after those three. The four listings here are ungraded. A trade bell box with a stated grade is a different product.
A burglar-alarm siren is the sounder that warns people the system has triggered. In this set that means a small wired horn, a strobe horn whose supply is not settled on the page, or the Ring Alarm Outdoor Siren tied to a Ring base station. A graded bell box, the kind an installer fits with a stated grade, tamper, and a battery, is a different part and is not among the four listings kept here. A dummy box is plastic only and has no sounder.

Three Switian listings print 120 dB and do not state a distance. Reviewers both praise the small horns and dispute that figure. Do not rank these sirens as if the number had been measured.
D cells come in the box. Reviewers say the red strobe and the dusk-to-dawn logo light do not run on those cells alone. A plug-in adapter, a battery pack, or a solar panel is sold separately.
A megaphone or a car horn is not a panel sounder. A wireless unit has to match that panel’s radio. An amazon sensor attribute on these horns does not mean the horn detects movement.
The first filter is whether the siren can be triggered by the system you already have. The Ring Alarm Outdoor Siren does nothing without a Ring Alarm base station. The listing ties it to 1st and 2nd generation Ring Alarm devices. It is not a standalone horn you wire to another panel. Volume and duration are set in the Ring app. Ring’s UK support says duration runs from 1 to 10 minutes, with a default of 3 minutes. A two-wire 12 V horn is the other clear class in this set.
Three Switian pages print 120 dB and do not state a distance. A figure with no distance is a claim. UK reviews on the 12 V horns call them loud, including a warbling tone on the sound-and-light unit. Several UK reviews on the strobe listing say it is not 120 dB, including a comparison with an alarm clock. The Ring amazon file used here does not state a decibel figure. Ring’s UK support says the loudest setting is over 100 dB at 1 metre.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You have a 12 V trigger that can supply about 320 mA, and you want a horn plus a flashing light without a graded bell box. The case is glued shut, and 120 dB is printed with no distance.
You want the lowest shelf price in this set for a stated 12 V horn, and you do not need a light. The sample is 43 reviews, the two size lines disagree, and a buyer cut the jack off the lead.
You already have a Ring Alarm base station and you can mount the box safely, or you will pay someone who can. The red strobe and the logo light need power beyond the D cells in the box.
The top pick is the Switian 12 V sound and light siren at about £8.99: 4.4 from 164 reviews, a clear 12 V line at 320 mA, and a flashing light. It is glued shut, one verified review failed after about an hour, and it is not a graded bell box. The best value is the Switian wired mini siren at about £7.99, 4.3 from 43 reviews, the same 12 V class with no strobe in the bullets. The strobe listing at about £9.49 stays behind them because 220–240 V and the model name Sirene 24V disagree. The Ring Alarm Outdoor Siren at about £69.99 stays in the set as a real outdoor sounder for one named system, and a missing star line keeps its score at 0.

Switian 12 V sound and light siren
Highest score: 4.4 from 164 reviews, a clear 12 V line, and a flashing light at about £8.99.

Switian wired mini siren
Lowest shelf price among the 12 V horns with a published star line and no voltage conflict, at about £7.99.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison, last checked on 19.10.2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The notes use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources, and a commission does not change which product is the top pick or the best value.